Mayo Clinic Archives in Rochester
Research Requests and Questions
Search Our Catalog:
Archival Catalog (MAX)
Research:
Mon-Fri by appointment
For research questions and requests, please
complete this form.
Patient Medical Records:
Please contact Health Information Management Services
Patient records, general publications such as books and journals, and genealogical materials are not available through the Archives.
Our Mission
The W. Bruce Fye Center for the History of Medicine is responsible for acquiring, organizing, preserving, and promoting the recorded memory of individuals and organizations which have shaped Mayo Clinic’s unique culture and history, and for providing research tools and services to make such materials accessible to users.
It serves as the official repository for historical materials relating to Mayo Clinic. The resources of its archives are open to all members of the Mayo community, and upon approval, to others interested in the history of the Mayo Clinic.
"In the study of some apparently new problems, we often make progress by reading the work of the great men of the past...." - Charles H. Mayo, M.D.
From "Surgery of the Sympathetic Nervous System" Ann. Surg., 96:481-487 (Oct.), 1932.
What Materials Do We Have?
The W. Bruce Fye Center for the History of Medicine houses archival collections that contain official records of the Clinic and its administrative offices, official and unofficial publications, departmental annual reports, committee minutes, photographic and moving images, sound recordings, personal papers, and memorabilia relating to the Mayo Clinic, its mission, programs, and people. To search our archival holdings, please visit our online catalog (MAX).
Appointments to view archival material can be arranged by contacting Center staff. Permission to publish archival collection materials must be obtained from the Historical Committee. For more information on our services, policies, and donation guidelines, please see the pertinent tabs at the top of the page.
Related Sites
-
The Willius SocietyHistory of medicine organization for Mayo Clinic residents and fellows.
Mayo Clinic Archives in Rochester Staff
Christopher J. Boes, M.D.
Medical Director
Renee Ziemer
History and Heritage Program Manager
Heather Stecklein, EdD, MLS
Head of Mayo Clinic Archives/Librarian IV
Emily Christopherson, MLIS
Digital Archivist/Librarian III
Karen Koka, MLIS
Historical Archives Librarian V
Gioia Spatafora, MLIS
Archivist and Registrar/Librarian II
Mona Stevermer, M.A.
Processing and Scanning Specialist/Librarian II
Alec Thicke, MLIS
Anesthesiology Project Archivist/Librarian III
Brooke Weber, Ph.D., M.A.
Writer and Researcher/Librarian III
Contact the Mayo Clinic Archives: MayoHistorySocial@mayo.edu