Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of Mindfulness in Education by This handbook addresses the educational uses of mindfulness in schools. It summarizes the state of the science and describes current and emerging applications and challenges throughout the field. It explores mindfulness concepts in scientific, theoretical, and practical terms and examines training opportunities both as an aspect of teachers' professional development and a means to enhance students' social-emotional and academic skills. Chapters discuss mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy programs that have produced positive student outcomes, including stress relief, self-care, and improved classroom and institutional engagement. Featured topics include: A comprehensive view of mindfulness in the modern era. Contemplative education and the roots of resilience. Mindfulness practice and its effect on students' social-emotional learning. A cognitive neuroscience perspective on mindfulness in education that addresses students' academic and social skills development. Mindfulness training for teachers and administrators. Two universal mindfulness education programs for elementary and middle school students. The Handbook of Mindfulness in Education is a must-have resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners in psychology, psychiatry, education, and medicine, as well as counseling, social work, and rehabilitation therapy.
Call Number: BF721 .H35 2016
The New Nurse Educator: Mastering Academe by This unequaled resource guides novice nurse educators step by step through the challenging process of transitioning from service to academe. It comprehensively addresses not only the fundamentals of teaching, evaluation, and curriculum development, but also the entire spectrum of skills and duties required of the nurse educator. This second edition delivers two new chapters devoted to the hospital-based educator and global health issues, including the future of nursing education. It contains new clinical teaching models and pedagogies and emphasizes the use of technology in a variety of teaching and learning strategies. Key updates examine the current and future nursing workforce, emerging and evolving nursing programs, and innovative trends in curricular design, along with new information on infectious diseases, genomics, and legal and ethical concerns. Based on the author's personal journey from nursing practice to academe, the text addresses ways to "test the waters" of the new role. It outlines preparation requirements and discusses learning styles, curriculum development, theoretical frameworks, cultural diversity, and students with learning disabilities. It addresses tenure and promotion, collegiality, service, leadership, mentoring, writing for publication, and scholarship. Additionally, the text prepares students for the interview process and includes sample curricula vitae (CVs), patient education handouts, and course objectives. Learning objectives, review questions, and critical thinking vignettes in each chapter, along with tables and bulleted information, further contribute to the text's value as an outstanding resource for both academic and hospital settings. New to the Second Edition: A chapter devoted to the role of the hospital-based educatorA chapter on global health and education, health care policy, and the future of nursing educationNoted experts discuss simulation, gaming and education, legal concerns, and global health nursingNew clinical teaching models and pedagogiesEmphasizes the use of technologyExamines the current and future nursing workforceEmerging and evolving nursing programsInnovative trends in curricular design Key Features: Provides highly practical, step-by-step information on all components of being a nurse educator/faculty memberHelps nurses transition from service roles to educator/faculty rolesIncludes advice from novice and seasoned nurse educators, nurse leaders, and nursing theoristsIncludes learning objectives and review questions in each chapterProvides sample forms and documents for CVs and developing course content
Call Number: RT71 .H77 2018
Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Tearning for Nursing Practice by Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice, Fifth Edition prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. One of the most outstanding and unique features of this text is that it focuses on multiple audiences therefore making it applicable to both undergraduate and graduate nursing courses.The Fifth Edition features coverage of relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socioeconomics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: RT90 .N86 2019
Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators: Making it Real by When employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. This acclaimed text for nursing faculty provides detailed, step-by-step guidance on all aspects of clinical simulation. Appropriate for all levels of nursing students, from pre-licensure to doctoral level, the book contains the authors' own advice and experiences working in simulation around the globe. For the third edition, 20 new scenarios have been added, and all scenarios have been updated to adhere to best-practice simulation standards for design, facilitator and participant criteria, interprofessional criteria, and debriefing processes. Scenarios are presented in a structured format that includes objectives, pre-scenario checklists, implementation plans, evaluation criteria, debriefing guidelines, and recommendations for further use. A template for creating scenarios spans the text and includes student preparation materials, forms to enhance the realness of the scenario, and checklists for practice assessment and evaluation. This comprehensive resource covers geriatric, pediatric, trauma, obstetric, and community-based patient scenarios. This revised edition includes scenarios easily adaptable to an instructor's own lab, an international perspective, and a section on graduate nursing education. New to the Third Edition: 20 brand new scenarios in anesthesia, midwifery, pediatric, disaster, and other specialty-focused situations, plus five new chaptersUpdated to encompass new simulation pedagogy including best-practice standardsNew scenarios easily adapted to an instructor's own labInterprofessional and international scenarios focused on areas of global concern: obstetric hemorrhage, neonatal hypoglycemia, and deteriorating patients Key Features: Includes information on how to integrate simulation into curriculaAddresses conceptual and theoretical foundations of simulation in nursing education, including an expanded chapter on the Framework for Simulation Learning in Nursing EducationIncludes a wide variety of practical scenarios in ready-to-use format with instructionsProvides a template for scenario developmentDelivers recommendations for integration of point-of-care decision-making toolsOffers opportunities for enhancing complexity and incorporating interprofessional competencies
Call Number: RT73 .S54 2018