Patricia Benner
Clinical Wisdom in Nursing Practice / Model of SKill Acquisition / Professional Advancement Model
CINAHL article citations
Books
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
Providing an essential overview of nursing theory in a single, straightforward text, Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 6th Edition, equips students with the knowledge and understanding to apply nursing theory to practice and improve as nurses. Unlike some nursing theory texts, this AJN Award-winning resource goes beyond demonstrating the application of theory to teach students--regardless of their level of experience in theory--to think critically and analyze, evaluate, and apply theories with confidence. This updated 6th Edition remains the most concise and contemporary nursing theory text available, reflecting the growing professional emphasis on clinical judgment, evidence-based practice, situation-specific theories, and their relationship to theory in nursing. Extensively researched, easy to read, and rich with engaging learning features, this acclaimed text provides nursing students and practicing nurses alike with an approachable guide to being a better nurse.
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2023
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
Now in its 5th edition, Wolters Kluwer's AJN Award Winning text,Theoretical Basis for Nursing, provides an overview of nursing theory that includes the essential information that a student needs to understand theory and its application to practice. Students-with little to no knowledge of nursing theory-will gain insight into how theory can affect their practice and make them better nurses. In Unit I, Students are ushered through the skills needed to develop, analyze, and evaluate theory for use in their careers. This skill set will help students pursuing all potential career paths-in nursing practice, research, administration, management, and/or education. As a unique focus in Unit II, grand theories are discussed in relation to 1) human needs, 2) interactive process, and 3) unitary process. This unit provides the perfect amount of information-just enough for the reader to 1) understand the basis of the work and 2) become enticed enough in the material to want to select one or two theories for primary source study. Also, because of an emphasis on middle range theory in nursing programs, the authors present an overview of selected middle range theories, examining their origins and growth. The broad range of middle range theories sampled will point students in the right direction to search for others appropriate to their practice. Some NEW! theories to this edition include aerohemodynamic theory, transtheoretical model of change, and the precede/proceed model. In Unit II, there will be an enhanced discussion of Evidence-based practice (EBP) and nursing theory. As its next frontier, nursing theory will increasingly focus on EBP protocols, and McEwen & Wills help students understand the inter-relatedness of theory, research, and practice. This edition includes an enhanced discussion of the history of EBP and practice-based evidence (PBE). In Unit III, students explore "shared theories," benefitting from the body of knowledge that can be distilled from other disciplines. This unit is unique to this text, and students will discover stories of how nurses have used shared theories in their own practice. In this edition, a NEW! chapter called "Ethical Theories and Principles" will be included in this unit. The text concludes with Unit IV, a summary of how theories should be and are applied in nursing. Functioning as a practical guide, separate chapters cover nursing practice, nursing research, nursing administration and management, and nursing education. The evolving development of practice theories and importance of evidence-based practice guidelines are critical to theory application in nursing today. NEW! In our application to practice chapter (Chapter 19), we will add examples of the theoretical underpinnings related to the clinical practice guidelines. Reinforcing its emphasis on practice, both the book and its resources on thePoint will include case studies with examples from nursing in general through advanced practice scenarios. Because Nursing Theory is often a reading and writing intensive course, this text comes with a Scholarly Writing in Nursing: Best Practices. This resource covers the basics of APA as well as good writing principles, and it also provides weblinks to additional resources. This edition will also feature improved indices making content in the text easier to find quickly. This text is accompanied by a robust instructor resource package featuring an Instructor's Guide, Case Studies with supportive curriculum, PowerPoints, and more. Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 5th Edition offers an inspiring message to readers to contribute to the ongoing development, application, analysis, and evaluation of concepts, principles, theories, and models to advance the discipline of nursing. According to authors McEwen & Wills, "As the health profession with the largest number of providers, nursing has the greatest potential to have the greatest impact on health and healthcare delivery."
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2019
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Call Number: RT84.5 .S53 2017
An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .J637 2015
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by
Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Call Number: RT84.5 .M364 2015
Nursing Theory by
With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N94 2014
Nursing Theories by
Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. MARKET: For nursing professionals.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N89 2011
Clinical Wisdom and Interventions in Acute and Critical Care by
2011 AJN Book of the Year Winner in Critical Care--Emergency Nursing This book is] a lavishly detailed guide to the essence of becoming an expert nurse...I believe this book will secure a place on most educators' and expert clinicians' bookshelves. Every once in a while a better book comes along; this is one of those times. From the foreword by Joan E. Lynaugh, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing A classic research-based text in nursing practice and education, this newly revised second edition explains, through first-hand accounts of the hard-earned experiential wisdom of expert nurses, the clinical reasoning skills necessary for top-tier nursing in acute and critical settings. It provides not only the most current knowledge and practice innovations, but also reflects the authors' vast experience using the first edition in practice and educational settings. This updated edition includes new interviews from acute care, critical care, perioperative nurses, and more. Attention is paid to current IOM and nursing guidelines for systems approaches to patient safety, with education and leadership implications described throughout. It is an essential resource for undergraduate and graduate nursing educators, students, administrators, and managers seeking to improve systems of care and leadership in clinical practice. Key Features Articulates major areas of knowledge and skill in acute, critical care, and perioperative nursing practice Provides vivid, first-hand accounts of hard-earned wisdom that facilitate clinical imagination, reflection, and lifelong learning Assists faculty, educators, APNs, and mentors in teaching nurses how to recognize recurring clinical syndromes and patterns Bridges the gap from theory to practice in dynamic patient care situations Embraces the complexity of caring for the critically ill and their families
Call Number: RT120.I5 B46 2011
Expertise in Nursing Practice by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title Nursing practice is a complex and varied field that requires precision, dedication, care, and expertise. Clinicians must have both the skills and the tools to attend to changes in patients' responses, recognize trends, and understand the nature of their patients' conditions over time. This book clearly delineates the skills needed to become an expert nurse. In this new edition, the editors present a report of a six-year study of over 130 hospital nurses working in critical care. Expanding upon the study conducted in the previous edition, this new book documents and analyzes hundreds of new clinical narratives that track the development of clinical skill acquisition, including caring, clinical judgment, workplace ethics, and more. Highlights of this book: Includes transitional guidance for nurses new to the field Discusses the primacy of caring and the importance of good clinical judgment Includes new practice models, including the Dreyfus Model of Skill Acquisition Provides guidelines for strengthening the nurse-patient relationship Presents implications for nursing education and patient safety Ultimately, this work defines expertise in nursing practice. The book serves as a valuable resource that will enable nurses to expand their knowledge base, cultivate their clinical skills, and become successful experts in nursing practice."
Call Number: RT73 .B365 2009
From Novice to Expert by
For undergraduate/graduate-level courses in Nursing Issues, Nursing Theory, Nursing Ethics and Nursing Service. This presentation of clinical judgement, caring practices, and collaborative practice provides ideas and images that students can draw upon in their interactions with others and in their interpretation of what nurses do. It includes many clear, colourful examples and describes the five stages of skill acquisition, the nature of clinical judgement and experiential learning and the seven major domains of nursing practice. The narrative method captures content and contextual issues that are often missed by formal models of nursing knowledge.
Call Number: RT82 .B456 2001
Media
- The nurse theorists: portraits of excellence (DVD)Call Number: RT34 .N87 2008x v.6