Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Aromatherapy for Health Professionals Now entering its 5th?edition Aromatherapy for Health Professionals?is an essential read for any professional wishing to practice aromatherapy in a clinical setting. It covers the theory and practice of essential oil science and the application of aromatherapy for specific conditions, giving an evidence based and in-depth presentation of the subject. Written by a highly experienced team of aromatherapists it is an authoritative guide for those wishing to use essential oils in a modern health care setting.? Contains an A-Z of essential oils including their chemistry and properties, allowing therapists to select the most effective oils for use in a clinical situation. Includes a table giving the appropriate essential oils for different health conditions Includes case studies to help the reader understand how to put the theory into practice. The text is fully referenced and evidence based for use in a clinical setting.
Call Number: RM666.A68 P76 2020
Building Your Professional Portfolio: essential tools for healthcare providers This resource will help you: 1) explore the evolving processes and decisions folded into building portfolios 2) Look at the purpose and types of portfolios, terms, definition and the benefits of building managing and sustaining a portfolio 3) connect your artifacts and experience in a meaningful and purposeful way that will speak to your target audience 4) construct your own personal mission and vision statements to assist you with your academic and professional goals
Call Number: HF5383 .S95 2019x
Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN) Exam Review The comprehensive, authoritative study guide for the CHPN(R) certification exam This must-have study guide for nurses seeking to obtain Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN(R)) status provides state-of-the-art information about all aspects of this specialty. It features over 300 carefully selected Q&As that offer a detailed rationale for each question, along with tips and strategies to promote exam mastery and frequently asked questions about the exam. Additional questions are arranged in chapters mirroring the exam blueprint and the number of questions for each category correlates with the exam matrix. Case-based scenarios embodied within the questions facilitate the application of knowledge in a problem-solving format. A complete practice exam is included as well. Brief topical reviews address hospice and palliative care nursing practice in all of its dimensions, including physical, spiritual, and psychosocial. The resource highlights information that forms the basis of end-of-life care, such as communication and family-centered care. Additionally, high-level skills used by hospice and palliative care nurses, such as drug and dosage conversion and the use of infusion therapy, are covered as well. Key Features: Provides concise, up-to-date knowledge on all aspects of the specialtyIncludes information about the exam, answers to commonly asked questions, and tips and strategies for exam masteryOver 150 Q&As spread throughout the text to reinforce content review as you studyProvides a final comprehensive practice exam that offers 150 Q&As that mirror the exam format, with answers and detailed rationales
Call Number: RT87.T45 W74 2020
Communication in Nursing Immerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 9th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today's nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you to apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings. Using a conversational tone, this relatable text takes you beyond theory to show you how to understand important concepts and use communication as a tool to limit stress in your nursing practice. The 9th edition includes a new chapter which focuses on the foundation of communication and personality assessment. It also includes a new Putting it into Practice feature to help you apply your new communication skills in the work environment. In addition, updates on the topics of mindfulness, resilience and inter-collaborative communication highlight the importance of implementing these tools in practice. Active Learning features in every chapter promotes active, goal-directed reading. Wit & Wisdom boxes present selected verses and quotations relevant to chapter topics, adding interest and humor. These boxes provide moments of relief from serious topics and "a-ha" moments when theory becomes linked to practice. End-of-chapter exercises help you to master chapter techniques and strengthen your communication skills. QSEN preface and exercises stress how communication impacts safety and quality of care. Discusses the importance of interprofessional education and communication in the healthcare environment.? Addresses the importance of "presence" in nursing - being present for clients, families, colleagues, and self. NEW! Starting with You chapter focuses on personality assessment using the Gallup CliftonStrengths among additional assessment methods. Two chapters have been combined to create a new one titled, Communicating Assertively and Responsibly with "Difficult" Clients and Colleagues, to help you better address aggressive and difficult clients and colleagues. UPDATED! Navigating the Expanding World of Digital Communication and Understanding Each Other chapters have been extensively updated to reflect most recent information. NEW! Chapter exercises incorporate teaching strategies such as cinemeducation and medical improvisation to help facilitate various learning types. UPDATED! Topics of mindfulness, resilience, and inter-collaborative communication have been incorporated throughout. NEW! Additional examples incorporated into Moments of Connection boxes highlight beneficial outcomes of successful communication and provide concrete examples of how communication techniques work.
Call Number: RT86.3 .B34 2020
Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing The only OCN® Exam review developed in collaboration with the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS), the Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, 6th Edition is the must-have OCN® certification review resources. This essential guide covers the entire scope of practice for oncology nursing and reflects important changes in the dynamic field of cancer treatment and care. The thoroughly revised sixth edition follows the latest test blueprint for the OCN® Exam and is presented in a streamlined outline format to help you focus on the most important information. Recognized as the definitive resource for concepts and practice in oncology nursing, this is the #1 review tool when preparing for OCN® certification! This definitive study resource for the OCN® Examination is the only such resource developed in collaboration with and endorsed by the Oncology Nursing Society. Coverage of the entire scope of oncology care includes quality of life, protective mechanisms, gastrointestinal and urinary function, cardiopulmonary function, oncologic emergencies, the scientific basis for practice, health promotion, and professional performance. Consistent outline format provides a quick-reference review that begins with theory and continues through the steps of the nursing process. Emphasis on QSEN competencies is designed to reduce errors, with a focus on safety and evidence-based practice including Safety Alerts for cancer chemotherapy drugs. Updates on cancer treatment and related nursing care include the most current and accurate information, preparing you for the OCN exam and for enhanced clinical practice. NEW! Content has been updated throughout to reflect the most recent Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) role delineation study, the latest OCN® Examination test blueprint, and important findings in cancer treatment and related nursing care, backed by the latest research evidence. NEW! Chapters reflect the latest ONS information on nurse navigation, communication and shared decision-making, precision medicine, immunotherapy, cognitive and endocrine symptoms, and compassion fatigue. NEW! Enhanced use of color in tables, boxes, and outlines improves visual appeal and learning.
Call Number: RC266 .C67 2020
Effective Communication for Health Professionals Ensure you have the skills to effectively communicate with patients and other healthcare professionals! With its easy-to-read style, Effective Communication for Health Professionals, 2nd edition, is loaded with useful tips and exercises to help you learn the universal (and necessary) practice of communication. This full-color second edition reflects current therapeutic techniques, including Communication Guidelines feature boxes, Words at Work dialogue boxes, added case studies, and all-new content exploring the most current communication tools in the modern health care setting. In addition, interactive exercises on the Evolve companion website encourages you to practice therapeutic communication techniques in real-life situations. UNIQUE! Interactive activities on accompanying Evolve site include a variety of application exercises such as scenarios with voice mail messages and patient/caregiver interviews. Easy-to-read style provides practical information, hints, and tips. Test Your Communication IQ boxes provide you with a short self-assessment test at the beginning of each chapter. Spotlight on Success boxes provide you with useful, practical tips for improving workplace habits and communication. Expanding Critical Thinking boxes provide actual case examples and activities with useful tips to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Legal Eagle boxes provide useful tips that focus on honesty, as well as ethical and legal communication between patients and healthcare workers. End-of-chapter questions and exercises help you to use knowledge learned from topics presented in the chapter. NEW! Chapter devoted to cross-cultural communication promotes understanding of care in a diverse workplace NEW! Chapter on diseases and disorders discusses communication with patients experiencing specific physical and mental illnesses and disorders. NEW and UNIQUE! Words at Work dialogue boxes demonstrate actual conversations between healthcare workers and clients. UPDATED! Content reflects the most current communication tools for the modern healthcare setting. NEW! Full-color design and art program promote engagement. NEW and UNIQUE! Communication Guidelines boxes direct you to best practices for the effective exchange of information. NEW! Additional Taking the Chapter to Work case studies demonstrate real-life communication pitfalls and successes.
Call Number: R727.3 .E34 2020x
Florence Nightingale at First Hand Florence Nightingale is one of the most famous figures in modern history, yet questions have been raised as to her real achievements. Much of what we know of her emanates from unreliable second-hand accounts and from a misreading of the primary sources. Based on her writings, Florence Nightingale at First Hand lets the legendary founder of nursing and heroine of the Crimean War speak for herself. Author Lynn McDonald is the editor of the Collected Works of Florence Nightingale (WLU Press) and the world's foremost Nightingale authority. Chapters relate Nightingale's background, her faith and political creed, her work during Crimean War and its aftermath, on later wars, and on reform in nursing, health care, midwifery, workhouses, hospitals, and India. Published to commemorate the centenary of Nightingale's death, this book presents a Florence Nightingale for the twenty-first century: she was a prodigiously astute researcher, a bold systems thinker, and a witty writer well connected with political and intellectual leaders. Her passionate dedication to her causes shines through her writing, making this book a great read.
Call Number: UH347.N6 M33 2010bx
Medical Surgical Nursing Study Guide: med surg certification review book: Med Surg Study guide and practice Test Prep Books' Medical Surgical Nursing Study Guide: Med Surg Certification Review Book: Med Surg Study Guide and Practice Test Questions [CMSRN Review Book] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the CMSRN exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: -Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! -Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! -Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! -Gastrointestinal -Pulmonary -Cardiovascular/Hematological -Diabetes (Types 1 & 2)/Other Endocrine/Immunological -Urological/Renal -Musculoskeletal/Neurological/Integumentary -Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! -Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We understand. That's why we created this guide. Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books. These reviews go into detail to cover all of the CMSRN certification test. The Test Prep Books CMSRN practice test questions are followed by answer explanations. If you miss a question, it's important to understand why. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. Knowing the latest test-taking strategies is essential for the exam. A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered. They also must be familiar with test strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: -CMSRN review materials -CMSRN practice questions -Test-taking strategies
Call Number: RT55 .M43 2019x
Oncology Nursing: scope and standards of practice A recently updated version that provides clear direction and support to oncology nurses in all settings across the cancer care continuum. The scope and standards are designed to lay the ground-work upon which oncology nurses can develop professionally and defend their essential contribution to quality cancer care.
Call Number: RC266 .L83 2019
Pain Management for Advanced Practice: multimodal approaches Handle the vital issue of pain management safely and effectively, with the proven range of treatments offered in Pain Management for Advanced Practice. Offering compassionate, holistic pain management strategies -- pharmacological and nonpharmacological -- this expert guide supports evidence-based decision making, with multimodal care options that include cognitive behavioral therapy, yoga, acupuncture, analgesics and supplementary pharmaceuticals. Essential for clinicians in all practice areas, this is the real-world support all advanced practice clinicians need for managing patients in pain. Offer effective pain management across the spectrum of acute and chronic pain conditions: Current data from studies that demonstrate real-life application of proven modalities Supports National Institutes of Health pain treatment options - innovative medications and technologies that treat opioid use disorders, for improved overdose prevention and reversal interventions that save lives and support recovery Designed to support both patients and their families in ways that avoid the pitfalls of the opioid epidemic Key Points listed in each chapter offering vital clinical tips Chapters that address a wide range of pain management models and treatments, including: Biopsychosocial model of pain and patient-centered pain management - multimodal treatment strategies that holistically address the needs of the patient and their family on biologic, psychological, social and spiritual levels Pain neurophysiology and phenotypes - common types of pain, including complex regional pain syndrome, fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome, neuropathy, osteoarthritis, piriformis syndrome, sciatica Pain assessment, clinical history and examination Diagnostic testing and imaging of pain Multimodal management of pain - perioperative, neck and low back, chronic, cancer, other musculoskeletal pain Psychotherapy and cognitive behavioral therapy Pharmacologic management - pain pharmacogenetics, opioid and nonopioid analgesics, adjuvant therapies (including herbals and supplements), managing multiple symptoms Nonpharmacologic management - aromatherapy, breath therapy, thermal therapy, distraction, gaming/virtual reality, music therapy, massage, reiki, acupuncture, movement therapy, electrocutaneous therapy, nutritional interventions, spinal manipulation, exercise, acupuncture, massage, tai chi, yoga, mindfulness, music Interventional pain management Surgical and procedural pain management - postoperative pain assessment, opioid and nonopioid analgesia, peripheral nerve block and local anesthetics, nonsteroidal anti- inflammatory drugs Treating pain in the addicted patient System-level pain management A must-have for advanced practice clinicians in all practice areas, particularly medical-surgical, critical care, oncology and emergency care About the Authors Angela Starkweather, PhD, ACNP-BC, CNRN, FAAN, is a Professor at the Center for Advancement in Managing Pain at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing in Storrs, Connecticut. Paula S. McCauley, DNP, APRN, ACNP-BC, FAANP, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner in Cardiology, Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Connecticut Health, and is an Associate Professor at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing in Storrs, Connecticut.
Call Number: RB127 .S728 2020x
Study Guide for the Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing Prepare for your OCN® Exam with the only study guide endorsed by ONS! Based on the latest test blueprint for the OCN Exam, this is the only question-and-answer review developed in collaboration with the Oncology Nursing Society. Practice questions match the format and makeup of the OCN Exam and reflect important changes in cancer treatment and nursing care. A companion to Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, 6th Edition, this definitive resource maximizes your study and review for OCN certification. UNIQUE! The only Q&A review book developed in collaboration with and endorsed by the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS), the parent company of the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC), which administers the OCN Examination. UNIQUE! In-depth review matches the ONS Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing and reflects the full continuum of cancer care, the scientific basis for practice, palliation of symptoms, oncologic emergencies, and professional performance. UNIQUE! Questions keyed to QSEN (Quality and Safety Education for Nurses) competencies focus on reducing errors and increasing patient safety. Expert contributors include authors who developed the ONS Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, other cancer experts, and other practicing oncology nurses. Answer Key includes detailed rationales for correct and incorrect responses. NEW! UPDATED content matches the latest OCN® Examination test blueprint and The Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, 6th Edition. UPDATED coverage of cancer treatment and related nursing care includes all important changes, preparing you for the OCN® Exam and for expert clinical practice. UPDATED coverage of the latest research evidence.
Call Number: RC266 .C67 2020 Suppl.
Warm Hearts: a nurses' receipe for a successful and fulfilling career “It is not how much we do – it is how much love we put into the doing.” – Mother Teresa.
In Warm Hearts: A Nurse’s Recipe for a Successful and Fulfilling Career, author and registered nurse Patrice M Foster draws on years of experience as a nurse and caregiver to offer proven methods that RNs can use to prevent the natural tendency to become heartless and business-like over time.
In this valuable nurse training guide, you will learn easy-to-apply nursing tips:
•How to relate to difficult personality types without losing your cool
•Overcome high stress situations
•Learn to treat each patient well and prevent having a bad attitude because of a prior patient experience
•How to deal with difficult personality types and communication problems
•How to have empathy for your patients, even when they aren’t nice
•Prevent nursing career burn-out and stress-related health issues like high blood pressure and heart disease
•Increase productivity and drive by coming to work with a positive attitude
Nurses serve as advocates for the physical and psychological well-being of all patients. Yet, nursing isn’t as simple as doing routine linen changing. It is very important that nurses can overcome many things and still provide a friendly greeting and positive attitude towards all patients and their families.
Call Number: RT82 .F67 2019x
Cardiac Mapping The expanded guide to cardiac mapping The effective diagnosis and treatment of heart disease may vitally depend upon accurate and detailed cardiac mapping. However, in an era of rapid technological advancement, medical professionals can encounter difficulties maintaining an up-to-date knowledge of current methods. This fifth edition of the much-admired Cardiac Mapping is, therefore, essential, offering a level of cutting-edge insight that is unmatched in its scope and depth. Featuring contributions from a global team of electrophysiologists, the book builds upon previous editions' comprehensive explanations of the mapping, imaging, and ablation of the heart. Nearly 100 chapters provide fascinating accounts of topics ranging from the mapping of supraventricular and ventriculararrhythmias, to compelling extrapolations of how the field might develop in the years to come. In this text, readers will find: Full coverage of all aspects of cardiac mapping, and imaging Explorations of mapping in experimental models of arrhythmias Examples of new catheter-based techniques Access to a companion website featuring additional content and illustrative video clips Cardiac Mapping is an indispensable resource for scientists, clinical electrophysiologists, cardiologists, and all physicians who care for patients with cardiac arrhythmias.
Call Number: RC685.A65 C287 2019
Current Surgical Therapy An ideal resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 13th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the consistent, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout all 263 chapters, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics such as management of rectal cancer, inguinal hernia, and colon cancer. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes seven all-new chapters: REBOA in Resuscitation of the Trauma Patient, Treatment of Varicose Veins, Management of Infected Grafts, Radiation for Pancreatic Malignancies, Pneumatosis Intestinalis, Proper Use of Cholecystostomy Tubes, and Pelvic Fractures. Integrates all minimally invasive surgical techniques into relevant chapters where they are now standard management. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Features full-color images throughout, helping you visualize key steps in each procedure. Helps you achieve better outcomes and ensure faster recovery times for your patients. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD32 .C87 2020x - ONLINE
Dermoscopy Criteria Review Dermoscopy Criteria Review - a perfect text for clinicians wishing to learn dermoscopy from world-renowned experts. A comprehensive overview examines the basic terminology and concepts of dermoscopy, a cutting-edge, non-invasive technique that is invaluable to clinicians in the evaluation and diagnosis of a full gamut of dermatologic conditions. The layout of this innovative text features clinical and dermoscopic images of more than 200 cases. All dermoscopic criteria are clearly labeled and pattern analysis methodology is provided to guide you towards mastering the technique and language of dermoscopy. Key features you will find include: * Important teaching points helpful to both novice and advanced dermoscopists * Extensive clinical and clearly-marked dermoscopic images * More than 100 clinical and dermoscopic images of melanoma * Each case includes a discussion of salient features and concludes with expert observations ("pearls") based on authors' years of experience * Chapters on Trichoscopy and Dermoscopy in General Dermatology and a comprehensive glossary of important dermoscopic terms are all included
Call Number: RL105 .J645 2020
Doing Right: a practical guide to ethics for medical trainees and physicians A case-based approach that provides the advice and skills medical practitioners need to help patients and overcome ethical challengesNow in its fourth edition, Doing Right offers healthcare trainees and practitioners alike a comprehensive, user-friendly guide to contemporary biomedical ethics. Taking an applied case-based approach, this engaging text explores complex ethical issues through real-life scenarios, making it relatableto all types of healthcare professionals.
Call Number: R724 .H434 2020x
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition All the authority of the most trusted brand in medical content in a convenient, portable guide Derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, this full color, portable guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in general medical practice. This edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine. Designed for quick access and employing an effective blend of concise text, bulleted key points, decision trees, and summary tables, the Manual makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters use a standard repeating template and cover: * Etiology and Epidemiology * Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology * Signs and Symptoms * Differential Diagnosis * Physical and Laboratory Findings * Therapeutics * Practice Guidelines, and more
Call Number: RC46 .H333 2020 & Suppl. Also ONLINE
Kidney Transplantation - Principles and Practice Offering practical guidance for all members of the transplant team, Kidney Transplantation, Principles and Practice, 8th Edition, provides the balanced, up-to-date information you need to achieve optimal outcomes for your patients. A global team of internationally renowned surgeons and nephrologists, many new to this edition, offers fresh perspectives on everything from applied science and surgical techniques to immunosuppressive methods, outcomes, risks, and medical considerations related to kidney transplantation, in both adults and children. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of all areas of kidney transplantation such as preservation of kidneys; mechanisms of rejection and the induction of tolerance; techniques of laparoscopic live donor nephrectomy; and immunosuppression. Contains up-to-date outcomes data and analysis of the evidence supporting current practice in the field. Includes new information on desensitization and considerable new data on the clinical use of costimulation blockade. Keeps you current with new chapters on kidney allocation policy that reflects the ethical and societal values of different countries and populations; and biomarkers of kidney injury and rejection, including the need for better monitoring tools to guide therapy and patient management. Covers hot topics such as management of chronic allograft failure, the sensitized patient and antibody-mediated rejection, and paired exchange principles. Features hundreds of superb illustrations to help you visualize key concepts and nuances of renal transplantation. Provides dynamic visual guidance with new real-time video coverage of ultrasound-guided pancreas allograft biopsy; a new animation of calcineurin inhibitor mechanism of action animation; and videos that demonstrate the formation of an immune synapse, 3-D rotational images of immune synapses, an NK cell killing its target, peritoneal dialysis-catheter insertion techniques, laparoendoscopic single site (LESS) donor nephrectomy, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD575 .K53 2020 Online
MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology Detailed, step-by-step instructions and abundant full-color illustrations make MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Sixth Edition, an indispensable resource in the neonatal intensive care nursery. This unique reference uses a practical outline format to present clear, easy-to-follow information on indications, preparation, technique, precautions, and how to avoid potential complications. New chapters, new procedural content, and new videos bring you fully up to date with current practice in the NICU. Uses a step-by-step format that presents more than 200 photographs and illustrations along with user-friendly procedural descriptions, helping you minimize errors and promote safe practice standards. Contains six new chapters: Making Low Cost Simulation Models for Neonatal Procedures, Delayed Cord Clamping and Cord Milking, Surfactant Administration via Thin Catheter, Amplitude-integrated EEG, VP shunts and EVD Management and Wound Care. Includes a new quick-reference appendix with a convenient checklist of procedures. Provides access to updated videos that depict both common and emergency neonatal procedures. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RJ251 .A84 2020
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review The key resource you need to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations. Now in its twelfth edition, Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review builds on years of knowledge, refinement, and expertise from Mayo Clinic's Department of Medicine and the successful certification process, providing the latest information you need. Now including Physician Well-Being and Hospital Internal Medicine, over 80 chapters help you confidently sit for the boards. Not preparing to certify or recertify? This all-inclusive reader-friendly volume is the perfect companion for anyone seeking to provide state-of-the-art care to patients, to serve as a core textbook for internal medicine residency training, or for students preparing for USMLE Step 3 examinations.
Call Number: RC58 .M393 2020
Middleton's Allergy Through eight outstanding editions, Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice has been the reference of choice for both clinicians and researchers as both a practical reference and an effective self-assessment tool for board preparation. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with comprehensive coverage of all basic science and clinical applications regarding allergy practice and disease mechanisms. It brings you fully up to date with recent innovations in the diagnosis, prevention, and management of allergic disorders, including emerging global issues, the advent of precision medicine, and new immunologic therapies. Offers unparalleled depth and up-to-date guidance on the full spectrum of allergy across the lifespan, with significant updates throughout. Contains new chapters on Innate Lymphoid Cells, Systems Biology, and Treatment of Primary Immunodeficiency Diseases. Discusses emerging topics such as epidemic thunderstorm asthma and precision medicine in allergic disorders. Features more than 730 full-color illustrations, including many new cellular and molecular drawings of disease mechanisms. Includes new Summary of Important Concepts boxes, plus new multiple-choice questions online with explanations and answers. Features a new team of expert editors and more international contributors for a global perspective of this complex field. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC584 .A44 2020 - ONLINE
The Oxford Handbook of Adult Cognitive Disorders The prevalence of adult cognitive disorders will dramatically rise over the next 25 years due to the aging population. Clinical research on adult cognitive disorders has rapidly evolved, including evidence of new adult cognitive disorders and greater insight into the clinical presentation, mechanism, diagnosis, and treatment of established diseases. The Oxford Handbook of Adult Cognitive Disorders is an up-to-date, scholarly, and comprehensive volume covering most diseases, conditions, and injuries resulting in impairments in cognitive function in adults. Topics covered include normal cognitive and brain aging, the impact of medical disorders and psychiatric illnesses on cognitive function, adult neurodevelopmental disorders, and various neurological conditions. This Handbook also provides a section on unique perspectives and special considerations for clinicians and clinical researchers, covering topics such as cognitive reserve, genetics, diversity, and neuroethics. Readers will be able to draw upon this volume to facilitate clinical practice (including differential diagnosis, treatment recommendations, assessment practices), and to obtain an in-depth review of current research across a wide spectrum of disorders, provided by leaders in their fields. The Oxford Handbook of Adult Cognitive Disorders is a one-of a kind resource appropriate for both clinicians and clinical researchers, from advanced trainees to seasoned professionals.
Call Number: RC553.C64 O94 2019
Pain Neurosurgery Part of the Neurosurgery by Example series, this volume on pain neurosurgery presents exemplary cases in which renowned authors guide readers through the assessment and planning, decision making, surgical procedure, after care, and complication management of common and uncommon disorders. Thecases explore the spectrum of clinical diversity and complexity within pain neurosurgery, including trigeminal neuralgia, postherpetic neuralgia, occipital neuralgia, percutaneous cordotomy for cancer-associated pain, chronic lumbar radiculopathy, and more.Each chapter also contains "pivot points" that illuminate changes required to manage patients in alternate or atypical situations, and pearls for accurate diagnosis, successful treatment, and effective complication management. Containing a focused review of medical evidence and expected outcomes,Pain Neurosurgery is appropriate for neurosurgeons who wish to learn more about a subspecialty, and those preparing for the American Board of Neurological Surgery oral examination.
Call Number: RD595.5 .P35 2019x
Principles of Bone Biology Preface from the first edition (1996): "The world of modern science is undergoing a number of spectacular events that are redefining our understanding of ourselves. As with any revolution, we should take stock of where we have been, where we are, and where we are going. Our special world of bone biology is participating in and taking advantage of the larger global revolution in modern science... we assembled experts from all over the world and asked them to focus on the current state of knowledge and the prospects for new knowledge in their area of expertise. To this end, Principles of Bone Biology was conceived." - John P. Bilezikian, Lawrence G. Raisz, Gideon A. Rodan Praise for the previous edition: "Students, teachers, and practitioners will benefit from reading it, and investigators will use it as a reference work; it will certainly be consulted frequently." --The New England Journal of Medicine For over two decades, "Big Gray" has been the go-to repository of knowledge in the disciplines related to bone and mineral metabolism. The fourth edition is a must-have for students new to the field; young investigators at the graduate or postgraduate level beginning their research careers; established scientists who need to keep up with the changing nature of the field, looking to enrich their own research programs, or who are changing their career direction; clinicians who want ready access to up-to-date relevant basic science. This new edition builds on the successful formula from previous editions, taking the reader from the basic elements of fundamental research to the most sophisticated concepts in therapeutics. Principles of Bone Biology, Fourth Edition provides the most comprehensive, authoritative reference on the study of bone biology and related diseases. Bone research continues to generate enormous attention, due to the broad public health implications of osteoporosis and related bone disorders. This classic, fully updated, two volume reference is designed for anyone involved in the study of bone biology.
Call Number: QP88.2 .P735 2020
Management/Employee Development Books
101 Tough Conversations to Have with Employees This second edition of the bestselling guide by top human resources author Paul Falcone provides guidance for managers, including sample dialogues for how to broach uncomfortable conversations across a wide range of issues. Inappropriate workplace conduct, lateness, sexually offensive behavior, productivity and communication issues . . . these are just a few of the uncomfortable topics bosses must sometimes discuss with their employees. 101 Tough Conversations to Have with Employees offers realistic sample dialogues managers can use to facilitate clear, direct interactions with their employees, helping to sidestep potential awkwardness and meet issues head-on. This practical, solution-oriented book walks readers through some of the most common--s well as the most serious--employee problems they are likely to encounter. While covering everything from substandard performance reviews to progressive disciplinary warnings and termination meetings, the second edition of this bestselling resource offers readers twenty new scenarios covering current hot-button issues like FMLA abuse and ADA accommodations, wage and hour challenges, team turnarounds, and compensation conflicts. This handy guide helps managers treat their people with dignity and respect, focusing not just on what to say but also on how to say it. It provides proven techniques managers can use to protect themselves and their organizations--and get the very best from their people.
Call Number: HF5549.5.E42 F35 2019
Activate Your Agile Career: how responding to change will inspire your life's work What are nimble, resilient career players doing to ensure satisfying consistent work regardless of the setbacks in their lives? Their careers are recession proof. Even when they lose a job, another one better suited to them magically appears. They are agile careerists.The agile careerist consistently iterates ideas, answering the questions, "What do I want that I currently don't have in my life's work?" or "What do I want to do next?"
Call Number: BF637.64 .M37 2018x
Becoming a Manager: how new managers master the challenges of leadership Making the leap to management and leadership In your career, or anyone's, there is one transition that stands out as the most crucial--going from individual contributor to competent manager. New managers have to learn how to lead others rather than do the work themselves, to win trust and respect, to motivate, and to strike the right balance between delegation and control. Many fail to make the transition successfully. In this timeless, indispensable book, Harvard Business School professor and leadership guru Linda Hill traces the experiences of nineteen new managers over the course of their first year in the role. She reveals the complexity of the transition, highlighting the expectations of these managers, their subordinates, and their superiors. We hear the new managers describe how they reframed their understanding of their roles and responsibilities, how they learned to build effective cross-functional work relationships, how and when they used individual and organizational resources, and how they learned to cope with the inevitable stresses of leadership. Hill vividly shows that becoming a manager is a profound psychological adjustment--a true transformation--as well as a continuous process of learning from experience. Becoming a Manager, a veritable treasury of essential leadership wisdom, is a book you will turn to again and again no matter where you are on your career journey.
Call Number: HD57.7 .H548 2019
Connect First: 52 Simple Ways to Ignite Success, Meaning, and Joy at Work #1 WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER A renowned business psychologist, advisor, and consultant to the world's leading companies reveals the key to greater success, meaning, and joy at work Technology has enabled us to be more interconnected today than ever before. So why do so many of us feel isolated and undervalued at work? Why does it feel like something is missing? It doesn't have to be this way. In these rapidly changing, challenging times, how do we--YOU--develop the intuition, self-awareness, and interpersonal agility required to prosper? Here's what we've lost track of: organizations are run by people, and people run on emotions. Strong relationships are the bedrock of lasting success, meaning, and joy at work. In this life-changing guide, Dr. Melanie Katzman shows you an impactful approach to connect first as fellow humans, then as coworkers and colleagues, to forge the deep bonds that make a significant difference. Learn how to: * Establish respect and make others feel valued * Engage all of your senses to create a truly inclusive culture * Become popular and be the person everyone wants to work with * Grow loyalty by making it about them--your coworkers * Resolve conflicts by remaining curious and open with others * Fight fear (and prepare for the future) by stepping outside your comfort zone and experimenting with new ideas * Have a big impact by leveraging your platform, living your values, and leading the change Dr. Katzman presents 52 actions you can take immediately to create a deeply rewarding work life by connecting to yourself, your organization, and the world at large. These are the same powerful techniques she has used with leaders and employees at the world's top companies to enhance productivity and foster fulfillment and joy at work--the hallmarks of true success.
Call Number: HD58.7 .K3788 2020x
The Engaged Caregiver: How to Build a Performance-Driven Workforce to Reduce Burnout and Transform Care From the top experts on healthcare workforce engagement comes the vital road map to reduce the alarmingly high--and fast-growing--rate of staff burnout and to transform care. More than half of U.S. physicians and 40 percent of nurses experience one or more symptoms of burnout. This crisis poses a serious threat to our health systems, impacting not only the well-being of the caregiving workforce but also that of patients. Written by a team of thought leaders with deep expertise in healthcare workforce engagement and cultural development, The Engaged Caregiver offers a detailed guide for leaders, managers, and front-line providers to identify, diagnose, measure, and develop strategies to address and overcome caregiver burnout. It's an actionable plan for developing and building a resilient culture that empowers caregivers and gives them the support they need to fulfill the patient promise with every care experience, every day.
Call Number: RA410.7 .E54 2020
Good Charts Workbook: tips, tools and exercises for making better data visualization Talk. Sketch. Prototype. Repeat. You know right away when you see an effective chart or graphic. It hits you with an immediate sense of its meaning and impact. But what actually makes it clearer, sharper, and more effective? If you're ready to create your own "good charts"--data visualizations that powerfully communicate your ideas and research and that advance your career--the Good Charts Workbook is the hands-on guide you've been looking for. The original Good Charts changed the landscape by helping readers understand how to think visually and by laying out a process for creating powerful data visualizations. Now, the Good Charts Workbook provides tools, exercises, and practical insights to help people in all kinds of enterprises gain the skills they need to get started. Harvard Business Review Senior Editor and dataviz expert Scott Berinato leads you, step-by-step, through the key challenges in creating good charts--controlling color, crafting for clarity, choosing chart types, practicing persuasion, capturing concepts--with warm-up exercises and mini-challenges for each. The Workbook includes helpful prompts and reminders throughout, as well as white space for users to practice the Good Charts talk-sketch-prototype process. Good Charts Workbook is the must-have manual for better understanding the dataviz around you and for creating better charts to make your case more effectively.
Call Number: HF5718.22 .B476 2019x
Human Resource Management in Health Care: principles and practice Written for practitioners and students in all health disciplines, this practical hands-on guide to human resource management covers topics such as recruitment, compensation and benefits, training, termination, legal issues, labor unions, and more. Each chapter is introduced by a case study related to the material that follows. The case study is resolved by the end of each chapter with expert commentary and practical suggestions. Chapters also feature real-life learning objectives, provocative questions for review and discussion, and a "Spotlight on Community Service" to emphasize the importance of customer service in the context of the material presented in the chapter. Numerous examples, sample forms and documents are also included. Thoroughly updated, the Third Edition now includes: 3 NEW CHAPTERS: - Ethics and Ethical Behavior addresses ethical conduct at all organization levels, and offers a sample organizational "Code of Conduct" - The Impact and Effect of Social Media is treated in another new chapter, detailing both its benefits and shortcomings. - Human Resource Consultants and Human Resource Arbitration combines former chapters 21 and 22 into a streamlined, comprehensive update. UPDATED employment-related legislation and case law, including the Family Medical Leave Act and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) NEW COVERAGE of diversity in recruiting and possible discrimination due to social media interactions. EXPANDED AND UPDATED TREATMENT of privacy and sexual harassment, counseling, employee behavior and substance abuse, succession planning, and much more.
Call Number: RA971.35 .F38 2021
Innovation in Mixed Methods Research: a practical guide to integrative thinking with complexity Explaining both why and how to use mixed methods for discovering solutions to complex research problems, this guide gives readers the tools to adapt approaches to suit their own research conditions. Written in a warm, encouraging tone and packed with helpful diagrams and visual organizers, it provides an easy-to-follow map to the mixed methods process, covering everything from 'what is mixed methods research?' to framing, integrating, and describing a complexity-sensitive mixed methods approach. Features include: Key questions to navigate the important concepts of each chapter Practice alerts to provide practical tips on working in the field Chapter check-ins to assess development of key skills Further reading to expand and deepen knowledge of mixed methods practices An annotated glossary to get to grips with foundational terms and revise for exams Supported throughout by real-world examples and advice from the author and other mixed methods experts, this book helps readers succeed in their projects and think innovatively about the methods they use.
Call Number: H62 .P68 2018x
MAT Exam Study Guide 2019-2020 You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial MAT Exam Study Guide 2019-2020: MAT Exam Prep Review and Practice Test Questions for the Miller Analogies Test you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Our materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. Pearson was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's MAT Exam Study Guide 2019-2020 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the MAT exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's MAT Exam Study Guide 2019-2020 covers analogies and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: LB2367.6 .M395 2018
Smart Healthcare Systems About the Book The book provides details of applying intelligent mining techniques for extracting and pre-processing medical data from various sources, for application-based healthcare research. Moreover, different datasets are used, thereby exploring real-world case studies related to medical informatics. This book would provide insight to the learners about Machine Learning, Data Analytics, and Sustainable Computing. Salient Features of the Book Exhaustive coverage of Data Analysis using R Real-life healthcare models for: Visually Impaired Disease Diagnosis and Treatment options Applications of Big Data and Deep Learning in Healthcare Drug Discovery Complete guide to learn the knowledge discovery process, build versatile real life healthcare applications Compare and analyze recent healthcare technologies and trends Target Audience This book is mainly targeted at researchers, undergraduate, postgraduate students, academicians, and scholars working in the area of data science and its application to health sciences. Also, the book is beneficial for engineers who are engaged in developing actual healthcare solutions.
Call Number: R859.7.A78 S63 2020
The Writing Workshop: write more, write better, be happier in academia Research is all about writing, but most PhD programs don't teach students how to produce the writing needed to get a PhD, publish research, or win fellowships and grants. Plus, the academic environment can feel as cold and harsh as the South Pole. But just as penguins form social huddles to survive the Antarctic winter, researchers can form writing groups to help them learn how to write more, write better and be happier in academia. The Writing Workshop tells you everything you need to know about forming and running a successful writing group, and provides invaluable tips on how to become better at and more comfortable with academic writing. Written by a professor of Cognitive Sciences at the University of California, this friendly guide is aimed at early-career researchers such as PhD students, postdoctoral scholars and new faculty members. Chapter topics include: How to form and run a writing workshop; how to plan research and writing projects over the long (one to five years), medium (ten to fifteen weeks), and short (one week) terms; how to establish and maintain a regular daily(ish) writing practice; how to write a literature review, research article, funding proposal or presentation; and how to revise for clarity at the document, paragraph, sentence and word levels. There are templates to help students set writing goals and log their writing practice, plus in-class exercises to help writers learn to hear the difference between effective and ineffective writing. Running through the book is the theme of well-being, and the idea that creativity comes from self-compassion rather than self-punishment. Writing is not only a way of producing scholarly output, but also a way of thinking, learning and generating new ideas. A regular writing practice grounded in a supportive community is something that every early-career scholar deserves and, with this book, it's something every early-career scholar can have.
Call Number: P301.5.A27 S27 2019x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018