Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Advanced Practice in Healthcare: dynamic developments in nursing and allied health proffessionals The definitive resource for advanced practice within nursing and the allied health professions--revised, expanded, and updated throughout. Advanced practice is an established and continuously evolving part of healthcare workforces around the world as a level of practice beyond initial registration. Advanced practitioners are equipped to improve health, prevent disease, and provide treatment and care for patients in a diverse range of settings. This comprehensively revised fourth edition emphasises the importance of practice in advanced healthcare, presenting a critical examination of advanced practice roles in nursing and allied health professions through a series of learning features designed to facilitate the development of vital knowledge and skills. Advanced Practice in Healthcare presents: International developments in advanced practice as a global response to the need to modernise services, reduce costs and increase access to healthcare services Country-specific examples of advanced practitioners' roles in delivering patient care in diverse settings The impact of advanced practice in nursing and the allied health professions Controversial issues including prescribing, regulation and credentialing, and the interface with medical practice Ethical and legal dimensions of advanced practice The preparation of advanced practitioners Advanced Practice in Healthcare is an essential resource for all students, practitioners, managers and researchers of advanced practice in healthcare.
Call Number: RT82.8 .A365 2019
Caring for Older Adults Holistically Engages you with a full-color design, dynamic photography, and real-life case studies. Guides you through the learning process with a focus on how to set priorities and think critically. Helps you to see yourself in the nurse's role with "Point of Interest" and "Critically Examine the Following" exercises as well as "Think Like a Nurse," that addresses clinical decision-making. Builds your confidence by focusing on safety with a separate chapter and QSEN incorporated throughout where appropriate to reinforce high quality care. Prepares you for the NCLEX-PN with questions and answers at the end of every chapter.
Call Number: RC954 .C37 2020
CNA Study Guide 2020-2021: exam prep with 240 test questions and answers for the Certified Nursing Assistant Exam How is this guide different from others?
- 4 Full Length Practice Tests
- Answers along with explanations
- Test Preparation Strategies
Table of Contents
Chapter 1: CNA at a Glance
Chapter 2: Becoming a CNA
Chapter 3: The 20-plus Skills Tested in the CNA Exam
Test 1: Questions
Test 1: Answers & Explanations
Test 2: Questions
Test 2: Answers & Explanations
Test 3: Questions
Test 3: Answers & Explanations
Test 4: Questions
Test 4: Answers & Explanations
About Newstone Test Prep
Newstone Test Prep is a major publisher of study guides for students in various countries including the US, Canada and UK. The study guides are prepared by specialized teams who are very knowledgeable about the exams. The authors and editors pool resources together to create authentic test questions that are very useful for students. Because practice exams are created in the same format as the real exams, students are able to take mock exams before taking the real exams.
Call Number: RT84 .C63 2020x
Communication and Care Coordination for the Palliative Care Team: a handbook for building and maintaining optimal teams A focus on intentional communication, team building, and relational maintenance This text is designed to help form and maintain palliative care teams that survive and thrive. Whether you are starting a new team or hoping to help an existing team, this text addresses aspects of team players, leadership, meetings, organizational culture, and self- and team-care through a combination of empirical data and real voices from health care professionals in palliative care practice. By focusing on the individual professional in relation to team health and success, this text shows how to develop high quality, high-performing palliative care teams. Perfect for both students and the working professional, this text is useful at any time in your career or your team's development. It explores the types of providers involved in palliative care, their roles, possible conflicts, and the opportunity to amplify their work as a team while overcoming the stigma that may be attached to palliative care. This book focuses on the foundational role of communication in leadership, team building, and the delivery of patient care. Designed to provide workable solutions to challenges such as poor team design, siloing, and faulty communication, it provides suggestions that can be implemented immediately by your palliative care team. This focus allows health care professionals who are passionate about palliative care to grow into high functioning teams with a focus on excellent patient care. Key Features: Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory Palliative Care Experiences Stories from nurses, social workers, chaplains, physicians, pharmacists, executives, patients, and families Pearls from the Field: Provider and team takeaways Best practices of team leaders Tips for individuals and teams to communicate with other providers, departments, and senior leadership Discusses how to improve short-term and long-term functionality Outlines the predictors of burnout for palliative care professionals and teams Self-care and team-care suggestions Combines up-to-date research and theory in an accessible writing style
Call Number: R726.8 .I44 2021x
Diversity and Cultural Awareness in Nursing Practice As a nurse responsible for providing person-centred care it is vital that you understand how culture and diversity affect patients' experience of health care. This book provides you with the knowledge, awareness and skills needed to successfully support, communicate and work with, individuals and families from a diverse range of backgrounds, religions, cultures, ethnicities and disabilities as well as from the LGBTQ community. Ensuring that you are able to work effectively as a nurse with people from across the social spectrum and tailor your nursing practice to the needs of the individual. Key theory will be carefully explained and then applied to the UK nursing context, and all content is up to date with the latest NMC standards, leaving you better prepared to thrive on your practice placements and in your nursing career.
Call Number: RT86.54 .D58 2020x
Emerging Technologies for Nurses: implications for practice Learn and innovate with the latest technologies in Nursing and Healthcare! The first text of its kind in nursing, this book provides up-to-date information on innovative, smart technologies that nurses can use in clinical and non-clinical settings to keep up with the changing face of healthcare. This compelling guide will provide you with information about exciting areas of technology that have great potential to improve patient care. Subjects include big data, artificial intelligence, virtual and augmented realities, connected technologies, and precision health. There is also discussion of the shift of healthcare delivery into the community, with an outlook on improving outcomes and enhancing practice. Each chapter focuses on developing competency in current and future real-world applications of emerging technologies. Early chapters describe how to utilize new tools, processes, models, and products to serve the Quadruple Aim of better managing populations, decreasing costs, and enhancing both the patient and the clinician's experience. The culture of innovation coincides with the ever-changing politics of healthcare in later chapters, which then evolves into the entrepreneurial opportunities for nurses. This text is an essential introduction for all practicing nurses, nurse leaders, and nurses teaching health IT or informatics courses. Key Features: Written by Nurses for Nurses The latest information on emerging Health Information Technology and associated Nursing Implications Compelling cases show the dramatic effect of innovations on value-based care Learn how applying novel technologies can improve patient care
Call Number: RT50.5 .E44 2021x
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Family Nurse Practitioner: review and resource manual The Nursing Knowledge Center’s Family Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual, 5th Edition is a newly revised, must-have tool that provides insight into comprehensive case studies and has over 100 review questions for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Family Nurse Practitioner certification exam and other board certification exams. Based on the official ANCC certification exam test content outline, this review and resource manual will help you: Study and analyze comprehensive material and concepts written by nursing experts. Develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam. Prepare for and familiarize yourself with acute care nurse practitioner standards of practice. And much more! Make the Family Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual a key resource in your certification preparation.
Call Number: RT73 F36 2019 - Vols 1 & 2
Foundations of Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice, Third Edition Now in its third edition, this highly acclaimed text remains the leading comprehensive textbook and professional reference for Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) education and practice. Supported by theory, research, and current literature, the book focuses on CNS roles and scope of practice; expanding opportunities in primary and homecare settings; and outcomes of CNS practice throughout the care continuum and across the three spheres of impact. The third edition is updated to reflect current trends affecting CNS practice, with several new chapters that focus on telehealth, home care, and quality improvement. The text begins with an overview of the evolution, attributes, philosophical underpinnings, and key outcomes of CNSs in the United States. It then addresses nursing interventions, quality, and care delivery, as well as the business side of CNS practice--consultation, mentoring, project management, and entrepreneurship. It features examples of CNS practice in a variety of settings and specialty areas. This resource provides students and professionals with the guidance required to achieve core competencies and improve patient outcomes. New to the Third Edition: Updated to reflect current practices and the latest core competencies Features a new section-- Creating a Culture of Quality--that addresses patient safety, high-reliability organizations, big data, and efficiency Highlights emerging areas of CNS practice such as telehealth, pediatric palliative care, wound care, and home care Key Features: Emphasizes the importance of the CNS practitioner as expert clinician, consultant, researcher, and educator Written and edited by more than 40 individuals representing the "Who's Who of CNS Nursing" Highlights core competencies and practice outcomes identified in NACNS's 2019 Statement on Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice and Education Presents models of CNS specialty care and CNS practice with outcomes Includes discussion questions, ethical considerations, analysis and synthesis exercises, and clinical application considerations Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT82.8 .F68 2021
Fundamentals of Nursing: concepts and competencies for practice Bring the principles of nursing to life and build a foundation for success from the classroom to the clinical setting. Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts and Competencies for Practice, 9th Edition helps foster the strong critical thinking, clinical judgment, clear communication, and sound clinical skills students need to succeed throughout the nursing curriculum and to meet the challenges practicing nurses confront each day. Drawing from the latest clinical evidence, this big-picture approach breathes life into theoretical principles, putting students in the mindset of a successful nurse and immersing them in a proven nursing process framework that clarifies key capabilities, from promoting health to differentiating between normal function and dysfunction, to the use of scientific rationales and the approved nursing process. This updated 9th Edition further enhances students'' clinical capabilities with new Unfolding Patient Stories that challenge students to think critically about commonly encountered patient scenarios. More than 850 online NCLEX®-style review questions, as well as NCLEX®-style review questions in the book, reinforce students'' test-taking confidence. New Critical Thinking Using QSEN Competencies features provide essential practice for applying concepts to clinical situations. NEW! Unfolding Patient Stories, written by the National League for Nursing, foster valuable reflection on commonly encountered clinical scenarios. UPDATED! Additional NCLEX® Review questions reinforce students'' exam readiness. NEW! Critical Thinking Using QSEN Competencies features include thought-provoking questions to boost students'' clinical reasoning and problem-solving capabilities. NEW!Revised organization of the Table of Contents reflects an updated focus on foundational nursing concepts and competencies. Case Scenarios at the beginning of each chapter encourage students to think holistically about common clinical situations. Richly illustrated concept maps help visual learners apply the nursing process and think critically about the chapter-opening case scenarios. PICO (patient/problem, intervention, comparison, outcome) displays guide students through a structured, evidence-based approach to finding answers to clinical challenges related to the chapter-opening case scenarios. Collaborating with the Healthcare Team displays familiarize students with the SBAR technique for effective interpersonal communication. Therapeutic Dialogues emphasize close listening and enhance students'' patient communication capabilities. Concept Mastery Alerts clarify potentially confusing topics as identified by Lippincott''s Adaptive Learning powered by PrepU. Apply Your Critical Thinking features encourage deep thinking on concepts and situations, with detailed answers in an appendix identifying areas for further review. Ethical-Legal Issues equip students to think critically about complex situations they may encounter. Plan of Care features help students apply available knowledge and evidence-based research to create effective care plans. Outcome-Based Teaching Plans guide students to specific patient education outcomes. NANDA-I Tables clearly outline the relationship between nursing diagnosis, outcomes and interventions. Safety Alerts highlight specific considerations for safe practice. Evidence-Based Bundles to Improve Patient Care recommend sets of evidenced-base practices to reliably improve patient outcomes. Key Terms lists familiarize students with essential vocabulary in each chapter. Learning Objectives alert students to the most important chapter concepts.
Call Number: RT41 .C86 2021
Learning to Care: the nursing associate Edited by a world-renowned authority, Learning to Care has been prepared by a team of experienced nurse educationalists and practitioners to meet the learning needs of the new Nursing Associate. Richly illustrated throughout, this exciting resource is designed to fully equip trainee nursing associates for their future role as professional healthcare providers with chapters ranging from 'how to learn' and essay writing to communication skills, reflective practice, and the role of evidence-based clinical decision making. Complete with a full exploration of basic anatomy and physiology, together with the care and treatment of common disorders, Learning to Care also comes with a wide range of helpful learning features such as 'Hot Spots' and the 'Medicine Trolley', all designed to aid learning and help foster safe clinical practice. The volume comes complete with a downloadable image bank to assist with assignments. Learning to Care will be ideal for all Trainee Nursing Associates and Health Care Assistants wishing to enhance their knowledge-base as well as those on Enrolled Nurse programs overseas. Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Provides helpful advice on study skills and essay writing Incorporates the 15 Standards of the Care Certificate Learning objectives at the start of each chapter enable readers to monitor their progress Key Words feature encourage familiarisation with a new vocabulary 'Self Test' questions at the start of each chapter allow readers to establish their baseline knowledge Reflection and Critical Awareness features encourage critical thinking and recall of essential information Medicine Trolley feature outlines common drugs, their usage, routes of administration and side effects Case Studies give practical context to core information Care in the Home Setting, At the GP Surgery and Communities of Care boxes illustrate healthcare provision outside the hospital environment Includes anatomy and physiology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders OSCEs help trainee nursing associates prepare for examinations Helpful glossary provides definitions of new terms
Call Number: RT71 .P43 2019x
NCLEX-RN Practice Test Questions 2019 And 2020: NCLEX-RN review book with 1000+ practice exam questions You might think this is just another practice test book. However, our healthcare test prep isn't like other study materials. Because Ascencia Test Prep's unofficial NEW NCLEX-RN Practice Test Questions 2019 & 2020: NCLEX RN Review Book with 1000+ Practice Exam Questions for the NCLEX Nursing Examination offers you real-life examples, graphics, and information, you'll benefit from a quick yet comprehensive review of everything on the exam Our convenient materials will give you the edge you need to pass your exam the first time. NCSBN and Pearson VUE were not involved in the creation or production of this product, are not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and do not sponsor or endorse this product. Ascencia Test Prep's NCLEX-RN Practice Test Questions 2019 & 2020 practice test book covers: A detailed overview of the exam, so that you know exactly what to expect on the National Council Licensure Examination Testing of all of the subjects in the NCLEX-RN exam Over 1,000 practice exam questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher About Ascencia Test Prep With healthcare fields such as nursing, pharmacy, emergency care, and physical therapy becoming the fastest and largest growing industries in the United States, individuals looking to enter the healthcare industry or rise in their field need high quality, reliable resources. Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day. Ascencia recognizes that healthcare professionals nurture bodies and spirits, and save lives. Ascencia Test Prep's mission is to help healthcare workers grow.
Call Number: RT55 .L54 2019x
Nursing Professionals: a practical career guide Welcome to the nursing field If you are interested in a career as a nurse, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Nursing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. - RNs - LPNs - Nurse Practitioners - Nursing Assistants - Orderlies
Call Number: RT42 .E53 2020
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care Learn how to influence policy and become a leader in today's changing health care environment. Featuring analysis of cutting-edge healthcare issues and first-person insights, Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care, 8th Edition continues to be the leading text on nursing action and activism. Approximately 150 expert contributors present a wide range of topics in policies and politics, providing a more complete background than can be found in any other policy textbook on the market. This expanded 8th edition helps you develop a global understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as the complex business and financial issues that drive many actions in the health system. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. With these innovative insights and strategies, you will be prepared to play a leadership role in the four spheres in which nurses are politically active: the workplace, government, professional organizations, and the community. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Key Points at the end of chapters helps you review important, need-to-know lesson content. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. Expert authors make up a virtual Nursing Who's Who in healthcare policy, sharing information and personal perspectives gained in the crafting of healthcare policy. NEW! The latest information and perspectives are provided by nursing leaders who influenced health care reform, including the Affordable Care Act. NEW! Added information on medical marijuana presents both sides of this ongoing debate. NEW! More information on health care policy and the aging population covers the most up-do-date information on this growing population. NEW! Expanded information on the Globalization of Nursing explores international policies and procedures related to nursing around the world. NEW! Expanded focus on media strategies details proper etiquette when speaking with the press. NEW! Expanded coverage of primary care models and issues throughout text. NEW! APRN and additional Taking Action chapters reflect the most recent industry changes. NEW! Perspectives on issues and challenges in the government sphere showcase recent strategies and complications.
Call Number: RT86.5 .P58 2021
Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses Healthcare improvements have shifted cancer care from the inpatient to outpatient settings. This change in healthcare delivery presents new challenges for professional nurses familiar only with the traditional inpatient model. As health care trends away from the hospital, telephone triage has become an essential tool for indirect patient care. The third edition of Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses given an updated look at this process, including new insights into patient care needs that result from newer cancer treatments, such as targeted and immunotherapies, as well as how updated technologies, including smartphones, and internet communication platforms, have enhanced patient assessment. With new chapters on nursing management of oral therapies and updated protocols using the latest policies and evidence-based practice, nurses of all experience levels can use this book as an essential resource for learning the telenursing role. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT48 .T445 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-05
Toward a Better World: the social significance of nursing Nurses are positioned on healthcare's front line, intimately connected to individuals, families, and communities. How can they leverage this position to work for the common good?In Toward a Better World, Mark Lazenby, a philosopher and a nurse, presents a plan of action. He argues that nurses advance the good society when they fulfill fundamental obligations. Promoting equality, peace and respect, providing assistance and safety, and safeguarding the health of our planetare among these obligations. By acting upon them, nurses become a force for social change in their communities. But through the collective power of more than 20 million nurses worldwide, nurses become a global force for making the world a better place - in the present and for the future.A companion to Caring Matters Most, Lazenby's ethics book, Toward a Better World challenges readers to lead good lives of service to others. This book will invigorate all, nurses and non-nurses alike, who wish to spend their lives making the world a better place.
Call Number: RT86.45 .L38 2020x
Barnhill's Dermatopathology The definitive survey of diagnostic dermatopathology--and the single-best resource for addressing differential diagnosis at the microscopic level For virtually every kind of skin lesion, this skill-sharpening resource has everything clinicians need to successfully perform differential diagnosis at the microscopic level. Barnhill's Dermatopathology features a systematic, algorithmic approach that cuts through the complexity of the discipline's traditional disease-oriented focus, providing a ready-to-use diagnostic tool that puts the entire world of dermatopathology into perspective. This classic has won acclaim as the only dermatology pathology resource that is valuable for both teaching and for clinical practice and differential diagnosis. While other references may be more exhaustive, denser, or larger, none are more clinically useful as Barnhill's Dermatopathology. With 25% of the dermatology board and recertification examination consisting of dermatopathology topics, this is also an outstanding board review tool. Filled with hundreds of color photomicrographs, the book features a clear five-part organization and nearly forty detailed chapters--each reflecting the scientifically rigorous, up-to-date insights of authors who are acknowledged experts in the field. The book's vast scope encompasses all skin disease processes--inflammatory, non-inflammatory, infections, and proliferations (harmatomas, hyperplasias, and neoplasms, plus disorders of nails and oral mucosa). *Includes Online Bonus Content *Increased number of full-color images *Numerous tables assist clinicians differentiate similar conditions from one another *NEW CHAPTERS on laboratory methods and stains, and updated immunohistochemistry content
Call Number: RL96 .D47 2020
Berkowitz's Pediatrics: a primary care approach The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Call Number: RJ45 .B43 2020
Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery Part of the Neurosurgery by Example series, this volume on cerebrovascular neurosurgery presents exemplary cases in which renowned authors guide readers through the assessment and planning, decision making, surgical procedure, after care, and complication management of common and uncommondisorders. The cases explore the spectrum of clinical diversity and complexity within cerebrovascular neurosurgery, including aneurysms, ischemic/occlusive disease, arteriovenous malformation, dural arteriovenous fistula, and more.Each chapter also contains "pivot points" that illuminate changes required to manage patients in alternate or atypical situations, and pearls for accurate diagnosis, successful treatment, and effective complication management. Containing a focused review of medical evidence and expected outcomes,Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery is appropriate for neurosurgeons who wish to learn more about a subspecialty, and those preparing for the American Board of Neurological Surgery oral examination.
Call Number: RD593 .C47 2019x
Clinical Epidemiology: the essentials Now in its Sixth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this approachable, informative text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings. Updated content throughout reflects the latest practices in clinical epidemiology. Increased emphasis on clinical judgment helps students confidently evaluate the effectiveness of guidelines and integrate them into practice. Updated vignette-style end-of-chapter questions place concepts in a clinical context and reinforce students' understanding. Key Word Lists at the start of each chapter familiarize students with critical terminology for clinical competence. Example boxes clarify the clinical implications of important concepts with relevant real-world patient care scenarios. Appendix of Additional Readings highlights trusted resources for further review. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: RA652.2.C55 F57 2021
Cummings Otolaryngology: head and neck surgery The most comprehensive, multi-disciplinary text in the field, Cummings Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery, 7th Edition, provides detailed, practical answers and easily accessible clinical content on the complex issues that arise for otolaryngologists at all levels, across all subspecialties. This award-winning text is a one-stop reference for all stages of your career-from residency and board certification through the challenges faced in daily clinical practice. Updated content, new otology editor Dr. Howard W. Francis, and new chapters and videos ensure that this 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in today's otolaryngology. Brings you up to date with the latest minimally invasive procedures, recent changes in rhinology, and new techniques and technologies that are shaping patient outcomes. Contains 12 new chapters, including Chronic Rhinosinusitis, Facial Pain, Geriatric Otology, Middle Ear Endoscopic Surgery, Pediatric Speech Disorders, Pediatric Cochlear Implantation, Tongue-Ties and Lip Ties, Laryngotracheal Clefts, and more. Covers recent advances and new approaches such as the Draf III procedure for CRS affecting the frontal recess, endoscopic vidian and posterior nasal neurectomy for non-allergic rhinitis, and endoscopic approaches for sinonasal and orbital tumors, both extra- and intraconal. Provides access to 70 key indicator (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Key Indicator Procedures), and surgical videos - an increase of 43% over the previous edition. Offers outstanding visual support with 4,000 high-quality images and hundreds of quick-reference tables and boxes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RF51 .O86 2021
Gray's Atlas of Anatomy Clinically focused, consistently and clearly illustrated, and logically organized, Gray's Atlas of Anatomy, the companion resource to the popular Gray's Anatomy for Students, presents a vivid, visual depiction of anatomical structures. Stunning illustrations demonstrate the correlation of structures with clinical images and surface anatomy - essential for proper identification in the dissection lab and successful preparation for course exams. Build on your existing anatomy knowledge with structures presented from a superficial to deep orientation, representing a logical progression through the body. Identify the various anatomical structures of the body and better understand their relationships to each other with the visual guidance of nearly 1,000 exquisitely illustrated anatomical figures. Visualize the clinical correlation between anatomical structures and surface landmarks with surface anatomy photographs overlaid with anatomical drawings. Recognize anatomical structures as they present in practice through more than 270 clinical images - including laparoscopic, radiologic, surgical, ophthalmoscopic, otoscopic, and other clinical views - placed adjacent to anatomic artwork for side-by-side comparison. Gain a more complete understanding of the inguinal region in women through a brand-new, large-format illustration, as well as new imaging figures that reflect anatomy as viewed in the modern clinical setting. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices - as well as dissection videos and self-assessment questions and answers.
Call Number: QM25 .G72 2021
Gunderson & Tepper's Clinical Radiation Oncology A comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource for the entire radiation oncology team, Gunderson & Tepper's Clinical Radiation Oncology, 5th Edition, thoroughly covers all aspects of this complex and dynamic field. Concise, templated chapters cover the basic biology of oncologic disease processes as well as updated treatment algorithms, the latest clinical guidelines, and state-of-the-art techniques and modalities. More than 1,000 images-detailed anatomy drawings, radiographic images, and more-provide outstanding visual support for every area of the text. Divides content into three distinct sections for quick access to information: Scientific Foundations, Techniques and Modalities, and Disease Sites. Disease Site chapters include overviews summarizing the most important issues and concluding discussions on controversies and problems. Features new and expanded content on molecular and cellular biology and its relevance in individualized treatment approaches, stereotactic radiation therapy, radiosurgery, proton therapy, biologic therapy, precision radiation therapy, targeted radiation, dosing guidelines for better quality of life and improved patient outcomes, and more. Includes new chapters on Radiation Physics: Particle Therapy, Interventional Radiology, Radiation Therapy in the Elderly, Palliative Care, Quality and Safety, and Immunotherapy with Radiotherapy. Provides guidance on single-modality and combined-modality approaches, as well as outcome data including disease control, survival, and treatment tolerance. Includes access to videos on Intraoperative Irradiation, Prostate Brachytherapy, Penile Brachytherapy, and Ocular Melanoma. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC271.R3 C566 2021
Habif's Clinical Dermatology: a color guide to diagnosis and therapy Trusted by general dermatologists, family physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and more, Habif's Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care. In this carefully revised 7th Edition, Dr. James Dinulos builds upon the foundation of excellence established by Dr. Thomas Habif, ensuring that this manual remains a global leader in the field and an indispensable resource in daily practice. Allows you to compare your clinical findings to thousands of high-quality color images?including many new photographs from the libraries of Dr. Dinulos and Dr. Habif?depicting virtually any skin condition. Features a highly visual Regional DDx Atlas section that helps you narrow down diagnoses and directs you to the section in the text that provides more information. Online, the DDx Mannnequin provides this same function. Provides a Disorders Index for quick retrieval of information, as well as a Quick Reference Formulary at the beginning of the book. Updates you on the newest treatment options throughout, including current uses and off-label treatments. Includes numerous quick-reference tables that summarize "need to know" diagnostic and therapeutic evidence. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RL81 .H3 2021
Infectious Diseases: a Clinical Short Course, 4th Edition Master the principles of clinical infectious disease in 30 days or less! Infectious Diseases: A Clinical Short Course, Fourth Edition provides busy physicians, students, nurse practitioners, and PAs with the kind of concise overview they need to understand, diagnose, and treat common infectious diseases safely and effectively. Organized by system/region--as opposed to pathogens--to simulate the ways you encounter common pathogens and disorders in rounds or in practice, this new edition includes key updates and aligns content with information tested on the USMLE Step 2. By indicating the number of days you should spend on each chapter, the author has created a schedule for completion of each lesson. A wide array of tables summarizing the methods of clinical assessment, anti-infective agent doses, and drug toxicities--critical facts that do not require memorization, but need to be referred to when caring for patients--facilitate this condensed learning schedule. * Key Points summarize the most important facts you need to know when managing each infection and facilitate board review * Guiding Questions kick off each chapter * An estimate of the potential severity of each disease provides insight into how quickly you should initiate treatment * Case examples highlight real-world clinical application of the content * Dozens of color plates depict major pathogens * All chapters have been updated to reflect the most current treatment and diagnostic guidelines from the Infectious Diseases Society of America
Call Number: RC111 .I51265 2020
Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics The gold standard comprehensive reference in pediatric orthopaedics is a must-have resource for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 8th Edition, brings you fully up to date in the field with new content, a new editor, and many new contributing authors who cover all aspects of basic science, clinical manifestations, and management. You'll find complete, expert coverage of normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. Features a new chapter on Pain Management in Pediatric Orthopaedics and newly consolidated chapters on neuromuscular disorders and early-onset spine deformities. Includes many more contributing authors from outside North America who share their knowledge and expertise in this complex field, as well as new editor Dr. Haemish Crawford from Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, New Zealand. Incorporates full-color, step-by-step, atlas-type illustrations of surgical techniques throughout the text. Includes pearls and pitfalls and the authors' preferred approach in many clinical chapters. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD732.3.C48 P43 2021
Merenstein & Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care: an interprofessional approach Co-authored by an interprofessional collaborative team of physicians and nurses, Merenstein & Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care, 9th Edition is the leading resource for interprofessional, collaborative care of critically ill newborns. It offers comprehensive coverage with a unique interprofessional collaborative approach and a real-world perspective that make it a practical guide for both nurses and physicians. The new ninth edition features a wealth of expanded content on delivery-room care; new evidence-based care "bundles"; palliative care in the NICU; interprofessional collaborative care of parents with depression, grief, and complicated grief; and new pain assessment tools. Updated high-quality references have also been reintegrated into the book, making it easier for clinicians to locate research evidence and standards of care with minimal effort. These additions, along with updates throughout, ensure that clinicians are equipped with the very latest clinical care guidelines and practice recommendations - all in a practical quick-reference format for easy retrieval and review. UNIQUE! Core author team of two physicians and two nurses gives this internationally recognized reference a true interprofessional collaborative approach that is unmatched by any other resource. Consistent organization within clinical chapters include Physiology/Pathophysiology, Etiology, Prevention, Data Collection (History, Signs and Symptoms, and Laboratory Data), Treatment/Intervention, Complications, and Parent Teaching sections. UNIQUE! Color-highlighted point-of-care clinical content makes high-priority clinical content quick and easy to find. UNIQUE! Parent Teaching boxes outline the relevant information to be shared with a patient's caregivers. Critical Findings boxes outline symptoms and diagnostic findings that require immediate attention to help the provider prioritize assessment data and steps in initial care. Case studies demonstrate how to apply essential content to realistic clinical scenarios for application-based learning. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based practice, national and international guidelines, and current protocols for interprofessional collaborative practice in the NICU. NEW! Up-to-date, high-quality references are now reintegrated into the text for quick retrieval, making it easier for clinicians to locate research evidence and standards of care with minimal effort. NEW! Expanded content on delivery-room care includes the impact of staffing on quality of care, delayed cord clamping, resuscitation, and more. NEW! Coverage of the new evidence-based care "bundles" keeps clinicians up to date on new guidelines that have demonstrated improved outcomes of very preterm infants. NEW! Coverage of new pain assessment tools equips NICU providers with essential resources for maintaining patient comfort. NEW! Expanded coverage of palliative care in the NICU provides the tools needed to ensure patient comfort. NEW! Expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative care of parents with depression, grief, and complicated grief prepares clinicians for this essential area of practice.
Call Number: RJ253.5 .H36 2021
Nutrition and Neurodisability This handbook provides easily accessible information on the aetiology, assessment and management of nutritional disorders in children with neurodisability. Succinct review of current evidence and guidelines is used to inform best practice. Early chapters outline the normal anatomy and physiology of feeding before considering the assessment and management of disordered feeding, and impact on nutritional status. Subsequent chapters discuss nutritional assessment and management supported by clear illustration of anthropometry techniques. Further consideration of the consequences of under and over nutrition, and impact on bone health is included. Dedicated chapters on associated gastrointestinal problems, management of drooling and dental care consider related comorbidities commonly experienced by children with neurodisability. A dedicated chapter on the use of tube feeding considers specific nutritional requirements and psychological aspects of intervention. Clinical vignettes are used to illustrate key learning points throughout.
Call Number: RJ233 .N88 2020x
On Call Neurology Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference by Drs. Randolph S. Marshall and Stephen A. Mayer covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Neurology, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC355 .M37 2021
Prostate Biopsy Interpretation This book retains the core contents of the successful first edition and covers all the practical issues related to prostate biopsy diagnosis in day-to-day practice. It uses abundant algorithms, flow charts, and tables to simulate a pathologist's thought process and assist decision making during evaluation of prostate biopsies. Chapters address the most effective ways to evaluate a prostate biopsy and how to formulate a diagnostic approach upon encountering a specific clinical problem. Pertinent new information is incorporated in all chapters, particularly in how novel diagnostic tools such as MRI and genomic tests may affect prostate biopsy practice and diagnosis. An entirely new chapter on pattern-based approaches to prostate biopsy interpretation has been added. The second edition of Prostate Biopsy Interpretation: An Illustrated Guide is not meant to be an all-encompassing, definitive bibliography of pathology of prostate cancer. Instead, it provides practicing surgical pathologists and trainees a quick and handy reference for all the practical issues relevant to day-to-day interpretation of prostate biopsy.
Call Number: RC280.P7 S53 2019
Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity, 2-Volume Set Long recognized as an essential reference for therapists and surgeons treating the hand and the upper extremity, Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity helps you return your patients to optimal function of the hand, wrist, elbow, arm, and shoulder. Leading hand surgeons and hand therapists detail the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of virtually any disorder you're likely to see, with a focus on evidence-based and efficient patient care. Extensively referenced and abundantly illustrated, the 7th Edition of this reference is a "must read" for surgeons interested in the upper extremity, hand therapists from physical therapy or occupational therapy backgrounds, anyone preparing for the CHT examination, and all hand therapy clinics. Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of hand and upper extremity disorders, forming a complete picture for all members of the hand team-surgeons and therapists alike. Provides multidisciplinary, global guidance from a Who's Who list of hand surgery and hand therapy editors and contributors. Includes many features new to this edition: considerations for pediatric therapy; a surgical management focus on the most commonly used techniques; new timing of therapeutic interventions relative to healing characteristics; and in-print references wherever possible. Features more than a dozen new chapters covering Platelet-Rich Protein Injections, Restoration of Function After Adult Brachial Plexus Injury, Acute Management of Upper Extremity Amputation, Medical Management for Pain, Proprioception in Hand Rehabilitation, Graded Motor Imagery, and more. Provides access to an extensive video library that covers common nerve injuries, hand and upper extremity transplantation, surgical and therapy management, and much more. Helps you keep up with the latest advances in arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management-all clearly depicted with full-color illustrations and photographs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD559 .R43 2021
Uflacker's Atlas Vascular Anatomy Offering detailed, well-illustrated coverage of the vascular anatomy seen on all imaging modalities, Atlas of Vascular Anatomy: An Angiographic Approach, 3rd Edition, presents the complete anatomy of the arteries, veins, and lymphatic system by body region. Experts in the field, each trained by Dr. Andre Uflacker, provide thorough updates throughout the text, including new slides and anatomical variations. This edition reflects recent advances in technology as well as new understandings of anatomy, making it an invaluable resource for vascular interventional radiologists and fellows, as well as surgeons, cardiologists, residents, and medical students. Covers all the vascular territories, including correlations with function and other critical anatomical structures related to the clinical and surgical application of vascular anatomy. Correlates angiographic images with full-color drawings to guide evaluation, management, and treatment. Includes additional variations of anatomy and new histology slides where appropriate. Contains numerous 3D cinematic volume-rendered reconstructions that provide exceptional visual clarity. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Management/Employee Development Books
The Advice Trap: be humble, stay curious & change the way you lead forever Hi there, it's Michael, the author. You might know my previous book, The Coaching Habit. It was an unexpected bestseller: more than 700,000 copies sold so far, 1,000+ 5-star reviews on Amazon (my favourite: "I have plodded through many books that wish they could be this book"), a Wall Street Journal bestseller, and used by people and organizations around the world. So I've been sweating on the follow-up. The pressure! The anticipation! But here it is, and I think you're going to like it. If The Coaching Habit says, "here are the seven essential questions to be more coach-like," The Advice Trap is about getting to grips with how to actually change your behaviour so you stay curious a little bit longer. It sounds like it should be easy, but it's not. You have to tame your Advice Monster, that part of you that jumps in to offer up ideas, opinions, suggestions and advice. And it's taming your Advice Monster that's at the heart of this book. But there are also some specific coaching strategies, particularly on how to focus on what matters most. There are tools to make your conversations, coaching and otherwise, irresistible. There are even resources beyond the book itself, including a one-year, free leadership program from a 52-person faculty of cool, diverse, and provocative thinkers. In 2019, I was named the #1 Thought Leader in Coaching, and was short-listed for the coaching award by Thinkers50, the "Oscars of Management." My work's been featured in journals such as HBR, Fast Company, Forbes, and Inc., and my company, Box of Crayons, has trained more than 100,000 people just like you in the tools and mindset required for this essential leadership behaviour: being more coach-like. You'll get all of that wisdom and experience when you read The Advice Trap. I'm pretty sure you'll find it a great investment of your money and time. (And, by the way, thank you in advance for buying it. I'm thrilled to know the book is going out into the world.)
Call Number: HF5549.5.C53 B85 2020x
AI in Health: a leader's guide to winning in the new age of intelligent health systems We are in the early stages of the next big platform shift in healthcare computing. Fueled by Artificial Intelligence (AI) and the Cloud, this shift is already transforming the way health and medical services are provided. As the industry transitions from static digital repositories to intelligent systems, there will be winners and losers in the race to innovate and automate the provision of services. Critical to success will be the role leaders play in shaping the use of AI to be less "artificial" and more "intelligent" in support of improving processes to deliver care and keep people healthy and productive across all care settings. This book defines key technical, process, people, and ethical issues that need to be understood and addressed in successfully planning and executing an enterprise-wide AI plan. It provides clinical and business leaders with a framework for moving organizations from the aspiration to execution of intelligent systems to improve clinical, operational, and financial performance.
Call Number: RA971.6 .L39 2020
Alchemy of Change: managing transition through value-based leadership Change is inevitable and usually painful. A spoonful of empathic leadership, a smattering of new tools and a few sachets of foundational values boil together to create organizational transformation. However, not all change efforts are successful. Alchemy of Change shows that value-based institutions, which evolve from the wisdom of the soil, can bring about enduring change. Introducing the Indian Model of Change, which is based on Indian values of leadership, dialogue, mutual respect, and goal setting, the authors explain how the nuances and distinctions of the Indian mindset and cultural backdrop can help to keep pace with today's fast-changing world. Through real case studies and references from diverse literature, the book shows that change management cannot be treated as a mechanical exercise because change affects and is affected by human emotions, both at an individual and collective level. It is an insightful read for senior management and HR professionals, for all stakeholders who are entrusted with the task of facilitating or bringing about change in an organization, as well as students of change. For the general reader, the book can be a journey in self-awareness and growth.
Call Number: HD58.8 .A76 2020x
Emotional Intelligence: the art of reading people, managing your emotions, and building self-confidence, learn how to stop overthinking, overcome negativity, improve emotional stability and create happier relationships Do you know that there is a need behind an emotion? Do you know what your feelings want to tell you? This bundle of books will help you better understand yourself and others for deeper and happier relationships. It teaches you to develop your emotional intelligence. Emotional intelligence is the ability to recognize your feelings, understand the message they carry and realize how they influence people around you. It also involves the perception of others, in all their ways of expression, verbal, and non-verbal. When you understand how they feel, you will automatically tune in to their mental frequency and manage relationships more effectively. To increase your emotional intelligence, it's also important to declutter your brain from negative thoughts and dysfunctional patterns of interpretation of reality. A clear mind makes it possible to observe one's emotions, manage them, and recognize how they interact with others. This bundle includes: - How to analyze people: a handbook on understanding human behavior, personality types, and how to manage emotions, to influence and interact with others effectively. - Cognitive-behavioral therapy made simple: a simple guide to freedom your brain from negativity and overthinking. In this bundle, You will learn: the secrets of body language the most effective techniques for reading people and for influencing them how to guess if they're lying to you how to become aware of your emotions and improve your emotional intelligence how to retrain your mind to overcome your negative mental pattern how to build deeper relationships and put yourself in other's shoes. If you think this topic is too complicated for you, you'll find here a simple approach that will guide you step by step on the way to a better knowledge of yourself and others. What are you waiting for? Scroll up and click the BUY NOW, the PAPERBACK version of this book.
Call Number: BF576 .R35 2020x
Fundamentals of Human Resource Management Applicable to both HR majors and non-majors, Fundamentals of Human Resource Management, 8e, focuses on human resource issues and how HR is a key component of any company’s overall corporate strategy. With Fundamentals of Human Resource Management, 8e, students learn about best practices and are actively engaged through the use of cases and decision making. As a result, students will be able to take what they have learned in the course and apply it to solving HRM problems they will encounter on the job.
Call Number: HF5549 .F86 2020
A Guide to Active Working in the Modern Office: homo sedens in the 21st century This is a short guide on sit-stand working in the office. It reviews the research on sitting and standing at work from the 1950s to present and provides guidance for specialists, therapists, practitioners, and managers. The book is illustrated with many photos and figures, provides guidance for active working at the end of every chapter, and is understandable to the layman as well as the specialist. With the increased emphasis on healthy lifestyles, coupled with the obesity and overweight epidemic, many are claiming that we should spend more time standing at work. Some have even claimed that sitting is the new smoking. Readers of the book will learn and understand what is behind these claims, what stacks-up, what doesn't, and be able to make informed decisions about whether to invest in new facilities, and what to invest. This book is of value to human factors specialists, physical therapists, chiropractors and occupational health practitioners, architects, and facilities managers. Features Explains the origins of sedentary office work Summarizes the health risks of sitting and standing and how to avoid them Reviews new research on active working and practical ways of developing active working habits in the office Discusses the obesogenic workplace, and how to avoid it Includes over 60 key points to help you decide how to be more active at work
Call Number: T59.72 .B75 2020
Implementing Patient Safety: addressing culture conditions and values to help people work safely Over the last two decades across the globe we have seen a multitude of programs, projects and books to help improve the safety of patient care in healthcare. However, the full potential of these has not yet been reached. Most of the current approaches are top down, programmatic and target driven. These look at problems in isolation one harm at a time with simplistic solutions that fail to support a holistic, systematic approach. They are focused on collecting incident data and learning from failure using tools that are not fit for purpose in a complex nonlinear system. Very rarely do the solutions help build the conditions, cultures and behaviours that support a safer system and help the people involved work safely. Healthcare is stuck in a relentlessly negative approach to safety. Those working in patient safety and healthcare are struggling, and books on patient safety to date instruct the reader to continue doing the same things we have been doing for the last 20 years. This book uniquely combines the latest thinking in safety, including creating a balanced approach to learning from what works as a way to understand why it fails, together with the evidence on building a just culture, positive workplaces and working relationships that we now know are so important for safety. It helps people understand how to address issues despite their complexities and improve safety with practical ways to truly understand what day to day healthcare work is actually like, rather than what people imagine it is like. This book builds on the author's first book Rethinking Patient Safety which exposed what we need to do differently to truly transform our approach to patient safety. It updates the reader further on the concepts explored in the first book but also vitally helps readers understand the 'how'. Implementing Patient Safety goes beyond the rhetoric and provides the reader with ideas and examples for how the latest thinking can actually be achieved. It is based on the author's personal experience of leading a national culture change campaign in the National Health Service for five years. The lessons arise from helping hundreds of organisations and people rethink and implement a whole new way of thinking about improving patient safety in healthcare.
Call Number: R729.8 .W655 2020
Informatics for Health Professionals Informatics for Health Professionals is an excellent resource to provide healthcare students and professionals with the foundational knowledge to integrate informatics principles into practice.The theoretical underpinning of this text is the Foundation of Knowledge model, which explains how informatics relates to knowledge acquisition, knowledge processing, knowledge generation, knowledge dissemination, and feedback. Once readers understand informatics and the way in which it supports practice, education, administration, and research, they can apply these principles to improve patient care at all levels.
Call Number: R858 .M376 2021
Introduction to Health Research Methods: a practical guide Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include:- Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis.- Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches.- Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
Call Number: R850 .J33 2021
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace tells the story of the evolving journey of those in the medical profession. It dwells not on the story of burnout, distress, compassion fatigue, moral injury, and cognitive dissonance but rather on a narrativeof hope for professional fulfillment, well-being, joy, and camaraderie. Achieving this aim requires health care professionals and administrative leaders working together to create the ideal workplace - through nurturing positivity and pushing negativity aside. The ultimate aspiration is esprit decorps - the common spirit existing in members of a group that inspires enthusiasm, devotion, loyalty, camaraderie, engagement, and strong regard for the welfare of the team and of common interests and responsibilities.Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace provides a road map for you to create esprit de corps for your team and organization. The map is paved with information about reliable, patient-centered, and thoughtful systems embedded within psychologically safe andjust cultures. The authors drew on their extensive research on the well-being of health care professionals; from their experience in quality, department operations, leadership and organization development, management, safe havens, and care teams; and from their roles as president, chief wellnessofficer, chief quality officer, chair, principal investigator, senior fellow, and board director.
Call Number: RA785 .S88 2020
Q&As for the PMP® Exam: for PMBOK Guide 6th Ed. UPDATED April 2020 Based on Belinda Goodrich's comprehensive educational program for PMP exam preparation, the Q&As for the PMP(R) Exam provides over 800 questions and answers to validate preparation and readiness for the exam. All questions are based on the 49 PMBOK(R) Guide processes, vocabulary, and concepts to ensure maximum readiness for the exam. The questions are broken down by process group/domain: initiating, planning, executing, monitoring and controlling, and closing. The Q&As for the PMP(R) Exam includes questions for each domain: InitiatingPlanningExecutingMonitoring and ControllingClosing...and bonus Key Output Matches for all 49 processes
Call Number: HD69.P75 G66 2019x
Reinventing Clinical Decision Support: data analytics, artificial intelligence, and diagnostic reasoning This book takes an in-depth look at the emerging technologies that are transforming the way clinicians manage patients, while at the same time emphasizing that the best practitioners use both artificial and human intelligence to make decisions.
AI and machine learning are explored at length, with plain clinical English explanations of convolutional neural networks, back propagation, and digital image analysis. Real-world examples of how these tools are being employed are also discussed, including their value in diagnosing diabetic retinopathy, melanoma, breast cancer, cancer metastasis, and colorectal cancer, as well as in managing severe sepsis.
With all the enthusiasm about AI and machine learning, it was also necessary to outline some of criticisms, obstacles, and limitations of these new tools. Among the criticisms discussed: the relative lack of hard scientific evidence supporting some of the latest algorithms and the so-called black box problem. A chapter on data analytics takes a deep dive into new ways to conduct subgroup analysis and how it’s forcing healthcare executives to rethink the way they apply the results of large clinical trials to everyday medical practice. This re-evaluation is slowly affecting the way diabetes, heart disease, hypertension, and cancer are treated. The research discussed also suggests that data analytics will impact emergency medicine, medication management, and healthcare costs.
An examination of the diagnostic reasoning process itself looks at how diagnostic errors are measured, what technological and cognitive errors are to blame, and what solutions are most likely to improve the process. It explores Type 1 and Type 2 reasoning methods; cognitive mistakes like availability bias, affective bias, and anchoring; and potential solutions such as the Human Diagnosis Project. Finally, the book explores the role of systems biology and precision medicine in clinical decision support and provides several case studies of how next generation AI is transforming patient care.
Call Number: RC787.E35 C47 2020x
The Resilient Healthcare Organization Professional burnout is an epidemic in America. Approximately half of physicians and nurses are affected and at risk for themselves and their patients. Much has been written about professional burnout. The term was originally coined in the 1970s by American psychologist Herbert Freudenberger to describe the consequences of severe stress and high ideals experienced by people working in "helping" professions. Since then, many books have been written to address this looming national public health crisis. But, unfortunately, there has been much less written from a solution standpoint: getting to the root cause of why this is occurring now more than ever. The Resilient Healthcare Organization engages readers focusing on physicians and healthcare professionals and their experiences and how they overcame a loss of enthusiasm for work, feelings of cynicism, and a low sense of personal accomplishment. The feelings of emotional exhaustion are characterized by depersonalization and perceived ineffectiveness. These are the cardinal features that define "burnout" and affect almost 50% of physicians and 30-70% of nurses. This book addresses why burnout is viewed as a threat and how it can be fought. The author discusses the contributing factors and solutions at the health system and societal level. Additionally, this book explores the current and future etiology and impacts on physicians and healthcare professionals, with a significant emphasis on solutions at both the individual level and the system level.
Call Number: R690 .R47 2020
SHRM CP and SCP Exam Prep 2019-2020: a 2-in-1 study guide with 640 test questions and answers for the society for human resource management tests This guide includes a full review of the individual segments you will see on the SHRM-CP and SCP exams. The content is based on the SHRM Body of Competency and Knowledge. You will find everything you need to know in this guide including leadership, communication and strategies. There are four exams in this guide that simulate the exam that you would take for HR certification. These include two separate exams for the SHRM-CP exam and two for the SHRM-SCP exam. The CP test is for those who are entering the human resources field, while the SCP test is designed mainly for those who have experience with the test and need to complete a specific set of tasks. Table of Contents Chapter 1 - The Exams Body of Knowledge Chapter 2 - Behavioral Competencies Leadership and Navigation Business Acumen Ethical Practice Relationship Management Consultation Critical Evaluation Global and Cultural Effectiveness Communication Chapter 3 - People Talent Acquisition and Retention Employee Engagement Learning and Development Rewards Chapter 4 - Organization Structure of HR Organizational Effectiveness and Development Workforce Management Employee Relations Technology and Data Chapter 5 - The Workplace HR in the Global Context Diversity and Inclusion Risk Management Corporate Social Responsibility Employment Law and Regulations (in the United States) Chapter 6 - Planning and Managing a Strategy Chapter 7 - Laws (United States) At Least One Employee 15 or More Employees 20 or More Employees 50 to 100 Employees More than 100 Employees Employment Visa Rules CP Exam 1 Questions and Answers CP Exam 2 Questions and Answers SCP Exam 1 Questions and Answers SCP Exam 2 Questions and Answers
Call Number: HF5549.15 .S63 2019x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?