Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Academic Leadership in Nursing: effective strategies for aspiring faculty and leaders This is the first resource to compare the experiences of nursing academic leaders among public, private, and for-profit institutions for nurse educators of all experience levels and ambitions. While most nursing faculty and administrators looking for new professional opportunities often use salary, geographic location, and even school reputation to inform their choice, the importance of culture and organizational structure cannot be overstated. The information and advice in this text addresses misconceptions and myths about all three types of organizations to enable readers to thrive in their chosen institution. Written for instructors looking to expand leadership skills within their teaching roles, those seeking more formal leadership positions, and novice academic leaders, this text delivers a first-hand perspective on what it takes to be a faculty member and nurse academic administrator across three different academic settings--public, private, and for-profit--and provides an in-depth understanding of the key differences among them. Chapters offer concrete tips and suggestions for applying to and working in different types of institutions, and candidly discuss "things I wish I had known" and "lessons learned." The advice in this text discusses specific strategies for each academic setting, covering the nuances of fundraising and advancement, marketing and public relations, recruitment of qualified and diverse faculty, budgeting and allocation of resources, and other topics to promote an informed decision when seeking a career path that is a good fit and a job that provides overall satisfaction. Key FeaturesDescribes both the specifics and the nuances of requisite faculty leadership skills in public, private, and for-profit/career school settings--the first book to do soWritten by three experienced deans of nursing who offer concrete tips and reveal the secrets of successful academic leadership for informed decision makingIncludes candid author commentary regarding "things I wish I had known" and "lessons learned"Designed for instructors who wish to expand leadership skills within their teaching roles, those who seek administrative positions, and those who are new to academic leadershipWritten in an accessible style for faculty at all levels of experience
Call Number: RT90 .N43 2018x
Advanced Public and Community Health Nursing Practice: population assessment, program planning and evaluation Written by advanced practice public/community health nurse experts, this comprehensive resource for advanced practice nursing students and clinicians builds upon the core foundations of practice: social justice, interdisciplinary practice, community involvement, disease prevention, and health promotion. Interweaving theory, practice, and contemporary issues, Advanced Public and Community Health Nursing Practice, Second Edition, provides essential knowledge needed to successfully assess communities, diagnose community situations, plan programs and budgets, and evaluate programs in public and community health. This revised edition has been thoroughly updated to encompass the evolution of public/community health nursing practice during the past 15 years. With several examples of community assessments, community health program plans, and evidence-based and best-practice interventions, the content in this publication addresses the core processes of advanced public/community health nursing practice. Chapters integrate new material about the physical environment and cover key changes in nursing education and practice and healthcare financing and delivery. This new edition includes additional content on culture and diversity, in-depth theory and conceptual frameworks, doctoral preparation, and policy. New to the Second Edition: Completely new information reflecting changes in nursing education and practice and healthcare financing and deliveryAbundant examples of community assessments and community health program plansEvidence-based/best-practice interventions, programs, and servicesClinical/practicum activities to help learners apply content in varied settingsSuggested readings and references to support more in-depth studyAdditional information about the physical environment, culture and diversity, doctoral preparation, and policyInterprofessional/interdisciplinary practiceIn-depth information regarding theories and conceptual frameworksNew references, examples, case studies, problems, and discussion questions Key Features: Provides comprehensive, in-depth information regarding community assessment, program planning, program implementation, evaluation, and program revisionDelivers timely knowledge about using evidence, practice standards, public health ethics, Healthy People 2020, and competent practice in varied settingsIncludes realistic case studies of program and evaluation plansPresents examples of programs and projects conducted by advanced practice public/community health nurses
Call Number: RT98 .E785 2018
Anatomy of a Super Nurse: the ultimate guide to becoming nursey No matter how hard you've studied, stepping into that first nursing job is unlike anything you've ever experienced. For students and recent graduates looking to conquer the challenging transition from stressed-out student to nursing professional, Kati Kleber's got you covered. Acclaimed blogger and author of Becoming Nursey, Kati expands on her guide for new nurses with this revised edition, Anatomy of a Super Nurse. She provides real-world advice on surviving nursing school and thriving in your first nursing job. Using personal experiences, Kati dives deep into that pivotal first year and answers questions that all new nurses have, but don't always think to ask. You'll learn to master practical topics such as how to give and receive a good, concise report and what to do in a code. Plus, you'll find tips on time management, stepping into a leadership role, and best practices for sleeping when you're on the night shift. Armed with tons of information - and lots of laughs - Anatomy of a Super Nurse shines light onto the dark spots in a nurse's first year, equipping you with everything you need to become a successful bedside nurse.
Call Number: RT82 .K54 2017x
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theory Praise for the First Edition: "The book offers rich examples of nursing projects that may broaden nursing care for greater patient and student satisfaction and assist nurses with holistic self-care." --Gale Robinson-Smith, PhD, RN Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Villanova University International Journal for Human Caring "Provides wonderful tools for nurses to use in practice, education, or even for self-care. Designed for any nurse, . . . who wishes to learn more about applying Jean Watson's Human Caring Theory to practice ... It] is a practical, easy-to-read book for all nursing audiences and could be used at any educational level." --Doody's Medical Reviews "Sitzman and Watsons' book is an invaluable resource. The strength of this book is its simplicity on one level yet its complexity as the reader works throughout the layers incorporated within the book." --Nursing Times This seminal work, based on the philosophy of Watson's Human Caring Theory, is designed to help students and practitioners of nursing to simplify Watson's complex teachings and integrate them into everyday practice. The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners. Clear and simple content supports foundational learning and promotes direct experience related to Watson's work. The book features guided mindfulness activities and artistic practices for each of the 10 Caritas Processes, plus case studies and guided procedures to facilitate learning and internalizing the method. The text also serves as the foundational text for the WCSI online course that provides step-by-step instructions on how to integrate and ground the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into practice. New to the Second Edition: New and updated content throughoutPresents new examples from authors' research for cultivating daily Caritas and mindfulness practicesEach Caritas Process chapter includes micro-practice examples from scholarly work demonstrating use of Watson's TheoryAbundant case studies demonstrate how others have implemented Caring Science and Mindfulness in everyday life and work Key Features: Engages newcomers in learning Human Caring Theory and deepens understanding for current practitionersFacilitates integration of the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into clinical practiceProvides abundant case studies and guided activities to reinforce contentIncludes guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the Ten Caritas ProcessesDesigned for a diverse audience including undergraduate, graduate, and international nursing and health science studentsServes as the foundational text for the companion WCSI online course (including videos)
Call Number: RT84.5 .S528 2018
Clinical Nurse Educator Competencies: creating an evidence-based practice for academic clinical nurse educators Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Clinical Nurse Educator Competencies Teresa Shellenbarger, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, Editor Excellence in clinical nursing education is essential in training today's nursing students. The first resource of its kind to address this specialized area of expertise, Clinical Nurse Educator Competencies equips educators with a mastery of the evidence-based competencies and tasks needed to confidently guide students through learning experiences in clinical settings and to produce competent nurses ready for practice. Detailed analysis of each competency synthesizes relevant literature and reflects the insight of the NLN Task Group on Clinical Nurse Educators, providing an authoritative framework to help educators prepare students for the rigors of clinical nursing practice in today's changing healthcare environment. "This synthesis and validation of academic clinical nurse educator competencies defines a scope of practice for the role of the academic clinical nurse educator. The results provide a standard of excellence central to the performance expectations associated with this specialized role." Kathleen A. Poindexter PhD, RN, CNE Associate Professor and Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs Michigan State University College of Nursing East Lansing, Michigan Chair, NLN Academic Nurse Educator Certification Program Commission
Call Number: RT71 .C556 2019x
Culturally Competent Compassion: a guide for healthcare students and practitioners Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Call Number: RT62 .P37 2018
DNP Education, Practice, and Policy: mastering the DNP essentials for advanced nursing practice First edition named a 2013 Doody's Core Title--5 stars The second edition of this distinguished text--designed for use across the entire DNP curriculum--defines practice scholarship for the DNP-prepared professional nurse and promotes the development of key leadership skills needed to effectively influence healthcare policy and improve outcomes. Weaving the eight AACN DNP competencies throughout, the second edition clarifies, updates, and demonstrates their application. The text incorporates updates to the AACN's 2015 position statement, The DNP: Current Issues and Clarifying Recommendations, and the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing report, and delivers new content from nationally recognized nurse leaders. Focusing heavily on improving aggregate care, strengthening leadership roles, and influencing health policy, the second edition continues to address APRN and nurse executive roles, health information technology, outcomes measurement, and the relationship of the DNP graduate to ongoing scholarship. The text's challenging and thoughtprovoking content is of particular value not only to students, but also to professors who will welcome the clarity it offers to the highly complex DNP curriculum. New to the Second Edition: Reflects the most current thinking about the DNP degree and clarifies recommendations from the AACN task force on implementing the DNP curriculumIncorporates recommendations of the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing reportDemonstrates the application of core competencies to practice and aggregate careOffers contemporary examples of DNP competencies and role integrationFocuses primarily on developing key leadership skills for influencing healthcare policy and improving outcomesDelivers new content from nationally recognized nurse leaders Key Features: Simplifies the highly complex DNP curriculum and integrates DNP core competenciesBroadly defines practice scholarship for the DNP-prepared nurse and promotes development of key leadership skillsProvides a versatile supplement to all courses across the DNP curriculumPrepares the DNP to analyze and influence health policyIncorporates policy statements from the ANA, AONE, NCSBN, AANP, AANA, and ACNMDemonstrates the integration of health policy with cross-sector collaboration to advance a "culture of health" agenda
Call Number: RT75 .D67 2018
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: model and guidelines The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT42 .J62 2018
Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: with nursing implications For students in masters, baccalaureate, associate degree, diploma, and practical nursing programs- and for RNs and LPNs working in hospital settings. Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications is designed to provide quick, pertinent information about laboratory and diagnostic testing, and the corresponding nursing implications. Author Joyce LeFever Kee discusses each test in the context of seven subsections: Reference Values/Normal Findings (for children and adults), Description, Purpose, Clinical Problems, Procedure, Factors Affecting Laboratory or Diagnostic Results, and Nursing Implications with Rationale and Client Teaching. In the 10th Edition, you'll find new, rewritten, or updated coverage of dozens of tests; new Situational Study Questions; an updated section on Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that includes HIV drugs; and revised appendices addressing everything from abbreviations to test values.
Call Number: RT48.5 .K44 2018
Medical Statistics: an A-Z companion This invaluable, jargon-free guide to essential medical terminology in an accessible A-Z format is ideal for medical, allied health and biomedical science students and researchers, clinicians and health care practitioners. Avoiding the complex language that is so often a feature of statistics and research methodology,this text provides clear and succinct explanations, clarifying meaning and showing the interdependencies between important concepts. This edition includes enhanced explanations of statistical concepts and methods--including more illustrative content--for greater accessibility. The book makes frequent use of examples from the medical literature, with reference to landmark studies, ensuring clinical relevance. It remains an ideal aid to accompany the reading and critical appraisal of medical and health care literature, now widely recognized to be a practical lifelong skill required by all health professionals throughout undergraduate and postgraduate studies and during clinical practice.
Call Number: RA409 .P4735 2018
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Telehealth Nursing Inspired by the vision, values, and traditions of the past, this edition of the scope and standards of telehealth nursing reflects current professional norms, practices, and expectations, and recognizes the constantly evolving landscape of professional health systemsThis 6th edition contains significant revisions from previous versions. The Scope contains statements of the specific definition and defining characteristics of telehealth nursing in different practice settings across the continuum of care. It also integrates telehealth elements into the concept of environment in the AAACN conceptual framework. Additionally, it incorporates a historical overview of the evolution of telehealth nursing as the use of innovative technologies spurred unique practices.Sixteen standards are included in the publication. The first six standards address the six phases of the nursing process. The remaining ten standards address professional performance in telehealth practice.
Call Number: R119.9 .M36 2018
Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing by Bernard Rousseau and Ryan C. Branski fulfills a growing need for a contemporary resource for students in speech and hearing science training programs. Extending well beyond traditional speech science and human anatomy, this publication encompasses the latest advances in the understanding of human physiology, basic cell functions, biological control systems, and coordinated body functions. Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing includes award-winning anatomic artwork from Thieme's Atlas of Anatomy, adding a rich visual basis to the clinical facets of speech, language, swallowing, hearing, and balance. The book begins with fundamentals of human anatomy and physiology such as embryology and development of speech and hearing mechanisms. The second section details nervous system functions including central and peripheral motor control. The physiology of respiration, phonation, articulation and resonance, hearing, swallowing, and balance are covered in the last six chapters. Key Features Highlighted key terms, review questions, learning objectives, and summaries enable instructors and students to consolidate information Textboxes offer meaningful examples of clinical disorders in a context conducive to applying newly learned concepts Over 400 high-quality, detailed anatomical illustrations maximize comprehension of anatomical and physiological aspects of speech, language, swallowing, hearing, balance and related functions Online access to Q&A content and anatomy figures provides labels on/off functionality for interactive study and review This core textbook is essential reading for undergraduate and graduate students in communication sciences and disorders. The connection between basic and clinical science enables students to maximize learning and apply this new knowledge during clinical placements and externships.
Call Number: QP399 .A68 2018
The Art and Science of Diabetes Self-Management Education Desk Reference This authoritative is a one-volume resource for the CDE exam prep. This authoritative resource covers the key concepts, skills, and strategies you need to provide exceptional diabetes education and support to people with diabetes. This is a must have for all diabetes educators and healthcare professionals working with people with diabetes. Topics include: Evolving role of diabetes education, Behavioral approaches to self-management, Self-management education process, Diabetes education program management, Pathophysiology of the disease state, Type I diabetes and type 2 diabetes throughout the lifespan, Gestational diabetes and pregnancy with preexisting diabetes, Complications and comorbidities, Management therapies and interventions.
Call Number: RC660.4 .A78 2017
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology Published in collaboration with the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, this highly respected resource provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice. Fully compliant with the College's guidelines, treatment recommendations, and committee opinions, the text also aligns with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based. Six comprehensiveunits cover all essential information on General Obstetrics and Gynecology; Obstetrics, Medical and Surgical Disorders in Pregnancy; Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility; and Gynecologic Oncology and Uterine Leiomyoma. In-depth updates throughout capture the current state of the field, including new minimally invasive and robotic gynecologic procedures, an expanded discussion of patient safety, many new ultrasound images, and much more. Concise, eminently readable chapters - with abundant headings and subheadings, lists, boxes, and tables - make key clinical concepts easy to understand and remember. Chapter-opening and -closing case studies demonstrate clinical applications of the material. A rich full-color art program of illustrations, photos, and imaging examples depicts the anatomy and clinical presentation of both normal and pathologic conditions. Clinical "pearls" highlight specific issues encountered in gynecologic and obstetric practice. Helpful appendices include the latest versions of the Well-Woman Care: Assessments and Recommendations by Age Group, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Antepartum Record and Postpartum Form, and the Edinburgh Postpartum Depression Scale. A comprehensive image bank makes it easy for instructors to use the book's outstanding visuals in the classroom.Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.
Call Number: RG101 .O24 2019
Clinical Mitochondrial Medicine Mitochondrial disorders are a highly diverse group of conditions that can affect almost every major system in the human body, often mimicking common disorders. This clinical variety often results in prolonged and often dangerous, diagnostic delays. This textbook provides a practical framework, to enable rapid identification, investigation, and treatment of mitochondrial disorders across the spectrum of clinical practice. Clinically relevant and comprehensive, this textbook employs a system- and case-based approach for practitioners of all levels. It focuses on major phenotypic features, syndromes and management relevant for clinical practice, within a broad overview of the field. This interactive book supports readers with knowledge distilled from over 20 internationally recognized, mitochondrial experts.
Call Number: RB155 .C55 2018x
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology - Cornea Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Developed at Philadelphia's world-renowned Wills Eye Hospital, the Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology series covers the most clinically relevant aspects of ophthalmology in a highly visual, easy-to-use format. Vibrant, full-color photos and a consistent outline structure present a succinct, high-yield approach to the seven topics covered by this popular series: Cornea, Retina, Glaucoma, Oculoplastics, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, and Uveitis. This in-depth, focused approach makes each volume an excellent companion to the larger Wills Eye Manual as well as a practical stand-alone reference for students, residents, and practitioners in every area of ophthalmology. The updated Cornea volume includes: Guidelines for the differential diagnosis and treatment of cornea diseases as seen by the ophthalmic resident, general ophthalmologist, and cornea specialist. New information on infections and new complications of corneal surgeries. More than 450 high-quality photographs of important corneal, anterior segment, and external diseases, many new and updated for this 3rd edition. Up-to-date coverage of the clinical features of key cornea and external eye diseases, diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, and treatment. In addition, there are over 430 NEW images available on-line to augment the photographs in the text Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RE336 .R37 2019
Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases Praise for the previous edition: "Approaches near perfection...This is an excellent introduction to infectious diseases by a group of authors who take a straightforward and bullet-point approach to thinking and talking about clinical issues..."--Doody's Reviews Updated second edition of the concise but comprehensive handbook of clinical infectious disease for students, residents, primary care medical providers, nurses, and PAs. Written in outline format with short, focused chapters, the book presents a systematic method for understanding basic mechanisms, establishing a diagnosis, and implementing appropriate treatment for commonly encountered problems. Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases, Second Edition begins with a general framework covering clinical reasoning, antimicrobial agents and microbiology, and antimicrobial stewardship. Individual chapters devoted to the broad range of infectious diseases are organized by body system and feature targeted presentation of pathogenesis and risk factors, microbial causes, clinical manifestations, patient work-up, diagnostic criteria, and medical, antimicrobial, and surgical management. The book also addresses important related topics including fever and neutropenia, approach to evaluating ectoparasite-related infections, sepsis and travel medicine, infection control, and hospital epidemiology. Designed for busy practitioners at any level looking to sharpen the clinical problem-solving skills required to provide the highest quality care to patients with infectious diseases. Key Features: Presents core clinical infectious disease topics in concise easy-to-read formatRevised and updated to reflect recent developments in the field consistent with evidence-based literature and current clinical practice guidelinesSix new chapters on Lyme disease, anorectal infections, travel medicine, dental infections, antimicrobial stewardship, and clinical reasoning and statisticsFocus on the approach to evaluation and management of the patientIncorporates essential antimicrobial therapy information with adult, pediatric, and OB-GYN dosing considerations
Call Number: RC111 .E87 2018
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment Handbook of Geriatric Assessment, Fifth Edition is a multidisciplinary text that takes a contemporary approach in line with patient and family centered care. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it contains the latest information on geriatric assessments for older adults.Completely updated and revised, the Fifth Edition includes several new chapters, including demographic trends, age friendly health systems, payment reform and impact, the VA health system, self-care and management, impact on familial relations, vulnerable populations, building geriatric interdisciplinary teams, advanced care planning, caregiver information, spiritual assessment, senior hunger, and transitions of care.
Call Number: RC953 .G34 2019
Kirk's Basic Surgical Techniques The Seventh Edition of this highly regarded title for surgical trainees gives clear, concise guidance on all aspects of acquiring surgical techniques to ensure operative success. The full range of surgical skills is comprehensively reviewed in a clear 'how-to-do-it' style, which consolidates those learnt both in theatre and on training courses. This new edition has been thoroughly revised by a new author based on the much praised editions by its original author Mr R M Kirk. Key Points boxes throughout the text summarise the important aspects of each technique. Provides guidance on the full range of surgical techniques required by all trainee surgeons. Concentrates on the main principles behind the use of the surgical techniques Key Points boxes provide hints and tips to reinforce the main aspects of each technique. Now renamed Kirk's Basic Surgical Techniques a new author has comprehensively revised the text taking full account of new developments in surgical techniques and equipment. A new final chapter on the handling the patient.
Call Number: RD32 .K48 2018
Lubkin's Chronic Illness: impact and intervention Lubkin's Chronic Illness: Impact and Intervention, Tenth Edition is an essential text for teaching nursing students the impact of chronic Illness on both patients and families. This is the only text of its kinds that truly addresses not only the physical aspects of chronic illness but the important psychosocial issues that individuals and families encounter on a daily basis.The Tenth Edition takes an application to practice-based approach by covering impact and issues as well as interventions and outcomes. Each chapter employs a theoretical approach to the concept followed by an overview of the impact, nursing interventions and potential outcomes. To bring this content to life for students, the text takes a personalized approach featuring real-life stories and scenarios focused on the individual's experience with chronic illness. The journey of the author and her husband through cancer is chronicled throughout a number of chapters. These feelings about the illness experience, and ultimately his death, are real and are excerpted from the author's journal.
Call Number: RC108 .L83 2019
Operative Records of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery at the University of Tokyo Hospital Unlike general surgery books which describe standard or model procedures, this publication focuses on actual clinical settings where conventional surgeries cannot be performed, or where indications for surgery are uncertain. It reviews 20 of the thousands of hepato-pancreato-biliary surgeries performed at the University of Tokyo Hospital. The contributors provide detailed descriptions of surgical procedures as well as indications, diagnostic imaging findings, risk assessments, pathological findings, and prognoses. The procedures covered include laparotomy, laparoscopic surgery, and liver transplantation. The challenges and outcomes of each case are explained in detail. This publication will be useful to young surgeons with the goal of becoming highly skilled in hepato-pancreato-biliary surgery, already established hepato-pancreato-biliary surgeons, and surgeons specializing in other fields.
Call Number: RD546 .O63 2018x
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract [Print & Online] Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract, Sixth Edition, a Two-Volume set, covers the study of the mechanical, physical and biochemical functions of the GI Tract by linking clinical disease and disorder, thus bridging the gap between clinical and laboratory medicine while also covering breakthroughs in gastroenterology, such as the brain-gut axis and microbiome. Additionally, information is provided at the organism level, including animal models of gastrointestinal disorders and therapeutic possibilities. The book covers a wide range of conditions, from food allergies, constipation, chronic liver disease and IBS, also exploring emerging techniques to diagnose and normalize functions of the GI tract. As a highly referenced book, this is a useful resource for gastroenterologists, physiologists, internists, professional researchers and instructors teaching courses for clinical and research students.
Call Number: QP145 .P492 2018
Varney's Midwifery Varney's Midwifery, Sixth Edition is the gold standard for midwifery practice. Completely updated and revised, this text reflects current evidence-based guidelines. The Sixth Edition addresses care of women throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, maternity care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. It also provides new content on social determinants of health, the changing face of the population, and the population that midwives serve.With chapters written by expert midwives with an emphasis on anatomy, physiology, and normal physiologic processes, this text will assist students and midwives in providing healthcare services today. Chapter appendices present essential skills that are designed to help students, midwives, and international readers learn skills that are core components of midwifery practice. These critical skills are evidence-based and include insertion of contraceptive devices, hand maneuvers for birth, management of a fetus in a breech presentation, and steps for managing postpartum hemorrhage.
Call Number: RG950 .V37 2019
Management/Employee Development Books
Choice Matters: how healthcare consumers make decisions [and why clinicians and managers should care] The direct-to-consumer business model has transformed how people seek out goods and services from music to mortgages. So what happens now that the revolution has come for healthcare? While consumers have begun to insist on healthcare that is as convenient and personalized as nearly every other good or service they purchase, most healthcare provider organizations, physicians, and insurance companies remain woefully unprepared to meet this demand. Choice Matters is the healthcare sector's guide to understanding and delivering the brand of consumer-centered care that is an imperative for the Zocdoc age. Drawing on the authors' diverse backgrounds in medicine, business, and public policy, this practically-oriented resource offers anon-the-ground introduction for clinicians and managers to better understand:* The differences between healthcare and other consumer-driven markets* What factors are most important for consumers in seeking care providers* How consumers make decisions about healthcare* The system-wide effects of increased consumer choice in healthcare* The important distinction between patients and consumersBy celebrating the possibilities inherent to consumer-centered healthcare, Choice Matters offers a refreshing, empirically informed take on how healthcare in the United States can flourish, not wither, in the new economy.
Call Number: R723.5 .M66 2018x
Fundamentals of Health Care Improvement: a guide to improving your patients' care by Building upon the second edition of this book published in 2012, the authors further delve into the process of quality improvement in the clinical setting. Rather than focusing on improvement of a specific patient, there is emphasis on system improvements. With increased emphasis on improved patient and system outcomes, it is imperative that healthcare professionals have an understanding of this concept. This work teaches introductory quality improvement in a structured, easy-to-understand manner The authors state that the book is designed for healthcare professional students as well as healthcare professionals who are beginning to learn clinical quality improvement. They are clear authorities on healthcare quality management and have garnered the support of both The Joint Commission and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement. Mirroring the medical model, this book teaches healthcare quality improvement by implementing diagnosis of the problem, problem management, analysis, change, and leadership in system improvement. Pre- and post-lesson vignettes include patients as part of the treatment team. This intentionally puts emphasis on shared decision making. Post-lesson tools include specific exercises and questions to assist readers in encoding the preceding information. Graphs and tables are well designed and positioned to not interrupt the text. New to this edition is an appendix containing 16 supporting tools, many of which are also accessible online. This edition modernizes the previous ones by centering care on the patient and including the patient in the team. Jill P Massengale, DNP(James A. Haley Veterans' Hospital)
Call Number: RA399.A1 O37 2018
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management For decades, the essential principles of healthcare quality management--measurement, assessment, and improvement--have remained the same. The ongoing shift to value-based care, however, has driven change in the practices and approaches healthcare providers use to evaluate their performance and improve their organizations' clinical, safety, and patient satisfaction outcomes.Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management explains the basic principles and techniques of quality management in healthcare. Written for students and professionals with little or no clinical experience, the book focuses primarily on measuring and improving the operational and service aspects of healthcare delivery. Real-world case studies and examples provide an applied learning approach that helps readers understand how to measure, assess, and improve an organization's performance and ensure the delivery of reliable, high-quality care. Thoroughly revised with updated references, examples, case studies, activities, and supplementary resources, this edition includes new content on: strategies for managing quality in population health care, application of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's Triple Aim framework, Value-based reimbursement models, patient-centered discharge planning and case management, external regulations and accreditation standards, Lean and Six Sigma improvement techniques, adoption of improvement models from other industries. An excellent resource for students and practicing health professionals alike, Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management provides readers with the core knowledge they need to drive innovative change in quality management practices.
Call Number: RA399.A1 S64 2018
Optimizing Patient Flow: advanced strategies for managing variability to enhance access, quality and safety Edited by Eugene Litvak, Ph.D., a world-renowned leader in hospital operations management and redesign Foreword by Dr. Harvey Fineberg, president of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and former president of the Institute of Medicine Optimizing patient flow impacts patient safety and the quality of care, and it has financial implications for health care institutions. Yet the story hasn't changed much in the decades that patient flow has been a focus of health care administrators. Hospitals are straining to meet demand. Surgeries continue to be delayed. Ambulances are diverted. Emergency departments are overcrowded while waiting for inpatient beds. Staffing shortages and economic challenges only serve to exacerbate the inefficiencies of patient flow. Perhaps this approach to managing patient flow is not the best one. Crowded emergency departments and empty operating rooms are indicative of the variability in patient flow throughout the hospital, including emergency rooms and ICUs, as well as the flow to other settings of care, such as home care. Our second title edited by patient flow expert Dr. Eugene Litvak, Optimizing Patient Flow: Advanced Strategies for Managing Variability to Enhance Access, Quality, and Safety, offers readers innovative techniques for optimizing patient flow and improving operations management while providing clear examples of successful implementation. It can help you optimize patient flow in your own organization. This book goes beyond the introductory information provided in JCR s popular Managing Patient Flow in Hospitals: Strategies and Solutions, Second Edition. Dr. Litvak has teamed with CEOs, doctors, and researchers who have compiled their own experiences with patient flow to produce a book that guides the reader to practical and achievable advances in patient flow by sharing stories of how it was attained in actual health care organizations and providing specific approaches to reducing and managing variability. Key Topics Reducing and managing natural and artificial variability Smoothing and optimizing the admissions process and surgical flow Capacity planning and queue management strategies Assessing the quantitative impact of patient flow issues on patients and staff Standardizing patient admission, transfer, and discharge Key Features Hospital CEOs share their actual experiences implementing patient flow measures Researchers present the nuts and bolts of the mechanics of patient flow Real-life case studies illustrate how improved patient flow impacts emergency departments, telemetry bed utilization, and post-acute care Standards: No direct standards correlations, but related to Leadership and Performance Improvement Setting: Hospitals, critical access hospital, home care Key Audience Hospital executives including chief operating officers and chief financial officers Board members Physicians and medical officers Nurses and nurse executives Quality, process improvement, and productivity managers Emergency department, surgery, critical care, and nursing operations professionals
Call Number: RA965.6 .O67 2018x
Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised The only authorized edition of the classic work on parliamentary procedure, with new and enhanced features, including how to conduct electronic meetings Robert's Rules of Order is the book on parliamentary procedure for parliamentarians and anyone involved in an organization, association, club, or group and the authoritative guide to smooth, orderly, and fairly conducted meetings and assemblies. This newly revised edition is the only book on parliamentary procedure to have been updated since 1876 under the continuing program of review established by General Henry M. Robert himself, in cooperation with the official publisher of Robert's Rules. The eleventh edition has been thoroughly revised to address common inquiries and incorporate new rules, interpretations, and procedures made necessary by the evolution of parliamentary procedure, including new material relating to electronic communication and "electronic meetings."
Call Number: JF515 .R692 2011
Robert's Rules QuickStart Guide: the simplified beginner's guide to Robert's Rules of Order Robert's Rules of Order, Simplified For well over a century-- from the hallowed halls of government to the executive boardrooms of Fortune 500 companies, to the meeting halls of labor unions--Roberts Rules of Order has been the how-to authority on applying organizational intelligence to deliberative assemblies. When properly utilized, Robert's Rules ensure that the best ideas, not just the loudest, are always allowed to surface. They ensure that problems identified are not forgotten, but resolved, and responsibilities are always clearly defined and never breached without consequence. The problem is that understanding the intricacies of this watershed 19th-century para-parliamentary framework can be a tedious task. But now, thanks to ClydeBank Business, it doesn't have to be. The Robert's Rules QuickStart Guide presents organizers, hosts, presidents, chairmen (and women) and any other would-be parliamentarians with a modernized, easy-to-understand, and essential breakdown of Robert's Rules of Order. This is the perfect book for the business manager who's tired of wasting time during meetings, or the club member, who was recently elected president and is now charged with presiding over the club's meetings. With Robert's Rules QuickStart Guide, ClydeBank Business delivers time-tested wisdom in a way that's simplified and accessible for the everyday reader. You'll Learn... Drafting & Approving Bylaws Creating & Utilizing Committees The Different Types Of Motions & How To Make Them Proper Voting Methods Nominating & Electing Officers
Call Number: JF515 .R694 2016
Transformative Planning: how your healthcare organization can strategize for an uncertain future In healthcare, traditional strategic planning too often results in incremental change focused more on next year¿s budget than on creative growth and development. Leadership teams today struggle to ¿paint with two brushes¿ and build in transformative change while maintaining current operations. To transcend existing systems and achieve their organization¿s unique vision, healthcare leaders must embrace uncertainty by incorporating flexibility into their long-term planning. They must prepare for a range of potential futures, as agility and adaptability are what will define their future success.Transformative Planning: How Your Healthcare Organization Can Strategize for an Uncertain Future explains how leadership teams can lay the groundwork for new, transformational healthcare delivery models while simultaneously meeting the requirements of today. Author Jim Austin shares the essential frameworks, tools, and processes for developing and implementing a long-term direction and execution plan, even in the face of uncertainty. The book¿s four-step model for transformational change covers: ¿ Mental models, decision making, and decision traps¿ Vision and strategic initiatives¿ Strategy development and scenario planning¿ Execution frameworkLeadership teams and governing boards at healthcare organizations of all kinds will find Transformative Planning to be an essential guide to planning strategically for both today and tomorrow.
Call Number: RA971 .A97 2018x
Truth at Work: the science of delivering tough messages The truth matters! New York Times bestselling author Mark Murphy returns, with the latest science and techniques for delivering tough messages without causing anger or defensiveness. Truth at Work shows business professionals--and anyone else--how to resolve the toughest issues. Nine out of ten employees and managers are reluctant, or struggle, to speak the truth. But by moving from confrontations to conversations, from feelings to facts, and from diatribe to dialogue, Murphy shows how to get everyone to hear and accept hard truths. Based on Murphy's own groundbreaking research, the book provides the key to reclaiming control of careers, companies and even personal lives. He provides the science and tools for calmly and rationally leading people to question their preconceptions, accept new information, and eventually change their beliefs.
Call Number: HD30.3 .M875 2017
Unleashing the Chief Moment Officers: reliably giving the gift of exceptional experiences If you want to raise the bar on creating memorable customer experiences, then this book is your roadmap." --Valerie Willis, VP, Tom Peters Company Do you have a passion for making sure you look after your customers? Do you want to be able to go that extra step to satisfy their needs? Do you want to make sure that your company seizes each moment of opportunity to become better? Customer service is, or should be, at the heart of every business. Let's face it, without customers you have nothing. Organizations which devote themselves to building lasting relationships with their customers must make certain that their teams build on individual strengths and have a genuine care for every customer they deal with. In Unleashing the Chief Moment Officers: Reliably Giving the Gift of Exceptional Experiences, you will discover a lot of evidence for igniting a passion for customer care through chapters on: Understanding that moments can make a difference Getting the right talent in place Appreciating the gifts customers give you (even if it doesn't look like one) Chief Moment Officer truths Unleashing the inner Chief Moment Officer in you And more... It is understood that a moment can seem like a very short period during a hectic day, but by learning how to make the most of them your business can thrive, your customers will be happier and your staff will be more engaged. Get a copy of Unleashing the Chief Moment Officers and see how it could improve your customer service.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .H66 2017x
The Crusade for Forgotten Souls: reforming Minnesota's mental institutions, 1946-1954 The stirring story of the reform movement that laid the groundwork for a modern mental health system in Minnesota In 1940 Engla Schey, the daughter of Norwegian immigrants, took a job as a low-paid attendant at Anoka State Hospital, one of Minnesota's seven asylums. She would work among people who were locked away under the shameful label "insane," called inmates--and numbered more than 12,000 throughout the state. She acquired the knowledge and passion that would lead to "The Crusade for Forgotten Souls," a campaign to reform the deplorable condition of mental institutions in Minnesota. This book chronicles that remarkable undertaking inspired and carried forward by ordinary people under the political leadership of Luther Youngdahl, a Swedish Republican who was the state's governor from 1946 to 1951.Susan Bartlett Foote tells the story of those who made the crusade a success: Engla Schey, the catalyst; Reverend Arthur Foote, a modest visionary who guided Unitarians to constructive advocacy; Genevieve Steefel, an inveterate patient activist; and Geri Hoffner, an intrepid reporter whose twelve-part series for the Minneapolis Tribune galvanized the public. These reformers overcame barriers of class, ethnicity, and gender to stand behind the governor, who, at a turbulent moment in Minnesota politics, challenged his own party's resistance to reform. The Crusade for Forgotten Souls recounts how these efforts broke the stigma of shame and silence surrounding mental illness, publicized the painful truth about the state's asylums, built support among citizens, and resulted in the first legislative steps toward a modern mental health system that catapulted Minnesota to national leadership and empowered families of the mentally ill and disabled. Though their vision met resistance, the accomplishments of these early advocates for compassionate care of the mentally ill hold many lessons that resonate to this day, as this book makes compellingly clear.
Call Number: RC445.M58 F66 2018
Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy An essential pregnancy resource for all parents-to-be. Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy, second edition is an authoritative, yet practical reference manual from the pregnancy experts at the #1 ranked hospital in America. The newly updated book includes information on everything from healthy lifestyle habits to the latest technologies in prenatal care and childbirth. Features include week-by-week updates on baby's growth, as well as month-by-month changes that mom can expect. In addition, you'll find a 40-week pregnancy calendar, an overview of common pregnancy symptoms, information on safe medicine use, tools to help parents with important pregnancy decisions, and general caregiving advice -- information moms and dads can trust to help give their little ones a healthy start. Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy, second edition is the collective effort of a team of health care experts who find nothing in medicine more exciting and satisfying than the birth of a healthy child by a healthy mother. Any parent-to-be looking for accurate and authoritative information from a reliable source will surely appreciate this illustrated, easy-to-understand book.
Call Number: RG525 .M383 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015