Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises: Orthopedic and General Conditions by Therapeutic exercises can be found spread out amongst numerous texts, handouts, card boxes, and websites, which has sent clinicians, practitioners, and trainers searching for reliable, evidence-based exercises for the entire body, all packaged into a single, all-inclusive manual. To that end, The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises: Orthopedic and General Conditions was written as a fundamental resource on exercise theory and techniques, and as a comprehensive guide for designing exercise programs. Dr. Elizabeth Bryan has compiled thousands of clinically relevant exercises to create a text that will teach students theory and proper application that they will then return to again and again in their career as a reference to aid in designing evidence-based exercise programs for their clients or patients. Introductory chapters cover exercise parameters, exercise progression, the importance of form, muscle soreness, and a reference for body position terminology, then subsequent chapters are organized by body area to cover most of the clinical exercises in use today. Each exercise includes photographs, a list of muscle systems that will be affected, specific substitutions to look for, and detailed instructions directed at students and clinicians. Also included are sections devoted to protocols and specialty exercises including yoga and tai chi. Embracing the principles of evidence-based practice, "Where's the Evidence?" boxes are prominently featured throughout the text to support the exercises and theory with up-to-date, relevant, sufficient, valid, and reliable studies. Combining theory with practice, The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises: Orthopedic and General Conditions is an essential tool for students as well as clinicians, practitioners, or trainers to find the most appropriate exercises for their client's or patient's needs and apply them properly.
Call Number: RM700 .B79 2018x
Handbook Pediatric Physical Therapy by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This updated reference provides a contemporary perspective on pediatric Physical Therapy in a convenient outline format ideal for daily consultation. Consistent with APTA's "Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 3.0," Handbook of Pediatric Physical Therapy, 3rd Edition helps both students and professionals quickly locate essential information necessary to effectively assess, diagnose, and plan interventions. This edition reflects the latest advances in the field as it presents each condition's etiology, assessment considerations, treatment, and all other information related to contemporary pediatric physical therapy practice. Features eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. UPDATED! The latest information on growth and development, pediatric disorders, measurement, interventions, assistive technology, and administrative issues is presented in an outline format that allows readers to answer clinical questions quickly. NEW! Additional coverage on orthopedics, wellness, and autism spectrum disorder brings the book thoroughly up-to-date. NEW! Up-to-date material has been added on the latest interventions, including strategies that are implemented in the NICU. NEW!Use of current language and perspectives used across service systems and the field's latest assessments prepares readers to meet the need of clients in today's pediatric practice. NEW! Information from up-to-date fact sheets produced by the Academy of Pediatric Physical Therapy outline current best practices. UPDATED! A focus on a comprehensive, holistic intervention approach that leads to functional outcomes and active participation of the child is supplemented by coverage of today's available protocols. NEW! Coverage of standardized tests now appears in a separate Measurement Instrument Section at the end of Chapter 3.
Call Number: RJ53.P5 L66 2019
Lifestyle Wellness Coaching by Lifestyles have changed dramatically over the past quarter century. Along with these changes come exciting opportunities, including new career paths in the professional domain of health and wellness coaching. Centered on an evidence-based process for guiding change, Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Third Edition With Web Resource, offers a systematic approach to helping clients achieve enduring changes in their personal health and wellness behaviors through a supportive and forward-moving coaching relationship. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching has been thoroughly revised and updated to keep pace with the rapidly evolving field of wellness coaching. It is complemented by discussions, case studies, reflective opportunities, and practical aids and engages readers through multiple approaches to learning: - The reader is encouraged to gauge comprehension and application of the content by reflecting on personal experiences within the context of coaching. - Sample dialogues offer real-world examples of coaching situations and strategies. - The International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies are thoroughly examined to prepare readers for certification in the profession of coaching. - A new web resource houses easy-to-use forms, plans, and assessments that professionals can use immediately with clients. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching examines real coaching conversations to assess key considerations, such as the types of questions to ask, how to provide feedback effectively, and how to facilitate action planning. The text presents communication strategies to motivate, guide, inform, and support clients' processes toward personal change with a holistic approach. It addresses boundaries of care and advice appropriate to coaching relationships. Other issues explored include developing a trusting relationship, creating goals that are aligned with coaching processes, unblocking clients' energy and discovering resources for change, and generating forward movement through the skillful use of the International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching introduces readers to models that clearly identify clients' progress through the stages of change. First, the text explores the popular transtheoretical model (TTM) of health-related behavior change and its delineation of six stages of clients' readiness to change. The discussion of TTM includes strategies appropriate to clients in various stages of readiness to change. The text also presents the learning-through-change model (LCM), revealing the deep layers beneath each phase of client movement toward change. Readers are offered a map for coaching clients toward goal achievement. The authors' unique flow model of coaching illustrates how professional coaches can help clients navigate the sometimes turbulent events of a person's life in order to change habitual patterns of behavior. The companion web resource offers a complete kit of assessment tools to help establish a strong framework for successful coaching. A welcome packet, coaching readiness index, introductory session form, and between-sessions questionnaire benefit both the professional and client in laying the groundwork. Other supplemental resources, such as a social and emotional intelligence assessment and a goal setting form, support the journey. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Third Edition, is the definitive resource for those seeking to embrace wellness coaching and propel clients to healthy, effective change.
Call Number: RA776 .G289 2019
Neurological Rehabilitation: Spasticity and Contractures in Clinical Practice and Research by This book is the first attempt at bringing together a volume of work from a range of professionals with an interest in spasticity. The framework for the definition was developed in part by the authors contributing chapters that make up this volume. The book represents the current "state-of-the-art" regarding definition, measurement, pathophysiology (all state-of-the-art summaries) and simultaneously gives clinicians guidance on clinical management. This work combines coverage of both spasticity and contractures as these two phenomena are often closely interrelated. Current researchers do not differentiate between these individual impairments and, as such, there is significant confusion in the literature. This book discusses both conditions and then separates them into their respective components. If these two conditions co-exist (which is generally the case), then the management of a patient will need to be customized to individual clinical presentation. The clinical sections of the book are all written by currently practicing, and research active, clinicians, and the earlier chapters are written by researchers currently working on spasticity.
Call Number: RC935.S64 N48 2018x
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Review Questions by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This concise question-and-answer review book boasts over 600 multiple-choice questions covering the general competencies, core knowledge, and the common topics critical for board exam success and professional competency. Test yourself on stroke rehabilitation, spine trauma, traumatic brain injury, neuromuscular disorders, and more! You'll also find advice on how to approach the exam, as well as test-taking tips and tactics. Features an extensive collection of electrodiagnostic medicine questions, including advanced concepts. Contains a comprehensive chapter covering biostatistics, research, health policy, and epidemiology questions ideal for MD/MPH students. "Pearls" at the end of each chapter offer key concepts and points to keep in mind when tackling relevant test sections. E-book features an interactive component to help you further hone your test-taking skills. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
Call Number: RM701.6 .G36 2019