Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Advanced Practice Nursing Procedures Comprehensive collection of over 115 procedures commonly performed by adult and family nurse practitioners in various care settings. Each procedure provides... Coding Guidelines--Lists CPT codes as well as modifiers. Overview--Outlines causes, incidence, and other procedure-specific information. Health Promotion/Prevention--Offers tips to pass on to the client to promote health or prevent the need for the procedure in the future. Options--Lists one to four methods of performing the procedure and offers a choice of how to perform the procedure. Rationale--Presents the reasons to perform the procedure. Indications--Explains when the procedure should be performed. Contraindications--Explains when the procedure should not be performed. Procedure--Lists the required equipment and provides illustrated, step-by-step instructions for performing each procedure listed under "Options." Client Instructions--Details post-procedure instructions for the client. Bibliography--Offers sources for additional information.
Call Number: RT82.8 .A386 2020x
Certified Nurse Educator Review Book: the official NLN guide to the CNE exam Based on the CNE® examination blueprint, Certified Nurse Educator Review Book: The Official NLN Guide to the CNE® Exam, Second Edition delivers a comprehensive review to prepare you to take the Certified Nurse Educator examination. Each chapter provides an overview of the content included on the exam blueprint and practice test items, complete with rationales for correct and incorrect answers, reflecting the types of items you will encounter on the exam. This revised edition streamlines and enhances your exam preparation with updated content, additional bulleted lists and tables, additional practice questions, and example scenarios that demonstrate the practical application of chapter concepts. "This CNE® review book provides real-world examples of important concepts relevant to each of the competencies of the nurse educator role. As a quick review or a means to identify areas for more in-depth study, this official NLN guide is an invaluable resource to faculty seeking CNE® certification." Lynne P. Lewallen, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Professor, UNC-Greensboro School of Nursing Greensboro, North Carolina
Call Number: RT90 .C47 2020
Communication Skills in Nursing Practice Written specifically for student nurses developing their communication and interpersonal skills in any field of nursing. The book address all the competencies for communication skills outlined in the 2018 NMC standards and features insightful contributions from experienced nurses and healthcare leaders across different clinical fields. As communication and interpersonal skills have become essential to modern nursing, this book will focus on demonstrating how the theory behind these skills can be successfully applied in practice. Helping students to become confident, assured communicators when interacting with patients, whilst on placement and into their post-registration nursing career. The new edition includes the following updates: · A new chapter on person-centred care and intercultural communication. · Further content on modern forms of communication such as social media and other new technologies. · A new theme 'Emotional intelligence' integrated throughout the book.
Call Number: RT23 .N877 2020x
Complexity Leadership: nursing's role in health care delivery Introduces and defines major concepts of complexity science theory and explores how these concepts can be applied to organizational situations in adaptive health care systems. Focuses on the complexity leadership model that these complex systems require, and the abilities needed to be successful. Emphasizes the importance of personal awareness and development of essential leadership skills. Offers self-reflective assessment tools and exercises to foster insights for enhanced learning and practical application. Uses case studies to help you develop and apply leadership skills.
Call Number: RT89 .C76 2020
Concept Mapping: a clinical judgement approach to patient care Provides the tools needed to construct care plans for any patient, in any setting, based on accepted standards of care. Introduces critical thinking early in the curriculum. Works with or without nursing diagnoses. Saves time and improves clinical performance. Emphasizes reasoning, improvising, and individualizing patient care. Teaches how to identify patient needs, then organize, prioritize, and implement care quickly. Establishes the relationships between medical and nursing diagnoses, physical assessment data, treatments, medications, laboratory data, and history data. Makes concept mapping easy to understand and implement with... Case studies that let you practice creating a care map. Templates for creating a concept care map. A care map generator online with clear, concise instructions.
Call Number: RT42 .S38 2020
CWOCN Study Guide: Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions for the WOCNCB Certified Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep’s unofficial CWOCN Study Guide: CWOCN Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions for the WOCNCB Certified Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurse Exam you'll benefit from a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with real examples, graphics, and information. Imagine having your study materials on your phone or tablet! Trivium Test Prep’s NEW CWOCN Study Guide comes with FREE online resources, including: practice questions, online flashcards, study “cheat” sheets, and 35 tried and tested test tips. These easy to use materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time.
[organization] was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Trivium Test Prep’s CWOCN Study Guide offers:
A full review of what you need to know for the Next Generation ACCUPLACER exam
Practice questions for you to practice and improve
Test tips to help you score higher
Trivium Test Prep’s CWOCN Study Guide covers:
Introduction to the Nursing Process
Exclusive Test Tips
…and includes 1 FULL practice test!
Call Number: RD93 .C867 2019x
Ethics and Issues in Contemporary Nursing: nursing ethics for the 21st Century Learn how to think beyond the theoretical in any environment. Ethics & Issues in Contemporary Nursing, 1st Edition examines the latest trends, principles, theories, and models in patient care to help you learn how to make ethically sound decisions in complex and often controversial situations. Written from a global perspective, examples throughout the text reflect current national and international issues inviting you to explore cases considering socio-cultural influences, personal values, and professional ethics. Historical examples demonstrate how to think critically while upholding moral and professional standards, as well as the law. Key topics throughout explore advocacy and rights, diversity, nurse burnout, mass casualty events, social media, violence in the workplace, medication error prevention, opioid and other substance use, HIPAA, and healthcare reform. In addition, this new title contains supplemental case studies and review questions to further challenge and prepare you to make morally sound decisions in any healthcare setting. NEW! Case Presentations from the United States and around the World address ethical dilemmas across the practice of nursing. NEW! Think About It boxes present provocative questions within every case presentation. NEW! Thoroughly up-to-date and well referenced content ensures material presented is accurate. NEW! Straightforward and conversational writing style makes content interesting and understandable. NEW! Review questions on Evolve allow students to practice what they have learned. NEW! Case studies on Evolve help students apply the theoretical concepts they have learned. NEW! Ask Yourself questions integrated into each chapter help students understand the relevance of the material. NEW! Discussion questions and Activities within every chapter encourage students to think beyond the theoretical. NEW! Summary and Highlights within every chapter make it easier for students to thoroughly understand key elements.
Call Number: RT85 .B766 2020
Evidence-Based Health and Well-Being Assessment The first book to teach physical assessment techniques based on evidence and clinical relevance. Grounded in an empirical approach to history-taking and physical assessment techniques, this text for advanced health care providers and students focuses on patient well-being and health promotion. It is based on an analysis of current evidence and up-to-date guidelines and recommendations and underscores the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind physical assessment techniques. Evidence-Based Physical Examination: Best Practices for Health and Well-Being Assessment offers the unique perspective of teaching both a holistic and scientific approach to assessment. Chapters are consistently structured for ease of use to include anatomy and physiology, key history questions and considerations, physical examination, laboratory considerations, imaging considerations, evidence-based practice recommendations, and differential diagnoses related to normal and abnormal findings. Case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways aid retention and countless illustrations, images, and videos demonstrate advanced history-taking and assessment techniques. Ancillary resources include an instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; videos; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank. This is the physical assessment text of the future. Key Features: Delivers the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind advanced history-taking and assessment techniquesEschews "traditional" techniques that do not demonstrate evidence-based reliabilityFocuses on the most current clinical guidelines and recommendations from resources such as the US Preventative Services Task ForceFocuses on the use of modern technology for assessmentAids retention through case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeawaysDemonstrates advanced techniques with countless illustrations, images, and videosIncludes a robust instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank.Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Call Number: RC76 .E95 2021
Fast Facts for DNP Role Development: a career navigation guide Illustrates how the DNP degree fosters opportunities for nurses to shape the future of health care The first resource of its kind, this engaging handbook delivers practical guidance on the burgeoning roles and career opportunities afforded by the DNP degree, as well as the knowledge and skills required for career advancement. It provides students and professionals with a fundamental understanding of the value of the DNP degree and how it supports opportunities for nurses to shape the future of health care at academic, policy, organizational, site, and patient-care levels. Following an overview of the DNP degree along with a discussion of key competencies required for success in any DNP arena, the guide examines the various roles a DNP graduate can hold. Chapters highlight potential career paths, education and certification requirements, opportunities and challenges, and the integration of relevant AACN DNP Essentials. Reflection questions and resources for further exploration conclude each chapter. Key Features: Delivers practical guidance on the DNP degree, potential roles, and career opportunities Describes how to integrate DNP Essentials into practice Discusses key competencies required for success in any DNP role Illustrates potential career paths with education and certification requirements Promotes self-reflection with thought-provoking questions Includes resources for further exploration
Call Number: RT75 .M46 2020x
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing Theory and Application The best-selling leadership and management text available for nursing education programs, Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing: Theory and Application, 10th Edition, combines the latest evidence-based content and a proven experiential approach to prepare students for success as they advance to join the professional nursing workforce. Robust coverage and hundreds of active learning exercises help students overcome the temporary disadvantage of a lack of real-world leadership experience and meet the demands of today's challenging, ever-changing healthcare system. From managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing, students vicariously experience the responsibilities of mid- and top-level nursing managers and hone their critical-thinking, problem-solving and decision-making skills before entering high-stakes clinical settings. This landmark 10th Edition reflects the most current practices and clinical priorities in nursing leadership and management, including updated coverage of quality and safety, the influence and use of technology, workplace violence, change management and more. An array of accompanying student and instructor resources helps you make the most of your course and ensure students' success throughout their nursing education. Updated content equips students with the latest clinical practices and perspectives in quality and safety, the influence and use of technology, healthy workplaces, workplace violence/incivility, quality measurement/benchmarking, healthcare reform/reimbursement, change management, interprofessional teams and more. New evidence-based case studies prepare students to confidently address the growing opioid crisis. More than 280 learning exercises challenge students to apply concepts to a range of practice situations and healthcare settings. Examining the Evidence features in each chapter familiarize students with new research findings, evidence-based practice and best practices in leadership and management. Break-Out Comments reinforce key ideas at a glance. Content Crosswalks tie chapter content to the latest AACN, AONL, QSEN and ANA standards and competencies to clarify and emphasize clinical relevance. A detailed instructor's manual on thePoint helps you make the most of the active learning exercises in your classroom.
Call Number: RT89 .M387 2021
Medical-Surgical Nursing Review and Resource Manual, Fourth Edition Are you looking into how to advance your professional development through certification? Need a reliable and credible reference resource? No matter where you are in the process, make sure you have the most valuable review and resource tool at your disposal. The Nursing Knowledge Center’s Medical-Surgical Nursing Review and Resource Manual is a must-have tool for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC’s) Medical-Surgical Nursing certification exam. Based on the official ANCC certification exam test content outline, this review and resource manual will help you: -Study and analyze comprehensive material and concepts written by nursing experts. -Develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam. -Prepare for and familiarize yourself with medical-surgical nursing standards of practice. -And much more ... Make the Medical-Surgical Nursing Review and Resource Manual a key resource in your certification preparation.
Call Number: RD55 .M47 2019
Middle Range Theories: application to nursing research and practice Give students the knowledge and critical thinking capability to effectively select and apply theories. The premiere resource for nursing students completing major research or practice projects, Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice, 5th Edition provides expert advice on selecting the appropriate theory for a nursing research project and developing the critical thinking skills needed to critique theories. Each theory chapter details examples of the theory's use in research and its application to clinical practice, as well as critical thinking exercises and a variety of essential tools for the nurse researcher. Authors Sandra J. Peterson and Timothy S. Bredow cover the most frequently cited middle range theories that can be applied to research and practice, organizing them into Physiological, Cognitive, Emotional, Social and Integrative categories that allow students to easily apply them to projects. Thoroughly updated and focused on helping students develop the project management skills essential to today's nursing workforce, this Fifth Edition introduces a new chapter and helpful box feature that guides students through the planning, management and evaluation of projects. NEW! Project management chapter familiarizes students with the process and tools for successful project planning, management and evaluation. NEW! Project Management boxes demonstrate the effective application of theory to relevant research and practice projects. UPDATED! Using Middle Range Theories in Researchoutlines the research process and provides examples of the use of theory in published research. UPDATED! Using Middle Range Theories in Practice boxes help students apply theories to specific clinical scenarios. Using Middle Range Theories in Projects boxes prepare students to effectively apply theories in graduate programs and clinical practice. Critical Thinking Exercises at the end of each chapter engage readers in analysis of the theory and its application to practice. Key Terms clarify chapter concepts at a glance.
Call Number: RT84.5 .M535 2020
Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review The definitive Certification Review for exam success! Written by leading APRN Neonatal educators and clinicians, this authoritative study guide delivers all the tools Neonatal Nurse Practitioners need to pass the NCC certification exam and the Continuing Competency Assessment (CCA). User friendly and concise, this review's content mirrors that of the actual exam and is structured in accordance with the most updated test plan blueprint. This resource's numerous exam-style questions and answers with rationale help readers uncover gaps in their knowledge. This review synthesizes the knowledge required to pass the exam, saving the reader time and effort by omitting extraneous material. In addition to spotlighting essential content throughout the text, recommended references provide the reader with the option to seek out additional information as needed. Additional benefits include important information about the exam along with savvy study and test-taking tips. This review will ensure exam success for both new NNPs and those who are taking the Continuing Competency Assessment exam. Key Features: Mirrors the format of the certification exam Concise outline format for easy access to essential content Written by leading NNP educators and clinicians Includes valuable Study and test-taking tips Exam-style questions and answers with rationale Practice Exam included!
Call Number: RJ251 .N21 2020x
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project: taking your paper from graduation to publication As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT73 .R69 2020
Nurse Executive Review Practice Questions: practice test questions for the Nurse Executive Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical practice test book. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep’s unofficial NEW Nurse Executive Review Practice Questions: Practice Test Questions for the Nurse Executive Exam you'll benefit from a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with real examples, graphics, and information. Our study materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time.
Nurse Executive exam was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Trivium Test Prep’s Nurse Executive Review Practice Questions has more than 350 practice questions on:
Call Number: RT89 .N8748 2019
Nursing Research: generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice AND Resource Manual Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic. The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation. NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2021
PCCN Review Book 2020-2021: study guide and practice test questions for the Progressive Care Certified Nurse Exam You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep’s unofficial PCCN Review Book 2020-2021: PCCN Study Guide and Practice Test Questions for the Progressive Care Certified Nurse Exam you'll benefit from a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with real examples, graphics, and information. Imagine having your study materials on your phone or tablet! Trivium Test Prep’s NEW PCCN Review Book 2020-2021 comes with FREE online resources, including: practice questions, online flashcards, study “cheat” sheets, and 35 tried and tested test tips. These easy to use materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time.
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Trivium Test Prep’s PCCN Review Book 2020-2021 offers:
A full review of what you need to know for the Next Generation ACCUPLACER exam
Practice questions for you to practice and improve
Test tips to help you score higher
Trivium Test Prep’s PCCN Review Book 2020-2021 covers:
Endocrine, Hematological, Gastrointestinal, and Renal Disorders
Neurological, Multisystem, and Behavioral Disorders
Professional Caring and Ethical Practice
…and includes 1 FULL practice test!
Call Number: RT120.P76 P335 2020x
Transformational Leadership in Nursing: from expert clinician to influential leader Provides invaluable guidance for nursing graduate students to develop the skills necessary to transform healthcare through clinical leadership within complex healthcare settings. The award-winning Transformational Leadership in Nursing: From Expert Clinician to Influential Leader guides nursing graduate students and professionals in the development of skills required to fulfill emerging leadership roles in our increasingly complex healthcare system. It provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration to help facilitate leadership in a wide variety of settings. This expanded and updated third edition presents current challenges in healthcare and frameworks for becoming a transformational leader during times of change. Expert leaders discuss the tenets of collaborative leadership--networks, influence, and decision-making--as well as the creation of organizational environments and cultures to support practice excellence. The text will help readers master the skills necessary to work effectively across disciplines and generations; develop and implement strategic plans; design, implement, and evaluate practice models; build cohesive and effective teams; and lead across systems of care to resolve healthcare disparities and improve outcomes. This inspirational text fulfills the DNP Core Competencies, as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice. New to This Edition: Outlines key leadership competencies for effective leadership in complex organizations Expands scope of healthcare economics and finance section to address the monetization of nursing innovations; expands coverage of population health strategies Features "Leadership in Action" vignettes and reflective questions to help students apply theoretical concepts to their own situations Includes updated tools, health care paradigms, and leadership inspiration Presents cases and reflective questions that help students apply the theoretical content to their own situations and generate discussion across cohorts of students Key Features/Benefits: Written expressly for APRNs transitioning into leadership roles Traces the trajectory from expert clinician to the role of leader in complex organizations and patient populations Utilizes "Leadership in Action" vignettes to highlight real-world application of concepts and strategies Provides learning objectives, reflection questions, inspirational quotations from noted leaders, and resources for further learning Includes a robust ancillary package with an instructor's manual and PowerPoint slides Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT89 .M392 2021
Understanding Supervision and Assessment in Nursing A practical guide for registered nurses in all fields, who are planning to undertake one of the new supervisor or assessor roles outlined in the latest NMC standards. The book helps nurses prepare for the role of practice supervisor, practice assessor or academic assessor, by outlining what is expected in each of the roles, in accordance with the 2018 NMC standards, and explaining which competencies are needed to ensure success in the new supervisory and academic positions. These competencies include: · Understanding how students learn · Understanding how to empower nurses and why this is important · Learning to utilise student feedback to enhance your own development · Identifying the importance of including the participation of service users in nursing governance and quality · Ensuring compliance with all legal, regulatory, professional and educational requirements. It will also be useful for experienced NMC mentors and practitioners looking to update their skills for the new NMC Educational Framework.
Call Number: RT86.45 .F44 2020x
Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity is a contemporary ANZ resource designed to assist students and clinicians in applying evidence-based wound care to practice. Written by expert wound care clinicians and academics, the text offers a range of clinical scenarios to test wound care knowledge and skills within the context of real-world settings. It presents a problem-solving approach to encourage students and practising nurses to critically think about how to deliver wound care to individuals with a range of acute and chronic wounds. Including the most recent local dressings and wound care products, Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity reinforces the principles of wound care and provides the necessary tools for students and clinicians to determine how best to deliver effective nursing care. Each chapter provides an overview of specific wound types, followed by five case studies and related multiple-choice questions to test your knowledge and skills Case studies include an assessment and management approach to assist you in developing effective clinical application of wound care theory Full colour illustrations to help familiarise yourself with a variety of wound types A nursing focus with a multidisciplinary approach helps to enhance the 'real-world' experience of wound care Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Instructor/and Student Resources: Answers to Case Study questions Quick reference list of local wound care products/dressings Self-assessment quizzes Image bank
Call Number: RD94 .C65 2020x
AMA Manual of Style: a guide for authors and editors The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures.The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing aboutindividuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, andmath has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.Customers who purchase the Special Online Bundle Package receive the hardcover 11th edition, with a one-year subscription to the Online Edition. The unique access code will arrive with the hardcover book.Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.
Call Number: R119 .A533 2020
Campbell Walsh Wein Urology From the basic science underpinnings to the most recent developments in medical and surgical care, Campbell-Walsh-Wein Urology offers a depth and breadth of coverage you won't find in any other urology reference. Now in three manageable volumes, the revised 12th Edition is a must-have text for students, residents, and seasoned practitioners, with authoritative, up-to-date content in an intuitively organized, easy-to-read format featuring key points, quick-reference tables, and handy algorithms throughout. Features shorter, more practical chapters that help you find key information quickly. Includes new chapters on Urinary Tract Imaging: Basic Principles of Nuclear Medicine · Ethics and Informed Consent · Incisions and Access · Complications of Urologic Surgery · Urologic Considerations in Pregnancy · Intraoperative Consultation · Special Urologic Considerations in Transgender Individuals · and more. Covers hot topics such as minimally invasive and robotic surgery; advancements in urologic oncology, including innovative therapeutics for personalized medicine; new approaches to male infertility; technological advances for the treatment of stones; and advances in imaging modalities. Incorporates current AUA/EAU guidelines in each chapter as appropriate Updates all chapters with new content, new advances, and current references and best practices. Extensively updated chapters include Urological Immunotherapy, Minimally Invasive Urinary Diversion, and Updated Focal Therapy for Prostate Cancer. Features more than 175 video clips, including all-new videos on perineal ultrasound, abdominoplasty in prune belly syndrome, partial penectomy, low dose rate brachytherapy, and many more. Written and edited by key opinion leaders, reflecting essential changes and controversies in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC871 .C33 2021 & Online
The Complete Guide to ECGs Fully updated to keep pace with the changes to the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Exam, the fifth edition of The Complete Guide to ECGs provides a unique and practical way for physicians in training, fellows, residents, and other medical professionals to improve their ECG interpretation skills. The highly interactive format and comprehensive scope of information are also ideally suited for physicians preparing for the American Board of Internal Medicine Cardiovascular Disease or Internal Medicine Board Exams, the American College of Cardiology ECG proficiency test, and other exams requiring ECG interpretation. The Complete Guide to ECGs, Fifth Edition, is a superb addition to the library of every intern, resident, and fellow, and a uniquely practical and comprehensive study guide for physicians interested in improving their interpretation of ECGs and preparing for board examinations.
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 O344 2021
Differentiating Surgical Instruments Text More than 800 instruments and tips associated with official names, common nicknames, and descriptions of instrument features, categories, and uses Common types of clamping, grasping, cutting, and retracting instruments Instruments for specialized procedures (such as bowel, thyroid or breast surgery) Cutting loops, and the parts that make up cystoscopes and resectoscopes Orthopedic drills and saw blades Instruments used in microscopic and endoscopic surgery Organization based on surgical specialties "Surgical Sessions," review questions and critical thinking scenarios at the end of every chapter Surg Tech in Practice New, FREE, 3-year subscription to Surg Tech in Practice, the online program that features recall and application activities to help students learn to identify key instruments and apply concepts to practice. Offers students practice with labeling and photo identification, differentiation activities, and mayo stand exercises, as well as case-based critical-thinking questions. Features self-grading that provides immediate feedback as each assignment is completed. Tracks each student's progress every step of the way in their gradebooks; students know exactly how they're doing and where they need to focus their studies. Access to all the text content in an ebook powered by VitalSource.
Call Number: RD71 .R88 2020
Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine Evaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture. Accurately identify fractures through an extensive selection of imaging examples. Apply splints and reduce dislocations successfully thanks to detailed descriptions, illustrations, and narrated video. Tap into the latest best practices through evidence-based coverage and updated references. Effectively manage emergency situations using guidelines for emergent referral, greater detail regarding methods for closed reductions for fractures and dislocations, and more. Benefit from expanded content specifically for the emergency medicine setting, including CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging, procedural sedation, and discharge reassessment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Online
Gray's Surgical Anatomy Written and edited by expert surgeons in collaboration with a world-renowned anatomist, this exquisitely illustrated reference consolidates surgical, anatomical and technical knowledge for the entire human body in a single volume. Part of the highly respected Gray's 'family,' this new resource brings to life the applied anatomical knowledge that is critically important in the operating room, with a high level of detail to ensure safe and effective surgical practice. Gray's Surgical Anatomy is unique in the field: effectively a textbook of regional anatomy, a dissection manual, and an atlas of operative procedures - making it an invaluable resource for surgeons and surgical trainees at all levels of experience, as well as students, radiologists, and anatomists. Brings you expert content written by surgeons for surgeons, with all anatomical detail quality assured by Lead Co-Editor and Gray's Anatomy Editor-in-Chief, Professor Susan Standring. Features superb colour photographs from the operating room, accompanied by detailed explanatory artwork and figures from the latest imaging modalities - plus summary tables, online videos (intra-operative and cadaveric), self-assessment questions, and case-based scenarios - making it an ideal reference and learning package for surgeons at all levels. Reflects contemporary practice with chapters logically organized by anatomical region, designed for relevance to surgeons across a wide range of subspecialties, practice types, and clinical settings - and aligned to the requirements of current trainee curricula. Maximizes day-to-day practical application with references to core surgical procedures throughout, as well as the 'Tips and Anatomical Hazards' from leading international surgeons. Demonstrates key anatomical features and relationships that are essential for safe surgical practice - using brand-new illustrations, supplemented by carefully selected contemporary artwork from the most recent edition of Gray's Anatomy and other leading publications. Integrates essential anatomy for robotic and minimal access approaches, including laparoscopic and endoscopic techniques. Features dedicated chapters describing anatomy of lumbar puncture, epidural anaesthesia, peripheral nerve blocks, echocardiographic anatomy of the heart, and endoscopic anatomy of the gastrointestinal tract - as well as a unique overview of human factors and minimizing error in the operating room, essential non-technical skills for improving patient outcomes and safety. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices - PLUS a wealth of BONUS content not found in the printed book.
Call Number: Online
Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling 8E Highly valued across the world by genetic counsellors, medical geneticists and other healthcare professionals, Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling has established itself over previous editions as the essential guide to counselling those at risk from inherited disorders. Fully revised by its new author Angus Clarke, and with additional input from colleagues, this eighth edition provides indispensable and up-to-date guidance, helping readers to navigate the profusion of new information in this area and the associated psychosocial and ethical considerations and concerns. Maintaining the trusted framework of earlier editions, the update presents the latest information on the use and interpretation of genetic test results, including new genomebased investigations and their application in the genetic counselling process. This book will help both the student and the practitioner, as genetic and genomic investigations become progressively more relevant to all healthcare professionals with the mainstreaming of genetics across the full range of medical practice. The eighth edition of this best-selling text will continue to be an essential source of reference for trainee and practitioner genetic counsellors and medical geneticists, for clinicians and nurses working in mainstream specialties who increasingly are dealing with the genetic aspects of disease, and for practitioners working in settings where referral to a genetics specialist is not readily available. It also provides invaluable background for other healthcare professionals, counsellors, social scientists, ethicists and genetics laboratory staff.
Call Number: RB155.7 .C53 2020
Imaging in Neurovascular Disease: a case based approach Unique case-based reference presents high-yield images and expertise focused on vascular neuroradiology Imaging in Neurovascular Disease: A Case-Based Approach by Waleed Brinjikji and Timo Krings is unique in its approach, detailing diagnostic and interventional neuroradiology cases based on radiologic findings. The book explores the key role vascular imaging can play in treatment decision making, prognostication, and improving the understanding of the pathophysiology of neurovascular diseases. Spread over 11 chapters, this book covers a full spectrum of neurovascular diseases spanning the age continuum, starting with acute ischemic stroke, concluding with spinal vascular disease. All vascular neuroradiology cases follow a consistent format. After a succinct introduction describing the clinical scenario with relevant case images, the authors present key facts about the disease and the integral role of different neurovascular imaging procedures in disease management. Imaging findings are discussed in depth, with insightful clinical pearls on image-guided procedures and tips on managing potential pitfalls. Key Highlights Almost 800 high-quality noninvasive images, such as MR angiography/MR imaging, CT angiography/CT perfusion, with angiography where applicable, elucidate a spectrum of findings Analysis of the imaging appearance of a diverse array of common to rare neurovascular diseases provides diagnostic and treatment insights Each case concludes with the most important points clinicians need to know, high-yield facts about a specific cerebrovascular disease, and suggested readings for further exploration This unique case-based book is essential reading for radiology, neurology and neurosurgery residents. It will greatly benefit neurovascular disease specialists including radiologists, neurosurgeons and neurologists as well as interested in furthering their knowledge on the use of neuroimaging to guide neurointerventional and neurosurgical procedures to treat cerebrovascular disease. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RC349.R3 B75 2020x
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Call Number: Online
Medical Immunology This seventh edition of Medical Immunology, now in a full-color presentation, continues to provide a succinct clinical review of the human response to infection while being firmly grounded in science. The authors, distinguished and experienced educators, have been able to anticipate readers' conceptual challenges and use illustrations, diagrams, and algorithms throughout to simplify complex concepts. With an emphasis on clinical applications, methodological advances, immunological diseases, and innovative interventions, this tried and true guide navigates readers through state-of-the-sciences technologies and demonstrates their implementation in the day-to-day clinical practice of immunology. Key Features Stresses both the basic scientific concepts and clinical correlations to medical practice. Progresses logically from normal immune function to abnormalities and clinical diseases. Reviews the diagnosis, pathogenesis, and management of autoimmune diseases in a concise, manageable and visual manner Continues to be the only current medically-focused immunology text available Provides a succinct review of human response to infection with a focus on diagnostic and clinical immunology
Call Number: RC582 .I59 2020
Oxford Textbook of Cancer Biology by The study of the biology of tumours has grown to become markedly interdisciplinary, involving chemists, statisticians, epidemiologists, mathematicians, bioinformaticians, and computer scientists alongside biologists, geneticists, and clinicians. The Oxford Textbook of Cancer Biology bringstogether the most up-to-date developments from different branches of research into one coherent volume, providing a comprehensive and current account of this rapidly evolving field.Structured in eight sections, the book starts with a review of the development and biology of multi-cellular organisms, how they maintain a healthy homeostasis in an individual, and a description of the molecular basis of cancer development. The book then illustrates, as once cells becomeneoplastic, their signalling network is altered and pathological behaviour follows. It explores the changes that cancer cells can induce in nearby normal tissue, the new relationship established between them and the stroma, and the interaction between the immune system and tumour growth. The authorsillustrate the contribution provided by high throughput techniques to map cancer at different levels, from genomic sequencing to cellular metabolic functions, and how information technology, with its vast amounts of data, is integrated with traditional cell biology to provide a global view of thedisease. The effect of the different types of treatments on the biology of the neoplastic cells are explored to understand on the one side, why some treatments succeed, and on the other, how they can affect the biology of resistant and recurrent disease. The book concludes by summarizing what weknow to date about cancer, and in what direction our understanding of cancer is moving.Edited by leading authorities in the field with an international team of contributors, this book is an essential resource for scholars and professionals working in the wide variety of sub-disciplines that make up today's cancer research and treatment community. It is written not only forconsultation, but also for easy cover-to-cover reading.
Call Number: RC268.4 .O94 2019
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient: enhanced recovery before surgery The literature increasingly supports the position that elective surgery on poorly prepared chronic pain patients is not smart and ultimately in no-one's best interest. Just as patients with ischemic heart disease, obstructive lung disease, or diabetes can and need to be optimized prior to surgery, so too should chronic pain patients. The complex dynamics of chronic pain require a priori intervention - targeting enhanced recovery before surgery. Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient is a groundbreaking collaborative effort written by medical and psychological experts in the field of pain management with a specific interest in the perioperative arena. The modern emphasis on biopsychosocial-spiritual care is as important here as anywhere in medicine as comprehensive mind-body preparation is essential to optimize outcomes. That preparation entails replacing toxic thoughts (e.g., anxiety and pain catastrophizing) and behaviors (e.g., tobacco and opioid dependence; poor sleep, nutrition and exercise patterns) with beneficial ones. Such replacement of maladaptive cognitive-behavioral patterns requires the enhancement of patients' motivation and the cultivation of healthy habits. This book provides the framework for an evidence-based synthesis of counseling and intervention for preoperative optimization of chronic pain patients. Clinicians will learn to improve health and economic outcomes affecting their patient, health care team, and institution; to identify and target relevant issues, utilizing a holistic yet focused approach to optimization; and to collaborate with the patient and requisite multidisciplinary care team in a streamlined, efficient, and effective manner.
Call Number: RB127 .M463 2019x
Primary Care: interprofessional collaborative practice There's no better preparation for Nurse Practitioners and others in the adult primary care field! Primary Care: Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, 6th Edition provides the concise yet thorough information that you need in today's fast-paced, interprofessional, collaborative environment. With authorship reflecting both academic and clinical expertise, this comprehensive, evidence-based primary care text/reference shows you how to deliver effective, truly interdisciplinary health care. It covers every major adult disorder seen in the outpatient office setting and features a unique interprofessional collaborative approach with referral/consultation highlights and more. New to this edition is an increased emphasis on rationales for recommendations, pharmacotherapeutics and drug decision-making, and diagnostic direction providing guidance in management, prescribing medications, and ordering diagnostic tests. Comprehensive, evidence-based, accurate, and current content focused on the needs of adult primary care providers. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach with referral/consultation highlights. UNIQUE! Initial Diagnostics boxes provide quick reference to key decision-making content. NEW and UPDATED! Increased emphasis on rationales for treatment recommendations, pharmacotherapeutics and drug decision-making, and diagnostic direction. NEW and UPDATED! Revamped and new introductory chapters: NEW and UNIQUE! Patient/Family Education and Health Literacy chapter. NEW and UNIQUE! New Human Trafficking chapter. NEW chapters covering wellness, risk management, and LGBTQ patient care highlight risks, disparities in healthcare, and information to increase the well-being and care for all patients. Interprofessional Collaborative Practice: Where We Are Today chapter now includes content on the importance of interprofessional collaboration to underscore the significance of this paradigm shift and stress that NPs and other adult primary care providers must increasingly view themselves as part of a team, especially in management of patients with multiple co-morbidities. Translating Research into Clinical Practice chapter refocused to emphasize DNP scholarly projects and quality improvement projects. UNIQUE! Patient/Family Education and Health Literacy chapter. Genetic Considerations in Primary Care chapter refocused on the graduate-level primary care genetics competencies. Palliative Care chapter refocused on pain management with special sensitivity to the opioid epidemic. NEW! Red Flag features highlight issues not to be missed. NEW! Consistent chapter format and features reflect the systematic approach used in adult primary care practice to promote improved clinical reasoning skills, facilitate learning, and foster quick clinical reference. UPDATED! Content on routine health screenings and immunizations converted to tables for quick reference.
Call Number: R727.8 .P75 2021
Principles of Cell Biology Principles of Cell Biology, Third Edition is an educational, eye-opening text that not only helps students learn the material, but also updates instructors on the latest findings in order guide students to look up new subjects, not yet covered in other similar cell biology books. Students will learn the material through 14 comprehensible principles, which give context to the underlying theme that make the details fit together. The Third Edition emphasizes how evolution shapes organisms at the cellular level, highlighting holobionts, natural, and artificial selection.The core texts covers the complexity that arises by natural selection and adheres to the standard categories (transcription, translation, metabolism, etc.)., but the first and last chapters introduce cellular evolution and natural selection, to conclude and describe the humans' involvement in replacing natural selection with artificial selection.
Call Number: QH581.2 .P58 2021
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology Expertly bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th Edition, brings together an outstanding collection of world-renowned authors to provide authoritative discussions of the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. New chapters and significant revisions throughout keep you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, and clinical trials. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bones disorders, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, newly defined adrenal disorders and much more - all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Contains new chapters on Global Burden of Endocrine Disease, Navigation of Endocrine Guidelines, and Transgender Endocrinology. Includes significant updates to the Diabetes section, including a new chapter on Physiology of Insulin Secretion and greater coverage of Type 2 Diabetes. Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Online
Management/Employee Development Books
The Big Nine: how the tech titans and their thinking machines could warp humanity A call-to-arms about the broken nature of artificial intelligence, and the powerful corporations that are turning the human-machine relationship on its head. We like to think that we are in control of the future of "artificial" intelligence. The reality, though, is that we--the everyday people whose data powers AI--aren't actually in control of anything. When, for example, we speak with Alexa, we contribute that data to a system we can't see and have no input into--one largely free from regulation or oversight. The big nine corporations--Amazon, Google, Facebook, Tencent, Baidu, Alibaba, Microsoft, IBM and Apple--are the new gods of AI and are short-changing our futures to reap immediate financial gain. In this book, Amy Webb reveals the pervasive, invisible ways in which the foundations of AI--the people working on the system, their motivations, the technology itself--is broken. Within our lifetimes, AI will, by design, begin to behave unpredictably, thinking and acting in ways which defy human logic. The big nine corporations may be inadvertently building and enabling vast arrays of intelligent systems that don't share our motivations, desires, or hopes for the future of humanity. Much more than a passionate, human-centered call-to-arms, this book delivers a strategy for changing course, and provides a path for liberating us from algorithmic decision-makers and powerful corporations.
Call Number: Q334.7 .W43 2020
Blockchain in Healthcare: innovations that empower patients, connect professionals and improve care Blockchain technology is poised to revolutionize more than just payment and crypto-currency. Many vertical industries will be reshaped by the new trusted data models enabled and inspired by the blockchain - healthcare is no exception. In fact, healthcare may hold the greatest opportunities for meaningful use of the technology. Early pioneers have explored some of the first use cases for medical payments, electronic health records, HIPAA/data privacy, drug counterfeiting, and credentialing of healthcare professionals. We have only begun to scratch the surface in how to automate the complexities of today's healthcare systems and design new systems which focus on trust, transparency and the alignment of incentives. Metcalf, Bass, Dhillon, and Hooper have curated a collection of examples based on the fundamentals of blockchain that build upon the early successes and examples that point to the future. After a brief introduction to bitcoin, blockchain and the protocols available, a getting-started guide is presented specific to health and healthcare. The authors discuss the complexities and possibilities of smart contracts and some of the early consortia that are exploring the possibilities. Examples and use cases are found throughout the book, with specific sections that cover the more sophisticated and far-reaching examples which have the potential to scale at the industry-level. In addition, a discussion of integrating blockchain technology into other advanced healthcare trends and IT systems - such as telemedicine, artificial intelligence, machine learning, the Internet of Things, value-based payments , patient engagement solutions, big data solutions, medical tourism, and precision medicine/genetic therapies among many others are presented. The final section provides a glimpse into the future using blockchain technology and examples of research projects that are still in labs across the globe. The appendices may prove particularly useful for additional details on how to get started, including resources and organizations specifically focusing on blockchain and distributed ledger solutions.
Call Number: R858 .M478 2019
Brand Aid: the revolutionary transformation of the Mayo Clinic Brand by The inside story of Mayo Clinic's revolutionary, decades-long marketing and branding evolution from a revered mid-western clinic to a globally renowned provider of health care treatment and information--as told by one of the key leaders. Beginning in 1980, Mayo Clinic was transformed from a single clinic in Minnesota to a global brand with a revolutionary digital and social media presence. Brand Aid is the story of how this remarkable evolution occurred. Written in a personal and engaging style, Brand Aid is deep in concepts but a pleasure to read. Unlike other "how-to" books, John La Forgia's Brand Aid presents personal stories and real-life examples that bring his concepts to life in a vivid and relatable way. Simultaneously a memoir about La Forgia's career at Mayo Clinic, a how-to manual for practitioners and leaders in the field, and a higher-level excursion into some of the burning issues of American health care today, this is a uniquely compelling and illuminating read. "La Forgia blends his personal experiences running marketing at the Mayo Clinic with the many lessons and rules he learned along the way. It is an absolute must-read for anyone seriously interested in health care marketing or, more broadly, the marketing of professional services." --Kevin Keller, PhD, Author of Marketing Management and Strategic Brand Management
Call Number: RA982.R56 M4567 2019x
Discover Joy in Work: transforming your occupation into your vocation We are meant to experience joy in our work. But many of us struggle to find a sense of purpose or fulfillment in what we do. Is it possible for us to truly flourish in our work? Business executive Shundrawn Thomas reveals how work is intended to produce lasting value and should be meaningful and productive. A healthy attitude toward work and the workplace requires intentionality and effort. Thomas helps us to a greater understanding of our abilities and passions, which in turn will help us develop into the people we are meant to be. He addresses issues of work ethic, character formation, and work-life synergy to find better harmony between what we do and who we are. Through empirical research and real-life stories, Thomas reveals fundamental truths in easy-to-remember concepts for joy at work regardless of occupation, age, or career stage. You are designed to flourish in your workplace. Come on this journey to transcend your occupation and discover your true vocation.
Call Number: BT738.5 .T46 2019x
Effective Project Management: traditional, agile, extreme, hybrid The popular guide to the project management body of knowledge, now fully updated Now in its eighth edition, this comprehensive guide to project management has long been considered the standard for both professionals and academics, with nearly 40,000 copies sold in the last three editions! Well-known expert Robert Wysocki has added four chapters of new content based on instructor feedback, enhancing the coverage of best-of-breed methods and tools for ensuring project management success. With enriched case studies, accompanying exercises and solutions on the companion website, and PowerPoint slides for all figures and tables, the book is ideal for instructors and students as well as active project managers. Serves as a comprehensive guide to project management for both educators and project management professionals Updated to cover the new PMBOK® Sixth Edition Examines traditional, agile, and extreme project management techniques; the Enterprise Project Management Model; and Kanban and Scrumban methodologies Includes a companion website with exercises and solutions and well as PowerPoint slides for all the figures and tables used Written by well-known project management expert Robert Wysocki Effective Project Management, Eighth Edition remains the comprehensive resource for project management practitioners, instructors, and students. (PMBOK is a registered mark of the Project Management Institute, Inc.)
Call Number: HD69.P75 W95 2019
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019, held in Victoria, Canada from 14 to 17 February 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation. The knowledge and insights gained from the ITCH 2019 conference will surely stimulate fruitful discussions and collaboration to bridge research and practice and improve usability, safety and patient outcomes, and the book will be of interest to all those associated with the development, implementation and delivery of health IT solutions.
Call Number: R858.A2 I83 2019
Interpreting Qualitative Data "Cutting-edge and friendly. Offers even more of what we′ve come to expect. Practical, yet conceptually astute. Critically attuned to new developments, such as the uses and misuses of mixed methods designs and the convenience of smart phone technology. Packaged in an approachable format that virtually welcomes the reader aboard" - Jaber F. Gubrium, University of Missouri With a wealth of examples and learning features, the book takes a practical approach to methods training and provides a strong foundation in research design for social science students. In his characteristic positive writing style, author David Silverman offers useful advice on sticking points faced by beginner researchers and helps you build your confidence. Central to this sixth edition are its online resources, including: Entertaining and inspiring videos from the author that help you unpack concepts, boost your understanding and think critically An 'assessment corner', offering practical help and tailored support for typical assignments e.g. group reports and literature reviews A downloadable workbook providing a hands on way to get to grips with the necessary skills for gathering, analysing and interpreting qualitative data Approachable, clear and friendly, this book equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
Call Number: HM48 .S5324 2020
Leadership and Self-Deception: getting out of the box Leadership and Self-Deception shows how the problems that typically prevent superior performance in organizations and cause conflicts in our personal lives are the result of a little-known problem called self-deception. People who are in self-deception live and work as if trapped in a box. They can't see the reality around them--they're blind to the self-serving motivations that are sabotaging them on the job and at home. But there is a way out. Through an entertaining and engaging story, Leadership and Self-Deception shows what self-deception is, how it operates, the damage it does, and, most importantly, what can be done about it.This third edition includes new research about the self-deception gap in organizations and the keys to closing this gap so that people take responsibility for their own problems and for organizational problems. It also includes the first chapter from Arbinger's latest bestseller, The Outward Mindset.
Call Number: HD57.7 .L4315 2018
Management Mess to Leadership Success: 30 challenges to become the leader you would follow OWL Award shortlist selection. Also don't miss Scott Miller on the Rachel Hollis RISE podcast. Take The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People to an entirely new level with Wall Street Journal bestselling author Scott Miller. Your Leadership Skills Are About to Change. Millions have read the all-time global best seller The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey. Both leaders and individuals have been inspired and transformed by its universal principles of effectiveness, including Scott Jeffrey Miller. Miller, a student and personal friend of Stephen R. Covey, is now the new millennial voice of FranklinCovey leadership. Scott Miller knows what it's like to fail. He was demoted from his first leadership position after only three weeks - and that's just one of several messy management experiences on his two-decade journey to leadership success. Scott's not alone. Everyone fails. But something sets Scott apart: transparency and willingness to openly share his story in a way that is forthright, relatable and applicable. Thirty leadership challenges applicable now. In Miller's Management Mess to Leadership Success you'll find 30 leadership challenges that can, when applied, change the way you manage yourself, lead others, and produce results. The wisdom in Scott's book was learned through hard knocks and was honed by Stephen R. Covey and the FranklinCovey team through years of research and corporate training experience. Illustrated with Scott's real-life experiences. Learn to: � Lead difficult conversations, celebrate success
Call Number: HD57.7 .M55 2019x
Marketing Health Services As the healthcare field evolves, so, too, does healthcare marketing. Flexing with the changing environment, marketing continues to demonstrate its vital importance to healthcare in these dynamic times. The fourth edition of this essential guide to healthcare marketing, released five years after the previous edition, features new and updated content reflecting changes in the field, such as the emergence of population health management and value-based care, a focus on preventive care versus sick care, and an overall shift in thinking to caring for groups of consumers versus individual patients. The author, who has real-world, on the-the-ground experience as a healthcare marketer, provides numerous examples and case studies to demonstrate healthcare marketing's role in a shifting landscape. Changes to the fourth edition include: a new chapter on the changing healthcare environment, providing rich context for future healthcare marketing activities; a new chapter addressing health communication's pivotal role in healthcare marketing and the processes involved with developing effective communication plans; major updates on developments in the healthcare marketing field since 2010; a new section on international healthcare consumers; a revised chapter on contemporary marketing techniques, with a new section on affinity marketing, and more.
Call Number: RA410.56 .T48 2020
Six Sigma: a complete step-by-step guide by What You Will Learn:Whether you are looking to significantly boost your earnings by becoming Six Sigma Certified or are simply looking learn about the strategies and tools necessary to support quality improvement initiatives, this training manual offers the largest value available.What's Inside:This comprehensive guide was designed with the reader in mind. Other Six Sigma books typically fall into one of two categories. Either the training material is too comprehensive (leaving the reader to feel overwhelmed) or the material is too "watered-down" (leaving the reader without the necessary knowledge to be successful). Our guide strikes the perfect balance by providing as much depth as the reader would like. The material in our training guide is essential broken down into 4 areas. Units 1-2, provide an excellent introduction to Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma as well as a brief overview of the methodology (ideal for White or Yellow Belt Certification). Units 3-5, covers more advanced Six Sigma concepts in addition to beginner statistics and intermediate statistics, along with helpful guides for computing statistics with software like Excel (ideal for Green Belt Certification). Units 6-8 dive further into advanced concepts and processes within the Six Sigma methodology (ideal for Black Belt Certification). The remaining sections cover Six Sigma within specific industries, such as Six Sigma in Healthcare, Finance, Human Resources (HR), Information Technology (IT), Engineering, Marketing & Sales, Customer Service, Warehouse, Distribution, Manufacturing, Military/Defense, Government, and more.No matter your experience or goal, this comprehensive guide has something for everyone.
Call Number: TS156 .S59 2018x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?