Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences The only text to contain a broad range of validated instruments to measure caring.
This text is the only comprehensive and accessible collection of validated and reliable instruments for care measurement in clinical and educational nursing and health professions research. These measurements address quality of care; patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring; and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy. The third edition is updated throughout and includes a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring. It features several new tools and instruments, and updates all established tools and instruments to reflect how each has been used in the past ten years. The third edition also presents a new chapter on assessing and measuring caring in digital/cyberspace settings, discusses global developments in assessing and measuring caring, and provides an updated section dedicated to the challenges and future directions of caring measurement.
Each tool/instrument is presented according to a standard framework for ease of use. This framework includes a description of each tool/instrument and its origin, its development and use, key citations for its use, and its theoretical origin and access.
New to the Third Edition:
Includes a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring
Updates all instruments and tools to reflect how each has been used in the past ten years
Presents new instruments including “Student Perceptions of Caring Online”
Offers an updated section dedicated to challenges and future directions of the measurement of caring
Provides new chapter on assessing and measuring caring in digital/cyberspace settings
Updates references to reflect new literature
Discusses global developments in assessing and measuring caring
Contains a broad range of validated instruments to measure caring in an expanding array of health care settings including clinical, academic, and community
Serves as a valuable resource for PhD, DNP, and other graduate students to support their dissertations and projects
Constitutes a key resource in clinical settings where clinicians have opportunities to measure caring among nurses, patients, and interdisciplinary colleagues
Aids health care institutions applying for Magnet Status
Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
Caritas Coaching: a journey toward transpersonal caring for informed moral action in healthcare Historically, nurses have been the source of heart and healing in the healthcare system. But today s care providers have little opportunity to make sense of their own experiences[md]let alone be fully present for others. Nurses and other care providers are often ill-prepared for the heavy toll of their day-to-day workload and find themselves at a crossroads: accept things the way they are or search for a different way.
Through stories of caring moments, transpersonal journeys, and ongoing evolution, Caritas Coaching provides nurses and other caregivers a deep, intimate look at how to integrate Caring Science into their practice. Caring Science offers a scientific and philosophical context to explore, describe, and research human healing ultimately providing a path for bringing care back into healthcare. By integrating Caring Science into their practice, nurses can balance information and technology with the human side of healthcare.
Call Number: R697.A4 H67 2018x
Case Studies in Geriatric Primary Care and Multimorbidity Management Gain expertise in primary care of older adults with a case-based approach to geriatric primary care and multimorbidity management. Written by two leading academic and clinical experts in geriatric primary care, Case Studies in Geriatric Primary Care and Multimorbidity Management, 1st Edition uses detailed Exemplar Case Studies and Practice Case Studies to teach you how to think like an expert geriatric clinician. Because most older adults have more than one condition when seeking care, both Exemplar and Practice Case Studies place a strong emphasis on "multimorbidity" management, (the management of patients with a host of complex, interacting conditions). To provide extensive practice in learning how to think like an expert, case studies reflect the reality that care does not necessarily begin or end in the primary care setting. Cases therefore move fluidly from primary care to acute care to inpatient rehabilitation to assisted living to long-term care. Building on foundational introductory chapters, cases also call on you to develop interprofessional collaboration skills and reflect the diversity of today's older adults, in terms of age (young-old to old-old), gender, culture, ethnicity, sexuality, socioeconomic status, and more! As you work through both basic-level and advanced Practice Case Studies, you can make extensive notes in the printed book and then go online to submit answers for grading and receive expert feedback for self-reflection. NEW! Introductory unit on the core principles of caring for older adults gives you a strong foundation in the principles of geriatric primary care and multimorbidity management. NEW! and UNIQUE! Exceptionally detailed, unfolding Exemplar Case Studies demonstrate how an expert advanced practitioner "thinks clinically" to provide care to older adults with multiple conditions. NEW and UNIQUE! Exceptionally detailed, unfolding Practice Case Studies emphasize patient diversity and multimorbidity management across healthcare settings to help you develop advanced clinical reasoning skills for geriatric primary care. NEW and UNIQUE! Strong emphasis on multimorbidity management focuses on caring for older adults with multiple chronic conditions. NEW! Emphasis on the continuum of care across settings reflects the reality that care does not necessarily begin or end in the primary care setting but can move from primary care to acute care to inpatient rehabilitation to assisted living to long-term care, and so forth. NEW! Online answer submission for grading and expert feedback for self-reflection. NEW! Emphasis on patient diversity reflects the makeup of today's older adult, population in terms of age (young-old to old-old), gender, culture, ethnicity, sexuality, socioeconomic status, and more. NEW! Emphasis on interprofessional collaboration use Exemplar Case Studies and Practice Case Studies to allow you to demonstrate your interprofessional collaboration skills.
Call Number: RC954 .D53 2020x
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing “Dr. Todaro-Franceschi calls us to look with open eyes, open hearts, and open minds at the good, the bad, the ugly, and the ugliest in health care so that together we can cultivate a healthcare world in which compassion prevails and our shared humanity is embraced… It is up to all of us to hold and safeguard each other in this sacred work. Dr. Todaro-Franceschi helps us in this mission through this extraordinary book.”
Mary Koloroutis, RN, MSN
CEO Creative Health Care Management, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Co-Creator of the Relationship-Based Care Model
In this second edition of her seminal text, Dr. Todaro-Franceschi offers new insights on professional quality of life, incorporating current practice, research literature, and examples to show how contentment and happiness of the nursing workforce is related to quality of care. The book provides practical strategies for dealing with a myriad of issues, including compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace violence. This resource will help empower nurses so they can create a more compassionate work environment.
Written by an acknowledged expert in end of life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, the text addresses the complex nature of well-being in the nursing workforce. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes case studies and exercises that will help the reader to identify negative patterns and explore ways to find purpose in one’s life.
New to the Second Edition:
Expanded emphasis on how workforce well-being contributes to care quality
Updated resources and information on national nursing initiatives related to professional quality of life
New chapter on workplace violence (incivility, bullying and mobbing)
New chapter on education related to improving PQOL and work environment
Provides a Nurse Leaders Resource Toolkit to guide staff education
Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective
Increases nurse awareness of issues that might be hindering their PQOL
Provides strategies for enhancing staff contentment and productivity, thereby promoting a healthy work environment
Includes real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life care, hospice, oncology, and more
Assists nurses with grief healing
Call Number: RT86 .T63 2019x
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications Fast Find: Lab and Dx--The complete F.A. Davis Lab & Diagnostic Test database online U.S. and Canadian content Searchable and printable Mobile and tablet friendly "Potential Nursing Problems" tables within many studies that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study 'Common Use' for each monograph to provide an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand Monographs that focus on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test, including... Patient Teaching Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test result Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges that are expressed in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) and include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimen, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Unique coverage of laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph "Body System" appendix that includes therapeutic drug monitoring and toxicology as well as nutrition-related lab tests
Call Number: RB38.2 .S37 2019
Delivering Person-Centred Care in Nursing Delivering effective and responsive person-centred care is a key requirement of nurses' professional practice and a core skill nurses must develop throughout their degree. This book explains and demonstrates how nurses can transform the ideals of person-centred care into reality for patients throughout their healthcare journey, in a variety of settings. Through the use of varied case studies, this book applies this practice to all fields of nursing, allowing students on any course, at any point in their degree to find useful guidance within its pages.
Call Number: RT42 .P74 2019
Family Theories: an introduction Family Theories: An Introduction by James M. White, Todd F. Martin, and new co-author Kari Adamsons provides an incisive, thorough primer to current theories of the family that balances the diversity and richness of a broad scope of scholarly work in a concise manner. This best-selling text draws upon eight major theoretical frameworks developed by key social scientists to explain variation in family life. These frameworks include social exchange and choice, symbolic-interaction, family life course development, systems, conflict, feminist, ecological, and functional theories. This new Fifth Edition includes suggestions for integrating theory to guide a research program and more applications for those going on to careers in the helping professions. With an increased focus on both classical theories as well as contemporary and emerging theories, this text challenges students to think about how families and family theories have changed over the last 70 years as well as where family scholarship is headed.
Call Number: HQ728 .W52 2019
Infection Control in Clinical Practice Infection control is a major issue in clinical practice. The revised third edition of this highly successful book provides a comprehensive guide to the principles and practice of infection control and prevention, and the basic elements of microbiology and epidemiology that underpin them.
The contents are firmly based in clinical practice and are relevant to both hospital and community settings. The information is research-based and extensively referenced and therefore provides an invaluable resource for evidence-based practice. Presentation is clear, concise and accessible to a wide audience including diploma and degree course students, nurses and allied health professionals working in clinical settings, and infection control specialists.
This revised third edition includes completely updated source material and references, along with extensive revision of chapters on prevention of surgical site infection, IV device and urine catheter associated infections to incorporate the most recent evidence. There are updates to many other sections including new microbiological methods, application of protective isolation, Clostridium difficile, gram negative pathogens, VHF and blood-borne viruses, the management of sharps injuries and management of waste, as well as entirely new sections on:
• Implementation of infection prevention and control policies
• Infection risks of water systems
• Protective clothing - use of gloves and masks
• Hand hygiene compliance
• Prevention of ventilator-associated pneumonia
• Management of norovirus outbreaks
• Decontamination of isolation rooms
• Emerging pathogens including MERS-CoV and Zika
• Antimicrobial stewardship
Call Number: RC48 .W525 2019
Infiltrating Healthcare: how marketing works underground to influence nurses It was once common for pharmaceutical companies and medical device makers to treat doctors to lavish vacations or give them new cars; companies would do virtually anything to buy influence so that their medications or devices would be used in a doctor's office or hospital. But with growing public scrutiny of kickbacks to doctors, the huge giveaways have disappeared. In Infiltrating Healthcare, Quinn Grundy shows that sales representatives are working instead behind the scenes. It is to nurses that these companies now market. Nurses, Grundy argues, are the perfect target for sales reps: their work is largely invisible and frequently undervalued, yet they wield a great deal of influence over treatment and purchasing decisions. Furthermore, there are no legal restrictions on marketing to most nurses. Grundy describes how, under the guise of education or product support, and through gifts and free samples, sales representatives influence nurses in the course of day-to-day clinical practice. Grundy argues that the very presence of sales reps in operating rooms, purchasing committee meetings, and patient care units blurs the boundaries between patient care and medical sales. Helpfully, she also describes ways that nurses can be aware of (and resistant to) their influence. Infiltrating Healthcare is a call to action to protect the clinical spaces where we are at our most vulnerable--and the decisions that take place there--from the pursuit of profit at any cost. This is a timely book that shines a light on a practice that often goes unseen, and which has tangible implications for healthcare policy and practice.
Call Number: RT86.7 .G78 2018
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: an evidence-based guide to planning care Get nursing care plans right! Ackley’s Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 12th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide your students in creating unique, individualized care plans.
Step-by-step instructions shows you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care.
UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis
Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention.
Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan.
Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing
Appendixes provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location.
Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references.
Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care.
Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales.
List of Nursing Diagnosis Index on inside front cover of book for quick reference.
Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses.
NEW! Includes comprehensive, up-to-date information on the new 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, complete with 17 new diagnoses.
NEW! and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NO C, interventions, and rationales for every care plan
NEW! Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver’s responsibility for adapting care accordingly.
NEW! Interventions reorganized by priority helps you quickly identify the information you’re searching for.
NEW! Section II: Bullying, Gender Dysphoria, Medical marijuana, Military families/personnel, Opioid use/abuse, Service animals, Technology addiction, and Veterans.
NEW! Additional clarification of use of QSEN throughout book in Section I
NEW! Concept map creator added from Yoost textbook.
NEW! Updated rationales include evidence-based references 5 years or less.
Call Number: RT48.6 .A35 2020
Nursing Interventions and Clinical Skills Master nursing skills with this guide from the respected Perry, Potter & Ostendorf author team! The concise coverage in Nursing Interventions & Clinical Skills, 7th Edition makes it easy to learn the skills most commonly used in everyday nursing practice. Clear, step-by-step instructions cover more than 160 basic, intermediate, and advanced skills - from measuring body temperature to insertion of a peripheral intravenous device - using evidence-based concepts to improve patient safety and outcomes. A streamlined, visual approach makes the book easy to read, and an Evolve companion website enhances learning with review questions and handy checklists for each clinical skill. Coverage of more than 160 skills and interventions addresses the basic, intermediate, and advanced skills you'll use every day in practice. Safe Patient Care Alerts highlight risks or other key information to know in performing skills, so you can plan ahead at each step of nursing care. Unique! Using Evidence in Nursing Practice chapter provides the information needed to use evidence-based care to solve clinical problems. Coverage of evidence-based nursing techniques includes the concept of care bundles, structured practices that improve patient safety and outcomes, in addition to the coverage of teach-back. Delegation & Collaboration guidelines help you make decisions in whether to delegate a skill to unlicensed assistive personnel, and indicates what key information must be shared. Teach-Back step shows how to evaluate the success of patient teaching, so you can see whether the patient understands a task or topic or if additional teaching may be needed. Recording guidelines describe what should be reported and documented after performing skills, with Hand-off Reporting sections listing important patient care information to include in the handoff. Special Considerations indicate the additional risks or accommodations you may face when caring for pediatric or geriatric patients, as well as patients in home care settings. A consistent format for nursing skills makes it easier to perform skills, organized by Assessment, Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation. Media resources include skills performance checklists on the Evolve companion website and related lessons, videos, and interactive exercises on Nursing Skills Online. NEW! 2017 Infusion Nurses Society standards are included on administering IVs and on other changes in evidence-based practice. NEW Disaster Preparedness chapter focuses on caring for patients after biological, chemical, or radiation exposure. NEW! SBAR samples show how to quickly and effectively communicate a patient's condition in terms of Situation, Background, Assessment, and Recommendation. NEW! Practice Reflections sections include a clinical scenario and questions, helping you reflect on clinical and simulation experiences. NEW! Three Master Debriefs help you develop a better understanding of the "big picture" by synthesizing skill performance with overall patient care.
Call Number: RT41 .E39 2020
Nursing Key Topics Review: Fluids and Electrolytes Looking for a way to master fluids and electrolytes in the most time-efficient way possible? Instead of relying on overwhelming textbooks, turn to the focused review option that was designed for the specific study needs of today's nursing students. Nursing Key Topics Review: Fluids & Electrolytes covers only the most important and relevant information on fluids and electrolytes and organizes it into bulleted summary lists, illustrations, and tables to make the information easier to digest and remember. NCLEX-style review questions are also interspersed throughout the material to further focus your attention on the most important concepts and test your mastery. It's everything about fluids and electrolytes you need to know. And nothing you don't! Mobile web app with audio review content enables you to review on the go. Format based on student input ensures the review guide fits the needs of today's busy students. NCLEX-style review questions with answers and rationales are infused throughout the guide to assess your retention and understanding of material. Emphasis on critical, practical, and relevant information reduces overall study time. Tables and illustrations further enhance your learning and retention. Bulleted content helps you cover more information in a shorter amount of time.
Call Number: RT41 .N87 2020x
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing remains the most comprehensive treatise on the art and science of palliative care nursing available. Dr. Betty Rolling Ferrell and Dr. Judith A. Paice have invited 162 nursing experts to contribute 76 chapters addressing the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs pertinent to the successful palliative care team. Organized within 7 Sections, this new edition covers the gamut of principles of care: from the time of initial diagnosis of a serious illness to the end of a patient's life and beyond. This fifth edition features several new chapters, including chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing. Each chapter is rich with tables and figures, case examples for improved learning, and a strong evidence-based practice to support the highest quality of care. The book offers a valuable and practical resource for students and clinicians across all settings of care. The content is relevant for specialty hospice agencies and palliative care programs, as well as generalist knowledge for schools of nursing, oncology, critical care, and pediatric. Developed with the intention of emphasizing the need to extend palliative care beyond the specialty to be integrated in all settings and by all clinicians caring for the seriously ill, this new edition will continue to serve as the cornerstone of palliative care education.
Call Number: RT87.T45 T49 2019
Understanding EKGs: a practical approach For courses in paramedics. A simple five-step approach to interpreting EKGs Understanding EKGs: A Practical Approach is a practical yet comprehensive guide to basic EKG interpretation. With short, succinct chapters that work consecutively, this text is for the healthcare provider who is new to cardiovascular anatomy, physiology, and rhythm strip interpretation. Hundreds of review questions and review strips reinforce course material. The 5th edition reflects the most up-to-date standards of care, including the updated guidelines of the American Heart Association. The new edition also features 50 additional review questions, expanded graphics, and new or enhanced chapter objectives.
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 B378 2020
Atlas of Liver Pathology: a pattern based approach Part of the new Pattern-Based Approach series, designed to teach pathology in a way that reflects actual sign-out, this new visually-oriented guidebook presents real-life cases and practical diagnostic tips. Disease processes are organized into 'patterns' of injury--the method by which pathologists approach their work--and self-assessment quizzes are provided for each chapter to give you experience with high-yield, board-style teaching topics. Nearly 800 high-quality photomicrographs to help you generate efficient differential diagnoses and avoid diagnostic pitfalls. Detailed figure legends and handy Checklists and Key Features sections streamline information and help you better understand the pattern-based approach. The Pearls & Pitfalls and the Near Miss sections offer valuable lessons from sneaky cases. Tables emphasize salient clinicopathologic features, management implications, and therapeutic options. FAQs focus on common diagnostic dilemmas. The Sample Note sections offer templates of how to sign-out complicated cases and include up-to-date references. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC846.9 .T67 2020
Basic Immunology: functions and disorders of the immune system Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 6th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help students master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Provides top-notch instruction from experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers led by well-known editor and author Dr. Abul Abbas. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to reflect recent important advances in today's understanding of the immune system. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions, helpful animations, and self-assessment questions. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers studying medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QR181 .A28 2020
Bone Marrow Pathology Bone Marrow Pathology has been extensively revised to reflect the significant advances which have occurred in the application of cytogenetics and in particular, molecular genetics in the diagnosis, classification and understanding of haematological disorders. This comprehensive book not only provides information on all common disease entities, but also covers rare disorders in which bone marrow examination is useful. It is designed as a practical resource with "problems and pitfalls" highlighted throughout to aid laboratory diagnosis.
Call Number: RC645.7 .B35 2019
Casarett and Doull's toxicology: the basic science of poisins Toxicology's gold-standard text - completely updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and discoveries A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Ninth Edition equips you with an unsurpassed understanding of modern toxicology, including the key principles, concepts, mechanisms, chemical-specific toxicity, and modes of thought that are the foundation of the discipline. This trusted classic not only delivers a comprehensive review of the essential components of toxicology, it offers the most up-to-date, revealing, and in-depth look at the systemic responses of toxic substance available anywhere. Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Ninth Edition is logically divided into seven sections: * General Principles of Toxicology * Disposition of Toxicants * Non-Organ Directed Toxicity * Target Organ Toxicity * Toxic Agents * Environmental Toxicology * Applications of Toxicology Many new contributors capture the progress made in toxicology over the past few years: This edition is markedly updated from the previous edition, with more than one-third of the chapters authored by scientists who have not made previous contributions to the book. Sharing their expertise, they deliver dynamic new coverage of the importance of apoptosis, autophagy, cytokines, growth factors, oncogenes, cell cycling, receptors, gene regulation, protective mechanisms, repair mechanisms, transcription factors, signaling pathways, transgenic mice, knock-out mice, humanized mice, polymorphisms, microarray technology, second-generation sequencing, genomics, proteomics, epigenetics, exposome, microbiota, read across, adverse outcome pathways, high-content screening, computational toxicology, innovative test methods, and organ-on-a-chip in understanding the mechanisms of toxicity and the regulation of chemicals. A true "essential" If you are in need of an up-to-date, all-in-one overview of the biomedical and environmental aspects of toxicology - written by experts, and presented in full color, your search ends here.
Call Number: RA1211 .C296 2019
Case Studies in Geriatric Primary Care and Multimorbidity Management Gain expert primary care of older adults with a case-based approach to geriatric primary care and multimorbidity management Written by two leading academic and clinical experts in geriatric primary care, Case Studies in Geriatric Primary Care and Multimorbidity Management, 1st Edition uses detailed Exemplar Case Studies and Practice case studies to teach you how to think like an expert geriatric clinician. Because most older adults have more than one condition when seeking care, both Exemplar and Practice Case Studies place a strong emphasis on "multimorbidity" management, (the management of patients with a host of complex, interacting conditions). To provide extensive practice in learning how to think like an expert, case studies reflect the reality that care does not necessarily begin or end in the primary care setting, cases move fluidly from primary care to acute care to inpatient rehabilitation to assisted living to long-term care. Building on foundational introductory chapters, cases also call on you to develop interprofessional collaboration skills and reflect the diversity of today's older adults, in terms of age (young-old to old-old), gender, culture, ethnicity, sexuality, socioeconomic status, and more! As you work through both basic-level and advanced Practice Case Studies, you can make extensive notes in the printed book and then go online to submit answers for grading and receive expert feedback for self-reflection. NEW! Introductory unit on the core principles of caring for older adults gives you a strong foundation in the principles of geriatric primary care and multimorbidity management. NEW! and UNIQUE! Exceptionally detailed, unfolding Exemplar Case Studies demonstrate how an expert advanced practitioner "thinks clinically" to provide care to older adults with multiple conditions. NEW and UNIQUE! Exceptionally detailed, unfolding Practice Case Studies emphasize patient diversity and multimorbidity management across healthcare settings to help you develop advanced clinical reasoning skills for geriatric primary care. NEW and UNIQUE! Strong emphasis on multimorbidity management focuses on caring for older adults with multiple chronic conditions. NEW! Emphasis on the continuum of care across settings reflects the reality that care does not necessarily begin or end in the primary care setting but can move from primary care to acute care to inpatient rehabilitation to assisted living to long-term care, and so forth. NEW! Online answer submission for grading and expert feedback for self-reflection. NEW! Emphasis on patient diversity reflects the makeup of today's older adult, population in terms of age (young-old to old-old), gender, culture, ethnicity, sexuality, socioeconomic status, and more. NEW! Emphasis on interprofessional collaboration use Exemplar Case Studies and Practice Case Studies to allow you to demonstrate your interprofessional collaboration skills.
Call Number: RC954 .D53 2020x
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins. Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations. The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis. New to this Edition: * Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes * New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies * New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology * Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points * Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2" * Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools
Call Number: RA1224.5 .G65 2019
Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation for Malignant Conditions Get a quick, expert overview of hematologic and non-hematologic malignancies for which hematopoietic cell transplantation is a treatment option. Drs. Qaiser Bashir and Mehdi Hamadani provide easy-to-find information on basic science of hematopoietic cell transplantation, pharmacology, workflows and procedures, possible complications and side effects, in addition to the role of HCT in conjunction with clinical cellular therapy. Discusses high-dose chemotherapeutic regimens and radiation therapy, patient and donor selection and workup, as well as other key aspects of hematopoietic cell transplantation. Includes practical information on complications, infectious disease, and special populations such as patients with HIV infection. Consolidates today's available information in this fast-changing area into one convenient resource.
Call Number: RC271.C44 H453 2019x
Immunology: an introductory textbook Immunology has emerged as a key component of the curricula of graduate and postgraduate courses in biotechnology, microbiology, biochemistry, bioinformatics, and other interdisciplinary fields of biology, including zoology, veterinary science, and medicine. As a basic introductory textbook on one of the fastest-moving and most challenging areas of immunological science, this book contains the most recent information about immunologic mechanisms and their importance, along with various molecular techniques employed in immunology. The short and concise text helps make the structures, processes, and interactions of the immune system easily comprehensible. The book includes chapters on immunoinformatics as well as the immune system of the brain, rarely found in any of the immunology books published so far. Many diverse and interesting aspects of the advances in immunology have also been covered, including tumor immunology and immunodeficiency disorders. The easy-to-understand concepts presented in the textbook make it an ideal companion for learners preparing for competitive and other examinations. Undergraduate, postgraduate, and PhD students, people from the industry and academia, and research scholars will immensely benefit from it.
Call Number: QR181 .I44 2019x
Invasive Studies of the Human Epileptic Brain No other neurological condition allows the same opportunities for an intracranial electrophysiological study of the human brain as epilepsy does. Epileptic surgery is designed to remove the epileptic focus from the human brain, thereby effecting either cure or substantial reduction of seizures in an individual with an otherwise intractable condition. Its use as a treatment modality dates from the late 19th century, and it has become a widely used treatment optionthroughout the world in the last 20-30 years. The complexity of epilepsy cases in surgical centres, and the need for invasive electrode studies for pre-surgical evaluation, are both greatly increasing.Invasive Studies of the Human Epileptic Brain is the definitive reference text on the use of invasive electroencephalographic (EEG) diagnostic studies in human epilepsy. Written by some of the most renowned epilepsy experts of the 20th and 21st centuries, the authors provide their expertise and insights into the identification and mapping of intracranial epileptiform and non-epileptiform activity, mapping of the human brain function, and approaches in the use ofinvasive electroencephalography in a variety of clinical situations. The book is organized into an easily readable series of chapters and is brilliantly illustrated with case studies; eachproviding an intuitively comprehensive approach to invasive brain studies.
Call Number: RC372.4 .I58 2019
Mechanical Ventilation Mechanical Ventilation is a comprehensive guide to the evaluation and management of critically ill patients requiring mechanical ventilatory support. This new text helps respiratory care students and clinicians alike bridge the gap between theory and practice as they strive to provide the very best care for patients. Aimed at developing advanced practice and critical care respiratory therapists, the text covers key concepts, techniques, and procedures for providing safe and effective mechanical ventilation. Readers will learn to apply assessment skills to evaluate patients in impending or actual respiratory failure. After studying indications for mechanical ventilation, they will learn how to initiate mechanical ventilator support, adjust ventilation to keep patients stabilized, monitor patients over time, and discontinue ventilator support.
Call Number: RC87.9 .S54 2020x
Neuroanatomy: an Illustrated Colour Text Now fully revised and updated, this leading ICT series volume offers concise, superbly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy, that throughout makes clear the relevance of the anatomy to the practice of modern clinical neurology. Building on the success of previous editions, Neuroanatomy ICT, sixth edition has been fine-tuned to meet the needs of today's medical students - and will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who need a clear, current understanding of this important area. Generations of readers have come to appreciate the straightforward explanations of complex concepts that students often find difficult, with minimum assumptions made of prior knowledge of the subject. This (print) edition comes with the complete, enhanced eBook - including BONUS figures and self-assessment material - to provide an even richer learning experience and easy anytime, anywhere access! Notoriously difficult concepts made clear in straightforward and concise text Level of detail carefully judged to facilitate understanding of the fundamental neuroanatomical principles and the workings of the nervous system, providing a sound basis for the diagnosis and treatment of contemporary neurological disorders Clinical material and topic summaries fully updated and highlighted in succinct boxes within the text Memorable pictorial summaries of symptoms associated with the main clinical syndromes Over 150 new or revised drawings and photographs further improve clarity and reflect the latest imaging techniques New expanded coverage of neuropsychological disorders and their relationship to neuroanatomy - increasingly important given aging populations Access to the complete, enhanced eBook - including additional images and self-assessment material to aid revision and check your understanding.
Call Number: QM451 .C74 2020 & Online
Operative Techniques Plastic Surgery A new addition to the best-selling Operative Techniques series, Operative Techniques in Plastic Surgery provides superbly illustrated, authoritative guidance on operative techniques along with a thorough understanding of how to select the best procedure, how to avoid complications, and what outcomes to expect. Easy to follow, up to date, and highly visual, this step-by-step reference covers nearly all operations in current use in plastic surgery, and is ideal for residents and physicians in daily practice. Comprehensively covers all areas of plastic surgery including facial aesthetic, breast, hand, trunk reconstruction and body contouring, head and neck reconstruction, craniofacial trauma and reconstruction, lower limb reconstruction, and pediatric plastic surgery. Succinct text, bulleted points, and quick-reference tables allow you to review information quickly and understand best practices and potential problems for each procedure. Hundreds of full-color intraoperative photographs and illustrations, as well as numerous high-quality videos, capture procedures step by step and help you immediately apply your knowledge. Each clinical problem is discussed in the same templated format: definition, anatomy, patient history and physical findings, imaging, differential diagnosis, nonoperative management where applicable, surgical management including preoperative planning and approach, step-by-step surgical techniques, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, complications, and references. Perfect for a quick preoperative review of the steps of a procedure. Editors and contributors are globally renowned authorities in their respective subspecialties and are known for their surgical expertise. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD119 .O64 2020x
Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults This exhaustive reference includes new chapters and pedagogical features, as well as--for the first time--content on managing fragility factures. To facilitate fast, easy absorption of the material, this edition has been streamlined and now includes more tables, charts, and treatment algorithms than ever before. Experts in their field share their experiences and offer insights and guidance on the latest technical developments for common orthopaedic procedures, including their preferred treatment options. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. New chapters on caring for obese patients, preoperative planning, and pain management. Deep-dive discussion and up-to-date content on how to manage fragility fractures. Easy-to-read tables outlining nonoperative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. Time-saving preoperative planning checklists, as well as key steps for each surgical procedure. Potential pitfalls, preventive measures, and common adverse outcomes highlighted for all procedures. Numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for common orthopaedic procedures. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD101 .F739 2020
Sobotta Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy, One Volume, English The Sobotta Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy is tailored specifically to the needs of medical and health professional students. It utilizes a regional approach for learning human anatomy that integrates core concepts of anatomical structure and function with modern methods of diagnostic imaging, cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of real world functions, clinically relevant surface anatomy and key examples of how anatomical knowledge informs clinical practice. The 'Clinical Remarks' and 'Structure/Function' sections provide important and easily identifiable practical examples, which reinforce clinical application of anatomical knowledge. Moreover, all anatomical images are accompanied by descriptive text and summary tables which serve to highlight the key concepts associated with each specific image. Key features of the atlas include: More than 1850 anatomical, radiological, cross-sectional and functional images with clinically relevant labels give you a solid grounding in human anatomy Descriptive text provides you with additional information for all images Summary tables allow you to organize valuable key concepts The regional approach to anatomy enables you to place functional, clinical and cross-sectional images in context 'Clinical Remarks' and 'Structure/Function' vignettes give you a head-start in learning anatomy in a clinically relevant manner Surface anatomy illustrations equip you with valuable knowledge for your first physical examinations The perfect study tool for courses in medicine - as well as a range of other courses, including dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, kinesiology or the movement sciences and physician assistants A unique PIN code provides you with bonus access to a complete digital copy of your atlas
Call Number: QM25 .S6763 2019x
The Thriving Physician: how to avoid burnout by choosing resilience throughout your medical career Few professions are as physically and emotionally challenging as the practice of medicine.
From the rigors of medical school to the high stakes, rapidly changing, multi-tasking reality of practice, physicians face unbelievable stress for years on end. It s no surprise that half of all physicians face burnout, work-home conflict, and other serious issues.
This 'survival guide for the psyche' is packed with insights and strategies to help you build the resilience you need to succeed and grow, both personally and professionally, in the modern healthcare system.
In The Thriving Physician, Drs. Simonds and Sotile:
Explore an array of stressors and provide coping strategies designed to help you defuse them
Offer probing questions related to each stressor to spark reflection and discussion with colleagues and loved ones
Highlight what creative organizations are doing to help reshape the medical workplace to promote physician resilience
Weave in real life anecdotes throughout, taking their insights and advice from theoretical to deeply personal and relatable
You ve chosen a noble helping profession one that should be a source of joy and pride. Whether you read this book cover-to-cover or focus only on the stressors that most impact you, it can change your life for the better. It s time to take charge of your career; it s time to become a thriving physician.
Call Number: R707 .T47 2018x
Management/Employee Development Books
The AI Advantage: how to put the artificial intelligence revolution to work How businesses can put artificial intelligence to work now: a guide to available technologies, the tasks they can do, and practical AI business strategy, In The Cognitive Corporation, Thomas Davenport offers a guide to using artificial intelligence--also known as cognitive technologies--in business. He describes what technologies are available and how companies can use them for business benefits and competitive advantage. He cuts through the hype of the AI craze--remember when it seemed plausible that IBM's Watson could cure cancer?--to explain how businesses can put artificial intelligence to work now, in the real world. His key recommendation: don't go for the "moonshot" (curing cancer, or synthesizing all investment knowledge); look for the "low-hanging fruit" to make your company more efficient. Davenport explains that the business value AI offers is solid rather than sexy or splashy. AI will improve products and processes and make decisions better informed--important but largely invisible tasks. AI technologies won't replace human workers but augment their capabilities, with smart machines to work alongside smart people. AI can automate structured and repetitive work; provide extensive analysis of data through machine learning ("analytics on steroids"), and engage with customers and employees via chatbots and intelligent agents. Companies should experiment with these technologies and develop their own expertise. Davenport describes the major AI technologies and explains how they are being used, reports on the AI work done by large commercial enterprises like Amazon and Google, and outlines strategies and steps to becoming a cognitive corporation. This book provides an invaluable guide to the real-world future of business AI.
Call Number: HC79.I55 D369 2018
Building Performance-Based 360-Degree Assessments: from design to delivery Building 360 Feedback is the first book to focus on developing and delivering more effective performance-based feedback assessments through web-based software.This book is a comprehensive step-by-step guide for creating 360-degree multi-rater feedback assessments for individuals at all levels in business, industry, government, and educational organizations. 360-degree performance-based feedback focuses on what people do on the job. It is about observable job-related behaviors and is directly correlated to the person's performance and influence with others. This book can provide consultants and internal human resource professionals, practitioners and psychologists, and key decision makers with the tools and techniques they need to identify and measure the competencies and behaviors they need to help people reach their potential. This book will help you identify what to include in your assessments in order to reinforce current performance expectations as well as identify future issues that could impact the competitive viability of the organization. What will you learn? * Why people use it; why it is so popular; and why some tend to fear it.* The design elements you need for creating more powerful assessment tools.* How to make your design come alive by writing behaviorally-based items-questions, competency importance ratings, by selected appropriate rater response scales, and by incorporating both quantitative and qualitative items in any language you or your clients need.* Practical recommendations for deploying your Web-based assessment through randomization of items to prevent collusion of responses and to ensure overall confidentiality of responses.* How to present the feedback results that are relevant through easy to understand reports, from one page summaries to detailed-item-analysis graphic reports that can serve as a catalyst for creating self-directed action plans. * How to reassess your assessment over time to quantify actual behavior change and performance improvement.
Call Number: HF5549.5.R3 C57 2009
Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient: a practical guide Having an understanding of critical appraisal and evidence-based medicine is a prerequisite to being an effective clinician. However, critical appraisal is often taught by people not involved in day-to-day clinical care, meaning the clinical relevance is not always brought to the fore. This book takes a different approach. It is written by clinicians, for clinicians. It takes the reader step by step through the process so that any journal article can be easily read, evidence evaluated and the results - and their reliability - truly understood. By integrating this with knowledge of local skills and resources and patient preference, the reader will be able to apply the best possible care that his or her patients deserve. This accessible book is suitable for undergraduates and postgraduates of all medical specialties, nursing, paramedics, pharmacists and all allied health professions. It is the ideal reference for anyone needing help writing a clinical topic review, reviewing a paper in a journal club or preparing for a critical appraisal exam. But most importantly, it is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients, using the best evidence, tailored to the individual.
Call Number: R723.7 .B66 2017
Driving Digital Strategy: a guide to reimagining your business Digital transformation is no longer news--it's a necessity. Despite the widespread threat of disruption, many large companies in traditional industries have succeeded at digitizing their businesses in truly transformative ways. The New York Times, formerly a bastion of traditional media, has created a thriving digital product behind a carefully designed paywall. Best Buy has transformed its business in the face of Amazon's threat. John Deere has formed a data-analysis arm to complement its farm-equipment business. And Goldman Sachs and many others are using digital technologies to reimagine their businesses. In Driving Digital Strategy, Harvard Business School professor Sunil Gupta provides an actionable framework for following their lead. For over a decade, Gupta has studied digital transformation at Fortune 500 companies. He knows what works and what doesn't. Merely dabbling in digital or launching a small independent unit, which many companies do, will not bring success. Instead you need to fundamentally change the core of your business and ensure that your digital strategy touches all aspects of your organization: your business model, value chain, customer relationships, and company culture. Gupta covers each aspect in vivid detail while providing navigation tips and best practices along the way. Filled with rich and illuminating case studies of companies at the forefront of digital transformation, Driving Digital Strategy is the comprehensive guide you need to take full advantage of the limitless opportunities the digital age provides.
Call Number: HD30.28 .G84 2018
Essential Operational Components for High-Performing Healthcare Enterprises The future of healthcare is clear. The move toward value-based care is happening at an unprecedented rate and requires healthcare enterprises to build delivery models that focus on clinical and business outcomes, not on volume. This shift requires a new infrastructure that supports the digitization, standardization, commoditization, and globalization of the healthcare industry.
In Essential Operational Components for High-Performing Healthcare Enterprises, Jon Burroughs and other nationally respected experts highlight the operational building blocks necessary to engage, align, and transform healthcare organizations into integrated delivery systems capable of delivering population healthcare outcomes in new ways. They must marshal cutting-edge tools, including cloud-based data storage, disruptive innovation technologies, and strategic partnerships that span the globe.
This forward-thinking book defines the fundamental operational components for achieving success in a value-based world, including:
Collaborative leadership skills
Rapidly evolving clinical and executive roles
Dynamic strategic planning and contracting
Models of clinical integration and alignment that are capable of managing actuarial risk
Seamless transmission of cloud-based health information through global health information exchanges
Predictive business and clinical analytics to manage actuarial risk and population healthcare outcomes
A population health infrastructure to support the cost-effective redistribution of resources
Other industries have undergone a similar transformation; now healthcare, the most complex industry of all, must complete these changes to excel in the new global marketplace. This book shows the way
Call Number: RA971 .E88 2019
Essentials of Health Policy and Law Public opinion polls, media coverage, legal disputes, and policy debates at all levels of government and in private industry attest to the important place that individual health care and public health and safety hold in the minds of the American public, policymakers, and lawmakers. Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Fourth Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with an introduction to a broad range of seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, analytic frameworks for studying these complex issues, and an understanding of the ways in which health policies and laws are formulated, implemented, and applied. Concise and straightforward, this text is particularly known for its focus on national health reform under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Additionally, the Fourth Edition offers: - A unique chapter on the social determinants of health and the role of law in improving health. - New content related to health reform; the healthcare system; the ACA's effect on Medicaid, Medicare, and CHIP; and incentivizing healthcare quality and private payer reform efforts. - A significantly revised chapter on Public Health Preparedness Policy, reflecting an increased focus on natural disasters, controlling infectious diseases, and military emergencies. - A how-to chapter on writing a policy analysis offers readers step-by-step instructions and examples for writing a policy brief. - Valuable instructor's resources, including PowerPoint slides, test questions for each chapter, blog post updates, and more.
Call Number: RA395.A3 T45 2020
Healer, Leader, Partner: optimizing physician leadership to transform healthcare Physicians undertake a noble, demanding profession, improving patients’ lives. But the rapidly changing world of healthcare, and the complex knowledge and technology involved, challenges this calling. Physicians need to be healers, confidants, and caregivers while developing skills as leaders and partners. This indispensable guide provides practical, actionable learning to help physicians become effective, compassionate, and confident leaders, transforming healthcare into what patients want, need, and deserve.
Says Dr. Cochran: “When I became a surgeon, I had four years of medical school, six years of residency training, and a rigorous certification process to verify my competence. When I became a leader in the business of medicine, most of my training was on the job, just in time, and trial and error, which is a very different journey.”
In this book, Dr. Cochran draws on his own path, focusing on essential skills for effective leadership, to provide in-depth examinations of critical topics including communication, leading change, managing performance through culture, and relentless personal development.
Dr. Jack Cochran is a Stanford-trained surgeon and served as executive director (CEO) of the Permanente Federation at Kaiser Permanente from 2007 until 2015. He is also the coauthor, with Charles Kenney, of The Doctor Crisis: How Physicians Can, and Must, Lead the Way to Better Health Care.
Call Number: RA971 .C634 2018x
Improving Patient Safety: tools and strategies for quality improvement Based on the IOM's estimate of 44,000 deaths annually, medical errors rank as the eighth leading cause of death in the U.S. Clearly medical errors are an epidemic that needs to be contained. Despite these numbers, patient safety and medical errors remain an issue for physicians and other clinicians. This book bridges the issues related to patient safety by providing clinically relevant, vignette-based description of the areas where most problems occur. Each vignette highlights a particular issue such as communication, human facturs, E.H.R., etc. and provides tools and strategies for improving quality in these areas and creating a safer environment for patients.
Call Number: R729.8 .G68 2019
Leading Procurement Strategy: driving value through the supply chain Leading Procurement Strategy is a must-read for all senior procurement executives wishing to further enhance their skill set, master the latest developments in procurement strategy and really come into their own as procurement leaders. The expert author team explains how to effectively manage and mitigate risks in the supply chain, appreciate the key issues affecting the procurement function and develop best practice excellence in teams. Providing the latest thinking in procurement and supply management within the broad perspective of different industries, this second edition of Leading Procurement Strategy covers: global sourcing; supplier relationship management; cost management; information technologies and future developments. The book is underpinned by academic theory and supported by an extensive range of real world case studies drawn from the authors' experiences, including Tesco, Tata, Coca-Cola, BAA, P&G and IBM. This new edition provides the skills, knowledge and tools needed to articulate an effective strategy and embrace a transformational role to lead procurement teams, showing how procurement can become an influential function that delivers sustainable competitive advantage.
Call Number: HD39.5 .M447 2018
Mentoring Programs That Work Amazing Benefits, Unique Risks A stellar mentor can change the trajectory of a career. And an enduring mentoring program can become an organization's most powerful talent development tool. But fixing a "broken" mentoring program or developing a new program from scratch requires a unique process, not a standard training methodology. Over the course of her career, seasoned program development specialist Jenn Labin has encountered dozens of mentoring programs unable to stand the test of their organizations' natural talent cycles. These programs applied a training methodology to a nontraining solution and were ineffective at best and poorly designed at worst. What's needed is a solid planning framework developed from hands-on experimentation. And you'll find it here. Mentoring Programs That Work is framed around Labin's AXLES model--the first framework devoted to the unique challenges of a sustained learning process. This step-by-step approach will help you navigate the early phases of mentoring program alignment all the way through program launch and measurement. Whether your goal is to recruit and retain Millennials or deepen organizational commitment, it's time to embrace mentoring as one of the most powerful tools of talent development. Mentoring Programs That Work will help your organization succeed by building mentoring programs that connect people and inspire learning transfer.
Call Number: HF5385 .L33 2017x
Planning Programs for Adult Learners Planning Programs for Adult Learners, Third Edition covers the development of adult education programs in clear, specific detail. This popular step-by-step guide contains information on every area of program planning for adult learners, from understanding the purpose of educational programs to obtaining suitable facilities to incorporating technology appropriately. For educators and practitioners for whom planning programs is a full-time responsibility or only a part of their jobs, as well as volunteers in a variety of organizations, will find this book to be an essential tool. Grounded in a variety of program planning models, the new edition includes: new refinements to the 11-component interactive model updated exercises and examples from new settings new material on the practical application of technology discussion of instructional and program evaluation a focus on critical managerial tasks a new chapter on exploring the foundational knowledge of program planning a new section on the ethical issues related to program planning
Call Number: LC5225.A34 C34 2013
PMP Exam Prep: accelerated learning to pass the Project Management Professional (PMP) exam PMP Exam Prep, Ninth Edition Aligned with the PMBOK GuideSixth Edition Features of this worldwide best-selling resource include the following: Practice exam questions?more than 400 throughout the book.A focus on what you really need to know to pass the exam.Exclusive exercises and Tricks of the Trade.A straightforward approach to complex material. Aligned with the PMBOK Guide for exams taken after March 26, 2018.
Call Number: HD69.P75 M85 2018
A Quick Guide to Relationship-Based Care Everything in the RBC model is designed to improve the patient experience. The most reliable outcome of an organization's commitment to Relationship-Based Care is the advancement of a culture that feels safe, nurturing, and productive for patients, families, service providers, administrators, and clinicians in all disciplines and departments.
Call Number: RT84.5 .Q85 2017x
Reinvent Your Business Model: how to seize the white space for transformative growth Named a Top 10 Business Strategy Book of 2018 by Inc. magazine In his pioneering book Seizing the White Space, Mark W. Johnson argued that business model innovation is the most proven path to transformational growth. Since then, Uber, Airbnb, and other startups have disrupted whole industries; incumbents such as Blockbuster, Sears, Toys "R" Us, and BlackBerry have fallen by the wayside; and digital transformation has become one of the business world's hottest (and least understood) slogans. Nearly a decade later, the art and science of business model innovation is more relevant than ever. In this revised, updated, and newly titled edition, Johnson provides an eminently practical framework for understanding how a business model actually works. Identifying its four fundamental building blocks, he lays out a structured and repeatable process for reinventing an existing business model or creating a new one and then incubating and scaling it into a profitable and thriving enterprise. In a new chapter on digital transformation, he shows how serial transformers like Amazon leverage business model innovation so successfully. With rich new case studies of companies that have achieved new success and postmortems of those that haven't, Reinvent Your Business Model will show you how to: Determine if and when your organization needs a new business model Identify powerful new opportunities to serve your existing customers in existing markets Reach entirely new customers and create new markets through disruptive business models and products Seize opportunities for growth opened up by tectonic shifts in market demand, government policy, and technologies Make business model innovation a more predictable discipline inside your organization Business model innovation has the power to reshape whole industries--including retail, aviation, media, and technology--redistributing billions of dollars of value. This book gives you the tools to reshape your own company for enduring success. Reinvent Your Business Model is the strategic innovation playbook you need now and in the future.
Call Number: HD30.28 .J655 2018
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!