Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Advanced Practice Nursing: essential knowledge for the profession Advanced Practice Nursing: Essential Knowledge for the Profession, Fourth Edition is a core advanced practice text used in both Master's Level and DNP programs. Similar to the previous edition, The Fourth Edition is framed around the AACN's Master's Essentials as well as the Essentials for Doctoral Education featuring the most up-to-date content on each set of Essentials. Throughout the Fourth Edition the authors address the rapid changes in the health care environment with a special focus on health care finance, electronic health records, quality and safety as well as emerging roles for the advanced practice nurse. Patient care in the context of the advanced nursing role is also discussed.
Call Number: RT41 .A363 2021
Advancing Your Career: concepts of professional nursing Coverage of The Joint Commission's initiatives and roles in accreditation. Issues from the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) and magnet status. Discussions on delegation and how it relates to the management of unlicensed assistive personnel. Quantum physics theory and its relevance to nursing care. Nanotechnology and genomics and how they affect nursing. Data element sets and terminologies recognized by ANA. Staffing issues related to safety. Coverage of domestic violence issues. "Evidence-Based Practice" boxes provide examples of current evidence and include questions that help you apply to real life practice. "Thought and Discussion" questions test your understanding of the chapter objectives.
Call Number: RT82 .K39 2020
CNOR Exam Prep Book 2018 & 2019: review and certification exam, practice questions, study guide Test Prep Book's CNOR Exam Prep Book 2018 & 2019: CNOR Study Guide 2018 & 2019 Review and Certification Exam Practice Questions Study Guide Developed by Test Prep Books for test takers trying to achieve a passing score on the CNOR exam, this comprehensive study guide includes: -Quick Overview -Test-Taking Strategies -Introduction -Plan of Care -Intraoperative Care -Communication -Transfer of Care -Instrument Processing and Supply Management -Emergency Situations -Management of Personnel, Services, and Materials -Professional Accountability -Practice Questions -Detailed Answer Explanations Disclaimer: CNOR is a registered trademark of the Competency & Credentialing Institute (CCI), which was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product. Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the CCI CNOR certification test. The Test Prep Books CNOR prep practice test questions are each followed by detailed answer explanations. If you miss a question, it's important that you are able to understand the nature of your mistake and how to avoid making it again in the future. The answer explanations will help you to learn from your mistakes and overcome them. Understanding the latest test-taking strategies is essential to preparing you for what you will expect on the exam. A test taker has to not only understand the material that is being covered on the test, but also must be familiar with the strategies that are necessary to properly utilize the time provided and get through the test without making any avoidable errors. Test Prep Books has drilled down the top test-taking tips for you to know. Anyone planning to take the CNOR test should take advantage of the review material, practice test questions, and test-taking strategies contained in this Test Prep Books study guide.
Call Number: RD32.3 .C567 2018x
Creative Teaching Strategies for the Nurse Educator Implement nearly 200 teaching strategies to flip your classroom and engage your students for active learning. Follow step-by-step operational guidelines for implementing innovative strategies and understand their advantages and disadvantages. Use case studies, 'how-to's' and examples on how and when to apply techniques to actively involve students in learning and move beyond lectures. Recognize the challenges presented by different types of educational settings and specific learning situations and explore potential solutions and teaching methods to overcome them. See how to structure your curricula around the content areas and integrated processes of the NCLEX® or the components of QSEN.
Call Number: RT71 .H47 2020
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials: a new model for advanced practice nursing The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials: A New Model for Advanced Practice Nursing, continues to be the only complete textbook for all eight American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Practice Nursing. With DNP programs now found in every state, climbing from 25 to over 300 in the past 13 years, having a textbook dedicated to the DNP Essentials is imperative as faculty and students will use it as a template for future and existing programs. The newly revised Fourth Edition features updates and revisions to all chapters and expands on information relating to the current and future changes in today's complex healthcare environment. The text features the addition of new DNP project resources, with supplemental case studies highlighting DNP projects and the impact of this work.
Call Number: RT75 .D56 2021
Nursing Older People: realities of practice This practical guide helps student and practising nurses to understand the impact of their care when working with older people. With stories from older people who have had varied experiences of health care and nursing, chapters are underpinned by five key principles: providing patient-centered and dignified care, shared decision-making involving family and friends, multidisciplinary care, improving well-being through companionship and a sense of value, and an appreciation of both the challenges and rewards of working with older people.
This book offers:
Stories which reflect the complexity of care and health experienced by older people and their journeys.
Topic-oriented chapters which provide a series of evidence-based readings which use the most up-to-date research evidence merged with national and international policy and practitioner experience.
Practical tips and key messages for working with older people.
The volume can be used to help nursing students and practising nurses to understand better how their care might impact positively on older people’s health and well-being. This situates the reader within the world as experienced by older people.
Call Number: RC954 .N877 2020x
Public Health Nursing: population-centered care in the community Ensure you have a solid understanding of community and public health nursing with this industry standard text! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 10th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and healthcare policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect current data, issues, trends and practices presented in an easy-to-understand, accessible format. Additionally, real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. Ideal for BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs, this comprehensive, bestselling text will provide you with a greater understanding of public health nursing! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community. Healthy People boxes highlight goals and objectives for?promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. UNIQUE! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. End-of-chapter Practice Application scenarios, Key Points, and Clinical Decision-Making activities promote application and in-depth understanding of chapter content. UPDATED Content and figures reflect current data, issues, trends, and practices. How To boxes provide you with practical application practice. NEW! Check Your Practice boxes added throughout feature scenarios and discussion questions to promote active learning.
Call Number: RT98 .C6562 2020
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination Get the tools and skills you need to prepare for the NCLEX®! Often called the ''the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 8th Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most recent test plan. This new edition includes 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. A companion Evolve website includes thousands of questions that allow you to decide how you want to practice! Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only Silvestri includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices and test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,200 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. 75-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give students practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Presents introductory chapters on preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, the CAT format, and the NCLEX-RN from a new graduate''s experience. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! More Priority Nursing Action boxes communicate new and pertinent content. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give you completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. Mnemonics included where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations test critical thinking skills and feature Next Generation NCLEX item types to assist in applying the skill of clinical judgment. NEW! UPDATED! Bioterrorism content includes information on nuclear radiation. Several NEW prioritizing questions test prioritizing skills. NEW! Pharmacology classifications code with practice questions helps you to focus on specific medication classes. NEW! Special Populations chapter focuses on nursing care of special and vulnerable populations. NEW! Complex Care chapter includes information on sepsis, shock, sedation, critical care nursing interventions, and more. NEW! Health Problem code with every practice question helps you to focus your study on particular topics. NEW! Anemia section added to the Oncological and Hematological Problems chapter. NEW! Systematic case scenario helps you focus on applying health and physical assessment concepts.
Call Number: RT55 .S28 2020
Statistics for Nursing: a practical approach Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach, Third Edition is designed in accordance with the Conversation Theory of Gordon Pask and presents the complicated topic of statistics in an understandable manner for entry level nurses. The underlying principle of this design is to give students the opportunity to practice statistics while they learn statistics. The text accomplishes this through the inclusion of relevant clinical examples followed by end of chapter application exercises.The Third Edition has been updated with practice activities which enable students to apply the content they have learned. In addition, the authors have included new research articles to develop and reinforce literature critiquing skills. These new features provide more opportunities for students to apply the concepts learned while the explanations are beneficial to clinical experts interested in further developing evidence-based skills. This text meets the needs of both undergraduate nursing research students who need to learn how to critically analyze literature as well as graduate DNP students who must also be familiar with statistics for nursing in accordance with the rigor of the DNP program.
Call Number: RT68 .H43 2019
Stroke Nursing Stroke Nursing is the leading guide for optimal stroke care, facilitating the provision of evidence-based practice across the stroke journey, and covering the sixteen elements of care outlined in the UK's Stroke-Specific Education Framework (SSEF). Drawing from years of clinical and research experience, the authors provide practical guidance on the essential areas of stroke nursing, including stroke classification, stabilisation, thrombolysis and thrombectomy, rehabilitation and recovery, nutrition and oral care, palliative and long-term care, physical impairment management, and more. Now in its second edition, this indispensable guide helps practitioners expand their knowledge, skills and competence in all areas of stroke nursing services. Adopts a practical and evidence-based approach to stroke management, exploring UK and international perspectives Authored by expert clinicians and leaders in the field of nursing practice, research and education Includes updated case studies and practice examples, expanded coverage of clinical application in practice, and new discussions of the knowledge and skills required by nurses Stroke Nursing is essential reading for students of nursing and neuroscience, and is the definitive reference for practicing nurses and healthcare professionals caring for stroke patients.
Call Number: RC388.5 .A288 2020
Atlas of Pediatric Dermatoscopy This atlas, containing a wealth of clinical and dermoscopic images, describes and illustrates the applications of dermoscopy in a wide variety of skin disorders that may be encountered in the pediatric population. Key features and other salient aspects are highlighted with the aim of enabling the clinician to reach a fast and reliable diagnosis in all cases. Dermoscopy is a non-invasive technique that allows rapid and magnified in vivo observation of the skin, with visualization of morphologic features imperceptible to the naked eye. Dermoscopy has revolutionized the approach to pigmented skin lesions, greatly improving diagnostic accuracy. Furthermore, over the past few years it has been demonstrated to be very useful in the diagnosis, follow-up, and therapeutic monitoring of a range of other skin disorders, including cutaneous/mucosal infections, ectoparasitoses, inflammatory diseases, and hair and nail abnormalities. Being non-invasive, dermoscopy is particularly suitable for use in the pediatric population, in which invasive diagnostic procedures may be problematic.
Call Number: RJ511 .A85 2018x
Breastfeeding and Human Lactation Breastfeeding and Human Lactation, Sixth Edition is the ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice for lactation consultants and specialists. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, and sociocultural issues.Completely updated and revised, the new edition includes new case studies, expanded cultural content, new regulations and guidelines, more information on alternative medicine, and gender inclusive language.
Call Number: RJ216 .B775 2021
Brenner and Rector's the Kidney, 2-Volume Set Put the world's most well-known kidney reference to work in your practice with the 11th Edition of Brenner & Rector's The Kidney. This two-volume masterwork provides expert, well-illustrated information on everything from basic science and pathophysiology to clinical best practices. Addressing current issues such as new therapies for cardiorenal syndrome, the increased importance of supportive or palliative care in advanced chronic kidney disease, increasing live kidney donation in transplants, and emerging discoveries in stem cell and kidney regeneration, this revised edition prepares you for any clinical challenge you may encounter. Extensively updated chapters throughout, providing the latest scientific and clinical information from authorities in their respective fields. Lifespan coverage of kidney health and disease from pre-conception through fetal and infant health, childhood, adulthood, and old age. Discussions of today's hot topics, including the global increase in acute kidney injury, chronic kidney disease of unknown etiology, cardiovascular disease and renal disease, and global initiatives for alternatives in areas with limited facilities for dialysis or transplant. New Key Points that represent either new findings or "pearls" of information that are not widely known or understood. New Clinical Relevance boxes that highlight the information you must know during a patient visit, such as pertinent physiology or pathophysiology. Hundreds of full-color, high-quality photographs as well as carefully chosen figures, algorithms, and tables that illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentation and technique, and clinical decision making. A new editor who is a world-renowned expert in global health and nephrology care in underserved populations, Dr. Valerie A. Luyckx from University of Zürich. Board review-style questions to help you prepare for certification or recertification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RC902 .K53 2020 & online
Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment This book offers an up-to-date review on the principles and practice of multidimensional assessment and management of the older individual, which represents the cornerstone of modern clinical practice in the elderly. The early chapters cover the main elements and scope of the comprehensive geriatric approach and explain the pathways of care from screening and case finding through to in-depth assessment and treatment planning. Subsequent chapters review the evidence of how best to apply the multidimensional assessment and management approach in defined healthcare settings and within specific clinical areas, such as cancer and surgery. Finally, the education and training challenges are reviewed and the prospects for future clinical service and research in this important field are examined. The book is very timely given the recent advances in application of this approach, which reflect the growing international realization that older people are "core business" in many clinical areas where the role of specialist geriatric medicine has hitherto been limited. Accordingly, the book will be relevant to a wide range of clinicians. The authorship comprises many of the best known and widely published experts in their respective fields.
Call Number: RC953 .C66 2018x
Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery Get step-by-step, expert guidance on fundamental procedures in neurosurgery - both in print and on video. Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery, 2nd Edition, provides the tools needed to hone existing surgical skills and learn new techniques, helping you minimize risk and achieve optimal outcomes for every procedure. Led by Dr. Rahul Jandial, this concise reference offers quick access to the expertise and experience of the world's leading authorities in the field of neurosurgery. Presents consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that cover the indications and contraindications, pitfalls, tips and tricks from the experts, and more for each procedure. Covers minimally invasive spine techniques such as Thoracic Corpectomy and Minimally Invasive Direct Lateral Transpsoas Interbody Fusion. Includes new chapters on Microvascular Decompression and Brachial Plexus Injury Nerve Grafting and Transfers. Features procedural videos that summarize the key steps in neurosurgery. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD593 .C67 2020
ECMO in the Adult Patient: core critical care Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) is developing rapidly, and is now part of the toolkit for the management of all patients with severe respiratory or cardiac failure. Clinicians of all disciplines are in need of a simple manual, easy and fun to read, that will take them through the management of these patients, explaining the principles of safe and successful practice. Part of the Core Critical Care series, this book is an easy-to-read guide for the aspiring ECMO clinician. Doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, dieticians, pharmacists and all other key members of the team will learn the basics required to better understand the technology and care of the patient. The experienced clinician will enjoy reading through the chapters, which present structured thoughts and knowledge acquired through clinical experience.
Call Number: RM666.O83 V89 2017x
The Essentials of Clinical Dialysis This book is a thorough guide to dialysis that will assist in the effective treatment of patients. Current knowledge on all aspects of dialysis, including the most recent advances, is presented and the various techniques used in dialysis patients are described step by step. Both hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis are fully considered. The coverage of hemodialysis explains the procedure and its indications and provides guidance on challenging topics such as vascular access, response to acute and chronic complications, and on-line hemodiafiltration. The discussion of peritoneal dialysis includes explanation of peritoneal physiology, the principles of prescription, and the treatment of peritonitis and exit site infection. A summary of updated dialysis-related guidelines is included at the end of the book. The lucid text is supported by more than 200 full-color illustrations that clarify anatomy, vascular/peritoneal access, and dialysis procedures and techniques. The Essentials of Clinical Dialysis will be of value for all who are involved in the management of dialysis patients and will be a helpful guide for training of physicians and healthcare associates in the dialysis center.
Call Number: RC901.7.H45 E88 2018x
Fundamentals of HIV Medicine 2019 The essential work in HIV for providers and pharmacists -- updated with everything they need to know in 2019!Assembled by the leading educational organization in HIV medicine, AAHIVM's Fundamentals of HIV Medicine 2019 is an end-to-end clinical resource for the treatment of individuals with HIV/AIDS. It offers state-of-the-art practical advice for physicians, pharmacists, nurse practitioners, and otherprofessionals working in the care of HIV patients.Along with updates to the classic domains of HIV medicine, this new edition features expanded coverage of emerging topics, including: behavioral and therapeutic interventions to HIV prevention; updates on the pursuit of a cure; new DHHS and IAS guidelines and their clinical implications; and themyriad issues around aging with HIV.Embodying the American Academy of HIV Medicine's commitment to excellence in the care of seropositive patients, Fundamentals of HIV Medicine 2019 is must-have for health professionals across HIV care, treatment, and prevention.
Call Number: RC606.6 .F86 2019
Genitourinary Radiology Previously known as the Textbook of Uroradiology , the newly retitled Genitourinary Radiology continues to bring you top-flight expertise in interpreting imaging studies of the genitourinary tract. A team of leading authorities walk you through the full range of relevant modalities and findings for each anatomical region, providing a multitude of high-quality representative images that capture the characteristic appearance of the conditions you're likely to encounter. The result remains an indispensible resource for diagnosing genitourinary diseases and disorders. Features Identify abnormalities using the latest imaging technology thanks to comprehensive updates throughout, including PET/CT and SPECT/CT, MR urography and MR angiography, CT dose reduction and 3D CT imaging, and more. Recognize what to look for by reviewing more than 1,000 images and accompanying discussions that pinpoint the most important diagnostic features for virtually every genitourinary disorder. Quickly find the guidance you need through a practical, intuitive organization that concisely summarizes the disorders found in each anatomical area and then walks you through how these disorders present via the most relevant imaging modalities. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC874 .D86 2018
Oncogenomics Oncogenomics: From Basic Research to Precision Medicine offers a thorough survey of precision medicine and its diagnostic and therapeutic applications in oncology. Gathering contributions from leading international researchers in the field, chapters examine recent translational advances in oncogenomic methods and technologies, detailing novel molecular classifications of tumors as well as diagnostic and prognostic biomarkers for various types of cancers including pancreatic, gastrointestinal, breast, hematological, lung, osteotropic, genitourinary, and skin cancers. This book provides a foundation for clinical oncologists, human geneticists, and physicians to develop new targeted cancer treatments and incorporate genomic medicine into clinical practice, with particular attention paid to noninvasive diagnostic techniques such as the liquid biopsy and molecular characterization of solid malignancies.
Call Number: RC268.42 .O63 2019
Peripheral Vascular Disease: A Clinical Approach Part of the new Clinical Approach series--which focuses on key topics in cardiology--this pragmatic, comprehensive guide is intended for residents, practitioners, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants, and covers arterial, venous, and lymphatic diseases. Easy-to-read chapters are written by clinical experts in interventional cardiology, interventional radiology, vascular surgery, and podiatry, and begin with helpful quick-reference summaries. Includes up-to-date information on imaging, complications, and limb salvaging, as well as pharmacology therapies such as drug-coated stents. Clinical algorithms help you make well-informed diagnostic, treatment, and disease management decisions. Guidance on the most current equipment and technology designed to ensure patients are treated with the most efficacious modalities available. Includes illustrations, photos, and other images. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC694 .P47 2020
Pocket Guide to the Operating Room Written for perioperative nurses, surgical technologists, and students in these disciplines. Features extensive coverage of minimal access surgery, including endoscopic procedures for multiple specialties, microsurgical techniques, and instrumentation for these procedures. Describes equipment and instrument trays, including pediatric trays. Addresses the roles of the registered nurse and the surgical technologist in the perioperative environment. Provides charting/documentation of care to comply with medicolegal requirements. Includes a Surgical Assessment and Perioperative Checklist, and a Preoperative Care Plan adaptable to the individual patient, complete with areas that focus on nursing care and desired outcomes. Fits in a lab coat pocket for immediate reference.
Call Number: RD32.3 .G65 2020
Management/Employee Development Books
The Customer Revolution in Healthcare: delivering kinder, smarter, affordable care for all Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Customer-centric, market-driven solutions for fixing America's broken healthcare system--from one of the industry's most innovative thought leaders. Healthcare accounts for one-fifth of the U.S. economy. Everyone agrees that our current system is broken and needs repair. It must cost less, tackle chronic disease, and shift resources away from acute and specialty treatments into care management, behavioral health, and health promotion. The issue isn't what to do. It's how to do it. The answers lie in customer-driven reform, enlightened governmental regulation, and full-risk payment models that reward quality outcomes, service excellence, and efficient operations. Customers are demanding more value. In response, enlightened health companies are reconfiguring business models to deliver appropriate, accessible, holistic, reliable, and affordable care. According to this new model, caregivers inform and engage patients; payers reward health companies that deliver great outcomes and great service at competitive prices; health plans strive to keep their members as healthy as possible; investors fund innovative companies whose products and services delight customers; health companies employ liberating technologies that enhance system-wide access, fairness, safety, compassion, and affordability. In The Customer Revolution in Healthcare, top healthcare consultant and strategist David W. Johnson explains how aligning economic incentives with patient needs will deliver better outcomes at lower costs with superior customer service. The market will be won by disruptive, bottom-up, and customer-centric competitors who will deliver kinder, smarter, and cheaper care--to all.
Call Number: RA416.3 .J64 2020
Diversity on the Executive Path: wisdom and insights for navigating to the highest levels of healthcare leadership As the US population continues to diversify, the business case for diversity in healthcare leadership is becoming increasingly evident. Racially and ethnically diverse leaders are, however, still significantly underrepresented in today's C-suites. How can healthcare leaders close this gap to enhance the cultural competence of their organizations and improve health equity for all? In Diversity on the Executive Path, author Diane L. Dixon tackles this pressing issue by sharing the real-life experiences of 12 racially and ethnically diverse hospital and health system CEOs. Dixon conducted in-depth, face-to-face interviews with this highly accomplished group of healthcare executives to discover what it takes to become a leader at the highest level. From their experiences, you will gain insight and learn practical lessons you can apply to your own career journey or the journeys of those you mentor, coach, or sponsor. The book delves into topics such as:; Reflections on race and ethnicity in healthcare leadership; The essential role of sponsorship;Strategies for maximizing career mobility; Navigating a career path when the going gets tough; Leadership that makes a difference Each chapter features executive commentary from additional healthcare leaders--practical advice for navigating the executive path--and concludes with questions that invite you to reflect on your own experiences and identify meaningful practices for building success. The path to the C-suite is not a step ladder; it is a complex journey with many twists and turns. This book presents a unique opportunity to learn from the career trajectories of diverse healthcare executives. May they inspire and enrich your own journey.
Call Number: RA971 .D59 2020x
Dyad Leadership and Clinical Integration: driving change, aligning strategies Sometimes, real leadership is about balance. Can your institution balance the competing--even contradictory--demands of the healthcare marketplace? Can your value strategists also build patient engagement? Can your clinical integration champions also master financial performance? How can any one leader do it all? One can't--but two can. Dyad Leadership and Clinical Integration: Driving Change, Aligning Strategies breaks new ground in dyad leadership, giving you the tools you need now to establish and sustain exceptional partnerships between physicians and administrators. The book offers practical strategies based on a proven integrated framework. With this method as a starting point, dyad leaders can group and differentiate roles and competencies to increase quality of care, cut costs, and improve the patient experience. Author Alan Belasen synthesizes the expertise of academics, journalists, and practitioners with assessments and concepts drawn from psychology, communications, organizational theory, and management literature. The result is practical, ready-to-use surveys and data analysis techniques for assessing the sweet spots and weak spots of current and potential dyads and the institutions they lead. Attain the power of balance--and enhance your institution's flexibility, span of expertise, and sustainability--with Dyad Leadership and Clinical Integration: Driving Change, Aligning Strategies .
Call Number: RA971 .B352 2019
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement stands apart from other texts on health care finance or health insurance, in that it combines financial principles unique to the health care setting with the methods and process for reimbursement (including coding, reimbursement strategies, compliance, financial reporting, case mix index, and external auditing). It explains the revenue cycle in detail, correlating it with regular management functions; and covers reimbursement from the initial point of care through claim submission and reconciliation. Thoroughly updated for its second edition, this text reflects changes to the Affordable Care Act, Managed Care Organizations, new coding initiatives, new components of the revenue cycle (from reimbursement to compliance), updates to regulations surrounding health care fraud and abuse, changes to the Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC) program, and more. Designed to prepare health administration and health information management students with the necessary tools to successfully transition from the classroom to the health care facility, this text includes: - Basics of Health Care Finance & Financial Management - Patient Protection and the Affordable Care Act - Managed Care Organizations - Medicare Prospective Payment System (Inpatient) - Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment Systems (OPPS) - Coding for the Non-HIM Professional - Revenue Cycle Management - Healthcare Fraud and Abuse - Electronic Health Records and Meaningful Use - Government Incentive Programs - Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC) Two new chapters cover the mechanics of hierarchical condition categories from a CMS perspective (15), and the application of HCC coding in a physican practice (16).
Call Number: RA412.3 .H37 2021
The Healthcare Nonprofit: keys to effective management Health-related nonprofit organizations reflect a unique and enduring aspect of the American character, rooted in the concepts of charity and fraternity. Much has changed in the nonprofit sector since the days of Benjamin Franklin and the founding of the Pennsylvania Hospital, but nothing has replaced the dedication, creativity, and hard work of leaders, managers, and volunteers striving to improve the human condition. The Healthcare Nonprofit: Keys to Effective Management assists leaders and managers as they uphold the nonprofit tradition across a challenging and ever-evolving healthcare and public health landscape. It explores the nature and extent of nonprofit activity in the United States, establishing key principles while noting the impact of economic, sociocultural, and technological trends. Special attention is given to the following: The importance of the missionPrograms and services that make a difference Staff and volunteer managementEffective board governanceFundraising and donor stewardshipMarketing, public relations, and advocacyLegal, regulatory, and ethical issuesLeadership and crisis management The chapters of The Healthcare Nonprofit , written by accomplished leaders in the field, present essential concepts and principles, as well as more detailed commentary to foster deeper understanding. Ultimately, the book seeks to provide readers with the knowledge and tools they need to begin, run, and sustain effective nonprofit organizations that have a meaningful impact on the people they serve.
Call Number: RA395.A3 H4317 2019
The Leaders Within: engagement, leadership development and success planning A company full of potential CEOs would be one of the greatest assets an organization could ever hope to acquire. Are you ready to roll up your sleeves to make it happen? The Leaders Within: Engagement, Leadership Development, and Succession Planning presents an integrated model for creating an organizational infrastructure in which leadership development acts as a funnel for succession planning. When they follow this guidance, readers can enhance their organization's learning, leadership, and longevity. The authors draw on their real-world experience in a large health system to define the three unique roles in creating a successful leadership development and succession planning program: the Visionary, who helps the organization and its employees see their future potential; the Architect, who oversees the actual implementation of the program; and the Board Advocate, who secures the governing board's support for the process. Readers will recognize which role they personally play and gain a deeper understanding of how their organization can embed leadership development and succession planning in its DNA. Examples and case studies gathered from over the course of a decade are used to address topics such as: Achieving buy-in from the board and executive teamIdentifying potential succession candidates Assessing candidates' strengths and opportunities for developmentReplacing key leaders while maintaining leadership continuity Succession planning and leadership development are two manifestations of the same core principles: a commitment to company values, a desire to foster leadership potential, and a long-term vision for the organization's success. Readers of this book will acquire insight and learn methods for helping redefine their organizations' next generation of leadership.
Call Number: HD38.2 .M36795 2020
Seeing Around Corners: how to spot inflection points in business before they happen The first prescriptive, innovative guide to seeing inflection points before they happen--and how to harness these disruptive influences to give your company a strategic advantage. Paradigmatic shifts in the business landscape, known as inflection points, can either create new, entrepreneurial opportunities (see Amazon and Netflix) or they can lead to devastating consequences (e.g., Blockbuster and Toys R Us). Only those leaders who can "see around corners"-that is, spot the disruptive inflection points developingbefore they hit-are poised to succeed in this market. Columbia Business School Professor and corporate consultant Rita McGrath contends that inflection points, though they may seem sudden, are not random. Every seemingly overnight shift is the final stage of a process that has been subtly building for some time. Armed with the right strategies and tools, smart businesses can see these inflection points coming and use them to gain a competitive advantage. Seeing Around Corners is the first hands-on guide to anticipating, understanding, and capitalizing on the inflection points shaping the marketplace.
Call Number: HD30.28 .M38384 2019
Think Big, Start Small, Move Fast: a blueprint for transformation from the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation by The Only Innovation Guide You Will Ever Need--from the Award-Winning Minds at Mayo Clinic A lot of businesspeople talk about innovation, but few companies have achieved the level of truly transformative innovation as brilliantly--or as famously--as the legendary Mayo Clinic. Introducing Think Big, Start Small, Move Fast, the first innovation guide based on the proven, decade-long program that's made Mayo Clinic one of the most respected and successful organizations in the world. Thisessential must-have guide shows you how to: Inspire and ignite trailblazing innovation inyour workplace Design a new business model that's creative,collaborative, and sustainable Apply the traditional scientific method to the latest innovations in "design thinking" Build a customized toolkit of the best practices, project portfolios, and strategies Increase your innovation capacity--and watch how quickly you succeed These field-tested techniques grew out of the health care industry but are designed to work with any complex organization. Written by three Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation insiders--Dr. Nicholas LaRusso, BarbaraSpurrier, and Dr. Gianrico Farrugia--the book offers a wealth of transformative ideas and strategies. The concise, easy-to-implement methods can help jump-start your employees' creative potential, involve them in the collaborative process, and pave the way to the future of sustainable innovation. You get step-by-step advice on building leadership teams, accelerator platforms for speeding up results, and fascinating case studies of innovation in action from the files of the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation. In today's fast-moving world, it's innovation that drives success. This book gives you the keys. ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THINK BIG, START SMALL, MOVE FAST: "Truly great organizations do not just achieve great results; they are also relentless in the pursuit of continual improvement. This book offers both methods and motivation to leaders in any industry who understand that the pursuit of excellence is never-ending." -- Donald Berwick, M.D., MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow,Institute for Healthcare Improvement "Do you want your organization to deliver a shockingly better customer experience? Here is Mayo's method that transformed the patient experience by making innovation systemic, the human side of innovation." -- Scott Cook, Cofounder and Chairman of the Executive Committee, Intuit "A powerful set of actionable, yet importantly nonprescriptive, principles for transformative change that will inspire and challenge all of us to reenvision a system that delivers health, not just care, for all our patients." -- Rebecca Onie, Cofounder and CEO, Health Leads "This book should serve both as a how-to guide for medical professionals and an inspiration for other innovators all over the country." -- T. R. Reid, reporter and author of The Healing of America "Powerful insight on how to deliver meaningful innovations time and again." -- Frans van Houten, CEO, Royal Philips "Leaders who seek to accelerate new innovation competencies can benefit from this hands-on guide." -- Sarah Miller Caldicott, great grandniece of Thomas Edison,and CEO, Power Patterns of Innovation "Read this book. . . . Copy its practices. It will save you years of misery and missteps as you build your own innovation revolution." -- Larry Keeley, Cofounder, Doblin Inc., and Director, Deloitte Consulting LLP
Call Number: RA981.M6 L37 2015x
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016