Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
21st Century Nursing Leadership 21st Century Nursing Leadership provides the tools nurses can use to discover their voice and become strong leaders and role models in guiding the nursing workforce into the future.
Call Number: RT82 .A16 2018
Adult Telephone Triage Guidelines: age 18+ years Adult Telephone Triage Guidelines Age 18+ Years is the first and only 5-Tier Triage, Age-Specific Reference for Adult, Geriatric and Women's Health Updated Sections that have been revised or added to the 2005 edition include: Telephone Triage 5-Tier Triage Flow Chart & Master Guideline, QA Audit, ACEP & ENA Position Papers, Standards and research on safety, root causes of error, and Five-Tier Triage. Customizable Make this manual "your own" by placing in a binder with tabs. Use it as a base set and add your facilities' preferences on colored sheets at the end of each guideline. "Growing your own" paper guidelines from scratch may take years to accomplish, may be more expensive than expected and may not produce high quality results. Evidence-Based Design Checklists - Five standardized screening checklists help to rule out and rule in key symptoms to estimate symptom urgency and reduce mistriage (Gawande, 2009; Wachter 2015) 5 -Tier Triage Dispositions - insure patient informed consent and continuity, directing patients to where, when and why they should be seen. Consistently apprises callers of the urgency of their symptoms to help insure timely compliance. Five clearly defined, standardized dispositions (firm but flexible time frames, access sites and urgency rationale). promote reliable, consistent outcomes and clear follow up patients directives. The goal of these guidelines is "to get patients to the right place, at the right time for the right reason." Users are spared frustrating, confusing and time-consuming decision-making related to algorithm formats (ENA/ACEP, 2010) All Hours/All Access Sites - dispositions apply 24/7/365; they are not limited to office- or after- hours. Access sites are flexible for all hour options Standards-Based System to reduce common errors: inadequate data collection, miscommunications, cognitive bias (jumping to conclusions or stereotyping) and inadequacies in informed consent and continuity (IOM, 2011, Donabedian, 2003, Patel, 1996, AAACN, 2012) Master Guideline A "universal" triage tool derived from ACEP and Manchester Triage Group standards. Integrated standards in this guideline support clinicians in three ways: 1. As "contingency" or "fall back" guide (in cases where no specific guideline applies); 2. as a preemptive guideline, before selecting a more specific guideline, 3. As a training tool for new hires as a review of commonly presented symptoms (IOM, Joint Commission, 2011) Essential Features Authoritative collaboratively developed over a two-year period by 20+member Expert Task Force. Nurse-developed, physician-reviewed. Comprehensive - Address the most common presenting symptoms, and rare, but predictable emergent symptoms -- 1,500 medical conditions. Risk Management Used in 500+ sites since 1995 without any report of errors, omissions or malpractice User's Guide describes how to operate this reference (30 pages) Cost effective Paper-based guidelines are economical; electronic algorithms can be extremely costly
Call Number: RT120.E4 W536 2017
Certificed Nurse Educator (CNE) Review Manual The third edition of this classic study guide for nurse educators taking the CNE exam continues to be the only concise review book to feature a systematic approach to exam preparation. Presented in both book and e-book format, it is updated throughout and includes a more in-depth focus on distance-learning modes along with new content on global initiatives and interdisciplinary and interprofessional education. A majority of the Q&As have been revised to reflect a stronger integrative and application focus, and 100 new questions have been added throughout the book for a total of more than 250 questions. Chapter references have been updated to provide opportunity for further study. The third edition is also geared for use by nurse educators in Canada who intend to take the CNE exam. The CNE review, designed for use by both novice and expert nurse educators, incorporates all content areas designated by the National League for Nursing (NLN) as essential knowledge in the field. It is formatted to closely reflect the test blueprint. Valuable features include case studies and critical thinking questions, Evidence-Based Teaching Practice boxes, "Teaching Gems" offering advice from practice experts, review questions at the end of each chapter, and a practice CNE exam with answers and rationales. New to the Third Edition: More in-depth focus on distance-learning modes New content on global initiatives Additional information on interdisciplinary and interprofessional education 100 additional review questions reflecting a higher integrative and application focus CNE app with updated Q&As and rationales available as a separate purchase Key Features: Offers systematic approach to exam preparation Closely reflects the NLN test blueprint Highlights areas designated by the NLN as essential knowledge Includes case studies, critical thinking questions, more than 150 practice questions with rationales, and a 100-question practice test Provides Evidence-Based Teaching Practice Boxes and "Teaching Gems" from practice experts App Included! Includes all the high-quality content from the book! Information at your fingertips anytime, anywhere. Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller.
Call Number: RT90 .W58 2017
Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing This highly acclaimed text provides a comprehensive framework for planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for undergraduate and graduate nursing students in a wide variety of clinical settings. The fifth edition updates this unequalled source of essential information for all faculty members--full time, part time, adjunct, and preceptors--responsible for clinical teaching. It encompasses current trends in health care and nursing education with expanded content on ways to maximize the clinical learning experiences of nursing students, use new technologies in clinical teaching, teach and evaluate student performance, and address ethical and legal issues in clinical teaching. New content covers topics such as establishing and using dedicated education units, integrating simulation with clinical education, using new technologies for clinical learning, teaching and evaluating performance in distance education, promoting interprofessional education in clinical settings, integrating Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) in clinical courses, using standardized patients, and developing partnerships with clinical sites. Special features include guidelines for developing clinical sites, planning learning activities and assignments, observing and evaluating students in clinical practice, and using preceptors. With an arsenal of practical and creative tools to help both experienced and novice nurse educators, the text is also a valuable resource for individuals preparing to take the Certified Nurse Educator exam. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Updated with current trends in health care and nursing educationNew chapter on interprofessional education and clinical teaching from a noted expertExpanded content on maximizing the clinical learning experiences of nursing studentsClinical teaching and evaluating students at a distanceUse of social media and new technologies for clinical teachingEthical and legal issues in clinical teachingNew content on using dedicated education unitsDeveloping partnerships with clinical staff and sitesChallenges of student access to electronic health records and electronic documentation of careStrategies to promote student learning about QSENUse of simulations and integration of simulation with clinical educationLatest revisions of the CNE test planRecommendations for service learning and international clinical learning sites KEY FEATURES: Delivers a scholarly, in-depth examination of current trends and issues in clinical educationProvides evidence-based methods for clinical teaching in nursing educationIncludes practical exhibits illustrating best practices in clinical teaching and evaluationHighlights content in each chapter related to CNE exam blueprintOffers a vast toolkit for teaching and learning including Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint presentations
Call Number: RT73 .G27 2018
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation Nursing: common challenges and interventions This update of the popular first edition addresses 17 patient problems including the following: bowel, bladder, skin, communication, cardiovascular, autonomic and pulmonary, pain, dysphagia, cognition, self care, mobility, intimacy and sexuality, nutrition, safety, energy conservation/sleep and fatigue, life span, metabolic syndrome and community reentry.
Other new content features include:
· Identifies five essential steps for evidence-base nursing care
· Highlights 17 common focus areas including bowel and bladder, skin management, pain and dysphagia
· Ask the “burning question” and consider changes to improve practice based on the scientific evidence
· All new format presenting the available scientific evidence, an evaluation of the evidence, and implications for practice to support evidence-based practice for rehabilitation nursing care today
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
GNRS: Geriatric Nursing Review Syllabus: a core curriculum in advanced practice geriatric nursing The Geriatric Nursing Review Syllabus: A Core Curriculum in Advanced Practice Geriatric Nursing, 5th Edition (GNRS5),is a concise, up-to-date, and comprehensive text developed by the American Geriatrics Society. The GNRS5 is based on the Geriatrics Review Syllabus: A Core Curriculum in Geriatric Medicine, 9th Edition, and adapted for advanced practice geriatric nurses. The GNRS5 is authored by more than 150 interdisciplinary experts in the care of older adults and is composed of:The GNRS5 is authored by more than 150 interdisciplinary experts in the care of older adults and is composed of: 66 chapters covering the prevailing management strategies and recent research findings in six broad areas of geriatric care: Current Issues in Aging, Approach to the Patient, Care Systems, Syndromes, Psychiatry, and Diseases and Disorders A concise, up-to-date, and comprehensive reference on geriatric medicine.References that allow the interested reader to pursue topics in greater depth. 130 case-oriented, multiple-choice questions with answers and critiques, providing an effective, valuable self-assessment tool The GRNS5 is : the authoritative source for information on care of older adults. a convenient self-assessment program an excellent teaching resource
Call Number: RC954 .G65 2016
The New Leadership Challenge: creating the future of nursing What is leadership? How do you develop your leadership abilities? How is leadership different from management? How does leadership contribute to professional and personal success...improve patient care...and affect the future of nursing? Whatever your role, practice or educational environment, here are the tools and techniques you can use to realize your leadership potential, advance your career, and contribute to the future of nursing. This 2009 AJN Book of the Year Winner, by two noted educators in the field of leadership development, guides you through the process. An easy-to-read, interactive approach helps you identify the characteristics of leaders and followers and illustrates not only how, but also when to use the qualities associated with each to achieve professional and personal success.
Call Number: RT89 .G77 2017
Perspectives on Behavioural Interventions in Palliative and End-of-Life Care The challenges faced by individuals and families at the end of life are still incredibly diverse, and many behavioural interventions and clinical approaches have been developed to address this great diversity of experiences in the face of dying and death, helping providers to care for their clients. Perspectives on Behavioural Interventions in Palliative and End-of-Life Care is an accessible resource that collates and explores interventions that can be used to address a wide range of behavioural, psychological, social, and spiritual issues that arise when people are facing advanced chronic or life-limiting illness. With perspectives from experienced clinicians, providers, and caregivers from around the world, this book offers a strong foundation in contemporary evidence-based practice alongside seasoned practice insights from the field. Its chapters explore: Interventions to enhance communication and decision making The management of physical and mental health symptoms Meaning-centred psychotherapy for cancer patients Dignity Therapy Interventions embracing cultural diversity and intersectionality. Together with Perspectives on Palliative and End-of-Life Care: Disease, Social and Cultural Context, the book provides a foundation for collaborative international and interprofessional work by providing state-of science information on behavioural interventions addressing mental health and wellness. It is of interest to academics, researchers and postgraduates in the fields of mental health, medicine, psychology and social work, and is essential reading for healthcare providers and trainees from psychosocial and palliative medicine, social work and nursing.
Call Number: R726.8 .P4716 2018
Staff Educator's Guide to Clinical Orientation: onboarding solutions for nurses Staff educators, are you struggling with developing a new-hire orientation program? We all know how important onboarding can be in lowering turnover rates. Is there a sure-fire way to ensure a new nurse's success? Staff Educator's Guide to Clinical Orientation guides you in creating and sustaining a high-quality orientation and onboarding program that meets the needs of nurses, organizations, and patients. In this fully revised second edition, authors Alvin Jeffery, Robin Jarvis, and Amy Word-Allen provide all the tools you need to successfully develop a nursing and healthcare workforce. Whether you're new to leading orientation efforts or a seasoned nursing staff development specialist, this book will help you: Understand and use the ADDIE model Analyze, design, and implement an orientation program Evaluate an Individual's competency Conduct surveys and focus groups Manage orientee errors and personality conflicts New: Understand the role of the preceptor in clinical orientation activities Assess and ensure competency of contract or temporary staff Collaborate with academic afiliates Book jacket.
Call Number: RT76 .J44 2018
Telephone Nursing Practice in Urology: a manual for urology nurses Telephone triage is a major vehicle in offices, clinics, and other ambulatory health care settings for assessing patient symptoms or complaints, determining their acuity, and planning initial management strategies. Most outpatient practices are extremely busy, so telephone triage protocols can assist the nurse with this responsibility, ensuring safe, effective, and appropriate care. Protocols are at the heart of telephone triage practice. The Telephone Nursing Practice in Urology, 2nd Edition protocols are guidelines designed to assist in assessment and care planning. Each protocol includes: Etiology; Assessment Questions; Recent Urologic Procedures; Other Urologic History; Symptoms; and Disposition/Advice Section for adults and pediatrics if applicable. Since most urology patients express health care needs on the telephone in addition to describing symptoms, telephone nursing practice goes beyond triage (addressing symptoms). The role for the nurse on the phone has expanded to including patient teaching, coaching, offering reassurance, suggesting resources, and problem solving. The RN is well suited for this role because professional nursing practice is responding to patient needs through assessment, identification, planning implementation, and evaluation.
Call Number: R119.9 .T45 2018x
Triage Protocols for Aging Adults Provide optimal, evidence-based triage assessment, advice, and protocols, withTriage Protocols for Aging Adults. The 190 evidence-based protocols offered here address a wide range of symptoms, disorders, and emergencies affecting those 50 and older. Flip quickly to the right symptom and ask the questions listed there to determine whether the individual requires emergency, same-day, or home care. Whether you are in family practice or are a triage nurse working at a hospital, urgent care center, or insurance company, this is the go-to reference to keep by your side. Advance your evidence-based triage skills and protocols with: Easy-to-follow flowchart format that leads you from yes-or-no questions to assessment, recommendations, and clear instructions 190 protocols that cover the most common conditions faced by aging adults--all body systems, plus weakness, falls, loss of memory, poor appetite, medication interaction problems, and more Alpha-organized table of contents that helps you locate symptoms quickly Contents also organized by body system for quick-find protocols Protocols that have symptom-based titles and address issues affecting all body systems, such as abdominal pain and swelling, alcohol problems, allergic reactions, altered mental status, asthma, earache, elder abuse, joint pain/swelling, and more All protocols reviewed by a team of nursing experts Actioncolumn of each protocol that presents emergency actions first Coverage of the legal aspects of triage Tools and sample forms - telephone triage protocol form, triage documentation form, triage log, skills assessment, call documentation review, and teaching self-assessment guide Chapter features include: Key Questions - name, age, onset, medications, pain scale, associated symptoms, and history Other Protocols to Consider - lists related protocols and their page numbers Health Alert - additional information to consider when choosing a protocol, with additional resources listed Assessment Questions and Actions - with specific actions under each yes-or-no answer Home Care Instructions - detailed instructions sections that explain care to be given before emergency help arrives, while waiting for an appointment, or for ongoing home care Report the Following Problems to Your PCP/Clinic/ED - symptoms or conditions that should be reported to their usual healthcare provider Seek Emergency Care Immediately if Any of the Following Occur - symptoms or conditions that require emergency care Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC86.8 .B74 2019
Basic Clinical Radiobiology Basic Clinical Radiobiologyis a concise but comprehensive textbook setting out the essentials of the science and clinical application of radiobiology for those seeking accreditation in radiation oncology, clinical radiation physics, and radiation technology. Fully revised and updated to keep abreast of current developments in radiation biology and radiation oncology, this fifth edition continues to present in an interesting way the biological basis of radiation therapy, discussing the basic principles and significant developments that underlie the latest attempts to improve the radiotherapeutic management of cancer. This new edition is highly illustrated with attractive 2-colour presentation and now includes new chapters on stem cells, tissue response and the convergence of radiotherapy, radiobiology, and physics. It will be invaluable for FRCR (clinical oncology) and equivalent candidates, SpRs (and equivalent) in radiation oncology, practicing radiation oncologists and radiotherapists, as well as radiobiologists and radiotherapy physicists.
Call Number: RM847 .B36 2019
Breath Soundsa: from basic science to clinical practice This book offers up-to-date information on the recording and analysis of respiratory sounds that will assist in clinical routine. The opening sections deliver basic knowledge on aspects such as the physics of sound and sound transmission in the body, a clear understanding of which is key to good clinical practice. Current techniques of breath sound analysis are described, and the diagnostic impact of advances in the processing of lung sound signals is carefully explained. With the aid of audio files that are available online, detailed guidance is then provided on differentiation of normal and abnormal breath sounds and identification of the various sounds, including crackles, wheezes, other lung sounds, cough sounds, and sounds of extrathoracic origin. The book is of high educational value and represents an excellent learning tool at pre- and postgraduate levels. It will also appeal to researchers as it provides comprehensive summaries of knowledge in particular research fields. The editors bring high-level expertise to the subject, including membership of the European Respiratory Society Task Force on the standardization of categories and nomenclature for breath sounds.
Call Number: RC733 .B74 2018x
Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Evidence-Based Approach This book on complementary and alternative medicine discusses topics related to energy harnessing and nutritional value that is related to alternative medical practices. Alternative medical diagnosis and medication consider the overall well-being and fitness of a patient while treating disease. This book discusses the fundamentals as well as modern approaches of this field. It consists of contributions made by international experts. It strives to provide a fair idea about this discipline and to help develop a better understanding of the latest advances within this field. In this book, using case studies and examples, constant effort has been made to make the understanding of the difficult concepts of alternative medicine as easy and informative as possible, for the readers.
Call Number: R733 .C653 2017x
Current and Emerging Therapies in Pancreatic Cancer This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of current and new therapies in treating pancreatic cancer. In addition to discussing the current landscape for treating various stages of pancreatic cancer, the text highlights several standard and emerging approaches, with a particular emphasis on novel endoscopic, surgical, chemotherapeutic, radiotherapeutic, targeted, and immunotherapeutic strategies. The volume also features concepts on the potential economic effects associated with the development and implementation of new treatments in pancreatic cancer. Written by experts from a variety of integrative disciplines, Current and Emerging Therapies in Pancreatic Cancer is a valuable resource for oncologists, gastroenterologists, surgeons, and other professionals who treat and manage patients with pancreatic cancer.
Call Number: RC280.P25 C87 2018x
Cytopathology Cytopathology provides a wide-ranging overview of the microscopic study of normal and abnormal cells, showing how current visualization methods are used to study cell structure, and how early detection of abnormal cell pathology can lead to timely clinical interventions.
Call Number: RB25 .C98 2018
Diagnostic Pathology: Transplant Pathology Part of the highly regarded Diagnostic Pathology series, this updated volume by Drs. Anthony Chang and Robert B. Colvin is an ideal point-of-care reference to guide you through the complex realm of transplant pathology. Concise, focused chapters, supported by tables, diagrams, radiographs, and photographs, provide essential information to keep you up to date with the impact of new viral infections, updates from the Banff Allograft Conference, new information on next-generation sequencing, and much more. More than 20 experts present their collective knowledge to assist you with different aspects of transplant pathology, including rare issues such as the impact of new viral infections (e.g., the Zika virus on transplant patients who are immunosuppressed) Packed with high-quality images that provide examples and potential pitfalls of diagnostic lesions that you are likely to encounter Time-saving reference features include bulleted text, tables of diagnostic criteria, annotated images, and an extensive index Thoroughly updated content keeps you current with all aspects of transplant immunology and pathology, guiding you expertly through diagnostic challenges such as donor disease, surgical complications, allograft rejection, drug toxicity, opportunistic infections, and/or recurrent or de novo diseases that can occur simultaneously or at different times New Banff classifications are integrated into all chapters, covering pathology of all clinical organ transplants, including kidney, heart, lung, liver, pancreas, small bowel, and vascularized composite allografts as well as bone marrow allografts New coverage includes next-generation sequencing, which is quickly becoming the standard for HLA testing, as well as new drugs that are in clinical trials for the treatment of antibody-mediated rejection Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD120.7 .C43 2019x
Fibromyalgia Syndrome Widespread Pain: from construction to relavant recognition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Published under the auspices of the International Association for the Study of Pain, Fibromyalgia Syndrome and Widespread Pain: From Construction to Relevant Recognition offers a holistic guide to the understanding and management of fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS), bringing together contributors and approaches from the worlds of medicine, complementary medicine, physical therapy, pharmacology and psychology. A unique and necessary approach to this debilitating condition! Chapters tackle a range of topics, including the history and clinical features and criteria of FMS, the variety of treatment and management options, differential diagnosis, epidemiology, genetic factors, and more. Succinct, precise writing style brings a laser-like focus to the material, highlighting what's really important. Considers social, economic, psychological, and medical/clinical constructions of FMS. Includes a true-to-life account from a patient of what it's like to live with FMS. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC927.3 .F53 2018
Guide to Clinical Documentation Understand the when, why, and how! Here's your guide to developing the skills you need to master the increasing complex challenges of documenting patient care. Step by step, a straightforward 'how-to' approach teaches you how to write SOAP notes, document patient care in office and hospital settings, and write prescriptions. You'll find a wealth of examples, exercises, and instructions that make every point clear and easy to understand. See what practitioners and students are saying online... Definitely worth the purchase. "This is a guide which will stay with you during your whole nursing program...so do not rent you must buy it and think of it as a documentation bible!"--Barbie Great resource for NP/PA school. "Purchased this for my NP program. The book made writing SOAP notes and H&Ps very simple! Would recommend as a great resource"--Dr. Jon Love this! "Right down to it charting instructions and guidance. Even discusses codes and other factors of charting I had not taken into such deep account before. ... this book helped me understand how much more charting, other than SOAP's, must be completed for compliance standards. I feel this book is for just about everyone who is learning to chart as a reimbursable provider. --D. Conley
Call Number: R697.P45 S85 2019
The Pancreas: an integrated textbook of basic science, medicine and surgery This brand new updated edition of the most comprehensive reference book on pancreatic disease details the very latest knowledge on genetics and molecular biological background in terms of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and pathophysiology for all known disorders. Included for the first time, are two brand new sections on the key areas of Autoimmune Pancreatitis and Benign Cystic Neoplasms. In addition, this edition is filled with over 500 high-quality illustrations, line drawings, and radiographs that provide a step-by-step approach to all endoscopic techniques and surgical procedures. Each of these images can be downloaded via an online image bank for use in scientific presentations. Every existing chapter in The Pancreas: An Integrated Textbook of Basic Science, Medicine and Surgery, 3rd Edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to include the many changes in clinical practice since publication of the current edition. The book includes new guidelines for non-surgical and surgical treatment; new molecular biologic pathways to support clinical decision making in targeted treatment of pancreatic cancer; new minimally invasive surgical approaches for pancreatic diseases; and the latest knowledge of neuroendocrine tumors and periampullary tumors. The most encyclopedic book on the pancreas--providing outstanding and clear guidance for the practicing clinician Covers every known pancreatic disorder in detail including its anatomy, physiology, pathology, pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management Completely updated with brand new chapters Over 500 downloadable illustrations An editor and author team of high international repute who present global best-practice The Pancreas: An Integrated Textbook of Basic Science, Medicine and Surgery, 3rd Edition is an important book for gastroenterologists and gastrointestinal surgeons worldwide.
Call Number: RC857 .P282 2018
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: *Patient Education *Motivating for behavior change *Breaking bad news *Managing different personality types *Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice *Nonverbal communication *Using computers in the exam room *Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention. If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.
Call Number: RC65 .S65 2019
Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation Get a quick, expert overview of stroke risks among patients with treated and untreated atrial fibrillation, in addition to best practices for management and treatment of patients with atrial fibrillation to minimize stroke risks. This concise, clinically-focused resource by Dr. Greg Flaker consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource, making it an ideal, easy-to-digest reference for practicing and trainee cardiologists as well as general practitioners treating and monitoring these patients. Covers a broad spectrum of management and treatment options for atrial fibrillation including anticoagulants, surgical and implanted devices. Presents information on recent drug trials to keep you up to date with the latest developments. Includes guidance on anticoagulation in special situations, such as cardioversion and ablation, in addition to atrial fibrillation treatment in patients with other medical conditions including cancer, major bleeding disorders, and renal or liver disease. Chapter on Risk Stratification assists in identifying patients with a high risk of stroke and predicting treatment outcomes. Chapter on The New Anticoagulation Clinic overviews best practices for patient education, compliance, follow-up monitoring, and quality assurance to aid in better patient outcomes.
Call Number: RC388.5 .F535 2018x
Management/Employee Development Books
Brand Now: how to stand out in a crowded, distracted world Capture their attention-and keep it! With the rise of digital media, you'd think it would be easier than ever to be heard. Yet, most messages fail to cut through the clutter. Consumers are overwhelmed. Ads alone aren't effective. And you can't just churn out content and connect on every social network. To stand out today, you need to start with your brand. Brand Now uncovers the new rules of branding in our complex and chaotic world. Written by the author of Get Scrappy, the digital marketing bible for business, this latest book explains how to build brands that resonate both online and off. The book helps you: Create a brand with meaning * Reinforce it with the right touchpoints * Hone your brand's unique story * Share it through engaging content * Cultivate a sense of community * Craft a coherent experience * Stand out with simplicity and transparency The world may be growing louder, but with Brand Now's big ideas and practical toolbox, you can break through the noise-and win a place in the hearts and minds of your customers.
Call Number: HF5415.1255 .W4157 2018
Building a Culture of Ownership in Healthcare: the invisible architecture of core values, attitude and self-empowerment Using construction as their metaphor, authors Joe Tye and Bob Dent make a compelling case that an organizations invisible architecture a foundation of core values, a superstructure of organizational culture, and the interior finish of workplace attitude is no less important than its visible architecture. Further, they assert that culture will not change unless people change, and people will not change unless they are inspired to do so and given the right tools. Building a Culture of Ownership in Healthcare takes readers on a journey from accountability to ownership[md]providing a proven model, strategies, and practical solutions to help improve organizational culture in the healthcare setting. Learn how investing in your organization and your people can enable a significant, successful change in productivity; employee engagement; nurse satisfaction, recruitment, and retention; quality of care; patient satisfaction; and financial outcomes.
Call Number: RA418 .T84 2017x
Designing Quality Survey Questions How researchers ask a question can dramatically influence the answers they receive. This text provides specific advice on question wording and addresses challenges such as demographic language questions(e.g. How to ask about gender), creative question design to keep respondents engaged and avoid survey fatigue, web-based survey formats, culturally-responsive survey design, and factors that influence survey responses (memory, social desirability, etc.). The authors include numerous examples of questions to illustrate each identified principle of question construction.
Call Number: HM538 .R63 2019
The Eight Roles of the Medical Teacher: the purpose and function of a teacher in the healthcare profession This book will be an essential read for all new teachers or trainers in medicine and the healthcare professions, while encouraging the more experienced teacher to review their educational responsibilities. It looks at teaching from the perspective of the functions or roles of a teacher. While aiming to maintain both brevity and clarity it adopts a personal style and approach in order to provide a flavour of what it means to be a teacher. The authors describe the eight key roles for the teacher or trainer. For maximum effectiveness and job satisfaction it is important for every teacher to establish their roles in an education programme and to know how to contribute most effectively. This book is written to assist with these goals. All teachers should have an understanding of the eight roles but cannot be expected to be an expert in all of them. A consideration of these roles illuminates what is expected of a teacher and illustrates how to maximise potential. All the chapters contain brief overviews, key take-home messages, a summary of the role responsibilities of all teachers, 'expert' teachers and 'master' teachers, and suggestions for consideration by the teacher as to their personal role. At the end of each chapter is a list of references of the topics addressed in the chapter. The text includes short narratives from 38 teachers around the world as well as personal anecdotes to provide an additional insight into the roles a teacher fulfils. The first chapter highlights the importance of the teacher in an educational programme and how the teacher is critical to the success of the learner. The second chapter provides an overview of the eight roles and how they are interconnected. The subsequent chapters describe in turn each of the roles, highlighting what is expected of a teacher, what is required of an expert teacher, and what is anticipated of a master teacher who is an innovator in the field relating to a particular role. The final chapter reviews the eight roles in the context of the day-to-day work of the teacher and how these roles are changing.
Call Number: R735 .H373 2018x
How to Write a Lot: a practical guide to productive academic writing All academics need to write, but many struggle to finish their dissertations, articles, books, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule. How can we write it all while still having a life? In this second edition of his popular guidebook, Paul Silvia offers fresh advice to help you overcome barriers to writing and use your time more productively. After addressing some common excuses and bad habits, he provides practical strategies to motivate students, professors, researchers, and other academics to become better and more prolific writers. Silvia draws from his own experience in psychology to explain how to write, submit, and revise academic work, from journal articles to books, all without sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. The tips and strategies in this second edition have been updated to apply to academic writing in most disciplines. Also new to this edition is a chapter on writing grant and fellowship proposals.
Call Number: PE1408 .S48787 2019
Intervention Research and Evidence-Based Quality Improvement: designing, conducting, analyzing and funding First Edition received 2012 First Place AJN Book of the Year Award in Nursing Research "This is a resource for success and should be a part of any researcher's library." --Doody's Medical Reviews (Praise for the First Edition) Written for researchers, clinicians and doctoral students, the newly revised edition of this comprehensive reference continues to deliver the essentials of intervention research with added content on evidence-based quality improvement, a must for improving healthcare quality, safety and population health outcomes. Although typically it takes years for research-based interventions to make their way to real world clinical settings, this "prolonged time for translation" frustrates researchers and their interprofessional teams. This second edition now delves even deeper into key strategies for rapidly moving research-based interventions into real world settings in the form of evidence-based quality improvement as well as the challenges of working in an increasingly diverse professional research environment. Intervention Research and Evidence-Based Quality Improvement, Second Edition begins at the pilot study phase for intervention research and highlights every step of the way through to full-scale randomized controlled trials. Written in user-friendly format, content covers designing, conducting, analyzing, and funding intervention studies that improve healthcare quality and people's health outcomes. Chapters cover writing grant applications and show examples of actual applications that have been funded by NIH and other organizations. These real-life samples are available online, alongside additional progress reports and final reports. Real-world examples of evidence-based quality improvement projects that have improved outcomes also are highlighted in this second edition. New to the Second Edition: Describes evidence-based quality improvement and specific steps in conducting EBQI projects, which are essential for enhancing healthcare quality, safety and costs along with enhancing population health outcomes.Emphasizes the importance of interprofessional teamsFocuses on using research-based interventions in real-world settingsSix new chapters o Generating Versus Using Evidence to Guide Best Practice o Setting the Stage for Intervention Research and Evidence-based Quality Improvement o Evidence-based Quality Improvement o Translational Research: Why and How o Factors Influencing Successful Uptake of Evidence-Based Interventions in Clinical Practice o Using Social Media to Enhance Uptake of Research-Based Interventions into Real World Clinical Settings Key Features: Provides a practical, comprehensive resource for designing, conducting, analyzing, and funding intervention studiesOutlines the specific steps in designing, conducting and evaluating outcomes of evidence-based quality improvement projectsIncludes examples of funding research grants, progress reports, and final reportsServes as a core text for students in doctoral nursing and other health sciences programs
Call Number: RA440.85 .I58 2019
Leadership Styles: how to discover and leverage yours You have a particular style, of course, but do you know what it is and how it compares to the styles of other leaders? Do you know what types of employees respond best to your leadership style? And in which situations your particular style is likely to generate the best results? Based on a study of more than 300,000 leaders, we've discovered the four fundamental leadership styles: Pragmatist, Idealist, Steward and Diplomat. Each one has strengths and weaknesses, so if you want to be an exceptional leader, you need to understand how to best leverage your personal leadership style to achieve maximal results from your team.
Call Number: HD69.S8 M87 2018x
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications: how to think more clearly, communicate more effectively, disclose more transparently and enjoy greater success on submissions The imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual."Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
Call Number: R119 .G88 2019x
All about us . . .
Mayo Clinic: faith, hope, science by Based on the PBS documentary by Ken Burns, Erik Ewers, and Christopher Loren Ewers airing September 25. On September 30, 1889, W.W. Mayo and his sons Will and Charlie performed the very first operation at a brand-new Catholic hospital in Rochester, Minnesota. It was called Saint Marys. The hospital arose out of the devastation of a tornado that had struck the town six years earlier. After the storm, Mother Alfred Moes of the Sisters of Saint Francis told the Mayos that she had a vision of building a hospital that would "become world renowned for its medical arts." Based on the film by acclaimed documentary filmmaker Ken Burns, The Mayo Clinic: Faith, Hope, Science chronicles the history of this unique organization, from its roots as an unlikely partnership between a country doctor and a Franciscan order of nuns to its position today as a worldwide model for patient care, research, and education. Featuring more than 400 compelling archival and modern images, as well as the complete script from the film, the book demonstrates how the institution's remarkable 150-year history continues to inspire the way medicine is practiced there today. In addition, a series of case studies reveals patients, doctors, and nurses in their most private moments as together they face difficult diagnoses and embark on uncertain treatments. The film and this companion book tell the story of an organization that has managed to stay true to its primary value--the needs of the patient come first. Together, they make an important contribution to the critical discussions about the delivery of health care today in America...and the world.
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015