Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthony's Textbook of Anatomy and Physiology by Just because A&P is complicated, doesn't mean learning it has to be. Anthony's Textbook of Anatomy & Physiology, 21st Edition uses reader-friendly writing, visually engaging content, and a wide range of teaching and learning support to ensure classroom success. Focusing on the unifying themes of structure and function and homeostasis, author Kevin Patton uses a very conversational and easy-to-follow narrative to guide you through difficult A&P material. The new edition of this two-semester text has been updated to ensure you have a better understanding of how the entire body works together. In addition, you can connect with the textbook through a number of free electronic resources, including?, an electronic coloring book, 3D animations, and more! Conversational writing style at a 11.7 reading level (the lowest available for 2-semester A&P books) makes text engaging and easy to understand. Updated Genetics chapter includes important advancements in that field. Updated content on osmosis revised to make it more simple and accurate. More than 1,400 full-color photographs and drawings illustrate the most current scientific knowledge and bring difficult concepts to life. Includes a unique color key to show color scheme that is used consistently throughout the book (for example, bones are off white, enzymes are lime green, nucleus is purple). UNIQUE! Consistent unifying themes, such as the Big Picture and Cycle of Life sections in each chapter, help you comprehend the interrelation of body systems and how the structure and function of these change in relation to age and development. Numerous feature boxes including: Language of Science and Language of Medicine, Mechanisms of Disease, Health Matters, Diagnostic Study, FYI, Sport and Fitness, and Career Choices provide interesting and important sidebars to the main content. Quick Check Questions reinforce learning by prompting you to review what you've just read. Chapter outlines, chapter objectives and study tips begin each chapter. NEW! Integrative Unit Closers ties together content with integrative critical thinking questions. NEW! Additional and updated Connect It! boxes (renamed from A&P Connect) provide relevant "bonus" information for you to explore. NEW! All-new animations in the text and on Evolve companion site help you understand the reasoning and knowledge behind each answer and assist with recalling correct answers.
Call Number: QP34.5 .T486 2019
Atlas of Human Anatomy by The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Call Number: QM25 .N46 2019
Clinical Communication Skills for Medicine by Clinical Communication Skills for Medicine is an essential guide to the core skills for effective patient-centered communication. In the twenty years since this book was first published the teaching of these skills has developed and evolved. Today's doctors fully appreciate the importance of communicating successfully and sensitively with people receiving health care and those close to them. This practical guide to developing communication skills will be of value to students throughout their careers. The order of the chapters reflects this development, from core skills to those required to respond effectively and compassionately in challenging situations. The text includes case examples, guidelines and opportunities to encourage the reader to stop and think. The contents of the book cover: The fundamental elements of clinical communication, including skills for effectively gathering and sharing information, discussing sensitive topics and breaking bad news. Shared decision making, reflecting the rapid changes in expectations of medical care and skills for supporting patients in making decisions which are right for them. Communicating with a patient's family, children and young people, patients from different cultural backgrounds, communicating via an interpreter and communicating with patients who have a hearing impairment. Diversity in communication, including examples of communicating with patients who have a learning disability, transgender patients, and older adult patients. Communicating about medical error, emphasising the importance of doctors being honest in the face of difficult situations. This is a practical guide to learning and developing communication skills throughout medical training. The chapters range from the development of basic skills to those dealing with challenging and difficult situations.
Call Number: R118 .L565 2019
Culturally Competent Compassion: A Guide for Healthcare Students and Practitioners by Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Call Number: RT62 .P37 2018
Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM by Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
Call Number: R723.7 .E954 2019
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Call Number: RT73 .K46 2018
Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-¿to-¿date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.
Call Number: RT50.5 .H43 2019
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice by The Most Comprehensive Presentation of Transcultural Nursing Concepts Featuring the Newly Revised Sunrise Enabler! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance on the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Transcultural nursing is a vital, holistic approach that allows nurses and other healthcare providers to provide culturally congruent care for individuals, families, groups, and organizations within a context that is meaningful, beneficial, and inclusive of their healthcare values, beliefs, practices, traditions, communication styles, diverse roles,dietary preferences, and more. The text presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the future direction of transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture care of homeless mothers and children. The book chapters cover such topics as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan as well as translational research, globalization,conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research, and Practices was edited by two experts in the field and uses Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality and the Ethnonursing Research Method to provide a useful blend of theory and practical clinical information.
Call Number: RT86.54 .L44 2018
Listening Well: The Art of Empathic Understanding by Are you a good listener? How well do you really know the people around you? A capacity for empathic understanding is hard-wired in our brains, but its full expression involves particular listening skills that are seldom learned through ordinary experience. Through clear explanation, specific examples, and practical exercises, Dr. Miller offers a step-by-step process for developing your skillfulness in empathic listening. With a solid basis in sixty years of scientific research, these communication skills are not limited to professionals, and can be learned and applied in your everyday life. Instead of assuming that you know the meaning of what you think you heard, empathic listening lets you develop a more accurate understanding and prevent miscommunication. Empathic understanding can help to deepen personal relationships, alleviate conflict, communicate across differences, and promote positive change. The author also discusses skills for expressing yourself clearly, and for strengthening close relationships and friendships. Through empathic understanding you have access to life experience far beyond your own, and over time, listening well and deeply becomes a way of being, fostering a compassionate and patient acceptance of human frailties--those of others as well as your own.
Call Number: BF323.L5 M55 2018x
Multicultural Health by Fully updated and expanded, the Second Edition of Multicultural Health serves as a comprehensive guide for healthcare workers in any cultural community. Focusing on differences in cultural beliefs about health and illness, and models for cross-cultural health and communication, this text helps students and professionals learn effective ways to implement health promotion programs and program evaluation across cultures. - NEW! - Full color design and art program - NEW! - A Student Activity added to each chapter to challenge student comprehension. - NEW! - Two new Feature Boxes Added to each chapter titled, What do you think? and Did you Know?, to engage readers and enhance critical thinking. - NEW! - Chapter 3, Worldview and Health Decisions provides information about the ways that worldview and communication impacts health, the provision of health services, health care decisions, and communication
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 R58 2017
Student Laboratory Manual for Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by Both a comprehensive lab manual and a practical workbook, the Student Laboratory Manual for Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 9h Edition, gives you the tools you need to master physical examination and health assessment skills. Corresponding to the Ball/Seidel textbook, this practical guide includes learning objectives, multiple-choice questions, terminology reviews, application activities, case studies, and critical thinking questions. The 9th edition has been thoroughly updated with an engaging interactive review at the beginning of each chapter and an enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality, and clinical and diagnostic reasoning Multiple-choice questions mirror the questions formats of licensure exams for a variety of health disciplines. Terminology reviews and application activities increase your ability to comprehend the material through further reading and hands-on exercises. Case studies and critical thinking questions emphasize development of good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research and evidence-based practice. NEW! Engaging, student-friendly Terminology Review Activities ensure mastery of the language of health assessment and physical examination. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality with new Patient Safety Considerations equips you for safe clinical practice NEW! Enhanced emphasis on clinical reasoning fosters the development clinical judgment skills.
Call Number: RC76 .M65 2019x
Understanding Pharmacology for Health Professionals by Making Sense of Pharmacology Understanding Pharmacology for Health Professionals provides a well-organized, easy-to-understand introduction to the world of drugs and pharmaceuticals. The Fifth Edition is structured into three broad, clear units that divide the vast subject of pharmacology into an approachable guide for students and experienced health professionals. Today's most up-to-date drug information is enhanced with beautiful illustrations and photographs that allow students to delve into the visual world of pharmacology while deeply engaging with the text. A comprehensive drug reference glossary as well as a set of thorough appendices supplements the text to further simplify the extensive array of drug information available. Impeccably organized and enjoyable to read, Understanding Pharmacology for Health Professionals makes a broad and difficult subject matter both graspable and interesting for both students and practicing health professionals.
Call Number: RM300 .T85 2016
Netter's Anatomy Flash Cards by Learn the essential anatomy you need to know - quickly and easily! Each flash card in this full-color deck features high-quality Netter art (and several new paintings by Dr. Carlos Machado), numbered labels (with hidden answers), and concise comments and clinical notes for the most commonly tested anatomy terms and concepts. Focusing on clinically relevant anatomy, this easy-to-use, portable study tool helps you learn anatomical structures with confidence! Pre-punched holes make it easy to carry selected groups of cards with you. A perfect study aid and complement to Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4rd Edition concise textbook and Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th Edition. New card design makes it easy to sort cards by Region (primary color-coded organization) or System (icons). Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to study the cards on your phone, tablet, or computer and includes over 400 multiple-choice questions. Quiz yourself on structure names as well as their anatomical and clinical significance.
Call Number: QM25 .N461 2019x