Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Fourth Edition teaches the knowledge and skills to evaluate medical evidence and apply it to the practice of physical therapy. This valuable reference explains the fundamentals of medical research and how to determine which studies are useful in practice. As the leading evidence-based practice text for physical therapy, this is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.The Fourth Edition has been updated with new clinical scenarios, additional research examples, and more activities to support the application of key concepts. This practical guide empowers readers to learn how to evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge essential for physical therapist students to develop a strong foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: RM700 .J49 2018
Lifespan Neurorehabilitation: A Patient-Centered Approach from Examination to Interventions and Outcomes by The neuro rehab text that mirrors how you learn and how you practice! Take an evidence-based approach to the neurorehabilitation of adult and pediatric patients across the lifespan that reflects the APTA's patient management model and the WHO's International Classification of Function (ICF). You'll study examination and interventions from the body structure/function impairments and functional activity limitations commonly encountered in patients with neurologic disorders. Then, understanding the disablement process, you'll be able to organize the clinical data that leads to therapeutic interventions for specific underlying impairments and functional activity limitations that can then be applied as appropriate anytime they are detected, regardless of the medical diagnosis.
Call Number: RC349.8 .F45 2018
Mayo Clinic Medical Neurosciences: Organized by Neurologic Systems and Levels by Fully updated and revised according to student feedback, the sixth edition of Mayo Clinic Medical Neurosciences: Organized by Neurologic System and Level provides a systematic approach to anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the nervous system inspired by the neurologist's approach tosolving clinical problems. This volume has 4 sections: 1) an overview of the neurosciences necessary for understanding anatomical localization and pathophysiologic characterization of neurologic disorders; 2) an approach to localizing lesions in the 7 longitudinal systems of the nervous system; 3)an approach to localizing lesions in the 4 horizontal levels of the nervous system; and 4) a collection of clinical problems. This book provides the neuroscience framework to support the neurologist in a clinical setting and is also a great resource for neurology and psychiatry board certifications. This is the perfect guide for all medical students and neurology, psychiatry, and physical medicine residents at early stagesof training.
Call Number: RC348 .M43 2018
Motor Learning and Control for Practitioners by With an array of critical and engaging pedagogical features, the fourth edition of Motor Learning and Control for Practitioners offers the best practical introduction to motor learning available. This reader-friendly text approaches motor learning in accessible and simple terms, and lays a theoretical foundation for assessing performance; providing effective instruction; and designing practice, rehabilitation, and training experiences that promote skill acquisition. Features such as Exploration Activities and Cerebral Challenges involve students at every stage, while a broad range of examples helps readers put theory into practice. The book also provides access to a fully updated companion website, which includes laboratory exercises, an instructors#65533; manual, a test bank, and lecture slides. As a complete resource for teaching an evidence-based approach to practical motor learning, this is an essential text for practitioners and students who plan to work in physical education, kinesiology, exercise science, coaching, physical therapy, or dance.
Call Number: BF295 .C645 2018
Musculoskeletal Examination and Assessment: A Handbook for Therapists - Volume 1 by Now in its fifth edition, this core textbook continues to provide a comprehensive, systematic guide to the examination, assessment and clinical reasoning processes needed by clinicians when managing patients with musculoskeletal conditions. Nicola Petty is joined by Dionne Ryder in editing this new edition, which also sees an expanded number of specialist clinicians and academics contributing individual chapters. Musculoskeletal Examination and Assessment provides an invaluable guide to the technical and clinical reasoning skills involved in the differential diagnosis of joint, nerve and muscle tissues within a psychosocial model of health and illness. Three initial chapters outline the subjective and physical examination as well as the clinical reasoning process. Subsequent chapters provide details of the examination for each region of the body. This edition is designed for physiotherapy and musculoskeletal therapy students as they get to grips with contemporary clinical practice. Provides a logical, clinically reasoned and evidence-enhanced approach to patient examination and assessment Emphasizes a patient-centred approach Presents key clinical concepts of leading therapists and researchers in the field of musculoskeletal therapy Many drawings and photographs visually demonstrate techniques while enhancing descriptions in the text Clinical examples bring to life the clinical reasoning process An emphasis on consideration of the patient's perspective Reliability, validity, sensitivity and specificity of the physical tests are highlighted Vascular considerations are included throughout the text References updated throughout
Call Number: RC925.7 .N46 2018
Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience at a Glance by Everything you need to know about Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience ... at a Glance! Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience at a Glance is a highly illustrated, quick reference guide to the anatomy, biochemistry, physiology and pharmacology of the human nervous system. Each chapter features a summary of the anatomical structure and function of a specific component of the central nervous system, a section on applied neurobiology outlining how to approach a patient with neurological or psychiatric problems aligned to the chapter topic, standard diagnostic procedures for most common scenarios, as well as an overview of treatment and management options. This fully updated and expanded new edition includes: Dozens of full-page, colour illustrations and neurological scans Expanded coverage of techniques to study the nervous system More practical information on the neurological exam New content on neuropharmacology and drug therapies Bullet points and bold terms throughout assist with revision and review of the topic Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience at a Glance is the ideal companion for students embarking on a neuroanatomy or neuroscience course, and is an excellent reference tool for those in clinical training. An updated companion website with new clinical cases, multiple choice self-assessment questions, revision slides, and downloadable illustrations and flashcards is available at www.ataglanceseries.com/neuroscience
Call Number: RC341 .B326 2018
Neuroscience: Fundamentals for Rehabilitation by Boost your skills in planning and managing physical rehabilitation! Neuroscience: Fundamentals for Rehabilitation, 5th Edition provides a practical guide to the nervous system and how it affects the practice of physical and occupational therapy. Case studies and first-person stories from people with neurologic disorders make it easier to apply your knowledge to the clinical setting. New to this edition are new chapters on neuroanatomy imaging and neurologic examination techniques. Written by noted PT educator Laurie Lundy-Ekman, this book uses evidence-based research to help you understand neurologic disorders and treat clients who have physical limitations due to nervous system damage or disease. Logical, systems approach to neuroscience makes it easier to master complex information and provides a framework for conducting a neurologic examination and evaluation. A clinical perspective of neuroscience is provided through case studies, personal stories written by patients, and summaries of key features of neurologic disorders and the body systems they affect. Five sections - Overview of Neurology, Neuroscience at the Cellular Level, Development of the Nervous System, Vertical Systems, and Regions - first show how neural cells operate, and then allow you to apply your knowledge of neuroscience. Emphasis on topics critical to physical rehabilitation includes coverage of abnormal muscle tone, chronic pain, control of movement, and differential diagnosis of dizziness. Hundreds of color-coded illustrations show body structures and functions across systems. Clinical Notes case studies demonstrate how neuroscience knowledge may be applied to clinical situations. Pathology boxes provide a quick summary of the features of neurologic disorders commonly encountered in rehabilitation practice. New! Neuroimaging and Neuroanatomy Atlas chapter includes MRI and CT images. NEW! Neurologic Disorders and the Neurologic Examination chapter provides detailed descriptions and photographs of techniques. NEW! Diagnostic Clinical Reasoning boxes help you develop the ability to recognize patterns of signs and symptoms associated with specific diagnoses. NEW! Updated content reflects the most current research findings. NEW! Reader-friendly approach converts long, technical chapters into smaller, more accessible chapters. NEW! Reorganized chapters progress from the cellular view to the systems view to the regional view.
Call Number: RC341 .L86 2018
Neuroscience for Rehabilitation by The first neuroanatomy text written specifically for physical therapy students Written by recognized experts in human nervous system development, Neuroanatomy for Rehabilitation provides physical therapy students with a thorough understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. Approximately 200 line illustrations and photographs teach students how to accurately interpret the wealth of new human brain images now available. The text opens with an informative section that discusses the structural and functional organization of the nervous system and includes coverage of functional neuroanatomy and response to injury. This is followed by sections covering: * Vascular Supply of the Central Nervous System (arterial supply, venous drainage, response to injury) * Cellular Organization of the Nervous System * Development of the Central Nervous System * Functional Neuroanatomy by Ascending Region * The Brainstem, Cranial Nerves and Visual Pathways * The Cerebellum and Basal Ganglia * Diencephalon * The Cortex Each section opens with a case study and an overview of key concepts, and concludes with case discussion and review questions. No other text provides physical therapy students and instructors with such relevant, authoritative, and well-written material designed to enhance understanding of the human nervous system as Neuroanatomy for Rehabilitation.
Call Number: RM700 .M67 2018
Orthopaedic Neurology: A Diagnostic Guide to Neurologic Levels by Since its original publication, Orthopaedic Neurology: A Diagnostic Guide to Neurologic Levels has distinguished itself as a clearly written, uniquely focused text sought after by practitioners and trainees in orthopaedics, neurosurgery, physical medicine and rehabilitation, pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, and nursing, as well as primary care specialties. The second edition retains this standard of excellence while providing thorough updates in medical illustration, teaching techniques, and new approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of patients with spinal cord injuries. Now in vibrant full color, it offers a distinctive and practical combination of anatomy, the physical exam, and clinical pearls, highly readable and abundantly illustrated. Features: Discusses the diagnosis of neurologic levels according to common denominators, and combines them with the basic principles of neurology to assist in the appraisal of spinal cord and nerve root problems. Presents classic original drawings now carefully colorized for optimal visual reference, and additional drawings added as necessary. Corresponding radiographic imaging techniques (predominantly MRI and CT) have also been added. Each chapter first covers basic neurologic information, then provides clinical significance by applying it to the diagnosis of the more common neurologic pathologies. Ideal for those who wish to understand more clearly the clinical concepts behind neurologic levels, moving systematically from concept to practice, and from general rules to specific applications. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC400 .H66 2018
Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach by Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach is a groundbreaking text designed to enhance the practice of all health care providers, enrich discussion, and emphasize the interdisciplinary nature of managing best outcomes for a child who has had a stroke. Evidence-based practice is threaded throughout the text with an emphasis on recovery vs. compensation, goal achievement, and outcome measurement. In conjunction with the interdisciplinary contributions from a wide variety of health care professionals, Drs. Heather Atkinson, Kim Nixon-Cave, and Sabrina E. Smith aim to provide the necessary tools to effectively treat children with stroke. The first section reviews the medical fundamentals, covering all major types of strokes. The second section of Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation focuses on the core of the matter, rehabilitation. The final section expands the understanding of the child's recovery to the family, community, and school environment. Select chapters include: Personal vignettes written by family members of children who have had a stroke that provides insight into the impact a stroke can have on the child and family A family focus box to summarize the main points of the chapter to provide the best tools for caregivers to advocate for their child A case study related to the content and family perspective Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation also utilizes the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) framework throughout. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach is an interdisciplinary and invaluable resource for students and clinicians to understand and apply effective evidence-based practice and treatment approaches for childhood stroke. The text will also be of interest to healthcare professionals, specifically physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech-language pathologists, physicians, neuropsychologists, nurses, and educators, who work with children who have experienced a stroke.
Call Number: RJ496.C45 P43 2018x
Physiotherapy in Mental Health and Psychiatry: A Scientific and Clinical Based Approach by A brand new and must have textbook for the students and practising physiotherapists which acts as a trusted guide on the different perspectives, contexts and approaches across the spectrum of mental health and psychiatry settings. Grounded in theory and clinical practice, it covers a range of widely-used evaluation tools and treatment methods for specific syndromes and pathologies which will help physiotherapists to signpost and identify the care needs of their patients within both individual and group therapeutic settings. Case studies ensure that the theory discussed is applied to various practical scenarios after which reflective exercises are used to reinforce learning and understanding. First internationally-relevant textbook for physiotherapists covering a range of mental health and psychiatry settings Ideal confidence booster for both students and practitioners new to the subject Contributed by world-leading academics, clinicians and researchers in the field Advocates a scientific and clinical based approach with patient at centre Concepts applied to practice with case studies Multi-perspective views and approaches to human movement and function In-text reflective learning exercises
Call Number: RC482 .P493 2018
Principles of Musculoskeletal Treatment and Management: A Handbook for Therapists - Volume 2 by Now in its third edition, this core textbook continues to provide a comprehensive, evidence-enhanced guide to the principles of treatment and management of the musculoskeletal system. Nicola Petty is joined by Kieran Barnard in editing this new edition which also sees an expanded number of specialist clinicians and academics contributing individual chapters. Principles of Musculoskeletal Treatment and Management provides both students and experienced practitioners with an invaluable guide to the principles applied in contemporary musculoskeletal therapy. Provides theory and research knowledge to underpin treatment and management strategies for patients with musculoskeletal conditions Provides a rationale to support clinical decision-making Offers an up-to-date evidence-enhanced approach to patient treatment and management Emphasizes the importance of communication and clinical reasoning, as well as hands-on and rehabilitation skills Brand-new chapter on the principles of communication and its application to clinical reasoning Brand-new chapter on the principles of exercise rehabilitation Highlights the health benefits of some treatment approaches References updated throughout
Call Number: RC925.5 .P445 2018
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination: An Interprofessional Approach by Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination 9th Edition offers a uniquely interprofessional, patient-centered, lifespan approach to physical examination and health assessment. This new edition features an increased focus on patient safety, clinical reasoning, and evidence-based practice, along with an emphasis on the development of good communication skills and effective hands-on examination techniques. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by an author team comprised of advance practice nurses and physicians with specialties in the care of adults, older adults, and children, this one-of-a-kind textbook addresses health assessment and physical examination for a wide variety of disciplines. UNIQUE! Interprofessional, interdisciplinary approach, written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, with expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UPDATED! Infectious outbreak content addresses the growing problem of global infectious disease outbreaks such as Zika and Ebola and the need for infection precautions. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains et al:Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take "the next step" in your clinical reasoning abilities and provides a more seamless user experience. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. Integrated lifespan content includes separate sections in each chapter on Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Women, and Older Adults. NEW! Emphasis on clinical reasoning provides insights and clinical expertise to help you develop clinical judgment skills. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality, particularly as it relates to sports participation. NEW! Content on documentation has been updated with a stronger focus on electronic charting (EHR/EMR). NEW! Enhanced social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ patients and providers, with special a emphasis on cultural competency, history-taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and anus/rectum/prostate. NEW! Telemedicine, virtual consults, and video interpreters content added to the Growth, Measurement, and Nutrition chapter. NEW! Improved readability with a clear, straightforward, and easy-to-understand writing style. NEW! Updated drawing, and photographs enhance visual appeal and clarify anatomical content and exam techniques.
Call Number: RC76 .M63 2019
Seidel's Physical Examination Handbook: An Interprofessional Approach by Corresponding to chapters in Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 9th Edition, this portable, full-color, richly illustrated guide prepares you for any clinical setting. Examination tables and Aids to Differential Diagnosis tables provide access to the physical exam in an easy-to-understand two-column format for each system exam. Key information includes differential diagnosis tips, pediatric variations, sample documentation, and other helpful assessment data for quick reference. Separate chapters cover age-specific exams for infants, children, adolescents, and older adults, and the healthy female evaluation, as well as reporting and documenting findings for electronic charting. This new edition been updated throughout to match the 9th edition of the Ball/Seidel, and redesigned for improved legibility and usability in clinicals and beyond! Two-column Examination sections provide a convenient quick reference to key exam steps, along with expected and unexpected findings. Aids to Differential Diagnosis tables summarize distinguishing characteristics of abnormalities, furnishing you with clues for identifying characteristic symptoms and diagnosing patient problems. Color-coded Pediatric Variations tablesprovide a convenient resource on differences in findings and developmental considerations for pediatric patients. Sample Documentation sections at the ends of system chapters promote concise yet thorough examples of patient charting for each system exam, applicable both to traditional charting and electronic health records (EHRs). More than 200 full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, examination procedures, and normal and abnormal findings offer a visual reference to performing exams and anticipated and unanticipated findings. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest research and evidence-based practice to equip you with best practices for physical examination and health assessment. NEW! Improved legibility and usability make it easier for you to locate essential clinical content quickly.
Call Number: RC76 .M64 2019