eBooks
Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors Volume 1 by
With an annual rate of more than 12 million global diagnoses and 7.6 million deaths, the societal and economic burden of cancer cannot be overstated. Brain metastases are the most common malignant tumors of the central nervous system, yet their incidence appears to be increasing in spite of the advancement of cancer therapies. While much is known about primary cancers (including primary brain tumors), less work has been done to uncover the roots of metastatic disease. Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors Volume 1 fills that gap, serving as the first reference to focus primarily on the link between primary cancers and brain metastases. This link is explored for the most common cancer types - lung, breast, and melanoma. Additionally, biological background as well as therapy for CNS metastases is addressed. Age and gender related trends are also discussed, as is the use of biomarkers for early detection.
ISBN: 9780128008966Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors, Volume 2 by
Brain metastases are the most common malignant tumors of the central nervous system, yet their incidence appears to be increasing in spite of the advancement of cancer therapies. While much is known about primary cancers (including primary brain tumors), less work has been done to uncover the roots of metastatic disease. Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors fills that gap, serving as the first two-part reference to focus primarily on the link between primary cancers and brain metastases. This link is explored for the most common cancer types - lung, breast, and melanoma. Additionally, biological background as well as therapy for CNS metastases is addressed. Age- and gender-related trends are also discussed, as is the use of biomarkers for early detection.
ISBN: 9780128014196Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors, Volume 3 by
Brain Metastases from Primary Tumors Volume Three: Epidemiology, Biology, and Therapy of Melanoma and Other Cancers provides a comprehensive overview of the metastasis of cancer, the main cause of approximately 90% of cancer associated deaths, yet the mechanisms governing this clinically important process remain poorly understood. Melanoma is the third most common diagnosis among patients with brain metastases, after lung and breast cancer. Approximately 75% of patients with metastatic melanoma develop brain metastases during the course of their disease. Although tumorigenesis of melanoma remains poorly understood, recent advances in gene expression profiling have revealed molecular mechanisms of this deadly disease. In addition, high-throughput gene expression has many advantages over techniques in cancer transcriptomic studies and has led to the discovery of numerous diagnostic, prognostic, and therapeutic targets, which are also detailed in this book. The book discusses the link between primary tumors and brain metastasis of melanoma, including molecular mechanisms, treatment options, prognosis, and general applications. Comprehensive chapters discuss systemic therapy, integrin inhibitors, stereotaxic radiosurgery, and more, making this book a great resource for neurooncologists, neurosurgeons, neurologists, and cancer researchers.
ISBN: 9780128035085Publication Date: 2016-04-27
Brain Tumor Imaging by
A concise yet in-depth analysis of imaging modalities for brain tumors FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) Brain Tumor Imaging is a practical, comprehensive reference that covers all the methods of imaging used in the diagnosis and assessment of brain tumors. It includes key information on the use of advanced imaging technologies in the clinical setting for the successful treatment of patients with brain tumors. Key Features: Includes more than 500 high-quality images (color as well as black and white) that help illustrate the latest imaging modalities used in neuro-oncology Covers advanced, functional imaging techniques, giving readers the latest information on clinically advanced imaging tools for brain tumor assessment Provides details on how to accurately evaluate treatment effects and differentiate from tumor progression This book is an essential guide to advanced imaging modalities for all radiologists, neuro-radiologists, neuro-oncologists, and neurosurgeons involved in the treatment and evaluation of patients with brain tumors.
Central Nervous System Cancer Rehabilitation by
Offering a well-rounded overview of CNS cancers and best practices for rehabilitation of the cancer patient, Central Nervous System Cancer Rehabilitation provides succinct, easy-to-digest coverage for practicing and trainee physiatrists, as well as physical and occupational therapists. This concise resource by Dr. Adrian Cristian begins with an introduction to CNS cancers and progresses to rehabilitation practice, associated symptom management, and palliative care. Covers commonly used medical, surgical, and radiation treatments; the continuum of rehabilitative care; safety considerations; cancer fatigue; depression and anxiety; cognitive impairment; and much more. Discusses pediatric cancer rehabilitation, cancer pain management, palliative care, and associated symptoms and conditions. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323548298Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, 2d ed. by
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, Second Edition, is a major reference and guide for neurosurgeons, medical oncologists, neuroscientists, orthopedic surgeons, head and neck surgeons and radiation oncologists that treat patients and research chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton. This book is the unique result of the collaboration of multidisciplinary specialists from a wide variety of fields (neurological sciences, medical oncology, molecular biology, orthopedics and radiation oncology), offering the most relevant information about chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton from each of these fields condensed into one single volume. It contains new medical knowledge and scientific advances regarding the treatment of these types of tumors. Additionally, the book includes chapters written by the Chordoma Foundation and Sarcoma Foundation of America, providing the most valuable information and support for patients and their relatives.
Epidemiology of Brain and Spinal Tumors by
Epidemiology of Brain and Spinal Tumors provides a single volume resource on imaging methods and neuroepidemiology of both brain and spinal tumors. The book covers a variety of imaging techniques, including computed tomography (CT), MRI, positron emission tomography (PET), and other laboratory tests used in diagnosis and treatment. Detailed epidemiology, various imaging methods, and clinical considerations of tumors of the CNS make this an ideal reference for users who will also find diverse information about structures and functions, cytology, epidemiology (including molecular epidemiology), diagnosis and treatment. This book is appropriate for neuroscience researchers, medical professionals and anyone interested in a complete guide to visualizing and understanding CNS tumors.
eBooks
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy by
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of the molecular methodologies in the neuro-oncology field. There have been profound changes in the landscape of approaches to brain tumor therapy since the first edition--mainly in the areas of molecular biology and molecular therapeutics, as well as in the maturation of immunotherapy approaches (e.g., vaccines). This updated edition has a new, primary focus on multidisciplinary molecular methods, and is broadened to include the latest cutting-edge molecular biology, therapeutics, immunobiology and immunotherapy approaches. As the first comprehensive book to address the molecular research into these concepts, users will find it to be an invaluable resource on the topics discussed.
Handbook of Neuro-Oncology Neuroimaging, 3d ed. by
With treatment approaches and the field of neuro-oncology neuroimaging changing rapidly, this third edition of the Handbook of Neuro-Oncology Neuroimaging is very relevant to those in the field, providing a single-source, comprehensive, reference handbook of the most up-to-date clinical and technical information regarding the application of neuroimaging techniques to brain tumor and neuro-oncology patients. This new volume will have updates on all of the material from the second edition, and in addition features several new important chapters covering diverse topics such as imaging for the use of Laser Interstitial Thermal Therapy, advanced imaging techniques in radiation therapy, therapeutic treatment fields, response assessment in clinical trials, surgical planning of neoplastic disease of the spine, and more. Sections first overview neuro-oncological disorders before delving into the physics and basic science of neuroimaging and great focus on CT and MRI. The book then focuses on advances in the neuroimaging of brain tumors and neuroimaging of specific tumor types. There is also discussion of neuroimaging of other neuro-oncological syndromes. This book will serve as a resource of background information to neuroimaging researchers and basic scientists with an interest in brain tumors and neuro-oncology.
ISBN: 9780128228357Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Nanotechnology Methods for Neurological Diseases and Brain Tumors by
Nanotechnology Methods for Neurological Diseases and Brain Tumors: Drug Delivery across the Blood-Brain Barrier compiles the latest (and future potential) treatment strategies for brain tumors and neurological diseases, in particular Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and stroke, those that bypass the blood/brain barrier. The current understanding of brain drug delivery and access is discussed in Chapter One, with the next section focusing on the implementation of the nose-to-brain intranasal route in brain-targeted drug delivery. In addition, nanotechnology-based brain drug delivery is covered in Chapter Three. This avenue offers impressive improvement in the treatment of neurological diseases and brain tumors by using bio-engineered systems that interact with biological systems at a molecular level. In Chapter Four, emphasis is placed on the need for brain-targeted experimental models that mimic disease conditions. Final chapters discuss the very latest advances in targeted treatment strategies for neurological diseases and brain tumors.
ISBN: 9780128037966Publication Date: 2017-07-17
Neuroblastoma by
Neuroblastoma: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Interventions comprehensively reviews current concepts in molecular and histopathological mechanisms that influence the growth of human malignant neuroblastoma, along with exciting therapeutic interventions. This book features a broad collection of contributions from leading investigators in histopathology, molecular mechanisms, genetics, epigenetics, microRNAs, proteomics, and metabolism in controlling growth and death in neuroblastoma. Recent developments in therapeutic interventions for neuroblastoma are also covered extensively, including chapters on surgery, chemotherapy, targeted therapy and immunotherapy. This book is ideal for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and investigators with an interest in current molecular concepts and therapeutic interventions.
Neurological Complications of Systemic Cancer and Antineoplastic Therapy by
Neurological Complications of Systematic Cancer and Antineoplastic Therapy, Second Edition provides an expanded, updated and in-depth review of common manifestations related to neurology that occur in patients with systemic cancer. These include brain metastases, spinal cord compression, cerebrovascular events, and leptomeningeal disease. The book also discusses neurological complications related to treatments such as radiation and chemotherapy and is an essential reference for the practicing neurologist and oncologist. Sections in this new release cover the pathophysiology and molecular biology of cancer and the metastatic phenotype, Metastatic spread to cranial and peripheral nerves and brachial and lumbosacral plexuses, Metabolic and nutritional disorders, CNS infections, Neurological complications of immunotherapy and bone marrow transplants, Neurological complications of new molecular agents and immuno-modulatory drugs, and more.
Neuro-Oncology for the Clinical Neurologist by
In the growing field of neuro-oncology, the past few years have witnessed rapid advances in tumor classification, treatment modalities, and the role of neurologists and neuro-oncologists. Neuro-Oncology for the Clinical Neurologist is a first-of-its-kind resource that focuses on patient-clinical scenarios relevant to the practicing neurologist-bringing you up to date with everything from basic principles and neuro-oncology imaging consults to neurologic complications of radiation, systemic, and immune-based therapies, and much more. Focuses on the clinical management of patients typically encountered by neurologists and neurology trainees. Provides clinically relevant updates in five key areas of neuro-oncology: primary CNS tumors, brain and leptomeningeal metastases, inherited tumor syndromes of the nervous system (e.g. neurofibromatosis), paraneoplastic and immune-mediated neurological complications of cancer, and neurological complications of cancer treatments. Includes a summary of clinical pearls and a reference list of clinical cases. Anchors each chapter with patient cases and clinical scenarios, provides evidence-based discussion, and explains patient management. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuro-Oncology: the Essentials by
The essential guide to managing tumors of the central nervous system Neuro-Oncology: The Essentials, Third Edition, is a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental science and core clinical concepts behind the successful multidisciplinary management of patients with brain and spine tumors. Among the updates to this new edition are eight new chapter topics, including: Endoscopic Approaches, Pediatric Supratentorial Tumors, and Neuro-Oncology in the Developing World. The book begins with basic science, progresses to clinical applications, and includes a robust section on specific tumor types. Key Features: A major revision, with a 20% increase in content and over 35% increase in figures Editor's Notes at the end of each chapter briefly summarize a topic, provide a historical perspective on a topic, add a current reference, or highlight salient points Demonstrates the latest surgical navigation techniques, including stereotaxy and intraoperative MRI, used to access hard-to-reach tumors This new edition is an invaluable reference for all neurosurgeons, neurologists, and oncologists, as well as residents and fellows, and it will be a treasured volume in their medical libraries for years to come.
eBooks
Translational Immunotherapy of Brain Tumors by
Translational Immunotherapy of Brain Tumors gives researchers and practitioners an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of the field. Chapters include adoptive immunotherapy, immunosuppression, CAR therapy of brain tumors, and dendritic cell therapy for brain tumors. Very few agents have been shown to be efficacious in the treatment of malignant gliomas. Recently, there have been a number of studies demonstrating the potential success of immunotherapy for brain tumors. Immunotherapeutics are becoming the most frequent drugs to be used in cancer therapy. These new breakthroughs, now approved by the FDA, are a part of multiple phase III international trials and ongoing research in malignant glioma, meaning that the information in this cutting-edge book will be of great importance to practitioners and researchers alike. 2018 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Oncology
ISBN: 9780128024201Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Tumors of the Pediatric Central Nervous System, 2d ed. by
Praise for the first edition: A superb overview ... each chapter is well written and concise ... provides a succinct summary of the clinical, radiological, and pathological features of each tumor ... a useful reference for the treatment of pediatric central nervous system tumors. -- Journal of Neurosurgery Tumors of the Pediatric Central Nervous System, Second Edition, provides readers with both medical management and surgical perspectives on the clinical, pathological, and radiological diagnoses and treatment of pediatric CNS tumors. It includes complete coverage of the latest diagnostic and management techniques, state-of-the-art technologies, and trends in the surgical treatment of pediatric tumors. Highlights of the Second Edition: Contains 19 new chapters on such topics as recent advances in the cytogenetics and molecular biology of pediatric brain tumors, gangliogliomas and miscellaneous spinal cord tumors in children, post-chemotherapy morbidity, and many more Addresses the important issues of long-term chronic treatment of pediatric tumor patients and related outcome measures Includes summary boxes and tables that distill large amounts of information for quick review Written by editors and contributors who are world-renowned experts in the field of pediatric neurosurgery and oncology Neurosurgeons, neurologists, oncologists, radiation oncologists, and pediatricians caring for patients with tumors of the central nervous system will find this book to be an essential resource that they will repeatedly consult as they strive to enhance patient care.
ISBN: 9781604065473Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Tumors of the Spinal Canal by
Tumors of the spinal canal provide unique challenges both in the operative realm and in the oncological treatment of disease. Over the past few decades there have been great strides to make operative intervention safer, more precise, and less invasive in a functional and structural manner. Despite these advances, the inherent challenges of tumors in the spinal canal remain due to the specific location of the pathology and the intricate functional tissue surrounding these disease processes. Sometimes to understand the current state of technical surgery, treatment algorithms, and innovative research; we must first understand the early guiding principles of treatment of these tumors of the spinal canal. Through this textbook, a comprehensive yet relevant discussion of spinal pathology, anatomy, management, and future developments will be carried out in a systematic manner.
