Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fundamentals of Urine and Body Fluid Analysis by Learn to accurately analyze urine and body fluids with Fundamentals of Urine & Body Fluid Analysis, 4th Edition. Known for its clear writing style, logical organization, and vivid full-color illustrations, this renowned text covers the fundamental principles of urine and body fluids that are frequently encountered in the clinical laboratory. This includes the collection and analysis of urine, fecal specimens, vaginal secretions, and other body fluids such as cerebrospinal, synovial, seminal, amniotic, pleural, pericardial, and peritoneal fluids. In addition, author Nancy Brunzel also shares her own extensive knowledge and expertise in the field as she highlights key information and walks you through essential techniques and procedures - showing you how to correlate data with your knowledge of basic anatomy and physiology in order to understand pathologic processes. In all, this is the perfect book to help you master all aspects of urine and body fluid analysis. UNIQUE! Analysis of Vaginal Secretions chapter covers vaginal wet preps - a fluid collected and evaluated frequently in physician offices. UNIQUE! Image gallery on urine sediment houses 100 urine sediment micrographs to help you accurately identify urine sediment elements. UNIQUE! Chapter on microscopy provides valuable information as you complete clinical work with microscopes. Full color, high quality images aid in accurately identifying urine and body fluids at a microscopic level. Glossary at the end of the book provides accurate definitions at your fingertips. Excellent pedagogy includes key terms, learning objectives, case studies, and study questions to help provide a framework and learning pathway. NEW! Fully updated content provides the latest information and procedures in fluid analysis. NEW! Updated illustrations and micrographs paint a vivid picture of text concepts to ensure you can properly identify fluid elements.
Call Number: RB53 .B86 2018
Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by Learn to develop the problem-solving skills necessary for success in the clinical setting! The Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology, 6th Edition uses a reader-friendly "building-block" approach to the essentials of diagnostic microbiology. This updated edition has new content on viruses like Zika, an expanded molecular chapter, and the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. Updated photos offer clear examples of automated lab instruments, while case studies, review questions, and learning objectives present information in an easy-to-understand, accessible manner for students at every level. A building-block approach encourages you to use previously learned information to sharpen critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Full-color design, with many full-color photomicrographs, prepares you for the reality of diagnostic microbiology. A case study at the beginning of each chapter provides you with the opportunity to form your own questions and answers through discussion points. Hands-on procedures describe exactly what takes place in the micro lab, making content more practical and relevant. Agents of bioterrorism chapter furnishes you with the most current information about this hot topic. Issues to Consider boxesencourages you to analyze important points. Case Checks throughout each chapter tie content to case studies for improved understanding. Bolded key terms at the beginning of each chapter equip you with a list of the most important and relevant terms in each chapter. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter supply you with a measurable outcome to achieve by completing the material. Review questions for each learning objective help you think critically about the information in each chapter, enhancing your comprehension and retention of material. Learning assessment questions at the conclusion of each chapter allow you to evaluate how well you have mastered the material. Points to Remember sections at the end of each chapter identify key concepts in a quick-reference, bulleted format. An editable and printable lab manual provides you with additional opportunities to learn course content using real-life scenarios with questions to reinforce concepts. Glossary of key terms at the end of the book supplies you with a quick reference for looking up definitions. NEW! Content about Zika and other viruses supplies students with the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. NEW! Expanded Molecular Diagnostics chapter analyzes and explains new and evolving techniques. NEW! Updated photos helps familiarize you with the equipment you'll use in the lab. NEW! Reorganized and refocused Mycology chapter helps you better understand the toxicity of fungi. NEW! Updated content throughout addresses the latest information in diagnostic microbiology.
Call Number: QR67 .T49 2019