Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Review by Get the expert study tools you need to prepare for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner certification! New from best-selling author JoAnn Zerwekh, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Review has been carefully written and organized to mirror the AANP and ANCC test blueprints. The first edition of this robust study tool includes more than 1,400 multiple-choice questions that reflect the latest evidence-based clinical practice and national treatment guidelines and protocols. At the end of every chapter you'll find an Answers and Rationales section for instant remediation. Additionally, you can study anytime and anywhere with a mobile-optimized website that generates exams with questions taken from the book, plus new illustration-based and ordered-response questions. NEW! Expert exam prep matching the latest AANP and ANCC exam blueprints and item formats, including multiple-choice questions in print and ordered-response and image-based questions online. NEW! More than 1,400 practice questions with answers and detailed rationales for correct answers NEW! Questions mirroring the Primary Care AGPCNP certification exams cover the latest information on assessment, diagnosis, patient education, planning and intervention, evaluation of response to health care, health promotion strategies, scope of practice, and ethics. NEW! Up-to-date clinical content reflects the very latest evidence-based clinical practice and national treatment guidelines and protocols. NEW! Randomly generated practice exams online deliver an unlimited number of practice exams with automated grading and feedback. NEW! Chapter on Test-Taking Strategies guides you through techniques to increase clinical reasoning skills, improve testing skills, learn strategies for decreasing anxiety, and employ tips to improve study habits. NEW! QSEN-focused questions highlight the graduate-level safety competency of the Quality & Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative. NEW! Clinical chapters are divided into three areas to make it easy to locate specific information within each body system.
Call Number: RC954 .Z47 2019
Complementary and Integrative Therapies for Nursing Practice by For nursing courses covering alternative healing. The most complete research¿-based guide to complementary and alternative medicine Complementary & Integrative Therapies for Nursing Practice is today's most comprehensive overview of alternative health practices and complementary therapies from a nursing perspective. With an easy-to-follow format, the text helps nursing students assimilate thousands of years of healing knowledge and integrate complementary healing methods into Western health care practices. Students will learn specific techniques they can apply to improving the health of their patients and their own well-being. The 5th edition further emphasizes practical applications of complementary and integrative medicine, while providing new research, resources, and topics of interest supporting key concepts.
Call Number: RT42 .F64 2019
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 K54 2017
Family Health Care Nursing: Theory, Practice, and Research by The 6th Edition of an AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Prepare for the real world of family nursing care! Explore family nursing the way it's practiced today--with a theory-guided, evidence-based approach to care throughout the family life cycle that responds to the needs of families and adapts to the changing dynamics of the health care system. From health promotion to end of life, a streamlined organization delivers the clinical guidance you need to care for families. Significantly updated and thoroughly revised, the 6th Edition reflects the art and science of family nursing practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare environments. See what students are saying online about the previous edition... Excellent resource. "...very readable and up to standards of bachelors or graduate nursing programs. Nicely covers issues of families and health including how they are affected by socio-economic and cultural factors, how persons define family networks, and the role of nurses with regard to caring for families. Also does a thorough job discussing the theoretical basis of family nursing, gives numerous examples of current research and suggests areas in need of further research."-- Laura C. Five Stars. "Great book for a text book. Written in easy-to-digest language and full of good info."--Dayna J.
Call Number: RT120.F34 F35 2018
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Call Number: RT73 .K46 2018
Hamric and Hanson's Advanced Practice Nursing: An Integrative Approach by Edited and written by a Who's Who of internationally known advanced practice nursing experts, Hamric and Hanson's Advanced Practice Nursing: An Integrative Approach, 6th Edition helps you develop an understanding of the various advanced practice registered nursing (APRN) roles. This bestselling textbook provides a clear, comprehensive, and contemporary introduction to advanced practice nursing today, addressing all major APRN competencies, roles, and issues. It covers topics ranging from the evolution of advanced practice nursing to evidence-based practice, leadership, ethical decision-making, and health policy. New to this edition is expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice, updated coverage of APRN roles related to implementation of healthcare reform in the U.S., updated and expanded coverage of IOM and QSEN, a global focus on international advanced practice nursing, and much more! Coverage of all APN core competencies defines and describes all competencies, including direct clinical practice, guidance and coaching, consultation, evidence-based practice, leadership, collaboration, and ethical decision-making. Operationalizes and applies the APN core competencies to the major APN specialties including the Clinical Nurse Specialist, the Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, the Certified Nurse-Midwife, and the Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist. Content on managing APN environments addresses such factors as business planning and reimbursement; marketing, negotiating, and contracting; regulatory, legal, and credentialing requirements; health policy; and nursing outcomes and performance improvement research. UNIQUE! Exemplar boxes (case studies), including Day in the Life vignettes of each APN specialty, emphasize innovative practices and coverage of advanced practice roles. In-depth discussions of educational strategies for APN competency development show how nurses develop competencies as they progress into advanced practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes the latest Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Updated coverage of APRN roles related to implementation of healthcare in the U.S. reflects current and anticipated changes in APRN roles related to healthcare reform. NEW! Coverage of IOM and QSEN has been updated and expanded. NEW! Refocused International Development of Advanced Practice Nursing chapter has been rewritten to be more global and inclusive in focus, to reflect the state of advanced practice nursing practice throughout all major regions of the world. NEW! Expanded content on the role of advanced practice nurses in teaching/education/mentoring and health policy related to the APRN role is featured in the 6th edition.
Call Number: RT82.8 .A384 2019
Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-¿to-¿date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.
Call Number: RT50.5 .H43 2019
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice by The Most Comprehensive Presentation of Transcultural Nursing Concepts Featuring the Newly Revised Sunrise Enabler! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance on the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Transcultural nursing is a vital, holistic approach that allows nurses and other healthcare providers to provide culturally congruent care for individuals, families, groups, and organizations within a context that is meaningful, beneficial, and inclusive of their healthcare values, beliefs, practices, traditions, communication styles, diverse roles,dietary preferences, and more. The text presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the future direction of transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture care of homeless mothers and children. The book chapters cover such topics as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan as well as translational research, globalization,conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research, and Practices was edited by two experts in the field and uses Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality and the Ethnonursing Research Method to provide a useful blend of theory and practical clinical information.
Call Number: RT86.54 .L44 2018