Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique Easily learn how to apply basic surgical principles and techniques with Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 14th Edition. For over 50 years, this highly readable text has been trusted to clearly cover the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format. Expert authors Nancymarie Phillips and Anita Hornacky emphasize the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this extensively updated new edition gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhance students' understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help students learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care needs of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic and spiritual considerations of patients gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Vivid high-quality illustrations reflect the latest in perioperative procedures and provide key safety information. Coverage of both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each settings as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help students quickly find important information and focus study time. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables students to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. NEW! Updated evidence-based content reflects the 2019 AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and covers: recommendations for attire; revisions in sterilization and instrument processing; FDA standards, recalls, and approvals; CDC updated screening data; current technology and instrumentation; prevention and treatment of surgical infection; recommendations for perioperative patient care, documentation, and hand-over; updated surgical facility requirements; and more. NEW! Current recommendations for the comprehensive surgical checklist have also been incorporated in the text. NEW! Updated practice examination has been added to the perioperative education and learning activities. NEW! Explanation of PNDS provides students with a solid understanding of the Perioperative Nursing Data Set. NEW! Legal and ethical implications for practice ground students in the importance of proper skill performance and thoughtful decision-making.
Call Number: RD32.3 .P48 2021
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Gynecologic Settings Delivers the latest evidence-based guidelines you need to ensure excellence in clinical practice! Now in its Twelfth Edition, this authoritative resource continues to represent the gold standard for nursing management of common gynecological conditions for women throughout the lifespan. It includes contributions from prominent specialists focusing on specific areas of gynecological health, in addition to the vanguard contributions of three new lead authors with decades of experience in varied healthcare settings. The Twelfth Edition is substantially updated with pivotal topics, current evidence-based practice guidelines, real-life case studies, and improved patient teaching materials that foster translation of information to practice. Clinical guidelines, appendices, and bibliographies are extensively revised to reflect the most current evidence-based information, research, and consensus from national health organizations. New PowerPoint slides and a transition guide for the twelfth edition are included for ease of use in educational programs. New and Revised Chapters: New section on Women's Health: Adolescents, Sexual and Gender Minority Persons, and Individuals with Mental Health Considerations Updated Breast and Cervical Cancer Screening Guidelines Acute and Chronic Gynecologic Conditions STIs, Prevention and Management of HPV-Associated Cancers Perimenopause and Postmenopausal Care Key Features: Evidence-based guidelines empirically proven to improve patient outcomes Outline format ensures quick and easy access to essential information Updated bibliography for each guideline including relevant websites with additional resources Nine Appendices presenting updated clinical resources, case studies, assessments, screening tools, and EMR educational templates New PowerPoint Slides for ease of use by instructors Transition guide to assist Instructors in incorporating new edition content into their courses
Call Number: RG105 .H368 2021
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination A comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know to pass your nursing exams! Updated with the latest test plan and written in an easy-to-read outline format, HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination, 6th Edition prepares you for success on both the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-PN®. This trusted guide breaks down chapters by clinical areas and the concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-PN® exam, so you can easily search for various topics to review. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness to help strengthen your understanding. The companion Evolve website also offers 750 practice questions, including alternate item formats, in both study and exam modes to give you valuable practice using the same electronic testing format you will face on the nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-PN® exam. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-PN® exam. 750 NCLEX practice questions on the companion Evolve website include alternate item formats to provide a testing experience similar to the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-PN® exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-PN® exam. Critical thinking study questions with rationales reinforce key concepts and content. Chapters organized by clinical area enable you to easily search for various topics to review. Consistent format and chapter organization make it easy to move between topics when reviewing. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-PN® test plan. EXPANDED! 200 additional NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve site assist you with practice.
Call Number: RT62 .H44 2021
Leading with Mastery and Heart: the coaching companion for thriving nurse leaders Leading with Mastery and Heart: The Coaching Companion for Thriving Nurse Leaders provides expert, on-the-spot coaching for nurses who lead. Content centers on topic-specific columns that feature an easy-to-read, personable writing style not found in any other leadership title. Just a few of the hot topics covered in this collection are: how to stay centered and positive in the midst of highly stressful situations; how to manage resistance and negativity; how to provide inspiration along with direction; and how to combat limiting circumstances and beliefs. With its wealth of proven, real-world advice, Leading with Mastery and Heart: The Coaching Companion for Thriving Nurse Leaders is perfect for any current or aspiring nurse manager or executive looking to quickly and effectively hone their leadership skills. Well-organized collection of over 60 columns on leadership excellence for nurses covering topics such as the challenges of being new on the job, what change really means, managing resistance, developing others in challenging times, and coaching your boss Practical advice based on real circumstances in real healthcare organizations offering true to life examples and successful solutions that apply to nurse leaders at all levels. Emphasis on self-awareness reflecting the extensive research validating that the more self-aware we are, the better leaders we become Concrete and immediate solutions providing uncommon insight and guidance for even the most intractable challenges
Call Number: RT89 .R635 2021x
NCLEX-RN 101: how to pass! This new 10th edition is current and streamlined with questions to help you develop clinical decision making. The items are written succinctly to mimic the computer adaptive test. Our objective is to help you PASS by providing the latest information on the NCLEX-RN exam. The exam, as reflected by the test plan published by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, was updated in April 2019-2022. The chapter titles and items in this edition reflect these changes. Due to the changes both in clinical practice and NCLEX-RN, we have revised the focus for this book to incorporate a focus on prioritization of nursing care.
Call Number: RT55 .N43 2019x
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide The Ultimate Learning Package to Prepare for the CPNP-PC ExamPediatric Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide: Primary Care, Seventh Edition is an essential resource for nurses preparing for the PNP primary care certification exam offered by the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB). Completely updated and revised, it reflects the most current guidelines and standards of practice for the nurse practitioner in the pediatric primary care setting.The Seventh Edition features expanded information on the promotion of breastfeeding in the first year of life, new content about LGBTQIA issues, and a new chapter providing comprehensive review of mental health information with sections covering bullying, learning disabilities, internalizing and externalizing disorders, eating disorders, and more.Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide: Primary Care, Seventh Edition provides access to Navigate 2 TestPrep. An access code is included with every new print copy and unlocks access to practice and simulated tests, detailed rationales, and powerful data dashboards. Standalone access to Navigate 2 TestPrep is also available (ISBN: 978-1-284-19316-9).
Call Number: RJ242 .P43 2021
Perinatal Nursing Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Call Number: RG951 .A985 2021
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurses and Physician Assistants Lehne's Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurses and Physician Assistants, 2nd Edition builds on the same foundation of clearly explained, up-to-date, and clinically current content as the trusted Lehne undergraduate text, while focusing on the information that advanced practice nurses and Physician Assistants specifically need for safe and effective prescribing. Three introductory chapters provide foundational content for new prescribers in the areas of prescriptive authority, rational drug selection, prescription writing, and promoting positive outcomes of drug therapy. Core drug chapters are focused on the drugs that prescribers will most commonly see in clinical practice. Introductory chapters tailored to the specific needs of prescribers cover topics such as prescriptive authority, rational drug selection and prescription writing, and promoting positive outcomes of drug therapy. Carefully focused pharmacotherapeutic content reflects the drugs most commonly seen and used by prescribers, with emphasis not on the first drug discovered or developed in each class but on the agents most often used today. Primary care drugs are addressed first in each chapter as appropriate, followed by acute care drugs. UNIQUE! Prescriber-focused pedagogical aids further reinforce the most important information for prescribers. Integrated coverage of Canadian trade names appears throughout the text and is highlighted with a familiar maple-leaf icon. Integrated coverage of interprofessional collaboration addresses the growing global interest in interprofessional collaboration and incorporates opportunities for interprofessional collaborative practice throughout. NEW! Genetic and Genomic Considerations chapter addresses our growing understanding of the importance of genetics and genomics in pharmacotherapeutic management of disease. NEW! Immunomodulators chapter covers the growing role of this innovative therapy in cancer treatment. NEW! Increased emphasis on the needs of prescribers includes new Key Prescribing Considerations specifically tailored for advanced practice nurses (APNs) and Physician Assistants (PAs), revised introductory disease content, and refocused illustrations. NEW! Expanded delineation of acute care drugs now extends to the cardiac, neurologic, hypertension, and male and female reproductive chapters. NEW! Significantly revised content on laboratory drug monitoring has been refocused on the needs of APNs and PAs NEW! Updated content on drug legislation, opioid addiction, and legalized marijuana addresses these key areas of change for prescribers. NEW! Illustrations, tables, and boxes have been substituted for text to highlight treatment guidelines (including decision-making algorithms) and drug mechanisms of action. NEW! Improved legibility includes the elimination of "small type" and a more user-friendly graphic design. NEW! Updated content covers the areas of drug legislation, opioid addiction, marijuana.
Call Number: RM262 .R67 2021x
Review of Hemodialysis for Nurses and Dialysis Personnel Get complete dialysis coverage and an excellent review for the certification exam! Review of Hemodialysis for Nurses and Dialysis Personnel, 10th Edition uses a concise Q&A format to cover the principles, diseases, and problems of dialysis treatment for kidney failure. A new chapter on case management of the renal patient keeps you current with the latest in dialysis treatment and equipment. Dialysis expert Judy Kallenbach provides clear, easy-to-read guidelines that will apply to every member of the dialysis team, from technicians and nurses to social workers and patients. Comprehensive coverage provides the knowledge needed to care for dialysis patients and to prepare for the certification exam, with topics including a review of body fluids and electrolytes, infection control, transplantation, and key psychosocial aspects of dialysis treatment. Question-and-answer format makes learning easier and makes the book suitable for independent study. Multidisciplinary approach includes a chapter on the different roles in the hemodialysis team, describing how dialysis care is coordinated and what patients go through during their treatment. Easy-to-understand style introduces new terms and concepts without assuming prior knowledge of dialysis. Home Dialysis Therapies chapter describes the use of home dialysis treatment as a possible cost-cutting measure. Useful appendixes offer a quick reference to the sodium and potassium content of various foods, nephrology organizations and resources, a list of dialysis lab tests, a glossary, and more. Coverage of the entire lifespan helps you care for patients of different ages, with separate chapters on pediatric dialysis and end-stage renal disease in the elderly. 70 illustrations depict all aspects of dialysis treatment and care. NEW Case Management of the Chronic Kidney Disease Patient chapter is added. EXPANDED Patient Education Guidelines chapter adds coverage of motivational interviewing. EXPANDED Psychosocial Aspects of Dialysis Therapy chapter adds information on patient care. UPDATED content includes new guidelines and information on medication.
Call Number: RC901.7.H45 G87 2021
Rheumatology Nursing Rheumatology Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition covers the full extent of rheumatology nursing practice needs in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. This specialty’s core accountabilities illustrate that depth and breadth of practice:
Safety, quality, and risk management
Patient and population health advocacy
Clinical care delivery and optimal patient outcomes
Healthy work environments
Strategic, financial, and human resource management
Legal and regulatory compliance
Networking, partnering, and collaborating
Accountability/advocacy for their employees
The publication also addresses 17 updated national standards, which offer a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals, as well as for what is expected of all rheumatology nurses, and its scope of practice specifies the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. This new book is a must-have for the aspiring or practicing rheumatology nurse, or any registered nurse.
Call Number: RC933 .R44 2019
Wound Care Essentials : practice principles Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies... Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include: All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures About the Authors Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting. She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations. Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care. Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.
Call Number: RD94 .B374 2020
Dermoscopy : the essentials Dermoscopy: The Essentials presents the practical guidance you need to master this highly effective, more economical, and less invasive alternative to biopsy. Drs. Peter Soyer, Giuseppe Argenziano, Rainer Hofmann-Wellenhof, and Iris Zalaudek explain all aspects of performing dermoscopy and interpreting results. With approximately 30% new clinical and dermoscopic images, valuable pearls and checklists, and online access to the fully searchable and downloadable text, you'll have everything you need to diagnose earlier and more accurately. Avoid diagnostic pitfalls through pearls that explain how to accurately use dermoscopy and highlight common mistakes. Master all aspects of performing dermoscopy and interpreting the results with easy-to-use "traffic light" systems and checklists for quick and effective learning. Gain a better visual understanding with approximately 30% new clinical and dermoscopic images that depict the appearance of benign and malignant lesions and feature arrows and labels to highlight important manifestations. Get better diagnostic results for less by learning how to successfully perform dermoscopy with this portable, to-the-point resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RL105 .D47 2020x
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care This comprehensive, evidence-based book is intended to serve as a reference for medical practitioners involved in the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients. Fundamental aspects of neuroanesthesiology and neurocritical care are thoroughly examined across 101 chapters, outlining key elements that are crucial to a care provider's knowledge of the practice. These elements include specific diagnostic procedures and treatment options, concepts and applicable details of the available neurosurgical interventions and techniques, and mechanisms necessary to provide top of the line care for patients. Each chapter features definitive and distinct areas of this multi-specialty discipline, and is designed to guide the reader from problem to solution in situations that can arise in the clinical setting. Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia & Critical Care, 2nd edition is a problem-oriented approach textbook that will aid a wide variety of readers in handling day-to-day issues and developments relevant to the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients.
Call Number: RD81 .E77 2020
Grant's Dissector Grant's Dissector, Seventeenth Edition provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform in the anatomy lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. More informative and approachable than ever, this updated seventeenth edition broadens students' understanding of key dissection procedures and readies them for success in healthcare practice. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview that provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session and includes relevant surface anatomy. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information. New and revised illustrations, including new surface landmark illustrations, strengthen students' grasp of common dissection procedures. New chapter introductions focus students' attention on relevant Clinical Correlations. Reorganized Skeletal and Surface Anatomy sections guide students logically from palpating bony structures to making skin incisions. Enhanced and streamlined cross-references reinforce understanding with direct links to related content in Grant's Atlas of Anatomy as well as Grant's Dissection Videos. Dissection Overviews guide students through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Numbered, step-by-step Dissection Instructions clarify procedures and enhance the dissection experience. Full-color illustrations improve students' accuracy and precision from initial incisions through deeper dissections. Clinical Correlation boxes place procedures in a clinical context to ready students for healthcare practice.
Call Number: QM34 .G75 2021
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QP34.5 .G9 2021 & E-book
The Harriet Lane Handbook: the John Hopkins Hospital Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RJ48 .H35 2021
Medical Terminology: an illustrated guide Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, Ninth Edition helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any healthcare setting. The text opens with a general introduction to word parts and the human body as a whole, followed by an overview of diseases and treatments. Each subsequent chapter on the individual body systems begins with an illustrated overview of the system with definitions of key terms relevant to that system. Tables of word parts and exercises on using them follow. The sequence of the systems chapters follows the same order as that found in a tradition A&P courses.Turning to the abnormal, a section on diseases and treatments is included, followed by definitions of related key terms.
Call Number: R123 .C56 2021
Neurosurgery Case Review: questions and answers Neurosurgical vignettes in question and answer format provide robust prep for the ABNS oral exam! Neurosurgery Case Review: Questions and Answers, 2nd Edition by Remi Nader, Abdulrahman Sabbagh, Samer Elbabaa, Hosam Al-Jehani, Jaime Gasco, and Cristian Gragnaniello provides a robust study guide for the American Board Neurological Surgery and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada oral board examinations. The second edition expands on the highly successful first edition, presenting 148 cases commonly encountered by neurosurgeons in clinical practice. The cases are broadly divided into seven sections--tumor, vascular intracranial pathology, trauma, pediatric, functional, spine, and peripheral nerves. The chapters are arranged in a manner that mirrors the oral board exam. Each case includes a brief clinical scenario followed by questions on presentation, diagnosis, imaging, management, surgical detail, complications, and outcome. The presented information is backed by the latest available evidence-based references and data. Key Features: Contributions from internationally renowned neurosurgical educators Detailed answers enhance readers' knowledge and provide guidance on how to respond to questions asked in the oral board exams More than 750 high-quality images, many in full color, ensure visual understanding of key concepts Suggested readings at the end of cases offer additional study resources This is an indispensable, one-stop resource for neurosurgical residents and fellows prepping for the ABNS and Royal College oral board examinations. Neurosurgeons studying for recertification will also find this book an invaluable reference for rapid review. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RD593 .C38 2020
Workbook of Diagnostics for Cardiac Implantable Devices by To understand cardiac implantable electronic device (CIED) management, the clinician requires a foundation of information regarding CIED purpose, design and function, as well as experience in interpreting CIED output, i.e., electrical assessment of the system, programmed parameters, electrograms, and markers. In addition, one must be able to correlate and interpret the accompanying electrocardiographic tracing with the patient s clinical presentation. For students of CIED management, be they beginners in the field or more advanced, there is always an appreciation for case studies, i.e., real-world examples of managing a specific device-related issue. To this end, this workbook of 61 device management case studies has been prepared by six talented RN Device Specialists and three physicians involved in the Heart Rhythm Service practice at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Included in the case studies are examples from pacemakers, ICDs and CRT devices, illustrating interpretation and management of a variety of device behaviors, some with abnormal function that requires diagnosis and management approach, and others that display appropriate behavior of a specific device algorithm that may be confusing for the CIED student. ~David L. Hayes, MD, and the contributors adapted from the Preface.
Call Number: RC684.P3 H38 2020x
Wylie's Treatment of epilepsy: principles and practice Comprehensive, yet accessible, Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy: Principles and Practice has provided a detailed and cohesive overview of seizure disorders and treatment options through six well-regarded editions. The 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in the field with extensive updates from Dr. Elaine Wyllie and her team of world-renowned editors and authors. Ideal for both clinical reference and exam preparation, this single-volume work on contemporary epileptology is an indispensable resource for neurologists, epilepsy specialists and epilepsy neurosurgeons, neurology and neurosurgery residents and fellows, and neuropsychologists. Features considerable new or significantly revised content reflecting the most current evidence-based treatment options. Offers an in-depth review of all aspects of epileptology, including neuroimaging; epilepsy surgery; antiseizure medications; principles of electroencephalography; psychosocial impact, quality of life, and comorbidities; economics of epilepsy; and more. Provides more than 500 CME-eligible review questions online, highlighting key concepts for the ABPN subspecialty exam and clinical practice. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC372 .T68 2021
Management/Employee Development Books
7 Steps to Organizational Excellence A book designed for individuals and organizations seeking guidance on how to pursue organizational excellence and recommendations on how to embed those practices into interprofessional collaborative practice teams. This guide will help you understand the key variables and how to successfully embed those practices in to collaborative practice teams.
Call Number: HD58.9 .R63 2020x
Cultivating a Digital Culture for Effective Patient Engagement: a strategic framework and toolkit for health-provider websites Cultivating a Digital Culture for Effective Patient Engagement offers a strategic framework for healthcare provider websites in order to support patient engagement and connected health initiatives. Referred to as the Health Empowerment Web Strategy Index (HEWSi), the proposed framework is complemented by a detailed "check list" of health empowerment items organizations should incorporate into their website design. A healthcare provider's website should be an effective resource for empowering the health of patients no matter where patients are in their digital culture evolution. The challenge for many organizations is that patient engagement/connected health initiatives are frequently developed and managed separately from the organization's digital marketing efforts. This book recognizes this disconnect and advocates for a reimaging of healthcare provider websites based on the four domains of the HEWSi strategic framework: (1) orienting; (2) enlightening; (3) aligning; and (4) personalizing. As a framework and toolkit, HEWSi helps breakdown patient engagement silos within healthcare organizations by allowing varied functional teams (marketing; web developers; patient experience staff; clinical leaders; HIM/HIS personnel; etc.) to congregate around a shared pathway for conversing, strategizing, planning, and developing an effective patient empowerment website.
Call Number: R858 .P48 2020
Discovering Job Joy: your guide to stretching without snapping Want to finally enjoy Mondays?Have you recently thought to yourself, What's wrong with me? It's called "work" for a reason, right? or Suck it up, Buttercup? Recent studies show 85% of the working population hates their job and report feeling unfulfilled at work. It doesn't have to be this way Imagine going to a job you look forward to every Monday morning-one that brings you joy. Yes, it's possible, when you understand and activate your strengths. Discovering Job Joy will position you to truly understand, activate, and celebrate what makes you special From the way you think, to the way you react, to the way you work and communicate, you will learn getting to the heart and understanding how you are authentically wired is the best place to Discover Job Joy In this book, you'll be guided to create a plan to ensure your unique strengths are leveraged to be your best you so you can stretch-and not snap As a current career coach and former HR executive, I write from personal experience and weave in anecdotes with a dash of scientific data that support the premise that each person can find Job Joy if they first understand, celebrate, and activate their inherent strengths. By the end of Discovering Job Joy, you'll view your strengths-and those of your colleagues, family, and friends-in a new light, aiding you in your journey to Job Joy
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 R34 2019
Emotional Intelligence: for a better life, success at work, and happier relationships. Improve your social skills, emotional agility and discover why it can matter more than IQ. ★★ If you want to know yourself more deeply, and how to use emotional intelligence to live a happy life and fulfilled, then keep reading.★★ ⚠⚠⚠⚠ The second edition already online!!! New formatting for more pleasant reading. ⚠⚠⚠⚠ For the longest time,it was believed that being book smart was all you needed to get by in life.That is until a different kind of smart was introduced into the picture.Emotional intelligence is essentially the kind of smart you need to understand your emotions, relate well to people, and handle the curve balls that life may throw at you. People with emotional intelligence seem to have everything figured out because they have mastered the most important thing of all: They have learned themselves. Emotional Intelligence is a handbook on all things that you may have questions about regarding your emotional quotient, abbreviated EQ. It explores the various aspects of EQ from why we have emotions to why we need them. It explains why emotional intelligence might get you further in life than IQ without necessarily diminishing the crucial role played by book smarts in your life. It also goes to bust the popular myths about emotional intelligence that exists, thus allowing you to distinguish the truths from the misconceptions. This book is dedicated to helping you explore the various components of emotional intelligence and show you how you can improve at each of them. It discusses the role of emotional intelligence at home and in the workplace and helps you identify simple ways to go from low EQ to high EQ. Inside you will discover: ✓ What emotional intelligence is, and why rise your EQ is so important ✓ How emotional intelligence affects your relationships and your work ✓ The importance of empathy ✓ How to manage and reduce energy vampire ✓ "Emotional Intelligence Quiz" to know how you are faring on the emotional intelligence And much more... If you have been struggling to understand where your emotions fit in the overall picture of your life or what you can do to achieve greatness in your personal and professional life, then this book is perfect for you. Do not allow yourself to live another day in oblivion. Get ready to figure out the hard questions thanks to Emotional Intelligence. Scroll up to the top of the page and click the "Buy Now" button. Your key to bouncing back from adversity is one click away.
Call Number: BF576 .G65 2019x
The Emotionally Intelligent Leader Become a Better Leader by Improving Your Emotional Intelligence Bestselling author DANIEL GOLEMAN first brought the concept of emotional intelligence (EI) to the forefront of business through his articles in Harvard Business Review, establishing EI as an indispensable trait for leaders. The Emotionally Intelligent Leader brings together three of Goleman's bestselling HBR articles. In "What Makes a Leader?" Goleman explores research that found that truly effective leaders are distinguished by high levels of self-awareness and sharp social skills. In "The Focused Leader," Goleman explains neuroscience research that proves that "being focused" is more than filtering out distractions while concentrating on one thing. In "Leadership That Gets Results," Goleman draws on research to outline six distinct leadership styles, each one springing from different components of emotional intelligence. Together, these three articles guide leaders to recognize the direct ties between EI and measurable business results.
Call Number: HD57.7 .G66399 2019
Scrum: a step by step pocket guide to make twice the work in half the time with SCRUM ★★★ If you want to understand the benefits of Scrum Methodology, then keep Reading ★★★ The introduction of Agile Project Management system has brought a lot of insight into the project management and team development for small, medium, and large scale organizations in the last few years. This flexible, responsive, and powerful process has also caused a massive expansion to the scope of project management, helping project managers and their development team to deliver incredibly saleable products. What's more, in order to deliver optimally, developers of this software development process and project management toolkit has come up with several project management frameworks and methodologies that would help the entire Agile process. One of those methodologies is the Scrum. We may ask: what is Scrum? The need for project participants to respond to changes and situations that arise during the project management process is one of the key functional approaches of the Agile process. Scrum represents one of those Agile methodologies that provide such leverage for project handlers and participants to these demanding business requirements. Scrum is developed to mimic a cooperative rugby strategy which promotes synergy and collaboration among team members even when working at distance. Scrum is technically not a project management framework but a methodology which allows software developers to "inspect and adapt". It operates as a framework that consists of many other applications that can be used to implement other types of projects. Hence, it is considered as an agile project management tool. Typically, projects are handled either by individuals or a team. Scrum is a methodology that targets team. The focus of a team is important for development that would result in a saleable product even while project is still at full swing. Hence, incremental delivery system, technically called 'Sprint' gives team and project participants to be able to involve everyone in the developmental process. Open and study this book to learn the following: The Scrum methodology and its relationship with the Agile Management system. Benefits of using the Scrum framework over other Agile process Step by step procedure of implementing project using the Scrum system The incremental delivery system called 'Sprint', which delivers higher revenue and saleable product. Understanding the Sprint process and related concepts. Scrum Flow and Agile Process Just as one would expect that you ask yourself what benefits would this book be to me, or if you can make this book work for you. Guess what? Even if you have never heard anything about Scrum framework before, you can become Agile by just reading this book. Again, applying the principles written in this book would help you understand the basis of managing projects and delivering quality products that will impact on its ends user. It promises to give you a fresh and new perspective to software development, project management and incremental delivery of product. Would You Like to Know More? "Download Now" Scroll to The Top and Click the ★★★ BUY NOW BUTTON ★★★
Call Number: QA76.76.D47 M66 2020x
Smash the Bottleneck: Fixing Patient Flow for Better Care (and a Better Bottom Line) Overcrowding is endemic in most US hospitals, and untangling patient flow is a top priority for today's healthcare leaders. Smash the Bottleneck: Fixing Patient Flow for Better Care (and a Better Bottom Line) lays out a concrete methodology for getting to the root of patient-flow problems and addressing them--quickly. The book highlights a continuous improvement methodology known as the Theory of Constraints (TOC), which emphasizes identifying, optimizing, and breaking down bottlenecks to improve overall system performance. Introduced in Eliyahu M. Goldratt's seminal business book The Goal, this method and its concepts have since been adopted by Fortune 500 companies worldwide. Uniquely, the authors tie TOC to healthcare delivery from a practitioner's point of view. They provide numerous examples of common health system bottlenecks to illustrate how the methodology can be applied in readers' own organizations. The book also showcases precisely how TOC can help: decrease length of stay in inpatient units; coordinate resources and break down organizational silos; reduce overcrowding and increase throughput in emergency departments; and shorten wait times in primary and specialty care clinics, imaging centers, and surgery centers. Poor patient flow has grave implications for quality of care, patient satisfaction, provider well-being, and an organization's bottom line. Discover the practical knowledge and tools that you can use to break bottlenecks and enact meaningful, lasting change.
Call Number: RA971 .S77 2020
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics Now in its Seventh Edition, Neil J. Salkind's bestselling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statisticswith new co-author Bruce B. Frey teaches an often intimidating subject with a humorous, personable, and informative approach that reduces statistics anxiety. With instruction in SPSS®, the authors guide students through basic and advanced statistical procedures, from correlation and graph creation to analysis of variance, regression, non-parametric tests, and more. The Seventh Editionincludes new real-world examples, additional coverage on multiple regression and power and effect size, and a robust interactive eBook with video tutorials and animations of key concepts. In the end, students who (think they) hate statistics will understand how to explain the results of many statistical analyses and won't be intimidated by basic statistical tasks.
Call Number: HA29 .S2365 2020
Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science An accessible new title focused on the science of healthcare delivery, from the acclaimed Understanding series "... a landmark text that will shape the field and inform our dialog for years to come---and it should be part of the required curriculum at medical and nursing schools around the world. Excellence in healthcare delivery science should become a core competency of the modern physician. Howell and Stevens have given medicine an important gift that may enable just that." - Sachin H. Jain, MD, MBA, FACP; President and CEO, CareMore and Aspire Health; Co-Founder and Co-Editor-in-Chief, Healthcare: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation "You hold in your hands 35 years of investigation and learning, condensed into understandable principles and applications. It is a guidebook for effective care delivery leadership, practice, and success." - Brent C. James, MD, MStat, Clinical Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine "...a must-read for anyone who, like me, is frustrated with the pace of our progress and is committed to creating a learning health system for all." - Lisa Simpson MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP, President and CEO, AcademyHealth "... will quickly become the go-to, must-read resource for practitioners looking to have an impact as innovators in healthcare delivery." - David H. Roberts, MD, Steven P. Simcox, Patrick A. Clifford, and James H. Higby Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School Today's healthcare system is profoundly complicated, but we persist in trying to roll out breakthroughs as if the healthcare system were still just the straightforward "physician's workshop" of the early 20th century. Only rarely do we employ research-quality analytics to assess how well our care delivery innovations really work in the practice. And shockingly, the US healthcare delivery system spends only 0.1% of revenue on R&D in how we actually deliver care. Small wonder that we find ourselves faced with the current medical paradox: Treatments that seemed miraculous at the beginning of our lifetimes are routine today, but low-quality care and medical errors harm millions of people worldwide even as spiraling healthcare costs bankrupt an unacceptable number of American families every year. Healthcare delivery science bridges this gap between scientific research and complex, real-world healthcare delivery and operations. With its engaging, clinically relevant style, Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science is the perfect introduction to this emerging field. This reader-friendly text pairs a thorough discussion of commonly available healthcare improvement tools and top-tier research methods with numerous case studies that put the content into a clinically relevant framework, making this text a valuable tool for administrators, researchers, and clinicians alike.
Call Number: RA399.A1 H69 2020
Voice Technology in Healthcare: leveraging voice to enhance patient and provider experiences The healthcare industry is on the cutting edge of voice-user interface (VUI) design and making great progress to improve patient care through developing technologies, literally transforming the voice of the industry. The advantages of VUI extend far beyond simple conveniences for patients or a healthcare employee's saved phone call. VUI has a profound impact on care improvement. Just like a person, a well-designed VUI can use tone of voice, inflection and other elements in conversation to shape behaviors or calm nerves. With VUI, physicians and patients become empowered to make informed decisions about healthcare. The use of voice technology across smart speakers, IoT, clinical and home devices, and wearables for improving the patient experience and clinical outcomes was recently identified as one of most significant emerging technologies in healthcare. Smart speakers are the #1 selling consumer item in the world and major competition is heating up between Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri, Microsoft Cortana, Google Voice Assistant, and a host of other specialty platforms specific to healthcare. From Orbita and Macadamia to voice-enabled robotics from Pillo, Intuitive, Vivify, and RealView Imaging, voice technology is pervasive across the gamut of levels of devices. Voice technology is not just pervasive in smart speakers and smart phones - it is finding its way into wearables, vehicles, homes, and even consumer and clinical medical devices. We even have smart jewelry emerging with health, wellness, and safety features built in. Best of all, this trend spans intergenerational health and wellness that goes beyond clinical care into long term health and wellbeing and the potential for increased patient engagement. In this book, the editors review information from the top thought-leaders in this space and examine real-world case studies of the outcomes and potential of voice technology in healthcare. Topics include a market survey, clinical use cases, home health use cases, health and wellness topics - fitness, nutrition, and wellbeing; next generation fitness facilities; voice and wearables in smart, connected communities; voice technology in social companions/robots; voice technology in the future surgical suites; a roadmap for the future from top technology; standards in voice technology; and the future of voice technology and artificial intelligence.
Call Number: TK7895.S65 V65 2020x
Working Remotely: secrets to success for employees on distributed teams The world is now your office! You can work from home, from a coffee shop, or even from the gym--but how do you keep on task and stay motivated when you're alone. In Working Remotely, authors Mike, Holly, and Teresa discuss how to ward off toxic levels of loneliness, how to get what you need from colleagues spread across the world, and how to network and grow in your career when you are sitting in an office of one, plus many other topics that will help you survive and thrive as a remote worker. Mike, Holly, and Teresa use their different paths through Kaplan to help the remote worker figure out how to set up the right headspace for them. "Working Remotely paints a very real picture of what it's like to be a remote worker in an organisation... In contrast to most books on remote work which have been written with managers, business owners or freelancers in mind, Secrets of the Remote Workforce speaks directly to employees, guiding them through their day to day." -Pilar Orti Director of Virtual not Distant "Working Remotely is a terrific map for helping employees who work remotely take charge of their own career. The authors have all survived and thrived as remote employees... While other resources focus on how to manage remote employees, this book highlights the power that employees have to drive success for themselves." -Susan Cates, Strategic Advisor
Call Number: HD2336.3 .D68 2020
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018