Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACSM's Exercise Testing and Prescription Textbook by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. ACSM'SExercise Testing and Prescription adapts and expands upon the assessment and exercise prescription-related content from ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th Edition, to create a true classroom resource. Fully aligned with the latest edition of ACSM's flagship title, ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, this practical resource walks students through the process of selecting and administering fitness assessments, using Guidelines to interpret results, and drafting an exercise prescription that is in line with Guidelines parameters. Designed for today's learners, the text is written in a clear, concise style, and enriched by visuals that promote student engagement. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, the book offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. The nuances of fitness assessment and the particulars of crafting exercise prescriptions are explored in expansive sections throughout the book. A full section devoted to Special Populations prepares students to meet the needs of the full range of both typically healthy and special needs clients they'll see in practice. Comprehensive case studies written by experts to reinforce practical applications of concepts. A wide range of online resources includes laboratory materials and activities that provide opportunities for hands-on learning, and a library of journal articles that helps students connect research to practice. 100% alignment with the most up-to-date version of the ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription enhances the learning experience, making it easy to go back and forth between Guidelines and the text.eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Call Number: RM701.6 .A27 2018
Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy: An Evidence-Based ApproachEdition by A comprehensive, up-to-date textbook spanning the entire scope of cardiovascular and pulmonary practice Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy, Third Edition reflects the broadest possible spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary practice and draws upon the expertise of a carefully selected team of world-renowned contributors. This internationally acclaimed text reviews must-know background knowledge, thoroughly explains exercise principles, cites the best evidence, and integrates the American Physical Therapy Association's approved practice patterns into the chapter content. Learn how to apply principles to practice in any setting with: * The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice integrated throughout, with an entire chapter devoted to its history and use * Preferred practice patterns for cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy form the core of eight chapters are used as springboards to describe interventions and outcomes * Case studies in practice pattern chapters allow you to experience the proper application of the practice patterns * The patient-client management model is used in the case studies with appropriate test, measures, and interventions selected from the practice patterns and applied to the patient * "International Perspectives" provide a way to gain insight into the global practice of physical therapy * Evidence-based and peer reviewed published material is included to help you develop specific intervention regimens * Online access to case-based exercises, video clips illustrating technical psychomotor skills, and demonstrations of cardiac and pulmonary physical exams
Call Number: RC702 .D48 2018
Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: Screening for Referral by Learn how to screen for red flags and when to refer clients to a medical specialist! Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: Screening for Referral, 6th Edition provides a step-by-step approach to screening for systemic disease and medical conditions that can mimic neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems. It describes both red flags and yellow flags, so you can recognize the signs and symptoms for conditions outside the scope of physical therapy practice. This edition includes new information on women's health issues. Written by experienced PT practitioner Catherine Cavallaro Goodman, this book helps you determine whether a client's symptoms require physical therapy or physician referral! UNIQUE! Five-step screening model is systems- and symptoms-based, and follows the standards for competency established by the American Physical Therapy Association, covering past medical history, risk factor assessment, clinical presentation, associated signs and symptoms, and review of symptoms. UNIQUE! Case studies are based on clinical experience and give real-world examples of how to integrate screening information into the diagnostic process and when to treat or refer. Evidence for the screening process is based on peer-reviewed literature, reporting on the sensitivity, specificity, and likelihood ratios of yellow (cautionary) and red (warning) flags. Key Points to Remember boxes at the end of each chapter provide quick, bulleted summaries of critical information. Quick-reference summaries include tables, boxes, follow-up questions, clinical signs and symptoms, and case examples. Screening tools and checklists are found in the book and on the Evolve website, and are downloadable and printable for use in the clinic. Quick response (QR) codes that can be scanned on a smartphone, tablet, or other mobile device provide links to valuable screening tools such as lists of questions for screening specific problems, checklists, intake forms, and assessment tests New content on women's health expands coverage of this important topic. UPDATES reflect the most current information on screening for referral. New associate editors - John Heick and Rolando Lazaro - bring fresh insight, as respected physical therapy educators. New! Color tabs make it easier to locate chapters and topics.
Call Number: RM701 .G658 2018
Ethics in Physical Therapy: A Case-Based Approach by A Case-Based Approach to Learning Ethics in Physical Therapy Ethics in Physical Therapy utilizes a unique case-based approach to teach students and clinicians how to apply theoretical concepts to real-world situations. The cases were carefully selected to encourage thinking and discussion. The accompanying text provides a framework to answer the "should" questions, such as "What should I do?" and "How should I act?" The format provides the opportunity to move beyond the individual realm, when appropriate, resolving issues within an institutional or societal perspective. The text is divided into two sections: "Ethics for the Physical Therapist" and "Types of Ethical Decisions: Case Analysis". They are designed to integrate with one another, but, each section can also be used separately. Part I provides more didactic, foundational material, while Part II strives to apply ethical decision-making tools to relevant cases in physical therapy practice, with the second section focusing on case analyses. The purpose of Ethics in Physical Therapy is to give students and clinicians a lens through which to analyze contemporary ethical challenges. Philosophical theory within the text is limited to that which can be applied practically in the clinical setting. This book is not intended to be a work on ethical behavior, rather, it is designed to provide students and clinicians with a framework in which to approach the uncertainty of ethical decision making with tools to aid their inherent judgment.
Call Number: R725.5 .K57 2018
Publication Date: http://librarycatalog.mayo.edu/record=b1201596~S5
Mayo Clinic Essential Neurology by Mayo Clinic Essential Neurology, Second Edition has been updated and designed with the busy medical student, resident, and clinician in mind. This rapidly changing specialty has more therapeutic options available to treat neurologic disease than ever before. The text, tables, and illustrationsare enhanced with online videos, all designed to provide quick and concise information on common neurologic disorders.The book addresses three main areas in fourteen user-friendly chapters: the neurologic examination and diagnostic testing, common neurologic symptoms, and common neurologic diseases. Each chapter is highly illustrated with figures and tables, and is accompanied with audio samples portrayingdysarthias and videos showing gait, movement disorder, fasciculation, and other neurologic phenomena.
Call Number: RC355 .A32 2018
Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series, edited by Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA. Here's a current, concise, and evidence-based approach to the selection, application, and biophysical effects of therapeutic modalities in a case-based format with a wealth of photographs and figures. The 6th Edition builds and expands on the strengths of previous editions and their focus on expanding and strengthening clinical decision-making skills through a hands-on, problem-solving approach.
Call Number: RM700 .M63 2016
Motor Behavior: Connecting Mind and Body for Optimal Performance by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Prepare for your future career in exercise science with the updated 2nd Edition of Motor Behavior. This applied, highly visual text goes beyond providing the basics of motor control and motor learning to show you how these two distinct views interact and ultimately affect outcomes. Taking a functional approach, this edition brings topics to life with unique photos , illustrations, and laboratory activities show concepts in action. A final chapter offers insights on effective training and practice strategies that connect mind and body for optimal performance. Key Features eBook available: Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW! Evidence-based Practice boxes in Units 1 and 2 extend the book's applied focus MORE ACCESSIBLE: Key updates in Unit 3 that focus on how motor learning and motor control theories are applied in real-world contexts make the content easier to understand. CONCISE: The book focuses on the information you need to know for a successful career as a practicing clinician. APPLIED: Real-world applications throughout show how concepts play out in practice. STUDENT-FRIENDLY: To help you master key concepts, each chapter includes Learning Objectives, Thinking It Through review questions, Concepts in Action, SideNotes, and chapter review questions.
Call Number: RC1235 .I94 2019
Motor Control and Learning: A Behavioral Emphasis by Motor Control and Learning, Sixth Edition With Web Resource, focuses on observable movement behavior, the many factors that influence quality of movement, and how movement skills are acquired. The text examines the motivational, cognitive, biomechanical, and neurological processes of complex motor behaviors that allow human movement to progress from unrefined and clumsy to masterfully smooth and agile. This updated sixth edition builds upon the foundational work of Richard Schmidt and Timothy Lee in previous editions. The three new authors-each a distinguished scholar-offer a range and depth of knowledge that includes current directions in the field. The extensively revised content reflects the latest research and new directions in motor control and learning. Additional new features of the sixth edition include the following: A web resource that includes narratives and learning activities from Motor Control in Everyday Actions that correspond with the chapters in the book, giving students additional opportunities to analyze how research in motor learning and control can be expanded and applied in everyday settings; An instructor guide that offers sample answers for the learning experiences found in the student web resource; New content on sleep and movement memory, the role of vision, illusions and reaching, the OPTIMAL theory of motor learning, the neuroscience of learning, and more Motor Control and Learning begins with a brief introduction to the field and an introduction to important concepts and research methods. Part II thoroughly covers motor control with topics such as closed-loop perspective, the role of the central nervous system for movement control, speed and accuracy, and coordination. Part III deals with motor learning, exploring the effects of attentional focus, the structure of practice sessions, the role of feedback, theoretical views of motor learning, and the retention and transfer of skills. Throughout the book, art and practical examples are included to elucidate complex topics. Sidebars with historical examples, classic research, and examples of real-world applications highlight the importance of motor control and learning research and bring attention to influential research studies and pioneers. End-of-chapter summaries and student assignments reinforce important concepts and terms and provide review opportunities.
Call Number: BF295 .S248 2019
Pediatric Therapy: An Interprofessional Framework for Practice by Research has become increasingly clear regarding the benefits of interprofessional collaborations in health care. Pediatric therapists have long recognized that coordinated care and advocacy for children and their families promote healthy growth, development, and participation in a wide range of environments. To this end, Pediatric Therapy: An Interprofessional Framework for Practice has been designed to engage students and clinicians in interprofessional learning experiences that cultivate collaborative practice and optimize the outcomes of those served. Dr. Catherine Rush Thompson and her team of contributors represent years of experience across the fields of physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology. Rather than discussing each of these fields in isolation, however, the text explores professional roles and responsibilities, emphasizing essential skills needed for collaboration in a range of pediatric settings. Key Interprofessional Concepts Covered: Foundations and philosophies that serve as a basis for pediatric care Assessing infants, children, youth, and adolescents in various situations Legal and ethical considerations impacting pediatric care Unique issues encountered in settings where pediatric therapies are offered Using current evidence and the clinical reasoning process for designing and modifying interventions Each section of Pediatric Therapy offers case-based learning activities requiring interprofessional collaboration for clinical reasoning to optimize care. This approach encourages an appreciation of the importance of holistic care, as well as an understanding of the roles, frames of reference, and approaches favored by each discipline. Pediatric therapists and others who work in healthcare and educational settings will appreciate Pediatric Therapy: An Interprofessional Framework for Practice as a guide for developing the interprofessional competencies needed to achieve desired outcomes for children and their families.
Call Number: RJ499.3 .P43 2018
Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide by Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide presents clinical assessment considerations when working with a person with a disability who may need wheelchair seating for postural support, skin integrity, or a wheelchair base to best meet dependent or independent mobility needs. Michelle L. Lange and Jean Minkel have designed this text to support occupational and physical therapists, complex rehabilitation technology suppliers, and even third-party payers who are interested in wheelchair seating and mobility assessment and applications. Seating and Wheeled Mobility provides a wide spectrum of information from foundational information for those practitioners who are new to the field to in-depth, population-specific information for practitioners who perhaps have not worked with a particular population in the past. Information sharing, opportunities for demonstration and trial, and patience on the part of the clinician working with the person with a disability are all critical precursors to the actual process of making equipment recommendations. Seating and Wheeled Mobility is divided into sections, each addressing a different area of clinical practice. The first section is an in-depth presentation of the assessment process and the critical understanding of pressure management needed by the clinical team when working with a client population who rely on wheeled mobility. The second section focuses on postural support. Also included is a completely updated method to measure and describe the seated person and related support surfaces needed when recommending a device. The third section lays the foundation for clinical decision making around the assessment for and application of the most appropriate wheeled mobility device. The fourth section provides in-depth clinical applications for each category of mobility devices. Also addressed is proper documentation to assist in the funding of these devices. The fifth section provides population-specific information regarding the clinical application of position, pressure management, and functional mobility as it applies to the pediatric, geriatric, and bariatric populations, as well as persons with both degenerative and complex neuromuscular impairments. The last section presents additional considerations when working with persons who are aging with a disability, environmental assessments, transportation, and the application of standards. Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide provides the depth and breadth of the clinical practice of wheelchair seating and mobility to both those who are new to the field, as well as seasoned professionals.
Call Number: RD757.W4 S43 2018x
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation by The most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation - enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions. * Essential text for Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs * Author Bill Prentice was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 2004 * Evidenced based and supported by case studies and laboratory activities to demonstrate the application of the modalities on patients
Call Number: RM700 .P78 2018