Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses by Following the success of previous editions, Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses continues to be an excellent reference resource in anatomy and physiology for students of nursing and allied health, as well as for healthcare assistants and those studying Foundation degrees or diplomas in health studies. Its easy-to-understand approach and small size make it an excellent revision tool and invaluable to take on placements. Now enhanced with full colour illustrations throughout, this book is the perfect guide to aid learning and understanding. This new edition includes: Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Full colour artwork programme Updated questions for each chapter Updated clinical content, ensure it is up to date and relevant
Call Number: QP34.5 .W38 2018
Communicating Across Cultures by This highly regarded text--now revised and expanded with 50% new material--helps students and professionals build their knowledge and competencies for effective intercultural communication in any setting. The authors' comprehensive, updated theoretical framework (integrative identity negotiation theory) reveals how both verbal and nonverbal communication are affected by multilayered facets of identity. Written in a candid, conversational style, the book is rich with engaging examples illustrating cultural conflicts and misunderstandings that arise in workplace, educational, interpersonal, and community contexts. Readers learn how to transform polarized conversations into successful intercultural engagements by combining knowledge about culture with mindful listening and communication skills. New to This Edition *Extensively revised to reflect the ongoing development of integrative identity negotiation theory, nearly 20 years of research advances, the growing diversity of the United States, and global trends. *Chapter providing a mindfulness lens on intercultural and intergroup communication competence. *Chapter on culture shock in sojourners (international students, global businesspeople, and others). *Chapter on immigrants' acculturation processes. *Lively chapter-opening case examples, including compelling personal stories. *End-of-chapter summaries, "Mindful Guidelines" to put into practice, and critical thinking questions. *New and expanded discussions of hot topics: cross-cultural workplaces, community building, peace building, romantic relationships, prejudice and discrimination, microaggressions, and ethical issues.
Call Number: GN345.6 .T56 2019
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional: Context, Concepts, Practice, and Evidence by Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional, Third Edition is a comprehensive guide to improving patient outcomes through relationship building and the use of information technology to foster communication between patients, families, and health providers. The author examines the context for communication in an evolving health care system and provides the foundations for understanding human and therapeutic communication. Readers will learn critical competencies to ensure quality, patient-centered care as well as skills to manage communication across relevant constituencies. The book also touches on solutions for transforming health care by changing patient behavior and systems of care. Designed for undergraduate students across the health professions, this text provides caregivers with basic communication knowledge and skills and is an invaluable resource for those in administrative functions as well. New & Key Features of the 3rd Edition: Covers principles, concepts, skills, and evidence critical to a broad-base, health professional curricula Teaches communication skills one at a time allowing for contiguous mastery across a set of therapeutic interventions Offers two new chapters that explore advances in health information technology and provide problems on access to and availability of healthcare Includes an extensive glossary of terms and list of references including websites and resources available to enhance student learning
Call Number: R727.3 .V36 2020
Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Health Professionals by Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Other Health Professionals: An Interprofessional Approach is a concise introduction to genetics clinically applicable to nursing students as well as students in other healthcare professions. The text employs an accelerated approach to understanding the fundamentals of genetics, even those with limited knowledge on the topic will find this a beneficial resource. The content is aligned to the ANA's Essential Genetic and Genomic Competencies and begins with a review of DNA, RNA, protein synthesis, chromosomes, and inheritance patterns. In addition, it takes a clinical focus on specific diseases and groups of disease processes. Each disease chapter focuses on the molecular basis of the disease, the signs and symptoms of the disease, surveillance recommendations, treatment options for the disease, and other disorders. Coverage of diagnostic techniques, embryology and teratogens, diagnostic techniques for genetic testing, prenatal screening, genetics counseling and the ethical, legal, and social issues that surround human genetics and genomics is also included. Key Features: Aligned to the ANA's Essentials of Genetic and Genomic Competencies Diagnostic techniques for genetic testing Tables and figures which reinforce comprehension Interprofessional contributor list across several health specialties
Call Number: RB155 .G86 2020x
Gerontology for the Health Care Professional by Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Gerontology for the Health Care Professional, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive, practical text covering the evolving field of gerontology, developed for healthcare students and professionals. Written by experts across many health disciplines, this text presents an up-to-date and realistic assessment of the aging process. Gerontology for the Health Care Professional, Fourth Edition begins with a review of demographic trends and continues with an overview of key topics such as the physiology, pathology, pharmacotherapy, nutrition, communication, and social concerns related to caring for older patients. This interprofessional resource concludes with future concerns for an aging society and includes an epilogue encouraging all health care professionals to embrace patient or client advocacy, especially for older adults. With new case studies, review questions, and interactive activities, this accessible resource will provide an active learning experience for all health professions students.
Call Number: RA564.8 .G468 2020
Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professionals by Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, animations, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professionals, Seventh Edition provides a broad overview of the most common and important human diseases for students pursuing careers in the health professions. Comprehensive yet accessible, it addresses the aspects of disease epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment that are essential to clinical practice. Designed to facilitate learning, this essential reference features learning objectives, and practice questions for review and assessment. Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professions, Seventh Edition will help students gain a solid foundation in disease pathology and medical terminology to help them throughout their medical education. NEW AND KEY FEATURES OF THE SEVENTH EDITION: New and updated clinical information, including general and specific treatments for diseases. New art and photos of diseases. Improved Instructor Resources! New and updated Animations! Chapters have been reorganized, condensed, or split and expanded when necessary resulting in an improved and streamlined learning experience.
Call Number: RB111 .K45 2020
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: *Patient Education *Motivating for behavior change *Breaking bad news *Managing different personality types *Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice *Nonverbal communication *Using computers in the exam room *Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention. If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.
Call Number: RC65 .S65 2019
Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practice: Understanding the Role of Resilience, Positivity and Wellbeing by The pursuit of excellent compassionate care should be at the heart of all practice. However, it can be challenging for practitioners to deliver this day after day in a context of tight budgets and targets, which can erode the passion with which they entered their professions. Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practiceencourages healthcare professionals to look after themselves in order to maintain and develop their compassionate practice. This book considers how stress management, resilience, wellbeing and positivity can help all health professionals remain close to the values, attitudes and attributes that brought them into the caring professions. It presents and critiques the evidence base for these key concepts, bringing them to life with numerous case studies and examples, and develops a framework - RESPECT - for practice. This innovative volume is essential reading for all healthcare students, academics and professionals interested in improving both the quality of care and the wellbeing of patients and practitioners alike.
Call Number: RT89 .C45 2019x
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care by How do you perceive your cultural identity? All of us are shaped by the cultures we interact with and the cultural backgrounds and ethnicities that are part of our heritage. Take a dynamic approach to the study of culture and health care relationships. Dr. Marilyn A. Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today's world. She integrates theory, practice, and evidence of transcultural caring to show you how to apply transcultural awareness to your clinical decision making. Go beyond common stereotypes using a framework that can positively impact the nurse-patient relationship and the decision-making process. You'll learn how to deliver culturally competent care through the selection and application of transcultural assessment, planning and negotiation tools for interventions.
Call Number: RT86.54 .R39 2016
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications: A User's Manual. by The imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual."Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
Call Number: R119 .G88 2019x