eBooks
3D Printing: Applications in Medicine and Surgery Volume 2 by
New technologies in 3D printing offer innovative capabilities in surgery, from planning complex operations to providing alternatives to traditional training with more cost-effective outcomes. In 3D Printing: Application in Medical Surgery, Volume 2, Drs. Vasileios N. Papadopoulos, Vassilios Tsioukas, and Jasjit S. Suri bring together up-to-date information on 3D printing and its application in surgical specialties such as hebatobilliary and pancreatic surgery, vascular surgery, orthopedic surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, and more. Discusses challenges and opportunities of 3D printing across surgical sub-specialties. Covers 3D printing and its application in major surgical specialties, as well as dentistry, transplantation, global surgery, and diagnostic and interventional radiology. Consolidates today's available information on this burgeoning topic into a single convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323661935Publication Date: 2021-09-09
Artificial Intelligence for Neurological Disorders by
Artificial Intelligence for Neurological Disorders provides a comprehensive resource of state-of-the-art approaches for AI, big data analytics and machine learning-based neurological research. The book discusses many machine learning techniques to detect neurological diseases at the cellular level, as well as other applications such as image segmentation, classification and image indexing, neural networks and image processing methods. Chapters include AI techniques for the early detection of neurological disease and deep learning applications using brain imaging methods like EEG, MEG, fMRI, fNIRS and PET for seizure prediction or neuromuscular rehabilitation. The goal of this book is to provide readers with broad coverage of these methods to encourage an even wider adoption of AI, Machine Learning and Big Data Analytics for problem-solving and stimulating neurological research and therapy advances.
ISBN: 9780323902779Publication Date: 2022-09-22
eBooks
Big Data in Psychiatry and Neurology by
Big Data in Psychiatry and Neurology provides an up-to-date overview of achievements in the field of big data in Psychiatry and Medicine, including applications of big data methods to aging disorders (e.g., Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease), mood disorders (e.g., major depressive disorder), and drug addiction. This book will help researchers, students and clinicians implement new methods for collecting big datasets from various patient populations. Further, it will demonstrate how to use several algorithms and machine learning methods to analyze big datasets, thus providing individualized treatment for psychiatric and neurological patients. As big data analytics is gaining traction in psychiatric research, it is an essential component in providing predictive models for both clinical practice and public health systems. As compared with traditional statistical methods that provide primarily average group-level results, big data analytics allows predictions and stratification of clinical outcomes at an individual subject level.
Introduction to Deep Learning and Neural Networks with Python(tm) by
Introduction to Deep Learning and Neural Networks with Python(tm): A Practical Guide is an intensive step-by-step guide for neuroscientists to fully understand, practice, and build neural networks. Providing math and Python(tm) code examples to clarify neural network calculations, by book's end readers will fully understand how neural networks work starting from the simplest model Y=X and building from scratch. Details and explanations are provided on how a generic gradient descent algorithm works based on mathematical and Python(tm) examples, teaching you how to use the gradient descent algorithm to manually perform all calculations in both the forward and backward passes of training a neural network.
ISBN: 9780323909334Publication Date: 2020-11-26
Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery by
As the benefits of surgical robotic systems in spine surgery become more widely known, spine procedures that utilize these technologies are expected to greatly increase over the next decade. Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery: Surgical Techniques and Advancements provides up-to-date, authoritative clinical guidance in this dynamic area for surgeons who are already using these innovative methods, as well as for those exploring the field. In a single, convenient source, this title comprehensively summarizes clinical studies, advancements, and expert recommendations regarding today's robotic and navigated spine surgery. Covers the recent advancements and impact that popular neuronavigation devices and surgical robots have had on the surgical management of the spine, including clinical studies, technical guides, review papers, and expert recommendations. Discusses devices that today's surgeons are most likely to use, such as navigation devices, robotics, augmented reality, and virtual reality systems. Includes focused content on complex spine surgeries, where navigation and robotic devices can have the most significant impact. Features procedural images including radiographs, surgical photos, and equipment photos for visual guidance. Contains chapters on navigation in occipital and cervical spine surgery, spinal trauma and navigation, navigated and robotic-assisted deformity correction, cost-effectiveness of robotic and navigation systems, virtual reality and augmented reality in spine surgery, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery, 8th ed. by
Widely regarded as the definitive reference in the field, Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery offers unparalleled, multimedia coverage of the entirety of this complex specialty. Fully updated to reflect recent advances in the basic and clinical neurosciences, the 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about functional and restorative neurosurgery, deep brain stimulation, stem cell biology, radiological and nuclear imaging, and neuro-oncology, as well as minimally invasive surgeries in spine and peripheral nerve surgery, and endoscopic and other approaches for cranial procedures and cerebrovascular diseases. In four comprehensive volumes, Dr. H. Richard Winn and his expert team of editors and authors provide updated content, a significantly expanded video library, and hundreds of new video lectures that help you master new procedures, new technologies, and essential anatomic knowledge in neurosurgery. Discusses current topics such as diffusion tensor imaging, brain and spine robotic surgery, augmented reality as an aid in neurosurgery, AI and big data in neurosurgery, and neuroimaging in stereotactic functional neurosurgery. 55 new chapters provide cutting-edge information on Surgical Anatomy of the Spine, Precision Medicine in Neurosurgery, The Geriatric Patient, Neuroanesthesia During Pregnancy, Laser Interstitial Thermal Therapy for Epilepsy, Fetal Surgery for Myelomeningocele, Rehabilitation of Acute Spinal Cord Injury, Surgical Considerations for Patients with Polytrauma, Endovascular Approaches to Intracranial Aneurysms, and much more. Hundreds of all-new video lectures clarify key concepts in techniques, cases, and surgical management and evaluation. Notable lecture videos include multiple videos on Thalamotomy for Focal Hand Dystonia and a video to accompany a new chapter on the Basic Science of Brain Metastases. An extensive video library contains stunning anatomy videos and videos demonstrating intraoperative procedures with more than 800 videos in all. Each clinical section contains chapters on technology specific to a clinical area. Each section contains a chapter providing an overview from experienced Section Editors, including a report on ongoing controversies within that subspecialty. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
- ClinicalKeyNeurology / Neurosurgery Artificial Intelligence Book Chapters