Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bobath Concept in Adult Neurology by In rich yet practical detail, this book describes the Bobath Concept of physical rehabilitation following injury to the central nervous system. Unlike many technique-driven resources, this work explores the integral relationships... -- Doody's Review (starred review) The text is highly factual, accurate, and well-written....The subject is more than adequately covered and the text is organized to continually bring concepts back to clinical relevance, which is helpful for all clinicians. -- American Journal of Neuroradiology The pioneering text by internationally renowned Bobath instructor and therapist Bente Gjelsvik is now in a revised and expanded second edition. The Bobath Concept in Adult Neurology, Second Edition, is updated with the latest theoretical insights, research literature, and clinical guidelines to provide an evidence-based, practice-oriented guide to the assessment and treatment of patients with lesions of the central nervous system. Bridging the gap between theoretical assumptions and everyday therapy practice, the book offers an understanding of the interaction between the central nervous system, the musculoskeletal system, movement, and function, and helps readers apply their knowledge to form hypotheses through clinical reasoning in the rehabilitation of adults with neurological conditions. Highlights: Completely revised case histories chapter with entirely new patient cases Key coverage of recent clinical trials and research studies Restructured and reorganized chapters for a more logical presentation of content Concise descriptions of the central nervous system and the neuro-musculo-skeletal systems, motor control, and neural and muscular plasticity Useful discussion of the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health as a basis for assessment More than 200 lucid photographs and illustrations aid in quick grasp of the material The new edition of this seminal volume contains the theoretical information, clinical details, and practical examples of the Bobath Concept for the management of neurological disability. It is a must-read for physical therapists and occupational therapists at all levels who seek the best assessment and treatment outcomes for neurologically impaired individuals.
Call Number: RC350.P48 G54 2016
Bones and Joints: A Guide for Students by Bones and Joints offers a clear and concise introduction to the bones and joints of the body along with pathology. Heavily illustrated with clear annotations, this is an essential learning, revision aid and reference for all radiography students and other health care students including nurses. Laid out in a logical and systemic way the text is easy to understand with brand new colour illustrations throughout. The three generic chapters at the start of the book, covering an overview of bone, joints and pathology, provide the basic information required to ensure that the student is able to gain the most benefit from the subsequent area-specific chapters. This is an essential book for all health care students who need a good understanding of the skeletal system. Now fully illustrated in colour throughout with clear annotations for easy understanding. Joint illustrations are colour coded to aid learning
Call Number: QM101 .G86 2018
Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Examination and Performance Testing by A practical handbook on evaluating muscular strength and function, Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Examination and Performance Testing, 10th Edition helps you to understand and master procedures in manual muscle testing and performance testing. Clear, illustrated instructions provide a guide to patient positioning, direction of motion, and direction of resistance. In addition to muscle testing of normal individuals and others with weakness or paralysis, this edition includes coverage of alternative strength tests and performance tests for older adults and others with functional decline (such as the inactive and obese). The tenth edition also includes coverage of muscle dynamometry and a sampling of ideal exercises. Updated by educators Dale Avers and Marybeth Brown, this classic physical therapy reference once again features a companion website with many new video clips demonstrating the latest muscle testing procedures and alternatives to muscle testing. In addition, two online only chapters - Cranial Nerve and Ready Reference Anatomy - have been added. Drawings and arrows along with clear written directions make it easy to understand and perform muscle testing procedures, allowing you to assess deficits in strength, balance, and range of motion. More than 500 illustrations clearly show testing sequences, muscle anatomy, and muscle innervation. Chapters on performance testing cover functional strength testing in older adults and those with functional decline, and testing muscle performance in various clinical settings. Chapters on manual muscle testing address when to use manual muscle testing, the limitations of manual muscle testing, and alternatives to manual muscle testing. Details of muscle anatomy and innervation help in linking muscle topography with function. Helpful Hints and Substitutions boxes provide additional tips and highlight muscle substitutions that may occur during a test to ensure greater accuracy in testing. A constant reference number clearly identifies each muscle in the body, indexed in the Alphabetical List of Muscles by Region as well as in the Ready Reference Anatomy Manual on Evolve, to speed cross-referencing and help you to quickly identify any muscle. NEW! Content on the muscle dynamometer and muscle dynamometry data introduces you to muscle dynamometry including muscle dynamometer methods and results with each muscle. NEW! Video clips demonstrate the latest muscle testing techniques and alternative muscle testing procedures in a clinical setting. NEW! Ideal exercises for selected muscles thoroughly explain procedures based on the literature. NEW! Additional Video Educational Content box alerts you when videos associated with that chapter are available to view.
Call Number: RC925.7 .H574 2019
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance by Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance is designed for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The tenth edition provides students with an up-to-date understanding of the physiology of exercise through the use of numerous clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance.
Call Number: QP301 .P64 2018
Making Sense of Exercise Testing by This book makes sense of complex topics by distilling them to basic concepts. It provides normal physiology integrated with indications for and evaluation of disease states. With a fresh clinical approach, it helps answer reoccurring questions.
Call Number: RC685.C58 S36 2019
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context: Structures, Sections, Systems, and Syndromes by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience
Call Number: QM451 .H18 2019
Principles of Rubin's Pathology by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Principles of Rubin's Pathology, Seventh Edition distills the renowned coverage of Rubin's Pathology, Seventh Edition into a focused, approachable guide to the essentials of pathology. This resource introduces principles and mechanisms of pathology, followed by organ-specific information, extracting key information on pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical features of diseases. Detailed images clarify challenging content, and companion online resources enable students to learn on the go and confidently prepare for exams. This edition is optimized for students seeking only the most critical information, making it an ideal resource for international medical schools, PA, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health programs. Streamlined content emphasizes essential concepts, including the use of bold terms and bulleted lists to emphasize key points, for the most efficient study of pathology available. Illustrations, photomicrographs, and clinical photographs clarify challenging content and represent the pathogeneses of disease. Highlighted boxes and helpful graphic icons identify Pathogenesis, Pathology, Epidemiology, and Clinical Features sections. Globally sourced content reflects an international spectrum of current practices and approaches. Online resources including new slide-based histopathology lectures presented by Dr. Rubin, original animations, and fully searchable text make learning more engaging and efficient. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RB111 .E856 2019
Travell, Simons and Simons' - Myofascial Pain and Dysfunction by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This new edition of Travell, Simons & Simons' groundbreaking work reflects the latest research and best practices associated with trigger points and updates the iconic pain point images that set the standard in the field. New lead editor Joseph M. Donnelly draws on his experience as both educator and physical therapy practitioner to integrate an evidence-based approach into this critical text. In addition, the new edition consolidates information to create a more intuitive user experience and features a completely new full color design to bring concepts to life. Buy it as an eBook. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW! Consolidated: The previous edition's two volumes- Upper Extremities and Lower Extremities--have been consolidated into one accessible book. NEW! Updated research from around the world and coverage of the most current evidence-based treatments prepare readers for practice. UPDATED!More integrated presentation. Information on pain is now better integrated with information on pain treatment. UPDATED! In-text learning aids integrated throughout the text, including learning objectives, case studies, and Q&As, help students master the material and apply it to practice.
Call Number: RC925.5 .T7 2019