Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Health Professionals Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Other Health Professionals is a concise introduction to genetics clinically applicable to nursing students as well as students in other healthcare professions. The text employs an accelerated approach to understanding the fundamentals of genetics, even those with limited knowledge on the topic will find this a beneficial resource. The content is aligned to the ANA's Essential Genetic and Genomic Competencies and begins with a review of DNE, RNA, protein synthesis, chromosomes, and inheritance patterns. In addition, it takes a clinical focus on specific diseases and groups of disease processes. Each disease chapter focuses on the molecular basis of the disease, the signs and symptoms of the disease, surveillance recommendations, treatment options for the disease, and other disorders. Coverage of diagnostic techniques, embryology and teratogens, diagnostic techniques for genetic testing, prenatal screening, genetics counseling and the ethical, legal, and social issues that surround human genetics and genomics is also included.
Call Number: RB155 .G86 2020x
Health Promotion: throughout the life span Promote health and wellness for all ages and population groups! Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 9th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans, with an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. New to this edition is expanded coverage of genomics and QSEN competencies. Written by nursing experts Carole Edelman and Elizabeth Kudzma, this bestselling text covers all the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention. Separate chapters on population groups - the individual, family, and community - highlight the unique aspects of assessment and health promotion for each group. Coverage of growth and development helps you apply health promotion concepts to each age and each stage of development through the lifespan. Case studies present realistic situations with questions asking you to apply key concepts, and care plans include nursing diagnoses, defining characteristics, related factors, expected outcomes, and interventions. Quality and Safety Scenario boxes focus on QSEN-related competencies with examples of health promotion. Innovative Practice boxes outline unique and creative health promotion programs and projects currently being implemented. Healthy People 2020 boxes present goals and objectives relating to national health issues and priorities. Research for Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current health-promotion studies showing the links between research, theory, and practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address cultural perspectives relating to planning care. Hot Topics boxes introduce significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion. Think About It clinical scenarios open each chapter, and include questions to encourage critical thinking. NEW! An increased focus on genomics reflects scientific evidence supporting the use of genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Expanded discussion of QSEN competencies is included, as related to health promotion. NEW! Guidelines and recommendations are included from the latest Guide to Clinical Preventive Services from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. NEW! The latest information about the Affordable Care Act is included. NEW! Updated photos reflect the latest in health promotion and disease prevention.
Call Number: RT90.3 .H435 2018
The Intersection: where evidence based nursing and information literacy meet The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe.
Call Number: RT73 .I583 2018x
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators To succeed as leaders of a diverse, multigenerational workforce, nurse managers and executives need to have both traditional management skills and a contemporary, creative mindset. Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators, Eighth Edition, is a comprehensive overview of key management and administrative concepts that are critical to leading healthcare organizations and ensuring patient safety and quality care. The text prepares nursing students and professional administrators to lead a workplace that is rapidly evolving due to technology, culture, and changes in the U.S. healthcare system.The Eighth Edition of Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators features an updated discussion of the business of health care, including resource procurement, revisions to the Affordable Care Act, and financial management relating to reimbursement. It also focuses on transformational leadership principles, such as how leading with emotional intelligence can foster communication, conflict resolution, team building, and joy in the workplace.
Call Number: RT89 .M3843 2020
Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds: drug calculations using dimensional analysis Use the simplicity of the dimensional analysis method to make accurate drug calculations! Mulholland's The Nurse, The Math, The Meds, 4th Edition helps you overcome any math anxiety you may have by clearly explaining how to use dimensional analysis to minimize drug calculation errors. It shows how to analyze and set up problems, estimate a reasonable answer, and then evaluate the answer for accuracy. But first, a review of basic math ensures that you remember essential math skills. Updated by nursing educator Susan Turner, this edition includes plenty of practice exercises to help you understand and master each aspect of dimensional analysis. UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: RS57 .M85 2019
Nurse Residency Program Builder This new updated edition is intended to help you design and build your own NRP program. Studies have shown that the NRP programs are associated with higher rates of retention, cost savings, improved patient safety and decreased stress. NRP programs can have a positive influence on work environments, relationships and professional practice.
Call Number: RT75 .H36 2018x
Nurses Without Borders, Intermediate Nurses without Borders ESP series has two volumes, Basic and Intermediate. It is designed for students who have obtained a basic knowledge of English grammar equivalent to ESL/EFL students in secondary schools. It is also intended to be a part of English for Special Purposes (ESP) programs, and can be easily adopted in professional schools. Content includes: • Lively communication based lessens - created by registered nurses - covering common clinical situations - authentic dialogs - integrated MP3 files • Wide range of drill based exercises • Thorough four-skill training This series helps international students expand their ability to serve and become "nurses without borders."
Call Number: RT23 .N87 2014x
Nursing in Today's World: trends, issues, and management Fully updated to cover today's issues and trends, this classic text contains many real-life scenarios, giving students ample opportunities to understand and apply what they are learning. Chronological coverage moves from history (Unit I) to current events and issues (Unit II) to future nursing roles and responsibilities (Unit III). Using examples and case studies throughout, the authors address a wide range of topics, including educational preparation, licensure, employment opportunities, ethics/bioethics, evidence-based practice, nursing theory, safety, culture, healthcare reform/politics, and leadership and management--including managing conflict and change, coaching and team building, and applying research and technology to nursing practice. Key Features NEW! Content updates include coverage of QSEN competencies, National Patient Safety Goals and their effect on healthcare delivery and reimbursement, recent healthcare legislation, and the use of electronic health records. NEW! Daily Ethical Dilemmas boxes allow students to explore complex healthcare issues, such as disaster, social media, HIPAA, genomics, and more. NEW! Nursing Theory Alert boxes break down for students how theoretical concepts, such as Transcultural Nursing, apply to real-life practice. NEW! Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current research on important topics and show students how research drives positive practice outcomes. NEW! Cartoon Curriculum visuals help students acquire knowledge quickly, improve comprehension, enhance retrieval, and increase retention. Some cartoons bring humor to difficult subjects while others are satirical, ironic, and thought-provoking. Designed for adults in the vein of cartoons in TheNew Yorker, these visuals give students food for thought. NEW! Stegen & Sowerby Stories are unfolding case studies that help students understand the connection between what they are learning and their careers. NEW! NCLEX® Preparation Tools include 3 to 5 NCLEX-style questions at the end of each chapter. Critical Thinking Activities challenge students to analyze examples and problems derived from the content. Communication in Actionboxes help students develop skills by modeling good and bad communication.
Call Number: RT82 .E45 2019
Pediatric Telephone Protocols,Office Version Pediatric Telephone Protocols is the go-to triage resource at thousands of practices and hundreds of call centers nationwide. Now this AAP best seller from telehealth pioneer Dr. Schmitt covers an even broader spectrum of caller concerns with 6 brand new protocols. And it's even quicker and easier to use. With this must-have resource you get proven prescriptions for phone care quality. You'll see benefits like: - Highlighted assessment questions that help you quickly evaluate patient problems and select the appropriate disposition: 911 call, ED referral, office visit, home care - Parent reassuring home care instructions - Medication questions, dosages, and recommendations - Find-it-fast index helps to quickly zero-in on caller concerns - Detailed User's Guide serves as a valuable training tool - Reproducible log sheets help standardize call documentation and save charting time - Quality assurance checklist eases staff training and evaluation and improves caller satisfaction Key features include - Completely updated and revised 16th edition. - New section on Skin/Bites that includes 27 protocols. - 6 new protocols for a total of 143: Bronchiolitis Follow-up Call, Eczema Follow-up Call, Eye-Swelling, Mosquito Bite, Newborn Acts Sick, and Warts.
Call Number: RJ48 .S453 2018
Project Planning and Management: a guide for nurses and interprofessional teams Project Planning and Management: A Guide for Nurses and Interprofessional Teams, Third Edition serves as a primary resource for students developing and implementing clinical projects as a requirement for course completion. Additionally, the text also serves as a guide for faculty and preceptors who assist students in identifying clinical and management gaps as well as in initiating projects. The Third Edition focuses on planning and managing evidence-based projects, phases of implementation, and evaluation methods within the context of quality, safety, and value-based initiatives. Coverage of the expanded use of technology and the importance of designing project/program plans with explicit tools and tactics for success will also be outlined. A central theme woven throughout the text is the impact of outcomes that engage and inspire through dynamic projects. Readers of this text will also benefit from the real-world examples drawn from students, faculty, clinician, manager, and administrator experiences.
Call Number: RT89 .P765 2020
Telephone Triage and Consultation: are we really listening? The primary aim of this book is to provide an understanding of what is required when GPs, practice nurses, receptionists and out-of-hours workers are engaged in clinical telephone assessments (often referred to as telephone triage or telephone consultations) or anywhere that patients are assessed over the phone. The reader will learn real, practical tools and techniques to apply in their daily work for managing calls in busy environments, and will gain insight into identifying and avoiding hazards when carrying out telephone assessments. Deliberately conversationalist in style, this guidebook addresses the preparation, underlying principles and stages in telephone triage and consultations from beginning to end, including when to conclude safely. Each chapter is dedicated to key areas to allow the reader to access precise information. The book argues that the real purpose of a telephone assessment is not to diagnose, but to determine the need for further assessment and why focussing on diagnosing can be a risk to the patient. It also provides information on how to quality assure your calls, as well as the use of protocols in telephone calls. Based on empirical evidence, the book draws heavily on the author's own personal experience and knowledge of working in clinical telephone services, and the problems and benefits associated with this highly demanding and risk-laden area. Importantly, it seeks to address the caller's or patient's perspective, to ensure the clinician has a better understanding of how they can balance patient needs with workload demands and accessibility. The book also provides an understanding of the current models of healthcare delivery with the associated pressures on today's clinicians, including the advent of more intense triage systems being implemented in general practice. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT120.E4 P84 2017x
Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual Provide effective wound care with skill and confidence, with the expert direction and real-life images of the fully updated Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual!®, 3rd Edition. Let this colorfully illustrated text guide you through the fundamental concepts, skills, and treatments needed for positive wound care outcomes, including the latest products and procedures. Prepare to succeed in both the classroom and on the unit the enjoyable Incredibly Visual(tm) way, as clear explanations and plentiful images guide you through the vital steps of effective wound care. Grasp the basic concepts, skills, phases, and complications of wound care ... NEW and updated photos and graphics NEW and updated content on the latest wound care techniques and interventions Hundreds of colorful imagesthat make the complexities of wound care easy to understand--detailed photos, charts, and drawings that explain and reinforce key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Clear, concise text that explains the fundamentals and latest advancementsin wound care in clear, understandable terms Perfect for visual learners--numerous images that demonstrate skills and interventions, including: Skin anatomy and physiology--skin layers and their functions Wound healing--types of wound healing, healing phases, and complications Wound assessment--including recognizing failure to heal Effects of aging on wound healing Acute versus chronic wounds Pressure injuries Vascular ulcers Diabetic foot ulcers Malignant wounds Atypical wounds Wound care products Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and other healthcare practitioners Excellent teaching aid--seasoned, step-by-step guidance backed by images that demonstrate everyday patient care situations Chapter features: Chapter content summary at the start of each chapter Q&A--End-of-chapter games and quizzes that reinforce learning points--multiple-choice or fill-in-the-blank questions, word games, and matching images to wound care concepts "Nurse Joy and Jake"--Expert insights and encouraging advice offered throughout Take note--illustrated interventions that demonstrate real-life patient scenarios About the Clinical Editor Patricia Albano Slachta, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, CWOCN, is President of the Nursing Educational Programs and Services in Ridgeland, South Carolina.
Call Number: RD93.95 .W69 2019
Writing for Publication in Nursing Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Call Number: RT24 .O35 2019
Aicardi's diseases of the nervous system in childhood Congenital or early-onset disorders of the nervous system have a profound and lifelong impact on the lives of children and their families. Diseases of the Nervous System in Childhood provides up-to-date information on the full range of these neurological disorders, from fetal and neonatal neurology to adolescence. Movement disorders, epilepsies and seizure disorders, metabolic diseases, auditory and visual disorders, and genetic anomalies are among the many topics covered in this text. Extensive reference lists at the end of each chapter guide the clinician to further relevant reading. This fourth edition retains the patient-focussed, clinical approach of its predecessors. The international team of editors and contributors has honoured the request of the late Jean Aicardi, that his book remain 'resolutely clinical', which distinguishes Diseases of the Nervous System in Childhood from other texts in the field. This edition: Is completely revised and updated Includes latest developments in genetic advances Contains new chapters on basal ganglia diseases and psychogenic disorders Has an easy-to-use one volume format with full-colour illustrations
Call Number: RJ486 .A35 2018
Cancer Rehabilitation: principles and practice Praise for the previous edition: "This book is a milestone and must-have for anyone involved in the care of those with cancer." --American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation "This reference provides a comprehensive, pragmatic approach for physical medicine physicians; speech, occupational, and physical therapists; and nurses with cancer survivor responsibilities... A]ny cancer program with significant rehabilitation services will find this a useful addition to its library." --JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) This completely revised second edition of the gold-standard reference on cancer rehabilitation provides a state-of-the-art overview of the principles of cancer care and best practices for restoring function and quality of life to cancer survivors. Authored by some of the world's leading cancer rehabilitation experts and oncology specialists, the book opens with primer-level discussions of the various cancer types and their assessment and management, including potential complications, as a foundation for providing safe and effective rehabilitation. Subsequent sections thoroughly explore the identification, evaluation, and treatment of specific impairments and disabilities that result from cancer and the treatment of cancer. Designed to serve the needs of the entire medical team, this singular resource is intended for any clinician working with cancer survivors to improve function and quality of life. With several new chapters on topics such as inpatient cancer rehabilitation, pediatric oncology, research issues, and barriers to accessing cancer rehabilitation and building a cancer rehabilitation program, the book keeps pace with recent advances in the growing field of cancer rehabilitation. This new edition features updates throughout and expansions to major topics, including imaging in cancer and key disorders such as aromatase inhibitor-induced arthralgias. Presenting the most current medical, clinical, and rehabilitation intelligence, this is a mandatory reference for anyone in the field. Key Features: New edition of the only contemporary comprehensive text covering the field of cancer rehabilitationRevised and updated to reflect current knowledge, practice, and emerging topicsCovers essential aspects of oncology and medical complications of cancer to inform rehabilitation decisions and strategiesProvides state-of-the-art reviews on all major topics in cancer rehabilitation, including pain assessment and management, neuromuscular and musculoskeletal dysfunction, neurologic, and general rehabilitation issues13 new chapters and expanded coverage of signature areasKey points are provided for each chapter to reinforce learningDigital access to the ebook included
Call Number: RC262 .C3624 2019
Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology Written and edited by world leaders in nephrology, Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 6th Edition, by Drs. John Feehally, Jurgen Floege, Richard J. Johnson, and Marcello Tonelli, provides current information on clinical procedures and conditions as well as the scientific facts and pathophysiology that are foundational to nephrology practice. Ideal for practicing nephrologists, fellows, residents, and internists, it thoroughly covers fluids and electrolytes, hypertension, diabetes, dialysis, and transplantation, and more - all in a single convenient volume. Popular, color-coded algorithms provide easy access to key content: yellow boxes for general information, green boxes for therapeutic intervention, and blue boxes for necessary investigations. A "just right" amount of basic science and practical clinical guidance helps you make efficient and informed decisions. More than 1,500 full-color illustrations highlight key topics and detail pathogenesis for a full range of kidney conditions and clinical management. New quick-reference boxes with links to clinical guidelines in all relevant chapters. New chapters on common issues regarding prescribing in kidney disease, palliative nephrology, endemic nephropathies, pathophysiology of chronic kidney disease, and outcomes of dialysis. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC902 .C55 2019 & Online
Dermatopathology Offering a unique combination of expert online lectures, vast image collections both in print and online, and an easy-to-use print atlas, Dermatopathology, 3rd Edition, helps you master the complexities of this challenging and fast-changing subspecialty. Dr. Elston and his colleagues make dermatopathology easier to understand, leading you to efficient, accurate diagnoses of the most important common dermatologic findings seen in practice. Covers the essentials of dermatopathology using an enjoyable, easily understood approach and a consistent chapter template that includes key points and pearls. Features 27 lectures and 2,000 high-quality slides online - more than 8 hours of targeted teaching that take you through the must-know elements of each topic in a dynamic, engaging manner. Offers extensive, visually stunning image atlases both in print and online, including an extensive infectious disease atlas with 2,500 slides, a soft tissue tumor atlas with 300 images, a lymphoma atlas, and more. Includes abundant high-resolution histopathology examples with labels and pointers highlighting key aspects of each slide, providing additional clarity. The text has been expanded by over 70 pages in print, with over 130 new images, and 50 newer entities ranging from cutaneous collagenous vasculopathy to EBV+ mucocutaneous ulcer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RL71 .D47 2019x
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Otolaryngology Get a quick, expert overview of the many key facets of today's otolaryngology practice with this concise, practical resource. Dr. Luke Rudmik and a leading team of experts in the field address high-interest clinical topics in this fast-changing field. Presents an evidence-based, clinical approach to leading topics in otolaryngology. Covers key topics such as management of vertigo; management of adult sensorineural hearing loss; reflux in sinusitis; balloon catheter dilation in rhinology; epistaxis; functional rhinoplasty; sublingual immunotherapy for allergic rhinitis; pediatric obstructive sleep apnea; pediatric tonsillectomy; evaluation and management of unilateral vocal fold paralysis; management of hoarseness; endoscopic skull base resection for malignancy; management of glottic cancer; management of well-differentiated thyroid cancer; and management of the clinical node-negative neck in early stage oral cavity squamous cell carcinoma. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this challenging area into one convenient resource.
Call Number: RF46 .E95 2018x
Geriatric Notes Geriatric Notes is an essential quick reference for the advanced practice provider (APP) who provides care to elders in the outpatient setting, such as nursing homes, family practice, or home health. With a practical, accessible, and concise approach, it offers an easy to understand overview of the most common diagnoses, topics, and symptoms encountered in the aging population. Designed to offer access to the basics, this guide provides tables and bullet points for easy reference. Sections include health promotion, neurology and psychiatry, cardiovascular, pulmonary, gastroenterology, genitourinary, rheumatology, dermatology, endocrinology, labs, Beers list, and common presentations.
Call Number: RC952.55 .S65 2019
Mammographic Imaging: a practical guide The 4th Edition of Mammographic Imaging: A Practical Guide remains the most up-to-date and comprehensive book in the field. A perfect all-in-one solution for coursework, board prep, and clinical practice, this bestseller reflects the latest ARRT educational and certification exam requirements, as well as the ASRT recommended curriculum. Technologists seeking to stay current in the profession and students preparing to enter the field will appreciate the 227 new photos, the wide range of case studies, and the interactive online exam simulator with ARRT registry-style questions. NEW! Updated coverage: The latest advances in the field are reflected in a brand-new chapter on digital breast tomosynthesis and new sections on cone beam breast CT, breast cancer genetics, and breast density. ONLINE EXAM SIMULATOR with 115 ARRT registry-style questions (offering both Practice and Test Modes) helps students prepare for the certification exam, assess their mastery of the content, and become familiar with testing format and style. NEW! Additional case studies and review questions help students apply their knowledge and prepare for clinical practice. UPDATEd! The positioning chapter now aligns with the latest ARRT specifications, reflects recent changes in the field, and includes a unique new section on quality assessment that covers specific ways to eliminate common positioning/compression problems. UPDATED! A modernized design and illustration program features 227 new photos that reflect today's best practices in mammography imaging and equipment. COMPREHENSIVE: Coverage is appropriate for all types of readers, from students entering the field to practicing techs who need to stay current in the profession. REVISED! Analog imaging and QC have been removed, with some mention remaining in the history of mammography chapter. ENHANCED! Online learning resources include an interactive exam simulator, a registry-style question bank, case studies with situational judgment questions, an image bank, and PowerPoints presentations.
Call Number: RG493.5.R33 A23 2019
Measuring Health: a review of subjective health, well-being and quality of life measurement scales An invaluable resource for health professionals and students engaged in research. Analysis, validity and evidence of each scale is provided. Scoring and measurement is explained. This new version provides a new look making scales easier to locate. Further research and evidence provides a greater critique of the measures. Useful source information helps you access each measurement with permission. Also there are new scales introduced and expanded material on functional independence and and assessment measures.
Call Number: RA407 .B69 2017
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience
Call Number: QM451 .H18 2019
Respiratory Physiology Gain a foundational understanding of respiratory physiology and how the respiratory system functions in health and disease. Respiratory Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Keeps you current with recent advances in respiratory physiology, and includes a new chapter on new and emerging aspects of the lung. Includes nearly 150 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Pappano & Weir: Cardiovascular Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Call Number: QP121 .C56 2019
Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practice: understanding the role of resilience, positivity and wellbeing The pursuit of excellent compassionate care should be at the heart of all practice. However, it can be challenging for practitioners to deliver this day after day in a context of tight budgets and targets, which can erode the passion with which they entered their professions. Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practiceencourages healthcare professionals to look after themselves in order to maintain and develop their compassionate practice. This book considers how stress management, resilience, wellbeing and positivity can help all health professionals remain close to the values, attitudes and attributes that brought them into the caring professions. It presents and critiques the evidence base for these key concepts, bringing them to life with numerous case studies and examples, and develops a framework - RESPECT - for practice. This innovative volume is essential reading for all healthcare students, academics and professionals interested in improving both the quality of care and the wellbeing of patients and practitioners alike.
Call Number: RT89 .C45 2019x
Management/Employee Development Books
Environment of Care Risk Assessment This new 3rd edition introduces and discusses the various risk-assessment processes within the environment of care. This book is designed to help health care organizations develop and implement a comprehensive EC management program that includes risk assessment. This book provides suggestions on how to design and implement a proactive risk-assessment process and conduct effective risk assessments that address the various components of the environment of care. This new edition includes expanded new chapters and has been updated to reflect current standards and requirements.
Call Number: RA971.38 .E58 2018
Foundations of Interprofessional Collaborative Practice in Health Care Health care is a team effort, so why keep training for solo springs? Introducing Foundations of Interprofessional Collaborative Practice in Health Care - a unique new textbook that will equip you to become an effective member of interprofessional healthcare teams. This completely new textbook is the first on the market to introduce the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC, 2011, 2016) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice and to provide practice in applying these competencies to everyday practice. Expertly written by an interprofessional team for a wide variety of health professions students, this textbook provides a solid foundation in the four Core Competencies: Values and Ethics for Interprofessional Practice, Roles and Responsibilities, Interprofessional Communication, and Teams and Teamwork. It then elaborates each Core Competency by defining and describing each Sub-Competency. With a variety of interactive Case Studies, Caselets, and Exemplar Case Studies, it then illustrates the contributions and interconnectedness of each provider's role to demonstrate how Core Competencies would be applied and put into action for improved patient outcomes. UNIQUE! Three-part units each addressing one of the four IPEC Core Competencies to help you to understand the core competencies and learn how to apply them in your own profession. UNIQUE! Detailed explorations of each Sub-Competency for all four IPEC Core Competencies thoroughly present the essential elements of each Core Competency for deep understanding of how to collaborate with other professions. UNIQUE! Case Studies, "Caselets," and Exemplar Case Studies illustrate each competency and provide opportunities for you to apply your understanding of the material. A variety of Active Learning activities driven by core content are integrated into each chapter. UNIQUE! Global Perspectives boxes and additional international resources highlight the important work being done internationally in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. Research Highlights help you to understand the reasoning and knowledge behind the Core Competencies. Learning Outcomes and Key Points outline and review the main takeaways from each chapter.
Call Number: R834 .S58 2019x
Health Informatics: a systems approach As the reach and influence of technology grow, the world becomes increasingly connected. What happens in one system-finance, manufacturing, research, infrastructure, supply chain, and many more-can have a significant impact on the activities and outcomes in other systems. Healthcare is no exception. Connecting all of these systems is vital to properly support clinical care. Health informatics has the potential to align these interlocking systems in a way that transforms clinical decision-making and healthcare delivery to optimize overall system performance. Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective takes a systems approach to leveraging information in healthcare and enhancing providers' capabilities through the use of technology and knowledge transfer. The book offers a conceptual framework for aligning clinical decision processes with system infrastructures, including information technology, organizational design, financing, and evaluation. The book's contributors-all leading academics and healthcare practitioners-balance theoretical viewpoints with practical considerations. Case studies and informative sidebars support theory with real-world applications, while learning objectives, key concepts, and discussion questions facilitate learning and reinforce content. A glossary, which defines the main concepts and key terminologies presented in the text, provides a useful overview of the material. Thoroughly updated and revised, the second edition includes three new chapters on information systems in relation to population health, global health systems, and alternative financial mechanisms and their compatibility with innovative delivery models. Additional topics include: ¿ The role of human resources and information technology in healthcare¿ Knowledge-based decision-making¿ Transforming clinical work processes¿ Nursing informatics¿ Precision medicine¿ Data and information securityAn essential resource for students and practicing managers alike, Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective explains how information technology can enable the transformation of health organizations to improve not only the quality of healthcare, but also the health of individuals and populations.
Call Number: R858 .H3478 2019
Measurements in Distance Education: a compendium of instruments, scales and measures for evaluating online learning As more postsecondary faculty become engaged in designing online learning environments, research conducted on distance education program quality becomes increasingly important. Measurements in Distance Education is a concise, well-organized guide to some of the many instruments, scales, and methods that have been created to assess distance education environments, learners, and teachers. Entries are organized according to the qualities these measures attempt to gauge¿such as engagement and information retention¿and provide summaries of each instrument, usage information, the history of its development, and validation, including any reported psychometric properties. Offering more than 50 different surveys, tests, and other metrics, this book is an essential reference for anyone interested in understanding distance education assessment.
Call Number: LB2395.7 .C437 2018
The Road to Leadership This new compact book packs big wisdom from a leader who learned her lessons the hard way - and now guides others to their own paths as confident, successful leaders. From finding a mentor to learning the art of communication, this engaging book will help you break free of professional limits and define your own effective leadership skills.
Call Number: RT82 .H877 2017x
Strategic Healthcare Management: planning and execution A healthcare organization's mission should direct its strategies. Successful leaders make good decisions that link their organization's purpose and mission to both internal and external conditions. This book explores in depth the development and implementation of strategy to achieve mission advantage. It provides both the theoretical concepts and the practical tools leaders need to make better strategic decisions. Its cases and examples show how strategic principles can be applied to the intricacies of the contemporary healthcare system, always tying back to the key stakeholders, values, mission, and vision that underpin healthcare organizations and their purpose. A notable feature of this edition is its emphasis on learning through topical and timely case studies that depict strategic challenges healthcare leaders commonly face. These challenges range from issues of capitation, the formation of accountable care relationships, and competitive positioning to the dissolution of alliances and vertical integration, among others. Along with the necessary concepts and practical means for understanding, implementing, and monitoring strategies, this book also provides financial tools for directing strategic decisions and methods for analyzing healthcare markets. Noteworthy topics include the following and more: the shift to value-based strategies, effects of the Affordable Care Act and the healthcare market structure, hospital business models and how they are changing, disruptive innovation in healthcare, the impact of increasing consolidation of the insurance and provider industries, alliances and partnerships, both domestic and international, healthcare stakeholders and their engagement, accountability in healthcare strategic plan execution.Given the rapid and seemingly constant change in healthcare, skillful strategic planning and its implementation are more important than ever to achieving organizational success. This book gives readers the background they need to make decisions that promote their organization's success and mission.
Call Number: RA971 .W344 2018
Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations The essential planning resource and framework for nonprofit leaders Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations is the comprehensive, practical guide to building and sustaining a more effective organization. Solid strategy is now more important than ever, and this book provides a clear framework for designing and implementing an effective and efficient planning process. From identifying stakeholders and clarifying a shared vision, to implementing plans and revising strategies, the discussion covers all aspects of the process to help you keep your organization united and on track into the future. The field's leading authority shares insight, advice, helpful tools, and specific techniques, alongside a widely used and well-regarded approach to real-world planning. This new fifth edition includes new case studies and examples along with up-to-date resources and references, and new multimedia-related content. Innovation and creativity produce great ideas, but these ideas must be collected and organized into an actionable plan supported by a coalition of support to make your organization great. This book provides expert guidance and perspective to help you bring everything together into a workable organizational strategy. Discover an effective approach to the strategic planning process Identify issues, establish a vision, clarify mandates, and implement plans Manage the process with continual learning and revising Link unique assets and abilities to better accomplish the central mission Public and nonprofit leaders are forever striving to do more with less, and great strategic planning can help you build efficiency and effectiveness into your organization's everyday operations. Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations provides the framework and tools you need to start planning for tomorrow today.
Call Number: HD30.28 .B79 2018
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?