eBooks
Gut Microbiota in Neurologic and Visceral Diseases by
Gut Microbiota in Neurologic and Visceral Diseases presents readers with comprehensive information on the involvement of microbiota in the pathogenesis of neurological disorders. Chapters cover the effect of microbiota on the development of visceral (obesity, type 2 diabetes, heart disease) and neurological disorders (Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's, depression, anxiety, and autism). Sections focus on the molecular mechanisms and signal transduction processes associated with the links among microbiota-related visceral and neurological disorders. It is hoped that this discussion will not only integrate and consolidate knowledge in this field but will also jumpstart more studies on the involvement of microbiota in the pathogenesis of neurological disorders.
ISBN: 9780128210390Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Molecular and Cellular Therapies for Motor Neuron Diseases by
Molecular and Cellular Therapies for Motor Neuron Diseases discusses the basics of the diseases, also covering advances in research and clinical trials. The book provides a resource for students that will help them learn the basics in a detailed manner that is required for scientists and clinicians. Users will find a comprehensive overview of the background of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig's Disease) and Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), along with the current understanding of their genetics and mechanisms. In addition, the book details gene and cell therapies that have been developed and their translation to clinical trials.
ISBN: 9780128022573Publication Date: 2017-01-16
Molecular-Genetic and Statistical Techniques for Behavioral and Neural Research by
Molecular-Genetic and Statistical Techniques for Behavioral and Neural Research presents the most exciting molecular and recombinant DNA techniques used in the analysis of brain function and behavior, a critical piece of the puzzle for clinicians, scientists, course instructors and advanced undergraduate and graduate students. Chapters examine neuroinformatics, genetic and neurobehavioral databases and data mining, also providing an analysis of natural genetic variation and principles and applications of forward (mutagenesis) and reverse genetics (gene targeting). In addition, the book discusses gene expression and its role in brain function and behavior, along with ethical issues in the use of animals in genetics testing. Written and edited by leading international experts, this book provides a clear presentation of the frontiers of basic research as well as translationally relevant techniques that are used by neurobehavioral geneticists.
ISBN: 9780128040782Publication Date: 2018-04-26
The Molecular Immunology of Neurological Diseases by
The Molecular Immunology of Neurological Diseases provides a comprehensive review of current updates in molecular immunogenetics of different neurological diseases. Readers will learn about the role of immune cells and their modulation strategies to help in the development of therapeutic approaches for both acute and chronic neurodegenerative disorders. There is no other book available on the topic. It has long been thought that the brain is an immune-privilege organ with very limited immune response. However recent studies have made clear that both systemic 'brain' and peripheral 'blood' immune cell responses play key roles in determining brain pathology in neurodegenerative disorders. This book summarizes the role of immune cell activation in the central nervous system microenvironment in acute and chronic neurodegenerative disorders. In addition, it discusses the key role of immune cells and their modulation strategies for the development of current therapeutic approaches.
eBooks
Precision Medicine in Stroke by
This book provides a comprehensive coverage of the state of the art in precision medicine in stroke. It starts by explaining and giving general information about precision medicine. Current applications in different strokes types (ischemic, haemorrhagic) are presented from diagnosis to treatment. In addition, ongoing research in the field (early stroke diagnosis and estimation of prognosis) is extensively discussed. The final part provides an in-depth discussion of how different interdisciplinary areas like artificial intelligence, molecular biology and genetics are contributing to this area. Precision Medicine in Stroke provides a practical approach to each chapter, reinforcing clinical applications and presenting clinical cases. This book is intended for all clinicians that interact with stroke patients (neurologists, internal medicine doctors, general practitioners, neurosurgeons), students and basic researchers.
ISBN: 9783030707606Publication Date: 2021-05-05
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 1 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume One, provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and key practical aspects relevant to neurologic and psychiatric disease. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, and related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised or newly commissioned to reflect the latest scientific and medical advances by an international team of leading scientists and clinicians. The contents have been expanded to include disorders for which a genetic basis has been recently identified, together with abundant original illustrations that convey and clarify the key points of the text in an attractive, didactic format.
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 2 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume Two provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and practical aspects relevant to the majority of neurologic and psychiatric disease. This updated volume focuses on degenerative disorders, movement disorders, neuro-oncology, neurocutaneous disorders, epilepsy, white matter diseases, neuropathies and neuronopathies, muscle and neuromuscular junction disorders, stroke, psychiatric disease, and a neurologic gene map. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands on the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community at large. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling.
