Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anesthesia Review: 1000 Questions and Answers to Blast the Basics and Ace the Advanced by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. With contributors from Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School, the unique and thorough Anesthesia Review: 1000 Questions and Answers to Blast the BASICS and Ace the ADVANCED covers both BASIC or ADVANCED levels of Anesthesiology training in a single volume. Any resident in Anesthesiology will find a gold mine of material--including topic-specific chapters with exam-like questions, answers with explanations, and references for further, in-depth review--for fast, efficient preparation. Format and style of questions align directly with what you'll encounter on actual exams. Perfect for Anesthesiology Residents, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists, and Advanced Practice Nurses. Answer explanations include reasons for incorrect answers, as well as references for further study, ideal for anyone who wants more help with topics. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD82.3 .A546 2019x
The Anesthesia Technologist's Manual by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This unique manual is an ideal resource for anesthesia technicians and technologists and those studying for certification (CerATT) in the field. It offers well-illustrated, comprehensive coverage of every aspect of day-to-day practice and workflow, with sections on Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology; Anesthesia Practice; Anesthesia Equipment and Technology; Emergencies, and more. From explanations of who's who in the operating room to detailed, step-by-step instructions on equipment maintenance, this practical manual ensures that readers will have current, complete information on the core knowledge they need to know in anesthesia technology. Features new chapters on temperature management, MRI safety, radiation safety, local anesthetic toxicity, autotransfusion devices, resource planning, and legal and regulatory issues. Updated and expanded information on the respiratory system and airway tools and devices. Covers special topics such as pediatric and obstetric anesthesia, anesthesia outside the OR, patient transport, and emergencies from cardiac arrest to fire, with emphasis on the role of the anesthesia technologist in management. Detailed coverage of what you need to know on intraaortic balloon pumps, ventricular assist devices, pacemakers, and other technical challenges. Includes more than 350 questions with detailed answers, reviewing knowledge contained in each chapter and assisting with preparation for the American Society of Anesthesia Technologists and Technicians (ASATT) exam. Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations to help you visualize anatomy, surgical positioning, and more. All royalties from the sale of this book will be donated to the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. All you need to know for study and reference. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD82.3 .A54 2019x
Education in Anesthesia: How to Deliver the Best Learning Experience by Do you want to improve your teaching skills in graduate medical education? This book provides suggestions and practical examples for teaching in the Pre-Anesthesia Clinic, the Operating Room, the Pain Clinic, and the ICU. Designed to help the reader become a more efficient and effective teacher, it also provides best practice suggestions for teaching airway management, regional anesthesia, transesophageal echocardiography, and newer technologic advancements such as point-of-care ultrasound. Based on research in education, this book provides information for all medical educators, including creating the optimal learning environment, teaching clinical reasoning, using multimedia and simulation, making the classroom interactive, and the significance of test-enhanced learning, while presenting specific examples of each. Chapters include teaching professionalism, preparing residents to be teachers, teaching quality and safety, providing feedback, and teaching residents how to read the literature. This volume emphasizes providing practical suggestions from recognized leaders in each of the areas discussed.
Call Number: RD81 .E32 2018
Hensley's Practical Approach Cardiac Anesthesia by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Renamed for this new edition, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition. Nearly 70 contributors from over 35 institutions offer their experience and expertise. Two new co-editors bring their expertise and experience in critical care and pain management, in addition to cardiac anesthesia. Now with new chapters on ECMO support and robotic surgical techniques, clinical videos on the eBook, and Clinical Pearls for each chapter. Covers cardiac physiology and pharmacology, pre-procedural patient preparation, anesthetic management of specific disorders and procedures, post-procedural management, and more. Comprehensive and written in an outline format, with bulleted lists and concise writing style, making it easy to read and absorb key points. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD87.3.H43 P723 2019
Katzung and Trevor's Pharmacology: Examination and Board Review by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SCORE YOUR HIGHEST ON MEDICAL PHARMACOLOGY COURSE AND BOARD EXAMS WITH THE WORLD'S BESTSELLING PHARMACOLOGY REVIEW BOOK! From the authors of the field's most trusted textbook, Katzung & Trevor's Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, this full-color resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts, backed by more than 800 questions and answers. The chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO EXCEL: *Concise discussion of the major concepts that underlie basic principles or specific drug groups in every chapter *Full-color tables and figures (many new to this edition) *Review questions followed by answers and explanations *Two comprehensive 100-question practice exams, followed by answer keys and explanations for correct answers *Diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts *A list of high-yield terms and definitions you must know *Skill Keeper Questions that prompt you to go back and review previous material to understand the link between topics *A checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter *Summary Tables that list the important drugs and include key information about their mechanism of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities *An Appendix of test taking strategies for the highest score possible
Call Number: RM300 .K38 2019
Managing Complications in Paediatric Anaesthesia by Committed to providing safe anaesthetic care for paediatric patients, it is of paramount importance for clinicians to learn from suboptimal situations in order to continuously improve clinical performance. The first resource of its kind, this text analyses a selection of fascinating case studies and evaluates best practice in providing safe anaesthesia to children with recommendations on how to avoid the most common clinical pitfalls. Featuring over seventy chapters, topics include airway-related problems, vascular access, regional anaesthesia, medication related problems and the management of patients with pre-existing conditions. Each case study is supported by full colour images, making this essential reading for consultants and trainees in anaesthesia.
Call Number: RD139 .J64 2018
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology IN FULL COLOR! Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia." This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: *Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember *Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice *Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty *Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall *Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care *URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
Call Number: RD81 .M672 2018x
Prescription Drug Diversion and Pain: History, Policy, and Treatment by Prescription Drug Diversion and Pain provides an interdisciplinary overview of medications used to treat chronic pain, specifically the benefits and risks that are posed by long-term opioids use. These essential pain-relieving medications must be carefully managed to prevent serious sideeffects that may include physical dependence, addiction, and even death, which has led in recent years to increased attention on the development of alternative treatments for chronic pain. This book not only offers a single, comprehensive source for understanding the specialized field of the opioidcrisis, but also addresses provocative topics including how pain drugs came to be regulated by the U.S. Government and the rarely-discussed aggressive marketing behind the spread of these drugs. Chapters are written by expert contributors from diverse backgrounds in medicine, psychiatry, pharmacy, nursing, health law, and ethics. Prescription Drug Diversion and Pain is a must-read for healthcare professionals, caregivers, policy makers, regulatory officials, law enforcement, and those inthe pharmaceutical industry seeking to address the current and future opioid crisis.
Call Number: RC568.O45 P74 2018x
Writing for Publication in Nursing by Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Call Number: RT24 .O35 2019