Nurse Theorists

Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Martha Raile Alligood; Sonya R. Hardin Understand the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, Eleventh Edition, provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence enhances decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application in the practice of nursing. NEW! Information on the state of nursing in health care after COVID-19 illustrates how nursing knowledge development continues to evolve, with new theories that address current health care needs for quality nursing care Theorist chapters written by scholars specializing in that theorist's work - often having worked closely with the theorists - provide the most accurate and complete information possible Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter present the theory in a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied in practice Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical nursing practice situations Theory-specific diagrams help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts and their relationships Major Concepts and Definitions boxes outline a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary Brief summary sections offer valuable review for tests and validate comprehension Points for Further Study sections direct you to sources of additional information A diagram in each unit illustrates the level of abstraction of the theoretical knowledge presented New information on international theorists will be included New information the topic of clinical reasoning and judgment and how it relates to the various theories presented will be included The new AACN Essentials will be addressed and included where appropriate throughout the text

Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice

Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.

Theoretical Nursing: development and progress by Afaf Ibrahim Meleis Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics - Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism - Nursing Theories, including need, interaction, and outcome theories - Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge - The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing - Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features - New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. - Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students,, understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. - Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory. This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow,,s Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice. - A new two-column design that enhances readability.

Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by Kathleen Sitzman; Lisa Wright Eichelberger Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.

An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing by Betty Johnson; Pamela Webber

Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by Kathleen Masters Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research

Nursing Theory by Martha Raile Alligood With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.

Contemporary Nursing Knowledge by Jacqueline Fawcett; Susan DeSanto-Madeya Please note: The CD packaged with this product is no longer compatible with most current operating systems. What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it? The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses. A bonus CD-ROM in every book features conceptual model- and theory-based practice applications, practice tools, research applications, and research instruments, as well as a complete bibliography and lists of additional resources to help you study.

Nursing Theories by Julia George Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e  incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. MARKET: For nursing professionals.

Foundations of nursing theory : contributions of 12 key theorists by Chris Metzger McQuiston, Adele A. Webb Synopsis: Addressing many of the primary conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing, Foundations of Nursing Theory offers concise, informative descriptions of nursing's philosophical origins. The book, a compilation of volumes from Sage's acclaimed Notes on Nursing Theories series, not only assays the development, assumptions, and broad applications of each nursing theory but also provides specific examples of how it relates to both research and practice.

Ida Jean Orlando : a nursing process theory by Norma Jean Schmieding

Nursing theories and models by Ruby L. Wesley

The discipline and teaching of nursing process (an evaluative study)

The dynamic nurse-patient relationship: function, process, and principles by Ida Jean Orlando

The nurse theorists : portraits of excellence (DVD)