Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult Palliative Care for Nursing, Health and Social Care In this far-ranging textbook on palliative and end of life care, John Costello and a team of palliative care specialists take a patient-centred approach. Discussing palliative and end of life care across a range of diseases and illnesses, each chapter includes real-life case studies that focus on both the patient experience and the experiences of the family members of service users. Original in its approach to palliative and end of life care, Adult Palliative Care focuses on a range of non-cancer conditions. Thoughtfully balancing theory with practice, and interprofessional in its scope, Adult Palliative Care would benefit any health professional dealing with or working in the field of palliative and end of life care.
Call Number: R726.8 .A38 2019x
Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care Learn to accurately diagnose the majority of patients seen in today's primary care settings! Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care, 6th Edition goes beyond basic history and physical examination skills to help you learn the diagnostic reasoning process. You will develop this key skill by following assessment guidelines that focus on a specific complaint rather than beginning with a previously established diagnosis or disease entity. Written by advanced practitioners, this edition includes a new chapter on The Transgender Patient that gives you the knowledge you need to properly assess and care for this underserved patient population. It also features expanded coverage of geriatrics, highly infectious diseases, coordination with the interprofessional healthcare team, genetics/genomics in lab testing and family history, updates on psychiatric-mental health problems, and more! A clear, consistent diagnostic reasoning process takes you to the next step of health assessment -- beyond basic history and physical examination to diagnostic reasoning. Diagnostic Reasoning: Focused History sections use "self-questions" to walk you through the thinking process involved in obtaining a pertinent, relevant, problem-specific history that will assist in differential diagnosis. Diagnostic Reasoning: Focused Physical Examination sections explain how to perform more advanced diagnostic techniques and interpret the findings. Key Questions guide you through assessment and toward an accurate diagnosis by listing questions to ask the patient, followed by explanations of what the patient's responses might signify. Laboratory and Diagnostic Studies sections outline the types of tests that might be appropriate based on the focused history and focused physical examination. Differential Diagnosis sections offer the most common diagnoses for each patient problem and summarize the history and physical examination findings, along with recommended laboratory and diagnostic studies. Differential Diagnosis tables provide you with a quick-reference summary of possible diagnoses for each patient problem. Evidence-Based Practice boxes -- more than 30 NEW -- summarize the scientific evidence related to the diagnosis of patient problems. Evidence-Based Preventive Health Screening chapter helps you to screen for common asymptomatic conditions and promote wellness. Information on screening for abuse and sexual assault helps you identify patients who might need additional support or intervention. List of Chapters by Body System provides a convenient Table of Contents organized by body system. NEW! Updated content throughout, includes a special focus on genetics/genomics, psychiatric-mental health issues, geriatrics, and more. NEW! Chapter on The Transgender Patient equips providers with the necessary knowledge to properly assess and care for this underserved patient population. NEW! Interprofessional team of reviewers ensures that content is appropriate for Nurse Practitioners, Physician Assistants, Respiratory Therapists, and other providers, as well as ensuring that referral information promotes effective interprofessional collaboration. NEW! A smaller, more convenient size makes it easy to have this this essential reference handy in a lab-coat pocket, and expanded color illustrations and full-color design enhance content, with colored thumb tabs making it easier for you to find the information you need. NEW! Updated information on psychiatric/mental health problems reflects the latest changes in practice as well as changes to the DSM.
Call Number: RC71 .D35 2020
Case Management: a practical guide for education and practice Prepare for a new career as a case manager--or just upgrade your skills to a whole new level--with the newly updated Case Management: A Practical Guide for Education and Practice , 4th Edition . Ideal for case management certification (CCMC) exam preparation, this is a thorough review of the case manager's many roles and skills, from acute to post-acute care. Whether you are a nurse transitioning to case management or already active in it, this is your road map to coordinating successful patient care, from hospital to home. Build a strong case management career foundation, with expert, evidence-based direction: NEW chapter on case manager orientation programs that offers orientation checklists, competency assessment, and learning profiles, with available online tools NEW topics on current practice issues and developments, including the impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and value-based care NEW content on experiential, problem-based learning--learning practices, training programs, case management team professional development Offers in-depth, evidence-based guidance on: The case manager's roles, functions, and tasks Key concepts--quality management and outcomes evaluation, legal and ethical considerations, case management process, utilization management, transitions of care The role of the nurse case manager versus social worker role Strategies that ensure effectiveness of case management models Coordinating care, protecting privacy and confidentiality, health insurance benefit analysis, practice standards The Case Management Code of Professional Conduct, accreditation agencies and standards, specialty board certifications Management of resources and reimbursement concepts Case management in various settings--acute care, emergency department, admissions, perioperative services, disease management, insurance case management, palliative care, end-of-life care, hospice, home health care, physician groups, public health/community-based care, rehabilitation Ideal preparation for the CCMC exam --offers a large portion of CCMC exam content--and for Continuing Education Unit (CEU) for Case Management study A must-have desk reference that offers plentiful case studies--considered to be "the bible" of case management About the Authors Suzanne K. Powell, RN, MBA, CCM, CPHQ, is Editor-in-Chief, of Professional Case Management: Leading Evidence Based Practice Across Transitions of Care at Lippincott Williams & Wilkins in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Hussein M. Tahan, PhD, RN, is System Vice President of Nursing, Professional Development and Workforce Planning at MedStar Health System Nursing in Columbia, Maryland.
Call Number: RA975.5.C36 P69 2019
Critical Conversations in Healthcare: scripts & techniques for effective interprofessional & patient communication Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Second Edition, provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Chapters feature do's and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help you improve your on-the-job interactions. Whether you are a new nurse at the bedside or the CEO of a major healthcare facility, this fully revised second edition will show you how to: New: Communicate mindfully, New: Interpret body language, New: Develop a growth mind-set, Work with frustrated families, angry physicians, and uncooperative colleagues, Deal with gossip, harassment, and other tough topics, Successfully address workloads, management styles, and other tricky subjects, Improve the patient experience, Overcome conversation traps Book jacket.
Call Number: RT73 .R68 2019
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management Easy-to-read and understand coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Historical perspectives on nursing today Information on career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Beginning- and end-of-chapter case studies that promote clinical reasoning Content on evidence-based practice, situational leadership, staffing, diversity, and team building Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Detailed information on the NCLEX exam Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing
Call Number: RT89 .T357 2019
Health Promotion and Disease Prevention in Clinical Practice The Third Edition of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention in Clinical Practice reflects a clinically-focused, team-based approach to health promotion conversations. This practical reference incorporates the latest guidelines from major organizations, including the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, and offers a complete overview of how to help patients adopt healthy behaviors and deliver recommended screening tests and immunizations. Packed with realistic strategies throughout, it offers expert guidance on counseling patients about exercise, nutrition, tobacco use, substance use, sexually transmitted infections, depression, and more. Provides sample conversations and practical strategies for preventive counseling during each stage of the patient encounter: gathering information from the patient, ordering evidence-based screenings and lab tests, designing personalized health maintenance plans, facilitating behavior change, and more. Incorporates real-world guidance from experts in behavioral change in the context of limited resources, tailoring advice to different ethnic, financial, and social viewpoints. Helps you identify possible environmental or lifestyle risks and help patients develop strategies for mitigating those risks. Addresses the importance of providing care through a population health lens. Contains updated patient resource materials and instructions.
Call Number: RA427.8 .H4923 2020
Lippincott Q & A Review for NCLEX-RN LIPPINCOTT'S Q&A REVIEW FOR NCLEX-RN, 13E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book is as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. Because the questions found in the book are also available in PassPoint , the products used together act as an ongoing assessment tool to monitor progress throughout the nursing curriculum. The book is designed to support the four major content areas in pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. Within each of the four sections, chapters are organized around common health problems. When studying, students can select examinations that parallel the content in a particular course in a variety of curricula. PassPoint offers the same flexibility for review and study. The textbook includes six comprehensive examinations to provide students a realistic example of the NCLEX-RN test, in which test items are randomized by subject area and difficulty. A new inclusion is a seventh comprehensive test focused exclusively on pharmacology items, to help students review and succeed on questions from this traditionally challenging content area. This consistently bestselling NCLEX-RN review book features more than 6,000 high-level questions that prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. The questions support the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2019 test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. The 13th edition emphasizes alignment of content with the Activity Statements of the NCSBN RN Practice Analysis and has more questions on critically essential areas, including time management, cost-effective care, handoff reports, code of ethics and ethical dilemmas, transcribing prescriptions, reporting unsafe practices, using proper ergonomics, safe handling of biohazardous materials, devices to promote venous return, evaluating intake and output, titrating intravenous medications, administering controlled substances, safe handling of medications, phototherapy, managing arterial lines, telemetry, client confidentiality and privacy, safe identification of patients, and managing disasters. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationale for both correct and incorrect answers, information about the NCLEX-RN, study tips, and a Content Mastery and Test-Taking Self Analysis grid by which students can chart their own progress and modify study plans as needed. The accompanying site on thePoint provides an opportunity for students to practice taking computer-generated exams as well as taking "audio" questions that require students to listen to audio files to answer.
Call Number: RT55 .B55 2020
Moderate Procedural Sedation and Analgesia: a question and answer approach Introducing the definitive resource designed for practitioners working in the rapidly expanding area of moderate procedural sedation and analgesia clinical practice. Moderate Procedural Sedation and Analgesia: A Question and Answer Approach focuses on the preprocedural, procedural, and postprocedural care of the moderately sedated patient in a variety of settings. This comprehensive text is designed to provide all the content and tools nurses and other clinicians need to demonstrate competency in moderate sedation and analgesia. Additionally, this user-friendly text is written by well-known sedation/analgesia expert, Michael Kost and recommended by standards of practice from the ANA, AORN, and the American Academy of Pediatrics. New clinically focused text ensures clinicians involved in the administration and management of patients receiving moderate sedation have access to the most up-to-date information. Strong safety focus throughout the book explains how technology and clinician practice can improve sedation administration. Chapters organized in clinical problem/question plus answer format help you easily comprehend material. Follows the latest TJC Sedation/Anesthesia Guidelines ensuring you are ready for medication administration in clinical practice. Pediatrics and Geriatrics chapters cover specific sedation practice recommendations that address the substantive clinical practice challenges associated with these patient populations. Pharmacologic profiles of medications detail their use in the moderate sedation practice setting.
Call Number: RD85.C64 K67 2020
MSW Care Transitions in Case Management Case management has grown beyond the walls of inpatient care sites; it now also supports and manages care in ambulatory settings and during fragile transition periods. Hospitals and health systems recognize that case management is the glue that maintains the patients progress. A skilled case manager not only helps the patient achieve personal health outcomes, but also helps improve the fiscal health of the healthcare organization.
Longitudinal Case Management: Designs Across the Continuum of Care provides guidance on establishing case management processes to bridge the gap between care settings such as ambulatory, acute, and postacute with the goal of arming the patient with community resources to thrive at home. This book provides practical advice on patient and family engagement, strategies for partnering with payer case managers and utilization review, definitions of roles, and road maps for those involved in case management. Covering the entire lifetime of patient care, this book is a useful tool for case managers in all settings as they work to improve relationships and resources across the care continuum.
This comprehensive resource includes everything readers need to institute longitudinal care plans in their facility, including how to:
Improve stakeholder communication and alignment
Explain the entire continuum of care
Implement longitudinal care models that address care throughout the lifespan of the patient across inpatient, emergency department, home health, patient home, and other settings
Call Number: RA975.5.C36 G45 2018x
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT73 .R68 2019
Nursing and Therapy Documentation: optimizing SNF regulatory compliance and quality resident outcomes With all of the regulatory changes taking effect between 2017 and 2019, communication across disciplines has become even more crucial. Facilities must work to align resident documentation across multiple departments, such as nursing and therapy, to not only improve quality of care, but protect themselves from an audit.
Most SNFs provide the care the resident needs at the appropriate time, but struggle with communicating and recording the care on the MDS in order to trigger a higher case-mix level and corresponding reimbursement. Nursing and Therapy Documentation: Optimizing SNF Regulatory Compliance & Financial Performance highlights key areas of collaboration and communication that can ensure the full scope of resident care is documented and identified, letting the facility receive the payment it deserves.
This resource also provides access to downloadable tools and example documentation scenarios to help SNFs create an interdisciplinary team approach to their documentation processes.
Order today and learn how to:
Align with MDS 3.0 documentation requirements
Promote better collaboration between nursing and therapy skilled services
Coordinate documentation to improve resident care
Reduce your audit risk
Strengthen reimbursement claims with comprehensive documentation
Prove medical necessity and need for skilled care by practicing accurate documentation
Call Number: RT50 .K56 2018
Secondary Qualitative Data Analysis in the Health and Social Sciences Despite a long history in quantitative research, it is only recently that enthusiasm for secondary analysis of qualitative data has gained momentum across health and social science disciplines. Given that researchers have long known the inordinate amount of time and energy invested in conducting qualitative research, the appeal of secondary analysis of qualitative data is clear. Involving the use of an existing dataset to answer research questions that are different from those asked in the original study, this method allows researchers to once again make use of their hard-earned qualitative dataset and to listen to their participants' voices to the best of their ability in order to improve care and promote understanding. As secondary qualitative data analysis continues to evolve, more methodological guidance is needed. This book outlines three approaches to secondary data analysis and addresses the key issues that researchers need to wrestle with, such as ethical considerations, voice, and representation. Intellectual and interpretive hazards that can jeopardize the outcome of these analyses are highlighted and discussed, as are the criteria for assessing their quality and trustworthiness. Written as a thought-provoking guide for qualitative researchers from across the health and social sciences, this text includes a review of the state of the science in nursing and a number of in-depth illustrative case studies. erations, voice, and representation. Intellectual and interpretive hazards that can jeopardize the outcome of these analyses are highlighted and discussed, as are the criteria for assessing their quality and trustworthiness. Written as a thought-provoking guide for qualitative researchers from across the health and social sciences, this text includes a review of the state of the science in nursing and a number of in-depth illustrative case studies.
Call Number: R853.Q34 B43 2019
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students is a practical and readable guide that shows readers how to successfully complete a research project plan or literature review as part of their final year assessment. It guides readers through all of the necessary stages from start to finish, beginning with preparation and planning, using and critiquing research, and finally writing up and completing their project. The authors also explore the crucial challenge of translating evidence into practice and how this can lead to improved decision-making, better practice, and improved services.
Call Number: RT81.5 .W493 2017x
What to Do When Nurses Hurt Nurses: understanding and resolving relational aggression and bullying in nursing Outside of nursing, most people believe bullies are native only to playgrounds and high school locker rooms. Unfortunately, bullies also frequent hospital units, ambulatory care centers, clinics, and even emergency departments. Their targets? Their own colleagues and peers.
Most practitioners know that the old adage “nurses eat their young” is alive and well in the 21st century. This conflict saps energy, destroys teamwork, and hinders motivation. Worst of all, it can decrease the quality of patient care. This fully updated new edition, What to Do When Nurses Hurt Nurses, tackles topics ranging from social media and crucial communications to resiliency and stress management. It provides tools to help nurses create safer, more respectful workplaces and combat the ongoing cycle of bullying. Cheryl Dellasega, author of the groundbreaking Surviving Ophelia, explores relational aggression and the nature of nurseon- nurse violence while establishing an action plan for the future.
Call Number: RT86 .D45 2019
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology 11th Edition The definitive guide to understanding, diagnosing, and treating neurologic disease - more complete, timely, and essential than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is truly the classic text in its discipline --- a celebrated volume that guides clinicians to an in-depth understanding of the key aspects of neurologic disease, including both clinical and new scientific data. This meticulously revised and updated text remains the masterwork in its field, and the most readable reference available. Within its pages, you will find a disciplined presentation of clinical data and lucid descriptions of underlying disease processes. Some of the features that have made this resource so renowned: * The most cohesive and consistent approach to clinical management - acclaimed as the most readable book in the literature * A scholarly approach that gives readers a comprehensive overview of every neurologic illness * Unmatched coverage of signs and symptoms * A focus on the full range of therapeutic options available to treat neurologic diseases, including drug therapy and rehabilitation methods * Coverage of the most exciting discoveries and hypotheses of modern neuroscience that bear on and explain neurologic disease * Puts the latest scientific discovery into a larger clinical context * An evenness of style and a uniform approach to subject matter across disciplines that allows a quick and easy review of each topic and condition * A rich, full-color presentation that includes many high-quality illustrations The Eleventh Edition is enhanced by new coverage of : * Interventional therapies for acute ischemic stroke * Novel immunotherapies used to treat inflammatory and neoplastic conditions, and neurotoxicities associated with these drugs * New drugs to treat epilepsy and multiple sclerosis * Update of genetics of inherited metabolic disease * Current understanding of the genetics of primary nervous system malignancies and their bearing on treatment
Call Number: RC346 .A3 2019
Berek & Novak's Gynecology Covering the entire spectrum of women's healthcare , Berek & Novak's Gynecology, 16th Edition, provides definitive information and guidance for trainees and practicing physicians. A newly streamlined design and brilliant, full-color illustrations highlight must-know content on principles of practice and initial assessment, including relevant basic science; preventive and primary care for women; and methods of diagnosis and management in general gynecology, operative gynecology, urogynecology and pelvic reconstructive surgery, early pregnancy issues, reproductive endocrinology, and gynecologic oncology. Features a modern, two-column design throughout, for an easier-to-manage volume with unabridged content. Contains thoroughly revised, clinically-focused information, including a new chapter on violence against women and sexual assault. Offers authoritative discussions on current topics such as robotics, power morcellation, and gender identity issues. Includes key points at the beginning of each chapter that are annotated throughout; exhaustive reference lists for more in-depth study and highlighted top references; and updated illustrations and photographs. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RG101 .N69 2020
Diagnosis and Surgical Management of Renal Cell Carcinoma Renal cell carcinoma (RCC) is the most common primary malignancy of the kidney, with an estimated 64,000 new cases diagnosed each year in the United States. Worldwide, this figure approaches 270,000 annual incident cases. At the time of initial presentation, 80% of patients with RCC will be diagnosed with a tumor localized the kidney. The majority of these lesions will be small (i.e. ≤4 cm) and potentially curable with either partial or radical nephrectomy. In recent decades, the rate of incidentally detected small renal tumors has risen substantially due the increasing use of cross-sectional imaging performed across the field of medicine. This rise in the incident number of localized renal tumors has unfortunately not resulted in a corresponding decrease in cases of metastatic RCC. This observation has led to our understanding that a significant proportion of incidentally detected renal tumors are of low malignant potential and may be safely managed with alternatives to surgery such active surveillance and thermo ablation. The use of these less invasive management approaches, however, must be balanced by the reality that upon spreading beyond the confines of the kidney, RCC is almost always incurable. Thus, when selecting a management strategy for a given patient, one must employ a risk-adapted approach that includes knowledge of a tumor's histology and metastatic potential. In each patient, the goal of management should be to minimize the risk of progression to metastatic disease while preserving renal function and minimizing morbidity. This text provides a contemporary review of the diagnosis and surgical management of RCC. It opens with chapters on the pathology, radiology, and genetics of RCC. It then covers the risk stratification of renal tumors utilizing renal mass biopsy as well as non-invasive novel imaging-based scoring systems. Next, the surgical management of small and locally advanced renal tumors as well as the role of surgery in cases of metastatic RCC is reviewed. In addition, alternative approaches to surgery including active surveillance and ablative techniques are reviewed. Other chapters detail the emerging role of neoadjuvant and adjuvant systemic therapy in patients who are at high risk of progression to metastatic disease. Finally, the text covers the post-operative surveillance of patients with RCC as well as a summary of contemporary guidelines on the management of this disease. Diagnosis and Surgical Management of Renal Cell Carcinoma will serve as a comprehensive resource for physicians and researchers interested in RCC. All chapters will be written by experts in the field and will include the most up to date scientific and clinical information.
Call Number: RC280.K5 D53 2019x
Handbook of Obesity Treatment, Second Edition The leading clinical reference work in the field--now significantly revised with 85% new material--this handbook gives practitioners and students a comprehensive understanding of the causes, consequences, and management of adult and childhood obesity. In concise, extensively referenced chapters from preeminent authorities, the Handbook presents foundational knowledge and reviews evidence-based psychosocial and lifestyle interventions as well as pharmacological and surgical treatments. It provides guidelines for conducting psychosocial and medical assessments and for developing individualized treatment plans. The effects of obesity--and of weight loss--on physical and psychological well-being are reviewed, as are strategies for helping patients maintain their weight loss. New to This Edition *Many new authors and topics; extensively revised and expanded with over 15 years of research and clinical advances, including breakthroughs in understanding the biological regulation of appetite and body weight. *Section on contributors to obesity, with new chapters on food choices, physical activity, sleep, and psychosocial and environmental factors. *Chapters on novel treatments for adults--acceptance and commitment therapy, motivational interviewing, digitally based interventions, behavioral economics, community-based programs, and nonsurgical devices. *Chapters on novel treatments for children and adolescents--school-based preventive interventions, family-based behavioral weight loss treatment, and bariatric surgery. *Chapters on the gut microbiome, the emerging field of obesity medicine, reimbursement for weight loss therapies, and managing co-occurring eating disorders and obesity.
Call Number: RC628 .O32 2018
Heart Failure: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease Up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive, Heart Failure, 4th Edition, provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively manage and treat patients with this complex cardiovascular problem. This fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease helps you make the most of new drug therapies such as angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs), recently improved implantable devices, and innovative patient management strategies. Led by internationally recognized heart failure experts Dr. G. Michael Felker and Dr. Douglas Mann, this outstanding reference gives health care providers the knowledge to improve clinical outcomes in heart failure patients. Focuses on a clinical approach to treating heart failure, resulting from a broad variety of cardiovascular problems. Covers the most recent guidelines and protocols, including significant new updates to ACC, AHA, and HFSA guidelines. Covers key topics such as biomarkers and precision medicine in heart failure and new data on angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs). Contains four new chapters: Natriuretic Peptides in Heart Failure; Amyloidosis as a Cause of Heart Failure; HIV and Heart Failure; and Neuromodulation in Heart Failure. Covers the pathophysiological basis for the development and progression of heart failure. Serves as a definitive resource to prepare for the ABIM's Heart Failure board exam. 2016 British Medical Association Award: First Prize, Cardiology (3rd Edition). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC685.C53 H426 2020
Histology for Pathologists Filled with more than 1,000 images, the latest edition of this award-winning comprehensive classic--written by anatomic pathologists for anatomic pathologists--has been updated with new information on surgical principles and techniques. Like previous editions, the book is designed to bridge the gap between normal histology and pathologic alterations. Now featuring the latest developments and advances made since the previous edition five years ago. Unique among pathology textbooks in using human--as opposed to animal--tissues for discussions on histology. Essential reading for all anatomic pathologists, and particularly helpful for pathology residents throughout their training. Chapters and sections organized by biological system as well as body region. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: QM551 .H667 2020
Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis This book is a comprehensive guide to our current understanding of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF), its disease pathogenesis, genetic underpinnings, diagnosis, and management. Since the first edition, many new developments have occurred in the understanding and management of this serious disease, revising our understanding of how it presents, manifests, and reacts to certain treatments. This second edition is fully updated with six new chapters by our team of international, expert authors. New topics include: classification of interstitial lung disease, pulmonary function tests in IPF, biomarkers, clinical phenotypes, mimics, and a discussion of clinical trials. Each chapter additionally includes a brief summary of ongoing research and potential future directions. Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for clinicians who desire a deeper understanding of IPF in order to better help their patients.
Call Number: RC776.F5 I36 2019
Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases Written for the undergraduate Respiratory Therapy student, Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases provide a comprehensive learning system centered on the essentials of respiratory disorders. It helps respiratory therapy students gain the pulmonary disease knowledge base necessary to pass the National Board for Respiratory Care's (NBRC) Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credentialing exams and function as competent, confident respiratory therapists.
Call Number: RC731 .K37 2020x
Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Twelfth Edition Revised by a collaborative, international, interdisciplinary team of editors and authors, this edition includes the latest applications of genomics and proteomics and is filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
Call Number: QR46 .M425 2019
Microbiology Mastering essential microbiology concepts is easier with this vividly illustrated review resource. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this proven approach uses clear, concise writing and hundreds of dynamic illustrations to take students inside various microorganisms and ensure success on board exams. Straightforward lecture-style outlines streamline the review process, accompanied by hundreds of colorful illustrations that make complex concepts more accessible and bring microorganisms to life in vibrant detail. This edition makes exam preparation more efficient than ever with an emphasis on exam-relevant content, as well as hundreds of board-style review questions that help students confidently prepare for the USMLE. Revised coverage familiarizes students with the topics and approaches they're most likely to encounter on exams and in clinical settings. Lecture-style outline format guides students step-by-step through essential concepts. More than 400 full-color illustrations clarify complex microorganisms and common processes. Chapter overviews highlight the most critical information and make studying more efficient and effective. Illustrated case studies challenge students to apply their understanding to commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Hundreds of USMLE-style review questions help students assess their understanding and prepare for exams.
Call Number: QR62 .S775 2020
On Call Surgery Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD93 .A32 2020
Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury: Proactive Intervention, Third Edition presents a unique philosophy for assessing and treating children and adolescents with traumatic brain injury.
The text is written for the many service providers and families who support children or adolescents with TBI. The road to recovery after an injury or illness can be challenging and complicated. The authors' proactive approach encourages strong collaborative partnerships that encourage family, healthcare, and education providers to join forces in order to acquire the insights, knowledge, and tools needed to identify problems and implement personalized solutions. Readers will gain valuable resources and information about extending services beyond the walls of hospital and school settings. The authors stress the importance of focusing on cognitive-communication skills and supporting reintegration and functional success in home, school, community and work situations.
The authors build readers' understanding of the causes, characteristics, and impact of pediatric TBI. Functional assessment and treatment approaches are recommended to facilitate positive reintegration experiences. The text illustrates the challenges students face when confronted with demands and expectations in social and academic situations. Educators and healthcare providers will recognize the value of interprofessional collaboration and be motivated to employ problem solving approaches.
Provides practical resources, forms, and handouts that can be personalized and shared with families and colleagues
Presents a framework for developing Individualized Transition and Individual Family Service Plans
Recommends topics for professional development
Includes information on returning to learning following concussion
Call Number: RJ496.B7 B55 2019
Pulmonary Function Tests in Clinical Practice This revised and updated book provides a simplified approach to interpreting most diagnostic tests in the field of respiratory medicine. Easy to understand and practical, it contains more than 125 illustrated diagrams and over 50 tables with essential information that summarize the various diagnostic tests and interpretative approaches in a simple and understandable fashion. Of special note are chapters on exercise testing and diagnostic tests for sleep disorders, the latter a new and emerging field. This new edition contains revised information based on the newest ATS guidelines. Pulmonary Function Tests in Clinical Practice Second Edition assists residents and fellows in internal medicine, pulmonology, allergology and critical care by explaining the key information obtained from lung volume measurement and increases understanding of pulmonary function tests within the modern diagnostic armamentarium.
Call Number: RC734.P84 P85 2019x
Resilience in Aging: concepts, research and outcomes This updated and expanded second edition of Resilience in Aging offers a comprehensive description of the current state of knowledge with regard to resilience from physiological (including genetic), psychological (including cognitive and creative), cultural, and economic perspectives. In addition, the book considers the impact of resilience on many critical aspects of life for older adults including policy issues, economic, cognitive and physiological challenges, spirituality, chronic illness, and motivation. The only book devoted solely to the importance and development of resilience in quality of life among older adults, Resilience in Aging, 2nd Edition continues to offer evidence-based theory, clinical guidelines, and new and updated case examples and real-world interventions so professional readers can make the best use of this powerful tool. The critical insights in this volume are concluded with a discussion of future directions on optimizing resilience and the importance of a lifespan approach to the critical component of aging. The book's coverage extends across disciplines and domains, including: Resilience and personality disorders in older age. Cultural and ethnic perspectives on enhancing resilience in aging Sustained by the sacred: religious and spiritual factors for resilience in adulthood and aging. Building resilience in persons with early-stage dementia and their care partners. Interdisciplinary geriatric mental health resilience interventions. Developing resilience in the aged and dementia care workforce. Using technology to enhance resilience among older adults. This wide-ranging and updated lifespan approach gives Resilience in Aging, 2nd Edition particular relevance to the gamut of practitioners in gerontology and geriatrics, including health psychologists, neuropsychologists, clinical psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, geriatricians, family physicians, nurses, occupational and physical therapists, among others.
Call Number: BF698.35.R47 R47 2018x
The Washington Manual of Surgical Pathology Focusing on the essential information you need to know for the clinical practice of surgical pathology, this award-winning volume in the Lippincott Manual series provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in the field. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of surgical pathology for every organ and anatomic site --all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Washington Manual of Surgical Pathology, 3rd Edition, is an ideal reference for surgical pathologists at all levels of training and practice. Includes new WHO classifications and access to more than 2,700 high-quality images online. Offers brief, logical approaches to gross examination and dissection; microscopic diagnosis of medical as well as surgical diseases; and tumor classification. Features separate chapters devoted to ancillary surgical pathology techniques, including immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence microscopy, electron microscopy, frozen section diagnosis, flow cytometry, DNA and RNA based molecular methods, and imaging technologies. Presents valuable content in a concise, practical format that includes easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, and algorithms. Previous edition winner of the BMA Medical Book Award First Prize in Pathology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD57 .W37 2020
Management/Employee Development Books
Basic and Advanced Focus Groups Basic and Advanced Focus Groups illustrates both the different types of focus groups and how to decide among those options in order to produce the most effective focus groups possible. A variety of approaches to doing research with focus groups gives readers the tools to develop and examine their research designs, starting with the basics. Advanced coverage in each chapter takes an in-depth look at topics such as moderating focus groups, using mixed methods, and working with different sizes of groups. By taking a practical, applied approach, the author gives even novice students the knowledge and confidence to design and conduct effective focus group research, while simultaneously providing more advanced researchers with the tools and knowledge to refine their current practices.
Call Number: H61.28 .M668 2019
Competency-Based Interviews: how to master the tough interview style used by the Fortune 500s People interviewing for jobs today often fail because they are using yesterday's strategies. Technology is becoming more sophisticated and virtual assessment centers are being used to assess how strong candidates are in key competency areas. Global competencies are being used to help organizations choose people for international assignments or simply to work on diverse international teams. The best employers are constantly changing the way interviews are done. This newly revised edition of Competency-Based Interviews offers you a new and more effective way to handle the tough new interviews so that you will emphasize the knowledge, skills, and abilities that you have and that employers demand. Preparing for a competency-based interview will give you the strategy you need to: Be selected for the most competitive positions Win the best job at a new organization Get a great first job or internship Be chosen for that critical promotion in your current organization Take control of your career path Increase your salary Secure more interesting assignments and more interesting work
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 K47 2012
The Competency Question Book for Job Interviews 3rd Edition This book helps anyone who struggles to answer competency job questions such as "Tell me of a time when you showed initiative" or "Give me an example of when you delivered outstanding customer service" or "Give me an example of when you have worked well in a team". It addresses and simplifies the 16 most commonly tested competencies and provides hundreds of examples. ---- The author has a background in four Civil Service departments , including DWP Jobcentres and in recruitment and training. He has helped hundreds of jobseekers, both unemployed and employed , school-leavers, job-returners, job-changers, ex-offenders, students, graduates and many more to find a job or to find a better job.---- This book is an essential aid for you if you struggle to answer competency questions, either in an interview situation or on application forms. This is the revised, 3rd edition.--- The competencies included are :--- Adapting to Change -- Attention to Detail -- Communication -- Customer Service -- Deadlines and Targets -- Decision Making -- Drive, Determination and Resilience --- Equality and Diversity -- Initiative -- Integrity -- Leadership -- Managing Yourself -- Negotiation -- Persuasion -- Problem Solving -- Teamworking.-----I have helped many hard-to-help people get a good job and can help you , if you buy this. ---GET A CAREER BEFORE A ROBOT TAKES YOUR JOB .
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 N48 2017x
From Competition to Collaboration: how leaders cultivate partnerships to drive value and transform health Every healthcare executive knows that the US health system is in desperate need of repair, yet the path to real change remains unclear. The shift to value-based care is a step in the right direction, but the move to control costs while enhancing quality will require a significant transformation in all sectors of the field. No single enterprise can address these challenges on its own-organizations must work together, and across sectors, to optimize the value of their services and address affordability, access, and cost. From Competition to Collaboration: How Leaders Cultivate Partnerships to Drive Value and Transform Health explains how healthcare leaders can navigate the difficult issues that arise when multiple organizations from different sectors and with different operating models, objectives, and cultures work together toward a shared purpose. By using this book's health ecosystem leadership model (HELM), leaders can shift their mind-set toward a broader purpose, focusing not just on healthcare but on health and promoting wellness. Authors Tracy Duberman and Robert Sachs provide a roadmap for developing new leadership competencies. Using HELM, innovative leaders can work across the various segments of healthcare to meet the mission of creating healthier communities. To illustrate how this model is best applied, the authors offer a detailed fictional case study, as well as real-life examples from leaders who have demonstrated success with collaborative ecosystem initiatives. The book helps define the skills required for ecosystem leadership and presents concrete, actionable techniques and strategies for development. To make the essential shift toward healthier communities, healthcare needs leaders capable of building and maintaining relationships across the health ecosystem. From Competition to Collaboration offers the tools and guidance to help drive leaders toward this shared purpose.
Call Number: RA427 .D79 2019
The Grant Application Writer's Workbook: National Institutes of Health Version *** NOTE*** On Dec. 7th, 2018, NIH published updates to the instructions and review criteria language for grant applications due on or after January 25, 2019. This edition has been updated to comply with those instructions. All six sets of program-specific grants have been improved with respect to format and plain language, compared to the earlier, 2016 originals.
Call Number: R853.P75 R875 2019x
HBR Guide to Making Every Meeting Matter (HBR Guide Series) Make every minute count. Your calendar is full, and yet your meetings don't always seem to advance your work. Problems often arise with unrealistic or vague agendas, off-track conversations, tuned-out participants who don't know why they're there, and follow-up notes that no one reads--or acts on. Meetings can feel like a waste of time. But when you invest a little energy in preparing yourself and your participants, you'll stay focused, solve problems, gain consensus, and leave each meeting ready to take action. With input from over 20 experts combined with useful checklists, sample agendas, and follow-up memos, the HBR Guide to Making Every Meeting Matter will teach you how to: Set and communicate your meeting's purpose Invite the right people Prepare an achievable agenda Moderate a lively conversation Regain control of a wayward meeting Ensure follow-through without babysitting or haranguing Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, from a source you trust. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
Call Number: HF5734.5 .H397 2016
Health Care Market Strategy: from planning to action Health Care Market Strategy: From Planning to Action, Fifth Edition, a standard reference for nearly 20 years, bridges the gap between marketing theory and implementation by showing you, step-by-step, how to develop and execute successful marketing strategies using appropriate tactics. By putting the concepts learned in introductory marketing courses into action using the authors' own unique model--called the strategy/action match-- you will learn how to determine exactly which tactics to employ in each stage of the market.In this new edition, you'll also discover the latest practical applications for strategy development, the marketing planning process, challenges of a competitive marketplace, vision, and other critical aspects of health care marketing. Whether you're a student interested in learning marketing strategy or a working executive seeking additional training in management, this book will teach you what a sound strategy looks like, and the importance of an overall strategy before a marketing plan is created.
Call Number: RA410.56 .H55 2020
Leadership in Health Care The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resourcesfor both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Call Number: RA394.9 .B37 2019x
Managing Business Ethics: straight talk about how to do it right Linda Treviño and Kate Nelson bring together a mix of theory and practice in Managing Business Ethics: Straight Talk about How to Do It Right, 7th Edition. In this new edition, the dynamic author team of Linda Treviño, prolific researcher and Distinguished Professor, and Kate Nelson, Professor and longtime practitioner of strategic organizational communications and human resources, equip students with the pragmatic knowledge they need to identify and solve ethical dilemmas, understand their own and others ethical behavior, and promote ethical behavior in their organization. Managing Business Ethics is the perfect text to prepare students for a range of roles in the business world--managers across business functions, communications professionals, compliance officers, corporate counsels, human resources managers, and senior executives.
Call Number: HF5387 .T734 2017
Mission Critical Meetings: 81 practical facilitation techniques Most people believe that meetings are a huge waste of time -- and they're right. Though meetings are essential to the life of any organization, they tend to be boring, inefficient, and unproductive. But they don't have to be. Mission Critical Meetings shows you how to facilitate meetings that participants will look forward to. You'll learn how to: get participants engaged keep everyone on track boost, creativity foster a sense of teamwork, make and implement decisions, and much more. The impact of a well-run meeting extends far beyond the short-term enthusiasm of its participants. When you use the techniques described in this book, members will be better equipped to stay on task, work toward a common goal, and contribute to the success of your organization.
Call Number: HF5734.5 .B87 2014x
A Practical Guide to Managing Temporary Workers Prepare for Your Workforce of Tomorrow Today's economic reality is changing the traditional employment model. No longer is it assumed that everyone who works for you will be on your company's payroll. Alongside your regular employees might be temps, freelancers, and independent contractors, all offering a more cost effective and efficient model to address your human resource needs. At the same time, these arrangements can meet the needs of workers by giving them income, experience, skills, a work record, or perhaps just the flexibility to work when and where they want. Utilizing a mix of regular and contingent workers, or even outsourcing the entire workforce, is one way to help reduce these costs and has become a more attractive employment model for many organizations. A Practical Guide to Managing Temporary Workers takes you inside this process. The use of contingent workers has burgeoned, especially since the Great Recession, and the businesses providing access to such workers have become increasingly numerous and sophisticated. From developing a strategy and guidelines around contingent workers to training and treating them fairly, this book helps you gain a better understanding of the possible impact of these workers on your organization's future and how you can manage them more effectively.
Call Number: HD5854.2.U6 G37 2018x
Safety Culture and High-Risk Environments: a leadership perspective This book provides leaders in high risk industries a better understanding of how their values and behaviors can influence the organization's safety culture and improve its capacity to bounce back from failure. Examples are illustrated through case studies and practical tools are provided to evaluate and improve an organization's culture by improving leadership capability. This unique book integrates the areas of safety culture and high reliability from the perspective of leadership in a work team environment. Readers of the book will get a fresh perspective on safety culture and reliability that can be translated into practical steps for improving their organization through its leadership.
Call Number: T55 .C34 2018
Teaming to Innovate Innovation requires teaming. (Put another way, teaming is to innovation what assembly lines are to car production.) This book brings together key insights on teaming, as they pertain to innovation. How do you build a culture of innovation? What does that culture look like? How does it evolve and grow? How are teams most effectively created and then nurtured in this context? What is a leader's role in this culture? This little book is a roadmap for teaming to innovate. We describe five necessary steps along that road: Aim High, Team Up, Fail Well, Learn Fast, and Repeat. This path is not smooth. To illustrate each critical step, we look at real-life scenarios that show how teaming to innovate provides the spark that can fertilize creativity, clarify goals, and redefine the meaning of leadership.
Call Number: HD66 .E3275 2013
Virtual Training Basics It's a digital world; is your training up to speed? Build your virtual training skills with this new edition of Virtual Training Basics by Cindy Huggett. You don't have to be a tech wizard to follow her tested and proven techniques for enhancing your virtual training design and delivery. E-learning has been around since the late 90s, but it continually evolves. Sometimes, it may seem impossible to keep up--but your learners need courses that they can take anywhere, organizations need to save money and time on travel, and everyone expects your material to be as current as possible. Take it back to the basics. Virtual Training Basics will get you started with the fundamentals of virtual training, and then build you up through design and facilitation, with updated material and two new chapters to cover the latest breakthroughs and skills you need to know. In this book, you will: - Get tips from a variety of seasoned virtual trainers.- Gain insight into the differences (and similarities) between facilitating in-person training and virtual training.- Understand the fundamentals of virtual training design. Whether you're new to virtual training or looking for ways to update your existing skills, Virtual Training Basics, 2nd edition, will take you there.
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 H84 2018x
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016