Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Ambulatory Care Nursing Review Questions The Ambulatory Care Nursing Review Questions, 5th edition, published by the American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN). This set of practice test items is designed to assist ambulatory care nurses in assessing their knowledge of the practice of ambulatory care nursing. Professional nurses should take every opportunity to advance their expertise, skills, and knowledge, and use tools such as this publication to assess their knowledge gaps and learn from studying the answers.All review questions, answers, and their associated page numbers (found in the back of the booklet) are based on the Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing, 4th edition (Laughlin & Witwer, 2019), a AAACN publication. Using the Core Curriculum as the companion to this set of review questions is highly recommended.This edition of the Review Questions has been updated to reflect the latest content outline of the Ambulatory Care Nursing Certification Exam of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) published in 2017. The 180 multiple-choice items follow the same format as the questions on the ANCC Ambulatory Care Nursing Certification Exam. The multiple-choice items are grouped into five domains of practice corresponding to those on the examination. The content in each of the domains and the percentage of questions are drawn directly from the test content outline as published by ANCC at the time of this writing.
Call Number: RA974.5 .A42 2020x
Becoming a Nurse A revealing guide to a nursing career written by esteemed reporter Sonny Kleinfield and based on the real-life experiences of the celebrated emergency room nurses of New York's Lenox Hill Hospital--required reading for anyone considering a path to this profession. Becoming a Nurse takes you behind the scenes to find out what it's really like, and what it really takes, to become a nurse. Acclaimed former New York Times reporter Sonny Kleinfield shadows veteran nurse Hadassah Lampert of Lenox Hill Hospital in New York to show how this in-demand job becomes a reality. Known for her mastery of technical skills and her heartfelt compassion for her patients, Lampert embodies the best of nursing. Go inside a hectic ER as veteran nurses work around the clock to treat incoming patients in a dazzling display of focus, skill, and bravery. Learn about their paths to the top of their field, from nursing school and clinical rotations to on-the-job realities like dealing with trauma and death. Gain insight about how this high-stakes job is actually practiced at the highest levels. As a nurse, expect the unexpected.
Call Number: RT5.N5 K54 2020
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research: appraisal, synthesis, and generation of evidence A previous AJN Book-of-the-Year Award winner, Burns & Grove''s The Practice of Nursing Research: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence, 9th Edition is the trusted resource for those wanting to master the research methods that are foundational to evidence-based practice. This highly respected textbook covers how to appraise and apply existing research evidence, as well as how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. This new 9th edition has been extensively updated to reflect today''s focus on online research in the digital era and includes clear, step-by-step guidelines for all major quantitative and qualitative research approaches -?including supporting examples from the latest high-quality literature. There''s also new content on translational research, coverage of the most current research tools and techniques, and an increased use of illustrations, tables, and other visuals to help engage visually oriented readers of all levels. Coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and other research methodologies provides a solid foundation to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of today''s clinical practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods addresses the qualitative research methodologies that are often the starting point of research projects, particularly in magnet hospitals and DNP programs. Clear, comprehensive coverage is organized into five units that include: an introduction to nursing research; coverage of the research process; application for evidence-based health care; how to analyze data, determine outcomes, and disseminate research; and how to propose and seek funding for research. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice addresses this key graduate-level QSEN competency and reinforces how to generate research evidence and appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Rich examples from nursing literature bring research principles to life. Emphasis on the most currently used research methodologies focuses on the methods used in both quantitative research and qualitative research, as well as outcomes research and mixed-methods research. Coverage of digital data collection examines the use of online research tools. Quick-reference summaries include a table of research methods inside the front cover and a list of types of research syntheses (with definitions) inside the back cover. Helpful user resources are included with each new text purchase on the companion Evolve website and feature 400 interactive review questions along with a library of 10 full-text research articles. NEW! Extensively updated content reflects the most current quantitative and qualitative approaches to nursing research, as well as the most current research tools and techniques used in the digital era. NEW! Updated research examples throughout incorporate the best examples of current literature, with increased emphasis on international examples to reflect the increasingly global nature of nursing research. NEW! Increased use of visuals includes the addition of more illustrations, tables, and boxes to help break up long passages of text for today''s more visually oriented learners of all levels. NEW! Revised chapters offer improved clarity and usability in the areas of research problems and purpose, quantitative research design, quantitative methodology, and qualitative methodology. NEW! Increased emphasis on hospital magnet status reflects the effect this status has on improving nursing competency and quality outcomes. UPDATED! Coverage of certain qualitative research content has been de-emphasized to reflect the decreased use of certain methodologies (e.g., historical research) and to allow the introduction of additional methodologies that are growing in use.
Call Number: RT81.5 .B86 2021
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice AJN Book of the Year 2016 First-Place Winner in Gerontological Nursing! "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely...The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice."--The Gerontologist "As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, 5 Stars. --Doody's The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care. They consistently feature chapter objectives, annotated references, evidence ratings for each protocol, and resources for further investigation. Each protocol is embedded within the chapter content to provide context and detailed evidence. The protocols consistently include an overview, evidence-based assessment, intervention strategies, and a supporting case study with discussion. PowerPoint presentations and a test bank are available as instructor's resources. New Chapters: Informational Technology: Embedding CPGs Organizational Approaches to Promote Person-centered Care Environmental approaches to support aging friendly care HIV and the Older Adult LGBTQ+ Perspectives Key Features: Evidence-based geriatric protocols for best practices for in-patient, in-home, and long-term care settings Case studies with discussions in each chapter to illustrate application of clinical practice and related Nursing Standard of Practice Protocol Guidelines that are developed by experts on the topics of each chapter and are based on the best available evidence The AGREE systematic method was used to evaluate each protocol and validate this book's content Instructor's resources including PowerPoints and a Test Bank
Call Number: RC954 .G465 2021
Hemodynamic Monitor Made Incredibly Visual! Build a solid knowledge base in hemodynamic nursing skills, with the newly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual!®, 4th Edition. Full of colorful images that illustrate monitoring concepts and processes, this concise, enjoyable guide sorts through the complexities of hemodynamics and clarifies them in easy-to-follow ways. Grasp the structures and functions of pulmonary and cardiac systems and the vital skills of hemodynamics, with this vital reference--a must-have for all nursing students, new nurses, and nurses returning to critical care. Get clear, concise direction on the concepts, devices, and nursing skills used in hemodynamic monitoring: NEW and updated content, photos and graphics that demonstrate nursing skills and responsibilities Hundreds of colorful images that guide you through the ins and outs of hemodynamics - detailed photos, diagrams, charts and other visual aids that clarify cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Illustrates vital practice issues, such as how to confirm the lungs are getting enough oxygen, and how well the heart is pumping -- explains and reinforces key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Explains the fundamentals and current best practices in hemodynamic monitoring in easy-to-retain terms Ideal for visual learners -images demonstrate step-by-step, expert guidance on monitoring skills, physiology and devices: Understanding cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Understanding a pressure monitoring system Vascular access Pressure monitoring - arterial, central venous, and pulmonary artery pressure monitoring Cardiac output monitoring Tissue oxygenation monitoring Minimally invasive hemodynamic monitoring Circulatory assist devices Step-by-step guidance on thermodilution methods, analyzing thermodilution curves, measuring cardiac function and output, maintaining artery catheters, and more Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students and new nurses - addresses the physiology behind each learning objective and provides vital nursing considerations Chapter features: On the level - defines normal and abnormal pressure readings for different patient conditions Q&A - illustrated riddles, diagrams, and questions and answers at the end of each chapter that help you fully integrate new knowledge Matchmaker - matching terms and conditions to their correct definition Memory board - learning aids and memory cues that help you retain important definitions and processes Ride the wave - explains the actions of waveforms, including how to recognize abnormal waveforms "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights and encouraging advice About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, and Associate Graduate Faculty and MSN Program Director/APN Program Coordinator at the Marjorie K. Unterberg School of Nursing and Health Studies at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey
Call Number: RC670.5.H45 H46 2020
Pharmacology for Nurses: a pathophysiologic approach For courses in pharmacology. A holistic approach to pharmacology essentials Pharmacology for Nurses: A Pathophysiologic Approach simplifies pharmacology by linking it tightly to therapeutic goals. Instead of learning about drugs in isolation, students approach them by body systems and diseases in order to draw connections between A&P, diseases, and drug interventions. Engaging features and exercises relate pharmacology to nursing care, while discussion of alternative therapies and cultural and lifespan considerations give further context for clinical decisions. The 6th edition adds the most current pharmacotherapeutics and advances in pathophysiology. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Call Number: RM301 .A32 2020x
Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing A timely, practical, and concise resource for advanced practice registered nursing (APRN) students, faculty, and providers, Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing provides readers with an understanding of and tools to embrace the emerging field of telehealth and optimize its application in clinical practice. Telehealth offers a unique solution to many health-care challenges, such as provider shortages, chronic disease management, an aging population, protection from infectious disease, and limited access to care. As telehealth is being incorporated into health care and health care delivery at an ever-increasing rate, APRNs that can navigate the telehealth arena are uniquely positioned to serve as leaders in the health care of the future. Using Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing, readers will learn how to utilize telehealth to provide new and innovative methods of care. Authors Patty A. Schweickert and Carolyn M. Rutledge present a multi-modal approach to telehealth education that layers telehealth onto nurses' existing knowledge of nursing practice. The text begins with the history and basics of telehealth before moving on to critical content that a provider must understand to maximize its use in the health care arena, covering topics including: Technology used in the early response to infectious diseases such as COVID-19 The process of integrating telehealth in practice Laws, policies, and regulations governing telehealth practice Barriers to implementation and strategies for overcoming them Telehealth etiquette and ethics Using telehealth for effective interprofessional collaboration Each chapter includes group exercises, prompts for reflection, questions for discussion, and case studies. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for an instructor's manual and guide to telehealth resources. With Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing, APRN students, faculty, and practicing providers will learn to advocate for telehealth implementation, establish telehealth programs, and utilize telehealth to overcome barriers to care in order to optimize access and quality of care.
Call Number: R119.9 .T454 2020x
Atlas of Dermatopathology: synopsis and atlas of Lever's histopathology of the skin Offering a highly visual, systematic approach to diagnosing skin diseases, Atlas of Dermatopathology: Synopsis and Atlas of Lever's Histopathology of the Skin, 4th Edition, is an ideal reference tool or teaching aid for dermatopathologists, pathologists, dermatologists, and trainees. This unique atlas uses a pattern-based approach to differential diagnosis, clearly organized according to what is seen on a microscopic slide. More than 1600 high-quality images assist in the understanding of cutaneous reaction patterns and diagnosis. Classifies patterns according to location, reaction patterns, and cell type if applicable, including diseases that have been recently described. Color-codes each chapter for consistency, helping you navigate quickly to the information you need. Compares "look-alike" diseases in easy-to-reference tables. Includes multiple color photomicrographs for each disease, in addition to providing an online image bank. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RL95 .S96 2021
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Call Number: 9781496398178
Baxter's the Foot and Ankle in Sport For specialists and non-specialists alike, returning an athlete to pre-injury performance safely and quickly is uniquely challenging. To help you address these complex issues in everyday practice, Baxter's The Foot and Ankle in Sport, 3rd Edition, provides focused, authoritative information on the examination, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of sports-related foot and ankle injuries - ideal for returning both professional and recreational athletes to full use and function. Provides expert guidance on athletic evaluation, sports syndromes, anatomic disorders, orthoses and rehabilitation, and more. Includes new and updated case studies and pearls for optimal use in the clinical setting. Features thoroughly revised content and enhanced coverage of stress fractures, as well as metabolic consideration in athletes. Includes new chapters on the disabled athlete, the military athlete, caring for the athlete as a team, foot and ankle exam, and biologics. Features a new, full-color design throughout and new videos available online. Shares the expertise of international contributors who provide a global perspective on sports medicine. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD563 .F638 2020
Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary and Pancreatic Surgery During his years at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Dr. Leslie H. Blumgart developed an extensive video library of high-quality, narrated and captioned video of his personal techniques used to train surgeons worldwide. These videos present history, radiologic evidence, and operative procedures - from major and minor resectional procedures to biliary and pancreatic anastomotic techniques. Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary & Pancreatic Surgery, 2nd Edition, compiles these outstanding videos, along with laparoscopic alternatives to these landmark surgeries from Dr. Carlos U. Corvera, into one outstanding multimedia resource that brings you fully up to date with innovative and advanced techniques in hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery. Covers diseases of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas, both in print and on more than 120 videos. Offers step-by-step discussion of open surgical procedures by world renowned surgeon Dr. Les Blumgart, allowing you to see clearly how an expert handles a difficult case. Includes an expanded number of minimally invasive laparoscopic techniques for the management of liver disease and pancreatic tumors, contributed by Dr. Carlos Corvera. Features a new chapter on laparoscopic hepatectomy techniques, as well as several new videos that showcase totally laparoscopic approaches to major hepatectomy, and the benefits of a hand-assisted laparoscopic approach. Details recent advances in laparoscopic liver and pancreatic surgery, modifications to open right hepatectomy (a "bottom-up" approach), right hepatectomy for donor liver transplant, and management of rare complications of gallstones disease. Includes both conceptual and imaging anatomy in print, including new cadaver dissections, allowing you to better understand surgeries preoperatively and consider the impact of anatomy and disease on the surgical procedure. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD669 .C875 2021x
Burns' Pediatric Primary Care Get a comprehensive foundation in children's primary care! Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 7th Edition covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in primary care pediatrics, emphasizing both prevention and management. This in-depth, evidence-based textbook is the only one on the market written from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner. It easily guides you through assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in children from infancy through adolescence. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. Updated content throughout reflects the latest research evidence, national and international protocols and standardized guidelines. Additionally, this 7th edition been reorganized to better reflect contemporary clinical practice and includes?nine new chapters, revised units on health promotion, health protection, disease management, and much, much more! Four-part organization?includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. UNIQUE! Reorganized Unit - Health Supervision: Health Promotion and Health Protection - includes?health promotion and health protection for developmentally normal pediatric problems of daily living and provides the foundations for health problem management. UNIQUE! Reorganized Unit - Common Childhood Diseases/Disorders has been expanded to sharpen the focus on management of diseases and disorders in children. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. UNIQUE! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child's growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Nine new chapters include: Unique Issues in Pediatrics Genetics and Child Health Environmental Issues Children with Special Healthcare Needs Developmental Management of Newborns Intentional and Unintentional Injuries: Injury Prevention and Child Maltreatment Perinatal Disorders Developmental, Behavioral and Mental Health Disorders NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare including Bright Futures and Healthy People 2020.
Call Number: RJ245 .P43 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology, 4 vols. Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology, Second Edition provides a comprehensive and concise reference on all aspects of gastroenterology and hepatology, including the organs in the gastrointestinal system, their functions in health and disease, and strategies or procedures to resolve or prevent problems and disease. This concise, up-to-date information includes comprehensive sections on the impact of nutrition, gastrointestinal microbiota, lifestyle, commonly used drugs, and surgical procedures on health and disease. Since the first edition, attention to the roles of nutrition and gastrointestinal microorganisms (microbiota, formerly Microbiota) in health and disease has skyrocketed. In addition, an entirely new section on obesity and diabetes is included.
Call Number: RC801 .E52 2020x
Family Practice Guidelines This bible of family practice for primary care clinicians and students provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, this resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient-education handouts. Now in color with abundant images and illustrations, this fifth edition features thoroughly updated guidelines and recommendations to reflect latest in practice, as well as many new guidelines. Each of the diagnoses includes definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan.Key Features: Presents information for disorders in consistent format for ease of use Highlights key considerations with Practice Pointers Provides individual care points for pediatric, pregnant, and geriatric patients Includes 138 printable Patient Teaching Guides Offers 18 procedure guidelines and routine health maintenance guidelines Features appendices that provide guidelines on normal lab values, special diets, Tanner's Sexual Maturity Stages, and teeth Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT120.F34 F357 2021
Firestein & Kelley's Textbook of Rheumatology, 2-Volume Set Through 10 outstanding editions, Kelley & Firestein's Textbook of Rheumatology has provided authoritative, in-depth guidance in rheumatology with an ideal balance of basic science and clinical application. The 11th Edition of this classic text continues this tradition of excellence, while keeping you abreast of recent advances in genetics and the microbiome, new therapies such as biologics and biosimilars, and other rapid changes in the field. It provides comprehensive, global coverage of all aspects of diagnosis, screening, and treatment in both adults and children, in a user-friendly, full color reference. Covers everything from basic science, immunology, anatomy, and physiology to diagnostic tests, procedures, and specific disease processes-including key data on therapeutic outcomes to better inform clinical decision making. Includes new chapters on Innate Lymphoid Cells and Natural Killer Cells, Pathogenesis of Inflammasome Mediated Diseases, Bisphosphonates, Ultrasound Evaluation of the Musculoskeletal System, and Evaluation of Monoarticular and Polyarticular Arthritis. Features 1,200 high-quality illustrations, including superb line art, quick-reference tables, and full-color clinical photographs. Shares the knowledge and expertise of internationally renowned scientists and clinicians, including new editor Dr. Gary Koretzky, specialist in immunology and rheumatology. Demonstrates the complete musculoskeletal exam in online videos, including abnormal findings and the arthroscopic presentation of diseased joints. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC927 .T49 2021
Motor Speech Disorders: substrates, differential diagnosis and management Ensure you're up to speed with the most recent findings in motor speech disorders. One of the most trusted sources on this topic, Motor Speech Disorders integrates the latest neurological research with the realities of clinical practice. The fourth edition is divided into three sections which focus on substrates of motor speech and its disorders, the disorders and their diagnoses, and finally managing various treatment types. Additionally, new research on the neurologic organization of motor control, causes of motor speech disorders, and advances in the medical and behavioral management of specific disorders is incorporated throughout. Supported by a robust evolve site, this outstanding, evidence-based resource provides everything you need to become a skilled clinical practitioner. UPDATED! Over 400 literature references emphasize clinically important information for each major part of the textbook. UPDATED Illustrations throughout text enhance your understanding of key concepts. UPDATED Case studies in Disorders chapters help clarify dense and difficult content and help hone your critical thinking skills. Cutting-edge research with an emphasis on evidence-based practice ensures that this book contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date look at the state of motor speech disorders. Logical three-part organization first covers the neurologic underpinnings of speech, then the various disorders resulting from problems in the nervous system, and then the basic principles and disorder-specific management strategies. Summary tables and boxes offer easy access to important information such as causes and characteristics to aid in differential diagnosis. Chapter outline and summary sections highlight key points to help you to focus on the most significant information. NEW! 24 new audio and video clips demonstrating various disorders have been added to the accompanying Evolve website, totaling over 150 audio and video clips in the interactive PowerPoint presentations. NEW! Clinical insights and key information summaries call out need-to-know information throughout text.
Call Number: RC423 .D84 2020
Werner and Ingbars the Thyroid: a fundamental and clinical text Through ten outstanding editions, Werner & Ingbar's The Thyroid: A Fundamental and Clinical Text has been the go-to reference for the most comprehensive coverage of the thyroid, including anatomy, development, biochemistry, physiology, pathophysiology, and treatment of all thyroid disorders. Now in full color throughout, the 11th Edition of this award-winning text remains the clinician's preferred source of authoritative information on the thyroid--an essential resource for all endocrinologists and thyroid surgeons. Includes thorough updates and new content throughout the text, especially on thyroid cytopathology, thyroid imaging, and targeted therapy of thyroid cancer as well as a new full-color format. Covers all aspects of the thyroid, including thyroid hormone synthesis and secretion, thyroid function, and disorders such as thyrotoxicosis, hypothyroidism, and cancer. Discusses surgical management of thyroid cancer, thyroid disruptors, thyroid hormone analogs, thyroid dysfunction's effects on other organ systems, the aging thyroid, subclinical hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism, and thyroid disease in pregnancy. Features insights from international experts, including new editor Dr. Peter Kopp of Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC655 .W39 2021
Management/Employee Development Books
The Art of Being Indispensable at Work: win influence beat overcommitment and get the right things done What's the secret to being indispensable—a true go-to person—in today's workplace? With new technology, constant change and uncertainty, and far-flung virtual teams, getting things done at work is tougher and more complex than ever. We're in the midst of a collaboration revolution, working with everyone, all the time, across silos and platforms. But sometimes it feels like we're stuck in a no-win cycle—dealing with an overwhelming influx of asks, with unclear lines of communication and authority. Overcommitment syndrome looms larger than ever before. But even amid the seeming chaos, there's always that indispensable go-to person who thrives on their many working relationships with people all over the organization chart. How do they do it? Go-to people consistently make themselves valuable to others, maintain a positive attitude of service, are creative and tenacious, and take personal responsibility for getting the right things done. In this game-changing yet practical book, talent guru and bestselling author Bruce Tulgan reveals the secrets of the go-to person in our new world of work. Based on an intensive study of people at all levels, in all kinds of organizations, Tulgan shows how go-to people think and behave differently, building up their influence with others—not by trying to do everything for everybody but by doing the right things at the right times for the right reasons, regardless of whether they have the formal authority. This book will teach you to: Understand the peculiar mathematics of real influence Lead from wherever you are—up, down, sideways, and diagonal Know when to say "no" or "not yet," and how to say "yes" Keep getting better and better at working together And much more. The Art of Being Indispensable at Work is the new How to Win Friends and Influence People for an era in which the guardrails of traditional management have been pulled away.
Call Number: HD38.2 .T847 2020
BurnoutRx for Healthcare Professionals In this book, Dr. Strich gives you a simple tool to measure your risk for burnout and keep track of your recovery. Using his 30 years of experience in clinical medicine, his own experience with professional burnout, and his experience coaching physicians, nurses, social workers and other healthcare professionals and managers, he gives you a 10 step program that you can follow on your own or with a coach. This trademarked program will bolster your resilience, increase your job performance and satisfaction, improve your relationships and bring meaning and purpose back into your life.
Call Number: RC963.48 .S77 2019x
Coaching for Results: the 5 tips that drive performance We are all looking for answers to the challenge of building talent in our organizations and enhancing the performance of our team members. Finding the solution to this complex puzzle begins with Coaching for Results and the Coaching TIPS²¿ Model developed by CMOE. Whether you are in the private or public sector, or work in a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, leaders are essential in engaging people, unleashing their motivation, and helping them live up to their potential. Coaching for Results demystifies coaching by immersing you in the specific skills that are required of all world-class coaches and explains what you need to do to get started on enhancing your own coaching skills. It offers simple and timeless truths about how leaders and managers should talk to their team members, employees, or colleagues about business results and job performance. The basis for this book, CMOE's Coaching TIPS²¿ Model, is a proven process for coaching others effectively in the workplace. The Model developed out of years of research on the habits and behaviors of the most successful coaches working in challenging job environments. Drawing on our decades of inquiry and investigation, we designed our Coaching TIPS²¿ Model to be a concise, easy-to-understand, highly applicable guide for navigating through all kinds of coaching interactions. Coaching for Results is a compact read with sound and practical advice for today's fast-paced world. If you are uncomfortable coaching others or feel confused about how and who to coach (and what to coach on), the examples, case studies, and specific, actionable steps contained within this book will leave you feeling more at ease and motivated to begin the coaching process with your team members. Some of the coaching principles explored in this book will validate what you already do well in your coaching interactions; others may surprise and enlighten you. Regardless of your position in the organization or the industry in which you work, you will be able to clearly see the path to success by coaching others to improve their performance and results using Coaching for Results and CMOE's Coaching TIPS²¿ Model.
Call Number: HF5549.5.C53 S76 2019x
Conflict Management for Managers: resolving workplace, client and policy disputes Conflict Management for Managers: Resolving Workplace, Client, and Policy Disputes provides current and future organizational leaders with the knowledge and skills necessary to prevent and manage every common source of conflict faced at work. Great managers and leaders understand they must communicate effectively, lead diverse teams, provide effective feedback, meet customer expectations, attend to organizational culture, and proactively manage relationships with vendors and regulators. This text provides skill-building exercises to help you lead effective meetings, build strong teams, conduct performance appraisals that motivate team members, coach employees and other managers through difficult times, and craft a positive brand image for both your organization and your own career. The text is divided into three sections: Conflict Management & Collaboration basics, including assessments designed to rate your current skills and set goals for growth; Strategies for preventing conflicts inside your work teams and organizations, including tips for giving feedback, motivating team members, and creating positive organizational cultures; and Processes and skills for enhancing relationships with external stakeholders such as customers, vendors, and regulators. Thoroughly updated, this new edition incorporates a greater number of skill-building exercises, discussion questions, and goal-setting suggestions to allow for the active transition of these skills from the printed page into your daily work life.
Call Number: HD42 .R35 2020
Financial Management of Health Care Organizations: an introduction to fundamental tools, concepts and applications This thoroughly revised and updated Fifth Edition of Financial Management of Health Care Organizations offers an introduction to the tools and techniques of health care financial management. The book covers a wide range of topics, including information on the health care system and evolving reimbursement methodologies; health care accounting and financial statements; managing cash, billings, and collections; the time value of money and analyzing and financing major capital investments; determining cost and using cost information in decision-making; budgeting and performance measurement; and pricing. The revised edition covers new accounting changes for nonprofit hospitals with respect to net asset accounts, and includes an array of new financial statement problem sets for nonprofit hospitals. These changes also required major changes to the recording of financial transactions and implementing the latest financial ratio benchmarks. With the newest payment developments in the health care landscape, this new edition updates changes to Medicare and commercial payment systems. The passage of the new tax law also impacted hospital capital markets and for-profit hospital tax rates. This latest edition explains the impact of this tax law change on tax-exempt hospital bonds purchased by banks, as well as presenting problem sets featuring the new taxes law. Finally, changes in lease financing reporting are also addressed in this edition.
Call Number: RA971.3 .Z45 2020
Joyful: the surprising power of ordinary things to create extraordinary happiness Designer and TED star Ingrid Fetell Lee presents groundbreaking research to explain how making small changes to your surroundings can create extraordinary happiness in your life. Next Big Idea Club selection -- chosen by Malcolm Gladwell, Susan Cain, Dan Pink, and Adam Grant as one of the "two most groundbreaking new nonfiction reads of the season!" "This book has the power to change everything! Writing with depth, wit, and insight, Ingrid Fetell Lee shares all you need to know in order to create external environments that give rise to inner joy."-Susan Cain, author of Quiet and founder of Quiet Revolution Have you ever wondered why we stop to watch the orange glow that arrives before sunset, or why we flock to see cherry blossoms bloom in spring? Is there a reason that people -- regardless of gender, age, culture, or ethnicity -- are mesmerized by baby animals, and can't help but smile when they see a burst of confetti or a cluster of colorful balloons. We are often made to feel that the physical world has little or no impact on our inner joy. Increasingly, experts urge us to find balance and calm by looking inward -- through mindfulness or meditation -- and muting the outside world. But what if the natural vibrancy of our surroundings is actually our most renewable and easily accessible source of joy? In Joyful, designer Ingrid Fetell Lee explores how the seemingly mundane spaces and objects we interact with every day have surprising and powerful effects on our mood. Drawing on insights from neuroscience and psychology, she explains why one setting makes us feel anxious or competitive, while another fosters acceptance and delight -- and, most importantly, she reveals how we can harness the power of our surroundings to live fuller, healthier, and truly joyful lives.
Call Number: BF575.H27 L437 2018x
No Hard Feelings: the secret power of embracing emotions at work Wall Street Journal Bestseller! Next Big Idea Club selection―chosen by Malcolm Gladwell, Susan Cain, Dan Pink, and Adam Grant as one of the "two most groundbreaking new nonfiction reads of the season!" "A must-read that topples the idea that emotions don't belong in the workplace." --Susan Cain, author of Quiet A hilarious guide to effectively expressing your emotions at the office, finding fulfillment, and defining work-life balance on your own terms. How do you stop the office grouch from ruining your day? How do you enjoy a vacation without obsessing about the unanswered emails in your inbox? If you're a boss, what should you do when your new, eager hire wants to follow you on Instagram? The modern workplace can be an emotional minefield, filled with confusing power structures and unwritten rules. We're expected to be authentic, but not too authentic. Professional, but not stiff. Friendly, but not an oversharer. Easier said than done! As both organizational consultants and regular people, we know what it's like to experience uncomfortable emotions at work - everything from mild jealousy and insecurity to panic and rage. Ignoring or suppressing what you feel hurts your health and productivity -- but so does letting your emotions run wild. Our goal in this book is to teach you how to figure out which emotions to toss, which to keep to yourself, and which to express in order to be both happier and more effective. We'll share some surprising new strategies, such as: * Be selectively vulnerable: Be honest about how you feel, but don't burden others with your deepest problems. * Remember that your feelings aren't facts: What we say isn't always what we mean. In times of conflict and miscommunication, try to talk about your emotions without getting emotional. * Be less passionate about your job: Taking a chill pill can actually make you healthier and more focused. Drawing on what we've learned from behavioral economics, psychology, and our own experiences at countless organizations, we'll show you how to bring your best self (and your whole self) to work every day.
Call Number: HF5548.8 .F67 2019
Patient No Longer: why healthcare must deliver the care experience that consumers want and expect "The coronavirus pandemic has validated the principles of this book--that we need healthcare with no address, helping people where they are and when they need it," writes Dr. Stephen K. Klasko in Patient No Longer: Why Healthcare Must Deliver the Care Experience That Consumers Want and Expect. "Telehealth worked. Providing guidance to families worked. Listening worked. Even under our greatest threat since World War II, the principles of using digital medicine to get care out to people turned out to be critical." Dr. Klasko and Ryan Donohue explore this evolving delivery model in a fascinating look at the history of patient-centric care and the rise of the healthcare consumer as a powerful new voice. In addition to the compelling reasons why consumer-centric care is so crucial, the authors share how leaders can work to build health systems focused on it. As healthcare consumers continue to demand the same types of interactions they enjoy in other industries, healthcare organizations must work hard to build frictionless customer experiences that create lasting connections and build genuine loyalty. This book describes a once-in-an-era transformation in healthcare. Is your organization ready?
Call Number: RA418 .D67 2021x
Race, Work, and Leadership: new perspectives on the black experience Rethinking How to Build Inclusive Organizations Race, Work, and Leadership is a rare and important compilation of essays that examines how race matters in people's experience of work and leadership. What does it mean to be black in corporate America today? How are racial dynamics in organizations changing? How do we build inclusive organizations? Inspired by and developed in conjunction with the research and programming for Harvard Business School's commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the HBS African American Student Union, this groundbreaking book shines new light on these and other timely questions and illuminates the present-day dynamics of race in the workplace. Contributions from top scholars, researchers, and practitioners in leadership, organizational behavior, psychology, sociology, and education test the relevance of long-held assumptions and reconsider the research approaches and interventions needed to understand and advance African Americans in work settings and leadership roles. At a time when--following a peak in 2002--there are fewer African American men and women in corporate leadership roles, Race, Work, and Leadership will stimulate new scholarship and dialogue on the organizational and leadership challenges of African Americans and become the indispensable reference for anyone committed to understanding, studying, and acting on the challenges facing leaders who are building inclusive organizations.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 R34 2019
Resilient Threads: weaving joy and meaning into well-being Physician burnout, depression, and suicide are tearing at the fabric of our health care system, which Mukta Panda has witnessed firsthand. In a culture that privileges evidence over empathy, technology over touch, and what's measurable over what's meaningful, many of us-no matter our profession-feel more fragmented and isolated than ever. In RESILIENT THREADS: WEAVING JOY AND MEANING INTO WELL-BEING, Dr. Panda gives voice to the exhaustion and gives courage for another way. As a physician and medical educator, she has fought to return human touch to healthcare. As a mother, she has committed-and sometimes failed-to balance the personal with the professional. And as an immigrant, she has clung to the wisdom of her family and faith in the face of discrimination and fear. By weaving stories of connecting to her patients, students, and colleagues with her own stories of belonging, she models how we can each thrive by creating community and self-awareness. "Ritual, relationships, and re?ection are key threads in how I learned to thrive," Dr. Panda writes in the introduction. So, too, are they key for the thriving of our world. The well-being of our clinicians and patients, teachers and students, parents and children depends on integrating these threads into a new social fabric, one that honors the whole of who we are with what we do.
Call Number: BF698.35.R47 P35 2020x
The United States Healthcare System: Overview, Driving Forces, and Outlook for the Future The complexity of the United States healthcare system is well known, as are its challenges and shortcomings. A vital task in the years ahead will be to transition the system toward a new paradigm--one that more effectively balances quality, costs, and access to support the overall well-being of the American people. The United States Healthcare System: Overview, Driving Forces, and Outlook for the Future is intended for the healthcare professionals who will lead the transformation to optimized health and healthcare solutions. The book presents a broad overview of the system's numerous components, assesses the historical influences that brought us to our present state, and examines the trends and emerging opportunities through which we can attain a better future. The book's chapters establish a firm knowledge base for each topic while also inviting deeper discussion and further exploration. Collectively, they aim to foster a thorough, multidimensional understanding of how the healthcare system functions, how it has evolved, and how it can be improved.
Call Number: RA412.2 .W34 2021x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?