Non-Mayo Clinic History of Medicine Electronic Resources: Home

Ranging from the 17th to the 20th century this collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters and cartoons. Straddling the disciplines of art and sciece, the collection is a valuable resource for the history of medicine and the history of portraiture.

The consortium supports a search-and-discovery tool for archival resources in the health sciences that are described by finding aids and held by various institutions throughout the United States (and one Canadian).

The collection is particularly deep in American and Western European medical publications in English, although more than a dozen languages are represented. Subjects include anatomy, dental medicine, surgery, public health, infectious diseases, forensics and legal medicine, gynecology, psychology, anatomy, therapeutics, obstetrics, neuroscience, alternative medicine, spirituality and demonology, diet and dress reform, tobacco, and homeopathy. The breadth of the collection is illustrated by these popular items: the United States Naval Bureau of Medical History’s audio oral history with Doctor Walter Burwell (1994) who served in the Pacific theatre during World War II and witnessed the first Japanese kamikaze attacks; History and medical description of the two-headed girl : sold by her agents for her special benefit, at 25 cents (1869), the first edition of Gray’s Anatomy (1858) (the single most-downloaded MHL text at more than 2,000 downloads annually), and a video collection of Hanna – Barbera Production Flintstones (1960) commercials for Winston cigarettes.

Use MAX to search for descriptions, or "Finding Aids", of holdings related to your interests.
A Finding Aid describes the scope and content of a group of Records or Papers, and provides an inventory/box list—usually at the folder title level—of the materials contained in that collection. It also includes:
•Biographical or historical information about the collection
•Narrative description of the collection
•Lists of important subjects and people that can be found in collection material

Mayo’s editorial photography database within MAUD is open to all Mayo Clinic active employees, but requires the completion of an on-line training module. Please follow the link to take the online training. After training is complete, you will be given access to view images. Depending on type of image, some may be downloaded directly from MAUD.