Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Historical Images
Launched on 15 June 2007, 'Wellcome Images' is the world's leading source of images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine. All content has been made available under a Creative Commons Licence, which allows users to copy, distribute and display the image, provided the source is fully attributed and it is used for non-commercial purposes.
Images from the History of Medicine
Indexed database of nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U. S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Keyword and browse searching available by subject, title and/or author.
Burns Medical Collection of Medical/Dental Photographs
"The Burns Medical Collection is generally recognized as America's largest and most comprehensive accumulation of early medical and dental photography." (Quote from the website.)
Historical Images in Medicine
Historical Anatomies on the Web
from the National Library of Medicine
This collection is comprised of more than 4,500 full-page plates and other important illustrations of human anatomy from the University of Toronto's Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.
Brought to Life
This beautifully designed site provides access to images of thousands of artifacts and objects from the London-vased Science Museum's medical collection.
Have a Recommendation?
If you'd like to suggest a History of Medicine website or online resource for this page, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org