Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Advanced Practice Nursing in the Care of Older Adults Meet the diverse health care needs of older adults! Explore effective ways to enhance the wellness and independence of older adults across the wellness-illness continuum, including acute, primary, and long-term care. From an overview of the theories of aging and assessment through the treatment of disorders, including complex illnesses, this evidence-based book provides the comprehensive gerontological coverage you need to prepare for your role as an Advanced Practice Nurse. You'll be prepared for boards and for practice. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Five Stars "To the point resources on geriatric conditions/syndroms. Very easy to read/access the content you need...bulleted and formatted for quick reference. Helpful sections on evidence-based guidelines."--Ben Should be titled "GET THIS BOOK NOW!" "GREAT book for my new job...I've been an NP to college students and in urgent care, but this is the first time I've been a nurse practitioner for a geriatric house call practice and this book is perfect. I am really enjoying the format, the timely and research backed treatment protocols and the compassionate, well written style for advising anyone in the business of taking care of old folks! This is a must-read for all medical people but is especially suited to a Geriatric NP or Family Practice NP who see elderly patients regularly."--Amazon Reviewer
Call Number: RC954 .K46 2019
ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2018-2019 You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial NEW ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2018-2019: ATI TEAS Study Manual with Full-Length ATI TEAS Practice Tests for the ATI TEAS 6 Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Imagine having your study materials conveniently on your phone or tablet Trivium Test Prep's NEW ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2018-2019 comes with FREE online resources, including: practice questions, digital flashcards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 tried and tested test tips. These easy-to-access-anywhere materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. ATI Nursing Education was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2018-2019 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the ATI TEAS exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2018-2019 covers: ATI TEAS Version 6 Reading Interpreting Text Graphic Representations Of Information ATI TEAS Version 6 Mathematics Numbers and Operations Algebra Geometry and Measurement ATI TEAS Version 6 Science Anatomy and Physiology Life Science Physical Science Scientific Reasoning ATI TEAS Version 6 English and Language Use Grammar Vocabulary ...and also includes TWO FULL ATI TEAS VI practice tests
Call Number: LB2353.7.T35 A85 2018x
Breastfeeding Telephone Triage and Advice Created by a leading breastfeeding and phone care practitioner, this newly revised problem-solver helps nurses, lactation professionals, and other medical staff confidently advise breastfeeding mothers. It is ideal for use with the acclaimed Pediatric Telephone Protocols. Key features include - Completely updated and revised - Enhanced from black-and-white to more than 50 illuminating color photos to help triage professionals zero in on caller problems - More information included on maternal depression, which a high risk for early cessation - New protocols on child care policies/suggestions, separate from returning to work and early weight loss at birth hospital, first week - Stresses the importance of support groups vs. the abundance of apps and blogs that perpetuate myths Important content updates include: - Swaddling and safe sleep added to co-sleeping protocol - More information on tongue tie - Update on idiopathic granular mastitis and breast pain - Caution in exclusive pumping protocol - New chart on donor human mild vs commercial fortifiers - New chart on making the office breastfeeding friendly - Early weight loss graphs and information added to the low milk supply protocol - Special circumstances added like placental encapsulation, tattoos, etc.
Call Number: RJ216 .B86 2019
Community/Public Health Nursing: promoting the health of populations Community/Public Health Nursing, 7th Edition provides a unique, upstream preventive focus and a strong social justice approach, all in a concise, easy-to-read text. Covering the nurses' role in promoting community health, it shows how students can take an active role in social action and health policy - emphasizing society's responsibility to protect all human life and ensuring that diverse and vulnerable populations have their basic health needs met. Clinical examples and photo novellas show how nursing concepts apply to the real world. Written by community health nursing experts Mary A. Nies and Melanie McEwen, this book describes the issues and responsibilities of today's community and public health nurse. UNIQUE! A 'social justice' approach promotes health for all people, including vulnerable populations. UNIQUE! 'Upstream' preventive focus addresses factors that are the precursors to poor health in the community, addressing potential health problems before they occur. Case Studies present the theory, concepts, and application of the nursing process in practical and manageable examples. UNIQUE! Photo novellas use photographs to tell stories showing real-life clinical scenarios and applications of important community health nursing roles. Application of the nursing process at the individual, family, and aggregate levels highlights the community perspective in all health situations Clinical examples offer snippets of real-life client situations. Theoretical frameworks common to nursing and public health aid in the application of familiar and new theory bases to problems and challenges in the community. Healthy People 2020 boxes include the most current national health care objectives. Research Highlights boxes show the application of research studies to the practice of community nursing. Ethical Insights boxes highlight ethical issues and concerns that the community/public health nurse may encounter. Objectives, key terms, and chapter outlines at the beginning of every chapter introduce important concepts and terminology. NEW AND UNIQUE! A Veterans Health chapter presents situations and considerations unique to the care of veterans. NEW! Genetics in Public Health boxes reflect increasing scientific evidence supporting the health benefits of using genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Active Learning boxes test your knowledge of the content you've just read, helping provide clinical application and knowledge retention.
Call Number: RT98 .S9 2019
Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Quality Improvement Equip yourself to expertly conduct EBP or quality improvement projects. Written by renowned EBP experts LoBiondo-Wood, Haber, & Titler, Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Quality Improvement provides a straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning and conducting EBP and quality improvement projects This brand-new, full-color, richly illustrated textbook begins with foundational content and then works through the processes of developing and exploring clinical questions, implementing results, and disseminating information. The book's content and approach have been developed specifically with the adult learner in mind, with multiple full-text appendix articles referenced throughout as examples, along with unique pedagogical aids including EBP Tips and EBP Key Points to ground concepts in a "real-life" context. NEW! Written by renowned EBP experts LoBiondo-Wood, Haber, & Titler to provide a straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning and conducting EBP and QI projects. NEW! A straightforward, practical approach begins with foundational content and then works through the processes of developing and exploring clinical questions, implementing results, and disseminating information. NEW! Developed specifically with the adult learner in mind, with multiple full-text appendix articles referenced throughout as examples, along with unique pedagogical aids including EBP Tips and EBP Key Points to ground concepts in a "real-life" context.
Call Number: RT81.5 .E953 2019x
A Handbook for Caring Science: expanding the paradigm A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science. With contributions from highly accomplished scholars and practitioners from six continents, it spans the evolution of Caring Science from its origins 40 years ago through its ongoing innovation and development and into the future. Comprehensive and in-depth, this resource brings multigenerational perspectives to Caring Science and demonstrates its ethical nursing applications across cross-cultural settings worldwide. The book's broad scope embodies the paradigm's theoretical foundations, guidance from Caring Science educators and researchers, and practice insights from expert clinicians and administrators. It offers strategies to influence meaningful policy change, integrate principles throughout cross-cultural and global settings, and introduces inspiring voices from luminaries in coaching, Caring Science creative arts, spirituality, and self-care. The text clearly demonstrates how theories, frameworks, and paradigms are directly integrated into practice, research, and educational settings. Scholarly narratives and discourses on Caring Science will facilitate understanding of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and ethically informed action. Chapters, consistently formatted to promote ease of comprehension, include exemplars with reflective questions and references. Key Features: Traces the history of Caring Science and merges it with current and future perspectivesProvides a "how-to" guide for understanding the integration of theories, frameworks, and paradigms into practice, research, and educationDistills a vision of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and a commitment to ethically informed actionEnables readers to cross-reference Caring Science leaders across specialtiesIllustrates Caring Science practice through case studies, examples, and discoursesSupports hospitals in procuring or maintaining ANCC Magnet certificationIdentifies research and practice opportunities for readers to integrate Caring Science into their professional milieus
Call Number: RT84.5 .H36 2019x
Innovations in Nursing Education, Vol. 2 Innovations in Nursing Education will expand the nurse educator�s repertoire with innovative methods for transforming curricula to influence how our students think about and practice nursing. Marsha Howell Adams, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF President, National League for Nursing (2013-2015) Dean of Nursing University of Alabama in Huntsville, College of Nursing Published by the National League for Nursing, Innovations in Nursing Education: Building the Future of Nursing, Volume 2 encourages innovation and excellence in nursing education through alignment with the 2011 IOM Future of Nursing recommendations. With the IOM model throughout, this resource provides helpful suggestions to elevate the learning and teaching experience including: � Communicating effectively � Using evidence-based content to support teaching � Improving critical reasoning � Leveraging technology to find, manage, and apply information � Finding comfort in complex or uncertain situations � Managing change and conflict
Call Number: RT76 .I56 v.2 2015
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology: a clinical perspective Learn to provide the best prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal care possible. Maternal, Fetal, & Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective, 5th Edition includes expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience. This classic reference gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment. Solid coverage of the physiologic bases for assessment and therapeutic interventions make this an ideal resource for maternity, neonatal, women's health, or midwifery programs. Synthesis of the latest research studies and evidence-based practice provides vital data on normal physiologic changes during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; anatomic and functional development of the fetus; and developmental physiology of preterm and term neonates. Coverage of pathophysiology and interventions for the pregnant woman, fetus, and newborn for selected abnormal events gives you a solid understanding of physiologic adaptations and developmental physiology relating to major body systems and metabolic processes. Pharmacology tables offer quick access to key pharmacology information and drug effects with clinical examples. NEW! Thoroughly updated content addresses the very latest practice issues and provides the basis for understanding physiologic adaptations in pregnant women, infants, and children. NEW! Expanded coverage of maternal, fetal, neonatal, and pediatric physiology. NEW! Soft cover and added color provide a contemporary look and feel.
Call Number: RG558 .B58 2018
Nurses Making Policy: from bedside to boardroom Praise for the First Edition: "There is a plethora of policy books on the market, but none illustrate the steps in the policy process better than this one. The high caliber editors and contributors, all of whom have been involved in policy work, bring years of experience to illustrate the key points...This outstanding resource will help motivate many more nurses to get involved in the policy process"...Score: 93 - 4 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews Written by distinguished nurse leaders with expertise in policy, practice, education, and research. and policy--this is a practical "how-to" guide written to help advanced students and nurse leaders develop health policy competencies to advocate for patients from the bedside to the larger political arena. Co-published with the ANA, the book examines the pivotal role of nurses involved in health policy, making it an essential resource for nurses pursuing advanced education and nurses desiring to enhance their expertise in making policy and facilitating its change. The book addresses recent changes impacting health care, and many other topics including information on the increased need for primary care providers, how full practice authority has been implemented in different states, the need for an enhanced RN role in ambulatory care, and ongoing changes to the Affordable Care Act. This edition describes the distinct role of nurses impacting policies on the front lines of health care. Current issues with detailed examples of how nurses can exert influence at local, state, national, and global levels at each step of the policymaking process are presented. This second edition emphasizes collaboration within health care institutions, professional organizations, and government for the development of policies from bedside to boardroom. Using descriptive cases, the book delves into the growing role of nurses in elected and appointed office. The book clarifies the process of identifying issues that need a policy solution. A timely contribution focuses on evaluating policy sources, such as Fake News. It stresses how evidence must be used to strengthen policy initiatives. Woven throughout are essential themes basic to healthcare: ethics, leadership, safety, care access and quality of care. New to the Second Edition: All chapters are revised featuring inspirational, motivational, and practical stories representing different steps of the policy processNew chapter added, Valuing Global Realities for Health Policy , emphasizing issues that unite nurses globally and the role of nurses as global citizensExpanded content on steps of policy analysis and evaluating evidence to support policyAppraisal and evaluation of converged media, including fake newsWorking with the ongoing evolution of the Affordable Care ActExamination of health in all policies to improve community and population healthAdds focus on work environments as part of achieving the Quadruple Aim of health careLatest developments in advanced practice registered nurse regulation Key Features: Delineates the steps, strategies, and competencies needed for health policy advocacy in organizational, educational, and political settingsProvides perspective relevant to the American Association of Colleges of Nursing doctor of nursing practice (DNP) Essentials Real world examples of policymaking on the frontlines of clinical practiceExemplars from high profile national and international nursing policy leadersExamines how nurses are leaders in a variety of policy arenasIllustrates policies to address social and economic inequities impacting healthDescribes how evidence is used to advance policy
Call Number: RT89 .N72 2019
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse: patient safety, quality, outcomes and interprofessionalism A "must have" text for all healthcare professionals practicing in the digital age of healthcare. Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Second Edition, delivers a practical array of tools and information to show how advanced practice nurses can maximize patient safety, quality of care, and cost savings through the use of technology. Since the first edition of this text, health information technology has only expanded. With increased capability and complexity, the current technology landscape presents new challenges and opportunities for interprofessional teams. Nurses, who are already trained to use the analytic process to assess, analyze, and intervene, are in a unique position to use this same process to lead teams in addressing healthcare delivery challenges with data. The only informatics text written specifically for advanced practice nurses, Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Second Edition, takes an expansive, open, and innovative approach to thinking about technology. Every chapter is highly practical, filled with case studies and exercises that demonstrate how the content presented relates to the contemporary healthcare environment. Where applicable, concepts are aligned with the six domains within the Quality and Safety Education in Nursing (QSEN) approach and are tied to national goals and initiatives. Featuring chapters written by physicians, epidemiologists, engineers, dieticians, and health services researchers, the format of this text reflects its core principle that it takes a team to fully realize the benefit of technology for patients and healthcare consumers. What's NewSeveral chapters present new material to support teams' optimization of electronic health recordsUpdated national standards and initiativesIncreased focus and new information on usability, interoperability and workflow redesign throughout, based on latest evidenceExplores challenges and solutions of electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs), a major initiative in healthcare informatics; Medicare and Medicaid Services use eCQMs to judge quality of care, and how dynamics change rapidly in today's environment Key FeaturesPresents national standards and healthcare initiativesProvides in-depth case studies for better understanding of informatics in practiceAddresses the DNP Essentials, including II: Organization and system leadership for quality improvement and systems thinking, IV: Core Competency for Informatics, and Interprofessional Collaboration for Improving Patient and Population health outcomesIncludes end-of-chapter exercises and questions for studentsInstructor's Guide and PowerPoint slides for instructorsAligned with QSEN graduate-level competencies
Call Number: RT50.5 .N872 2019
Oncology Nursing Review Oncology Nursing Review, Sixth Edition is an indispensable study guide for oncology nurses studying for the Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN®) exam offered by the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC). Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest OCN® Test Blueprint, it focuses on the areas covered in the exam, including: * Care Continuum * Oncology Nursing Practice * Treatment Modalities * Symptom Management and Palliative Care * Oncologic Emergencies * Psychosocial Dimensions of Care The Sixth Edition offers more than 1,000 practice questions with comprehensive answer rationales. Also included are helpful page references to the classic texts, Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice, Eighth Edition and Cancer Symptom Management, Fourth Edition, for additional information.
Call Number: RC266 .Y366 2020
Pediatric Nursing Certification Review This book published by the Society of Pediatric Nurses is designed to be a key resource as you prepare to take a pediatric nursing certification exam. The text provides an overview of pediatric nursing content for the pediatric nurses. This involves the entire health continuum , from wellness through acute illness and chronic conditions.
Call Number: RJ245 .S45 2018x
Understanding Nursing Research Edition after edition, Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known as one of the leading undergraduate nursing textbooks. The streamlined and enhanced 7th edition gives you unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research for evidence-based nursing practice. Known for its authoritative content, time-tested systematic approach, and unique research example format - the new edition includes an enhanced EBP focus, added mixed-methods and reduced outcomes research content, plus a spotlight on need-to-know information to meet your busy life. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to EBP. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher's methodology. Authoritative content is written by pioneers and practitioners of nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. NEW! Enhanced evidence-based practice focus equips you to apply the latest research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Streamlined research examples serve as concise and clinically relevant exemplars of key contents. NEW! Mixed-methods content focuses on need-to-know material on mixed-methods research, which is growing significantly in popularity. NEW! Improved legibility, usability, visual appeal, and readability meets the needs of visual learners with easy-to-understand content.
Call Number: RT81.5 .B863 2019
Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children Prepare to give pediatric patients the specialized care they deserve with the leading text in pediatric nursing. Written by pediatric experts, Wong''s Nursing Care of Infants and Children, 11th Edition takes a unique, easy-to-follow developmental approach to describe the care of children at each age and stage of development. This longtime bestseller provides an evidence-based, clinical perspective that shows how the quality of nursing care can impact quality patient outcomes. Childhood diseases and disorders are organized by age groups and body systems and explained through the nursing process framework. This edition features completely updated and reorganized chapters that present content in a clear, easy-to-understand way. New Quality Indicator boxes paint a bigger picture of hospitals and how they look at quality and safety. A focus on family-centered care emphasizes the role and influence of the family in health and illness with a separate chapter and Family-Centered Care boxes. Emergency Treatment boxes serve as a quick reference in critical situations. Pathophysiology Reviews explain complicated disease processes with illustrated summary boxes. Quality Patient Outcomes are discussed for major childhood diseases and disorders, showing how nursing care directly impacts patient outcomes. Nursing Tips include helpful hints and practical, clinical information. Critical Thinking Case Studies help you test and develop your own analytical skills. Cultural Considerations provide cultural tips from clinical experts. Nursing Care Plans provide models for planning patient care, with rationales explaining why specific nursing interventions have been chosen, and include nursing diagnoses, patient/family goals, nursing interventions/rationales, expected outcomes, and NIC and NOC guidelines. Nursing Care Guidelines offer clear, step-by-step, detailed instructions on performing specific skills or procedures. Translating Evidence into Practice and Applying Evidence to Practice boxes help you apply research to support, guide, and improve the outcomes of nursing care. Atraumatic Care boxes contain techniques for care that minimize pain, discomfort, or stress, and provide guidance for performing procedures in a caring manner. Community and Home Health Considerations boxes focus on wellness information and illness-related topics. Drug Alerts highlight important drug-related information for safe, appropriate care. Nursing Alerts provides critical information that must be considered in providing care. Research Focus boxes emphasize research with concise reviews of important evidence. NEW! Quality Indicator boxes present a bigger picture of hospitals and how they look at quality and safety, or Pediatric Clinical Quality Measures. EXPANDED! Added emphasis on the impact of genetics and genomics on pediatric nursing care. NEW and UPDATED! New information on Zika virus and Rotavirus keeps you in the know. NEW! New section on Chiari malformation added to neurologic dysfunction chapter. NEW! Self-harm, GLBT, and e-cigarette content added to adolescent problems chapter. UPDATED! Oxygen and carbon dioxide exchange information is now included throughout the text. EXPANDED! Updated accidental poisoning section now includes cleaning solutions and liquid from e-cigarettes. UPDATED! New Impact of Chronic Illness, Disability, or End of Life Care for the Child and Family chapter thoroughly combines two previous chapters. UPDATED! Integumentary dysfunction content now appears as chapter 32. UPDATED! Reorganized chapter on pain provides specific guidelines for pediatric pain assessment and management and focuses on common acute and chronic pain conditions and how to manage them. UPDATED! Human Papillomavirus content significantly updated. EXPANDED and UPDATED! Disorders with behavioral components section significantly expanded. UPDATED! Updated influenza, RSV, and acute lung injury section in respiratory chapter. UPDATED! Childhood cancer survivor section has significant updates.
Call Number: RJ245 .W47 2019
The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Premium Make the most effective diagnostic and therapeutic decisions quickly and efficiently Find answers fast with The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Premium, 8th Edition - your go-to resource for the effective medical care of infants, children, and adolescents. Using the proven 5-Minute format, it provides rapid access to information on diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated factors for more than 500 diseases and conditions. The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult is designed to help you make quick, accurate decisions every day helping you save time and offer every patient the best possible care. - Get quick access to all-new topics, including Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome, Vaccine Refusal, Zika Virus, Chikungunya Virus, Transgender Youth, and Follow-up of NICU Graduates. - Reorganized and updated appendix includes unique identifiers for dozens of genetic conditions, associated inheritance patterns, specific gene(s) involved, mechanism of a disease, descriptions of the associated clinical findings, and a Glossary of Genetic Syndromes important for the care of children. - Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; ICD-10 codes; FAQs; and much more - Consult "The 5-Minute Educator" appendix for instruction of trainees at all levels. - Access valuable clinical guidance in the book as well as 24/7 online access for three years Written by experts in the field of pediatrics and associated subspecialties and published by the leader in medical content, The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Premium: 3-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 8th Edition includes 3-year access to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is a quicker, more valuable, evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point-of-care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: - Additional 1,500 diseases and conditions - Semantic search - for targeted results from reliable resources including 5-Minute Clinical Consult - Online-only treatment and diagnostic algorithms - More than 3,500 patient handouts in Spanish and English - Over 200 step-by-step procedure and physical therapy videos to enhance procedural skills The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Premium, 8th Edition provides the luxury of a traditional print product and delivers quick access to the continually updated online content - an ideal resource when you�re treating patients.
Call Number: RJ48 .A15 2019b
The 12-Lead ECG in Acute Coronary Syndromes Simplify ECGs! Using an easy-to-understand, step-by-step approach and conversational tone, The 12-Lead ECG in Acute Coronary Syndromes, 4th Edition describes the process of 12-lead ECG interpretation for accurate recognition and effective treatment of ACS. This new edition has been streamlined to emphasize practice and explanation. It shows you how to determine the likelihood of ST elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI) versus other causes of ST elevation. It covers innovative technology and evolving paradigms in ECG interpretation, such as the Cabrera format, which sequences impulse generation in a logical anatomic progression. In addition, over 100 practice ECGs-more than 25 of which are new-help test your knowledge. Written by two well-known educators-Tim Phalen, a paramedic, and Barbara Aehlert, an experienced nurse and popular ACLS instructor, this guide incorporates the latest American Heart Association Emergency Cardiac Care (ECC) Guidelines, as well as new research and information on recognizing and treating ACS in both hospital and prehospital environments. Updated Case studies promote early recognition and treatment of ACS. Outlines efficient strategies for identifying STEMI, allowing quick initiation of patient care. Contains more than 200 colorful illustrations, including a large number of ECGs. Offers practical advice for recognizing noninfarct causes of ST elevation, including left ventricular hypertrophy, bundle branch block, ventricular rhythms, benign early repolarization, and pericarditis. Features a lay-flat spiral binding, making the book easy to use in any setting. Chapter objectives help you identify key concepts Updated Consider This boxes highlight important tips. NEW! More than 100 practice ECGs offer plenty of opportunity to test your knowledge. NEW! Covers innovative technology and evolving paradigms in ECG interpretation. NEW! Review questions reinforce the content. NEW! Reorganized and simplified table of contents facilitates study and quick reference. NEW! Straightforward writing style offers need-to-know information up front, making this complex subject matter easy to understand and apply.
Call Number: RC685.I6 P47 2019
Brant and Helms' Fundamentals Diagnostic Radiology Trusted by radiology residents, interns, and students for more than 20 years, Brant and Helms' Fundamentals of Diagnostic Radiology, 5th Edition delivers essential information on current imaging modalities and the clinical application of today's technology. Comprehensive in scope, it covers all subspecialty areas including neuroradiology, chest, breast, abdominal, musculoskeletal imaging, ultrasound, pediatric imaging, interventional techniques, and nuclear radiology. Full-color images, updated content, new self-assessment tools, and dynamic online resources make this four-volume text ideal for reference and review. New in the 5th Edition: -Greatly expanded sections on breast, cardiac, vascular, and interventional radiology. -New videos featuring ultrasound (vascular, body, pediatrics, small parts, and musculoskeletal) and cardiac magnetic resonance imaging. -New summary questions for each chapter that reinforce key concepts. -New material online, including questions, imaging tools, normal anatomy content, study guides for each chapter, and more. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech -Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC78 .F86 2019
Clinical Scenarios in General Surgery Using a highly readable, case-based format, Clinical Scenarios in Surgery: Decision Making and Operative Technique, Second Edition, presents 135 cases that take readers step by step through the principles of safe surgical care. Ideal for senior surgical residents who are preparing for the oral board exam, this updated resource presents today's standards of care in all areas of general surgery, including abdominal wall, upper GI, emergency general surgery, hepatobiliary, colorectal, breast, endocrine, thoracic, vascular, pediatric, skin and soft tissue, trauma, critical care, transplant, and head and neck surgeries. -Fourteen chapters are new to the Second Edition, including six in the greatly-expanded section on Trauma. -Each full-color case begins with a patient presentation and proceeds through differential diagnosis, workup, diagnosis and treatment, surgical procedures, postoperative management, and a case conclusion. -Coverage includes key technical steps, potential pitfalls and special intraoperative considerations, take-home points, and suggested readings. -Color figures, tables, and algorithms present information in a format that is easy to understand and remember. -Every chapter includes a table summarizing Key Technical Steps and Potential Pitfalls for the procedure discussed. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech -Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech -Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RD34 .C55 2019
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Interventional Cardiology A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on interventional cardiology procedures Within the field cardiovascular medicine, interventional cardiology has evolved rapidly in the last decade. In particular, there are advanced therapeutic valvular interventions that compare to historical outcomes with surgical approaches. Transcatheter aortic valve replacement may soon become the standard of care, and transcatheter mitral valve interventions continue to develop rapidly. In addition, improvements in drug-eluting stent technology continue to improve long-term outcomes. Keeping in mind of these rapid advances in interventional cardiology, we have put together this color atlas and synopsis of interventional cardiology to enable medical students, postgraduate physician trainees, practicing clinicians, including physician assistants, nurse practitioners, internal medicine physicians, and general practitioners so that they can rapidly assimilate information on a wide variety of interventional cardiology related topics. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for an interventional cardiology reference that provides expert textual guidance on patient diagnosis and management, along with a comprehensive collection of images (many in full color) illustrating specific procedures. FEATURES: *Logically divided into four sections: The Hemodynamic Study, Percutaneous Coronary Interventions, Non-Coronary Cardiac Interventions, and Peripheral Interventions *Strong focus on normal anatomy, radiographic anatomy, indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issue into clinical, real-world perspective. This beautifully illustrated, concisely written resource is perfect for busy cardiologists of all specialties who require broad coverage of the topic in a convenient, quick-access presentation. Videos for Chapter 33 can be found at:https://accesscardiology.mhmedical.com/content.aspx?bookid=2372§ionid=185600360
Call Number: RC682 .C65 2018x
Connecting Care for Patients: interdisciplinary care transitions and collaboration Connecting Care for Patients: Interdisciplinary Care Transitions and Collaboration addresses practical strategies for creating connected, seamless, and transparent health care for patients in settings outside of the hospital. It presents antidotes to healthcare fragmentation caused by inefficient care, patient safety problems, patient dissatisfaction, and higher costs. The text focuses on clinical case management, interdisciplinary referrals and conferencing, cross functional team meetings, tracking patients in value-based purchasing programs, inpatient liaison visits, structured collaboration with physician groups, and referral sources and development of clinical community networking groups. Further, it explores tools for patient self-management support, effective integration of technology, family caregiver engagement, and techniques for addressing health disparities and other high-risk care gaps. A unique resource, this text blends conceptual information with practical tools and strategies for connecting care for patients by describing research and evidence-based techniques while translating them into actionable tools. Also included are chapter objectives, review questions, explanations of key terms, case studies, self-assessments, scripts, trigger questions, and detailed descriptions of each tool and technique.
Call Number: R727.3 .K38 2020x
Critical Care Medicine: the essentials and more With a full-color design and concise, easy-to-read chapters, Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that’s new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before. Chapters follow a consistent structural template, with discussions of diagnosis, instrumentation, treatment and management techniques, and more. Expertly and succinctly captures all the fundamentals of the field!
Designed primarily for use by students and residents, but also helpful for anyone already in practice.
Emphasizes the pathophysiologic elements and treatments of illness and injury.
Now with updated drug info and more substantial coverage of interventional radiology, pregnancy care, and organization of critical care.
Adds new, brief summaries that present opposing arguments of controversial points.
Topics range from intubation, ventilation, and pharmacotherapy, as well as drug overdoses, sepsis, gastrointestinal bleeding, and other crisis care scenarios.
Call Number: RC86.8 .M386 2019
Dermatology: 2-Volume Set & Online With more complete, authoritative coverage of basic science, clinical practice of both adult and pediatric dermatology, dermatopathology, and dermatologic surgery than you'll find in any other source, Dermatology, 4th Edition, is the gold-standard reference in the field today. Drs. Jean L. Bolognia, Julie V. Schaffer, and Lorenzo Cerroni bring their considerable knowledge and experience to this two-volume masterwork, ensuring its reliability and usefulness for both residents and practitioners. Provides the in-depth, expert information you need to address challenges you face in practice across all subspecialties - including medical dermatology, pediatric dermatology, dermatopathology, dermatologic surgery, and cosmetic dermatology. Uses the famous "easy-in, easy-out" approach, transforming complex information into more than 1,000 reader-friendly tables and algorithms, along with templated chapter contents for quick recognition and access. Focuses on the essential "need-to-know" basic science information and key references. Brings together an esteemed team of expert editors and contributors that provide a truly global perspective, led by Drs. Jean L. Bolognia, Julie V. Schaffer, and Lorenzo Cerroni. Includes over 4,000 illustrations, with over 2,000 new images in this edition, that provide more examples of skin disorders across different skin types in varying stages of presentation; plus enhanced histologic images that provide a clearer understanding of clinicopathologic correlations for multiple skin disorders. Enhances learning opportunities with 20 new video clips of core procedures, including nail surgery, flaps, grafts, laser therapy, soft tissue augmentation, and botulinum toxin injections, plus 200 bonus online images. Features 70 brand-new schematics and algorithms to better aid diagnosis, optimize decision making, and improve your approach to each patient. Includes the latest therapy options with supporting evidence-based grading levels. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RL71 .D475 2018x
Epidemiology: beyond the basics Written for those who are familiar with the basic strategies of analytic epidemiology, Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics takes readers through a more rigorous discussion of key epidemiologic concepts and methods such as study design, measures of association, research assessment, and more.With real-life examples throughout, the book avoids complex statistical formulations and is an invaluable resource for intermediate students and practicing epidemiologists who wish to expand their knowledge of epidemiology and its role in the medical and public health sciences.The Fourth Edition offers updated examples and new exercises in each chapter as well as many new discussions of topics such as: prevalence ratios vs. odds ratios; inverse probability weighting as a technique for correcting for selection bias; regression to the mean as a source of confounding (Glymour bias); mediation analysis; correction for competing causes in multivariate analysis; the extension of the Cox model for the analysis of nested case-control studies; multilevel analysis; translational epidemiology and much more.This edition also offers an updated package of instructor materials including instructor's manual, PowerPoint lecture slides, and a test bank.
Call Number: RA651 .S97 2019
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation. Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases. Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms. Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
Call Number: RC87.9 .H47 2019 & Online
Head and Neck Cancers Head and Neck Cancers: Evidence-Based Treatment presents a practical, state-of-the-art resource for any clinical oncologist treating or managing patients with head and neck cancers, including oropharyngeal cancer, cancer of the oral cavity, laryngeal cancer, nasopharyngeal cancer, hypopharyngeal cancer, cancer of the sinuses and the skull base, salivary gland cancer, and neck lymphadenopathy.
Section 1 of the book covers the most pertinent details on the epidemiology, biology, diagnosis and staging of the disease including topics such as the genomic landscape of squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck and novel imaging modalities. Section 2 discusses the evidence-based treatment modalities for conventional and novel chemotherapy regimens, the evidence behind emerging radiation therapy techniques and the minimally invasive surgical advances changing the landscape of care. The chapters in Section 3 are dedicated to site-specific management, including management guidelines, tables with FDA-approved therapies and relevant ongoing clinical trials as well as instructive clinical cases with important discussion on outcomes and follow up care. Finally, Section 4 focuses on recurrent and metastatic disease and Section 5 provides the essentials on supportive care, including managing the elderly, managing patients suffering from dysphagia and oral complications, and must-know details of quality of life assessment and patient-reported outcomes.
Emphasizing the practice-changing techniques and the latest evidence-based treatment advances including targeted therapies, immunotherapy, transoral robotic surgery, and radiation therapy precision, this comprehensive yet accessible textbook is indispensable for any clinical oncologist of each discipline wanting a balanced and evidence-based reference on managing patients with head and neck malignancies.
Includes didactic clinical cases for each type of head and neck cancer
Numerous tables highlight FDA approved therapies and ongoing clinical trials
Provides evidence-based recommendations for treating head and neck cancers at each stage of the disease with conventional and novel treatment strategies
Covers strategies for managing acute and late complications to treatment
Includes access to the fully-searchable downloadable e-book
Call Number: RC280.H4 H433 2018
Pediatrics Morning Report: beyond the pearls Pediatrics Morning Report: Beyond the Pearls is a case-based reference that covers the key material included on the USMLE Step 2 and Step 3, as well as the pediatric clerkship. Focusing on the practical information you need to know, it teaches how to analyze a clinical vignette in the style of a morning report conference, sharpening your clinical decision-making skills and helping you formulate an evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios. Each case has been carefully chosen and covers scenarios and questions frequently encountered on the Pediatrics boards, shelf exams, and clinical practice, integrating both basic science and clinical pearls. "Beyond the Pearls" tips and secrets (all evidence-based with references) provide deep coverage of core material. "Morning Report"/"Grand Rounds" format begins with the chief complaints to the labs, relevant images, and includes a "pearl" at the end of the case. Questions are placed throughout the case to mimic practical decision making both in the hospital and on the board exam. Written and edited by experienced teachers and clinicians; each case has been reviewed by board certified attending/practicing physicians. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access the full text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RJ58 .P43 2019x
SOAP for Family Medicine Offering step-by-step guidance on how to properly document patient care, this updated Second Edition presents 90 of the most common clinical problems encountered on the wards and clinics in an easy-to-read, two-page layout using the familiar "SOAP" note format. Emphasizing the patient's clinical problem, not the diagnosis, this pocket-sized quick reference teaches both clinical reasoning and documentation skills and is ideal for use by medical students, Pas, and NPs during the Family Medicine rotation. - A new Introduction offers templates, tips, and guidelines for writing SOAP notes. -Clear, well-written sample SOAP notes for a wide range of diagnoses focus on the most important information needed for success on rounds. -A portable, pocket-sized format with at-a-glance, two-page layouts makes practical information quickly accessible. -The SOAP approach helps students figure out where to start, while improving communication between physicians and ensuring accurate documentation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech -Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC64 .M25 2019x
Management/Employee Development Books
Establishing a Research Friendly Environment: a hospital-based approach As the Magnet Recognition Program® continues to influence hospital-based nursing, the need to educate clinical nurses on how to conduct research is more important than ever. Establishing a Research-Friendly Environment: A Hospital-Based Approach is a unique text that helps clinical nurses conduct or participate in research that leads to better health care in hospitals. Each chapter includes an introduction, working definitions of key concepts, and resources required for success. The text also features numerous case examples that serve to highlight research done by nurses and health professionals in the field.
Call Number: RT81.5 .B76 2020
Health Systems Thinking: a primer This concise primer focuses on systems thinking as it spans the domains of health administration, public health, and clinical practice. Currently, the accrediting commissions within public health, health administration, and nursing are including systems thinking as part of the core competencies in their respective fields and professions. Meanwhile, academic programs do not have the materials, other than journal articles, to give students the requisite understanding of systems thinking as is expected of the next generation of health professionals. Health Systems Thinking: A Primer is designed to meet that void and serve as a supplemental reading for this important and timely topic. Key Features: - Demonstrations of how systems thinking is used in an organization or practice is shown through examples, case studies, and interviews with leaders. - Exercises help students gain experience in the use of systems thinking to analyze and solve problems.
Call Number: RA971 .J643 2020x
Practical Biostatistics in Translational Healthcare There is an ever-increasing emphasis on evidence-based medicine that is distinguished by systematic crafting of the patient-centered research question, detailed literature searches, and careful appraisal of the resulting evidence. The consensus that ultimately emerges must then be applied in specific clinical settings, and it is to this process that translational effectiveness analysis refers. This portable and easy-to-use handbook is intended as a practical teaching guide on translational effectiveness for students and clinicians. Specifically, it will serve as a primer on patient-centered outcomes research methodology in the health sciences and explain how to acquire and understand the fundamental data that determine which reports are valued as the "best available" evidence. It presents an accessible and readily intelligible set of principles which doctors, dentists, nurses, and insurance carriers will be able to use in the process of health care-related decision-making.
Call Number: QH323.5 .K43 2018x
Principles-Focused Evaluation: the guide How can programs and organizations ensure they are adhering to core principles--and assess whether doing so is yielding desired results? From evaluation pioneer Michael Quinn Patton, this book introduces the principles-focused evaluation (P-FE) approach and demonstrates its relevance and application in a range of settings. Patton explains why principles matter for program development and evaluation and how they can serve as a rudder to navigate the uncertainties, turbulence, and emergent challenges of complex dynamic environments. In-depth exemplars illustrate how the unique GUIDE framework is used to determine whether principles provide meaningful guidance (G) and are useful (U), inspiring (I), developmentally adaptable (D), and evaluable (E). User-friendly features include rubrics, a P-FE checklist, firsthand reflections and examples from experienced P-FE practitioners, sidebars and summary tables, and end-of-chapter application exercises.
Call Number: H62 .P32174 2018
Supervision and Mentoring in Healthcare This bestselling textbook introduces the theories, evidence and research that define supervision, mentoring, learning and student assessment in healthcare today. It combines an evidence-based approach that supports critical analysis with a sharp focus on how to provide effective supervision in everyday practice. Interprofessional in its scope, with reference to both the NMC and HCPC, it is essential reading for anyone taking on a supervisory, mentoring role across nursing, midwifery, social care and the allied health professions. Key features of the book include: · A companion website with a video from the author, a test yourself glossary and free SAGE journal articles to support you during your mentorship course and in practice · Example templates for you to use with students, such as learning contracts, lesson plans and professional development plans · Activities and reflection points which enhance your understanding and help you to develop your own approach to mentoring
Call Number: R834 .G67 2018
Work Is Love Made Visible: a collection of essays about the power of finding your purpose from the world's greatest thought leaders Channel happiness and find your purpose with stories from the world's leading minds Work is Love Made Visible offers the insights of some of the world's greatest thought leaders as they tackle one of life's most difficult treasure hunts: finding purpose. The word "purpose" is big. Very big. And heavy. It carries the weight of a lifetime of work and struggle; the weight of legacy, and the mass of days spent not doing something else. It's something we all grapple with at some point--some of us find our purpose, others spend a lifetime searching. A lucky few grow to realize they've been working their purpose all along. Most of us aren't quite that lucky; often, fulfilling your purpose requires some kind of change--career, lifestyle, habits, family--and what then? Are we selfish for the upheaval, or are we fulfilling destiny? Once we know our purpose, how do we pursue it? This book asked those very questions of people who have followed their purpose and succeeded on a global scale. Their un-distilled answers are here, lending you the wisdom of their experiences, their examples, inspiration, and motivations as they: Tackle the universal struggle with individual purpose and meaning Illustrate how personal thought patterns contribute to real-world action Move challenges into the opportunities of their lives Reveal how they arrived at their life's purpose, and what they sacrificed to get there We all want a meaningful life. We want to work together for a brighter future, we want to celebrate our differences and commit to good. We want to inspire others, nurture their talents, and help them grow. We want to look back one day on a life well-lived, and leave something behind that matters to the world. Work is Love Made Visible shows you how some of us have succeeded, and offers you insight and guidance so that you can do the same.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W668 2019
Zero Harm: How to Achieve Patient and Workforce Safety in Healthcare From the nation's leading experts in healthcare safety--the first comprehensive guide to delivering care that ensures the safety of patients and staff alike. One of the primary tenets among healthcare professionals is, "First, do no harm." Achieving this goal means ensuring the safety of both patient and caregiver. Every year in the United States alone, an estimated 4.8 million hospital patients suffer serious harm that is preventable. To address this industry-wide problem--and provide evidence-based solutions--a team of award-winning safety specialists from Press Ganey/Healthcare Performance Improvement have applied their decades of experience and research to the subject of patient and workforce safety. Their mission is to achieve zero harm in the healthcare industry, a lofty goal that some hospitals have already accomplished--which you can, too. Combining the latest advances in safety science, data technology, and high reliability solutions, this step-by-step guide shows you how to implement 6 simple principles in your workplace. 1. Commit to the goal of zero harm. 2. Become more patient-centric. 3. Recognize the interdependency of safety, quality, and patient-centricity. 4. Adopt good data and analytics. 5. Transform culture and leadership. 6. Focus on accountability and execution. In Zero Harm, the world's leading safety experts share practical, day-to-day solutions that combine the latest tools and technologies in healthcare today with the best safety practices from high-risk, yet high-reliability industries, such as aviation, nuclear power, and the United States military. Using these field-tested methods, you can develop new leadership initiatives, educate workers on the universal skills that can save lives, organize and train safety action teams, implement reliability management systems, and create long-term, transformational change. You'll read case studies and success stories from your industry colleagues--and discover the most effective ways to utilize patient data, information sharing, and other up-to-the-minute technologies. It's a complete workplace-ready program that's proven to reduce preventable errors and produce measurable results--by putting the patient, and safety, first.
Call Number: R729.8 .Z47 2019x
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?