Dorothea Orem
CINAHL article citations
Books
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice
Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N8793 2020
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
4-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Providing an essential overview of nursing theory in a single, straightforward text, Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 6th Edition, equips students with the knowledge and understanding to apply nursing theory to practice and improve as nurses. Unlike some nursing theory texts, this AJN Award-winning resource goes beyond demonstrating the application of theory to teach students--regardless of their level of experience in theory--to think critically and analyze, evaluate, and apply theories with confidence. This updated 6th Edition remains the most concise and contemporary nursing theory text available, reflecting the growing professional emphasis on clinical judgment, evidence-based practice, situation-specific theories, and their relationship to theory in nursing. Extensively researched, easy to read, and rich with engaging learning features, this acclaimed text provides nursing students and practicing nurses alike with an approachable guide to being a better nurse.
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2023
Theoretical Nursing: development and progress by
Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics - Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism - Nursing Theories, including need, interaction, and outcome theories - Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge - The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing - Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features - New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. - Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students,, understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. - Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory. This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow,,s Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice. - A new two-column design that enhances readability.
Call Number: RT84.5 .M45 2018
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Call Number: RT84.5 .S53 2017
An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .J637 2015
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by
Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Call Number: RT84.5 .M364 2015
Nursing Theory by
With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N94 2014
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge by
Please note: The CD packaged with this product is no longer compatible with most current operating systems. What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it? The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses. A bonus CD-ROM in every book features conceptual model- and theory-based practice applications, practice tools, research applications, and research instruments, as well as a complete bibliography and lists of additional resources to help you study.
Call Number: RT84.5 .F393 2013
Nursing Theories by
Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. MARKET: For nursing professionals.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N89 2011
Self-care theory in nursing : selected papers of Dorothea Orem by
Synopsis:
Few have approached the fundamental questions of nursing in such an insightful, systematic, and clear-sighted way as Dorothea Orem. This book is a collection of many of the presentations and writings that are not included in her previous books. It presents a fascinating view of the development of Orem's theory of self care deficit over a forty-year period, along with its ramifications for nursing education and practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .O74 2003
Nursing : concepts of practice by Call Number: RT84.5 .O73 2001
Self-care deficit theory of nursing : concepts and applications by Call Number: RT84.5 .D46 1997
Foundations of nursing theory : contributions of 12 key theorists by
Synopsis:
Addressing many of the primary conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing, Foundations of Nursing Theory offers concise, informative descriptions of nursing's philosophical origins. The book, a compilation of volumes from Sage's acclaimed Notes on Nursing Theories series, not only assays the development, assumptions, and broad applications of each nursing theory but also provides specific examples of how it relates to both research and practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .F68 1995
Patterns of nursing theories in practice by Call Number: RT84.5 .P39 1993- Nursing theories and models by Call Number: RT84.5 .W47 1992
- Dorothea Orem : self-care deficit theory by
Synopsis:
Encapsulating the work of a classic nursing theorist, this book provides a unique overview of Orem's Self-Care Deficit Model of Nursing.
Orem's Model proposes that nursing should be especially concerned with the patient's need to move continuously towards responsible action in self-care in order to sustain life and health or to recover from disease or injury. The actions required of nurses to achieve these goals are clearly described.
Call Number: RT84.5 .H37 1991
Nursing theories in practice by Call Number: RT84.5 .N886 1990x
Media
- The nurse theorists : portraits of excellence (DVD)Call Number: RT34 .N87 2005x v.9