Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing Succinct, complete guidance on how to safely and competently care for adult progressive care patients and their families - written by top clinical experts Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this acclaimed textbook sets the standard for progressive care nursing education. Recognizing the learner's need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex progressive care nursing concepts, the book features a practical building-block organization that starts with the basics and logically moves on to advanced topics. Bolstered by helpful tables and Essential Content cases, AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing, Fourth Edition is an essential tool for clinicians at the point of care, and those preparing for PCCN® certification in progressive care nursing. AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing is divided into four sections: *The Essentials presents essential information that clinicians must understand to provide safe, competent nursing care to progressive care patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnoses. *Pathologic Conditions covers pathologic conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among adult, progressive care patients. *Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Progressive Care Patient presents advanced progressive care concepts or pathologic conditions that are less common or require more specialized management. *Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values; pharmacology tables; and summary tables of cardiac rhythms, ECG characteristics, and treatment guides. Learning aids include Knowledge Competencies to gauge progress, Principles of Management to summarize key concepts, and "Essential Content" case studies with questions and answers to further reinforce the learners' knowledge.
Call Number: RT120.I5 A167 2019
Breastfeeding: Support, Challenges, and Benefits Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. This print compendium of AAP editor-curated articles provides quick access to the latest, most salient studies to give a better understanding of the individual and public health effects of breastfeeding. Optimal breastfeeding practices--defined as exclusive breastfeeding through 6 months of age followed by continued breastfeeding with introduction of solid foods, save lives and have profound significance on an individual's health for their entire life. This collection offers the latest information to understand the challenges that breastfeeding mothers face and to support them. Other topics covered include cultural disparities and changing societal and lifestyle factors that affect breastfeeding patterns. This collection will help caregivers to better educate parents on the multitude of benefits for breastfeeding including disease reduction and cognitive and developmental advantages. A free "Breastfeeding Support, Challenges, and Benefits"
Call Number: RJ216 .A44 2018x
Care Planning: a guide for nurses This clear and intuitive introduction to care planning for nurses explains the benefits of holistic, individualised care planning from a professional and clinical perspective. Using the ASPIRE model, it guides the reader step-by-step through a problem-solving approach to care, from assessing patients and identifying their needs, to planning goals and interventions, and evaluating progress. The book is structured to explain the theory of care planning in relation to a number of common nursing models and then show how the theory can best be put into practice. It draws on recent research to show how nurses can develop individualised care plans from scratch or use and adapt a range of 'off-the-shelf' tools. It is written in a clear, succinct and down-to-earth writing style, which will put students immediately at their ease, and is rich with pedagogic features, including: 'Stop and think' boxes to check understanding; boxed 'Practice examples' to illustrate points made; 'Research summary' boxes to highlight relevant and important studies; 'What have you learnt so far?' features to recap on key points of discussion; mini care plans; regular activities to encourage the reader to apply what they have learnt to particular practice scenarios. This is a go-to text for all pre-registration nursing students taking courses on the theory and practice of effective healthcare delivery.
Call Number: RT49 .W55 2019x
Community As Partner: theory and practice in nursing Packed with real-life examples and the latest information in the field, this award-winning book helps students develop the knowledge and skills needed to develop true partnerships with communities. Using their renowned Community As Partner Model to illustrate how the community, environment, health, and nursing intertwine, the authors take students through the entire nursing process with a real-life community as an example. Retaining the features that have made the book a classic around the world, this edition offers a foundational overview of the concepts of epidemiology, environment, culture, ethics, empowerment, health policy, informatics, bioterrorism, and emerging infectious diseases as they relate to community health, while enhancing coverage of timely topics, such as Participatory Research and the latest on the Affordable Care Act. Highlights of the 8th Edition A focus on the practical skills outlined by ACHNEas essential for generalist nurses prepares students to do a community assessment, analyze data, form a community nursing diagnosis, and plan, implement, and evaluate a community health program. The book's Community As Partner Model inspires students to contribute to the reduction of global health challenges and to promote health for all, including marginalized populations and school communities, rural communities, and faith communities. Built-in learning tools, include Learning Objectives, Take Note boxes that highlight key concepts as students go through the steps of the nursing process for a community, chapter-ending Critical Thinking Questions that enable students to review and apply chapter content, and Further Readings that offer additional references. Enhanced Instructor's Resources include PowerPoints with lecture notes and iClicker questions and a revised NCLEX-style Test Bank featuring more questions at the application level and higher.
Call Number: RT98 .A533 2019
Contemporary Nursing: issues, trends & management Ensure you are thoroughly prepared to work in the rapidly evolving world of nursing. Written by expert authors Barbara Cherry and Susan Jacob Contemporary Nursing: Issues, Trends, & Management, 8th Edition provides an overview of both issues within nursing practice and topics facing today's nurse managers and leaders. The 20th anniversary edition of this comprehensive guide emphasizes the importance of working in an interdisciplinary environment and takes you through the evolution of nursing, safe and effective decision-making, the nursing role, collaboration and communication, leadership, and job opportunities. New to this edition is coverage of health issues affecting the LGBTQ community, hospice care, how to respond to active shooter events, and a number of other timely issues affecting healthcare and nursing practice today. UPDATED Content on incivility, bullying and workplace violence, provides a short scenario about issues you might face in practice. Key terms, learning outcomes, chapter overviews, and chapter summaries help you focus your learning experience.? Unit on Leadership and Management in Nursing?includes content to prepare nurses to effectively function in the management roles expected of the professional nurse. Unit on Career Management?provides strategies on how to make the transition from student to practitioner and tips on how to pass the NCLEX-RN Examination. Case studies help you apply theory to clinical practice. Vignettes at the beginning of each chapter personalize nursing history and practice and help you to understand your place in the profession.?Questions to Consider While Reading This Chapter follow the vignettes and prepare?the reader for the topic to be discussed. Humorous cartoons open each chapter to illustrate the chapter themes. Full-color design enhances the narrative with a clear, visually appealing explanation of concepts. NEW! Coverage of the Nursys' program allows nurses, employers, and boards of nursing to verify that nursing licenses are current and in good standing. NEW! Coverage of LGBTQ Health Issues and other marginalized groups discusses how to improve the care of a diverse population. NEW! Integration of advanced technology into all aspects of clinical care and job placement focuses on the ever-changing role of technology in the workplace. NEW! Expanded coverage of working in an interdisciplinary team reflects the changing healthcare landscape and need to work in collaboration with a variety of healthcare specialists. NEW! Coverage of how to respond to active shooter events prepares you for what you might face during a mass casualty event. NEW! Coverage of current legal cases includes relevant examples of legal issues affecting nurses. NEW! Evolution of the nation's healthcare system based on healthcare reform covers alternative models of healthcare reimbursement to promote quality and cost effectiveness along with?new opportunities for nursing practice. NEW! Chapter on hospice care focuses on how to best provide patients with relief during end of life care, and how to support family members. NEW! The enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) keeps you up to date on the latest on multi-state licensing. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the most current data and references in the market.
Call Number: RT41 .C564 2019
Core Curriculum for the Dialysis Technician The Core Curriculum covers physiology, chemistry, psychology of renal failure, life on dialysis, and technology including water treatment, safe cannulation, and equipment. It helps teach new dialysis technicians and nurses to be capable and compassionate care providers who understand what to do¿and why.
Call Number: RC901.7.H45 C67 2018
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Call Number: RT42 .M44 2019
Fundamentals of Nursing: the art and science of person-centered care Proven, approachable, and part of a complete nursing fundamentals solution, Fundamentals of Nursing: The Art and Science of Patient-Centered Care, 9th Edition, instills an exceptional foundation for clinical confidence and effective patient-centered care. This bestselling fundamentals solution is easy to read and rich with student-friendly features that help students develop the knowledge and clinical skills to succeed in their nursing education. Trusted content not only details the basics of nursing-health promotion, the use of scientific rationales, and the approved nursing process-but also builds essential patient safety, communication, and critical thinking capabilities. This edition adds new features that encourage reflection, highlight QSEN-related content, and familiarize students with emerging technology they will likely encounter in practice. A new informatics chapter prepares students for their important role working with emerging health information technology and managing patient data. Case-based clinical scenarios put chapter concepts in a realistic context, and content throughout integrates seamlessly with a suite of teaching and learning tools to bring the entire nursing continuum to life and equip students to excel throughout their nursing careers. Features -New! Reflective Practice Leading to Personal Learning callouts cultivate a person-centered approach to nursing care. -New! Clinical vignettes personalize the clinical application of concepts and integrate with vSim for Nursing for patient-specific reinforcement of commonly encountered scenarios and conditions. -New! Technology Alerts familiarize students with emerging devices and software they'll likely encounter in the clinical setting. -New! Informatics chapter reflects the increasingly important role of data and information technology in patient care. -New! QSEN boxes in every chapter help students ensure compliance with Quality and Safety Education for Nurses competencies. -NEW! Legal Alerts help students ensure compliance with important laws and considerations related to clinical practice. -New! Watch & Learn Videos clarify key concepts and procedures in engaging detail. -Revised! Illustrated Concept Maps engage visual learners, simplify complex topics, and strengthen students' clinical reasoning skills. -Case scenarios in each chapter encourage holistic patient care and reflection on critical thinking questions. -PICO (patient/problem, intervention, comparison, outcome) displays guide students through a structured, evidence-based approach to answering clinical questions. -Concept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics. -Apply Your Critical Thinking features challenge students to think deeply on key concepts. -Patient Care Plans and Skills sections outline streamline students' transition from the classroom to clinical practice. -NCLEX-style Review Questions ready students for the NCLEX exam experience.
Call Number: RT41 .T396 2019
Maternal-Newborn Nursing: the critical components of nursing care A better way to learn maternal-newborn nursing! Maternal-Newborn Nursing, 3rd Edition, DavisPlus Resources, and Davis Edge work together to create an interactive learning experience that focuses on must-know information that meets the needs of today's students and instructors. The text provides comprehensive foundational and clinical knowledge. DavisPlus equips instructors with the lesson plans and resources they need to create an active classroom where students can apply what they're learning. Davis Edge tracks student progress and assesses their knowledge in real time until they've mastered the must-know concepts. Text Maternal-Newborn Nursing The Critical Components of Nursing Care, 3rd Edition An easy-to-read, need-to-know approach, with student-friendly features focuses on delivering the critical content to today's learners. A visually engaging design that features bullet content, flow charts, diagrams, and tables make it easy to understand. This is the text to ensure student success. Davis Edge www.DavisEdge.com Davis Edge is the online Q&A review program that integrates seamlessly into the classroom to give students the additional practice questions they need to perform well on course and the NCLEX® exam. Instructors have the real-time information they need to monitor, track, and assess their class' vital signs...their mastery of the content and the development of their critical-thinking skills. They'll be able to easily identify the areas in which students are struggling and intervene quickly in class and on assignments to ensure that they succeed. Comprehension and Retention: How well do students understand the content? Participation and Engagement: Are students keeping-up with their reading and assignments? Test-Taking Skills: Are students prepared for NCLEX®-style questions and improving their test-taking skills? An access code inside new printed texts unlocks Davis Edge and DavisPlus resources, including an ebook powered by VitalSource.
Call Number: RG951 .D87 2019
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference Get the latest research and easy access to today's most important diagnostic and lab tests! Known for its accuracy, currency, and clear, easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 14th Edition features concise test entries that are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic and lab testing and research. This new edition adds 15 tests with vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. Plus, all related tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. A compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs make this market-leading book ideal for everyday use in the classroom and on the job! Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you will never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Possible critical values are highlighted to show situations requiring immediate intervention. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. NEW! Test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures, featuring 10 new monographs and 15 additional tests. NEW! Content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test. NEW! Common Reference Ranges section added to the Inside Front Cover material.
Call Number: RB38.2 .P337 2019
Review Manual for the Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator Exam, Second Edition Praise for the First Edition: "The authors of this review manual have captured all of the elements of simulation from establishing the objectives of simulated learning experiences, to constructing scenarios, to debriefing students and the simulation team, to assessing and evaluating the learning that has accrued. They have also described the range of simulation options and the contexts for their most effective use." --Gloria F. Donnelly, PhD, RN, FAAN, FCPP, Dean and Professor College of Nursing and Health Professions, Drexel University This is the first practice manual to help healthcare simulation educators in the United States and internationally to prepare for the certification exam in this burgeoning field. The second edition is revised to reflect the latest test blueprint and encompass key evidence-based research that has been conducted since the first edition was published. Authored by noted experts in simulation and education who have carefully analyzed the test blueprint, the book distills the information most likely to be included on the exam. Information is presented in a concise, easy-to-read outline format. Numerous features help students to critically analyze test content, including end-of-chapter review questions, proven test-taking strategies, savvy simulation teaching tips, evidence-based practice boxes, and a comprehensive practice test with answers and rationales. Current evidence-based case studies help to connect simulation situations to simulation education. The manual also includes information about advanced certification and recertification. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITIONUpdated to align with the new test blueprintEncompasses an abundance of new evidence-based research KEY FEATURESFosters optimal learning and retention with a concise, easy-to-read bulleted formatAssists simulation educators in all healthcare disciplinesIncludes Evidence-Based Simulation Practice boxes focusing on current researchProvides savvy teaching tips and proven test-taking strategiesFosters critical thinking with case studies, end-of-chapter review questions, and comprehensive practice test with answers and rationales The Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator(TM) and CHSE(TM) marks are trademarks of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. This manual is an independent publication and is not endorsed, sponsored, or otherwise approved by the Society.
Call Number: R83.7.S55 R48 2019x
Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs by The third edition of Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs provides nurses with the latest details and procedures needed to keep safe in the workplace. Youll find new chapters on post-administration issues, linen handling, disposal of hazardous drugs and hazardous drug waste, and the hazardous drug handling policy landscape. In addition to these new sections, each chapter includes key points to help highlight the most important information for nurses dealing with hazardous drugs.
Call Number: RS92 .S24 2018
Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice This 2nd edition provides a valuable resource for WOC nurses to promote excellence in professional and speciality practice, quality care, improved patient outcomes; and it can be used to articulate the importance and value of WOC nurses to administrators and many others.
Call Number: RC866.D43 W63 2018x
An Introduction to Nursing Informatics Evolution and Innovation by Nursing informatics (NI) is the specialty that integrates nursing science with information management and analytical sciences to identify, define, manage, and communicate data, information, knowledge, and wisdom in nursing practice. Nursing Informatics supports nurses, consumers, patients, the interprofessional healthcare team, and other stakeholders in a wide variety of roles and settings to achieve desired outcomes. This is accomplished through the use of information structures, information processes, and information technology. An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution and Innovation, 2nd Editionis the ideal gateway to all the professional possibilities this continuously evolving discipline has to offer. Describing the evolution of nursing informatics from its origins to current practice in today's complex, diverse healthcare environment, this book offers the next generation of nurse informaticists an understanding of the discipline, best practices, and its scope of influence in healthcare. The book also explores Nursing Informatics as it is evolving into the future, including technology creation and implementation and the development of influential policies and best practices. Special features include descriptions of the 'a day in the life' from informatics nurses in multiple roles and fields of influence, including academia, research, clinical settings, the executive suite, consulting, and government, as well as an Appendix featuring case profiles. This new edition updates the content to better align with the current state of nursing informatics and expand on additional roles. New to this edition is a chapter providing tips and advice for those trying to find their first nursing informatics job or are changing their careers. Another new chapter covers healthcare analytics and how it fits into the nursing informatics role. An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution and Innovation, 2nd Editionis the ideal resource for nursing students and as a reference guide and pint of inspiration for nurses currently in the field.
Call Number: RT50.5 .I587 2019
Atlas of Interventional Cardiology Comprehensive, current, and lavishly illustrated,Atlas of Interventional Cardiologythoroughly covers all of today's cardiac catheterization and coronary interventional procedures, including catheterization and stenting techniques, angiography, atherectomy, thrombectomy, and more. Full-color illustrations and procedural videos guide you step by step through every interventional procedure you're likely to perform. A one-of-a-kind, practical atlas, ideal for interventional cardiologists, trainees, and general cardiologists. Each chapter includes an introduction, several case studies, conclusion, and pertinent references. Complete coverage includes chapters on Catheterization in Childhood and Adult Congenital Heart Disease, Pitfalls in the Evaluation of Hemodynamic Data, Coronary Artery Anomalies, Pulmonary Angiography, Intravascular Imaging, Interventions for Structural Heart Disease, Thoracic Aortic Endovascular Grafting, and many more.Enhance Your eBook Reading ExperienceRead directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC683.5.C25 A8537 2019x
Blueprints Neurology Succinct, logically organized, and supported by more than 100 board-style review questions,Blueprints Neurologydelivers a complete review of key topics and concepts optimized for clerkship, shelf review, and USMLE preparation. This concise approach pares coverage to a perfect length for clerkship rotations and reinforces understanding with clinical vignettes, detailed diagnostic and treatment information, and case-based review questions at the end of the book with complete answer explanations. Concise, succinct chapterssave time and focus your review on the most essential concepts. Extensively revisedto include new and relevant content Updated! More than 100 board-style review questionsdetail correct and incorrect answers for comprehensive shelf and USMLE preparation. Updated! Case-based vignetteshelp you translate concepts to a clinical context and confidently prepare for clerkship. Newly added 4-full color highlights key content for a faster, more effcient review. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC336 .B575 2019
Clinical Pathways in Neuro-Ophthalmology: an evidence-based approach It is paramount for clinicians to understand the distinguishing signs and symptoms among many different local and systemic neuro-ophthalmic disorders in order to provide the most efficacious evaluations and treatments. Clinical Pathways in Neuro-Ophthalmology: An Evidence-Based Approach, Third Edition reflects the authors' extensive training and experience in the field of neuro-ophthalmology, as well as updates in the field. Stacy Smith, Andrew Lee, Paul Brazis, and an impressive group of contributors have written an unsurpassed learning tool on how to manage patients with known or presumed neuro-ophthalmologic conditions, in the most logical, straightforward, and cost-effective manner. The authors share significant clinical pearls and knowledge throughout 20 chapters. The book lays a solid foundation on the management of neurologic eye disorders including symptoms, ophthalmologic testing, diagnosis, and treatment. Among the discussed disorders are anterior and retrobulbar optic neuropathies, disorders of ocular motility and alignment, lid abnormalities, and anisocoria. Insights are provided on key topics including the use of office examinations, laboratory tests, and neuroimaging studies to make an ophthalmologic diagnosis; and ophthalmologic therapy to treat eye movement disorders such as nystagmus. Key Highlights Unique graphic algorithms help clinicians differentiate conditions with frequently overlapping clinical manifestations The evaluation and treatment of various neuro-ophthalmologic processes, stratified by four classes of evidence and four levels of clinical recommendation A basic set of references for each subject enables readers to expand knowledge High quality four-color clinical images enhance learning This book is essential reading for neuro-ophthalmologists, ophthalmologists, neurologists, and residents and fellows in these fields of medicine. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RE725 .L44 2019
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: *New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues *New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter *New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques *Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Call Number: R729.5.G4 C58 2019
Complications in Neurosurgery Learn from key leaders in the field of neurosurgery with the practical guidance presented in this first-of-its-kind resource. Complications in Neurosurgery uses a case-based format to explore complications across the full range of commonly performed neurosurgical procedures. As you review dozens of up-to-date, real-life cases, you'll become better equipped to identify pitfalls ahead of time and have the knowledge to handle difficult situations that arise during surgery. Presents commonly encountered cases provided by experienced neurosurgeons in all areas of this challenging specialty. Includes high-quality photographs, images, and dynamic video to ensure complete visual understanding of the procedures. Uses a consistent, easy-to-read format throughout, covering a wide range of surgeries including general neurosurgery and cranial complications, as well as spinal and peripheral complications. Numerous videos depict possible complications for each type of surgery; for example, Complications of Cerebral Bypass Surgery includes videos showing how to obtain venous hemostasis without risking injury to the STA, how to manage atheroma within the donor vessel, and how to manage intraoperative occlusion of the bypass. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD593 .C65 2019x
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: principles & practice of oncology Now updated online for the life of the edition,DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology, 11th Editionkeeps you up to date in this fast-changing field. Every quarter, your eBook will be updated with late-breaking developments in oncology, including new drugs, clinical trials, and more. Thisunique, continually updated referenceremains the gold standard reference in the field with: A focus on immunotherapy throughoutand new chapters on precision oncology and the microbiome. Guidance on managing every type of cancer,while incorporating recent treatment advances. The most effective strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage of presentation.Balanced, multidisciplinary advicefrom a surgeon, a medical oncologist, and a radiation oncologist. Important related topicssuch as cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality of life issues.Enhance Your eBook Reading ExperienceRead directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC261 .C274 2019
The Echo Manual Publisher's Note: Ideal for residents, fellows, and others who need a comprehensive, clinically focused understanding of echocardiography, The Echo Manual, 4th Edition, has been thoroughly revised with updated information, new chapters, and new video clips online. Written primarily by expert authorities from the Mayo Clinic, this best-selling reference remains a practical guide to the performance, interpretation, and clinical applications of today's echocardiography. Features all-new chapters specifically devoted to 3D echo, interventional echocardiography, and hand-carried ultrasound. Includes new echo videos that provide a valuable learning experience of echocardiography in motion. Provides a concise, user-friendly summary of techniques, diagnostic criteria, and quantitative methods for echocardiography, Doppler echocardiography, and transesophageal echocardiography. Presents complex material in an approachable, visually appealing manner that focuses on the clinical application of echocardiography as a diagnostic tool. Covers the latest techniques, standards, and applications - all highlighted by more than 900 high-quality, annotated images that are true to gray scale and color.Enhance Your eBook Reading ExperienceRead directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC683.5.U5 O37 2019
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation. Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases. Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms. Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
Call Number: RC87.9 .H47 2019
Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Lab A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
Call Number: RB37 .L297 2019
Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine An ideal reference for residents, fellows, practitioners, and nurse practitioners,Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine, 5th Editionis a concise, up-to-date overview of key topics in cardiology. Using a practical, outline format, this best-selling title presents evidence-based approaches to cardiovascular diagnosis, diseases, and treatment - perfect for daily practice or exam preparation. A new, larger format and content that is thoroughly up to date; organized by disease and treatment so you can find what you're looking for quickly. With a focus on guidelines and the evidence basis for cardiovascular disease management, coverage includes approaches to common clinical syndromes and investigations, including drug therapy. Updated content with the latest innovations in cardiovascular medicine- including percutaneous approaches to valve disease, device management of cardiogenic shock, and the heart in the athlete. Clear diagrams, high-quality ECGs, and helpful summary tables provide excellent visual reinforcement to the text. Authoritative perspectives from the experienced staff and fellows at the Cleveland Clinic provide practical guidance in performance of common cardiovascular procedures and integration of devices.Enhance Your eBook Reading ExperienceRead directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC682 .M315 2019
Master Techniques in Orthopedic Surgery: Knee Arthroplasty Helmed by a brand-new editor from the Mayo Clinic, the latest edition has been updated with new procedures and principles and additional imagery. Each technique is described in step-by-step detail. You will also find an overview of each injury or condition, explanations of indications and preoperative planning, complications and issues to watch out for, and tips for success. Lavishly illustrated with nearly 1,500 images that add a visual "how-to" to procedural instructions. More procedures than ever before, written authoritatively by master surgeons. New chapters--on the latest techniques and principles--help you stay up-to-date with current trends and development. eBook now features embedded links to a video to contextualize principles and techniques. Covers major trauma outcome surgery--
Call Number: RD561 .K573 2019
OB/GYN Hospital Medicine: Principles and Practice A complete guide to making a successful OB/GYN Hospital Medicine program a reality This authoritative text delivers a complete evidence-based blueprint clarifying every aspect of OB/GYN Hospital Medicine. Encompassing clinical practice as well as program development and business models, the book takes physicians, nurses, administrators, and staff through the necessary steps to start and successfully run OB/GYN hospitalist programs. Readers will also benefit from an efficient approach to managing OB/GYN emergencies, which includes valuable guidance for physicians and physician extenders working in labor and delivery and ERs/ICUs. Utilizing a cohesive 3-part organization, the book begins with an insightful overview of the OB/GYN Hospital Medicine specialty, then explores related healthcare system issues and the full range of obstetric clinical conditions, from asthma in pregnancy to preterm labor. Finally, an essential review of fundamental gynecologic topics, such as pelvic pain, is provided, along with in-depth coverage of modern OB/GYN Hospital Medicine procedures. Taken together, this innovative text represents the definitive introduction to the OB/GYN hospitalist speciality--one that no hospital should be without. Features: *A focus on accessible, high-yield medical education illuminates the burgeoning field of OB/GYN Hospital Medicine *Practical, turnkey coverage of OB/GYN Hospital Medicine and its successful implementation is designed to optimize OB/GYN practice and enhance patient care *Outstanding chapter pedagogy includes learning objectives, clinical case presentations, key patient hand-off points, and abundant clinical images and illustrations
Call Number: RG103 .O23 2019
Porth's Pathophysiology: concepts of altered health states The 10th edition ofPorth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health Statescontinues a legacy of excellence by providing comprehensive, nursing-focused coverage designed to help grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. The book's unique emphasis on "concepts" of altered health states, as opposed to factual descriptions of diseases and disorders, helps students grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. Porth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health StatesTenth Edition Tommie L. Norris, DNS, RN Meet today's clinical challenges with the trusted authority in pathophysiology Make the most of your pathophysiology course and master the knowledge to ensure clinical success. Trusted for more than 30 years and updated to reflect today's nursing challenges, this engaging text makes complex concepts accessible and helps you easily and confidently grasp normal body function, the effects of disease on body systems, and the body's ability to compensate and adapt. This edition also considers the many technological advances that allow healthcare providers to diagnose earlier and with more accuracy. Highlights of the Tenth Edition Approachable presentationbuilds understanding from basic to advanced concepts and defines key terms as you progress. "Chunked" contentkeeps you focused on the most critical information and helps you review salient points efficiently. Unit-Opening Case Studies, which are revisited in one or more chapters in the unit, bring pathophysiology to life and equip you for success in clinical practice. Approximately 1,000 vibrant illustrationsclarify the clinical manifestations of diseases and disease processes. Understandingboxes break physiologic processes and phenomena into their sequential parts, providing insight into the many opportunities for disease to disrupt the processes. Key Pointsboxes andIn Summarysections reduce the need for memorization and help you incorporate important points into broader conceptual units. NEW!Pediatric ConsiderationsandGeriatric Considerationsboxes in each chapter specify how the chapter content applies to these two special populations. NEW!Concept Mastery Alertsexplain topics that students can find confusing. Review Exercisesat the end of each chapter test your retention and identify areas for further study. Referencesprovide fast, efficient access to normal laboratory values in both conventional and SI units, as well as a comprehensive glossary. Narrated animationsreferenced by icons in the text and available online enhance your understanding of the most challenging and clinically relevant concepts.
Call Number: RB113 .P67 2019
Snell's Clinical Neuroanatomy Publisher's Note: Snell's Clinical Neuroanatomy, Eighth Edition, equips medical and health professions students with a complete, clinically oriented understanding of neuroanatomy. Organized classically by system, this revised edition reflects the latest clinical approaches to neuroanatomy structures and reinforces concepts with enhanced, illustrations, diagnostic images, and surface anatomy photographs. Each chapter begins with clear objectives and a clinical case for a practical introduction to key concepts. Throughout the text, Clinical Notes highlight important clinical considerations.Chapters end with bulleted key concepts, along with clinical problem solving cases and review questions that test students' comprehension and ensure preparation for clinical application. Enhanced color illustrations, diagrams, and photographs enrich understanding of complex concepts and structures. New bulleted key concepts in each chapter ensure a focused, clinically relevant understanding of neuroanatomy. Chapter objectives and clinical cases emphasize the practical applications of chapter content. Clinical Notes highlight important clinical considerations for quick reference and review. Clinical Problem Solving and Chapter Review Questions equip students for the clinical challenges they'll encounter in practice.
Call Number: QM451 .S64 2019
Wintrobes Clinical Hematology This extensive title, which combines scientific principles with up-to-date clinical procedures, has been thoroughly updated for the fourteenth edition. You'll find in-depth material on the biology and pathophysiology of lymphomas, leukemias, platelet destruction, and other hematological disorders as well as the procedures for diagnosing and treating them. Combines the biology and pathophysiology of hematology as well as the diagnosis and treatment of commonly encountered hematological disorders in one volume. Access the latest knowledge in genetics and genomics eBook features 300 online self-assessment questions for reviewing material and preparing for Board exams. Packed with more than 1,500 tables and figures. Enhance Your eBook Reading ExperienceRead directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RB145 .W74 2019
Management/Employee Development Books
101 Sample Write-Ups for Documenting Employee Performance Problems Over 100,000 copies sold! Now with 20 all-new write-ups! Managers may dread dealing with performance problems, but this sanity-saving guide by HR expert Paul Falcone is here to help. Revised to reflect the latest developments in employment law, the third edition of 101 Sample Write-Ups for Documenting Employee Performance Problems explains the disciplinary process and provides ready-to-use documents that eliminate the stress and second-guessing about what to do and say. These expertly crafted, easily customizable write-ups address: Absenteeism * Insubordination * Sexual harassment * Drug or alcohol abuse * Substandard work * Email and phone misuse * Teamwork issues * Managerial misconduct * Confidentiality breaches * Social media abuse * And more With a focus on getting employees back on track, each sample document includes an incident description, a performance improvement plan, outcomes and consequences, and a section for employee rebuttal. Whether you're addressing an initial infraction or handling termination-worthy transgressions, this trusted resource ensures every encounter remains clear, fair, and-most importantly-legal.
Call Number: HF5549.5.D55 F35 2017
HBR Guide for Women at Work: overcome bias, project confidence, negotiate for more How to lean in at work. Women regularly face unfair challenges in the workplace--from being passed over for promotion to being ignored in conversation. Unconscious bias and negative assumptions are working against them. As a woman, how can you break through these barriers and get what you want from your career? The HBR Guide for Women at Work will help you identify and overcome the factors that are holding you back. It provides practical tips and advice so you can face gender stereotypes head-on, make yourself visible when opportunities arise, and demonstrate your leadership skills. You'll learn to: Speak up in meetings in a way that ensures your ideas will be heard Wield influence by building the right relationships Advocate for yourself--and for what you want Align yourself with mentors and sponsors to support your growth Show passion without being perceived as "too emotional" Create your unique vision as a leader
Call Number: HD6054.3 .H27 2019
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States This fully updated and revised 12th edition of the highly acclaimed textbook on health care delivery provides graduate and undergraduate students with a comprehensive survey of health care in the United States with topics ranging from the organization of care, the politics surrounding health care in the United States, to population health and vulnerable populations, health care costs and value, health care financing, and health information technology. Chapters provide thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system and the extent of our nation's achievement of health care value and the Triple Aim: better health and better care at a lower cost. With an emphasis on population health and public health, this text includes a timely focus on how social and physical environments influence health outcomes. Prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within public health, population health, health policy, healthcare management, medical care, and nursing present the most up-to-date evidence-based information on social and behavioral determinants of health and health equity, immigrant health, health care workforce challenges, preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of health care management and administration, nursing, and public health, the text addresses all complex core issues surrounding our health care system and health policy, such as the challenges to health care delivery, the organization and politics of care, and comparative health systems. Organized in a readable and accessible format, contributors provide an in-depth and objective appraisal of why and how we organize health care the way we do, the enormous impact of health-related behaviors on the structure, function, and cost of the health care delivery system, and other emerging and recurrent issues in health policy, health care management, and public health. The 12th edition features the contributions of such luminaries as former editor Anthony R. Kovner, Michael K. Gusmano, Carolyn M. Clancy, Marc N. Gourevitch, Joanne Spetz, James Morone, Karen DeSalvo, and Christy Harris Lemak, among others. Chapters include audio chapter summaries with discussion of newsworthy topics, learning objectives, discussion questions, case exercises, and new charts and tables with concrete health care data. Included for instructors are an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Syllabus, Test Bank, Image Bank, supplemental e-chapter on A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery, access to an annual ACA update and health policy changes, extra cases and syllabus specifically for nurses, and a transition guide bridging the 11th and 12th editions. Key Features: Three completely revised chapters on the politics of health care, vulnerable populations, and health information technologyExpanded coverage on population health and population health management, health equity, influences of social determinants on health behavior and outcomes, health education planning, health workforce challenges, national and regional quality improvement initiatives and moreRevised e-Chapter providing A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery and Image Bank for the 12th EditionAccess to Springer Publishing Company's annual ACA updateAudio podcasts provide summaries for each chapter with real-world context of topics featured in the newsNew appendix with overview of U.S. Government Public Health AgenciesAccess to fully searchable ebook, including extra e-chapters and student ancillaries on Springer Publishing ConnectFull Instructor Packet including Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, PowerPoint slides, Image Bank, and Case Exercises for Nursing Instructors
Call Number: RA395.A3 J656 2019
Machine, Platform, Crowd: harnessing our digital future In The Second Machine Age, Andrew McAfee and Erik Brynjolfsson predicted some of the far-reaching effects of digital technologies on our lives and businesses. Now they've written a guide to help readers make the most of our collective future. Machine | Platform | Crowd outlines the opportunities and challenges inherent in the science fiction technologies that have come to life in recent years, like self-driving cars and 3D printers, online platforms for renting outfits and scheduling workouts, or crowd-sourced medical research and financial instruments.
Call Number: HC79.I5 M3668 2018
Platform Revolution: how networked markets are transforming the economy and how to make them work for you Uber. Airbnb. Amazon. Apple. PayPal. All of these companies disrupted their markets when they launched. Today they are industry leaders. What's the secret to their success? These cutting-edge businesses are built on platforms: two-sided markets that are revolutionizing the way we do business. Written by three of the most sought-after experts on platform businesses, Platform Revolution is the first authoritative, fact-based book on platform models. Whether platforms are connecting sellers and buyers, hosts and visitors, or drivers with people who need a ride, Geoffrey G. Parker, Marshall W. Van Alstyne, and Sangeet Paul Choudary reveal the what, how, and why of this revolution and provide the first "owner's manual" for creating a successful platform business. Platform Revolution teaches newcomers how to start and run a successful platform business, explaining ways to identify prime markets and monetize networks. Addressing current business leaders, the authors reveal strategies behind some of today's up-and-coming platforms, such as Tinder and SkillShare, and explain how traditional companies can adapt in a changing marketplace. The authors also cover essential issues concerning security, regulation, and consumer trust, while examining markets that may be ripe for a platform revolution, including healthcare, education, and energy. As digital networks increase in ubiquity, businesses that do a better job of harnessing the power of the platform will win. An indispensable guide, Platform Revolution charts out the brilliant future of platforms and reveals how they will irrevocably alter the lives and careers of millions.
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .P3674 2017
The Prosperity Paradox: how innovations can lift nations out of poverty Clayton M. Christensen, the author of such business classics as The Innovator's Dilemma and the New York Times bestseller How Will You Measure Your Life, and co-authors Efosa Ojomo and Karen Dillon reveal why so many investments in economic development fail to generate sustainable prosperity, and offers a groundbreaking solution for true and lasting change. Global poverty is one of the world's most vexing problems. For decades, we've assumed smart, well-intentioned people will eventually be able to change the economic trajectory of poor countries. From education to healthcare, infrastructure to eradicating corruption, too many solutions rely on trial and error. Essentially, the plan is often to identify areas that need help, flood them with resources, and hope to see change over time. But hope is not an effective strategy. Clayton M. Christensen and his co-authors reveal a paradox at the heart of our approach to solving poverty. While noble, our current solutions are not producing consistent results, and in some cases, have exacerbated the problem. At least twenty countries that have received billions of dollars' worth of aid are poorer now. Applying the rigorous and theory-driven analysis he is known for, Christensen suggests a better way. The right kind of innovation not only builds companies--but also builds countries. The Prosperity Paradox identifies the limits of common economic development models, which tend to be top-down efforts, and offers a new framework for economic growth based on entrepreneurship and market-creating innovation. Christensen, Ojomo, and Dillon use successful examples from America's own economic development, including Ford, Eastman Kodak, and Singer Sewing Machines, and shows how similar models have worked in other regions such as Japan, South Korea, Nigeria, Rwanda, India, Argentina, and Mexico. The ideas in this book will help companies desperate for real, long-term growth see actual, sustainable progress where they've failed before. But The Prosperity Paradox is more than a business book; it is a call to action for anyone who wants a fresh take for making the world a better and more prosperous place.
Call Number: HD82 .C5224 2019
Leading with Emotional Courage: how to have hard conversations, create accountability, and inspire action on your most important work The Wall Street Journal bestselling author of 18 Minutes unlocks the secrets of highly successful leaders and pinpoints the missing ingredient that makes all the difference You have the opportunity to lead: to show up with confidence, connected to others, and committed to a purpose in a way that inspires others to follow. Maybe it's in your workplace, or in your relationships, or simply in your own life. But great leadership--leadership that aligns teams, inspires action, and achieves results--is hard. And what makes it hard isn't theoretical, it's practical. It's not about knowing what to say or do. It's about whether you're willing to experience the discomfort, risk, and uncertainty of saying or doing it. In other words, the most critical challenge of leadership is emotional courage. If you are willing to feel everything, you can do anything. Leading with Emotional Courage, based on the author's popular blogs for Harvard Business Review, provides practical, real-world advice for building your emotional courage muscle. Each short, easy to read chapter details a distinct step in this emotional "workout," giving you grounded advice for handling the difficult situations without sacrificing professional ground. By building the courage to say the necessary but difficult things, you become a stronger leader and leave the "should'ves" behind. Theoretically, leadership is straightforward, but how many people actually lead? The gap between theory and practice is huge. Emotional courage is what bridges that gap. It's what sets great leaders apart from the rest. It gets results. It cuts through the distractions, the noise, and the politics to solve problems and get things done. This book is packed with actionable steps you can take to start building these skills now. Have the courage to speak up when others remain silent Be stable and grounded in the face of uncertainty Respond productively to opposition without getting distracted Weather others' anger without shutting down or getting defensive Leading with Emotional Courage coaches you to build your emotional courage, exercise it effectively, and create an environment in which people around you take accountability to get hard things done.
Call Number: HD57.7 .B734 2018
Excuse Me: the survival guide to modern business etiquette "Both novice and experienced workers will find a wealth of business etiquette in a book that, instead of excusing bad behavior, could help prevent it from happening in the first place." -Foreword Reviews, 5 Star Review In today's workplace, good manners matter more than ever. Blending different generations, genders, and cultures brings energy and fresh perspectives to the workplace. But the flip side is an environment ripe for confusion and social blunders. Mix in increasingly open-plan workplaces and constant connectivity, and the chance that we'll unintentionally annoy or offend others increases exponentially. Exactly what are the rules these days? Is it acceptable to text your boss at home? What is the polite way to ask a colleague to take a distracting conversation behind closed doors? What about the use of smartphones in meetings? Merging classic rules of behavior with new realities of modern business, Excuse Me spotlights dozens of puzzling situations, with suggestions for bridging divides. The book untangles the nuances of: Meeting etiquette * Interview expectations * Proper office attire * Electronic manners * Privacy in tight spaces * Eye contact and nonverbal cues * Small talk * Business dining * Social media use * Working remotely and flexibly * And more. While the youngest employees might seem unruly, the oldest can seem rigid. Good manners create an atmosphere of respect, and smooth the way for everyone to succeed.
Call Number: HF5389 .T47 2017
Get That Job!: the quick & complete guide to a winning interview Praised as "Excellent" on Forbes.com, this concise interview guide gives readers proven tips and clear instructions to prepare for breakthrough interviews. Job seekers will learn to: Identify and communicate their unique strengths, their "key selling points." Understand why employers ask many of the most common interview questions - and how to answer with confidence. Succeed with video interviews, behavioral interviews and panels. Build an arsenal of success stories. Ace every step - from the first screening to accepting the offer. "A practical guide to authentic, well prepared interviewing, Get That Job offers an abundant tool kit of resources - including great answers to challenging questions every job seeker is sure to encounter. Kudos " - Marie Zimenoff, Director of Career Thought Leaders and the Resume Writing Academy
Call Number: HF5382.7 .K455 2017x
96 Great Interview Questions to Ask Before You Hire With more than 120,000 copies sold, this hiring classic gets results. Why do so many promising job candidates turn out to be disappointing employees? How can you consistently hire the right people at the right time for the right roles? Employment expert Paul Falcone supplies the tools you need to land top talent. The third edition of his practical and popular book is packed with interview questions, each designed to reveal the real person sitting across the table. What is the applicant's motivation for changing jobs? How well does he handle stress? Does she consistently show initiative? Managers learn to define the key criteria they seek in their next hire and pose strategic questions to uncover these qualities, including: Achievement-anchored questions * Questions that gauge likeability and fit * Pressure-cooker questions * Holistic questions that invite self-assessment * Questions tailored to sales, mid-level, or senior management positions * And more Complete with guidelines for analyzing answers, asking follow-up questions, checking references, and making winning offers--as well as new chapters on evaluating freelancers and onboarding successfully--the book simplifies the hiring process and puts people in place who can get the job done.
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 F35 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016