Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Donating Your Material
The Archives collects materials that help tell the Mayo story from its founding period to its present mission and activities. Keep in mind that contemporary records will one day be of historic interest and today's innovations are tomorrows artifacts! Donating to the Archives ensures that the Clinic's legacy carries on for future generations.
If you or your department would like to donate records and/or artifacts to the W. Bruce Fye Center For the History of Medicine, please contact Renee Ziemer, Center Coordinator, for a donation assessment.
Records selected for permanent retention should be transferred to the archives using the procedures at the bottom of this page.
Archival Wish List
The Archives would like to acquire the following material in paper and/or digital formats:
- Department histories, reports, minutes, newsletters, accomplishments
- Committee minutes and reports
- Correspondence (including significant email)
- Quarterly Directories c.1980
- Photographs of building construction (please identify building)
- Candid photographs of people and activities taking place around Mayo campuses (please identify people and activity)
- Project materials, records
- Moving Images of staff and department activities (including social functions such as picnics and recreation)
- Research notes
Artifact Wish List
The Historical Unit is looking for the following materials to add to their collection: (donations only please)
- Surgical and medical practice instruments
- Instrument prototypes
- Uniforms from various departments (1920s-current)
- Unique pieces of Mayo memorabilia
- Unique department-related artifacts
- Conduct a records survey to identify and separate any permanently valuable records
The Archives staff can work with you and advise you on how to identify which records are of permanent value.
- Obtain boxes
Material sent to the Archives must be sent in record center boxes. These boxes may be obtained from through Lawson, stock number 291693.
- Number and fill the boxes
Number each box. Fill the boxes from front to back. For records arranged chronologically, put the earliest records in the front and fill towards the back. For records arranged alphabetically, put the beginning of the alphabet in the front and fill towards the back.
- Label the boxes with the following information:
From: Department/Office Name
To: W. Bruce Fye Center for the History of Medicine, Plummer 315
Box # [number of this box]
- Make a container list of the box contents
The box contents list should include the number of the box, then the title of each folder in that box exactly as written on the folder. List loose materials as groups in order as found. Place the container list in the box and repeat as necessary. Email the electronic versions of the container lists to Nicole Babcock when the boxes are ready for delivery.
- Arrange delivery of your records to the Archives. Records can be sent in a number of ways:
You may hand deliver your boxes to the Archives. Please contact Nicole Babcock to arrange a time.
Material up to 75 lbs. may be delivered through General Services to the Archives.
The address of the Archives is:
W. Bruce Fye Center for the History of Medicine
Subject to available resources, the Archives may be able to pick up small amounts of archival material. Please contact Nicole Babcock for information on availability.
Open for Self-Guided Tours:
Mon-Fri 9:00am - 4:00pm
Volunteers are present from 11:00 - 1:00.
Mon-Fri by appointment
Christopher J. Boes, M.D.
Digital Archivist/Librarian III
Historical Archives Librarian IV