Pharmacology: Professional Education

Basic and Clinical Pharmacology: Cases, 16th Edition by Todd W. Vanderah, 2024 The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions A Doody's Core Title for 2024! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: 330 full-color illustrations 100 drug tables 50 USMLE-style questions Chapter on cannabinoids A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses Descriptions of important new drugs

Case Files Pharmacology, 3rd ed. by Eugene C. Toy; David S. Loose; Shelley A. Tischkau et al, 2014 REAL-LIFE CLINICAL CASES FOR THE BASIC SCIENCES AND USMLE STEP 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Pharmacology provides 56 true-to-life clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in pharmacology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, pharmacology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 56 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions Master key concepts with clinical pearls Polish your approach to clinical problems and to patient care Maximize your board scores with the proven Case Files system

Casebook in Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Drug Dosing by Henry Cohen, 2015 A STEP-BY-STEP APPROACH TO DESIGNING ACCURATE DOSING REGIMENS Casebook in Pharmacokinetics and Drug Dosing uses real-life cases to teach pharmacy students, pharmacists, and clinical pharmacists how to apply pharmacokinetics to formulate proper dosing regimens. In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, the book not only discusses drugs with readily available therapeutic serum levels, but places equal emphasis on high-alert agents with narrow therapeutic indexes. Each drug chapter is written by clinical pharmacists who have hands-on experience in drug dosing and includes an overview of the drug's pharmacology, including: Indications Mec hanisms of action Toxicities Pharmacokinetics There is comprehensive review and discussion of each drug's bioavailability, volume of distribution, clearance, half-life, therapeutic drug level monitoring, drug interactions, dosing, and availability. Each chapter is enhanced by numerous patient cases with clear step-by-step answers and explanations. Calculations, equations, and dosing recommendations are provided for each case.

DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach: Q & A, 12th ed. by Thomas D. Nolin; Vicki Ellingrod; L. Michael Posey; Joseph T. DiPiro; Gary C. Yee; Stuart T. Haines Textbook in Pharmacotherapy providing optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines For more than 30 years, DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy has been the essential textbook for learning how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs―everything needed to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. This new edition has been fully updated with the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. With content from 300 expert contributors, this valuable resource offers detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means. Each disease chapter opens with a Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care. Here's why DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the perfect learning tool for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available Key concepts are included at the beginning of each chapter Clinical Presentation boxes concisely outline disease signs and symptoms New: Beyond the Book feature points readers to multimedia resources to deepen their understanding of the material Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing guideline recommendations, and monitoring approaches clearly distinguish treatment pathways New: Drug monitoring tables have been added Patient care process boxes help readers know how to communicate with other health care providers New:  Additional E-chapters are available with a subscription to AccessPharmacy New: Over 2000 Review Questions to help prepare students!

Differential Diagnosis for Non-Medical Prescribers, Nurses and Pharmacists: a Case-Based Approach by Paul Rutter, 2025 As pharmacists and nurses are asked to take on greater responsibilities and extend the scope of their practice, this new book will support you to triage and manage patients using a clinical decision-making approach. Unlike existing textbooks that cover symptoms management or provide a checklist format, Differential Diagnosis for Non-medical Prescribers, Nurses and Pharmacists: A Case-Based Approach provides case studies of common presentations with examples of associated clinical reasoning techniques to help you make a differential diagnosis. The book covers a broad range of symptoms and is ideal for exam revision as well as for practising health professionals who wish to improve their experience and exposure to common patient situations. Case studies contextualise knowledge into clinical cases Easily digestible information based on common symptoms seen in clinical practice Uses clinical reasoning techniques to provide examples of how to make a diagnosis Provides summaries of conditions that need to be considered in the diagnostic process Aligned to content in the fifth edition of Community Pharmacy; Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customise your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud

Drug Information: a Guide for Pharmacists, 7th ed. by Patrick M. Malone; Meghan J. Malone; Benjamin A. Witt et al, 2022 Everything pharmacists and pharmacy students need to know about drug information management. Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists provides you with the tools you need to to research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information in the most effective and efficient manner possible. This trusted resource addresses essential topics such as formulating an effective response and recommendations for information, evaluation of drug literature, the application of statistical analysis in the biomedical sciences, medications and patient safety, investigational drugs, and more. This updated seventh edition also addresses other important issues such as the legal and ethical considerations of providing information, how to respond to requests for information, and how to determine what information should be made available.

Interprofessional Practice in Pharmacy: Featuring Illustrated Case Studies by Joseph A. Zorek, 2021 This one-of-a-kind medical text covers everything needed to launch a successful career in pharmacy Interprofessional Practice in Pharmacy: Featuring Illustrated Case Studies presents an accessible, in-depth exploration of pharmacists working to advance the safe and effective use of medications. This is an ideal resource for early learners in pharmacy, high school and undergraduate students considering careers in healthcare, and educators and students throughout the health professions. Engaging and robust descriptions demonstrate how pharmacists work within interprofessional teams and contribute to the interprofessional care of patients in multiple healthcare settings. This information will help students identify career opportunities early in their educational journeys. Illustrated case studies--a modern take on a time-tested teaching strategy--provide a unique window into the profession of pharmacy. Readers will enjoy exploring healthcare through the lens of pharmacists, including contemporary issues such as infectious disease outbreaks and the opioid crisis. Over 200 illustrations provide a wide-ranging view of pharmacy practice in the following areas: Community Pharmacy Primary Care Prevention & Wellness Cardiology Pediatrics Geriatrics Infectious Diseases Oncology Emergency Medicine Critical Care Mental Health Technology Population Health Administration

Lange Smart Charts; Pharmacology, 2nd ed. by Catherine E. Pelletier, 2017 A pharmacology review that simulates the way medical students think and learn. Composed entirely of tables and diagrams, this innovative text delivers a complete review of pharmacology. Smart Charts Pharmacology not only highlights the information that you need to learn for course examinations and the Pharmacology component of the USMLE Step 1, but also makes it easier to organize, study, and remember the material. The unique tabular presentation facilitates comparisons and clarifies relationships among drugs within all classes. Each chapter begins with an outline of the drug class discussed, followed by a list of key terms. Coverage of each drug includes terms of actions, pharmacokinetics, uses, drug interactions, and side effects. Mnemonics and other learning aids are included throughout the book to facilitate learning. Smart Charts Pharmacology covers every essential topic in pharmacology, and focuses on material most likely to be covered on course exams and the USMLE to help you make the most of your study time.Here's why this is the best review of pharmacology available anywhere: The ideal companion to any major textbook on the subject Detailed enough to be used as a review of pharmacology courses, yet concise enough for board review Simplified presentation organizes drugs by class Tables and illustrations clarify relationships among drugs in a single class and among drug classes Designed to reduce the amount of reading time required to understand the subject Mnemonics are included throughout to help you remember must-know material Fourteen chapters cover everything from Pharmacology Basics to Alternative Medicine

Katzung's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, Fourteenth Edition by Marieke Kruidering-Hall; Bertram G. Katzung; Rupa Lalchandani Tuan et al, 2024 Score your highest on medical pharmacology courses and board exams with the world's bestselling pharmacology review book! The #1 Review Book in Pharmacology Features: * Beautiful illustrations and tables in the text * Summary of the drugs covered at the end of each chapter * Text with MCQs after each chapter, which provide a good review in itself * Two full syllabus tests at the end, with 100 MCQs in each test * Very specific checklist that ensures you don't skip learning key topics * Exposure to international curriculum and drugs * Accessible approach and easy to understand text * Short and crisp outline of Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology. This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review includes: 1,000+ board-review type questions with detailed answers Two 100-question exams with an answer key with detailed explanations Lists of high-yield terms and definitions in each chapter Skill Keeper Questions that help you understand the connections of related topics Checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter Summary tables that provide key information about specific drug mechanisms of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities Test-taking strategies for improving your test performance 160 photos and illustrations--including explanatory figures and tables, and overview diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts

McGraw Hill’s NAPLEX® Review Guide, 5th ed. by S. Scott Sutton, 2024

McGraw Hill’s NAPLEX® Review Guide, 4th ed. by S. Scott Sutton, 2020

Pharmacotherapy Casebook: a Patient-Focused Approach, 11th ed. by Sharon K. Park; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Julia M. Koehler et al, 2020 Make the right drug therapy decisions with the definitive guide to pharmacotherapy principles applied in everyday practice Sub Head: Study companion to DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition Packed with 157 patient cases, Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach builds your problem-solving and decision-making skills, so you can identify and resolve the most common drug therapy challenges you'll encounter in daily practice. Its case-based approach is also ideal for PharmD, Nurse Practitioner, and other allied health courses. Providing a consistent, practical approach, this authoritative guide delivers everything you need to master patient communication, care plan development, and documenting interventions. Case chapters are organized into system sections that correspond to those of the companion textbook. Sharpen your ability to: Identify actual or potential drug therapy problems *Determine the desired therapeutic outcome *Evaluate therapeutic alternatives *Design an optimal individualized pharmacotherapeutic plan *Evaluate the therapeutic outcome *Provide patient education *Communicate and implement the therapeutic plan Develop expertise in pharmacotherapy decision making with: *Realistic patient presentations that include medial history, physical examination, and laboratory data, followed by a series of questions using a systematic, problem-solving approach *A broad range of cases--from a single disease state to multiple disease states and drug-related problems *Expert coverage that integrates the biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences with therapeutics *Appendices containing sample answer to several cases and valuable information on medical abbreviations, laboratory tests, mathematical conversion factors, and anthropometrics.

Pharmacy Calculations: A Video Lecture Review by W. Cary Mobley, 2019

Quick Answers: Pharmacy by Lauren K. Roller; Laura Baumgartner; Shane P. Desselle, 2019 Quick Answers: Pharmacy provides concise, practical, expert information on the pharmacotherapy of common disorders. It is designed for quick and easy access to the drug therapy information you need for decision making in the clinical setting. Content is derived from the leading pharmacy reference used for both inpatient and ambulatory care settings: DiPiro JT, Talbert RL, Yee GC, Matzke GR, Wells, BG, Posey LM, eds. Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach. 10th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill; 2017. Structured alphabetically, each disease state topic consists of just the right amount of information to give you key treatment features of more than 140 diseases. The bulleted format promotes rapid comprehension so you can immediately apply what you learn from this quick consult.

Schwinghammer's Pharmacotherapy Casebook: a Patient-Focused Approach, Twelfth Edition by Sharon K. Park; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Julia M. Koehler et al, 2022 Make the right drug therapy decisions with the leading guide to applying pharmacotherapy principles to real-world clinical practice The perfect companion to DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Edition Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach uses 150+ cases to help you build the clinical decision-making skills required to identify and resolve commonly encountered medication therapy problems encountered in daily practice. Providing a consistent, practical approach, this authoritative guide delivers everything you need to master patient communication, care plan development, and documenting interventions. Case chapters are organized into system sections that correspond to those of the companion textbook. The case-based approach makes this an ideal resource for PharmD, Nurse Practitioner, and other allied health courses. With each case you will learn how to: Identify actual or potential drug therapy problems Determine the desired therapeutic outcome Evaluate therapeutic alternatives Design an optimal individualized pharmacotherapeutic plan Develop methods to evaluate the therapeutic outcome Provide patient education Communicate and implement the pharmacotherapeutic plan Everything you need to develop expertise in pharmacotherapy decision-making: Realistic patient presentations include medical history, physical examination, and laboratory data, followed by a series of questions using a systemic, problem-solving approach Compelling range of cases--from the uncomplicated (a single disease state) to the complex (multiple disease states and drug-related problems) Coverage that integrates the biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences with therapeutics Appendices containing valuable information on pharmacy abbreviations, laboratory tests, mathematical conversion factors, anthropometrics, and complementary and alternative therapies Content that is ideal for both pharmacy and nurse practitioner markets

South African Pharmacology Cases with Questions: A Clinical Approach by Roland van Rensburg, 2025

Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11th ed. by Rana Biary; Mary Ann Howland; Silas W. Smith; Richard S. Weisman et al, 2023 The hands-on study companion for the most respected, rigorous medical toxicology text available Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies has long been the go-to guide for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating poisoned and overdosed patients. Now, this practical companion provides everything you need to get even more out of Goldfrank's. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies provides 1,400 questions with answers for testing your knowledge a process that increases information retention and serves as invaluable practice for board exams. Each chapter has its own question set using both general factual and case-based questions. The guide is ideal for students, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies covers: General approaches to the poisoned patient Principles of medical toxicology Clinical basis of medical toxicology Poison prevention and education Research principles Legal and forensic considerations

Top 125 Drug Card Case Quiz by Jill M. Kolesar; Lee C. Vermeulen, 2022

Transitions of Care in Pharmacy Casebook by Laressa Bethishou; Phung On; Jessica Wooster, 2021 100 complex cases illustrate how to ensure safe, effective treatment during transitions between care settings. Moving a patient from one healthcare provider or setting to another--a transition of care--increases the risk of medication errors due to inadequate communication and poor coordination of care. While guideline-and evidence-based therapy is important, pharmacists must also address other patient-specific needs and possible barriers to safety, efficacy, and to adherence of therapies. Providing a deep dive into this critical topic, Transitions of Care in Pharmacy Casebook explains how to deliver and optimize complex patient care during transitions between care settings. This essential resource features 100 enlightening clinical cases that illustrate real-world practices. Organized by disease state, each case incorporates clinical knowledge, patient education, effective communication, and social issues. Transition of Care in Pharmacy Casebook includes: An insightful introduction to transitions of care practice models 100 complex clinical cases incorporating specific elements of patient care Concise coverage of various medical conditions commonly encountered in various practice settings Considerations on treating special populations, such as the elderly and homeless patients Bulleted text explaining the theory and rationale for each case Informative charts with lab findings, medication records, provider notes, and diagnostic exams.

Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Douglas Rollins; Donald Blumenthal, 2016 A new companion study guide to the most respected text in pharmacy education. Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutic delivers concise, high-yield summaries of the world-renowned coverage of the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology found in Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. In order to maximize the learning and teaching experience, this unique review is packed with pedagogical aids such as learning objectives, summaries of key points, self-assessment Q&A, case vignettes, and a complete test bank in the final chapter. Perfect as a self-study guide or as a required classroom review, the book contains features and content that will appeal to both students and professors.