Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology by Comprehensive and practical, the freshly updated Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology, 4th Edition, offers nearly 450 illustrations that demonstrate the causes, symptoms, and progression of more than 200 disorders. Clear and simple explanations of each disorder are followed by rationales for proven clinical interventions. This backup to classroom texts is also a handy on-the-unit reference for nurses and other healthcare professionals, and support for patient education. At-a-glance answers--and the right interventions--for more than 200 disorders in a quick-read format ... NEW includes a free eBook download see details below NEW and updated content illustrating and explaining the most common conditions, with topics presented alphabetically: Central concepts--cells, cancer, infection, genetics, and fluids and electrolytes Disorders affecting each body system--respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, hematologic, immunologic, endocrine, and reproductive--as well as renal, skin, and sensory disorders Each disease entry presents an introduction, causes, pathophysiology, complications, signs and symptoms, diagnostic test results, and treatment, with facing page showing a detailed illustration to help you visualize the disease process Easy-to-locate content in an easy-read template that tackles numerous topics found in daily practice, such as: Diseases and disorders that need immediate attention, such as pulmonary embolism, depression, and glaucoma The differences between prehypertension and Stage 1 hypertension Which parts of the brain are affected by generalized seizures, as opposed to partial seizures Lifestyle changes to recommend to a patient with high plasma glucose The causes of carpel tunnel syndrome 450 large, detailed, full-color illustrations from Anatomical Chart Company to help you differentiate among symptoms and disorders that appear similar Icons that offer important tips, including: Age Alert - how pathophysiologic processes--incidence, onset, and clinical appearance--appear in different age groups, such as aortic aneurysm, atypical myocardial infarction, and Parkinson's disease Clinical Tips - advice on areas such as improving auscultation in myocarditis, evaluating diagnostic test results in suspected spinal injuries, early recognition of life-threatening symptoms in myasthenia gravis, respiration changes in peritonitis, and more Complications - identifies common progressions of untreated or worsening conditions Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Julie Stewart, DNP, MPH, MSN, FNP-BC, AAHIVS, is an Associate Professor and Director of the Family Nurse Practitioner and Doctor of Nursing Practice Programs at Sacred Heart University, College of Nursing, in Fairfield, Connecticut.
Call Number: RB113 .A87 2018
Atlas of Anatomy of the Peripheral Nerves by This innovative atlas focuses on peripheral nerves and provides a brand new approach compared to regular anatomy books. Using a modern 3D approach, it offers an alternative to conventional anatomical structures. It reviews all the anatomy and the morphology of these structures from an original point of view. In these three-dimensional diagrams, as well as in the watercolor drawings enhanced with a 3D inlay, each type of nerve is depicted in a minute detail. The atlas simplifies the anatomy and make it easy and understandable by allowing readers to develop a mental "real-time 3D GPS". The integration of MRI sections related to the drawings and the descriptions of the main nerve injuries provide medical students with a flexible but effective transition to the radiological interpretation and furthers the clinical learning process. After a detailed evaluation of the morphofunctional anatomy of the peripheral nerves, the authors present a collection of relevant data on neuromuscular transmission, both from classical and recent literature, ranging from the central and peripheral nervous system to the effector muscle. This information offers a basis for understanding the physiology, the pathology, and the repair prospects of peripheral nerves from a purely theoretical point of view. The book is divided into three main parts: - Fundamental notions: from immunohistochemistry to limb innervation - The upper limb: the brachial plexus and related peripheral nerves - The lower limb: the lumbosacral plexus and related peripheral nerves This atlas also features 261 outstanding full-colour 2D and 3D illustrations. Each picture has been designed in 2D and 3D with a combination of the original editor's personal drawings/paintings and 3D-modeling tools. This book is a valuable resource for anyone studying medicine, anaesthesiology, neurosurgery, spine surgery, pain, radiology or rheumatology and is also of high interest to the whole medical community in general.
Call Number: QM471 .A8413 2017x
Building a Medical Vocabulary: With Spanish Translations by Learn to simplify complex medical terminology. Using a comprehensive, yet easy way to learn medical terms, Building a Medical Vocabulary, 10th Edition, introduces a step-by-step approach to effective communication in the healthcare environment. Beginning with commonly used medical terms, the text moves cleanly through more difficult vocabulary by adding new combining forms, prefixes, and suffixes. Small segments of material are immediately followed by fill-in exercises. Learning is also reinforced with Evolve resources such as interactive games, animations, and audio pronunciations. Organizing medical terms by body system, this text provides you with the building blocks for effective communication in the healthcare environment. Healthcare Reports and case studies encourage you to apply your knowledge to job-like situations. Programmed Learning sections allow you to actively participate in learning and get instant feedback on your progress. Strong level of A&P coverage provides the background that you need to understand body systems in the context of medical terminology. Thorough explanation of terms enhances your understanding by presenting vocabulary in the context of medical settings. Be Careful with These caution boxes highlight important distinctions you need to make among terms that are similar in spelling and/or pronunciation. List of key terms with pronunciations in each chapter provides you with a helpful review that coordinates with audio files on the Evolve companion website. Comprehensive end-of-chapter reviews bring learning full circle and allow you to measure your learning against chapter objectives. Glossary/Index makes it easy to find words and their definitions, and is great for final exam review. Clear, conversational writing style makes reading and absorbing the material enjoyable. Vocabulary list at the end of each chapter provides a quick review of important terms along with their pronunciations. Bookmark pronunciation guide makes it easy to find pronunciations and may also be used to cover the answer column while working the programmed learning sections of the text. Function first sections orient you to physiology and why each body system is important. Spanish translations familiarizes you with common Spanish terminology that you are likely to encounter in the clinical environment. NEW! Additional healthcare reports allow you to see terminology in context. NEW! Pharmacology in the body systems chapters lists common drug classes with pharmaceuticals. NEW! Oncology chapter provides terminology in this important area of healthcare.
Call Number: R123 .L46 2018
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by Evidence-based Practice across the Health Professions is a contemporary guide to modern evidence-based practice. Fully revised and updated, it continues to keep the focus on the knowledge and skills that clinicians and students really need to make evidence-based informed decisions. It provides a foundation to help you to better ponder what clinical questions to ask, know ways to efficiently find research that answers those questions, know how to decide whether the results of research are believable, important and applicable and use good evidence with patients to provide healthcare as responsibly, effectively and collaboratively as possible. Featuring a multi-discplinary approach with contributions from international and national leaders in evidence-based practice, this new edition now includes 15 health disciplines, including: - Clinical exercise physiology - Optometry - Complementary and alternative medicine - Paramedicine - Human movement (exercise science) - Pharmacy - Medical imaging - Physiotherapy - Medicine - Podiatry - Nursing - Radiation Therapy - Nutrition and dietetics - Speech pathology - Medicine - Occupational Therapy Visit evolve.elsevier.com for your additional resources Instructor resources: Image collection PowerPoint slides Short answer and tutorial questions Clinical Scenarios Test bank Student and instructor resources: Interactive quiz Worksheets Updated and additional content on shared decision making Additional case studies on community pharmacy and optometry Expanded and updated content on evidence implementation New content on diagnostic clinical prediction rules Revised and expanded evolve assets to support teaching and learning
Call Number: R723.7 .H64 2017x
Genetics and Genomics in Nursing and Health Care by Complex concepts made manageable! Build the foundation you need to understand the science of genetics and its growing role in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders. Confidently tackle the basics of genetic inheritance, the influence of somatic and germline mutations, the multifactorial relationship of gene-environment interactions, and the foundation of ethical behavior. Everyday language makes these often-intimidating topics easy to understand, while clearly defined principles, logical explanations, illustrations, tables, and clinical examples ensure you master the material. See what students are saying online about the previous edition.... Genetics simplified and easy to understand. "Genetics simplified and easy to understand. Wish I had this when learning DNA replication in Microbiology. Lot of good charts. I plan to keep even after the class because it's interesting and easy to understand."--Katalina Cade Great resource! "This is a complex subject and this book makes it so much easier to learn and understand! I love the "memory hints" it gives you throughout the book."--Kira Short
Call Number: QH447 .B44 2018
Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions by Learn the essential concepts of major diseases/disorders and disease processes. Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 6th Edition is a concise, easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of pathophysiology. Continuing in its well-known tradition of readability and vivid, full-color illustrations, the text is updated with the latest research and trends in human disease. Disorders are described by body system, with coverage of the interactions between systems, and special features help you to apply the material to real-life situations. No matter which healthcare field you may enter, this book provides solid preparation for the conditions you may encounter in clinical practice. Updated graphics help you recognize and identify various concepts and specific disorders through enhanced flowcharts, photos, and illustrations. Concise and readable approach includes the information you need without overwhelming you, even if you have a limited scientific background. Format for individual disorder discussions includes 1) background, 2) pathophysiology, 3) etiology, 4) signs and symptoms, 5) diagnoses, 6) possible related complications/disorders, and 7) treatments/research. UNIQUE! Apply Your Knowledge questions ask you to use what you've learned to predict What can go wrong with this structure or system, transitioning you from normal anatomy and physiology into pathophysiology. UNIQUE! Think About questions alert you to important points and help with self-evaluation, test preparation, and review. Warning Signs boxes help in identifying the pre-emptive signs of physiologic events such as strokes. Emergency Treatment boxes give step-by-step instructions to follow for emergencies such as shock, cardiac arrest, and pneumothorax. Research boxes discuss new developments, problem areas of pathophysiology, and complications associated with research. Key terms, learning objectives, and bulleted chapter summaries help you focus on key concepts and information. NEW! All chapters updated to include new data on major diseases and other changes in guidelines and the literature, reflecting latest developments in pathophysiology including, updated drug therapy content, expanded coverage of viruses, new cancer treatments, new research on the links between mental health and biochemical/physiologic factors, and much more! NEW! Streamlined narrative content enhances the readability of imperative information.
Call Number: RB113 .G68 2018
Gray's Surface Anatomy and Ultrasound: A Foundation for Clinical Practice by A concise, superbly illustrated (print + electronic) textbook that brings together a reliable, clear and up to date guide to surface anatomy and its underlying gross anatomy, combined with a practical application of ultrasound and other imaging modalities. A thorough understanding of surface anatomy remains a critical part of clinical practice, but with improved imaging technology, portable ultrasound is also fast becoming integral to routine clinical examination and effective diagnosis. This unique new text combines these two essential approaches to effectively understanding clinical anatomy and reflects latest approaches within modern medical curricula. It is tailored specifically to the needs of medical students and doctors in training and will also prove invaluable to the wide range of allied health students and professionals who need a clear understanding of visible and palpable anatomy combined with anatomy as seen on ultrasound. Concise text and high quality illustrations, photographs, CT, MRI and ultrasound scans provide a clear, integrated understanding of the anatomical basis for modern clinical practice Highly accessible and at a level appropriate for medical students and a wide range of allied health students and professionals Reflects current curriculum trend of heavily utilizing living anatomy and ultrasound to learn anatomy Supplementary video content showing live ultrasound scans and guided areas of surface anatomy to bring content to life and reflect current teaching and clinical settings An international advisory panel appointed to add expertise and ensure relevance to the variety of medical and allied health markets Inclusion of latest ultrasound image modalities Designed to complement and enhance the highly successful Gray's family of texts/atlases although also effective as a stand-alone or alongside other established anatomy resources
Call Number: QM531 .S65 2018
McMinn's Concise Human Anatomy by Focusing on the essentials, McMinn's Concise Human Anatomy is a convenient, portable guide and revision aid. The clear, jargon-free text is supported by high-quality, labelled photographs of cadaver dissections and surface anatomy, radiological images captured using the latest technologies and explanatory line diagrams, all redrawn for this edition. Providing full explanations of difficult anatomical relationships, and highlighting features of clinical significance throughout, this second edition remains an invaluable guide for students of anatomy across the medical and health sciences, and a handy reference for the busy clinician.
Call Number: QM23.2 .H49 2018
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by Focus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this book is an ideal anatomy reference for students who want to make the most of their study time or need a concise review of clinical anatomy. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology. Every clinical correlation - more than 200 in all - is illustrated. Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and identify areas where you may need further study. Portable book size makes it easy to carry on the go. More review questions, including figure- and image-based questions More Clinical Focus boxes eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes additional multiple-choice questions, 3D models, and fully searchable text and images.
Call Number: QM31 .N48 2019
Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain by Acclaimed for its clear, friendly style, excellent illustrations, leading author team, and compelling theme of exploration, Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain, 4e takes a fresh, contemporary approach to the study of neuroscience, emphasizing the biological basis of behavior. The authors,, passion for the dynamic field of neuroscience is evident on every page, engaging students and helping them master the material. In just a few years, the field of neuroscience has been transformed by exciting new technologies and an explosion of knowledge about the brain. The human genome has been sequenced, sophisticated new methods have been developed for genetic engineering, and new methods have been introduced to enable visualization and stimulation of specific types of nerve cells and connections in the brain. The new Fourth Edition has been fully updated to reflect these and other rapid advances in the field, while honoring its commitment to be student-friendly with striking new illustrations, additional animations, and an unparalleled array of online resources. Features: - "Path of Discovery" boxes by leading experts in the field (including Nobel Prize winners) showcase actual research experiences, illuminating real-life paths to scientific discovery. - Illustrations and animations make complex concepts easier to understand. - A neuroanatomy atlas insert (Appendix to Chapter 7) provides large images that highlight the anatomy of the brain, along with a self-quiz that gives students an opportunity to check their understanding. - "Of Special Interest" boxes provide interesting facts and topics that connect theory with real-life neuroscience applications. - "Brain food" boxes provide additional information on key topics.
Call Number: QP355.2 .B42 2016
Pathophysiology by Learn the what, how, and why of pathophysiology! With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 8th Edition helps you understand the most important and most complex pathophysiology concepts. This updated text includes more than 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs to make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. This edition includes a NEW chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders, along with expanded coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics. It's the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! The most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text on the market provides unparalleled coverage of Pathophysiology content. Over 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes - more than in any other pathophysiology text. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Outstanding authors Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether have extensive backgrounds as researchers and instructors, and utilize expert contributors, consultants, and reviewers in developing this edition. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy for you to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Additional What's New boxes highlight the most current research and clinical development. Nutrition and Disease boxes explain the link between concepts of health promotion and disease. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. NEW! Chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders thoroughly covers these growing global concerns. NEW! Added coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics further explore genetic disease traits. NEW! Over 50 new or heavily revised illustrations visually highlight pathophysiology concepts. NEW! More than 30 new 3D animations on Evolve bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes.
Call Number: RB113 .M35 2019
Pharmacology Demystified by The fun, fast, and effective way for nursing majors to master pharmacology! Finally! A pharmacology primer written for nursing (and other allied health) majors rather than pharmacy students. You might be apprehensive learning pharmacology, especially if you have little, if any, experience with drugs. Pharmacology can by mystifying. However, it becomes demystified as you read this innovative text, because your knowledge of basic science is used as the foundation to learn pharmacology. All you need is a working knowledge of basic science - and Pharmacology Demystified - and you're well on your way to mastering this challenging topic. Pharmacology Demystified starts you off by fully explaining must-know concepts and practices in easily understood everyday language. Then, this unique guide leads you forward - at your own pace - to master the more complex aspects of pharmacology. Summations of key points, background information, quizzes at the end of each chapter, and a "final exam" reinforce learning every step of the way.
Call Number: RM301.12 .K36 2018
Lange Flashcards: Biochemistry and Genetic by Nearly two hundred case-based flash cards provide a fun, fast way for students to review the essentials of biochemistry and genetics Biochemistry and Genetics Flash Cards, Third Edition feature a clinical vignette on one side, with key disease facts such as etiology, pathology/pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and treatment on the flip side of the card. They offer a concise, yet complete review of the subject and are valuable for the biochemistry and genetics shelf exam as well as the USMLE Step 1. The author has carefully selected the most board-relevant content, with a strong focus on the clinical aspects of the subject. * Introduction cards appear at the beginning of each section to refresh knowledge of basic principles * Important disease facts are highlighted for rapid review * Perfect for disease comparisons
Call Number: QR46 .B37 2018x