Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing Succinct, complete guidance on how to safely and competently care for adult, critically ill patients and their families - written by top clinical experts A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this acclaimed textbook sets the standard for critical care nursing education. Recognizing the learner's need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex critical care nursing concepts, the book features a practical building-block organization that starts with the basics and logically progresses to advanced topics. Bolstered by helpful tables and essential content cases, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing is an essential tool for clinicians at the point of care, and those preparing for CCRN® certification in critical care nursing. AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Fourth Edition is presented in four sections: * The Essentials presents core information that new clinicians must understand to provide safe, competent nursing care to all critically ill patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnoses. * Pathologic Conditions covers pathologic conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among adult critical care patients. * Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Critically Ill Patient moves beyond the essentials and includes information about specific pathologic conditions that require specialized critical care management. * Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values, troubleshooting guides for hemodynamic monitoring, summary tables of critical care drugs, and cardiac rhythms and treatment guides. Learning aids include Knowledge Competencies that can be used to gauge progress, Priniciples of Management to summarize key concepts and "Essential Content" case studies with questions and answers to further reinforce the learners' knowledge.
Call Number: RT120.I5 A165 2019
Conducting the DNP Project: practical steps when the proposal is complete A "how-to" approach to navigating the strenuous path from DNP plan to completed project You completed your DNP proposal and have approval to proceed: What's next? How do you move from proposal phase to conduct and complete your project? This text is the first to discuss the practical steps to implement and complete the project and will help DNP students to systematically transition from plan to action. Written by an author with extensive experience helping students with their quality improvement projects, the text educates readers on the core components of conducting the clinical scholarly project. With a focus on working effectively with clinical staff, the book addresses IRB approval; ethics; working with human subjects; project planning; collecting, analyzing, and interpreting clinical data; disseminating findings; and how to complete the project in a timely manner. It discusses interprofessional collaboration, team building, and how to debrief project participants. Examples of successful scholarly projects and recommendations for project improvement offer additional guidance, along with consideration of common problems that many students face and how to resolve them. Objectives and review questions are provided in selected chapters. Key Features: Delivers practical, step-by-step strategies for implementing and completing the DNP projectFocuses on finding and effectively communicating with team membersExplains how to collect, analyze, and interpret clinical dataDescribes how to establish protocol for working with patientsOffers chapter objectives, review questions, and case studies demonstrating major content components
Call Number: RT75 .C663 2020
Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing The potential impact of this Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing (4th edition) is timely and far reaching. It serves as a foundation for ambulatory care practice, a current state overview, a resource for training and continuing education, a guide for nurse leaders, and a catalyst for future innovation and research. This edition of the Core Curriculum has been organized and expanded to address the educational needs of nurses either new to the specialty or those experienced, as well as to provide a review for those who seek specialty certification as an ambulatory care nurse. This Core Curriculum will influence and inspire your professional practice. If you are a current or future ambulatory care nurse, an ambulatory care nurse leader or emerging leader, or a nursing school faculty member looking to understand and navigate ambulatory care nursing, keep this Core Curriculum within your reach.
Call Number: RT42 .C67 2019
Developing Online Courses in Nursing Education Addresses importance of new technology and changing structures of online learning This authoritative text shows nurse educators and students how to teach in the online environment, using best practices and the latest technology. The fourth edition discusses the importance of lifelong learning and the relationship to flexible online learning environments, which are changing the dynamics of education. This valuable resource provides updated strategies for organizing and disseminating course content and examines such topics as MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), certificates, badges, and stackable degrees. The fourth edition also provides the latest evidence-based research examining student-teacher interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best practices. Chapters include real world examples and applications of these concepts. New to the Fourth Edition: Delivers four new chapters on the changing role of the nurse educator, changing faculty roles, designing flexible learning environments and using technology to meet the needs of varied studentsAddresses the interaction between nurse educators and instructional designersProvides enhanced understanding of design, design strategies, and technologyIncludes updated best practices for pedagogy, interaction, reconceptualizing course content, student assessment, course evaluation, and moreUnderscores the importance of lifelong learning and flexible, creative learning environments Key Features: Demonstrates foundational concepts for using technology to teach onlineDelineates pathways for using online modalities to engineer learningDelivers theories and frameworks guiding the development and use of a flexible environmentIdentifies guiding structures for maximizing learning in online environmentsDefines the distinct role of the online educatorPromotes best use of technology according to the needs of the learnerIncludes abundant examples and reflexive questions
Call Number: RT73 .O59 2020
ECG Mastery: imrproving your ECG interpretation skills Full-color illustrations offer a quick review of cardiac anatomy and physiology. 550 ECG tracings in all with the strips presented three ways: identified by type of problem, randomized, and embedded in case studies. Each chapter covers a specific type of cardiac problem with multiple ECG practice strips that ask the reader to identify the rate, rhythm, P waves, PR interval, and QRS, and provide an interpretation along with multiple short-answer quizzes with answers at the end of the chapter for "on the go" learning. "Clinical Tips" and "Hints" provide valuable information on rhythm interpretation and explain how an arrhythmia can affect a patient. A chapter focused on the 12-lead ECG and acute myocardial infarction. Four "Practice Tests" at the end of the book include differential challenges that feature strips that look alike but represent very different problems and progressive case studies, all with answers. 320 Flashcards online with ECGs on the front and characteristics (rate, rhythm, P waves, PR interval, QRS, interpretation) on back for study on the go.
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 J575 2020
Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Prep Plus Kaplan's Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Prep Plus is your step-by-step guide to scoring higher on the FNP exam. We distill the exam blueprint into short, focused lessons to give you efficient, effective prep so you can ace the FNP exam. This edition offers review and practice for both FNP exams--American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) and American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). Realistic Practice 800+ practice questions--in the book and online 23 end-of-chapter practice question sets 2 mini prep tests online, one for the ANCC test and one for the AANP Detailed rationales for each correct and incorrect answer choice Expert Guidance Exclusive test-taking and study strategies that optimize your preparation We know the test: Kaplan's experts ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the exam We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams
Call Number: RT120.F34 F352 2019
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources.
The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to “find the evidence.” The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the “compelling question,” which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material.
New to the Third Edition:
Updated with current information on research methods and new resources
“Finding the Evidence” chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search engines
Includes two new chapters, “The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care” and “Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program”
Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nurses
Incorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format
Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practice
Includes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practice
Includes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of content
Reviews basic terms and principles
Presents quantitative and qualitative research approaches
Has been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
Call Number: RT81.5 .G63 2020
The Growth and Development of Nurse Leaders Benefit from the inspiring mentorship of an AAN-awarded Living Legend "I have always recommended that nurses should read anything and everything ever written by Dr. Angela McBride. However, for this new book, I would go much further and tell the nurses that this book is a must for every nurse. I believe that any reader of this book will learn how to uncover and value their own experiences, affirm their capacity for leadership, and will look at leadership through a dynamic new lens. This is an inspiring book that will shake up current thinking about nursing leadership and will become a catalyst for developing more transformational leaders. This book transcends time, generations, and disciplines." --Afaf I. Meleis, PhD, FAAN Dean Emerita, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing (Praise for the First Edition) The Growth and Development of Nurse Leaders received the 2011 PROSE Award for the category "Nursing and Allied Health" from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars. Written by an acclaimed nurse leader, scholar, and author, this prizewinning book delivers an inspiring first-person narrative to help nurses at all career levels to embrace and hone their leadership potential. The second edition expands on the original with updated material and five completely new chapters that focus on the dynamics of today's health care environment. It addresses the complexity of our evolving health care system, and aligns with new initiatives being championed by key nursing organizations. Brimming with insight and personal anecdotes--while grounded in scholarly literature--this comprehensive and practical book addresses the major contemporary arenas of leadership: Leadership as personal, leadership as achieving organizational goals, and leadership as transformational. It discusses the personal qualities required of a good leader, the value of attaining self-knowledge, sustaining career optimism in the face of failure, orchestrating a career, achieving organizational goals, effective communication, the importance of strategic vision, and more. New to the Second Edition: Updated to encompass nearly a decade of changes in health care since the first edition was publishedSensitive to the Interface between Nursing Service and Nursing EducationNew: The Shadow Side: Neediness and FailureNew: Building a Mentoring NetworkNew: Understanding Diversity and InclusionNew: Aiming for ImpactNew: Letting Go Key Features: Helps nurses at all career levels to embrace and develop leadership potentialDraws on the leadership expertise of an internationally recognized nurse scholar, pragmatist, and AAN-awarded Living LegendAddresses the major arenas of contemporary nursing leadership: personal, achieving organizational goals, and transformationalBrims with insight and personal anecdotes
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
Lippincott Nclex-RN Alternate-Format Questions Lippincott NCLEX-RN Alternate-Format Questions , 7th edition is designed to help anyone preparing to take the RN licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. This updated 7th edition has everything needed for students to be fully prepared to answer every type of question found on the NCLEX. More than 600 questions include multiple-response, drag-and-drop, hotspot, audio, chart, graphic option, and fill-in-the blank questions. Also included are two comprehensive tests with 100 questions each. Rationales are clear and detailed and cover correct as well as incorrect answers. Test-taking strategies help students dissect each question to its core components and provide keys to choosing the right answer. The book reviews all the topics covered on the actual NCLEX-RN, as evidenced by the identification of the Client Need and associated Activity Statement for all questions. Hundreds of questions at the application level or above prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. Questions are aligned with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2019 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. An accompanying PassPoint trial site provides an additional opportunity for students to practice for NCLEX while also giving a glimpse of the full PassPoint experience.
Call Number: RT55 .N435 2020
Master the NCLEX-PN Peterson's Master the NCLEX-PN is a comprehensive guide that helps prospective nursing students score their best on the licensing exam to become a practical nurse. With a review of the Practical Nursing studies content in outline form, this self-tutoring guide gives students valuable practice with the content they can expect to see on the actual exam. The guide also includes information about basic nursing concepts, nursing procedures, and pharmacology, plus details about various nursing specialties. Peterson's Master the NCLEX-PN offers: In-depth subject reviews, covering all sections of the test 4 full-length practice tests, including access to 2 online, all with detailed answer explanations Over 500 practice questions designed to provide a comprehensive review of all subjects covered on the actual licensing exam Proven test-taking strategies and study techniques The guide also provides listings of state boards of nursing as well as professional organizations for additional resources.
Call Number: RT62 .M37 2018
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Call Number: RT48.6 .L33 2020
Nursing Adults with Long Term Conditions With the number of people living with long term conditions set to increase, ensuring nurses are equipped with the knowledge and skills required to care for this group of people is essential. This book focuses on the relevant essential knowledge and skills, including the impact of long term conditions across the lifespan, the therapeutic relationship, health promotion and empowerment, self-management, symptom management, case management and advance care planning.
Call Number: RT41 .N53 2019
Pain-Free Writing for Nurses: a step-by-step approach Reading this book will make you a more effective, prolific author of scholarship This book will help increase your contributions to scholarly literature at advanced levels of education, and with practice initiatives nationwide. This book will provide: An explanation of why it is important to write and the anxiety, anger, guilt, or self-loathing that often accompanies the very thought of writingThe unique but basic structure of scholarly writingAnnotated examples you can use to write a variety of scholarly documents including: o DNP, Capstone, or PhD dissertation projects o Abstracts o Data-based scholarly manuscripts o Non-data-based scholarly manuscripts o Grant proposals o A better college paper o Effective letters for a job application, promotion and grievanceAn approach to finding something to write aboutHow to develop and use an outline to write a manuscriptStrategies for increasing readership of your manuscript through open access journals, Institutional Repositories, and Social MediaHow to effectively provide and successfully respond to feedback, criticism and critique This book also includes humorous examples of how the authors learned to be productive scholars by providing tips, tricks, and resources they obtained through practice, trial and error or informal sharing with colleagues.
Call Number: R119 .T67 2020x
Project Management for the Advanced Practice Nurse Provides a unique framework for effective project management skills in nursing This is the only resource designed to teach graduate-level nursing students the skills they need to be effective project managers. Using practical case examples and proven tips, the text presents step-by-step strategies for applying project management skills in varied settings and describes how to identify key concepts critical to project success. The second edition delivers new content to reflect the changing roles and responsibilities of today's APRN and is consistent with project management concepts defined by the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) and the American Nurses Association (ANA). Case scenarios are Included in each chapter to reinforce practical applications, along with critical thinking questions and activities. New to the second edition is coverage of Quality Improvement Projects as they relate to the DNP project. The text addresses all phases of basic project management so that nursing professionals of all levels can easily apply proven processes to clinical practice. Examples and explanations of each step in the project management process are included along with the added benefit of differentiating terminology used in business operations from that of nursing professionals. New to the Second Edition: Delivers new content to reflect roles and responsibilities of today's APRN, Nurse Executive, and other specialty roles that benefit from the organizing framework project management providesReflects management concepts designated by the AONE and ANA Standards of PracticeIncludes case scenarios in each chapter to reinforce understanding of practical applicationsProvides critical thinking questions and activities in each chapterCovers Quality Improvement Projects as they relate to the DNP project Key Features: Presents the foundations of project management, with specific examples from a variety of roles to guide the novice project managerProvides content specifically designed for the APRN and NEUnderscores the similarities and differences between the project management and nursing processesPromotes the transition from bedside nurse to APRNs in leadership rolesAddresses a variety of roles for the APRNServes as a primary text for nursing informatics programs, project management courses, and as a resource for MSN Capstones and DNP projects
Call Number: RT89 .S595 2020
Critical Care for Potential Liver Transplant Candidates This book focuses on patients with end-stage-liver disease (ESLD) who could possibly qualify for liver transplant. This patient cohort raises many problems: who should be treated and also, when is it too late for transplant? The authors are all dedicated experts in the field of ESLD/liver transplantation, but from different disciplines with different views of the problem. In the past 15 years many things have changed in the treatment for these patients: cardiac assessment, treatment of porto-pulmonary hypertension, hemodynamics, coagulation assessment and management, diagnosis of kidney failure, and the timing of dialysis. These issues are comprehensively discussed in this book, in order to provide physicians starting in the field of transplantation an overview of different areas of concern. This book is aimed at specialists and trainees in critical care, hepatology, anesthesia, surgery, and nephrology.
Call Number: RC86.7 .C75 2019x
DeJong's the Neurologic Examination This popular reference is the definitive guide on exam techniques for neurology residents, fellows, and practitioners, integrating details of neuroanatomy and diagnosis in an easy-to-read, easy-to-follow format. A new clinical focus, new videos online, and new illustrations make DeJong's The Neurologic Examination, 8th Edition, even more useful for mastery of this complex area. Anatomical and exam illustrations ensure proper technique, and illustrative case studies and tables summarize differentials and clinical findings. Incorporates an intuitive, clinical focus, helping you quickly gain practical knowledge you can use immediately in practice. Provides access to nearly 30 new videos online that clearly depict movement and ocular motility disorders. Uses a full-color design and includes numerous new illustrations that emphasize key information necessary for an optimally effective exam. Highlights essential terminology and proper technique in easy-to-locate boxes. Offers evidence-based medical insights in assessing the value of specific tests. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC348 .H28 2020
Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Gain a foundational understanding of how endocrine and metabolic physiology affects other body systems in health and disease, including the clinical dimensions of reproductive endocrinology. Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Includes nearly 200 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Keeps you current with recent advances in endocrine physiology with expanded material on reproductive endocrinology and metabolism, and many updates at the molecular and cellular level. Covers the latest developments in fertilization, pregnancy, and lactation, as well as fetal development, puberty, and the decline of reproductive function with age. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Weir: Cardiovascular Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Call Number: QP187 .P657 2019
Endoscopic Sinus Surgery: anatomy, three-dimensional reconstruction and surgical technique The fully updated comprehensive anatomical guide on surgery of the paranasal sinuses and skull base As in the acclaimed prior editions, Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Fourth Edition focuses strictly on anatomy, 3D reconstruction, and step-by-step surgical techniques. Written by Peter-John Wormald, the richly illustrated text details anatomy and operative treatment of sinonasal conditions such as nasal polyposis, chronic rhinosinusitis (CRS), Samter's triad, eosinophilic mucus CRS, exophthalmos, acute orbital hemorrhage, orbital subperiosteal abscess, and a wide array of tumors. The fourth edition reflects simplified anatomical nomenclature published in 2016 by Wormald et al, including reclassification of cells in the frontal recess and the extent of surgery of frontal sinus surgery (EFSS). This enables clearer understanding of impacted anatomy, most notably the frontal sinus drainage pathways. New and revised evidence-based procedures include the mega-antrostomy and pre-lacrimal approach to the maxillary sinus and use of anterior based pedicled flaps for frontal drillout. Refinements in other surgical techniques include endoscopic medial maxillectomy and resection of sinonasal neoplasms. Anatomy and surgical approaches elucidated through 1,000 images including CTs, illustrations, and diagrams Exquisite dissections by Rowan Valentine, who worked in the anatomy laboratory of the late Albert L. Rhoton Jr., internationally renowned author, educator, brain anatomist, and neurosurgeon Delineation of variations in frontal recess anatomy and difficult regions adjacent to the sinuses provides important surgical guidance Seventy operative videos detail potential anatomical variations seen in the frontal sinuses, ancillary procedures such as DCR, orbital decompression, CSF leak closure, and skull base surgical approaches This classic reference is a must-have for otolaryngologist-head and neck surgeons, as well as residents and fellows seeking a robust tutorial on the latest functional endoscopic sinus surgery (FESS) techniques. It enables 3D understanding of diseased anatomy, associated surgical treatment decision making, and safer surgery.
Call Number: RF421 .W67 2018
Foot and Ankle in Rheumatology Musculoskeletal foot pathology is endemic in patients with rheumatological conditions, with up to 90% of patients reporting current foot pain. However, foot pathology is often trivialised, despite the strong body of evidence showing foot problems are associated with reduced quality of life.The Foot and Ankle in Rheumatology is a unique, comprehensive, and detailed guide to all aspects of the management of foot and ankle pathologies in rheumatic conditions.Written by a team of leading experts, this title provides international perspectives and current state of the art information on foot and ankle pathology across a range of conditions. With over 170 colour images and photographs, practical diagnostic and management techniques are clearly explainedwith references to the latest guidelines.Rheumatology is a fast-evolving field, with major advances in treatment and management strategies. As the effective management of rheumatological foot and ankle disorders requires and integrated, disease-stage approach across a multidisciplinary team, the Foot and Ankle in Rheumatology has beendesigned to provide clear, practical, and evidence-based advice for a wide range of health professions, from podiatrists, rheumatologists, and orthopaedic surgeons to occupational therapists and physiotherapists.
Call Number: RC927 .F66 2019
Global Orthopedics: caring for musculoskeletal conditions and injuries in austere settings Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this unique text discusses the opportunities and challenges to the practice of orthopedic surgery in resource-limited environments around the world. Sensibly divided into thematic sections, part I examines barriers to care, from the poorly recognized global burden of orthopedic conditions and the less than ideal equipment to the cultural considerations and ethical dilemmas inherent in such situations. General clinical topics are covered in part II, such as non-surgical approaches and anesthesia, while the remaining sections discuss adult and pediatric trauma, presented in an anatomical format for easy reference with a focus on the natural history and the best treatment methods within existing limitations, followed by musculoskeletal infections, non-infectious pediatric conditions, reconstruction, and amputations. Topics new to this edition include the management of non-unions by induced membrane techniques, autologous bone grafting, bone growth and burn charts, the management of neck and back pain, and principles of orthopedic rehabilitation. Written and edited by experts with years of experience working in austere settings, this second edition of Global Orthopedics is a seamless transition from the original and expands the range of possible management strategies in places desperate for orthopedic care, making it a must for all surgeons and practitioners planning to work in such challenging settings.
Call Number: RD725 .G58 2020
Grabb and Smith's Plastic Surgery Grabb and Smith's Plastic Surgery, Eighth edition, offers a comprehensive resource to the field for plastic surgery residents and medical students with an interest in professional practice, as well as established plastic surgeons who want to received updated knowledge in this specialty. Accurately drawn illustrations, key points and review questions help you develop a deeper understanding of basic principles and prepare effectively for the In-Training Exam (ITE) and other certification exams. Covers comprehensive plastic surgery knowledge and includes procedural sketches in a clear but succinct style. Features key points--at the beginning of each chapter--emphasizing topics you will find on the In-Training Exam (ITE) and board certification exam. Chapters close with review questions to ensure thorough comprehension of content and a list of references highlighting the most important papers. Designed for fast, accurate comprehension of material: bulleted lists and tables scattered throughout, concise and to-the-point text, and numerous illustrations. Ideal for plastic surgery residents and medical students interested in professional surgical practice. Serve as a reference resource for practicing plastic surgeons to refresh knowledge and to enhance competency in various topics. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD118 .G688 2020
Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery Updated with many of the latest techniques, this second edition continues the focus on procedures that is the hallmark of the Master Techniques in Surgery series. You'll find plainly written details on some of the most common procedures, as well as relevant information on anatomy, patient outcomes to expect, required instruments, and more. Lavishly illustrated with original full-color drawings, the book is your go-to source for easy-to-follow and step-by-step procedural instructions! Presents easy-to-digest, clinically relevant material from world-renowned hepato-pancreato-biliary surgeons who explain their preferred techniques, step by step, including indications and contraindications, preoperative planning, postoperative management, complications, and results. Hundreds of full-color figures and photos help bring procedures to life. Every chapter has been updated with new procedures and developments that have advanced the field since the previous edition. Includes all-new chapters: Laparoscopic and Robotic Pancreatic Surgery Techniques to Enhance Future Liver Remnant Function Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD546 .H356 2020
Holcomb and Ashcrafts's Pediatric Surgery Known for its readability, portability, and global perspectives, Holcomb and Ashcraft's Pediatric Surgery remains the most comprehensive, up-to-date, single-volume text in its field. As technology and techniques continue to evolve, the 7th Edition provides state-of-the-art coverage-both in print and on video-of the full range of general surgical and urological problems in infants, children, and adolescents, equipping you to achieve optimal outcomes for every patient. Provides authoritative, practical coverage to help you implement today's best evidence-based open and minimally invasive techniques, with guidance from internationally recognized experts in the field. Features more than 1,000 high-quality images depicting the visual nuances of surgery for the full range of pediatric and urologic conditions you're likely to see. Delivers comprehensive updates throughout including the latest advances in managing Inguinal Hernias and Hydroceles; Imperforate Anus and Cloacal Malformations; Hirschsprung Disease; Duodenal and Intestinal Atresia and Stenosis; Esophageal Atresia; and more. Offers access to more than 50 videos that help you improve and refine your surgical skills. New videos cover Fetal Endoluminal Tracheal Occlusion (FETO); Laparoscopic Inguinal Hernia Repair; Robotic Extravesical Ureteral Reimplantation; Laparoscopic Management of Ovarian Torsion; and Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD137 .P43 2020
Neural Stem Cells and Adult Neurogenesis Neural Stem Cells and Adult Neurogenesis provides graduate students and neuroscientists with a basic understanding of what neural stem cells are and the cell types they produce. This early graduate level reference describes their physiology and potential for medicine and provides students with fundamental stem cell information. An overview of stem cell sources in the human body and a brief mention of relevant diseases provide context for the value of this knowledge. The book also includes chapters on induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs), the methods used to obtain them, and a review of the ethical challenges associated with stem cell research. For each region, the book provides a description of its neurogenic niche, cellular and molecular biology, and information on the neurons' contribution to normal and diseased brain function. The level of information is appropriate for early graduate students, introducing technology and molecular biology in an accessible format.
Call Number: QH588.S83 M63 2019x
Neuroimmunology Neuroimmunology, the latest volume in the Contemporary Neurology Series, provides a practical, clinical, and scientific background on a diverse group of neurological disorders in this rapidly expanding field. The book includes chapters on multiple sclerosis and related disorders in adults andchildren, neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder, Guillain-Barre Syndrome, chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy and variants, immune-mediated disorders of the neuromuscular junction, inflammatory myopathies, paraneoplastic disorders and autoimmune encephalitities, and neurologicmanifestations of systemic immune-mediated diseases. Unique to the work, the authors have included an introductory chapter on the basics of immunology and another on mechanisms of action of therapies used in neuroimmunologic disorders. The clinical chapters cover epidemiology, pathology,pathogenesis, and pathophysiology of the different diseases along with clinical presentation, diagnostic testing, differential diagnosis, and treatment. All are presented in an accessible, practical format, making this volume a valuable resource for physicians and other healthcare providers thatwill care for persons with neuroimmunologic diseases.
Call Number: RC600 .N487 2019x
Orthopaedic Knowledge Update: Foot and Ankle This comprehensive text addresses all aspects of foot and ankle surgery in a single, convenient volume. OKU: Foot and Ankle 6 presents relevant, evidence-based information, discusses its practical application, and provides supporting references, all tailored to the needs of today's practicing orthopaedic surgeons and trainees. Written, edited, and peer-reviewed by dedicated foot and ankle surgeons, it offers a complete guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of orthopaedic foot and ankle injuries and disorders, supported by the latest evidence. Covers a wide range of topics in foot and ankle surgery, focusing on proven and promising treatments and approaches for this complex area. Provides evidence-based information, reinforced by recent prospective and randomized studies, on biomechanics and surgical techniques, special problems and controversial topics. Features a general review of foot and ankle topics along with updated information and important findings published in the literature from 2014 to 2018. Each of the 31 chapters includes an annotated reference list that summarizes recent relevant studies. Includes sections on General Foot and Ankle Topics, Neuromuscular Disease, Arthritis of the Foot and Ankle, The Forefoot, Special Problems of the Foot and Ankle, Foot and Ankle Trauma, and Tendon Disorders and Sports-Related Foot and Ankle Injuries. Ideal for general orthopaedists specializing in foot and ankle, sports medicine, or lower extremity, as well as residents in training and those studying for Board and recertification examinations. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD781 .O27 2020
Pediatric Audiology: diagnosis, technology and management The definitive educational resource on the clinical management of hearing disorders in children Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition is fully updated with cutting edge topics reflecting the latest advances in the field. New chapters include hearing and vestibular issues in children, state-of-the-art testing methods for neonates, and longitudinal studies on cochlear implant technology. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer provide meticulous discussion on all aspects of pediatric audiology--from underlying pathology and testing to medical, therapeutic, and surgical treatments. Pearls and best practices from a cadre of esteemed experts focus on achieving optimal patient outcomes. Key Features Thirty-seven chapters organized by four sections: Hearing Loss: Essential Information, Diagnosing Hearing Disorders in Infants and Children, Hearing Access Technologies for Infants and Children, and Educational and Clinical Management of Hearing Loss in Children Detailed clinical discussion of pediatric audiologic test protocols and the selection and management of technologies The neurophysiology of reading impairment -- from theory to management Closed caption videos provide hands-on guidance on clinical testing techniques This richly illustrated edition is essential reading for graduate students in audiology, a robust resource for professors and audiologists who teach and mentor these students, and a go-to field guide for practicing clinicians. Paired with Pediatric Audiology Casebook, this dynamic duo is a must-have reference for trainee and veteran audiologists alike. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RF291.5.C45 P434 2019
Vaccinations by Get a quick, expert overview of the essentials of today's vaccinations for adults, including current guidelines and recommendations. This concise, clinically-focused resource, edited by Drs. Gregory A. Poland and Jennifer Whitaker, consolidates today's available information on this important topic into one convenient resource, making it an ideal reference for primary care physicians and nurses who need easily accessible information on adult vaccination best practices. Covers essentials of vaccine safety and discussing vaccine hesitancy with patients. Addresses special populations including the elderly, immunocompromised patients, and adult travelers. Provides up-to-date information on zoster vaccines, Zika vaccine prospects, influenza vaccines, meningococcal vaccines, and pneumococcal vaccines.
Call Number: RM281 .V33 2019x
Management/Employee Development Books
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation: educational research and beyond A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertationprovides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation. Part I provides an overview for writing a thesis or dissertation. It describes the big picture of planning and formatting a research study, from identifying a topic to focusing on writing quality. Part II describes the framework and substance of a research study. It models the pattern generally found in a formal, five-chapter research study. Each chapter of a thesis or dissertation has a specific purpose, and this book focuses on each in an easy-to-follow structure. Chapter One reviews the headings and contents expected in the introduction of a study. Chapter Two provides advice for writing a literature review. Chapter Three discusses what to include when describing the methodology. These first three chapters form the proposal section of a study. Two additional chapters present results (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book. esults (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book.
Call Number: LB2369 .K66 2019
Contemporary Challenges in Medical Education: from theory to practice While medical schools usually emphasize the teaching of advanced scientific fundamentals through a carefully planned, formal curriculum, few focus on the equally crucial ?hidden curriculum? of professional attitudes, skills, and behaviors. This concise and practical guide helps educators effectively prepare students for seldom-taught issues that arise daily in the practice of clinical medicine.In this volume, experienced clinician-educators offer real-world examples of various pedagogical and clinical scenarios, providing evidence- and theory-based approaches to managing three areas of growth: professional development, professionalism, and teaching. Acknowledging human fallibility, the editors begin with a framework that institutions, educators, and learners can use to promote well-being, outlining strategies for mindfulness training, relaxation techniques, appreciative inquiry, narrative medicine, and positive psychology. They then apply these strategies to additional developmental topics like failure, burnout, and improving resilience, social identity formation, and graceful self-promotion.The editors move on to discuss power differentials. They suggest ways of combatting microaggressions faced by women and minorities, fostering a safe learning environment where learners feel comfortable advocating in the setting of ethical dilemmas, recognizing and avoiding student mistreatment, and encouraging humility.They close with implications for the classroom, explaining the benefits and pitfalls of electronic health records and social media, the positive and negative attributes of role models, how to comfortably navigate controversial topics like gun ownership and abortion, and teaching empathy.With helpful infographics and case studies, this volume is a valuable resource for frontline educators who wish to help learners navigate the transition from layperson to medical professional.Contributors: Zareen Zaidi | Rebecca Beyth | Eric Rosenberg
Call Number: R834 .C662 2019
The Healthcare Executive's Guide to navigating the Surgical Suite: a roadmap to the OR and perioperative services: a roadmap to the OR and perioperative services Surgical services carry some of the highest risks and rewards of all healthcare specialties. They also present specific challenges. Those unfamiliar with the surgical suite's inner workings may struggle to lead and manage this complex and often isolated department. The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite: A Roadmap to the OR and Perioperative Services provides experienced and novice healthcare leaders with the information, leadership structures, and practical strategies needed to successfully oversee both patient outcomes and balance sheets. This book covers contemporary market realities, business challenges, labor requirements, and clinical and operational complexities as it points leaders toward the most pressing issues in strategic surgical services leadership. Inside you'll find: A comprehensive overview of the competitive landscape and unique market forces, Effective governance and leadership structures, A snared, interdisciplinary decision-making model, Insights on creating accurate budgets and monitoring complicated revenue and expenses Book jacket.
Call Number: RA971 .B53 2019x
How to Have Mind Blowing, Engaging & Energizing Meetings: from boring to interesting and effective meetings using Radiant Thinking A ready blueprint to usher in positive change in your workplace communication.
Meetings, like friction, are a necessary evil for every organization. Commonly heard in organizations are comments like - "I love the sleep inducing effect of our meets" or "It is surely death by meetings for us" or "We need more action and not more meetings" or "Our meetings suck!" - and the list is endless. Even if you hate them, you cannot escape them in an organizational set up. Imagine, however, if you could literally transform your meetings to become more engaging, energizing and effective using the simple yet powerful and proven techniques of radiant and visual thinking. Every meeting provides an opportunity to harness the unique creativity of participants as also the collective intelligence of the team. And an organization, which fails to do so is losing a golden opportunity to transform itself positively. Meetings fail or remain ineffective when individuals are unaware about simple brain friendly techniques to tap the full creative potential of the participants and this is where the book offers to guide you. Using the simple steps indicated in the Book, backed by real life examples, you can transform your meetings around the following topics and more: * Goals setting * Decision making * Communication * Planning * Sales & marketing * Project management * Innovation
Call Number: HF5734.5 .D87 2019x
Information Systems for Health Information Technology Health information management (HIM) students and professionals must learn everything they can about the basics of electronic health records (EHRs), general healthcare computer systems, data retrieval, and other EHR system topics. Introduction to Information Systems focuses on how these systems and issues affect, and are affected by, the HIM profession. Updated with current information technology (IT) content that reflects the healthcare environment, Introduction to Information Systems explains the growing wealth of health data and information available to HIM practitioners and what it can do for patients and society while also explaining the responsibility to secure these assets.
Call Number: RT50.5 .S395 2018
It's the Manager: Gallup finds that the quality of managers and team leaders is the single biggest factor in your organization's long-term success Packed with 52 discoveries from Gallup's largest study on the future of work, It's the Manager shows leaders how to adapt their organizations to rapid change, ranging from new workplace demands to managing remote employees, a diverse workforce, the rise of artificial intelligence, gig workers, and attracting - and keeping - today's best employees. Who is the most important person in your organization to lead your teams through these changes? Gallup research reveals: It's your managers. While the world's workplace has been going through extraordinary historical change, the practice of management has been stuck in time for more than 30 years. The new workforce -- especially younger generations -- wants their work to have deep mission and purpose, and they don't want old-style command-and-control bosses. They want coaches who inspire them, communicate with them frequently and develop their strengths. Who is the most important person in your organization to lead your teams through these changes? Decades of global Gallup research reveal: It's your managers. They are the ones who make or break your organization's success. When you have great managers who can maximize the potential of every team member, you will see organic revenue and profit growth, and you will give every one of your employees what they most want today: a great job and a great life. This is the future of work. It's the Manager includes exclusive content from Gallup Access -- Gallup's new workplace platform, chock full of additional content, tools and solutions for business. Your book comes with a code for the CliftonStrengths assessment, which reveals your top five strengths.
Call Number: HD38.2 .C55 2019x
Leadershift: the 11 essential changes every leader must embrace Internationally recognized leadership expert John C. Maxwell teaches readers how to shift their leadership to keep innovating, improving, and influencing others in today's fast-paced world. Change is so rapid today that leaders must do much more than stay the course to be successful. If they aren't nimble and ready to adapt, they won't survive. The key is to learn how to leadershift. In Leadershift, John C. Maxwell helps leaders gain the ability and willingness to make leadership changes that will positively enhance their organizational and personal growth. He does this by sharing the eleven shifts he made over the course of his long and successful leadership career. Each shift changed his trajectory and set him up for new and exciting achievements, ultimately strengthening and sustaining his leadership abilities and making him the admired leadership expert he is today. Among those leadershifts are the Adaptive Shift from Plan A to Option A, the Production Shift from Ladder Climbing to Ladder Building, and the Influence Shift from Positional Authority to Moral Authority. Maxwell gives specific guidance to readers about how to make these shifts in their own lives. Each one requires them to change the way they think, act, and ultimately lead so they can be successful in a world that never remains the same.
Call Number: HD57.7 .M394259 2019x
Psychological Safety: the key to happy, high-performing people and teams Both scientific and industry research suggest that paying close attention to psychological safety has tangible benefits, not just to personal health and well-being, but to workplace productivity and performance. In 2015 Google released the findings of some compelling research known as “The Aristotle Project”. In its quest to build the perfect team, Google assessed the factors common to their high-performing teams. They were shocked to find it was not the background, the experience, or the education of the team members that determined the team’s success, but whether psychological safety was present within the team. Most of us understand the importance of physical safety. We protect ourselves and those around us, and know what physical interactions are socially acceptable, helpful, or harmful. Psychological safety, however, is a new frontier. Only now are we beginning to understand its importance and impact, thanks to recent advancements in neuroscience. For example, research shows that a “hit” to our psychological safety can have a deeper and longer-lasting impact than a “hit” to our physical selves. In fact, social rejection has the same impact on the brain as a punch to the face. Over time, the pain associated with a physical attack is difficult or impossible to recall. The memory of social rejection, however, even many years after the fact, can elicit the same strength of emotion as it did at the time of the event. When we experience an attack to our psychological safety, our brain is triggered into a stress response. Our cognitive abilities are compromised. Our higher, logical brain, the one responsible for thinking, creativity, decision-making, and self-control, goes off-line. In this derailed stress state we can find it difficult to concentrate, make decisions, or control our emotions. In a psychologically safe climate, people are not afraid to express themselves; they feel accepted and respected. This openness creates a fertile environment for thinking, creativity, innovation, and growth, and leads to more collaborative relationships and an overall improvement in individual and team productivity. So how do you identify and manage the triggers that threaten your psychological safety and hijack your brain? Based on the latest neuroscience research, the S.A.F.E.T.Y.™ model describes some of the most important social motivators of human behavior. Learn how to implement it in your life and your workplace, to reap the benefits of increased productivity and personal well-being. This revolutionary book offers actionable solutions to key questions that may be holding you (and your team) back from fulfilling your potential: ● Why am I so anxious and stressed? ● Why do I continue to do things I don’t want to do? ● Why do I care so much about what others think of me? ● Why do I self-sabotage? And the most vital question of all: ● Why can’t I change?
Call Number: HD5549.5.P35 R33 2018x
Quality and Performance Improvement in Healthcare: theory, practice, and management An AHIMA publication presenting a comprehensive introduction to the theory, practice and management of performance and quality improvement processes for quality of patient care in healthcare organizations. Each chapter presents real-life examples, issues and backgrounds that solidify the importance of quality improvement in healthcare.
Call Number: RA399.A1 Q27 2019
Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting, and Orienting New Employees A genuine classic, Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees is a practical guide to the employment process. Extensively revised, it contains forms, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions as well as advice on reference checking, interview methods, documentation issues, orientation programs, and applicant testing. From recruitment to orientation, this updated and accessible guide covers it all. Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees has long been the go-to reference on every aspect of the employment process. Packed with forms, checklists, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions, the revised and updated edition provides readers with practical information on topics including interview methods, documentation issues, reference checking, orientation programs, and applicant testing. This updated edition has been brought completely up to date, addressing new legislation on FMLA, immigration, record keeping, I-9 compliance, and much more. Full of insights on the latest staffing challenges, this comprehensive guide explores changes in technology, such as virtual interviews and recruitment, web-based orientations, and the use of electronic files and social media. Nothing is more important to the productivity of an organization than its hiring program. Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees provides readers with the tools they need to get employees on board and ready for long-term success.
Call Number: HF5549.5.R44 A75 2019
Shared Space and the New Nonprofit Workplace While the economy has boomed since the Great Recession, so too have real estate rents and gentrification in cities across North America; nonprofits priced out of formerly affordable neighborhoods lack adequate workplaces to meet their missions. Shared Space and the New Nonprofit Workplace presents a comprehensive overview of shared space as an innovative model and effective long-term solution for nonprofit organizations' need for stable and affordable office and program space. In particular, it focuses on co-locating multiple nonprofits in shared spaces, often called nonprofit centers, with shared services and a collaborative culture. This comprehensive resource provides a practical road map to develop new workspaces; documents benefits for nonprofit staff, organizations, and their communities; presents challenges and solutions from successful nonprofit shared spaces; and considers nonprofit centers' history and future trends. Further, it offers nonprofits an opportunity to engage in forward-thinking practices, such as collaborative service delivery, green building operations, and cross-sector alliances. The book will be useful to nonprofit executives, staff and board members, foundations, philanthropists, real estate and urban planning professionals interested in creating these projects, and researchers and students of the nonprofit sector.
Call Number: HD62.6 .B7534 2019
SMART with Dr. Sood: the four-module stress management and resilience training program SMART is an innovative, fun, engaging, and simple approach toward twenty-first-century stress. The program shares with you a set of transformative principles that can help enhance your relationships, make sustained behavior change, improve work experience, enhance health, resilience, and wellbeing, reverse burnout, and find greater happiness. SMART achieves these goals by taking you on a backstage tour of the brain to help you understand some of the brain's automatic mechanisms that generate and multiply stress. In four simple steps, SMART then enables you to take back control of your brain, so you live your days with greater intentionality, courage, hope, and inspiration. In developing SMART, we have synthesized information from tens of thousands of research studies, the experience of hundreds of thousands of patients and learners, and wisdom collected by Dr. Sood in his journey across two continents over three decades. We have tested the resulting approach in over twenty clinical trials. The resulting program has reached over half a million people and adopted by some of the most reputed organizations in the world. SMART is scalable and practical and offers skills that won't crowd your already clogged inbox. In the words of Dr. Sood, "We aren't adding more milk to your already filled cup. We are adding chocolate powder to the milk, so it doesn't increase the volume, but changes the entire flavor!" Dr. Amit Sood is internationally recognized for his work on stress, resilience, mindfulness, happiness, and wellbeing. A Professor of Medicine (Retd.), Dr. Sood serves as the Executive Director of the Global Center for Resiliency and Wellbeing. Resiliencetrainer.com; Resilientoption.com
Call Number: RA785 .S663 2019x
The Team Handbook This book is a comprehensive resource book that provides everything you need to know to create high performing teams.
Call Number: HD66 .S37 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!