Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Call Number: RM300 .B285 2018
The Doctor of Nursing Practice: A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues by The Doctor of Nursing Practice: A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive guidebook for role development of the DNP student. This text covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate. Conversational in tone, the Fourth Edition covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate.
Call Number: RT75 .C55 2019
Essentials of Pain Medicine by Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Features hundreds of diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify key information and injection techniques - now in full color for the first time. Includes the latest best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Discusses recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular pain. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD84 .E87 2018
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing: Foundations, Skills, and Roles by Delivers unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP in nursing programs A fundamental, reader-friendly guide to evidence-based practice (EBP) for BSN, MSN, and DNP nursing students, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing explains the conceptual underpinnings of EBP and demonstrates how nurses can put EBP concepts into practice. Replete with critical knowledge, skills, tools, and scholarly development to enable nurses to fully and confidently deliver the highest-quality EBP care, this book eschews a one-size-fits-all approach in favor of unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP. Building blocks of information grow progressively more complex, enabling their application to any point along nursing's academic trajectory. Thoughtfully organized to fit a variety of EBP-related course objectives, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing easily adapts for standalone EBP courses at any level as well as advanced practice specialty courses that integrate EBP content. This book addresses the needs of all nursing instructors, including those who teach at multiple levels simultaneously. Key content includes requisite conceptual knowledge of EBP for building clinical decision-making skills; conceptualizing, implementing, and evaluating EBP projects; applying translational science; quality improvement for implementation and evaluation of EBP; developing leadership and structural empowerment strategies; and analyzing how students at each degree/level work with EBP independently, interprofessionally, and intraprofessionally. Chapters align with AACN essentials. Key Features: Follows a methodical systematic trajectory, building from simple to complex conceptsIncludes abundant examples demonstrating both negative and positive EBP applicationsEnables instructors to adopt one textbook for students at different levels of knowledge and educationIncludes practical design templates for developing EBP implementation plans with critical guidepostsProvides a quality improvement toolkit, key words and concepts, illustrative tables, and figures
Call Number: RT42 .E953 2018
Financial and Business Management for the Doctor of Nursing Practice by First Edition Awarded Second Place in 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards The second edition of this award-winning text, designed specifically for the DNP course in health care economics and finance, remains the only book to embed economic and financial concepts in the context of nursing practice and nursing health care systems. Well organized and clearly written, the second edition is updated to encompass key changes to reimbursement and health care regulations and provides revised statistics throughout. It offers new information on ambulatory care, cost and ratio analysis, additional examples of financial statements, and an updated sample business plan. Enhanced teaching strategies include real-life case studies, challenging critical thinking questions, learning games, key terms in each chapter, and an extensive glossary. New PowerPoint slides add to the text's value as a robust teaching tool. Written by experienced DNP executives for DNPs, the book emphasizes critical skills nurse leaders need to participate in strategic health care planning. It delivers a practical approach to business, finance, economics, and health policy that is designed to foster sound business practice and leadership. The text clearly explicates the relationship between cost of care, quality of care, and ethics, and examines the economic and financial implications of evidence-based practice and quality. Also included is a special section on finance for independent practitioners. Additionally, the book delivers required competencies of the AACN Essentials and the AONE. New to the Second Edition: Updated statistics throughoutNew information on ambulatory careA cost and ratio analysisAdditional examples of financial statementsUpdated business planEnhanced faculty supportPowerPoint slides
Call Number: RT86.7 .F455 2018
Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research by This resource illuminates the daunting task of understanding and applying philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies in nursing practice and research at the master's or doctoral level. Distinguished by a unique organizational structure, the text is divided into two broad areas of practice/focus: individuals and families (Part II) and communities, populations, and systems (Part III). The frameworks in each area are organized conceptually into 17 chapters, many of which are interdisciplinary, thus not commonly found in nursing theory texts. This unique organizational structure enables readers to acquire both a broad overview of frameworks useful in nursing practice and research, and to focus on frameworks relevant to specific practice areas and concepts of interest. Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research also provides foundational knowledge to enhance the nurse's understanding and appreciation of frameworks used in practice and research (Part I). Application is woven throughout the text and culminates with chapters devoted to the use/implementation of frameworks for nurse educators, clinicians, leaders, and researchers (Part IV). Learner-focused features of the text include key terms; objectives; application boxes highlighting published studies that have employed selected frameworks, thereby bringing theoretical content into practice; and bulleted summaries to enhance the learning experience. Key Features: Describes a broad spectrum of philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies underpinning graduate-level nursing rolesUniquely organized by conceptual areas, thereby integrating nursing and non-nursing frameworksFacilitates easy comparison of frameworks within each conceptual areaDelivers strategies for using theory and discusses integration of theory, research, and practiceIncludes application boxes highlighting published studies, as well as objectives, key terms, and bulleted chapter summaries
Call Number: RT73 .U85 2018
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: *NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis *Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure *Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action *Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips *Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter *Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Call Number: RM300 .G644 2018
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management by Anesthesiologists, residents, and advanced practice practitioners alike rely upon the comprehensive content of Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management to remain proficient in this essential area. The 4th Edition, by Drs. Carin A. Hagberg, Carlos A. Artime, and Michael F. Aziz, continues the tradition of excellence with coverage of new devices and algorithms, new research, new outcomes reporting, and much more - while retaining a concise, how-to approach; carefully chosen illustrations; and case examples and analysis throughout. Offers expert, full-color guidance on pre- and post-intubation techniques and protocols, from equipment selection through management of complications. Includes access to more than 25 videos online, including ultrasonography and non-invasive airway management and flexible scope intubation. Includes the latest ASA guidelines, as well as six all-new chapters including airway management in nonoperating room locations (NORA), airway management and outcomes reporting, and more. Features completely rewritten chapters on airway pharmacology, algorithms for management of the difficult airway, airway assessment, video-assisted laryngoscopy, and many more. Reviews new airway devices and techniques, along with indications for and confirmation of tracheal intubation. Brings you up to date with the latest devices, the DAS extubation algorithm, the Vortex approach, and emergency cricothyrotomy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC735.I5 A396 2018
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia by Practical, user-friendly, and to the point, the newly updated Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia, 2nd edition focuses on the most common topics and clinically applicable information in cardiac anesthesia today. Designed for residents, nurses, and clinicians seeking quick, high-yield answers rather than the encyclopedic information commonly found in larger references-in fact, its concise format makes it easy to complete a section in a single sitting. For an initial introduction to cardiac anesthesia, nothing compares to Kaplan's Essentials! Trusted authorities deliver the key cardiac anesthesia knowledge you need to know. A concise, user-friendly format and key points boxes in each chapter help you quickly locate crucial information. Annotated references guide you to the most practical additional resources. A portable size and clinical emphasis facilitates and enhances bedside patient care. Designed as a companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia. Includes new topics vital to the current practice of cardiac anesthesiologists, such as transesophageal echocardiography; percutaneous valve procedures; new pacemakers and automatic internal defibrillators used for cardiac resynchronization therapy; left ventricular assist devices and extracorporeal membrane oxygenation therapy of heart failure; and patient safety issues. Focuses on today's most current and relevant therapies, including New Cardiac Drugs, and Heart Mate, Heart Ware, and Impella LVADs. Describes care of the cardiac patient in Hybrid Operating Rooms, Catheterization Laboratories, and Electrophysiology Laboratories, as well as the Cardiac Operating Rooms. Perfectly suited for residents, fellows, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologists in practice.
Call Number: RD87.3 H43 E87 2018
Pain Management Secrets by For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series#65533; has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series#65533; format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on the latest areas in pain medicine, clear illustrations and figures, and a list of current websites that expedite study and review. Written and fully updated by internationally known pain medicine experts, including new editors Drs. Andrew Dubin and Julie Pilitsis. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RB127 .P33239 2018
Postoperative Care Handbook of the Massachusetts General Hospital by The Postoperative Care Handbook of the Massachusetts General Hospital will be the fifth title from the highly esteemed MGH Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, covering in outline style all facets of care given to patients postoperatively, both early on in the PACU and later on the floor. The book is presented in five sections; Patient Care, Postoperative Complications, Special Considerations, CPR in the PACU, and Ethico-legal Issues and PACU Administration. Chapters in Section I will address the different types of patients encountered in the PACU (eg, patients just out of thoracic surgery vs those coming from genitourinary surgery), mirroring the team structure of care given postoperatively. In Section II, the many classes of complications and their management will be covered. The considerations that care providers must afford special patient populations are covered in Section III. Section IV is on CPR in the PAU and Section V addresses Admission and discharge criteria, PACU organization and management, quality assurance, infection control, and legal and ethical issues. The Postoperative Care Handbook of the MGH will provide information in a handy, portable reference to help residents successfully manage postoperative patient care.
Call Number: RD51 .M377 2018x
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination: An Interprofessional Approach by Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination 9th Edition offers a uniquely interprofessional, patient-centered, lifespan approach to physical examination and health assessment. This new edition features an increased focus on patient safety, clinical reasoning, and evidence-based practice, along with an emphasis on the development of good communication skills and effective hands-on examination techniques. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by an author team comprised of advance practice nurses and physicians with specialties in the care of adults, older adults, and children, this one-of-a-kind textbook addresses health assessment and physical examination for a wide variety of disciplines. UNIQUE! Interprofessional, interdisciplinary approach, written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, with expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UPDATED! Infectious outbreak content addresses the growing problem of global infectious disease outbreaks such as Zika and Ebola and the need for infection precautions. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains et al:Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take "the next step" in your clinical reasoning abilities and provides a more seamless user experience. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. Integrated lifespan content includes separate sections in each chapter on Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Women, and Older Adults. NEW! Emphasis on clinical reasoning provides insights and clinical expertise to help you develop clinical judgment skills. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality, particularly as it relates to sports participation. NEW! Content on documentation has been updated with a stronger focus on electronic charting (EHR/EMR). NEW! Enhanced social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ patients and providers, with special a emphasis on cultural competency, history-taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and anus/rectum/prostate. NEW! Telemedicine, virtual consults, and video interpreters content added to the Growth, Measurement, and Nutrition chapter. NEW! Improved readability with a clear, straightforward, and easy-to-understand writing style. NEW! Updated drawing, and photographs enhance visual appeal and clarify anatomical content and exam techniques.
Call Number: RC76 .M63 2019