Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia by Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and coverage of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for clinical practice. Written by Andrew T. Gray, MD, PhD, one of the pioneers of the use of ultrasound to guide needle placement, Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, shows you how to safely and effectively use the latest methods and applications of this technique. Board-style review questions found on the Expert Consult eBook version test your knowledge and help you prepare for the ABA exam. Helps ensure correct needle placement with numerous 3-D and long-axis views that clearly depict surrounding structures. Includes coverage of 11 new blocks: Adductor Canal, Posterior Femoral Cutaneous, Pectoral, Quadratus Lumborum, Pudendal, Paravertebral, Transversus thoracis, Supraorbital, Transtracheal, Greater Occipital and Lesser Occipital. Features access to 20 author-narrated videos showing proper placement of needles using ultrasound guidance, including 11 new videos: Forearm (ulnar, median and radial), Ankle (tibial, saphenous, superficial peroneal, deep peroneal, sural), Paravertebral, Adductor Canal, and Catheters. Presents several new chapters, including Regional Anesthesia in Resource-Constrained Environments and Safety of Ultrasound Guided Regional Blocks. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD84 .G73 2019
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the Dnp by Praise for the First Edition: "DNP students may struggle with data management, since their projects are not research, but quality improvement, and this book covers the subject well. I recommend it for DNP students for use during their capstone projects." Score: 98, 5 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This is the only text to deliver the strong data management knowledge and skills that are required competencies for all DNP students. It enables readers to design data tracking and clinical analytics in order to rigorously evaluate clinical innovations and programs for improving clinical outcomes and to document and analyze change. This second edition has been expanded and updated to address major changes in our healthcare environment. Incorporating faculty and student input, it now includes modalities such as SPSS, Excel, and Tableau to address diverse data management tasks. Eleven new chapters cover the use of big data analytics, ongoing progress toward value-based payment, the Affordable Care Act and its future, shifting of risk and accountability to hospitals and clinicians, advancement of nursing quality indicators, and new requirements for Magnet(R) certification. The text takes the DNP student step by step through the complete process of data management from planning through presentation, and encompasses the scope of skills required for students to apply relevant analytics to systematically and confidently tackle the clinical interventions data obtained as part of the DNP student project. Of particular value is a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methods throughout the chapters. Sample data sets and exercises, along with objectives, references, and examples in each chapter, reinforce information. New to the Second Edition: Completely updated and expanded with 11 new chaptersIncludes an extensive data management toolkit with SPSS, Excel, and TableauDescribes value-based purchasing and NDNQI measurement programsExplains use of data sources to support the problem statement for the DNP projectGuides selection of quality measuresProvides best practices for collecting primary and secondary dataOffers strategic guidelines for institutional review board submissionExplains methods for risk adjustment in program and intervention monitoringExplores predictive a nalyticsIllustrates applications of big data for the DNPDescribes Magnet requirements for measuring quality improvement Key Features: Provides extensive content for rigorously evaluating DNP innovations/projectsTakes DNP students through the complete process of data management from planning through presentationIncludes a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methodsOffers very specific examples of application and utility of techniquesDelivers supplemental materials, including sample data set case studies in SPSS and Excel formats, exercises, PowerPoint slides, and more
Call Number: RT81.5 .S958 2018
Dnp Education, Practice, and Policy: Mastering the DNP Essentials for Advanced Nursing Practice by First edition named a 2013 Doody's Core Title--5 stars The second edition of this distinguished text--designed for use across the entire DNP curriculum--defines practice scholarship for the DNP-prepared professional nurse and promotes the development of key leadership skills needed to effectively influence healthcare policy and improve outcomes. Weaving the eight AACN DNP competencies throughout, the second edition clarifies, updates, and demonstrates their application. The text incorporates updates to the AACN's 2015 position statement, The DNP: Current Issues and Clarifying Recommendations, and the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing report, and delivers new content from nationally recognized nurse leaders. Focusing heavily on improving aggregate care, strengthening leadership roles, and influencing health policy, the second edition continues to address APRN and nurse executive roles, health information technology, outcomes measurement, and the relationship of the DNP graduate to ongoing scholarship. The text's challenging and thoughtprovoking content is of particular value not only to students, but also to professors who will welcome the clarity it offers to the highly complex DNP curriculum. New to the Second Edition: Reflects the most current thinking about the DNP degree and clarifies recommendations from the AACN task force on implementing the DNP curriculumIncorporates recommendations of the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing reportDemonstrates the application of core competencies to practice and aggregate careOffers contemporary examples of DNP competencies and role integrationFocuses primarily on developing key leadership skills for influencing healthcare policy and improving outcomesDelivers new content from nationally recognized nurse leaders Key Features: Simplifies the highly complex DNP curriculum and integrates DNP core competenciesBroadly defines practice scholarship for the DNP-prepared nurse and promotes development of key leadership skillsProvides a versatile supplement to all courses across the DNP curriculumPrepares the DNP to analyze and influence health policyIncorporates policy statements from the ANA, AONE, NCSBN, AANP, AANA, and ACNMDemonstrates the integration of health policy with cross-sector collaboration to advance a "culture of health" agenda
Call Number: RT75 .D67 2018
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Call Number: RD78.8 .A38 2019
Essentials of Neuroanesthesia by Essentials of Neuroanesthesia offers useful insights on the anesthetic management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients. This book covers all topics related to neuroanesthesia, providing essential knowledge on the brain and spinal cord. Sections include chapters on anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology, along with specific chapters related to various neurosurgical and neurological problems and their anesthetic management. This book provides an understanding of related issues, such as palliative care, evidence based practice of neuroanesthesia, sterilization techniques, biostatistics, and ethical issues, and is useful for trainees, clinicians, and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroanesthesia, and neurology.
Call Number: RD87.3.N47 E88 2017x
Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM by Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
Call Number: R723.7 .E954 2019
Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by For courses in General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry (2 - Semester) A Clear, Flexible Approach to Chemistry for the Modern Classroom Active learning, an increased focus on clinical examples, updates based on current teaching and research findings, and digital innovations designed to engage and personalize readers'' experience make Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry simply the best choice for readers with a future in allied health. With the Eighth Edition, the authors make learning chemistry a more active experience through features designed to get readers doing chemistry. Every chapter features Hands on Chemistry sections that deepen readers'' understanding of chemistry by having them perform elementary experiments with everyday household items. Group Problemsat the end of every chapter are designed for in-class use and motivate readers to carefully think about higher-level problems, such as how concepts fit together and how to apply these concepts in a clinical application. All of the chapter openers, including many of the Chemistry in Action boxes and end-of-chapter problems, have been rewritten for a stronger clinical focus that provides more relevance to allied health majors. All content has been updated for the modern classroom with special attention to the biochemistry chapters, making the Eighth Edition of Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry the best choice for future allied health readers. This edition is fully integrated with MasteringChemistry to provide an interactive and engaging experience. Media resources include narrated Video Tutor Solutions for every book chapter that present how to work the most challenging problems and feature additional feedback and instruction from contributor Sara Madsen. NEW in MasteringChemistry is the Chemistry Primer, a diagnostic and remediation tool that provides pre-built assignments designed to get readers up to speed on Chemistry and Math skills at the beginning of the course so they come to class prepared to delve more deeply into topics. Also Available with MasteringChemistry(tm) MasteringChemistry is the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment system, designed to improve results by engaging students before, during, and after class with powerful content. Instructors ensure students arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class, and they encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics(tm). Students can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess student understanding and misconceptions. Mastering brings learning full circle by continuously adapting to each student and making learning more personal than ever--before, during, and after class. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringChemistry does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MasteringChemistry, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MasteringChemistry, search for 0134033094 / 9780134033099 Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry Plus MasteringChemistry with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134143337 / 9780134143330 MasteringChemistry with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry 0134015185 / 9780134015187 Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
Call Number: QD31.3 .M355 2017
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children by Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 6th Edition, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia to young patients. It reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th Edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia. Includes a laminated pocket reference guide inside - also available as an expanded online version ("Pedi Anesth" from the Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, NZ). Features key references at the end of each chapter that provide a quick summary for review. Presents must-know information on standards, techniques, and the latest advances in pediatric anesthesia from global experts. Provides access to a video library of 70 pediatric anesthesia procedures - 35 are new! Videos include demonstrations on managing the difficult pediatric airway, cardiac assist devices in action, new positioning devices, management of burn injuries, and many demonstrations of ultra-sound guided regional anesthesia blocks and techniques. Features extensive revisions of all chapters with many new contributors, and numerous new figures and tables throughout. Introduces new drugs such as those used to premedicate children and facilitate emergence from anesthesia, plus an up-to-date discussion of the drug approval process and detailed information on opioid safety for children with obstructive sleep. Includes new chapters on pharmacogenomic implications of drugs in children and the anesthetic implications when caring for children with cancer. Offers up-to-date information on the management of emergence agitation, sleep-disordered breathing, neonatal and pediatric emergencies, and the obese child and bariatric surgery. The Essentials chapters, with extensive input from pediatrician experts, provide the latest information concerning hematology, pulmonology, oncology, hepatology, nephrology, and neurology. Contains significant updates on perioperative fluid management, pharmacology, intravenous anesthesia and target controlled infusions, cystic fibrosis, new interventional devices for children with congenital heart defects, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, simulation in pediatric anesthesia, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD139 .P73 2019