Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy! Stressed by the ins and outs of cardiovascular care? Face the challenges confidently, with the newly updated Cardiovascular Caremade Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition. Using helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text is packed with easy-to-remember definitions and clear, concise descriptions of crucial cardiovascular nursing concepts and procedures, from assessment to diagnostic tests to emergencies. The ideal reference for students and new nurses, it is also an invaluable refresher for all experienced nurses.
Call Number: RC674 .C37 2020
CCRN Review Book 2019-2020: CCRN examp prep study guide and practice test questions for the Critical Care Nursing Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial CCRN Review Book 2019-2020: CCRN Exam Prep Study Guide and Practice Test Questions for the Critical Care Nursing Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Our materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. AACN was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's CCRN Review Book 2019-2020 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the CCRN exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's CCRN Review Book 2019-2020 covers: Cardiovascular Pulmonary Endocrine Hematology/Immunology Neurology Gastrointestinal Renal Multisystem Behavioral/Psychosocial Professional Care and Ethical Practice ...and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: RT120.I5 .C335 2019x
Empowerment Strategies for Nurses, Second Edition Praise for the First Edition: "This is a very practical and easy to read book with many strategies to help new nurses adapt to the stressors of the workplace. It is filled with thought-provoking stories and activities that can foster confidence in tackling workplace issues as well as self-care activities to enhance wholeness and well-being....There is something in this book for everyone." Score: 96, 4 stars. --DOODY'S MEDICAL REVIEWS This unique resource will help nurses overcome stressors and challenges when--and even before-- they arise. Featuring seven new chapters and a multitude of new authors, the second edition reflects the latest research on resilience and well-being and applies it specifically to nursing professionals. The book describes a diverse range of proactive and preventive approaches nurses can harness in a variety of healthcare contexts. These strategies help develop strength, flexibility, and the determination to adapt to professional challenges that may at first seem daunting. Strategies are presented to conquer self-defeating thoughts, connect with positive peers, and emulate positive leadership attributes. Chapters present first-hand accounts of "resilience in action" and extensive examples that showcase evidence-based resilience strategies, along with discussion questions, creative thinking exercises, and application activities. New to the Second Edition: Strategies for adapting to constant changeManaging moral and ethical distressDeveloping effective and creative solutions for global health challengesRestoring resilience, health, and well-being after adversityNew leadership dynamicsMoving out of one's comfort zone for personal and professional growth Key Features: Includes activities that encourage readers to develop resilience capabilities as team leaders, team members, and change agentsHighlights psychological and social resilience strategiesIncludes discussion questions and creative thinking exercisesSupplemental instructor's manual and PowerPoints included
Call Number: RT82 .R45 2020
Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Secrets: study guide: your key to exam success Mometrix Test Preparation's Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Nurse Practitioner Exam. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes:
Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations
Step-by-step video tutorials to help you master difficult concepts
Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance
A complete review of all NP test sections
Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners.
The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your NP exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.
The Assessment section covers:
Health Promoting and Screening
Screening and Social Determinants of Health
Comprehensive History and Physical Assessment
The Diagnosis section covers:
The Clinical Management section covers:
The Professional Role section covers:
Healthcare Infomatics and Technology
Scope and Standards of Practice
...and much more!
Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix NP study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language.
Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of NP practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.
Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do.
We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the NP review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RT120.F34 F342 2019x
Getting Started in Nursing Professional Development: focus on the learning facilitator role The 5th edition of Getting Started in Nursing Professional Development: The Staff Education Process is a must-have resource for new nursing professional development (NPD) practitioners as well as those preparing to take the NPD certification exam. This text uses the ADDIE model to help novice NPD practitioners analyze practice gaps then design, develop, implement, and evaluate learning activities.
Call Number: RT76 .D5 2018x
Leadership and Systems Improvement for the DNP Develop the necessary skills to serve as a leader in systems improvement This unique, practical text will help DNP students develop the leadership skills needed to effectively implement and sustain meaningful change in the healthcare system. Presenting improvement methods within the framework of leadership, the book helps students to understand the practical applications of their education. Beyond orienting students to the work of the DNP, the text helps them to understand the scope of practice and how it is related to larger issues and challenges within healthcare. A significant portion of the text is devoted to leadership, particularly from a systems perspective. Using cases and examples, it addresses different ways DNPs can lead in healthcare and elaborates on the types of improvement processes that are initiated by DNPs: translation of EBP and research into practice, process improvement, and program evaluation. The book discusses how improvement is measured and offers several chapters on the DNP project, including its financial implications. PowerPoint slides accompany the text along with an Instructor's Guide, which provides tips on how instructors can help students assimilate the large body of knowledge required in the DNP program. Key Features: Frames content within the context of leadershipPrepares DNPs to serve as leaders of innovation in healthcareOffers an innovative approach to understanding the DNP leader and the DNP projectDelivers up-to-date information about improvement work in healthcare systems specific to the needs of DNP students and graduatesIncludes practical cases and examplesDistills resources that faculty and students will return to again and again
Call Number: RT71 .L43 2020
Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses has proven to be one of the most important public health texts for students and practitioners alike. Focused on developing a competent public health nursing practice in diverse settings, the core text builds on the Henry Street Consortium s framework of 12 competences for population-based, entry-level public health nursing. This full-color, newly designed third edition has completely revised and updated coverage, including:
17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that provide a framework for public health nursing practice
A new competency on utilizing principles and science of environmental health to promote safe and sustainable environments for individuals, families, systems, and communities
Examples demonstrating the global growth in public health nursing
Theory applications showing how PHNs use frameworks to further public health initiatives
Call Number: RT97 .S33 2019
Renal Nursing: care and management of people with kidney disease Now in its fifth edition, Renal Nursing continues to be the essential evidence-based guide to nephrology and kidney care for nurses and allied health care professionals. This comprehensive text examines the stages of chronic kidney disease, pre-dialysis care, acute kidney injury, renal replacement therapy, renal nutrition, renal care in children and young people and more. Offers thorough coverage of all major aspects of kidney care Includes updated content on current practice, changes in policies, care and management, with the latest research evidence and current NICE guidance on renal replacement therapy Has an innovative chapter on patient and public involvement in kidney care Renal Nursing is an indispensable resource for nurses working in nephrology, dialysis and transplantation, nurses in post-registration renal courses, student nurses in renal wards, specialist renal dietitians, pharmacists and other allied health professionals in related fields.
Call Number: RC918.R4 R46 2019
Shared Governance: a practical approach to transforming interprofessional healthcare This book is your complete shared governance toolkit with dozens of helpful tools, from policies and procedures, to decision-making aids, to templates for councils as well as case studies from hospitals who have implemented successful governance programs. This book is step one to helping you change your culture for the better as you start a true method of shared governance.
Call Number: RT89 .S95 2019
Atlas of Clinical Neurology Like its preceding editions, this atlas is an indispensable guide to the field of neurology, featuring the most clinically essential images and figures. Chapters offer insight and research written by deeply practiced, knowledgeable neurologists that is supplemented with detailed imagery, tables, algorithms, and delineative drawings. Topics covered include developmental and genetic diseases, neuroendocrine disorders, critical care neurology, cerebrovascular disease, dementias, behavioral neurology, neuro-oncology, movement disorders, epilepsy, neuromuscular diseases, infectious diseases, neuroimmunology, neurotoxic disorders, and headache. The authors also delve into specific issues currently prevalent in neuroscientific research, including Alzheimer's disease, dementia, Machado-Joseph disease, Huntington's disease, and brain scanning with PET and fMRI. The Atlas of Clinical Neurology, 4th Edition serves as a comprehensive and premier visual resource for neurologists.
Call Number: RC358.8 .A85 2019
Burns Burn injuries are recognised as a major health problem worldwide, causing morbidity and mortality in individuals of all ages. The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Burns is a concise, easy-to-navigate reference text that outlines the assessment, management, and rehabilitation of burns patients.With contributions from international experts, this handbook covers all aspects of burn-patient care, from first aid to reconstructive techniques and physiotherapy.This new, pocket-sized title is an invaluable resource for all those who come into contact with burns patients, from accident and emergency doctors to allied health professionals, as well as specialists and trainees in burns units. Filling an important niche in the market for an accessiblequick-access guide for those first on the scene, The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Burns is a comprehensive and detailed new resource.
Call Number: RD96.4 .B87 2019x
Coronary Circulation: anatomy, mechanical properties, and biomechanics This comprehensive text examines both global and local coronary blood flow based on morphometry and mechanical properties of the coronary vasculature. Using a biomechanical approach, this book addresses coronary circulation in a quantitative manner based on models rooted in experimental data that account for the various physical determinants of coronary blood flow including myocardial-vessel interactions and various mechanisms of autoregulation. This is the first text dedicated to a distributive analysis (as opposed to lumped) and provides digital files for detailed anatomical data (e.g., diameters, lengths, node-to-node connections) of the coronary vessels. This book also provides appendices with specific mathematical formulations for the biomechanical analyses and models in the text. Written by Dr. Ghassan S. Kassab, a leader in the field of coronary biomechanics, Coronary Circulation: Anatomy, Mechanical Properties, and Biomechanics is a synthesis of seminal topics in the field and is intended for clinicians, bioengineers, and researchers as a compendium on the topic. The detailed anatomical and mechanical data provided are intended to be used as a platform to address new questions in this exciting and clinically very important research area.
Call Number: QP108 .K37 2019x
CT of the Heart This book is a comprehensive and richly-illustrated guide to cardiac CT, its current state, applications, and future directions. While the first edition of this text focused on what was then a novel instrument looking for application, this edition comes at a time where a wealth of guideline-driven, robust, and beneficial clinical applications have evolved that are enabled by an enormous and ever growing field of technology. Accordingly, the focus of the text has shifted from a technology-centric to a more patient-centric appraisal. While the specifications and capabilities of the CT system itself remain front and center as the basis for diagnostic success, much of the benefit derived from cardiac CT today comes from avant-garde technologies enabling enhanced visualization, quantitative imaging, and functional assessment, along with exciting deep learning, and artificial intelligence applications. Cardiac CT is no longer a mere tool for non-invasive coronary artery stenosis detection in the chest pain diagnostic algorithms; cardiac CT has proven its value for uses as diverse as personalized cardiovascular risk stratification, prediction, and management, diagnosing lesion-specific ischemia, guiding minimally invasive structural heart disease therapy, and planning cardiovascular surgery, among many others. This second edition is an authoritative guide and reference for both novices and experts in the medical imaging sciences who have an interest in cardiac CT.
Call Number: RC683.5.T66 C785 2019
Flaps in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Part of the best-selling Operative Techniques series, Operative Techniques in Plastic Surgery provides superbly illustrated, authoritative guidance on operative techniques along with a thorough understanding of how to select the best procedure, how to avoid complications and what outcomes to expect. This stand-alone book offers focused, easy-to-follow coverage of flaps for all anatomic regions, taken directly from the larger text. It covers nearly all flap techniques that are in current use, and is ideal for residents and physicians in daily practice. Comprehensively covers craniofacial and frontal sinus flaps; head and neck flaps; flaps for breast reconstruction; trunk reconstruction and body contouring flaps; flaps in hand surgery; flaps used in lower limb reconstruction and amputation; and flaps used in pediatric facial reanimation. Succinct text, bulleted points, and quick-reference tables allow you to review information quickly and understand best practices and potential problems for each procedure. Hundreds of full-color intraoperative photographs and illustrations, as well as numerous high-quality videos, capture procedures step by step and help you immediately apply your knowledge. Each clinical problem is discussed in the same templated format: definition, anatomy, patient history and physical findings, imaging, differential diagnosis, nonoperative management where applicable, surgical management including preoperative planning and approach, step-by-step surgical techniques, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, complications and references. Perfect for a quick preoperative review of the steps of a procedure. Editors and contributors are globally renowned authorities in their respective subspecialties and are known for their surgical expertise. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech
Call Number: RD119 .F53 2020
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 P876 2019
Infectious Diseases in Solid-Organ Transplant Recipients This book describes a practical approach to the diagnosis, management, and prevention of infectious complications in solid-organ transplant (SOT) candidates and recipients, based on both up-to-date clinical evidence and state of the art expert opinion from world-renowned experts in the field. The book is divided into three parts, the first of which explains risk assessment and the general approach to infectious diseases in the pre-, peri-, and early and late post-transplant periods. The remaining two sections address the prevention and treatment of infection with particular pathogens and the management of specific syndromes, such as pneumonia, CNS infections, UTIs, and skin infections. Infections in SOT recipients - often due to multidrug-resistant organisms - represent a major challenge. Preventive strategies need to be adapted according to the type of allograft and period after transplantation. Moreover, toxicity and drug interaction with immunosuppressive drugs must be taken into consideration when treating infectious complications. In explaining in depth how best to ensure allograft and patient survival, this book will be of value to infectious disease specialists and transplant physicians at all levels of experience.
Call Number: RC112 .I54 2019x
Pocket Pediatrics Ideal for medical students, interns and residents, the latest edition of this portable quick-reference--part of the popular Pocket Medicine series, prepared by residents and attending physicians--has been updated with new contributors and information on pediatric disorders and problems encountered in any clinical situation, including the ICU. The book is heavy on bulleted lists, tables, and algorithms, and the small size means it can fit snugly in anyone's white coat pocket! Features a four-color insert chapter packed with dermatological images. Incorporates new contributors from the University of Rochester and new information and theoretical developments in the field. Written in a concise, to-the-point style, which makes for easy absorption of material. Bulleted format makes a perfect quick reference covering a comprehensive spectrum of everyday pediatric illnesses. Handy for getting ready for pediatric board exams, too! Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RJ48 .P645 2020
Qualitative Meta-Synthesis: a research method for medicine and health sciences Qualitative Metasynthesispresents a research method developed for upcycling and synthesis of qualitative primary studies, aimed at researchers within medicine and health sciences. This book demonstrates how and why qualitative metasynthesis can be a method for reuse and expansion of medical knowledge. It presents the principles of metasynthesis as a qualitative research method, so that the reader can assess whether this is a research strategy that fits the aim of their study. The author offerspractical advice for conducting research using this methodology. The presentation is illustrated by a study carried out by the author and collaborators, reflecting on real-life challenges and solutions as an example of meta-ethnography, one of the most frequently used strategies for qualitative metasynthesis. The author also looks at systematic reviews, a methodology developed within in the tradition of evidence-based medicine, discussing strengths, weaknesses and pitfalls of this methodology. Rooted in the interpretative paradigm, qualitative metasynthesis challenges several of the principles from the evidence-based medicine tradition, offering reflections on challenges when epistemologically very different methodologies intersect. This book should be considered essential reading for anyone carrying out qualitative research within the fields of medicine, health and social care. in the tradition of evidence-based medicine, discussing strengths, weaknesses and pitfalls of this methodology. Rooted in the interpretative paradigm, qualitative metasynthesis challenges several of the principles from the evidence-based medicine tradition, offering reflections on challenges when epistemologically very different methodologies intersect. This book should be considered essential reading for anyone carrying out qualitative research within the fields of medicine, health and social care.
Call Number: R853.Q34 M35 2019x
Simulation in Acute Neurology by Simulation in Acute Neurology is a textbook on the execution of a simulation-based educational program in the management of acute neurologic emergencies. Simulation in Acute Neurology has practical value because it contains detailed descriptions of our simulation scenarios. The foundation of this book is our experience with neurosimulation?and it has been a very good one. Part I provides an overview of the principles of simulation in medicine and examines the many unique opportunities simulation provides as an educational tool. Barriers to simulating neurologic emergencies are also discussed. Simulation allows a physician-in-training to be observed directly as he or she evaluates and manages acute neurologic disease. Part II is the core of the book. Fifteen acute neurologic emergencies, including complex neuroethical quandaries, are presented in detail, step by step, decision by decision, error after error. Each chapter in this section starts with an explanation of the essence of the discussed neuroemergency (THE PROBLEM BEFORE US), followed by a description of the scenario itself (THE PRESENTING CLINICAL PROBLEM), how scenarios can be adjusted to different types of learners (ADAPTING THE SCENARIO), and ends with a discussion of topics for feedback, which are generally focused around errors and pitfalls (DEBRIEFING). To show the flow of scenarios, we created two additional main headings: (THE IDEAL LEARNER) and (THE NOT-SO IDEAL LEARNER). Part I provides an overview of the principles of simulation in medicine and examines the many unique opportunities simulation provides as an educational tool. Barriers to simulating neurologic emergencies are also discussed. Simulation allows a physician-in-training to be observed directly as he or she evaluates and manages acute neurologic disease. Part II is the core of the book. Fifteen acute neurologic emergencies, including complex neuroethical quandaries, are presented in detail, step by step, decision by decision, error after error. Each chapter in this section starts with an explanation of the essence of the discussed neuroemergency (THE PROBLEM BEFORE US), followed by a description of the scenario itself (THE PRESENTING CLINICAL PROBLEM), how scenarios can be adjusted to different types of learners (ADAPTING THE SCENARIO), and ends with a discussion of topics for feedback, which are generally focused around errors and pitfalls (DEBRIEFING). To show the flow of scenarios, we created two additional main headings: (THE IDEAL LEARNER) and (THE NOT-SO IDEAL LEARNER).
Call Number: RC346 .H63 2019x
Management/Employee Development Books
Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education Increased demands for colleges and universities to engage in outcomes assessment for accountability purposes have accelerated the need to bridge the gap between higher education practice and advances in the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation. This research handbook provides higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, institutional researchers, and faculty with an integrated volume of theory, method, and application. Bringing together terminology, analytical perspectives, and methodological advances, this second edition facilitates informed decision-making while connecting the latest thinking in these methodological areas with actual practice in higher education. In this valuable resource, well-known scholars present a detailed understanding of contemporary theories and practices, with guidance on how to apply these ideas for the benefit of students and institutions.
Call Number: LB2331.62 .H36 2018
Integrating Worker Safety, Health, and Well-Being Programs In a globalized economy where work is increasingly tenuous, the safety, health, and well-being of workers has become a matter of some urgency for organizational leaders, and an area of intense focus for researchers and practitioners. The Total Worker Health(R) initiative of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), targets policies, programs, and practices that address risks to worker safety, health and well-being in both the physical and organizational work environment, as well as beyond the workplace. Chapters in this book cover organizational approaches for implementing integrative prevention programs for addressing these problems. This includes applications for diverse worker populations, such as workers in healthcare settings, construction, corrections, and manufacturing; for aging workers who may have multiple chronic health conditions; and, for workers employed in small businesses. Chapters also provide evidence of program effectiveness for addressing work conditions that impact mental health, fatigue and sleep, and work-life conflict. This volume is for occupational safety and health professionals, human resource managers, policymakers, and organizational trailblazers who understand that ensuring the safety, health, and well-being of workers is an essential best business practice.
Call Number: HD7261 .I558 2019
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2018, 2017, 2016