Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook Written especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, the 2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. This essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration. Completely revised and updated, the 2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook includes separate chapters on molecular and immunologic/biologic targeted therapies. These chapters provide fundamental reviews to assist nurses in understanding the cellular communication pathways disrupted by cancer. It also offers simplified content, attention to understanding the immune checkpoint inhibitors, new information about immunotherapy, new drugs and their indications, and updated indications and side effects for drugs recently approved by the FDA.
Call Number: RC271.C5 O497
Care Coordination and Transition Management Core Curriculum The Care Coordination and Transition Management (CCTM) Core Curriculum (2nd Edition) offers content developed by experts that will provide RNs with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes to practice in all health care settings today and tomorrow. The CCTM Core Curriculum will help RNs to: practice at the top of their license and become certified in CCTM; enhance interprofessional collaboration and communication; enhance safety and quality of patient outcomes; consistently provide best evidence-based assessments and interventions; gain expertise in population health management; tap into nurse-sensitive outcome metrics; enhance RN informatics knowledge and skills; use big data effectively to manage populations; enhance access to high-quality care; decrease ED use and readmission; decrease health care costs; and expand knowledge of resources and apps used in CCTM.
Call Number: RT49 .C374 2019x
CCM Exam Prep 2019-2020: a study guide and comprehensive review with 250+ test questions and answers for the certified case manager exam While other shorter guides only include around 90 questions, this guide includes over 250 Questions so that students are fully prepared before taking the exam. This book is also different from others because it includesfull explanations along with answers. Hundreds of students have achieved high scores after learning from this guide. Consider the Table of Contents below and order your copy today.
Table of Contents
Chapter 1: About the Certified Case Manager
Chapter 2: Settings Within Which CCM’s Function
Chapter 3: The Case for CCM Standards
Chapter 4: Management and Delivery of Healthcare (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 5: Contemporary Health Challenges and Solutions (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 6: Case Management of Psychological Issues (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 7: CCM’s Principles of Practice (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 8: Financing and Chronic Healthcare Reimbursement (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 9: Case Management Concepts (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Chapter 10: Rehabilitation (Topics Covered on the Exam)
Answers and Full Explanations to Test Questions
Call Number: HV43 .C347 2019x
Data for Nurses: understanding and using data to optimize care delivery in hospitals and health systems Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals and Health Systems provides information for nurses on how to work with data to effectively evaluate and improve care delivery for patients. Quality, benchmarking, and research data are increasingly used to guide care in hospitals and health systems, and nurses are expected to actively use this information to identify interventions to optimize outcomes and meet reporting and financial targets. However, not all nurses receive formal training on data utilization, making interpretation and application of the different types of data difficult. This book provides information on topics such as benchmarking and reportable indicators, financial metrics, quality improvement, research, and implementation science, with applications to nursing practice. Important information on protective measures to guarantee integrity and security of personal patient data is also included. The book is a valuable resource for nurses and other healthcare professionals who require a basic understanding of key principles of data utilization in order to increase engagement in evidence-based practices, quality improvement, and mandatory reporting of key indices.
Call Number: RA399.A1 D37 2020x
Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Nursing and Healthcare Delivers a practical leadership approach that will thrive in today's healthcare environment This application-based text is designed to cultivate nursing and healthcare leaders who embrace the demands and opportunities of today's healthcare environment, which is rooted in innovation. Authored by world-class innovators and leaders in evidence-based healthcare practice, the book provides proven strategies to incorporate innovative and evidence-based leadership strategies into daily use to build creative, high-functioning, and sustainable organizations. The book differs from traditional academic texts by providing content that is practical, personal, and engaging. It provides a clear path for readers to integrate innovation and leadership principles into their careers and daily practice. The text is enhanced by individualized quotes and first-person accounts from healthcare industries. Chapters offer objectives and case studies. Other features include "Calls to Action" which will help readers develop leadership skills, and "Key Takeaway Points" to help remember important concepts. Podcasts conducted with prolific leaders illustrate the many challenges they have faced over the years.Key Features: Rooted in AACN Essentials for DNP and Master's EducationProvides practical information on leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurshipIncludes best practice applications for healthcare and non-healthcare industries to improve outcomes in real-world settingsProvides case studies, "Calls to Action," and "Key Takeaway Points"Includes podcasts with top healthcare leaders
Call Number: RT86.7 .M48 2021
Florence Nightingale: a reference guide to her life and works Florence Nightingale: A Reference Guide to Her Life and Works cover all aspects of her life and works, from her birth in Florence to her death in London. -A detailed chronology of Florence Nightingale's life, family, and work. -The A to Z section includes the major events, places, and people in Nightingale's life. -The bibliography includes a list of publications concerning her life and work. -The index thoroughly cross-refIncludes a detailed chronology of Florence Nightingale's life, family, and work.
Call Number: RT37.N5 M332 2020x
Fluids & Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy For expert, confidence-building guidance on handling fluids and electrolytes, turn to the irreplaceable quick-reference guide Fluids & Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy!®, 7th Edition. Written in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy!® style, it offers step-by-step direction on balancing fluids and electrolytes, understanding fluid imbalances and the disorders that cause them, treating imbalances and more. This real-world guide supports students and new nurses in class, on the unit and with NCLEX® preparation, while also serving as a solid refresher for experienced nurses. Learn top-level skills to manage fluids and electrolytes: NEW and updated content on fluid-related concepts in easy-to-follow definitions Updated and revised content that offers clear definitions and on-the-job how-to's Explains the science of fluid and electrolytes in clear and practical terms as they relate to patient care Patient care examples that include common fluids-related diagnoses, appropriate patient outcomes and the basis for each recommended treatment Easy-to-follow sections that offer practical insight and guidance on nursing skills: Balancing basics - balancing fluids, electrolytes, and acids and bases Fluid and electrolyte imbalances - imbalances in fluids, sodium, potassium, magnesium, calcium, phosphorus, chloride, and acids and bases Disorders that cause imbalances - including heat-related illnesses, heart failure, respiratory failure, excessive GI fluid loss, acute pancreatitis, renal failure and burns Treating imbalances, including fluid losses and excesses - IV fluid replacement and total parenteral nutrition Lists fluid and electrolyte imbalances commonly seen in pediatric and elderly patients Guide to transfusing blood Special chapter features offer invaluable recaps and quick explanations: Just the facts - quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - offer expert insights, important care reminders, and reassurance throughout Ages and stages - age-related changes and how they affect a patient's health Teaching points - patient-teaching tips that help patients prevent recurrence of the problem That's a wrap - quick end-of-chapter review of chapter content Memory jogger - memory aids that help you grasp and remember difficult concepts Quick quiz - end-of-chapter NCLEX®-style practice questions Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book practice exam with 60 NCLEX®-style questions About the Clinical Editor Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN-CNP, CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Mercy Health Physicians in Cincinnati, Ohio.
Call Number: RC630 .F596 2020
An Introduction to Writing for Health Professionals: the smart way Learn to become a better writer the SMART way. An Introduction to Writing for Health Professionals: The SMART Way, 4th Edition explores quick-and-easy methods to help you improve your writing skills. Thoroughly updated to reflect APA style guidelines, the fourth edition illustrates various forms of common written communication, such as email, instant messaging, blogs, letters, memos, reports, resumés, briefs, articles, presentations, research papers, and more. You are introduced to the essential elements of writing using the SMART approach - Source, Message, Audience, Route, and Tone, as well as steps to use when crafting academic papers (PROCESS), and key takeaways for becoming a better writer (LAST). These acronyms provide quick-and-easy ways to help you get started and organize your writings. It also includes handy quick reference lists and free additional resources on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! SMART, PROCESS, and LAST acronyms help facilitate learning by making the material easier to remember. Clear and straightforward writing style provides a reader-friendly approach to writing for learners of all levels. Common Error sections and Exercises featured throughout to reinforce content. APA style examples throughout text include those most commonly used in the health professions. NEW! Expanded coverage of research, digital literacy, communication on social media, and electronic mediums reflects advances in online culture. NEW! Fully revised SMART Ways for Other Routes chapter includes principles of documentation and charting, electronic communication (including email, instant messaging, social networking, and blogs), curriculum vitae, and dissertations. NEW! Points to Remember section at the end of each chapter (formerly SUMMARY) highlights key information using bullet points.
Call Number: RT24 .Z54 2020x
Medical Statistics from Scratch: an introduction for health professionals Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Call Number: RA409 .B669 2020
Roving Leadership: Breaking Through the Boundaries Are you ready to transform your organization and transcend the barriers to success? Empower yourself and your staff with a new perspective on professional leadership. Like a relay race in which every participant's part is critical, the roving leadership model promotes a shared responsibility for the prosperity of your group or organization. Discover how to overcome organizational obstacles and build a path to greater interprofessional outcomes. Based on empirical evidence and backed with real stories of success, this practical resource will help you reframe your understanding of leadership roles and make the most of the skills and expertise of your entire organization.
Call Number: RT89 .T34 2018
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. The third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. Additionally, an unfolding case study on translation is threaded throughout the text. Reorganized for greater ease of use, the third edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It features a variety of relevant change management theories and presents strategies for improving health care outcomes and quality and safety. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaborative imperative for our complex health care environment. Consistently woven throughout are themes of integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional applications across settings. New to the Third Edition: Expands the Methods and Process section Provides updated exemplars illustrating translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system Reorganized into a more user-friendly format Includes an entire new section, "Enablers of Translation" Delivers expanded information on Legal and Ethical Issues Present new chapters, "Teamwork and Building Teams for Translation" and "The Institutional Review Process for Quality Improvement and Research" Weaves an unfolding case study on translation throughout the text Key Features: Authored by esteemed experts and educators in practical translation of evidence Delivers applicable theories and strategies that meet DNP core requirements Presents a variety of relevant change management theories Offers strategies for improving outcomes and quality and safety Addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education Discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers Underscores the importance of translating evidence into practice to improve health care and its delivery Supplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learning Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT42 .T73 2021
Cardiac Repolarization: basic science and clinical management This book provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of clinical and research aspects of cardiac repolarization geared toward practicing cardiologists and physicians. It analyzes elements of pathophysiology and molecular biology as they relate to the clinical aspects of cardiac repolarization, long QT syndromes, early repolarization syndromes, and special cardiac repolarization syndromes. Each chapter examines different aspects of the field with basic and clinical overviews and highlights the impact on medical management. The book covers a variety of repolarization topics including the influence of the autonomic system, racial and gender differences in patients, the future role of stem cells, inflammation and autoimmunity, and cardiovascular risk. Cardiac Repolarization: Basic Science and Clinical Management is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, fellows, and graduate students in cardiology, clinical cardiac electrophysiology, internal medicine, and cardiovascular biology.
Call Number: QP112.5.E46 C37 2020x
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery, Fourth Edition A complete, concise review of the science and clinical practice of otolaryngology --- head and neck surgery --- with a new full-color presentation The must-have resource for ENT board review and recertification *The acclaimed one-stop clinician's guide to treating all major diseases of the ear, nose, throat, and neck *Emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management *Conveniently organized by anatomic region *FOUR NEW CHAPTERS: Professional Voice Assessment and Care; Neurolaryngology; Aural Rehabilitation and Hearing Aids; and Endoscopic Skull Base Surgery *Consistent presentation includes General Considerations, Pathogenesis, Prevention, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, and Treatment *Must-know medical and surgical management of each disorder *Thorough discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Comprehensive radiology chapter with more than 150 images *"Essentials of Diagnosis" section for each disease and disorder delivers key points at a glance *All new full color interior design with more than 500 color illustrations *Valuable to otolaryngologists as well as all the medical and surgical specialties and related disciplines that treat patients with head and neck disorders *Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity * Spans the entire breadth of ENT topics, including the latest developments in basic science, facial plastic surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, rhinology, pediatric otolaryngology, otology, and neurotology
Call Number: RF48 .C87 2020x
Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Ear Surgery Illustrated: a comprehensive atlas of otologic microsurgical techniques This richly illustrated ear microsurgery atlas shows a picture is worth a thousand words! In order to envision a three-dimensional picture of the surgical space and ultimately to master surgery, surgeons need thorough visual and clinical knowledge of anatomy. Ear Surgery Illustrated: A Comprehensive Atlas of Otologic Microsurgical Techniques by renowned surgeon Robert Jackler and illustrator Christine Gralapp reflects more than three decades of collaboration. The color illustrations herein communicate a wealth of surgical anatomy and technique with exceptional clarity and precision. Succinct, insightful text paired with the drawings delineate key landmarks, define crucial relationships, and elucidate complex concepts. Fifteen chapters encompass the broad spectrum of modern otological surgery practice -- from commonplace procedures to complex tertiary-quaternary operative care. The appendix features helpful educational handouts surgeons can give to patients. Key Features More than 1,100 precise full-color illustrations with explanatory text cover a broad range of microsurgical approaches A wide range of surgical procedures including stapes surgery, tympanoplasty, ossiculoplasty, mastoidectomy, vestibular surgery, cochlear implants, temporal bone resection, and petrous apicectomy Management of various diseases and conditions such as cholesteatoma, facial nerve issues, temporal bone fractures, hearing loss, encephaloceles, cerebrospinal fluid leaks, and pulsatile tinnitus Stepwise procedural guidance throughout the atlas enables novice otolaryngologists and subspecialty otologists to achieve optimal surgical outcomes. Experienced surgeons will find insightful tips and helpful tricks to refine skills and tackle more complex technical challenges encountered in practice. Paired with Robert Jackler's and Christine Gralapp's Atlas of Skull Base Surgery and Neurotology Second Edition, the two books meld visual and clinical knowledge into remarkable resources covering otological, neurotological, and lateral skull base surgery techniques. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
Quantitative Methods for Investigating Infectious Disease Outbreaks This book provides a systematic treatment of the mathematical underpinnings of work in the theory of outbreak dynamics and their control, covering balanced perspectives between theory and practice including new material on contemporary topics in the field of infectious disease modelling. Specifically, it presents a unified mathematical framework linked to the distribution theory of non-negative random variables; the many examples used in the text, are introduced and discussed in light of theoretical perspectives. The book is organized into 9 chapters: The first motivates the presentation of the material on subsequent chapters; Chapter 2-3 provides a review of basic concepts of probability and statistical models for the distributions of continuous lifetime data and the distributions of random counts and counting processes, which are linked to phenomenological models. Chapters 4 focuses on dynamic behaviors of a disease outbreak during the initial phase while Chapters 5-6 broadly cover compartment models to investigate the consequences of epidemics as the outbreak moves beyond the initial phase. Chapter 7 provides a transition between mostly theoretical topics in earlier chapters and Chapters 8 and 9 where the focus is on the data generating processes and statistical issues of fitting models to data as well as specific mathematical epidemic modeling applications, respectively. This book is aimed at a wide audience ranging from graduate students to established scientists from quantitatively-oriented fields of epidemiology, mathematics and statistics. The numerous examples and illustrations make understanding of the mathematics of disease transmission and control accessible. Furthermore, the examples and exercises, make the book suitable for motivated students in applied mathematics, either through a lecture course, or through self-study. This text could be used in graduate schools or special summer schools covering research problems in mathematical biology.
Call Number: RA652.2.M3 Y36 2019x
Reducing Compassion Fatigue Secondary Traumatic Stress and Burnout by This workbook addresses the vital questions helpers, responders, and organizations have about self-care and its relationship to resilience and sustained effectiveness in the midst of daily exposure to trauma victims and or situations. Packed with activities, worksheets, and interactive learning tools, the text provides neuro-based and trauma-sensitive recommendations for improving the ways clinicians care for themselves. Each 'session' helps clinicians identify their personal self-care needs and arrive at an effective self-care plan that promotes resilience in the face of daily exposure to trauma-inducing situations and reduces the effects of compassion fatigue and burnout. Reducing Compassion Fatigue, Secondary Traumatic Stress, and Burnout is an essential workbook for any helper or organization looking to enhance compassionate care.
Call Number: RC552.P67 S739 2020
Surgery PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourteenth Edition The closest students can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way for students to assess their knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. Readers will find vignette-style questions and updates on the latest surgical techniques. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. * 500 USMLE-style questions and answers * Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers * Targets what you really need to know for exam success * Thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship * Targets all the topics students must know for clerkship success * Answers are referenced to leading textbooks and journal articles
Call Number: RD37.2 .S97 2020
Management/Employee Development Books
All You Have to Do Is Ask: how to master the most important skill for success A set of tools for mastering the one skill standing between us and success- the ability to ask for the things we need to succeed. Imagine you're on a deadline for a big project, and feeling overwhelmed. Or you're looking for a job, but can't seem to get your foot in the door. Or you're dying for tickets to a sold out concert, and all your leads have gone cold. What do these problems have in common? They can all be solved simply by reaching out to a colleague, friend, or wider network and making an ask. Studies show that asking for help makes us better and less frustrated at our jobs. It helps us find new opportunities and new talent. It unlocks new ideas and solutions, and enhances team performance. And it helps us get the things we need outside the workplace as well. And yet, we rarely give ourselves permission to ask. Luckily, the research shows that asking - and getting - what we need is much easier than we tend to think. Here, Baker shares a set of strategies - used at companies like Google, GM, and IDEO - that individuals, teams, and leaders can use to make asking for help a personal and organizational habit, such as- SMART criteria for making an ask, "plus-and-play" routines that make requests a standard component of meetings, mini-games that incentivize asking within teams, and the Reciprocity Ring, a guided activity that allows people to tap into the giving power of a network.
Call Number: HD30.3 .B365 2020
Foundations of Clinical Research: applications to evidence-based practice Conceptual descriptions of analytic procedures used in EBP as well as tables that demonstrate simple calculations Algorithm for choosing a statistical procedure based on a study's design Diagrams that help students understand experimental and observational design variations Guidelines for critical appraisal of various types of studies Focus on sensitivity/specificity and likelihood ratios, number needed to treat, and measuring clinically meaningful change Special features that illustrate how research applies to practice, including, "Case-in Point," "Fun Facts," "Historical Notes," and end-of-chapter 'take-away' commentaries from the author
Call Number: R850 .P56 2020
Gapenski's Understanding Healthcare Financial Management Leaders are best positioned for strategically powerful decisions when they approach challenges with a firm grasp of the most pertinent tools of finance. Rich with examples, both real and fictional, this book makes the practical application of abstract concepts comprehensible. This edition has been updated to reflect the December 2017 federal tax bill. Gapenski's Understanding Healthcare Financial Management offers a practical introduction to the useful concepts that every healthcare decision-maker needs to know, giving leaders a real advantage as they face some of the most consequential choices of their careers.
Call Number: RA971.3 .G37 2020
Humanification by Imagine being able to spot the next big trend, or being able to predict the next big wave of change. Imagine having a code that gives you the power to invent, predict or harness the next big technology. Humanification is going to help you unlock the DNA of innovation itself, so you can apply it to your life, your business and your community. The story starts with a little girl, a terminal diagnosis and a ticking clock. Join the author as he searches for a cure. Along the way you will discover the seven powerful forces of innovation that are going to change everything in your world within your lifetime. Through a series of stories, research and personal insights, the author reveals how he came to see the world from a totally new perspective. This new vantage point allowed him to uncover a unique wave pattern. Incredibly that wave pattern turned out to be a blueprint for just about every disruptive technology breakthrough. Christian Kromme also made another remarkable breakthrough. He discovered that our manmade technology follows exactly the same evolutionary steps as life itself. By reading this book you will learn to see how the world works at a biological level, a technological level, and a humanity level. You will come to understand how each level is linked, and that knowledge will reveal remarkable new insights into the future. This is a truly remarkable book that no entrepreneur, leader or policy maker can afford to miss. This book shows how technology unites humanity into one big organism. This new insight will change the way you look at technology and its effect on us all us all forever.
Call Number: T14.5 .K76 2017x
Innovation Project Management: methods, case studies and tools for managing innovation projects Actionable tools, processes and metrics for successfully managing innovation projects Conventional project management methods are oftentimes insufficient for managing innovation projects. Innovation is lost under the pre-determined scope and forecasted environments of traditional project management. There is tremendous pressure on organizations to innovate, and the project managers responsible for managing these innovation projects do not have the training or tools to do their jobs effectively. Innovation Project Management provides the tools, insights, and metrics needed to successfully manage innovation projects--helping readers identify problems in their organization, conceive elegant solutions, and, when necessary, promote changes to their organizational culture. There are several kinds of innovation--ranging from incremental changes to existing products to wholly original processes that emerge from market-disrupting new technology--that possess different characteristics and often require different tools. Best-selling author and project management expert Harold Kerzner integrates innovation, project management, and strategic planning to offer students and practicing professionals the essential tools and processes to analyze innovation from all sides. Innovation Project Management deconstructs traditional project management methods and explains why and how innovation projects should be managed differently. This invaluable resource: Provides practical advice and actionable tools for effectively managing innovation projects Offers value-based project management metrics and guidance on how to establish a metrics management program Shares exclusive insights from project managers at world-class organizations such as Airbus, Boeing, Hitachi, IBM, and Siemens on how they manage innovation projects Explores a variety of types of innovation including co-creation, value-driven, agile, open versus closed, and more Instructors have access to PowerPoint lecture slides by chapter through the book's companion website Innovation Project Management: Methods, Case Studies, and Tools for Managing Innovation Projects is an essential text for professional project managers, corporate managers, innovation team members, as well as students in project management, innovation and entrepreneurship programs.
Call Number: HD69.P75 K4677 2019
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods The world-renowned experts at JAMA® explain statistical analysis and the methods used in medical research Written in the language and style appropriate for clinicians and researchers, this new JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods provides explanations and expert discussion of the statistical analytic approaches and methods used in the medical research reported in articles appearing in JAMA and the JAMA Network journals. This addition to the JAMAevidence® series is particularly timely and necessary because today's physicians and other health care professionals must pursue lifelong learning to keep up with the ever-expanding universe of new medical science and evidence-based clinical information. Readers and users of research articles must have a firm grasp of the myriad new statistical, analytic, and methodologic approaches used in contemporary medical studies. To provide concrete examples, the explanations in the book link to research articles that incorporate the specific statistical test or methodological approach being discussed.
Call Number: R853.S7 J36 2020
Qualitative Research in Health Care Provides the essential information that health care researchers and health professionals need to understand the basics of qualitative research Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis. A succinct, and practical guide quickly conveying the essentials of qualitative research Updated with chapters on new and increasingly used methods of data collection including digital and web research Features new examples and up-to-date references and further reading The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
Sultz and Young's Health Care USA Health Care USA, Ninth Edition offers students of health administration, public health, medicine, and related fields a wide-ranging overview of America's health care system. Combining historical perspective with analysis of current trends, including the implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the Medicare Access & CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA), this thoroughly updated edition charts the evolution of modern American health care, providing a complete examination of its organization and delivery while offering critical insight into the issues that the U.S. health system faces today. Balanced in perspective and comprehensive in its coverage, Health Care USA, Ninth Edition, provides students with a clearly organized, straightforward illustration of the complex structures, relationships and processes of this rapidly growing industry. Now with a new, highly experienced co-author Philip J. Kroth, the Ninth Edition explores new and evolving trends in the health care delivery marketplace and workforce including the forthcoming physician shortage, the status of the nursing profession, hospitalists, and the move of many physicians from small group practices to hospitals. New to the Ninth Edition: * Up-to-date information on the implementation of the ACA woven throughout the chapters * New, comprehensive coverage of MACRA and its impact on all parts of the health care delivery system woven throughout the chapters * Coverage of new trends including mergers, acquisitions, and the vertical integration of health systems * New coverage in the Health Information Technology chapter on the challenges of achieving interoperability * Current information on workforce issues such as the coming physician shortage; the role, certification, and training of physician assistants; trends in pharmacy and dentistry; nurse practitioners; hospitalists; and a new section on the increasingly important role of medical assistants * Completely overhauled chapter on Public Health including new international comparisons, and data on U.S. spending on prevention efforts with examples from the Flint, Michigan water crisis, Gun violence, as well as SARS and Zika
Call Number: RA395.A3 S897 2018
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?