Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
CBIC Exam Book 2018-2019: CBIC study guide and practice test questions for the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial CBIC EXAM BOOK 2018-2019: CBIC Study Guide and Practice Test Questions for the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. These materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. CBIC was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's CBIC EXAM BOOK 2018-2019 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the CBIC exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's CBIC EXAM BOOK 2018-2019 covers: IDENTIFYING INFECTIOUS DISEASES SURVEILLANCE, ANALYSIS AND CHANGE PREVENTING AND CONTROLLING TRANSMISSION OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH PROGRAMS LEADERSHIP, MANAGEMENT AND COMMUNICATION EDUCATION ...and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: RA761 .C23 2018x
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: a framework for success The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project, A Framework for Success, Third Edition guides students and faculty in the DNP project process. With a primary focus on delivering key information on planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing. The Third Edition focuses on the evolution of the DNP degree by featuring AACN taskforce updates and reorganized content about the clinical scholar and practice scholarship. With chapters devoted to formulating a meaningful DNP project, from selecting appropriate project team members to the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project appropriately, it serves as a comprehensive guide for students and faculty alike. New to the Third Edition: * Updated historical perspectives * Overview of project variability * Coverage of project sustainability and measures of impact * New chapter on health policy, how policies impact practice, and how the DNP nursing role relates to advocacy.
Call Number: RT75 .M67 2020
IBCLC Exam Secrets Study Guide: your key to success [Lactation Consultant Review] Mometrix Test Preparation's IBCLC Exam Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their International Board Certified Lactation Consultant Examination. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes:
Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations
Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance
A complete review of all Lactation Consultant test sections
Development and Nutrition
Physiology and Endocrinology
Psychology, Sociology, and Anthropology
Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners.
The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your Lactation Consultant exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.
The Development and Nutrition section covers:
Normal Newborn Feeding Behaviors
Indicators of Well-Being
Identification of Food Intolerances and Allergies
Normal Positioning for Infants while Breastfeeding
The Physiology and Endocrinology section covers:
Ongoing Postpartum Feeding of Multiples
The Pathology section covers:
Common Congenital Disorders
Connection between Chronic Disease and Breastfeeding
Acute Illness and Breastfeeding
Milk Overproduction Symptoms and Prevention
The Psychology, Sociology, and Anthropology section covers:
Home Birth Practices
Cultural Impact of Birthing Practices
Impacts of Psychosis and Bipolar Disorder on Breastfeeding
Safe Sleep Practices
...and much more!
Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix Lactation Consultant study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language.
Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of Lactation Consultant practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.
We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our IBCLC Exam Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the Lactation Consultant review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RJ216 .I22 2017x
Interpersonal Relationships: professional communication skills for nurses Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies.
UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts.
UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications.
UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication.
UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing.
UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis.
Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy.
Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills.
Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards.
Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship ― all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care.
Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication.
Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment.
Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs.
Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text.
Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery.
NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Call Number: RT86.3 .A76 2020
Introduction to Nursing Research: incorporating evidence-based practice Evidence-based practice is the process nurses and other clinicians use to inform their decisions about patient care and delivery. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition emphasizes EBP as a foundation for safe and effective health care. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice. Key Features: Case studies which reflect the application of basic nursing care concepts Evidence-based practice components featuring sentinel events, medication errors, HIPPA, and quality improvement Evidence-based practice research searches compared to research expectations Coverage of Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA process) Overview of tools such as Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Transforming care at the Bedside (TCAB) Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Call Number: RT81.5 .B68 2020
LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing: clinical reasoning in patient care For courses in medical-surgical nursing. The novice nurse's guide to whole-patient care LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care offers the skills and knowledge needed to provide safe, evidence-based care for the diseases and disorders the new nurse will most likely encounter, based on incidence and prevalence data. The theme is that patient care should address the whole person, not just the malfunction of body systems. Rather than memorize medical conditions, readers build the clinical reasoning skills they need to safely perform simple to complex tasks. The 7th edition has a new section on transitions of care and a new chapter linking sleep and health. It is now organized with a more consistent chapter structure for easier navigation.
Call Number: RT41 .M493 2020
Mastering Concept-Based Teaching Get all the strategies and guidance you need successfully implement conceptual learning with Mastering Concept-Based Teaching, 2nd Edition. Written specifically for nursing faculty, renowned educators Dr. Jean Foret Giddens, Dr. Linda Caputi, and Dr. Beth Rodgers walk you through the background and benefits of using a concept-based learning approach; how to plan, develop, and deliver an effective concept-based course; and how to improve and evaluate student learning with concepts. This new second edition also features two new chapters ― one on how to conduct concept-based clinical experiences and another chapter on the future of concept-based interprofessional learning. You’ll also find updated content, more of the highly helpful Misconceptions and Clarifications boxes, and a more streamlined design with added color and larger type. So whether you’re teaching in an LPN, ADN, BSN, or MSN program, this insightful book is here to ensure a smooth execution concept-based teaching.
Framework for developing a concept-based curriculum provides guidance throughout the general steps associated with developing a CBC.
Strong foundation in how to teach within a concept-based curriculum dives into the nature of concepts, their function in the process of learning, and the importance of being consistent in the selection and implementation of concepts.
Balanced teaching strategies illustrate ways to enhance the conceptual approach through engaging learning activities and an open environment.
Success evaluation criteria explains the importance of analyzing evaluation data to determine the effectiveness of a new curriculum on meeting program learning outcomes.
NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research in the neuroscience of learning, insightful illustrations, and best practices in concept-based curriculum design and instruction.
NEW! Expanded use of Misconceptions and Clarifications boxes also reflects the latest research in conceptual learning to help clarify important concepts.
NEW! Added color improves teaching and learning value.
UNIQUE! New chapter on concept-based clinical experiences includes simulation and lab experiences, "live" clinical experiences, and clinical learning activities for inpatient, outpatient, community, and health systems-level experiences.
UNIQUE! New chapter on thinking conceptually and the future of concept-based interprofessional learning covers both the ways CBC is spreading beyond just nursing and how to encourage faculty to shift their thinking to develop reasoning and critical thinking skills in students versus rote learning of content.
Call Number: RT73 .G52 2020x
Mastering Precepting: a nurse's handbook for success Nurse preceptors have the power and opportunity to inspire nurses to achieve greatness. Effective precepting programs depend on two critical groups: nurses who organize and manage the programs and nurses who support, teach, and coach. Author, Beth Ulrich provides the knowledge, tools, skills, and wisdom both groups need for success.
Written for staff nurses and their managers, this second edition of Mastering Precepting: A Nurse s Handbook for Success teaches preceptors both the science and art of education and empowers them to seek the support they need to be effective. For managers, it emphasizes the importance of providing nurse preceptors with positive and supportive experiences. This fully revised new edition covers: Roles, planning, goals, and motivation Specific learner populations Self-care and burnout precautions
Call Number: RT74.7 .M37 2019
Maternal Newborn Nursing Exam Secrets Study Guide: your key to exam success ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Maternal Newborn Nursing Exam Secrets helps you ace the Maternal Newborn Nurse Exam without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Maternal Newborn Nursing Exam Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Maternal Newborn Nursing Exam Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to Maternal Newborn Exam Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; A comprehensive Content review including: Maternal Age, Maternal Malnutrition, Nulligravida, Grand Multiparity, Psychosocial Issues, Female Infertility, Male Fertility Tests, Reproduction Methods., Fertility Drugs, Amenorrhea, Physiological Changes, Pregnancy Tests, Diabetes Mellitus, Anemia, Congenital Heart Defects, Substance Abuse, Multiple Gestations, Oligohydramnios, Polyhydramnios, Fetal Ultrasound, Amniocentesis, Alpha-Fetoprotein, Tachycardia, Bradycardia, Cord Blood Gas Testing, Pudendal Nerve Block, Fetal Macrosomia, Cephalic, Meconium, Chorioamnionitis, Abruptio Placentae, Placenta Previa, Prolapsed Umbilical Cord, Forceps-Assisted Birth, Vacuum-Assisted Birth, Caesarian Section, GI Motility Drugs, and much more...
Call Number: RG951 .M385 2018x
Nurse Management & Executive Practice Get ready to lead large health systems on the corporate level, or to serve on hospital and other health boards and commissions, with the information-packed guidance and wisdom of Nurse Management and Executive Practice. Let a team of nursing management experts guide you on the full range of vital topics, including management styles, research methodology, current fiscal best practices, and technology tips. Offering clear definitions and examples of the roles, skills, and responsibilities of the nurse manager or executive, this authoritative book solidly prepares you to pass the nurse executive certification examinations. Use this expert, evidence-based guide to build a strong foundation as a nurse manager or executive: -Ideal preparation for the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) exams-offers back-of-the-book nursing executive certification prep questions, plus research questions that support critical thinking skills -Excellent pre-study for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree -Offers definitions and insights on proven management and leadership models, skills, responsibilities, and processes to improve patient outcomes, as exemplified by the ANCC's Magnet Recognition Program -Provides case examples that demonstrate theories and concepts in the text -Offers seasoned guidance on career planning and succession planning -Offers in-depth, real-world guidance on: o Leadership responsibilities-including leadership theories, organizational theories, governance, business models, strategic partnerships, and a range of nursing care models o Human capital management o Nursing research and evidence-based practice-including nursing theory o Data analysis o Legal and ethical issues in healthcare and nursing o Strategic planning and management-including setting objectives, strategic analysis, long-range planning, and management models and techniques o Communication skills, components, and processes o Assessment of communities o Health promotion and disease prevention o Informatics and innovation o Quality improvement, patient safety, and risk management o Systems thinking o Cultural and intergenerational diversity o Budgeting and financial management o Healthcare policy -Offers end-of-chapter case study and questions that assist you in applying the principles or skills demonstrated in the case study
Call Number: RT89 .N8773 2019x
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: planning, individualizing, and documenting client care Assessment tools to help you select the appropriate diagnosis Alphabetized monographs for hundreds of diseases and disorders reflecting all specialty areas Associated nursing diagnoses that are presented by priority and written as client problem/need statements NIC and NOC linkages with each diagnosis Unique presentation of action/invention by priority with rationales...with icons for cultural * collaborative * diagnostic studies * medications * community/home health * pediatric/geriatric/lifespan Documentation section that emphasizes the importance of what and why Taxonomy information that defines the domain in which the nursing diagnosis belongs, along with the date the nursing diagnosis was approved or revised Pediatric considerations in the monographs, where appropriate References to support evidenced-based practice
Call Number: RT48.6 .D643 2019
Palliative Care: a guide for health social workers Accessible and instructive, Palliative Care guides and inspires health social workers to integrate palliative care principles into their current clinical practice. Through the lenses of environmental theory and intersectionality, rich case narratives and diverse practice settings highlightopportunities for social workers to enhance their work, thereby advancing whole-person care in the face of serious illness. The volume also models engagement, assessment, and intervention through key palliative care skills and language. Chapters include questions to concretize ideas and demonstratereal-world application, while case narratives cover a range of settings, diagnoses, and populations. This book is a useful tool for any social worker working with individuals and families navigating complex health care systems.
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
Primary Care: the art and science of advanced practice nursing-an interprofessional approach Davis Edge for Primary Care, 5th Edition www.DavisEdge.com Access Card: 978-0-8036- 8973-2 Instant Access: 978-0-8036-8974-9 The Primary Care text's learning solution that helps prepare students for their roles as Advanced Practice Nurses in the primary care setting. An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks Davis Edge, including online case studies and an ebook powered by VitalSource. LEARNING--Text Primary Care The Art and Science of Advanced Practice Nursing, 5th Edition The premier reference for APNs providing primary care! Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners in collaboration with a physician, this popular text is unique to the Advanced Practice Nurse's role. It offers a solid understanding of the theoretical foundation of everything Primary Care. Its comprehensive and easy-to-follow presentation examines the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders of every body system across the life span. APPLYING--Case Studies Online case studies feature real-world scenarios that provide the practical application that enables students to further develop their clinical decision-making skills as they learn how to properly diagnose and treat the patients they will see in the primary care setting. ASSESSING--Online Quizzing Davis Edge www.DavisEdge.com Davis Edge is the interactive, online Q&A review platform that provides the practice students need to master course content and improve their scores on classroom exams. Over 1,000 board-style practice questions written for Primary Care test student's knowledge and retention of what they are learning in the book. For instructors, it provides the real-time information they need to monitor, track, and assess their class' vital signs...their students' mastery of the content and their critical-thinking and decision-making skills. They'll be able to easily identify the areas in which students are struggling and intervene quickly in class and on assignments to ensure that they succeed. See what students are saying online... Easy to read. "Organized text, easy to read. Case studies are relevant to practice. Excellent test bank questions to help review the different systems."--Kristina C. Five Stars. "This book gives good outline and knowledge about primary care."--Marriane D.
Call Number: RT82.8 .P755 2019
Wright and Leahey's Nurses and Families: a guide to family assessment and intervention Detailed clinical guidelines for preparing, conducting, and documenting a family interview. Clinical examples of diversity issues such as ethnicity, race, culture, sexual orientation, gender, and socioeconomic class Coverage of current issues in families, including genetics, terrorism, obesity, ethics, spirituality, intergenerational adoption, infertility, and diversity. Genograms for blended families with multiple parents and siblings.
Call Number: RT120.F34 W75 2019
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC261 .C6512 2020
Cellular Imaging: electron tomography and related techniques This book highlights important techniques for cellular imaging and covers the basics and applications of electron tomography and related techniques. In addition, it considers practical aspects and broadens the technological focus by incorporating techniques that are only now becoming accessible (e.g. block face imaging). The first part of the book describes the electron microscopy 3D technique available to scientists around the world, allowing them to characterize organelles, cells and tissues. The major emphasis is on new technologies like scanning transmission electron microscopy (STEM) tomography, though the book also reviews some of the more proven technologies like electron tomography. In turn, the second part is dedicated to the reconstruction of data sets, signal improvement and interpretation
Call Number: RC78.7.T6 C46 2018
Delee, Drez & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD97 .O78 2020, 2 vol.set
Epidemiology and Biostatistics: an introduction to clinical research This is a concise introduction to epidemiology and biostatistics written specifically for medical students and first-time learners of clinical research methods. It presents the core concepts of epidemiology and of biostatistics and illustrates them with extensive examples from the clinical literature. It is the only book on the market written to speak directly to medical students and first-time biomedical researchers by using language and examples that are easy to understand. This newly updated second edition is extensively rewritten to provide the clearest explanations and examples. There is also a sister-text, a 150-problem workbook of practice problems that can be purchased alongside this textbook. The author continues to provide a text that is attractively fast-paced and concise for use in condensed courses, such as those taught in medical school. The book is an excellent review for the epidemiology section of the United States Medical Licensing Examination Part I which all medical students must take at the end of the second year.
Call Number: RA651 .K47 2019x
Molecular Diagnostics: fundamentals, methods , and clinical applications Coverage of the application of molecular diagnostics to the clinical laboratory encompass human identification, microbiology, oncology, and tissue typing. More than 300 line drawings clearly illustrate molecular biology concepts and diagnostic applications. "Advanced Concepts" appear in boxes throughout the text to challenge those students interested in learning more. "Historical Highlights" provide a historical perspective to current laboratory practices. "Case Studies" in the clinical chapters illustrate the application of molecular biology concepts to diagnostic testing and patient care. Study Questions at the end of each chapter reinforce the content. Answers, included in the appendix, allow for self assessment outside of the classroom.
Call Number: RB43.7 .B83 2019
Neuromuscular Disorders: a comprehensive review with illustrative cases This book provides a concise overview of the diagnosis and therapy of a wide variety of neuromuscular disorders, in tabulated form and with illustrative cases. Treating neuromuscular disorders calls for a sound, step-by-step clinical approach based on differential diagnosis and laboratory investigations. Yet to date, there has been no single, compact book that offers all the relevant information related to the management of these disorders. This book fills that gap, presenting the state of the art in the field and addressing practical problems together with their solutions. Each chapter covers disorder characteristics, clinical differentiating points, relevant investigations and their interpretation, available genetic testing, best management approaches and counselling. Illustrative cases provide valuable insights, while extensive tables and illustrations mean that information can be rapidly found.
Call Number: RC925 .K54 2018
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: vascular surgery A state-of-the-art neurovascular surgery atlas from internationally renowned neurosurgeon R. Loch Macdonald Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Vascular Neurosurgery, Third Edition, by R. Loch Macdonald and expert contributors, reflects the latest advances in endoscopic, endovascular, microsurgical, and bypass techniques used in the treatment of cerebrovascular disease. The entire atlas has been streamlined and updated with new content, including 38 videos that complement the concise step-by-step guidance in the text. The book begins with five chapters on vascular and microsurgical instrumentation and equipment, clipping versus coiling, aneurysm surgery techniques, the pterional approach, and minimally invasive approaches. Disease and procedure-specific chapters are organized by three sections: aneurysms and subarachnoid hemorrhage, vascular malformations, and ischemic and other cerebrovascular disease. Every chapter includes salient tips on patient selection and procedural indications, preoperative information and tests, patient positioning, operative nuances, and postoperative complications. Key Highlights Nearly 300 high-quality color illustrations detail impacted anatomy and procedures The latest techniques for treating a full spectrum of aneurysms, such as ophthalmic segment, supraclinoid internal carotid artery, middle and anterior cerebral artery, basilar and posterior cerebral artery, and others Treatment of vascular abnormalities including arteriovenous malformations, superficial and brainstem cavernous malformations, arteriovenous fistulae, Moyamoya disease, and more Neurosurgical residents will benefit from the firsthand knowledge shared by international masters, while veteran neurosurgeons will glean invaluable insights on cutting-edge endovascular techniques to enhance clinical practice.
Call Number: RD594.2 .N475 2019
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine MINI Now available in a mini format, the tenth edition of the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine has been fully revised, with five new authors on the writing team bringing content fresh from the bedside.Space has been breathed into the design, with more core material at your fingertips in quick-reference lists and flow diagrams, and key references have been honed to the most up-to-date and relevant. Each page has been updated to reflect the latest changes in practice and best management, and thechapters on gastroenterology, history and examination, infectious disease, neurology, and radiology have been extensively revised. Unique among medical texts, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine is a complete and concise guide to the core areas of medicine that also encourages thinking about the world from the patient's perspective, offering a holistic, patient-centred approach. Loved and trusted by millions for over three decades, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be a truly indispensable companion for the practice of modern medicine.
Call Number: RC59 .H67 2018
PET and PET/CT: a clinical guide Top-selling, concise guide to PET and PET/CT imaging from distinguished radiologists, now in a new edition! PET and PET/CT have been increasingly used as effective imaging modalities in the management of patients with cancer, neurologic disease, musculoskeletal disease, and cardiac disease. PET and PET/CT: A Clinical Guide, Third Edition by world renowned molecular imaging pioneer Abass Alavi and esteemed diagnostic and nuclear radiologist Eugene Lin features the latest advances in PET technology in an easy-to-read format. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on scanner physics, radionuclide basics, study interpretation, patient preparation, quantitative whole-body PET/CT imaging, normal variants, benign findings, and clinical applications. Key Highlights Oncology-related chapters include the use of PET for rare and common cancers -- from brain neoplasms and musculoskeletal tumors -- to breast and colorectal cancers Updated with the latest scientific literature and guidelines Specialized topics include Gadolinium-68 imaging techniques, pediatric PET/CT, utilization for radiation therapy planning and infection and inflammation evaluations, and neurological and cardiac applications A state-of-the-chapter on PET/MRI More than 500 high-quality images, including many in full color Succinct yet comprehensive, this state-of-the-art book will enable clinicians to master a highly complex imaging discipline at an accelerated pace. Residents and veteran practitioners in the fields of nuclear medicine, radiology, oncology, radiation oncology, and nuclear medicine technology will benefit from reading this resource. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RC78.7.T62 L56 2019
Population Health: a primer Population Health: A Primer considers population health as an effort to bring together clinicians, health administrators, and public health professionals to address health problems of large groups or populations. This concise text provides an overview of population health, including the key concepts and approaches needed to build an educational foundation for this rapidly emerging field. Population Health: A Primer is organized into three units which address the following questions: * What is population health and why does it matter? * What is systems thinking and how can we get the job done? * What are the tools of population health? Suitable for use in a wide variety of disciplines, including nursing, pharmacy, physician assistants and other clinical health professions as well as health administration and public health, this text offers: * A concise and affordable option. This short, reasonably priced text provides an easy way to integrate a population health perspective into a variety of courses. * Practical application. Case studies in each unit illustrate how these approaches can be applied in practice. * Important pedagogical features including learning objectives, frameworks, case studies with discussion questions, glossary, tables and boxes that provide valuable guidance and resources for students. * Helpful Instructor's Resources. Insightful instructor's guide and test bank provide additional resources for instructors and facilitate integrating the book into a range of courses. .
Call Number: RA418 .R54 2020
Psychosocial Care of End-Organ Disease and Transplant Patients Th is book takes an integrated, evidence-based approach the psychiatricaspects of organ transplantation. Unlike any other text currently on the market, this title presents the core principles of transplant psychiatry through an organ-based structure that includes the heart, lungs, liver, GI organs, kidney, composite tissue, and other key areas of transplantation. Each section is divided into chapters discussing psychosocial, medical, and surgical considerations prior to and post-transplant, such as indications leading to a particular type of transplantation, medical course and complications aft er transplantation, psychiatric and psychosocial considerations before and aft er transplantation, history of each type of organ transplant, and any other special considerations. Th e text ends with special topics in care, including psychopharmacology, substance abuse, psychosocial evaluation of recipients and donors, ethical considerations, cross-cultural aspects, and building the transplant psychiatry practice. It includes excellent learning tools, including over 140 tables and figures for ease of use. Written by interdisciplinary experts, Psychosocial Care of End-Stage Disease and Transplant Patients is a valuable resource for students and medical professionals interested in psychiatry, psychology, psychosomatic medicine, transplant surgery, internists, hospital administrators, pharmacists, nurses, and social workers.
Call Number: RD120.7 .P79 2019x
Rockwood and Wilkins Fractures in Children With contributions from experts in orthopaedic surgery, the latest edition of this comprehensive resource presents up-to-date technical procedures for treating a wide range of fractures in children and adolescents. Content and chapters are easier to read than ever before. How? All clinical sections follow a templatized format--as in previous editions--and now you'll find even more treatment algorithms, checklists, charts, and tables, helping you quickly identify and apply critical information in a care situation. Easy-to-read tables outlining non-operative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. Authors' preferred treatment options are now highlighted and as precise and detailed algorithms. Preoperative planning procedures now presented in a checklist format. Ideal for pediatric orthopaedic surgeons and residents in orthopaedics. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD101 .F74 2020
Spinal Cord Medicine In this comprehensive, clinically directed, reference for the diagnosis and treatment of persons with spinal cord injury and related disorders, editors of the two leading texts on spinal cord injury (SCI) medicine have joined together to develop a singular premier resource for professionals in the field. Spinal Cord Medicine, Third Edition draws on the expertise of seasoned editors and experienced chapter authors to produce one collaborative volume with the most up-to-date medical, clinical, and rehabilitative knowledge in spinal cord injury management across the spectrum of care. This jointly configured third edition builds on the foundation of both prior texts to reflect the breadth and depth of the specialty. Containing 60 state-of-the-art chapters, the book is divided into sections covering introduction and assessment, acute injury management and surgical considerations, medical management, neurological and musculoskeletal care, rehabilitation, recent research advances, system-based practice, and special topics. New and expanded content focuses on the significant changes in the epidemiology of traumatic injury, the classification of SCI, and the latest medical treatments of multiple medical complications. In addition, chapters discuss new surgical considerations in acute and chronic SCI and the many advances in technology that impact rehabilitation and patients' overall quality of life. With chapters authored by respected leaders in spinal cord medicine, including those experienced in spinal cord injury medicine, physical medicine and rehabilitation, neurology, neurosurgery, therapists, and researchers, this third edition goes beyond either of the prior volumes to combine the best of both and create a new unified reference that defines the current standard of care for the field. Key Features: Covers all aspects of spinal cord injury and disease with updates on epidemiology of spinal cord injury, the classification of spinal cord injury, newer methods of surgical intervention post-injury, updates to medications, advances in rehabilitation, and changes in technologyBrings together two leading references to create a singular evidence-based resource that defines the current standard of care for spinal cord medicinePresents the most current medical, clinical, and rehabilitation intelligenceChapters written by experts across the spectrum of specialists involved in the care of persons with spinal cord injuryIncludes access to the downloadable ebook
Call Number: RD594.3 .S84 2019
Tresch and Aronow's Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly With an exponential growth in the number of older adults, understanding the common disorders of the elderly patient requiring cardiac care is becoming increasingly important. Incorporating recent advances in the field, Tresch and Aronow's Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly 6th Edition has been completely revised and updated to provide cardiologists, primary care physicians, geriatricians and other clinicians caring for the elderly a comprehensive and accessible overview of the epidemiology, pathophysiology and treatment of cardiovascular disorders in older patients.
Call Number: RC669 .C279 2019
Management/Employee Development Books
The Business of Platforms: strategy in the age of digital competition, innovation, and power A trio of experts on high-tech business strategy and innovation reveal the principles that have made platform businesses the most valuable firms in the world and the first trillion-dollar companies. Managers and entrepreneurs in the digital era must learn to live in two worlds--the conventional economy and the platform economy. Platforms that operate for business purposes usually exist at the level of an industry or ecosystem, bringing together individuals and organizations so they can innovate and interact in ways not otherwise possible. Platforms create economic value far beyond what we see in conventional companies. The Business of Platforms is an invaluable, in-depth look at platform strategy and digital innovation. Cusumano, Gawer, and Yoffie address how a small number of companies have come to exert extraordinary influence over every dimension of our personal, professional, and political lives. They explain how these new entities differ from the powerful corporations of the past. They also question whether there are limits to the market dominance and expansion of these digital juggernauts. Finally, they discuss the role governments should play in rethinking data privacy laws, antitrust, and other regulations that could reign in abuses from these powerful businesses. Their goal is to help managers and entrepreneurs build platform businesses that can stand the test of time and win their share of battles with both digital and conventional competitors. As experts who have studied and worked with these firms for some thirty years, this book is the most authoritative and timely investigation yet of the powerful economic and technological forces that make platform businesses, from Amazon and Apple to Microsoft, Facebook, and Google--all dominant players in shaping the global economy, the future of work, and the political world we now face.
Call Number: HD30.28 .C87 2019x
Co-Active Coaching: the proven framework for transformative conversations at work and life The definitive edition - updated and expanded. 'The bible of coaching guides...No other book gives you the tools, skills, and the fundamentals needed to succeed in these delicate relationships.' Stephen R. Covey, Author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People Co-Active Coaching offers current and aspiring coaches, leaders and managers in organisations and anyone wanting to strengthen interpersonal relationships, a practical, yet transformative communication process called the Co-Active Model. Since its creation by the authors more than 25 years ago, the Co-Active Model and the book have formed the foundation of the authors' six-part coach training program delivered globally to tens of thousands of individuals each year through the authors' training institute, CTI. With its origins in the coaching profession, the Co-Active Model also applies to work and interpersonal relationships because it is based on principles of effective communication backed by current scientific research. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the universal applicability of the the Co-Active Model is emphasised. It goes beyond the one-on-one coach/coachee structure to include guidance for leaders and managers on how they can add a coaching competency to their professional skill set. New to this edition: · Every chapter has been updated for relevance and direct application to coaching in all of its forms, including in the workplace · New material covering: current neuroscience research, Co-Active approaches to leadership development and working with groups and teams · More examples drawn from the authors' first-hand experiences, especially in workplace settings · More examples of the Co-Active Model applied internationally · Updated/fine-tuned glossary (less jargon) · Web-based 'Toolkit' with 27 exercises, questionnaires, checklists, and reproducible forms
Call Number: BF637.S4 W484 2018
Coaching for Performance: the principles and practice of coaching and leadership Coaching for Performance is the #1 book for coaches, leaders, talent managers and professionals around the world. This is the definitive, updated and expanded edition. "The proven resource for all coaches and pioneers of the future of coaching." Magdalena N. Mook, CEO, International Coach Federation (ICF) An international bestseller, featuring the powerful GROW model, this book is the founding text of the coaching profession. It explains why enabling people to bring the best out of themselves is the key to driving productivity, growth, and engagement. A meaningful coaching culture has the potential to transform the relationship between organizations and employees and to put both on the path to long-term success. Written by Sir John Whitmore, the pioneer of coaching, and Performance Consultants, the global market leaders in performance coaching, this extensively revised and extended edition will revolutionize the traditional approach to organizational culture. Brand new practical exercises, corporate examples, coaching dialogues, and a glossary, strengthen the learning process, whilst a critical new chapter demonstrates how to measure the benefits of coaching as a return on investment, ensuring this landmark new edition will remain at the forefront of professional coaching and leadership development. "Shines a light on what it takes to create high performance." John McFarlane, Chairman, Barclays, Chairman, TheCityUK
Call Number: PE1408 .S48787 2019
Deep Medicine: how artificial intelligence can make healthcare human again One of America's top doctors reveals how AI will empower physicians and revolutionize patient care Medicine has become inhuman, to disastrous effect. The doctor-patient relationship--the heart of medicine--is broken: doctors are too distracted and overwhelmed to truly connect with their patients, and medical errors and misdiagnoses abound. In Deep Medicine, leading physician Eric Topol reveals how artificial intelligence can help. AI has the potential to transform everything doctors do, from notetaking and medical scans to diagnosis and treatment, greatly cutting down the cost of medicine and reducing human mortality. By freeing physicians from the tasks that interfere with human connection, AI will create space for the real healing that takes place between a doctor who can listen and a patient who needs to be heard. Innovative, provocative, and hopeful, Deep Medicine shows us how the awesome power of AI can make medicine better, for all the humans involved.
Call Number: R858 .T658 2019
Enterprise Agility in Healthcare: candid case studies of successful organizational transformations Enterprise Agility in Healthcareexplains why agility is vital to organizational survival. It details the critical variables that only executive leaders can address in a way that ensures success. It uses the experiences of two major healthcare organizations in order to frame the situational context surrounding the variables and then explains why and how the leaders in those organizations made choices that proved to be extraordinarily successful ... in the real world! The common challenge shared by healthcare, aerospace, and information-centric industries of every type is the extraordinary complexity and uncertainty driven by the enormous number of individual, yet codependent factors, whether in humans and their cellular functioning, or vehicles and the interaction of materials and environment, requiring leaders and decision-makers at every level to connect, interact, and synthesize vital, fluctuating data, typically via technology-intermediated network structures with varying content and scale. The networks may be obvious, like the organizational structure, while others are more abstract or virtual, like social networks and ecosystems Despite healthcare's amazing success in improving the quality and average lifespan of human beings, the maximum lifespan remains unchanged at no more than 125 years. Very few healthcare organizations live for much longer, with most disappearing before reaching one-third of that lifespan. How systems, people, and culture respond as organizational size changes is a challenge and also an opportunity in scaling for any information-centric industry. This book will use the actual, real-world experiences of two, very successful healthcare organizations to provide specific, actionable insights into the principles and practices that provoke success. Because scaling plays a determinative role in the successful design of everything from airplanes to skyscrapers, its impact on how effective and efficient an organization is remains a continuous challenge. Perhaps understanding scaling is of greater urgency due to the increasingly large and complex structures required for companies, institutions and governments to continuously evolve the complex adaptive systems they have become. This book focuses on organizational expansion in healthcare. By examining two organizations with similar, yet very different growth experiences, this book demonstrates very successful, very real outcomes while offering key insights into the principles and practices that drove them.
Call Number: RA971 .S752 2019
Evidence-Informed Health Policy: using EBP to transform policy in nursing and healthcare What happens in health policy at local, state, and federal levels directly affects patients, nurses, and nursing practice. Some healthcare professionals, though, are intimidated by the knotty policy process or simply dont know how to take the first step toward implementing policy change. In Evidence-Informed Health Policy authors Jacqueline M. Loversidge and Joyce Zurmehly demystify health policymaking and equip nurses and other healthcare professionals with the knowledge, tools, and confidence to navigate that first stepand many steps beyond.
Call Number: RA427 .L68 2019x
The Fearless Organization: creating psychological safety in the workplace for learning, innovation and growth Conquer the most essential adaptation to the knowledge economy The Fearless Organization: Creating Psychological Safety in the Workplace for Learning, Innovation, and Growth offers practical guidance for teams and organizations who are serious about success in the modern economy. With so much riding on innovation, creativity, and spark, it is essential to attract and retain quality talent--but what good does this talent do if no one is able to speak their mind? The traditional culture of "fitting in" and "going along" spells doom in the knowledge economy. Success requires a continuous influx of new ideas, new challenges, and critical thought, and the interpersonal climate must not suppress, silence, ridicule or intimidate. Not every idea is good, and yes there are stupid questions, and yes dissent can slow things down, but talking through these things is an essential part of the creative process. People must be allowed to voice half-finished thoughts, ask questions from left field, and brainstorm out loud; it creates a culture in which a minor flub or momentary lapse is no big deal, and where actual mistakes are owned and corrected, and where the next left-field idea could be the next big thing. This book explores this culture of psychological safety, and provides a blueprint for bringing it to life. The road is sometimes bumpy, but succinct and informative scenario-based explanations provide a clear path forward to constant learning and healthy innovation. Explore the link between psychological safety and high performance Create a culture where it's "safe" to express ideas, ask questions, and admit mistakes Nurture the level of engagement and candor required in today's knowledge economy Follow a step-by-step framework for establishing psychological safety in your team or organization Shed the "yes-men" approach and step into real performance. Fertilize creativity, clarify goals, achieve accountability, redefine leadership, and much more. The Fearless Organization helps you bring about this most critical transformation.
Call Number: HD58.7 .E287 2019
Field Guide to the Business of Medicine Today's health care is much more than Medicine. Health care professionals and administrators must be familiar with the non-medical aspects of health care if they are to be successful. From the basics of government and private insurance, to reimbursement methods, payment models, practice paradigms and new industry trends this indispensable guide provides much-needed information for medical students and residents, emerging health care professionals, and anyone who wants a clear perspective on the requisites, protocols, and regulations of today's health care system. -Delivers up-to-date, must-know information on today's changing health care system, recent reforms, and the economics of practicing medicine - areas that are critical to career decision making and professional success. -Uses an easy-to-read, quick-reference format that features numerous tables, diagrams, and links for efficient learning. -Covers practical business and administrative challenges not often addressed in medical school and other formal health care training: credentialing, schedule planning, budgeting, benefits coverage, and much more. -Includes practical coverage of insurance plans, physician reimbursement, documentation, billing and coding, medical malpractice and health law, social media, and more. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech -Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: R728 .F54 2019x
Health Insurance and Managed Care: what they are and how they work Health Insurance and Managed Care: What They Are and How They Work is a concise introduction to the workings of health insurance and managed care within the American health care system. Written in clear and accessible language, this text offers an historical overview of managed care before walking the reader through the organizational structures, concepts, and practices of the health insurance and managed care industry. The Fifth Edition is a thorough update that addresses the current status of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA), including political pressures that have been partially successful in implementing changes. This new edition also explores the changes in provider payment models and medical management methodologies that can affect managed care plans and health insurer. The Fifth Edition also offers new or expanded coverage of: * "Moral hazard," and its application in health insurance and managed care * The ever expanding and evolving payment systems and methodologies used in the U.S. Healthcare System * The role of benefits design along with discussion about medical necessity and its impact on benefits coverage * The impact of limitations on sales, governance and administrative (SG&A) costs and profits * Continued changes in payment mechanisms such as value-based payment under the Medicare Improvement for Patients and Providers Act (MIPPA) * Medicare Part D, the drug benefit and the plans that offer it, as well as the complexities of Medicare Advantage payment plans, Medicaid expansion under ACA, and more.
Call Number: RA413.5.U5 K655 2020
How to Write a Lot: a practical guide to productive academic writing All academics need to write, but many struggle to finish their dissertations, articles, books, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule. How can we write it all while still having a life? In this second edition of his popular guidebook, Paul Silvia offers fresh advice to help you overcome barriers to writing and use your time more productively. After addressing some common excuses and bad habits, he provides practical strategies to motivate students, professors, researchers, and other academics to become better and more prolific writers. Silvia draws from his own experience in psychology to explain how to write, submit, and revise academic work, from journal articles to books, all without sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. The tips and strategies in this second edition have been updated to apply to academic writing in most disciplines. Also new to this edition is a chapter on writing grant and fellowship proposals.
Call Number: PE1408 .S48787 2019
How to Write the Perfect Resume: Stand Out, Land Interviews, and Get the Job You Want Learn the tested and proven resume writing formula that's landed jobs at Google, Salesforce, LinkedIn, and other world-class companies! Picture a scenario: You're sitting at your kitchen table scrolling through job listings when you see one that catches your eye. As you read through the job description, your excitement builds as you realize that the job is a perfect fit! Not wasting another second, you fill out the application, attach your resume, and hold your breath as you hit "Apply." Then you wait. And wait. And wait some more. Weeks go by without hearing so much as a peep, and before long you've given up hope on what seemed like a match made in heaven. Sound familiar? You're not alone! On average there are 250 resumes submitted for every job opening, which means that 99.6% of applicants will fail to land the jobs they apply for. To get the job you want, you don't just need a great resume--you need an outstanding resume, one that puts you in the top 1% of candidates for the job. That means ditching the same old advice you've been following with little results and adopting a tried-and-true process for getting your resume noticed in even the most competitive situations. In this book, Dan Clay breaks down the exact method he's carefully developed over a period of ten years and provides a precise, step-by-step set of instructions for crafting the perfect resume, down to the last period. Unlike the dime-a-dozen recruiters turned career coaches who have never had to put themselves on the line in today's brutally competitive job market, Dan offers practical, real-world experience gained from applying for and getting job offers from some of the most prestigious, competitive companies in the world. And when it comes to something as important as your career, don't you deserve to learn from someone who's actually succeeded at doing what you're hoping to do? Of course you do! Here are some of the things you'll learn about how to transform your resume from average to awe-inspiring: How to handle tricky pitfalls like extended time off or unemployment and have your resume come out as strong as ever How to make your accomplishments sound dramatically more impressive without having to tell a single lie How to remove the guesswork about what to include in your resume and build it to the exacting specifications of your target job's requirements How to pass the four tests that companies will put your resume through with flying colors How to strike the perfect composition of content, white space, and page length to accentuate and differentiate your strengths How to avoid the common (and not so common) resume mistakes that leave your resume dead on arrival How to tell a powerful story that demonstrates your capabilities in a way that will knock the socks off anyone reading it How to stand out without resorting to cheap tricks that come off as cheesy or over-the-top PLUS, you'll also gain access to a free companion website containing fully editable resume templates, a perfect resume checklist, and other bonus materials to give you everything you need to create a stunning resume that will get you noticed and land you interviews. Whether you're a new graduate looking for your first job, a career veteran angling for your next move, a recent victim of a layoff, or someone looking to dip their toes back into the workplace after taking a few years off, this comprehensive guide aims to be the best--and last--resume writing book you'll ever need for your career. What are you waiting for? Scroll to the top of the page and select the buy now button to start crafting your perfect resume today!
Call Number: HF5383 .C58 2018x
PMP Exam Prep over 600 Practice Questions: based on the PMBOK Guide Passing the exam is no easy task, no matter how many books or videos you study. You will need to take exam like questions in order to be prepared for the real test. This book will give you the exam like experience you need in order to pass the actual exam on your first try. Almost all PMP exam questions are scenarios, which will test your ability to choose the best answer. The questions in this book are mostly scenarios and are formatted just like the actual exam. They will test your skills and knowledge of selecting the best answer. All questions comes with a detail explanations of why a choice was correct and why the others were wrong.
Call Number: HD69.P75 R353 2018x
PMP Exam Prep Simplified: based on the PMBOK Guide Passing the PMP Exam is no easy task, but this book can make it a lot simpler. This book contains over 500 exam like questions, full-length mock exam, and exam tips. The hot topics sections of Critical Path and Earned Value Management is well explained and will get you passing the exam on your first try. This study guide is for the PMP exam based on the PMBOK Guide 6th edition.
Call Number: HD69.P75 R35 2018x
This Is Marketing: you can't be seen until you learn to see #1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller Instant New York Times Bestseller A game-changing approach to marketing, sales, and advertising. Seth Godin has taught and inspired millions of entrepreneurs, marketers, leaders, and fans from all walks of life, via his blog, online courses, lectures, and bestselling books. He is the inventor of countless ideas that have made their way into mainstream business language, from Permission Marketing to Purple Cow to Tribes to The Dip. Now, for the first time, Godin offers the core of his marketing wisdom in one compact, accessible, timeless package. This is Marketing shows you how to do work you're proud of, whether you're a tech startup founder, a small business owner, or part of a large corporation. Great marketers don't use consumers to solve their company's problem; they use marketing to solve other people's problems. Their tactics rely on empathy, connection, and emotional labor instead of attention-stealing ads and spammy email funnels. No matter what your product or service, this book will help you reframe how it's presented to the world, in order to meaningfully connect with people who want it. Seth employs his signature blend of insight, observation, and memorable examples to teach you: * How to build trust and permission with your target market. * The art of positioning--deciding not only who it's for, but who it's not for. * Why the best way to achieve your goals is to help others become who they want to be. * Why the old approaches to advertising and branding no longer work. * The surprising role of tension in any decision to buy (or not). * How marketing is at its core about the stories we tell ourselves about our social status. You can do work that matters for people who care. This book shows you the way.
Call Number: HF5415 .G5783 2018
The Truth about Employee Engagement: a fable about addressing the three root causes of job misery The Truth About Employee Engagement was originally published as The Three Signs of a Miserable Job. A bestselling author and business guru tells how to improve job satisfaction and performance. In his sixth fable, bestselling author Patrick Lencioni takes on a topic that almost everyone can relate to: job misery. Millions of workers, even those who have carefully chosen careers based on true passions and interests, dread going to work, suffering each day as they trudge to jobs that make them cynical, weary, and frustrated. It is a simple fact of business life that any job, from investment banker to dishwasher, can become miserable. Through the story of a CEO turned pizzeria manager, Lencioni reveals the three elements that make work miserable -- irrelevance, immeasurability, and anonymity -- and gives managers and their employees the keys to make any job more engaging. As with all of Lencioni's books, this one is filled with actionable advice you can put into effect immediately. In addition to the fable, the book includes a detailed model examining the three root causes of job misery and how they can be remedied. It covers the benefits of managing for job engagement within organizations -- increased productivity, greater retention, and competitive advantage -- and offers examples of how managers can use the applications in the book to deal with specific jobs and situations. Patrick Lencioni is President of The Table Group, a management consulting firm specializing in executive team development and organizational health. As a consultant and keynote speaker, he has worked with thousands of senior executives and executive teams in organizations ranging from Fortune 500 companies to high-tech startups to universities and nonprofits. His clients include. AT&T, Direct TV, JCPenney, Microsoft, Nestle, Northwestern Mutual, Southwest Airlines and St. Jude Chilren's Research Hospital. Lencioni is the author of ten bestselling books, including The Five Dysfunctions of a Team and The Advantage. He previously worked for Oracle, Sybase, and the management consulting firm Bain & Company.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 L46 2016
NEW Nursing Certification Review Audio Resources
Medical Surgical Nursing: comprehensive review Comprehensive 6 Hour, 6 Audio CDs review for the Family Nurse Practitioner Certification exam. The Family Nurse Practitioner exam tests the RN's knowledge in all aspects of assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of acute and chronic illnesses in the pediatric , adult population, health promotion and wellness. Learn Fast and efficiently through a self contained, self paced learning system. Instructor is professional speaker, program recorded in studio. Study system based only on Family Nurse Practitioner Exam Core Curriculum. Fluff-free presentation covering only essential "need to know" information. No Filler. 6 Hours, 6 Audio CDs , Plays in all cd players
Call Number: RT41 .M4353 2019x
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?