Florence Nightingale
Founder of Professional Nursing
CINAHL article citations
Books
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by
Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N8793 2020
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
4-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Providing an essential overview of nursing theory in a single, straightforward text, Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 6th Edition, equips students with the knowledge and understanding to apply nursing theory to practice and improve as nurses. Unlike some nursing theory texts, this AJN Award-winning resource goes beyond demonstrating the application of theory to teach students--regardless of their level of experience in theory--to think critically and analyze, evaluate, and apply theories with confidence. This updated 6th Edition remains the most concise and contemporary nursing theory text available, reflecting the growing professional emphasis on clinical judgment, evidence-based practice, situation-specific theories, and their relationship to theory in nursing. Extensively researched, easy to read, and rich with engaging learning features, this acclaimed text provides nursing students and practicing nurses alike with an approachable guide to being a better nurse.
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2023
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Call Number: RT84.5 .S53 2017
An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .J637 2015
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by
Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Call Number: RT84.5 .M364 2015
Nursing Theory by
With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N94 2014
Nursing theories : the base for professional nursing practice by Call Number: RT84.5 .N89 2011
Florence Nightingale today : healing, leadership, global action by Call Number: RT37.N5 F563 2005
Florence Nightingale : the making of a radical theologian by Call Number: BL50.N473 W43 2002
Florence Nightingale : mystic, visionary, healer by
Synopsis:
This lavishly illustrated biography explores the development of Nighti ngale's mystical beliefs and her health care theories still used today . Includes hundreds of facts, more than 300 color photographs, and mor e. Contents include early years (1820-1854), Crimean War (1854-1856), post Crimea (1856-1861), and government and nursing reform (1862-1879) .
Call Number: RT37.N5 D67 2000
The Nightingale model of nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .V35 1995x
Florence Nightingale : an environmental adaptation theory by
Synopsis:
This practical book demonstrates the continuing relevance of Florence Nightingale's theory of nursing. Following a brief biography, the author discusses Nightingale's belief that the patient achieves health by being acted upon by nature in the form of the environment, and that nursing is both an art and a science that puts the patient in the best condition possible for nature to act.
Call Number: RT84.5 .S45 1993- Nursing theories and models by Call Number: RT84.5 .W47 1992
Notes on nursing : what it is, and what it is not by
Synopsis:
Written by nursing's brilliant first theorist/researcher and first published in 1859, Notes on Nursing: What It Is and What It Is Not is regarded as nursing's first textbook. An ideal gift for anyone in nursing, this special edition contains the original text in its entirety with commentaries by 12 prominent nursing theorists. Beautifully bound with marbled end pages, gilded edges, and a ribbon book marker.
Call Number: RT40 .N5
Web links
Media
- The nurse theorists : portraits of excellence. (DVD)Call Number: RT34 .N87 2005x (v.8)