Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
ATI TEAS Practice Test Questions 2021-2022 Updated for the ATI TEAS's 2021 exam, Trivium Test Prep's unofficial NEW ATI TEAS Practice Test Questions 2021-2022: TEAS 6 Exam Prep with 300+ Practice Questions for the Test of Essential Academic Skills, Sixth Edition provides you with a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with real examples, graphics, and information. This isn't just another typical practice test book: because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that isn't like most study guides. Our study materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. ATI was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS Practice Test Questions 2021-2022 has more than 300 practice questions on: ReadingReading PassagesInformational Sources MathematicsNumbers and OperationsAlgebraGeometryStatistics ScienceAnatomy and PhysiologyLife SciencePhysical ScienceScientific Reasoning English and Language UsageGrammar and VocabularySentence Structure About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Call Number: LB2353.7.T35 A85 2020x
Clinical Nurse Leader Certification Review, Third Edition Includes 6 months free ExamPrepConnect Digital Access with print purchase! The third edition of this gold standard for CNL certification review continues to provide healthcare facilities and clients with validation of the qualifications and knowledge of this advanced nursing generalist practice role. This certification review is a product of Dr. King's rigorous exam preparation course, which resulted in a 100% pass rate among students. This review serves as a helpful guide for faculty on how to design CNL review courses, and has been used to teach in CNL programs, as well as for students and nurses preparing to take the exam. Following an introductory section examining the CNL role, how to make the best use of the review, and strategies for taking tests, this text is organized to reflect the latest exam content outline, mirroring the domains and subdomains of the exam. It provides detailed information on how to analyze and interpret exam questions, disseminates expert test-taking skills, and offers a detailed content review of everything you need to know for exam success. It delivers new information corresponding to the new Commission on Nurse Certification (CNC) outline, with updated chapters on healthcare advocacy and ethics, lateral integration, interprofessional skills, team coordination, and evidence-based practice. New to the Third Edition: Reflects updates and revisions based on the most recent exam content outline Provides 200 new multiple-choice Q&As with rationale created from scratch Delivers 16 new unfolding case studies Offers new objectives, updated summaries, and innovative review activities to reinforce material in each chapter Key Features: Explains how to analyze and interpret questions for exam success Promotes savvy test-taking skills Includes a comprehensive exam with answers and rationales Includes an expanded glossary and additional tables and figures Provides easy access to information with an appendix that cross-references questions to appropriate exam content topics
Call Number: RT55 .C55 2021
The DNP Project Workbook: a step-by-step process for success Streamlines the DNP project into clear, concrete, and manageable steps. Authored by nurse educators with an in-depth understanding of the challenges of the DNP project, this text provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP project process. By incorporating active learning activities into project development, the workbook delivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining the DNP project. It fosters critical-thinking and innovation, while also providing a means for faculty to measure and document the progress of project milestones. The DNP Project Workbook offers more than 100 activities that address all facets of the DNP project, including the identification, investigation, and framing of problems; project team assembly; research; methodology; implementation; and dissemination. This resource also includes examples of a variety of DNP projects to demonstrate the successful integration of all elements. The activities may be completed within the workbook or in online, editable PDFs for easy submission to faculty. Instructor resources include a manual with selected completed activities, PowerPoint slides, and blank activities and templates. Key Features: Provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP project process Offers more than 100 active learning activities that address all facets of the DNP project Delivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining DNP projects Facilitates measurement and documentation of project milestones Features examples of a variety of DNP projects Includes robust faculty resources-an instructor manual with selected completed activities, PowerPoint slides, and blank activities and templates Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT73 .B733 2021x
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor: keys to providing a successful preceptorship "This book is a great resource for these seasoned nurses as well, with its comprehensive review of basics like shift organization, prioritization, communication, delegation, and conflict resolution. It also covers the dreaded reality shock that new nurses will face after the honeymoon phase, how to recognize those who are struggling, how to encourage critical thinking, and how to prepare for the future when the preceptorship is over. Throughout the book, Ms. Ciocco gives great examples of problem-solving dos and don'ts, checklists, and forms"--
Call Number: RT42 .C56 2021
Fast Facts for Writing the DNP Project: effective, structure, content and presentation Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Write an exceptional, impactful DNP project paper! This mentor-in-a-book will help nursing students develop a high-quality, well-organized DNP project paper by using the time-tested, proven IMRaD (Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion) format-the gold standard for scientific writing in health care. Far beyond the simple outlines and rubrics usually offered to DNP students, this book provides guidance on how to write a DNP Project that presents scholarly work in an effective way. Written in concise "Fast Facts" format characterized by bulleted information and short paragraphs, this book delivers clear, step-by-step guidance to create each section of the DNP paper. To provide a consistent example of a well-crafted paper, this guide follows a specific clinical topic throughout to clearly demonstrate the paper's development. It also discusses the foundational knowledge needed prior to writing the paper and presents a step-by-step guide for aligning EBP and QI projects to each IMRaD component. This guide offers key insights into what faculty will expect for each content section and presents talking points for student/faculty discussions. Literature appraisal tables and synthesis tables are presented in the literature review section along with detailed rationale for optimal use. Key Features: Serves as the only DNP resource to embrace the time-tested IMRaD model Describes the necessary components of DNP Project presentation, including dissemination Delivers clear, step-by-step guidance to complete the DNP Project Book chapters progress through the development of a DNP paper Provides faculty tips so instructors can help students produce quality scholarly work
Call Number: RT76 .C57 2021x
How to Nurse: relational inquiry in action How to Nurse: Relational Inquiry in Action, Second Edition, presents a groundbreaking, research-informed approach to help students engage in a thoughtful process of inquiry to more intentionally and consciously develop their knowledge and nursing practice, boost their confidence and ability to act in alignment with their nursing values and competently navigate the complexities of contemporary healthcare settings as they care for patients and families. Focusing on the "how" of relational inquiry instead of the "what," the text's conversational style and concrete examples make complex ideas more accessible while encouraging in-depth exploration. Each chapter gradually builds on existing knowledge to ensure understanding for readers at all levels, accompanied by engaging tools that bridge theoretical approaches to practical application in clinical settings. UPDATED! Revised content reflects the most current practices informed by the latest evidence-based research. NEW! Relational Inquiry Toolbox features highlight knowledge, strategies, inquiry frameworks and checkpoints to strengthen your everyday nursing practice. To Illustrate features reinforce key concepts with real-life examples of patients and families, former students, practice nurses and clinical nurse specialists. Try it Out activities challenge you to engage with chapter content and apply concepts in a range of ways. Text Boxes summarize essential relational inquiry ideas and strategies at a glance. Figures and Images clarify the relationship between ideas and stimulate your critical thinking capabilities. Learning Objectives help you prioritize chapter content and make the most of your study. An Example stories illustrate key points in the text.
Call Number: RT86.4 .D63 2021
NCLEX-RN Review Made Incredibly Easy! NCLEX-RN REVIEW MADE INCREDIBLY EASY, 6E is designed to help nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. The book blends critical content review in an easy-to-follow and bulleted format, pharmacology tables that summarize core medication information, and thousands of questions covering all the Client Need categories of NCLEX and the major content areas of pre-licensure programs. The book is divided into seven parts. Part I explains the basics of NCLEX test construction and gives ideas to students about how they should prepare. Parts II to V are designed to support the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: medical-surgical, psychiatric/mental health, maternity, and pediatric nursing. Within these four sections, each begins with a bulleted content review of essential concepts, followed by multiple questions and answers in a side-by-side format. Part VI, "Issues in Nursing," emphasizes content areas that do not easily fall in any of the other sections: management/supervision and ethical/legal issues. Part VII consists of two comprehensive tests. One contains 75 questions (the minimum number of items any student taking the NCLEX RN will receive) and the other contains 265 questions (the maximum number of items any student taking the NCLEX RN will receive). The product offers more than 3,000 questions that prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. The questions align with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2019 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination.Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, and information about the NCLEX-RN. An accompanying code gives student access to a 7-day free trial of Lippincott PassPoint-RN.
Call Number: RT55 .N74 2020
The New Leadership Challenge: creating the future of nursing Coverage of classic and contemporary leadership theories Focuses on personal leadership development, as well as the distinction between leadership and management. Addresses both followership and leadership and the differences and similarities between related leadership roles. Balances theory with real-world case studies from clinical practice and education and offers critical-thinking exercises to help you develop your leadership potential and to solve problems. Uses the Grossman and Valiga Leadership Characteristics and Skills Assessment tool to help you evaluate your leadership abilities and skills. Reviews the new directions in the field with coverage of timely topics, including leading the workforce as a nurse leader, building capability and capacity, the idea that change is the new normal, creative leadership, digitalization, and mindfulness.
Call Number: RT89 .G77 2021
PeriAnesthesia Nursing Core Curriculum: Preprocedure, Phase I and Phase II PACU Nursing Prepare to succeed on the CPAN® and CAPA® exams with this authoritative guide from ASPAN!?PeriAnesthesia Nursing Core Curriculum, 4th Edition is a comprehensive reference that helps you care for patients before and after anesthesia in all types of settings. Coverage of the full scope of perianesthesia nursing makes it an ideal resource for both inpatient and outpatient care. To keep you current on the many facets of perianesthesia, this edition also describes the newest advances in interventional radiology, robotics, and endoscopy procedures. Written by the American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses (ASPAN) and edited by respected perianesthesia nurses Lois Schick and Pam Windle, this book will help you build the skills and expertise you need to excel on your certification exam and in practice. Perianesthesia Complications chapter now appears after the System Competencies section to quickly display complications for all system competencies in one spot to help you find this vital information easily. System Competencies chapters have been updated to focus on specific, non-redundant topics to help you grasp key points right away. UPDATED! Certification of Perianesthesia Nurses and Testing Concepts and Strategies appendicies provide helpful tools for CPAN® or CAPA® certification to assist you to prepare for these exams. This authoritative guide written by ASPAN covers the full scope of perianesthesia practice to help you prepare to succeed in practice and on the CPAN® and CAPA® exams. Easy-to-use outline format serves as a quick review and reference. Objectives at the beginning of each chapter focus on key content to allow you to use the book more effectively. Plentiful boxes, tables and illustrations highlight important references to ensure you get the most out of the book's mutifaceted topics. A bibliography at the end of every chapter provides additional resources to make it easy for you to research at an in-depth level. NEW! Two-color and two-column design arranges information logically to help you quickly find key information. NEW! Content on enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), gender diversity, DNR/DNAR/DNI, and the drug Bridion® (sugammadex) showcases a wide variety of important topics to help you gain a deep understanding of the spectrum of perianesthesia. NEW! Updated content reflects changes in the ASPAN Core Curriculum as well as CPAN® and CAPA® testing to ensure you stay current in perianesthesia in the classroom and in clinicals.
Call Number: RD51.3 .A43 2021
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 T73 2021
Biomaterials Science: an introduction to materials in medicine The revised edition of the renowned and bestselling title is the most comprehensive single text on all aspects of biomaterials science from principles to applications. Biomaterials Science, fourth edition, provides a balanced, insightful approach to both the learning of the science and technology of biomaterials and acts as the key reference for practitioners who are involved in the applications of materials in medicine. This new edition incorporates key updates to reflect the latest relevant research in the field, particularly in the applications section, which includes the latest in topics such as nanotechnology, robotic implantation, and biomaterials utilized in cancer research detection and therapy. Other additions include regenerative engineering, 3D printing, personalized medicine and organs on a chip. Translation from the lab to commercial products is emphasized with new content dedicated to medical device development, global issues related to translation, and issues of quality assurance and reimbursement. In response to customer feedback, the new edition also features consolidation of redundant material to ensure clarity and focus. Biomaterials Science, 4th edition is an important update to the best-selling text, vital to the biomaterials' community.
Call Number: R857.M3 B5735 2020
Diabetic Neuropathy and Clinical Practice Diabetic Neuropathy and Clinical Practice aims to improve the pathophysiological understanding of the entire spectrum from sensory motor to autonomic diabetic neuropathy, its correlation with the symptoms, improving thereby the communication with the patient including prognostication and other tools that one should utilize to better management. It also emphasizes the need to regain the grip on the basic sciences of clinical medicine to deal with it better - Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry and Pathology and gives the necessary details. The volume aims at explaining what the clinicians need most to help patients and may not possess.
Call Number: RC422.D52 K45 2020x
Fields Virology - Emerging Viruses Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, including coronavirus and COVID-19, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format, which are sold separately: Emerging Viruses DNA Viruses RNA Viruses Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: QR360 .V5125 2021
Krause and Mahan's Food and the Nutrition Care Process A trusted classic for over 50 years, Krause and Mahan's Food & the Nutrition Care Process, 15th Edition presents the most up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field to ensure you provide optimal nutritional care. It offers cutting-edge, comprehensive coverage of a full range of dietetics topics, all in one book. You'll benefit from in-depth information from clinical specialists that provides practical and evidence-based recommendations related to nutrition assessment and intervention, nutritional needs of individuals in different stages of the life cycle, nutrition for health and fitness, and medical nutrition therapy. UNIQUE! Pathophysiology algorithms present the cause, pathophysiology, and medical nutrition management for a variety of disorders and conditions to help you provide optimal nutritional care. UPDATED! Inflammation and the Pathophysiology of Chronic Disease chapter offers vital information to help you understand how diet and nutrition affect the body and contribute to disease processes. UPDATED! Part III: Nutrition in the Life Cycle section of chapters explains the newest nutrition guidelines from pregnancy through adult years to increase your understanding of the nutritional needs of patients at every age. Clinical case studies help you translate academic knowledge into practical patient care using the nutrition care process. Nutrition Diagnosis boxes present a problem, its etiology, and its signs and symptoms before concluding with a sample nutrition diagnosis, providing you with real-life scenarios you may encounter in practice. Clinical Insight boxes expand on clinical information, highlight new areas of focus, and contain clinical resources for your studies. NEW! Food-Nutrient Delivery: Planning the Diet with Cultural Competency chapter provides international nutrition guidelines and resources to assist you with multicultural meal planning. NEW! Clinical: Nutritional Genomics chapter features an author from the NIH's Human Genome Project and introduces you to the latest research about CRISPR and epigenetics. NEW! MNT for Neurologic Disorders chapter features two new authors, including a speech therapist, and displays IDDSI guidelines and an appendix for dysphagia diets to help you carefully and consistently address the nutritional needs of these patients. NEW! Clinical: Water, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Balance and Clinical: Biochemical, Physical, and Functional Assessment chapters are updated with the most relevant and evidence-based complementary and integrative approaches to expand your expertise in these clinical nutritional areas. NEW! MNT for Adverse Reactions to Food: Food Allergies and Intolerance chapter features completely revised guidelines and a new pathophysiology algorithm to ensure you are confident in your knowledge of how to prevent emergencies and what to do when emergencies do happen. NEW! Coverage of intermittent fasting, health at every size, and health disparities focuses on the latest nutrition trends to ensure you are well-versed in these topics. NEW! The Mediterranean Diet, Choline, and Biotin appendices display at-a-glance information to help you find quickly supplemental information. NEW! Directions boxes and Focus On boxes, as well as useful websites, resources, and key terms at the end of each chapter, help you find information quickly and easily.
Call Number: RM216 .M285 2021
Myles Textbook for Midwives Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.
Call Number: RG524 .M985 2020
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, Fifth Edition A regional and functional approach to learning human neuroanatomy - enhanced by additional full-color illustrations and PowerPoint® slides of all images in the text for instructors! Neuroanatomy: Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior. This trusted text thoroughly covers the sensory, motor, and integrative skills of the brains and presents an overview of the function in relation to structure and the locations of the major pathways and neuronal integrative regions. Neuroanatomy: Text and Atlas also teaches readers how to interpret the new wealth of human brain images by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. The authoritative core content of myelin-stained histological sections is enhanced by informative line illustrations, angiography, and brain views produced by MRI, and other imaging technologies. * Revised and updated to reflect advances in clinical neuroanatomy and neural science * Full-color illustrations enrich the text, including many new to this edition * Chapters begin with a clinical case to illustrate the connections and functions of the key material * Chapters end with a series of multiple-choice review questions * NEW Online learning center will display brain views produced by MRI and PET * Increases knowledge of the regional and functional organization of the spinal cord and brain, one system at a time * Provides thorough coverage of the sensory, motor, and integrative systems of the brain, together with cerebral vasculature * Promotes understanding of the complex details of neuroanatomy needed for accurate interpretation of radiological image * Comprehensive atlas provides key views of the surface anatomy of the central nervous systems and photographs of myelin-stained sections in three anatomical planes * Includes learning aids such as clinical topics, boxes, chapter summaries, and a Glossary of key terms and structures
Call Number: QM451 .M27 2021
Pain Management in Primary Care Written specifically for APRNs and PAs, this evidence-based text delivers practical guidance on how to assess, treat, and manage patients with pain in the primary care and family practice setting. Written by pain management experts well versed in both pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic therapies, the text encompasses the entire scope of pain management. Following an overview of the sources and physiology of pain, Pain Management in Primary Care delineates a multidimensional assessment approach and guides readers in developing a patient care plan. With an emphasis on strategies for safe prescribing, an extensive portion of the book addresses regulatory considerations, special populations, and thorough coverage of how to safely prescribe opioids. This includes risk screening, proper management, and identification and treatment of withdrawal. Woven throughout is a focus on the importance of interprofessional communication and collaboration in effective pain management. The text also provides concise, easy-to-reference information about medications, supplements, and non-opioid therapeutics. Abundant case scenarios and clinical pearls help readers apply knowledge to their own practice. Key Features: Covers the entire scope of pain management with evidence-based guidance on assessment, treatment, and pain management Emphasizes strategies for safely prescribing medications Includes detailed information on non-opioid and over-the counter-medications, opioids, and interventional pain management options Provides risk-screening tools and tips for proper selection, titration, and tapering of medications Describes how to identify and treat opioid withdrawal Illustrates application of knowledge to practice with case scenarios and clinical pearls Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RB127 .D37 2021x
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RB111 .R62 2021
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
Management/Employee Development Books
Becoming the Change: Leadership Behavior Strategies for Continuous Improvement in Healthcare Two renowned experts in healthcare transformation show how leaders are implementing behavior-driven strategies to ensure quality care and create lasting change. Healthcare is in the midst of a massive disruption. With financial structures in tatters and the future uncertain, this is the moment to begin the revolution. But first, leaders need to learn how to support staff at all levels as they make transformational improvements in care. This book demonstrates that real change is very personal and has to start at the top―whether you're an executive, governing board member, manager, or physician. A powerful new approach to healthcare leadership, this book showcases executives in health systems around the world as they: Practice behavior-based solutions to organizational problems Learn how to support continuous improvement Be more present in their leadership role Learn how to reflect and assess themselves as leaders Achieve better results for patients Drawing on a wealth of behavioral research, industry case studies, and personal insights from healthcare professionals, the authors explore how change actually happens--from the inside out, top to bottom, throughout the whole organization. You'll learn how healthcare systems led by people who are compassionate, principled, and engaged can undergo profound and lasting transformation. Find proven strategies for cultivating principle-driven behaviors that can turn the remotest possibilities on the healthcare horizon into a new working reality. This is more than a leadership guide to revolutionizing healthcare. This is about being a force for change that makes life better for patients, caregivers, and all stakeholders. If you want to take the lead in making change happen, start with Becoming the Change.
Call Number: RA971 .T678 2021
Coronavirus: leadership + recovery Lead through the crisis and prepare for recovery. As the Covid-19 pandemic is exacting its toll on the global economy, forward-looking organizations are moving past crisis management and positioning themselves to leap ahead when the worst is over. What should you and your organization be doing now to address today's unprecedented challenges while laying the foundation needed to emerge stronger? Coronavirus: Leadership and Recovery provides you with essential thinking about managing your company through the pandemic, keeping your employees (and yourself) healthy and productive, and spurring your business to continue innovating and reinventing itself ahead of the recovery. Business is changing. Will you adapt or be left behind? Get up to speed and deepen your understanding of the topics that are shaping your company's future with the Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review series. Featuring HBR's smartest thinking on fast-moving issues—blockchain, cybersecurity, AI, and more—each book provides the foundational introduction and practical case studies your organization needs to compete today and collects the best research, interviews, and analysis to get it ready for tomorrow. You can't afford to ignore how these issues will transform the landscape of business and society. The Insights You Need series will help you grasp these critical ideas—and prepare you and your company for the future.
Call Number: RA644.C67 C68 2020
Diversity in the Workplace: eye-opening interviews to jumpstart conersations about identity, privilege and bias Contemporary and compassionate teachings for building true workplace diversity In order to create an inclusive working environment, it is important for companies to understand the experiences that diverse employees face in the workplace. Diversity in the Workplace is a guided tour of what it means to be a minority in today's labor force. Containing 25 real-life interviews, including stories of trailblazers fighting inequality, you'll be exposed to a slice of life you may not have been privy to. This book explores real world issues in a modern workday dynamic for members of marginalized communities and managers looking to equalize an imbalance. Diversity in the Workplace includes: Exploring intersectionality--Learn about the diversity identities shaping disparity at work: Race, Gender, LGBTQ+, Age & Ability, and Religion & Culture. Key takeaways--Each section is followed by summaries that encourage reflection and action. Deep dive--Learn tips on how to have progressive conversations with colleagues, and build awareness with key terms such as "unconscious bias." Move toward a more fair and bias-conscious future with Diversity in the Workplace.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 W55 2020x
Emergency Management in Health Care: an all-hazards approach Emergency Management in Health Care: An All-Hazards Approach, 4th Edition, is a critical resource for organizations to identify emergency planning needs and to develop an effective level of preparedness to address a range of emergencies. This book targets emergency managers and others involved in planning and implementing an organization s emergency operations plan (EOP) or emergency management plan (EMP) and offers guidance and best practices shaped by Joint Commission s Emergency Management (EM) standards.
This new edition describes the enhanced emergency preparedness requirements under the US Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) final rule for Emergency Preparedness Requirements and how they affect Joint Commission EM standards. It also explains the implications for health care organizations and their preparedness efforts.
Readers will also benefit from nearly a dozen new case studies featuring actual health care organizations. Each one shares lessons learned from emergency management planning or actual emergency responses to incidents such as mass shootings to active shooters to natural disasters. Also new in the fourth edition are downloadable, adaptable tools for emergency management planning, response, and recovery.
The goals of the Emergency Management in Health Care revision are to do the following:
Emphasize the role of leadership in emergency planning and response
Help organizations adapt to singular or escalating threats such as infectious disease outbreaks, acts of terrorism, active shooters, industrial accidents, unusual weather occurrences, and other emergencies
Expose the vulnerabilities that may impact technology in disaster responses such as failures to manage resources, utilities, and systems processes and technology advancements that may increase security surrounding the use of electronic medical records
Provide accurate and current information about Joint Commission and federal EM requirements
Although the book focuses primarily on hospitals, it does include case studies and information for other types of health care settings, including ambulatory care, behavioral health care, nursing care centers, and others.
Developing the framework for preparedness, including the Hazard Vulnerability Analysis and the four phases of emergency management
Implementing the emergency operations plan
Addressing the six critical areas of emergency response (communication, resources and assets, safety and security, staff responsibilities, utilities management, and patient clinical and support activities)
Planning testing and evaluation activities
Recovering after an incident
In addition to downloadable and adaptable tools, some repeating chapter features in Emergency Management in Health Care include the following:
Define Your Terms
Case in Point
Hospital and other health care emergency managers
Safety managers and officers
Clinical and administrative leaders
Community emergency management planner
Call Number: RA645.5 .E44 2019x
Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare, Third Edition An organization may know its current situation down to the last pack of gauze or vial of insulin--but does it know what's in its future? Successful healthcare strategic planning not only needs to measure how well a hospital or health system is currently performing but also must anticipate what lies ahead. Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare is a complete guide to developing and implementing a strategic plan. Starting with an examination of leadership's role in strategic planning and the impact of organizational culture, the book then explores the essential techniques, tools, and data for developing a strategic plan and recommends strategic planning initiatives across the continuum of healthcare services. Taking a futurist perspective, author Jeffrey P. Harrison acknowledges the constant changes in regulatory and quality requirements and the evolving healthcare innovations that strategic planning must consider. A comprehensive case study woven throughout the book allows readers to assume the role of strategic planners and apply what they are learning to the entire strategic planning process. This revised edition includes insight into the modern healthcare system and an exploration of trends in mergers and acquisitions, system growth, and value-based care. Additional updates include: current data on healthcare spending, hospital statistics, healthcare employment, and the use of healthcare technology; new content on the use of artificial intelligence and big data in healthcare, as well as the benefits of block chain technology; coverage of future advances in healthcare, including genomics and Medicare for All; and expanded marketing content, including the latest trends in websites, digital outlets, and social media. In addition to study questions and practical exercises in each chapter that are linked to the book's case study, this edition also offers online exercises to expand students' learning. Incorporating the latest developments with best practices, this book aims to be the primary resource for university courses in healthcare strategic planning.
Call Number: RA971 .H296 2021
Lead from the Future: how to turn visionary thinking into breakthrough growth "Johnson and Suskewicz have raised a battle cry for the kind of leadership we need in these uncertain times." -- Sandi Peterson, Member, Board of Directors, Microsoft We all know a visionary leader when we see one. They're bold and prophetic and at the same time pragmatic. They don't just promote change--they drive it, while inspiring and mobilizing others to do the same. Visionaries like Steve Jobs and Jeff Bezos possess a host of innate qualities that make them extraordinary, but what truly sets them apart is their ability to turn vision into action. In Lead from the Future, Innosight's Mark W. Johnson and Josh Suskewicz introduce a new way of thinking and managing, called "future-back," that enables any manager to become a practical visionary. Addressing the many barriers to change that exist in established organizations, they present a systematic approach to overcoming them that includes: The principles and mind-set that allow leadership teams to look beyond typical short-term planning horizons A method for turning emerging challenges into the growth opportunities that can define an organization's future A step-by-step approach for translating a vision into a strategic plan that teams can align around and commit to Ways to ensure that visionary thinking becomes a repeatable organizational capability As practical as it is inspiring, Lead from the Future is the guide you and your team need to develop a vision and translate it into transformative growth.
Call Number: HD57.7 .J64375 2020
Meaningful Healthcare Experience Design: improving care for all generations This book offers a new perspective on improving healthcare that draws inspiration from sources as diverse as American healthcare history, Lean Six Sigma, patient experience, employee engagement, clinical microsystems, physician burnout, and industrial design thinking. This work focuses on the three value streams that form the foundation of all healthcare service processes: healthcare-worker value stream, patient value stream, and organizational process. The interaction of patients and healthcare workers in the context of these three value streams creates the meaningful experience that is essential to healing and to the success of healthcare organizations. Meaningful healthcare experience design guides the work of designing these value streams and improving them to promote experiences that are meaningful and healing for both patients and healthcare workers.
Call Number: RA399.A1 G64 2020
So You Want to Talk about Race In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a hard-hitting but user-friendly examination of race in America Widespread reporting on aspects of white supremacy -- from police brutality to the mass incarceration of Black Americans -- has put a media spotlight on racism in our society. Still, it is a difficult subject to talk about. How do you tell your roommate her jokes are racist? Why did your sister-in-law take umbrage when you asked to touch her hair -- and how do you make it right? How do you explain white privilege to your white, privileged friend? In So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from intersectionality and affirmative action to "model minorities" in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race and racism, and how they infect almost every aspect of American life. "Oluo gives us -- both white people and people of color -- that language to engage in clear, constructive, and confident dialogue with each other about how to deal with racial prejudices and biases." -- National Book Review "Generous and empathetic, yet usefully blunt . . . it's for anyone who wants to be smarter and more empathetic about matters of race and engage in more productive anti-racist action." -- Salon (Required Reading)
Call Number: E184.A1 O454 2019
Thriving in Healthcare: a positive approach to reclaim balance and avoid burnout in your busy life This book addresses the scope of burnout head-on, written in clear, concise language that could help each of us reclaim our sense of passion and find more you in our lives both personally and professionally. Loaded with stories, a gentle touch of humor and real life examples we can all relate to. It includes suggestions and easily to apply tools that can guide healthcare professionals to better handle the stress, create a more positive focus and once again connect to that sense of purpose that brought us to the field of healthcare in the first place.
Call Number: R690 .S544 2019x
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?