Jean Watson
CINAHL article citations
Highlighted Books
Caring Science As Sacred Science by
"In this continuing work, I have allowed myself to incorporate personal material...for my own caring-healing processes ...So, in some ways, writing about caring and sacred science may not be tolerated in academic circles and scholarly work, but if there was ever a time to converge personal and professional authentic ethical efforts for living/being/doing/becoming scholarly, spirit-filled and scientific, it is NOW." Jean Watson Written by the leading expert in Caring Science Dr Jean Watson, this updated newly revised text offers a moral and philosophical foundation for all health professionals. This moral/ethical framework offers the reader a way to work and view life through a caring and healing lens. The author discusses a new paradigm for mind-body-spirit nursing, medicine and healthcare. You will gain core knowledge of caring as it relates to both education and the practice of compassionate, professional human caring and healing. This new edition includes Watson's most recent writings on the Seven Sacred Sutras as well as her 10 Caritas Processes(R), a foundational, values-based guide in which to base your life and work.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W355 2021x
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences, 3rd ed. by Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
A Handbook for Caring Science by
A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science. With contributions from highly accomplished scholars and practitioners from six continents, it spans the evolution of Caring Science from its origins 40 years ago through its ongoing innovation and development and into the future. Comprehensive and in-depth, this resource brings multigenerational perspectives to Caring Science and demonstrates its ethical nursing applications across cross-cultural settings worldwide. The book's broad scope embodies the paradigm's theoretical foundations, guidance from Caring Science educators and researchers, and practice insights from expert clinicians and administrators. It offers strategies to influence meaningful policy change, integrate principles throughout cross-cultural and global settings, and introduces inspiring voices from luminaries in coaching, Caring Science creative arts, spirituality, and self-care. The text clearly demonstrates how theories, frameworks, and paradigms are directly integrated into practice, research, and educational settings. Scholarly narratives and discourses on Caring Science will facilitate understanding of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and ethically informed action. Chapters, consistently formatted to promote ease of comprehension, include exemplars with reflective questions and references. Key Features: Traces the history of Caring Science and merges it with current and future perspectivesProvides a "how-to" guide for understanding the integration of theories, frameworks, and paradigms into practice, research, and educationDistills a vision of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and a commitment to ethically informed actionEnables readers to cross-reference Caring Science leaders across specialtiesIllustrates Caring Science practice through case studies, examples, and discoursesSupports hospitals in procuring or maintaining ANCC Magnet certificationIdentifies research and practice opportunities for readers to integrate Caring Science into their professional milieus
Call Number: RT84.5 .H36 2019x
Unitary Caring Science by
Unitary Caring Science: The Philosophy and Praxis of Nursing takes a profound look at conscious, intentional, reverential caring-healing as sacred practice/praxis and as a necessary turn for survival. Jean Watson posits Unitary Caring Science for the evolved Caritas-conscious practitioner and scholar. A detailed historical discussion of the evolution from Caring Science toward Unitary Caring Science reflects the maturing of the discipline, locating the nursing phenomena of wholeness within the unitary field paradigm. An exploration of praxis as informed moral practice results in an expanded development of the ten Caritas processes, resulting in a comprehensive value-guide to critical Caritas literacy and ontological Caritas praxis. Watson writes for the Caritas Conscious Nurse(tm) or the Caritas Conscious Scholar/Practitioner/Educator on the journey toward the deeper caring-healing dimensions of life. Unitary Caring Science offers a personal-professional path of authenticity, bringing universals of Love, Energy, Spirit, Infinity of Purpose, and Meaning back into nurses lives and their life's work. Unitary Caring Science serves as a continuing, evolving message to the next generation of nurse scholars and healing-health practitioners committed to a praxis informed by mature disciplinary consciousness. Each book comes with a set of Caritas cards, and individual customers will also receive a secure link to select copyrighted teaching videos and meditations onwww.watsoncaringscience.org.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W38 2018
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theory, 2nd ed. by
Praise for the First Edition: "The book offers rich examples of nursing projects that may broaden nursing care for greater patient and student satisfaction and assist nurses with holistic self-care." --Gale Robinson-Smith, PhD, RN Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Villanova University International Journal for Human Caring "Provides wonderful tools for nurses to use in practice, education, or even for self-care. Designed for any nurse, . . . who wishes to learn more about applying Jean Watson's Human Caring Theory to practice ... It] is a practical, easy-to-read book for all nursing audiences and could be used at any educational level." --Doody's Medical Reviews "Sitzman and Watsons' book is an invaluable resource. The strength of this book is its simplicity on one level yet its complexity as the reader works throughout the layers incorporated within the book." --Nursing Times This seminal work, based on the philosophy of Watson's Human Caring Theory, is designed to help students and practitioners of nursing to simplify Watson's complex teachings and integrate them into everyday practice. The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners. Clear and simple content supports foundational learning and promotes direct experience related to Watson's work. The book features guided mindfulness activities and artistic practices for each of the 10 Caritas Processes, plus case studies and guided procedures to facilitate learning and internalizing the method. The text also serves as the foundational text for the WCSI online course that provides step-by-step instructions on how to integrate and ground the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into practice. New to the Second Edition: New and updated content throughoutPresents new examples from authors' research for cultivating daily Caritas and mindfulness practicesEach Caritas Process chapter includes micro-practice examples from scholarly work demonstrating use of Watson's TheoryAbundant case studies demonstrate how others have implemented Caring Science and Mindfulness in everyday life and work Key Features: Engages newcomers in learning Human Caring Theory and deepens understanding for current practitionersFacilitates integration of the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into clinical practiceProvides abundant case studies and guided activities to reinforce contentIncludes guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the Ten Caritas ProcessesDesigned for a diverse audience including undergraduate, graduate, and international nursing and health science studentsServes as the foundational text for the companion WCSI online course (including videos)
Call Number: RT84.5 .S528 2018
Watson's Caring in the Digital World: a guide for caring when interacting teaching, and learning in cyberspace
This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence. The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study. Key Features: Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors
Call Number: RT84.5 .S534 2017
Measuring caring : international research on Caritas as healing by Call Number: RT86.3 .M44 2012
Human caring science: a theory of nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .W367 2012
Other Books of Possible Interest
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice
Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N8793 2020
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
4-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Providing an essential overview of nursing theory in a single, straightforward text, Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 6th Edition, equips students with the knowledge and understanding to apply nursing theory to practice and improve as nurses. Unlike some nursing theory texts, this AJN Award-winning resource goes beyond demonstrating the application of theory to teach students--regardless of their level of experience in theory--to think critically and analyze, evaluate, and apply theories with confidence. This updated 6th Edition remains the most concise and contemporary nursing theory text available, reflecting the growing professional emphasis on clinical judgment, evidence-based practice, situation-specific theories, and their relationship to theory in nursing. Extensively researched, easy to read, and rich with engaging learning features, this acclaimed text provides nursing students and practicing nurses alike with an approachable guide to being a better nurse.
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2023
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Call Number: RT84.5 .S53 2017
An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .J637 2015
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by
Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Call Number: RT84.5 .M364 2015
Nursing Theory by
With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N94 2014
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge by
Please note: The CD packaged with this product is no longer compatible with most current operating systems. What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it? The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses. A bonus CD-ROM in every book features conceptual model- and theory-based practice applications, practice tools, research applications, and research instruments, as well as a complete bibliography and lists of additional resources to help you study.
Call Number: RT84.5 .F393 2013
Nursing Theories by
Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. MARKET: For nursing professionals.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N89 2011
Perspectives on Nursing Theory by
Perspectives on Nursing Theory is a comprehensive anthology of important articles addressing diverse theoretical and philosophical perspectives on the nature of theory and knowledge development in nursing. This informative and contemporary resource features some of the most widely read and cited articles that facilitates thought and discussion among nurses, researchers, students, and teachers. Features 52 of the most widely read and frequently cited articles reflecting seminal, modern, and futuristic perspectives on nursing theory Includes new articles reflecting current, cutting-edge views of nursing theory and trends Includes biographical information about each author that provides insight into the author's perspective
Call Number: RT84.5 .P47 2012
Putting patients first : best practices in patient-centered care by Call Number: R727.3 .P88 2009
Nursing : the philosophy and science of caring by Call Number: RT84.5 .W37 2008
Blueprint for use of nursing models : education, research, practice, and administration by Call Number: RT84.5 .B58 1996
Toward a Caring Curriculum: A New Pedagogy for Nursing by Call Number: RT71 .B48 2000
Applying the art and science of human caring by Call Number: RT84.5 .A66 1994x- Nursing theories and models by Call Number: RT84.5 .W47 1992
Nursing theories in practice by
Synopsis:
This dynamic collection features Margaret Newman, Dorothy Johnson, Dor othea Orem, Myra Levine, Betty Neuman, Imogene King, Martha Rogers, an d Jean Watson.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N886 1990x
Web links
Media
- Restoring the heart and soul of human caring and healing (DVD)Call Number: Varies by location (2010)
- Caritas Meditation (CD-ROM)Call Number: RT84.5 .W37 2008Features the spoken messages of Jean Watson and the music of Gary Malkin
- The nurse theorists : portraits of excellence (DVD)Call Number: RT34 .N87 2005x v.16