Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by Prepare for success on certification exams and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive text for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. New to this edition is additional coverage of robotic surgery, along with review of evidence-based guidelines for practice. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert nurse - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to provide safe, high-quality care in the surgical setting. Over 400 general and specialty surgical interventions are covered, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, outpatient clinic, or in a doctor's office. 900 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, and methods. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention and control, positioning, anesthesia and pain management, the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients, and more. Comprehensive practice exams on the Evolve companion website include 300 exam-style questions with rationales. Perioperative nursing considerations include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical procedure, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Patient and Family Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and postprocedural care, side effects and complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Patient Safety boxes highlight Joint Commission initiatives for patient and staff safety in the surgical setting. Best Practice and Research Highlight boxes apply the latest scientific research to patient care. Critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. NEW! Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. NEW! Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote review of protocols for early recovery for patients undergoing major surgery. NEW! Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. NEW standards and AORN toolkits cover topics ranging from enhanced post-surgical recovery to prevention of pressure ulcers.
Call Number: RD99.24 .A44 2019
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by Publisher''s Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Highly readable and rich with engaging case studies and learning tools, Brunner & Suddarth''s Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 14th Edition delivers the complete nursing foundation students need in a format designed for the way they like to learn. Approachable text is accompanied by callouts, questions, and vignettes to help students explore essential patient care practices in real-world terms and gain a more practical understanding of how they''ll apply what they''ve learned in practice. Trusted by instructors, students, and practicing nurses for more than 50 years, the 14th edition of this landmark resource has been comprehensively updated to reflect the latest research and practices and keep pace with the transition from critical care to home care, ethics, and genetics. Complete integration with Lippincott CoursePoint allows you to easily map out your entire course, provide personalized student remediation, and simulate real-world nursing scenarios based directly on vignettes in the text, giving your students unparalleled preparation for success in the medical-surgical nursing workforce. Key Features in the 14th Edition: NEW! New chapter on assessment and management of patients with obesity including expanded content on gastric and duodenal disorders. NEW! Interdisciplinary feature in every chapter. Nursing students should be educated in an environment that provides such interdisciplinary educational experiences based on mutual understanding and respect and designed to enhance the practice of each discipline. EXPANDED! Immunodeficiency chapter includes updated HIV infection and AIDS content. UPDATED! The following units have been revised Immunologic Function, Digestive and Gastrointestinal Function, and Metabolic and Endocrine Function. Concept Mastery Alerts clarify difficult concepts, informed by data from Misconception Alert questions in PrepU for Brunner & Suddarth''s Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 12e. Quality and Safety Nursing Alerts build upon previous edition''s Nursing Alerts to highlight issues related to quality and safety nursing care. UPDATED! The unit openers include new Case Studies with QSEN Competency Focus to highlight a competency and related knowledge, skills, and attitudes. Additional information for these case studies related to NANDA-I, NIC, NOC and the nursing process is available online. Prioritization Questions have been added to the Critical Thinking Exercises. Genetics Charts and Ethical Dilemma Charts have been revised to reflect the latest advances in the field. Critical care information has been updated to further the authors'' goal to have the most up-to-date and clinically relevant content on critical care throughout the book. The Table of Contents has been reorganized for a more logical sequence and flow. Nursing Process sections, Plans of Nursing Care, and Critical Care sections More than 2,900 NCLEX-style review questions Assessment Charts, Risk Factor Charts, Guidelines Charts, Genetics in Nursing Practice Charts, Patient Education Charts, Health Promotion Charts, Ethics and Related Issues Charts, and Pharmacology Charts and tables. Gerontologic Considerations sections, Physiology/Pathophysiology figures, and updated Home Care Checklists Nursing Research Profiles and EBP questions help students learn the importance of evidence-based practice. Concepts in Action Animations bring anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology concepts to life.
Call Number: RT41 .T46 2018
Fast Facts for the Operating Room Nurse: An Orientation and Care Guide by "I am thrilled with the second edition of this] book to guide seasoned preceptors, students, novice nurses, and novice CSTs through orientation in the perioperative setting...Take advantage of this book. Read it, highlight it, and keep it with you always " -Caroline Kaufmann, RN, CNOR Program Director and Clinical Coordinator Surgical Technology Nassau Community College From the Foreword Featuring essential information needed daily to provide optimal care to every patient, this guide condenses volumes of operating room content into one pocket-sized companion. The second edition of this nursing mentor--for novice perioperative nurses in orientation and their preceptors--is newly updated to reflect the 2017 Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) guidelines with current, evidence-based clinical practice knowledge in an easy-to-use format. A well-organized text with evidence-based directives on current perioperative standards, this handy resource covers patient safety, the surgical environment, critical thinking, immediate decisionmaking, and perioperative skills. Complex skills and techniques are broken down into a simple, easy-to-follow bulleted format encompassing all key knowledge areas for perioperative nurses. Each chapter introduces concepts and sets clear learning objectives. The guide reinforces requisite knowledge with self-assessment questions, and the Fast Facts feature offers bite-size tips and tricks highlighted for easy access. New to the Second Edition: Fully updated in accordance with 2017 AORN GuidelinesHand hygieneMinimally invasive surgeryPatient information managementSurgical smoke safetySafe use of energy-generating devicesHypothermiaSterilization and central processingRobotic surgeryLevels of sedation/anesthesiaSurgical attire Key Features: Provides must-have OR information for new nurses and their preceptorsContains key knowledge on patient preparation, aseptic technique, surgical procedures, anesthesia considerations, and much moreIncludes Fast Facts feature reinforcing key orientation informationBased on the most up-to-date evidence in the literature
Call Number: RD32.3 .C75 2018
Lippincott's Review for Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Pass your certification exam with the thoroughly updated Lippincott Review for Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification, 6th Edition, offering the most current content found on the Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN) and Registered Nurse-Board Certified (RN-BC) exams. This popular study guide covers the full range of exam content, from disorders, signs and symptoms, tests, and assessments to treatments and interventions. Whether you are a new or experienced nurse, this comprehensive review offers the knowledge--and confidence--you need to succeed. Get the go-to exam prep resource for passing the CMSRN or RN-BC medical-surgical certification exam ... NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW and revised content that reflects current medical-surgical nursing best practices NEW and updated end-of-chapter quizzes and 150-questionend-of-book practice test that helps to foolproof your preparation NEW social media content in each chapter NEW content updates written by nurses who have passed the most current CMSRN exam Reviews disorders by body systems as covered in certification exams Study plan advice, preparation strategies, and test-taking strategies that prepare you for exam-taking success, including a certification test plan Easy-to-use outline format that outlines each topic with key points, making it easy to remember important points Resources that include: NANDA taxonomy, common infectious disorders, CDC fact sheets, and lab tests results Contents that include: Medical-surgical certification eligibility requirements--lists criteria for medical-surgical nurse (RN-BC), Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) certification, and clinical nurse specialist in adult health (ACNS-BC) certification Nursing foundations and principles Legal and ethical nursing issues Principles of wound care, including nursing assessments and treatment skills Disruptions in homeostasis Perioperative nursing Cultural and ethnic beliefs and practices Safety issues Health maintenance Patient's bill of rights and self-determination Developmental theories of Jean Piaget and Abraham Maslow Nutrition Substance abuse Complementary and herbal therapies Obesity Adult immunizations Laboratory values Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at the Springfield Regional Medical Group, Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics, Urbana, Ohio.
Call Number: RT55 .A47 2018
Surgical Instrumentation: An Interactive Approach by With hundreds of detailed, full-color photographs of common surgical instruments, Surgical Instrumentation: An Interactive Approach, 3rd Edition helps you learn the identification, purpose, and set up of instruments for surgical procedures. Written for surgical technologists by a surgical technologist, it offers a level of visual clarity and realism unmatched by any other surgical instrument book. Many photos include close-up views of the instrument tip, so you can quickly discern differences between instruments. Interactive resources on Evolve allow you to view 360-degree rotations of more than 100 instruments. Also included are flash cards, timed memory exercises, Mayo stands, back-table set ups, quizzes, and instrument sets for common procedures in various surgical specialties. Over 660 full-color, high-quality photographs help you to learn the most common surgical instruments for all surgical procedures. Close-up photos of instruments show the details of each tip and demonstrating variations to make it easier to identify each surgical instrument. Consistent, clear, and concise instrument monographs include the name, common name, category, use (type of surgery and where on the body), cautions relating to safety or patient care, and other details such as regional name variations. NEW! Instrument sets for common procedures quickly accessible in specialty chapters. Presentation of two illustrations per page makes it easier to see the details of each instrument. Student resources on Evolve include all of the images from the text, additional 360-degree views and close-ups of over 100 instruments, animations of large and small fragment sets, and timed recall exercises for practice in learning instruments. Chapter quizzes on Evolve help you master the various instruments used in general and speciality surgeries. NEW! Chapter about Mayo stand and back-table covers common tray setup procedures. NEW! Additional close-up/inset photos with existing instruments give you a detailed way to examine and learn about instruments they'll be working with on a daily basis. NEW! Content on robotics instruments familiarize you with the design and use of these advanced surgical utilities.
Call Number: RD71 .N46 2019x