Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Abrams' Clinical Drug Therapy: rationales for nursing practice Written by expert pharmacology educators and clinicians, Abrams' Clinical Drug Therapy has a long tradition of guiding students and instructors through the practice of safe and effective medication administration. Highly praised for its organized and readable presentation, the text explains the "why" behind each nursing action, and emphasizes individualized nursing care and drug therapy. Filled with vibrant illustrations, including new concept maps, the text provides a solid foundation for understanding clinical drug therapy, evidence-based standards for administration, and how to prevent or minimize adverse effects. Complemented with exciting free online resources, the textbook employs innovative features that guide students through the course, while also preparing for success on the NCLEX® Examination and in nursing practice. Also included is a free copy of Lippincott's Photo Atlas of Medication Administration, which uses the nursing process format to provide step-by-step nursing skills (with rationales). In addition to being completely illustrated, the Photo Atlas also contains documentation guidelines and samples, and Unexpected Situations, which explain how to respond to unanticipated outcomes. Topics include removing medication from an ampule, removing medication from a vial, mixing medications from two vials in one syringe, administering an intradermal injection, and more. KEY FEATURES: NEW! Re-visualized Nursing Process includes a concept map to illustrate these guidelines in place of lengthy text NEW! Chapter on the Autonomic Nervous System (ANS) NEW! More streamlined QSEN Safely Alerts also include knowledge, skills, and attitudes NEW! SBAR added to the Clinical Application Feature. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts alert students to commonly misunderstood concepts as derived from our PrepU data Learning Objectives summarize what the student should learn while reading the chapter A Clinical Application Case Study opens each chapter with a patient-focused clinical scenario Black Box Warnings highlight serious life-threatening adverse effects identified by the FDA. Evidence-Based Practice boxes provide information about current research and its integration into nursing practice NCLEX Success sections interspersed throughout chapters help students prepare for the exam Drugs at a Glance Tables summarize the routes and dosage ranges (for adults and children), as well as the pregnancy category, for each drug in the class Drug Interactions and Herb and Dietary Interactions boxes highlight the risk of interactions as well as increased or decreased drug effects when drugs are combined with other medications, food, or herbal supplements Patient Teaching Guidelines list specific information for the education of the patient and family Key terms with definitions help the reader understand chapter content
Call Number: RM262 .A27 2018
Adult Telephone Protocols-Office Version This powerful decision-support tool is designed to help busy family practice and internal medicine offices handle a wide array of adult phone inquiries. It guides triagers through each call with the same step-by-step checklist organization and ease-of-use features as its companion resource, Pediatric Telephone Protocols. Adult Telephone Protocols includes over 100 proven protocols that cover 95% of the most common adult complaints. Look here for triage guidelines ranging from everyday problems such as back pain, insect bites, and sunburn to more serious conditions such as breathing difficulty, seizures, and wound care. Time-saving, care-enhancing features include: - Highlighted triage assessment questions - Practical home care instructions - Call prioritization guide "Red flag" checklist for office support staff - Over-the-counter medication advice - Office resources checklist New Updates include - Completely updated and revised for the first time in 6 years - 10 new protocols for a total of 115: Abdominal pain- Menstrual Cramps; Anaphylaxis; Ankle Pain; Back Injury; Chest Injury; Finger Pain; Influenza Exposure; Neck Injury; Urine- Blood In; Zika Virus Exposure - And more
Call Number: R129 .T46 2019
Advanced Assessment: interpreting findings and formulating differential diagnosis Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information. "I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx Happy I bought this book. "This is my number one resource for Differential Diagnosis. The information in this book is making my Assessment class easier. I'm glad I bought it!"-- Aida G. "I use it everyday in my practice, it helped me improve my assessment skills."--Ernest C.
Call Number: RC71.5 .A345 2019
Advanced Practice Nursing Roles: core concepts for professional development The sixth edition of this time-tested text on advanced nursing role development is completely updated to encompass the full complement of current APRN practice roles. Reflecting the evolving spheres of the DNP and CNL, it illuminates in greater depth the transition into practice of APRN master's and doctoral students and emphasizes the APRN's all-important role in influencing health policy, global health, and differentiated APRN practice and leadership roles within interprofessional teams. This sixth edition-the only text to address the APRN role globally-continues the conversation on educational requirements and differentiation from certification, and includes expanded coverage of professional issues and research-based practice. Also discussed is the impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (and any potential changes) on the current and future APRN role. Encompassing the diverse expertise of highly experienced contributors from a wide variety of practice settings, the text continues to deliver essential information on advanced clinical decision-making, reimbursement, ethical issues, technology, and employment strategies. It reflects the competencies identified by key stakeholder organizations such as the ANA, NONPF, NACNS, AANA, ACNM, and AACN. New to the Sixth Edition: Focuses on the pros and cons of international healthcare system modelsReflects the evolving roles of the DNP and CNLDetails the transition into practice for APRN master's and doctoral students, particularly NPs, CNSs, CNMs and CRNAsFocuses on the importance of APRN leadership in shaping health through political activismDiscusses the impact of the APRN role on expected changes to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care ActEmphasizes how APRNs can influence health policy, global health, and differentiated practice and leadership roles within interprofessional teamsUpdates information about educational requirements and differentiation from certificationExpands coverage of professional issues and research-based practiceIncorporates topics for discussion at the end of each chapter Key Features: Addresses interprofessional, global health, leadership roles, and practice issues regarding credentialing, prescriptive authority, and liabilitiesDelivers conceptual and practical frameworks for teachers and studentsIncludes case studies, an instructor's manual, and PowerPointsPrint version includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents of the book
Call Number: RT82.8 .A49 2019
CHPN Study Guide 2018-2019: CHPN exam prep and practice test questions for the Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial NEW CHPN Study Guide 2018-2019: CHPN Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Our materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. HPCC was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's CHPN Study Guide 2018-2019 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the CHPN exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's CHPN Study Guide 2018-2019 covers: Patient Care Pain Management Symptom Management Care of the Patient and Family Education and Advocacy Interdisciplinary and Collaborative Practice Professional Issue ...and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: RT87.T45 C466 2018x
Critical Care Nursing of the Oncology Patient Critical Care Nursing of the Oncology Patient arms nurses with knowledge of how to use aspects of both oncology and critical care nursing to optimally care for patients with cancer, including working collaboratively throughout the transition from the medical-surgical floor to the intensive care unit and back to the medical-surgical floor.
Call Number: RC266 .C75 2018
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 K47 2019x
Integrative Nursing Fully updated and revised, the second edition of Integrative Nursing is a complete roadmap to integrative patient care, providing a guide to whole person/whole systems assessment and clinical interventions for individuals, families, and communities. Treatment strategies described in thisversion employ the full complement of evidence-informed methodologies in a tailored, person-centered approach to care. This text explores concepts, skills, and theoretical frameworks that can be used by healthcare leaders interested in creating and implementing an integrative model of care withininstitutions and systems, featuring exemplar nurse-led initiatives that have transformed healthcare systems. This volume covers the foundations of the field; the most effective ways to optimize wellbeing; principles of symptom management for many common disorders like sleep, anxiety, pain, and cognitive impairment; the application of integrative nursing techniques in a variety of clinical settings andamong a diverse patient population; and integrative practices around the world and how it impacts planetary health. The academic rigor of the text is balanced by practical and relevant content that can be readily implemented into practice for both established professionals as well as studentsenrolled in undergraduate or graduate nursing programs.Integrative medicine is defined as healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind, and spirit) as well as all aspects of lifestyle; it emphasizes the therapeutic relationship and makes use of appropriate therapies, both conventional and alternative. Series editor Andrew Weil, MD, is Professor and Director of the Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine at the University of Arizona. Dr. Weil's program was the first such academic program in the U.S., and its stated goal is "to combine the best ideas and practices of conventional and alternativemedicine into cost effective treatments without embracing alternative practices uncritically."
Call Number: RT41 .I58 2019
Leading and Managing in Nursing Help students prepare for the NCLEX® and their transition to practice! Organized around the issues in today's constantly changing healthcare environment Leading and Managing in Nursing, 7th Edition, offers an innovative approach to leading and managing by merging theory, research, and practical application. This cutting-edge text includes coverage of patient safety, consumer relationships, cultural diversity, resource management delegation, and communication. In addition, it provides just the right amount of information to equip students with the tools they need to master leadership and management, which will better prepare them for clinical practice. UPDATED! Fresh content and references related to conflict (mediation and arbitration), personal/personnel issues, violence and incivility, and delegation included in their respective chapters. Separate chapters on key topic areas such as cultural diversity, consumer relationships, delegation, managing information and technology, legal and ethical issues, and many more. Eye-catching full-color design helps engage and guide students through each chapter. UNIQUE! Each chapter opens with The Challenge, where practicing nurse leaders/managers offer their real-world views of a concern related in the chapter, encouraging students to think about how they would handle the situation. UNIQUE! The Solution closes each chapter with an effective method to handle the real-life situation presented in The Challenge, and demonstrates the ins and outs of problem solving in practice. The Evidence boxes in each chapter summarize relevant concepts and research from nursing/business/medicine literature. Theory boxes highlight and summarize pertinent theoretical concepts related to chapter content. UPDATED! Chapter 2, Clinical Safety: The Core of Leading, Managing, and Following, features the latest guidelines for ensuring patient safety, QSEN updates and it will also include some new tools to help with assessing/managing patient safety in the hospital setting UPDATED! Chapter 16, The Impact of Technology, includes information on future trends such as Health Information Exchange (HIE), data warehouses with predictive analytics, and information on decision support systems and their impact on patient care. UPDATED! Chapter 12, Care Delivery Strategies, covers different nursing care delivery models used to organize care in a variety of healthcare organizations. UPDATED! Chapter 14, Workforce Engagement through Collective Action and Governance, provides information on how to assess work environments through assessing organizational and governance characteristics, nurse empowerment/engagement strategies, and a variety of collective action and bargaining strategies that can shape nurses' practice. NEW! Chapter 6 - Being an Effective Follower includes information on the evolution and importance of "followership" within nursing. NEW! Chapter organization with new standard headings throughout clearly and effectively presents the material, and provides a more effective end of chapter pedagogy.
Call Number: RT89 .L43 2019
Maternity Newborn Women Health Nursing: a case-based approach Build the critical thinking capabilities essential to your success with this captivating, case-based approach. Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing: A Case-Based Approach brings the realities of nursing practice to life and helps you acquire the understanding and clinical reasoning skills to ensure effective patient-centered care. This innovative text immerses you in realistic, case-based narratives that help you experience maternity, newborn, and women's health nursing concepts from the patient's perspective and confidently prepare for your clinical rotations. Accompanying units leverage these patient stories to enrich your understanding of key concepts and reinforce their clinical relevance, giving you unparalleled preparation for the challenges you'll face in your nursing career. Powerfully written case-based patient scenarios instill a clinically relevant understanding of essential concepts to prepare you for clinicals. Nurse's Point of View sections in Unit 1 help you recognize the nursing considerations and challenges related to patient-based scenarios. Step-by-Step Skills tutorials clarify common procedures. Unfolding Patient Stories, written by the National League for Nursing, foster meaningful reflection on commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Analyze the Evidence callouts present conflicting research to hone your critical thinking capabilities. Patient Teaching boxes highlight important information to communicate to patients. Lab Values help you recognize the significance of out-of-range values and make appropriate nursing interventions. The Pharmacy features detail essential pharmaceutical information at a glance. Interactive learning resources, including Practice & Learn Case Studies and Watch & Learn Videos, reinforce skills and challenge you to apply what you've learned. Learning Objectives and bolded Key Terms help you maximize your study time. Think Critically questions instill the clinical reasoning and analytical skills essential to safe patient-centered practice. Suggested Readings point you to further research for more information and clinical guidance.
Call Number: RG951 .O44 2019
Nurse Executive Exam Secrets Study Guide ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Nurse Executive Exam Secrets helps you ace the Nurse Executive Board Certification Test, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Nurse Executive Exam Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Nurse Executive Exam Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to Nurse Executive Exam Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; Comprehensive sections including: Organizational Models, Continuum-Based Leadership Model, Goals Based and Process Based Evaluations, Benchmarking, Continuous Quality Control, Clinical Trials, Various Models for Nursing Research, Ten Steps in Community Assessment, Feasibility Studies, Centralized Organizational Structure, Product Line Management, Community Alternative Care Settings, Clinical Ladder of Advancement, Nurse's Role in Work Redesign, Importance of Collaborative Practice, Corporate Culture and Climate, Health Care Delivery Systems, Strategic Planning, Crisis Management, Setting Goals, Steps in Contingency Planning, Shared Governance Model, Calculating Profit, Scenario Analysis, Marketing in Health Care, Image Building, and much more...
Call Number: RT89 .N8744 2018x
Nursing Health Assessment: a best practice approach Develop the assessment knowledge and skills to excel in any clinical setting. Updated to reflect today's changing healthcare environment, this unique, modern approach to health assessment guides you progressively through realistic clinical case scenarios, emphasizing health promotion, risk factor reduction, evidence-based thinking, and diagnostic reasoning. Effective strategies help you adapt questions and techniques to confidently manage communication challenges, unexpected patient responses, changes in a patient's condition over time, and more. Highlights of the Third Edition Progressive Case Studies in each chapter help you capably apply concepts to clinical practice through: Therapeutic Dialogue displays that hone the communication and critical thinking skills essential for gathering assessment data. Progress Note sections that provide sample SOAP (Subjective data, Objective data, Analysis, and Plan) notes documenting summaries of findings, with accompanying critical thinking questions. Documenting Case Study Findings boxes that summarize abnormal findings in the physical examination (determined through inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation). Collaborating With the Interprofessional Team displays that feature SBAR (Situation, Background, Analysis or Assessment, and Recommendations) frameworks for effectively coordinating referrals or other patient advocacy needs. Clinical Reasoning in Action sections that demonstrate how to bring all the elements of assessment together to determine a nursing diagnosis and related goals, interventions, rationales, and evaluation criteria. NEW!Unfolding case-based vignettes written by the National League for Nursing place concepts in a realistic context and encourage classroom discussion. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts clarify potentially confusing topics. More than 70 NANDA-I Diagnoses with official definitions and defining characteristics Learning Objectives focus on critical information and can help you study more effectively. Clinical Significanceboxes emphasize content critically related to clinical application. Safety Alert boxes highlight areas of concern or results that require immediate intervention or adjustments. Key Points summarized at the end of each chapter reinforce the most important content at a glance. Review Questions help you identify content requiring additional review. Tables of Abnormal Findings facilitate fast, effective assessments. Accompanying interactive learning resources such as videos and animations, referenced with icons in the text, appeal to a variety of learning styles.
Call Number: RT48 .C355 2019
Pathophysiology Made Incredible Easy! Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated PathophysiologyMade Incredibly Easy!®, 6th Edition. Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in pathophysiology, with: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format End-of-book learning support that includes a "Practice Makes Perfect" practice test Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions for: Pathophysiology basics - cellular structure; how cells reproduce, age, and die; adaptive cell changes; the concept of homeostasis and how it affects the body; the causes of disease; and the disease development process Infection, cancer, and genetics - the body's defense mechanisms against infection, types of infective microorganisms and how they invade the body, common infectious disease pathophysiology, classifications of cancer, warning signs of cancer, the cancer metastasis process, the role of genes and chromosomes, how cells divide, and genetic abnormalities Cancer as it affects individual body systems - cardiovascular, respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, renal system, hematologic, immune, integumentary, sensory, and reproductive system Special chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights that explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Battling illness - the latest treatments for diseases and disorders The genetic link - connections between genetics and many common disorders Memory joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts That's a wrap! - a quick review of chapter content Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is Vice President for Communication and Marketing at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio and Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, RN, COI, is Vice President for Business and Finance at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is Vice President for Operations and Procedures at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Director of Nursing Education at Ohio Institute of Allied Health in Dayton, Ohio.
Call Number: RB113 .P3636 2019
Role Development in Professional Nursing Practice Role Development in Professional Nursing Practice, Fifth Edition focuses on the progression of the professional nursing role. The major themes addressed throughout the text include: teamwork and collaboration, communication, leadership, quality improvement and safety, evidence-based practice and informatics. These competencies are essential for undergraduate nursing students, providing them with a solid foundation for a successful career. The Fifth Edition maintains its focus on professional role socialization and integrates the Nurse of the Future Competency Model throughout the text.It will feature new chapters on nursing competencies and system-based practice and leadership. New to the Fifth Edition: New chapter on nursing competencies New content system-based practice and leadership Updated Navigate 2 Advantage Access course
Call Number: RT82 .R587 2020
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on managing heart failure As the incidence of heart failure continues to grow, treatments that will improve survival and alleviate the economic burden of this condition are urgently needed. With this in mind, the author has put together Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for a visual resource that provides expert textual guidance on managing heart failure, along with a comprehensive collection of more than 500 images (nearly 300 in full color) illustrating specific procedures. To give the book true real-world application, each topic begins with a case scenario and includes evidence ratings from the combined ACC/AHA guidelines. FEATURES: *Of value to medical students, postgraduate trainees, practicing cardiologists, physician assistants, and general practitioners *45 chapters include expert coverage of the latest breakthroughs and therapies, including: genetic testing for cardiomyopathy; cardiotoxicity; biomarkers in heart failure; cardiac resynchronization therapy; the role of echocardiography in selection, implantation, and management of patients requiring left ventricular assist device therapy; left ventricular assist devices, and much more *In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, there is a strong focus on indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issues into clinical, real-world perspective *Presented in a convenient, quick-access format that makes the information easy to find and incorporate into practice If you are in need of an expertly written, well-illustrated resource that focuses on the clinical aspects of managing heart failure, and is designed to help you provide better care to your patients, Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure belongs on your desk.
Call Number: RC685.C53 C615 2019
Ellestad's Stress Testing: principles and practice The sixth edition of Ellestad's classic text on cardiac stress testing has been extensively updated and re-written to communicate contemporary understanding of the classical principles of stress testing to clinicians and researchers, students and seasoned practitioners alike. The currenttechniques for performing stress tests presented herein reflect major technologic advances in imaging, physiologic monitoring and the assessment of cardiovascular risk, addressing fundamental paradigm shifts in interventional, surgical and medical treatment of heart disease. Moreover, the textaddresses the dramatic changes that are occurring in patient demographics and the environmental, socioeconomic, gender and genomic factors that crucially impact heart disease and warrant attention when performing cardiac stress testing.Chapters on the physiology of exercise testing including practical details regarding protocols for conducting the stress test, proper supervision, important parameters to be monitored, and the diagnostic and prognostic information to be gleaned from the electrocardiogram set the stage for expandedchapters on the use of cardiac imaging in conjunction with stress testing. Physiologic and metabolic considerations during stress testing are covered in detail. Application of stress testing to special populations, such as women, children, athletes, and individuals in both high and low risk groupsare covered in new chapters. Finally, the authors address the use of stress testing in limited resource environments and discuss global changes in the incidence of atherosclerosis, and suggest how stress testing may evolve.
Call Number: RC683.5.H4 S776 2018
Fundamentals of Complementary and Alternative Medicine Get a solid, global foundation of the therapies and evidence-based clinical applications of CAI. Fundamentals of Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Medicine, 6th Edition is filled with the most up-to-date information on scientific theory and research of holistic medicine from experts around the world. The 6th edition of this acclaimed text includes all new content on quantum biology and biofields in health and nursing, integrative mental health care, and homeopathic medicine. Its wide range of topics explores therapies most commonly seen in the U.S., such as energy medicine, mind-body therapies, and reflexology along with traditional medicine and practices from around the world. With detailed coverage of historic and contemporary applications, this text is a solid resource for all practitioners in the medical, health, and science fields! Coverage of CAI therapies and systems includes those most commonly encountered or growing in popularity, so you can carefully evaluate each treatment. An evidence-based approach focuses on treatments best supported by clinical trials and scientific evidence. Observations from mechanisms of action to evidence of clinical efficacy answers questions of how, why, and when CAM therapies work. A unique synthesis of information, including historical usage, cultural and social analysis, current basic science theory and research, and a wide range of clinical investigations and observations, makes this text a focused, authoritative resource. Global coverage includes discussions of traditional healing arts from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Clinical guides for selecting therapies, and new advances for matching the appropriate therapy to the individual patient, enables you to offer and/or recommend individualized patient care. Expert contributors include well-known writers such as Kevin Ergil, Patch Adams, Joseph Pizzorno, and Marc Micozzi. A unique history of CAI?traces CAM therapies from their beginnings to present day practices. Suggested readings and references on the companion website list the best resources for further research and study. NEW! Added chapters offer fresh perspective on quantum biology and biofields in health and nursing, integrative mental health care, and homeopathic medicine. NEW! Updated chapters?feature new content and topics, including: challenges in integrative medicine, legal issues, CAI in the community, psychometric evaluation, placebo effect, stress management, and much more! NEW! Updated guides?on common herbal remedies?in clinical practice, East and Southeast Asia, and native North and South America deliver the latest information. NEW! Basic science content and new theory and research studies?cover a wide range of sciences such as biophysics, biology and ecology, ethnomedicine, psychometrics, neurosciences, and systems theory. NEW! Expanded global ethnomedical systems?includes new content on Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism, Central and North Asia, Southeast Asia, Nepal and Tibet, Hawaii and South Pacific, Alaska and Pacific Northwest, and contemporary global healthcare.
Call Number: R733 .F86 2019
Gordon and Nivatvongs' Principles and Practice of Surgery for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus The most comprehensive and authoritative reference available today on colorectal surgery This revised fourth edition of Gordon and Nivatvongs' Principles and Practice of Surgery for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus edited by David Beck, Steven Wexner, and Janice Rafferty strikes a perfect balance between evidence-based medicine, in-depth details, and clinical pearls. The result is a highly engaging and authoritative tome in the grand tradition of Philip Gordon and Santhat Nivatvongs. Building on the widely acclaimed previous editions' reputation for superb quality and reader-friendliness, the fourth edition includes contributions from an expanded cadre of internationally known experts. Significant advances have been made in this field since the third edition was published. The latest diagnostic modalities are highlighted such as MRI, CT angiography, and enterography. The first section covers essentials such as anatomy, physiology, diagnosis, colonoscopy, and patient management. Sections two through four discuss a full spectrum of anorectal diseases, colorectal disorders, trauma, unexpected challenges, and complications. Among the additions are expanded sections on transanal total mesorectal excision, genetics, personalized medicine, "wait and watch" principles, outpatient management of anorectal surgery, and large bowel obstruction. Key Highlights Thirty-seven chapters cover a wide array of gastrointestinal disorders such as fecal incontinence, ulcerative colitis, Crohn's disease, diverticulitis, carcinomas, and other malignant lesions A multidisciplinary team approach to rectal cancer encompasses rectal cancer protocol MRI, synoptic reporting, and various neoadjuvant therapy protocols The use of cutting-edge approaches including laparoscopy, robotics, hyperbaric oxygen, and radiofrequency tissue remodeling Superb full-color plates, illustrations, photographs, diagrams, detailed tables, graphics, and surgical videos elucidate underlying disease and management As the most comprehensive resource on colorectal surgery available on the market today, this is a must-have for every colon and rectal surgeon - from residents to veteran practitioners. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RD544 .G67 2019
Health Behavior Change: a guide for practitioners Based upon a tried and tested framework of intervention, Health Behavior Change, third edition, brings together the field of communication, the study of motivation and how people change, and insights derived from listening to and observing patients over many years, to provide a helpful source of advice on how to encourage individuals to embrace behaviour change and then maintain it. This popular paperback is written in a friendly and accessible writing style, and contains an abundance of 'real-life' clinical cases, sample interviews, and the latest evidence-base regarding best practice. The book also contains information on learning the necessary techniques, overcoming personal barriers to success, and how to use the techniques in a wide variety of settings. Learning aids include 'Useful Questions' boxes, to help learners structure consultations, 'Key Points' boxes, to summarise the crucial 'take home' message, and 'What to Avoid' boxes, which give the benefit of extensive experience. The new edition now comes with an EVOLVE© website which contains a helpful video demonstration of a successful interview, an explanatory transcript of which is given within the book, and downloadable Patient Worksheets. Suitable for a wide-ranging readership ranging from primary care physicians and nurses to physiotherapists and sports therapists, this book will be perfect for use in the primary care setting, inpatient or outpatient departments, community health projects, the A&E department, leisure facilities and occupational health clinics. Perfect for brief consultations in the healthcare and sports setting Abundance of practical examples - showing both good and bad practice - illustrate how the techniques can be used to optimum effect even with patients who are 'difficult to reach' Useful 'dialogue' between practitioner and patient illustrate points of theory Contains a chapter on how to learn the technique, including potential barriers to success Discusses the frustrations encountered in practice and provides practical tips on how to control emotion Ideal for use in the primary care setting, inpatient or outpatient departments, community health projects, the A&E department, leisure facilities or occupational health clinics Fully updated throughout with the latest research and evidence base for best practice Updated clinical examples reflect recent developments in public health Now available with an EVOLVE© website containing a helpful video demonstration of the techniques being used and downloadable Patient Worksheets
Call Number: RA776.9 .M37 2019
Hematology in Practice êêêêê Easy to read. "Very easy to follow. Made it easy to understand difficult topics!"--Amazon Reviewer êêêêê I highly recommend this book. "... straight forward and I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a solid understanding of the most important concepts behind the tests performed in a modern hematology laboratory. Some textbooks today make it difficult for hematology students and lab professionals alike to figure out what it is that they "really need to know" to be effective and competent in the lab. Hematology in Practice addresses exactly this problem. In addition, this book will give a student an understanding that is more than good enough to pass general and categorical licensing exams."--Michael B., Amazon Reviewer Basic principles of hematology made memorable. Build a solid understanding of hematology in the context of practical laboratory practice and principles. Visual language, innovative case studies, role-playing troubleshooting cases, and laboratory protocols bring laboratory practice to life. Superbly organized, this reader-friendly text breaks a complex subject into easy-to-follow, manageable sections. Begin with the basic principles of hematology; discover red and white blood cell disorders; journey through hemostasis and disorders of coagulation; and then explore the procedures needed in the laboratory.
Call Number: RB145 .C525 2018
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: *Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease *Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques *Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field *Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques *More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Call Number: RD540 .M24 2019
Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is a succinct, illustrated guide covering the practical skills needed to manage obstetric and midwifery emergencies, as well as high-risk midwifery care. It provides clear guidance on the factors which predispose to complications so that preventative management can be employed whenever possible. Broad-ranging yet easy-to-read, Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance details the underlying physiology and pathophysiology related to the emergency and explores both the physical and psychological care of the woman, partner and newborn during and following the emergency. Key features: Evidence-based, with guidance from the NMC, RCOG, NICE, and The Resuscitation Council Presented in an innovative, visual style that makes the key concepts easy to understand Provides helpful websites that expand on various topics as well as providing information on support groups for the woman and her family Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is an ideal guide for practising midwives, pre‐registration student midwives, general practitioners and junior doctors to support both revision and clinical practice.
Call Number: RG571 .C36 2019
Physical Examination and Health Assessment With an easy-to-follow approach and unmatched learning support, Jarvis' Physical Examination and Health Assessment, 8th Edition is the most authoritative, complete, and easily-implemented solution for health assessment courses in nursing. This tightly integrated learning package continues to center on Carolyn Jarvis's trademark clear, logical, and holistic approach to physical examination and health assessment across the patient lifespan. It's packed with vivid illustrations, step-by-step guidance and evidence-based content to provide a complete approach of health assessment skills and physical examination. With a fresh focus on today's need-to-know information, the 8th edition integrates QSEN and interprofessional collaboration, enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ issues, a new standalone Vital Signs chapter, and enhanced EHR and documentation content. The most trusted name in health assessment for nurses, now in its 8th edition! A clear, conversational, step-by-step, evidence-based approach to physical examination and health assessment of patients throughout the lifespan. A consistent format from chapter to chapter features sections on Structure and Function, Subjective Data, Objective Data, Documentation and Critical Thinking, and Abnormal Findings to help you learn to assess systematically. UPDATED! An unsurpassed collection of more than 1,100 full-color illustrations has been updated to vividly showcase anatomy and physiology, examination techniques, and abnormal findings. Enhanced content on the electronic health record, charting, and narrative recording exemplify how to document assessment findings using state-of-the-art systems with time-tested thoroughness. Engaging learning resources include assessment video clips; NCLEX® Exam review questions; case studies with critical thinking activities; audio clips of heart, lung, and abdominal sounds; assessment checklists, and much more. Promoting a Healthy Lifestyle boxes present opportunities for patient teaching and health promotion while performing the health assessment. Developmental Competence sections highlight content specific to infants, children, adolescents, pregnant women, and older adults. Culture and Genetics sections include information on biocultural and transcultural variations in an increasingly diverse patient population. NEW! Standalone Vital Signs chapter and refocused nutrition content include an expanded emphasis on the national epidemic of obesity. NEW! Enhanced integration of QSEN and interprofessional collaboration emphasize how to ensure patient safety during the physical exam and how to collaborate with other health professionals to promote optimal health. NEW! Enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ issues and revamped and refocused Cultural Assessment chapter equip you with the skills to practice with greater sensitivity and inclusivity. NEW! Health Promotion and Patient Teaching sections underscore the unique role of nurses (especially advanced practice nurses) in health promotion.
Call Number: RC76 .J37 2020
Management/Employee Development Books
Build an A-Team: play to their strengths and lead them up the learning curve What's the secret to having an engaged and productive team? It's having a plan for developing all employees--no matter where they are on their personal learning curves. Better morale and higher performance happen through learning, argues Whitney Johnson. In over twenty years of coaching, investing, and consulting, Johnson has seen that employees need continuous learning and fresh challenges to stay motivated. The best bosses know this, and they know how to make it happen by thoughtfully designing people's jobs around the skills they have today as well as the skills they'll need to be even more valuable tomorrow. That's how entire organizations stay competitive in an unpredictable, rapidly changing business environment. In this book, Johnson explains how to become one of those bosses and how to build your A-team by: Identifying what your employees already know and what they need to learn Designing their jobs to maximize engagement and learning Applying a seven-step process for leading each person up their learning curve We all want opportunities to learn, experiment, and grow in our jobs. When our bosses work with us to help us leap to new challenges, the result is a team that knows how to thrive, no matter what the future holds.
Call Number: HD58.82 .J65 2018
Critical Thinking and the Process of Evidence-Based Practice In Critical Thinking and the Process of Evidence-Based Practice, Eileen Gambrill provides a detailed description of the process of evidence-based practice (EBP), designed to help individual practitioners and their clients make informed decisions. This book clearly distinguishes EBP from thepromotion of EBPs, and discusses the origins of the process as well as related controversies and implementation obstacles. Ethical obligations to involve clients as informed participants are emphasized including attention to the close connection between evidentiary and ethical issues. The textfeatures chapters covering clinical expertise, argumentation, avoidance of biases and fallacies, and common organizational and personal obstacles in optimizing quality of services. It serves as a valuable resource to professionals and students in the helping professions.
Call Number: HV10.5 .G36 2019
The First-Time Manager The trusted management classic and go-to guide for anyone facing new responsibilities as a first-time manager, revised and updated to address modern management challenges. The jump from star employee to new manager is bigger than most people realize--with opportunities to fail at every step. Stumbling your way through isn't an option. Learn to conquer every challenge like a pro with the clear, candid advice in The First-Time Manager. For nearly four decades, this trusted guide has brought newcomers up to speed on the nitty-gritty realities of managing people. Leading meetings, hiring employees, motivating others, actively listening, staying calm under pressure, overcoming resistance--dozens of skills are hammered home with honest explanations of what to expect and how to excel. Examples and action steps round out the lessons. Plus, this seventh edition delivers new information that helps you manage across generations, use online performance appraisal tools, persuade with stories, oversee remote employees, build a team dynamic, match a boss's style, and more. With little experience or training, a coveted promotion can become a trial by fire. No one needs that. Turn to the book that thousands have relied on to hit the ground running.
Call Number: HF5549.12 .B453 2018
A Guide to Qualitative Meta-Synthesis A Guide to Qualitative Meta-synthesisprovides accessible guidelines for conducting all phases of theory-generating meta-synthesis research, including data collection, analysis, and theory generation. It is a research methodology that is designed to generate evidence-based theory by extracting, analyzing, and synthesizing qualitative findings from across published investigations. These theories provide scaffolding that can be used by health-care providers and other professionals to make context-based decisions and implement situation-specific actions. Theory-generating meta-synthesis methods stem from the qualitative research paradigm, especially grounded theory. Systematic and rigorous methods are used to identify topically related research reports that provide qualitative findings for analysis. The subsequent analysis of the data goes beyond merely reorganizing and recategorizing research findings. Newly synthesized concepts are developed, and the dynamic relationships among them are fully articulated. The validity of the resultant theory is ensured based on theoretical, methodological, and researcher triangulation; unbiased data collection and sampling strategies; inductive-deductive data analysis and synthesis strategies; and continuous reflexivity. Meta-synthesis-generated theories are highly important in environments where the use of normalized algorithms, guidelines, and protocols are on the rise. The types of theories discussed in this book will help service providers customize standardized tools so that the most effective evidence-based, yet individualized, interventions can be implemented.
Call Number: R853.M48 F56 2018
Health Policy Issues: an economic perspective Healthcare affects the lives of most all Americans and absorbs a large portion of the United States' resources. It also is continually debated, prompting ongoing legislative changes and market restructuring. One of the best ways to understand healthcare, in all its complexity, is from an economic perspective-that is, from the perspective of the financial self-interest of all involved parties.Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective takes just such an approach. Renowned author Paul J. Feldstein describes the forces that press for change in healthcare and explains why the US health system has evolved to its current state. This book's 38 concise, issue-oriented chapters cover various aspects of the US health system, including the cost of medical care, health insurance, Medicare and Medicaid, physician and nursing shortages, medical school admittance, malpractice reform, prescription drugs, and more. Throughout, the book integrates information about the most significant health policy enacted in many years-the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Discussion questions, key points, and further readings round out every chapter. Thoroughly revised and updated with current data and research findings, this seventh edition includes new and expanded content on the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act, physician malpractice reform, employee health benefits, generic drug shortages, political versus economic markets, and much more. The updated content includes three new chapters:¿ "Should Profits in Healthcare Be Prohibited?" discusses the role of profits and the consequences of eliminating profit. ¿ "Health Associations and the Political Marketplace" focuses on the types of legislation demanded by different health associations and explores the economic self-interest of each association's members and policy preferences. ¿ "The Affordable Care Act: Did It Achieve Its Goals?" examines one of the most important objectives of the ACA-to reduce the number of uninsured Americans-and complements the ACA coverage throughout the book. For 25 years, Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective has been highly regarded in the field of health policy. By illuminating the intersection of economics and policy, this topical book helps readers gain a better understanding of the ever-changing and multifaceted healthcare delivery system.
Call Number: RA410.53 .F455 2019
Health Professional and Patient Interaction Easily navigate through the complicated and challenging world of daily on-the-job human interactions, with Health Professional and Patient Interaction, 9th Edition. Covering strategies for effective communication, this time-tested guide offers the tools you need to establish positive patient and interprofessional relationships built on respect. It not only covers respectful actions and good decision-making, but also demonstrates how those decisions directly shape your on-the-job success. Practical examples and authentic scenarios highlight how to apply respect and professionalism to coworkers and patients of various ages and various backgrounds across a wide spectrum of healthcare environments. It's the foundation you need to effectively and successfully communicate on the job. Overall emphasis on respect sets up a basis for building positive relationships with patients and fellow health professionals through good decision-making. UNIQUE! Authentic scenarios and examples demonstrate strategies and tools for effective communication with patients of all ages in a wide range of health care settings. UNIQUE! Interdisciplinary approach addresses issues that apply to many different healthcare disciplines to help you identify with your specific field as well as recognize themes that apply across the healthcare spectrum. Authentic patient cases give you a more personal connection as to how the various communications and actions discussed in the text affect the patient. Reflections Questions throughout the text challenge you to apply critical thinking skills and your personal experience to different scenarios. Questions for Thought and Discussion at the end of each section help you apply your knowledge to a variety of situations. UNIQUE! New chapter on respectful interprofessional collaboration and communication discusses best practices for respectfully interacting with one's coworkers across the professional health team. NEW & UNIQUE! Clearer integration of respect throughout the text underscores its necessity across the many different types of interactions between the health professional and patient. NEW! Introduction on how respect impacts a professional's practice has been added to Part One of the text and covers critical topics such as establishing a professional identity and creating healthy, respectful relationships while being mindful of boundaries within such relationships. NEW! Updated photos feature health professionals engaged in authentic clinical activities.
Call Number: R727.3 .P87 2019
High-Impact Interview Questions Ask the right questions. Hire the best people. Most prospective hires come well prepared. So how do you get past the polished exteriors and rehearsed replies to discover what applicants are actually like? High-Impact Interview Questions shows you how to dig deeper using competency-based behavioral interviewing methods to uncover truly relevant and useful information. By having candidates describe specific, job-related situations (rather than relying on traditional questions), you'll gain a clearer picture of past behaviors-and more accurately predict future performance. Packed with hundreds of questions matched to in-demand skills, this user-friendly guide simplifies the process of selecting the right person for each position. Offering advice on evaluating answers and assessing cultural fit, the second edition of High-Impact Interview Questions features dozens of all-new questions designed to gauge accountability, assertiveness, attention to detail, judgment, follow-through, risk-taking, social media usage, and more. Hiring a dream employee takes more than a hunch. This book helps you ask the tough but necessary questions that reveal the real person behind the resume.
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 H59 2018
The Hospital Guide to Contemporary Utilization Review The Hospital Guide to Contemporary Utilization Review Stefani Daniels, RN, MSNA, ACM, CMAC Ronald L. Hirsch, MD, FACP, CHCQM The Hospital Guide to Contemporary Utilization Review is a comprehensive resource designed to identify utilization review (UR) best practices and provide guidance on developing and enhancing a contemporary UR committee. This book focuses on the latest UR and patient status requirements to help hospitals perform high-quality reviews and comply with regulations. The book covers a range of topics, including compliance with the UR Condition of Participation, legal obligations of a hospital, contract language, and compliant UR plan language to provide an understanding of the expectations of a UR program. Tips for intradepartmental collaboration are included to guide professionals through the process of selecting a physician advisor and partnering with nurses, case managers, and revenue cycle team members. This book will help you do the following: Identify the components of a best practice hospital utilization review (UR) program Describe the legal obligations of the hospital to comply with chapter 42 CFR 482.30 of the Conditions of Participation (CoP) Use the publication as a tool to assess his or her own hospital''s UR processes Summarize the benefits of a dedicated UR team to promote compliance with the CoP Facilitate the development of a contemporary UR committee Assess an organization''s opportunities to improve processes to benefit patient care and hospital success Recommend compliant language for the organization''s UR plan Construct commercial contract language, in collaboration with the organization''s contract manager, that promotes a partnership to ensure appropriate use of acute care resources Seek out operational resources to perform high-quality reviews that fully comply with the CoP Explain the connection between a good utilization review plan and the hospital revenue cycle initiatives Table of Contents Chapter 1: History of Utilization Review Learning Objectives Introduction Terminology: Is It Utilization Review or Utilization Management? History of Utilization Review Chapter 2: The Regulatory Environment Learning Objectives Healthcare Regulations Conditions of Participation Insurance Contracts The Regulatory Alphabet Chapter 3: The Utilization Review Committee Learning Objectives Background Information Committee Membership Reporting Structure Utilization Review Plan Content The Utilization Review Committee Agenda Data Support Chapter 4: The Utilization Review Team and Its Partners Learning Objectives The Utilization Review Team The Utilization Review Specialist First-Level Reviewers Virtual Utilization Review Second-Level Reviewers The Physician Advisor Outsourced Resources Staffing Case Managers Residents, Hospitalists, and Private Attending Physicians The Revenue Cycle Team Chapter 5: The Utilization Review Process Learning Objectives Defining Medical Necessity Prospective Reviews for Elective Admissions Pre-Certification for Elective Services Medicare Inpatient-Only List Elective Medical Admissions Concurrent Reviews for Emergent Conditions The 2-Midnight Rule Practical Application of the 2-Midnight Rule Practical Application Using Screening Tools Other Practical Applications of the 2-Midnight Rule Exceptions to the 2-Midnight Rule Applying the 2-Midnight Rule to Transfer Patients Medical Documentation and the Utilization Review Process About Observation Services Continued-Stay Review Continued-Stay Review for Treatment of Primary Disease Continued-Stay Review for Additional Testing Determination of Proper Status Level of Care Within the Hospital Secondary Review Chapter 6: Tools, Training, and Resources for the Utilization Review Team Learning Objectives Resources for Utilization Review Specialists Training and Education Nationally Recognized Acute Care Criteria Best Practice Protocols Regulatory Updates OIG Work Plan Commercial Contract Information National and Local Coverage Determinations Surgical and Nonsurgical Invasive Criteria Chapter 7: Progression of Care Learning Objectives Effective Progression of Care Objective Outcomes Supplier Information Physician-Specific Practice Profiles Physician-Specific Denial Information Progression-of-Care Delays and Avoidable Days Discharge Planning and the Utilization Review Function Utilization Review Documentation Chapter 8: Legal and Ethical Considerations Learning Objectives Ethical and Legal Obligations for Utilization Review Principles of Medical Ethics Legal Considerations Regulatory Issues Relevant to the Utilization Review Specialist Advance Beneficiary Notice Hospital Issued Notices of Non-Coverage Certification of Admissions Condition Code 44 Self-Denial of Inpatient Admissions Who should read this book? Case managers UR coordinators UR committee members UR physician advisors Nurse managers Revenue cycle managers Compliance officers and auditors Healthcare lawyers and consultants. This second edition provides valuable information on advanced alternative payment models, such as accountable care organizations and capitation.
Call Number: RA410.53 .D35 2018x
The Leadership Challenge: how to make extraordinary things happen in organizations [Kouzes & Posner] The most trusted source of leadership wisdom, updated to address today's realities The Leadership Challenge is the gold-standard manual for effective leadership, grounded in research and written by the premier authorities in the field. With deep insight into the complex interpersonal dynamics of the workplace, this book positions leadership both as a skill to be learned, and as a relationship that must be nurtured to reach its full potential. This new sixth edition has been revised to address current challenges, and includes more international examples and a laser focus on business issues; you'll learn how extraordinary leaders accomplish extraordinary things, and how to develop your leadership skills and style to deliver quality results every time. Engaging stories delve into the fundamental roles that great leaders fulfill, and simple frameworks provide a primer for those who seek continuous improvement; by internalizing key insights and putting concepts into action, you'll become a more effective, more impactful leader. A good leader gets things done; a great leader aspires, inspires, and achieves more. This book highlights the differences between good and great, and shows you how to bridge the chasm between getting things done and making things happen. Gain deep insight into leadership's critical role in organizational health Navigate the shift toward team-oriented work relationships Motivate and inspire to break through the pervasive new cynicism Leverage the electronic global village to deliver better results Business is evolving at an increasingly rapid rate, and leaders must keep pace with the changes or risk stagnation. People work differently, are motivated differently, and have different expectations today'business as usual is quickly losing its effectiveness. The Leadership Challenge helps you stay current, relevant, and effective in the modern workplace.
Call Number: HD57.7 .K68 2017
Self-Awareness (HBR Emotional Intelligence Series) Self-awareness is the bedrock of emotional intelligence that enables you to see your talents, shortcomings, and potential. But you won't be able to achieve true self-awareness with the usual quarterly feedback and self-reflection alone. This book will teach you how to understand your thoughts and emotions, how to persuade your colleagues to share what they really think of you, and why self-awareness will spark more productive and rewarding relationships with your employees and bosses. This volume includes the work of: Daniel Goleman Robert Steven Kaplan Susan David HOW TO BE HUMAN AT WORK. The HBR Emotional Intelligence Series features smart, essential reading on the human side of professional life from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Each book in the series offers proven research showing how our emotions impact our work lives, practical advice for managing difficult people and situations, and inspiring essays on what it means to tend to our emotional well-being at work. Uplifting and practical, these books describe the social skills that are critical for ambitious professionals to master.
Call Number: BF311 .S4345 2019
Speak with Impact: how to command the room and influence others Your voice matters, especially as a leader. Every day, you have an opportunity to use your voice to have a positive impact--at work or in your community. You can inspire and persuade your audience--or you can distract and put them to sleep. Nervous, rambling robotic--these presentation styles can ruin a talk on even the most critical topics. And with each weak performance, career prospects dim. To get ahead and make an impact, you need to deliver well-crafted messages with confidence and authenticity. You must sound as capable as you are. Public speaking is a skill, not a talent. With the right guidance, anyone can be a powerful speaker. Learn to conquer fear, capture attention, motivate action, and take charge of your career with Speak with Impact. Written by an opera singer turned CEO, speaker, and executive communication coach, the book unravels the mysteries of commanding attention in any setting, professional or personal. Whether it's speaking up at a meeting, presenting to clients, or talking to large groups, the book's easy-to-use frameworks, examples, and exercises help you Kickstart the creative process Compose a clear and concise message Engage your audience through storytelling and humor Banish filler words and uptalk Strengthen and project your voice Use breathing techniques to overcome stage fright Use effective body language Build your executive presence Deliver presentations with confidence and authenticity When you know what to say and how to say it, people listen. Find your powerful voice... and step into leadership. Speak with impact.
Call Number: PN4129.15 .S53 2018x
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!