Other eBooks
Artificial Intelligence in Pharmaceutical Sciences by
This cutting-edge reference book discusses the intervention of artificial intelligence in the fields of drug development, modified drug delivery systems, pharmaceutical technology, and medical devices development. This comprehensive book includes an overview of artificial intelligence in pharmaceutical sciences and applications in the drug discovery and development process. It discusses the role of machine learning in the automated detection and sorting of pharmaceutical formulations. It covers nanosafety and the role of artificial intelligence in predicting potential adverse biological effects. FEATURES Includes lucid, step-by-step instructions to apply artificial intelligence and machine learning in pharmaceutical sciences Explores the application of artificial intelligence in nanosafety and prediction of potential hazards Covers application of artificial intelligence in drug discovery and drug development Reviews the role of artificial intelligence in assessment of pharmaceutical formulations Provides artificial intelligence solutions for experts in the pharmaceutical and medical devices industries This book is meant for academicians, students, and industry experts in pharmaceutical sciences, medicine, and pharmacology.
ISBN: 9781000994599Publication Date: 2023-11-23
Basic Pharmacokinetics, 3rd ed. by
This book introduces basic pharmacokinetic concepts to beginner learners to help them understand the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of drugs. After a basic introduction to pharmacokinetics and its related fields, the book provides a clear introduction to quantitative pharmacokinetic relations and the interplay between pharmacokinetic parameters after different routes of drug administration. Emphasizing the application and importance of pharmacokinetic concepts in clinical practice throughout, the book features: A clear, simple, and concise style with the use of graphs and simulations to aid learning. Bullet point summaries of each concept to demonstrate applications in clinical practice. Practice problems and solved examples to help the reader understand the best approach for calculating pharmacokinetic parameters. A glossary of key words and acronyms. This book is an essential read for undergraduate and graduate pharmacokinetic students in pharmacy, pharmacology, and pharmaceutical science programs worldwide. Accompanying the book is a website with self-instructional tutorials and pharmacokinetic simulations, allowing visualization of concepts for enhanced comprehension. This learning tool received an award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy for innovation in teaching, making it a valuable supplement to this textbook.
ISBN: 9781000922011Publication Date: 2023-09-13
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Feal and Neonatal Risk, 12th ed. by
Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant.
Clinical Pharmacology, 12th ed. by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Clinical Pharmacology During Pregnancy, 2nd ed. by
Clinical Pharmacology During Pregnancy, Second Edition is written for clinicians, physicians, midwives, nurses, pharmacists and other medical professionals involved in the care of women during pregnancy. The book focuses on the impact of pregnancy on drug disposition and includes coverage of treatments for diseases of specific body systems as well as essential content on dosing and efficacy. This update includes substantially expanded sections on the ethics of pharmacological research in pregnancy and physiologic changes, along with new sections on patient reported outcomes in pregnancy, delivery and postnatal care, and the use of pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic approaches to estimate maternal, placental and fetal dosing. The broad range of this book encompasses analgesics, antiasthmatics, antidepressants, heart and circulatory drugs, vitamins and herbal supplements, and more. Topics in chemotherapy and substance abuse are also covered, as are research issues, including clinical trial design and ethical considerations.
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations by
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations: A Guide for Effective Dosing, has long been the go-to guide for learning how to calculate opioid conversions. Now in its second edition, this reference is a must-have for clinicians involved in pain management at all levels. Written by pain management expert Mary Lynn McPherson, PharmD, Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations focuses on the calculations that practitioners use in actual practice, providing realistic scenarios for decision making. The revised edition covers the entire spectrum of opioid analgesics used to manage patients with moderate to severe pain and serious life¬limiting illnesses. Inside this updated and expanded guide you'll find: Learning objectives and practice problems with solutions in each chapter New clinical cases throughout, including a baker's dozen of opioid conversion MIScalculation cases with detailed explanations Expanded information on less commonly used opioids, including levorphanol and nalbuphine Important summary points at the end of each chapter Updated pearls, pitfalls, and fast facts Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations is designed to help practitioners including pharmacists, physicians, nurses and others develop a high level of skill in performing the required mathematical calculations associated with opioid conversions, plus the confidence to safely and effectively manage their patients' needs for pain relief.
eBooks
Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy by
Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy: Approaches and Applications provides comprehensive and updated information from experts in basic science research and clinical practice on how existing drugs can be repurposed for cancer treatment. The book summarizes successful stories that may assist researchers in the field to better design their studies for new repurposing projects. Sections discuss specific topics such as in silico prediction and high throughput screening of repurposed drugs, drug repurposing for overcoming chemoresistance and eradicating cancer stem cells, and clinical investigation on combination of repurposed drug and anticancer therapy. Cancer researchers, oncologists, pharmacologists and several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about the use of existing drugs for different purposes in cancer therapy will find this to be a valuable resource.
ISBN: 9780128196687Publication Date: 2020-07-27
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023, 20th ed. by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant. The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more.
The Harriet Lane Handbook, 23rd ed. by
The product of their efforts was a concise yet comprehensive handbook that became an indispensable tool for the residents of the Harriet Lane Home. Ultimately, Robert Cooke (department chief, 1956–1974) realized the potential of the Handbook and the fifth edition was published for widespread distribution by Year Book. Since that time, the handbook has been regularly updated and rigorously revised to reflect the most up-to-date information and available clinical guidelines. It has grown from a humble Hopkins resident “pearl book” to become a nationally and internationally respected clinical resource
ICU Quick Drug Guide, 1st ed. by
Offering essential, evidence-based practice guidelines specifically for the critical care setting, ICU Quick Drug Guide contains up-to-date information in a quick-access format. This portable handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians. Covers the wide variety of issues seen in the ICU, including sepsis and septic shock, venous thromboembolism, acute heart failure, anaphylaxis, arrhythmias, asthma and COPD, pain, infections, pancreatitis and liver failure, stroke, and many more. Begins each topic with a brief discussion of the disease state followed by drug tables that compare and contrast different treatment regimens, including pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, drug interactions, contraindications, and hepatic/renal dosing. Contains clinical pearls organized by the top disease states seen in the critical/acute care setting. Provides practical and essential drug information from Dr. Jennifer Pai Lee, a clinical pharmacist with expertise in critical care and pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Medical Pharmacology & Therapeutics provides all the information medical and healthcare students need throughout their degree programme and beyond, including for professional qualifications such as the PSA. This all-round textbook covers basic pharmacology through to drug prescribing in clinical contexts, covering the pathogenic mechanisms of disease; drug actions, side effects, and the therapeutic principles of drug use. It takes a helpful systems-based approach that orders information according to body systems and disease areas, rather than by drug class. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to include latest scientific understanding of drug action and administration and current best practice in prescribing medications, informed by the latest national guidelines. A clinical focus throughout - suitable for medical, nursing and other healthcare students throughout their training Thorough update of clinically-relevant medicines to ensure best practice Information aligned with the British National Formulary (BNF), NICE guidelines and relevant professional benchmarks Comprehensive drug compendia allow all drugs to be identified and placed within their respective classes Extensive self-assessment questions to support learning and revision New to this edition Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19 Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, 16th ed. by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabeticallyCompletely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactionsClearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listingExtensive bibliography with over 40,000 referencesA must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
Other eBooks
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference, 37th ed. by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology, 2nd ed. by
This updated edition of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology allows you to take a distinct visual approach to understanding both the basic science and clinical applications of pharmacology. Designed to be compatible and used in conjunction with other pharmacology resources, this medical reference book offers a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. And with the new addition of Student Consult online access, Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is even more convenient than ever before! Available online for the first time! Search the full contents of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology no matter what your location with convenient access to Student Consult. Visually grasp the most important principles in pharmacology with succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter, as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Learn how drugs are used to treat specific disorders in the body, as well as their effects on a particular site, with a format divided by organ system and full-color illustrations of the systems themselves. Access in-depth guidance on the must-know elements of each pharmacologic principle with clear, concise notes located beneath the corresponding image.
Nursing2023 Drug Handbook by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Prevent medication errors and provide optimal patient care with the latest expert advice from the new edition of the best-selling nursing drug guide. Nursing2023 Drug Handbook® delivers evidence-based, nursing-focused drug monographs for nearly 3700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs. With a tabbed, alphabetical organization and a "New Drugs" section, NDH202 makes it easy to check drug facts on the spot. All new 27 monographs of newly-FDA-approved drugs are listed together for easy review. Thoroughly revised with the latest information: 3,691 drug monographs provide dosages, indications, boxed warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information. The Guide to Reading Drug Monographs explains and illustrates each section of a monograph. Pill guide insert: Full-color photos distinguish 439 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Continually updated: Monthly updates on Lippincott® NursingCenter® deliver the latest FDA information. Nearly 30 appendices cover topics such as serotonin syndrome, pregnancy risk categories, and understanding biosimilar drugs. Four introductory chapters examine drug actions, interactions, and reactions; drug therapy across the lifespan; safe drug administration; and therapeutic drug classifications.
Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th ed. by
From the latest vaccination evidence, recommendations, and protocols . . . to new vaccine development and the use of vaccines in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th Edition, covers every aspect of vaccination. Now completely revised and updated from cover to cover, this award-winning text continues to provide reliable information from global authorities, offering a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Contains all-new chapters on COVID-19, vaccine hesitancy, and non-specific effects of vaccines, as well as significantly revised content on new vaccine technologies such as mRNA vaccines, emerging vaccines, and technologies to improve immunization. Presents exciting new data on evolution of adjuvants across the centuries, dengue vaccines, human papillomavirus vaccines, respiratory syncytial virus vaccines, tuberculosis vaccines, and zoster vaccines. Provides up-to-date, authoritative information on vaccine production, available preparations, efficacy and safety, and recommendations for vaccine use, with rationales and data on the impact of vaccination programs on morbidity and mortality. Provides complete coverage of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues. Keeps you up to date with information on each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Covers vaccine-preventable diseases, vaccine science, and licensed vaccine products, as well as product technologies and global regulatory and public health issues. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Prescribing Mental Health Medication, 3rd ed. by
Prescribing Mental Health Medication is a comprehensive text for all practitioners who treat mental disorders with medication. This new (third) edition is fully updated and includes a variety of additional chapters. Prescribing Mental Health Medication covers the latest digital methodologies including Internet-based mental health treatment, electronic medical records and prescriber use of social media. Including information on all psychotropic medications in use in the United States and the United Kingdom, the book incorporates clinical tips, sample dialogues for talking about mental health medications to patients, and information specifically relevant in primary care settings. It looks at: • how to determine if medication is needed, proper dosing and how to start, stop and change medication • specific mental health symptoms and appropriate medication • special populations including non-adherent patients, medication abusers, those mixing alcohol and psychotropics, confused patients, children, adolescents, pregnant women and seniors • management of medication side effects and avoidance of medication risk • prescription of generic preparations • organizing a prescriptive office and record keeping. The additional chapters in this new edition of Prescribing Mental Health Medication cover topics such as combining specific medications, combining medications and psychological therapies, use of'natural'substances in mental health treatment, successfully managing patient relapse, and appropriate prescriptions of potentially controversial medications such as stimulants and benzodiazepines. This practical text explains the entire process of medication assessment, management and follow up for general medical practitioners, mental health practitioners, students, residents, prescribing nurses and others perfecting this skill.
Women's Health Across the Lifespan: A Pharmacotherapeutic Approach, 3rd ed. by Today, more than at any time in recent history, women’s health care—and even the evidence needed to provide the best possible health care—are under duress. As a result, books such as this one are vitally important if we are to continue making progress in understanding women’s health across the lifespan. Taking sex and gender influences into consideration—at all levels of society, not just research and clinical care—should be as automatic as looking both ways before crossing the street. This book makes clear that the etiology and manifestation of disease varies widely among men and women and can be affected by a host of factors that could have far-reaching consequences many years later.
ISBN: 9781265164225
