Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Oncology, then Specialty
eBooks
Access Device Guidelines, 4th ed. by
It is critical that oncology nurses understand the latest research, guidelines, and evidence-based practices in access devices. With the latest edition of Access Device Guidelines: Recommendations for Nursing Practice and Education, nurses can explore a foundation for practice and support in their day-to-day care of patients with cancer. The fourth edition of this text explores recommendations for a range of access devices, their common complications, and other relevant indications. Oncology nurses will learn about updates in dressing changes, flushing and locking, contraindications for peripheral IV administration, implanted port flushing frequency, and more. Additionally, the latest edition includes aseptic non-touch technique terminology and framework throughout the book and new appendices on dressings and vascular access teams. With access device technology becoming more complex, this book is an essential resource for practicing nurses in a wide range of settings to ensure safe and effective care of patients with vascular access devices.
Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual, 3rd ed. by
The third edition of ONS's Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual prepares nurses for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation advanced oncology certification examination through an all-inclusive clinical resource. The book provides a thorough overview of oncology advanced practice and includes the framework from the recent American Association of Colleges of Nursing publication The Essentials: Core Competencies for Professional Nursing Education, which re-envisions nursing education. Each chapter contains content on sample subjective, objective, and assessment and plan notes; case studies; and relevant nursing and interprofessional resources--with practice test questions similar in structure to the questions used in the exam. The text is a valuable resource to oncology APNs, graduate nursing students, medical residents, physician assistants, and oncology nurses in clinical practice. Don't wait to order the latest edition of the best-selling Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual.
ISBN: 9781635930580Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing, 2d ed. by
Like the first edition, this is a seminal textbook for the advanced practice nursing care of the seriously ill and dying. This comprehensive work addresses all aspects of palliative care including physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. It brings to the forefront current issues of health equity, managing through crisis, and meeting the needs of diverse populations. Each chapter contains case examples and a strong evidence base to support the highest quality of care. The text is written by leaders in the field and includes authors who have pioneered the role of the advanced practice nurse in palliative care. This volume offers advanced practice content and practical resources for clinical practice across all settings of care and encompassing all ages, from pediatrics to geriatrics.This newly revised edition has been reorganized to meet the needs of the APRN according to role delineation and practice issues. It offers foundation information on leadership, practice, and the various roles of the APRN as an administrator, educator, policy advocate, and researcher. The various settings of APRN work includes acute care settings (clinical care unit, intensive care unit, and emergency department), clinic (specialty care, primary care, and palliative care), community, rehabilitation, residential facilities, and telehealth. This edition also gives particular attention to special populations, including chapters on health disparities, economic disadvantages for urban dwellers, members of the LGBTQ+ community, Veterans, and Survivorship. There are sections wholly devoted to pediatric care, end of life communication, and the ethics APRNs have to navigate on a daily basis. Written by current APRNs for fellow APRNs, this text provides practical resources for clinical practice across a variety of topics.
Clinical Manual for the Oncology Advanced Practice Nurse by
"Patients with cancer can experience an array of complex medical issues during and following treatment, whether from the cancer itself, cancer therapy, or existing comorbidities. Advanced practice nurses providing care to this population need to be able to assess and treat acute and chronic conditions to promote favorable outcomes in symptom management and quality of life. This fourth edition builds upon the prior editions to address the nuances associated with assessing and intervening on symptoms to provide informed patient care. It has undergone extensive revision and incorporates new chapters to reflect current practice. Written by experts in oncology nursing and pharmacology, this comprehensive text serves as a quick reference guide for the diagnosis and treatment of emergent and ongoing problems occurring in patients with cancer. Symptoms are grouped by body system, and content is extensively cross-referenced to allow easy identification of symptoms to determine a medical diagnosis. This manual provides a detailed yet resource to guide busy practitioners within their practice"--
Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2d ed. by
Using a practical, question-and-answer approach, Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2nd Edition, helps you provide optimal care for patients and families who are dealing with serious illness. This unique reference focuses on patient and family/caregiver-centered care, highlighting the benefits of palliative care and best practices for delivery. The highly practical, user-friendly format sets it apart from other texts in the field, with concise, readable chapters organized around clinical questions that you're most likely to encounter in everyday care. Uniquely organized using a question-and-answer approach, making it easy to find answers to common questions asked by practitioners and patients. Up-to-date, reader-friendly chapters explore interventions, assessment techniques, treatment modalities, recommendations and guidelines, communication techniques, and available resources for palliative care. Expanded discussions on hospice in every chapter, and a new emphasis on pediatrics, with increased material on pediatric malignancies, developmental delays, cystic fibrosis, and perinatal palliative care. New chapters on wellness of the palliative care practitioner, patients with opioid use disorders, telehealth in palliative care, health disparities, rural palliative care, caring for people with hematologic malignancies, integrative and alternative therapies, LGBTQ+ populations, mobile health technologies, and national palliative care implementation strategies. High-quality evidence gathered and reviewed by leading experts in palliative medicine, including clinicians, educators, and researchers across a broad range of disciplines. Numerous algorithms throughout help you make informed decisions, and "take-home" points in every chapter provide a quick summary of key content. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
eBooks
Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation: A Manual for Nursing Practice, 3rd ed. by
"Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) has evolved from primary use in hematologic malignancies and nonmalignant disease and solid tumors into a treatment option for many other diseases, and indications for HSCT continue to expand. The new edition of this manual provides comprehensive information on the ever-evolving specialty of HSCT, providing nurses and other practitioners with in-depth information on the entire HSCT process, from stem cell mobilization, collection, and infusion to potential complications and long-term effects. It also includes chapters on current research, emerging therapies, ethics, HSCT program development, and professional practice issues"--
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323695848Publication Date: 2022-07-21
Symptom Management Guidelines for Oncology Nursing by
Uses a systems-based approach to for rapid access to symptoms commonly experienced during and after treatment Written in an easy-to-read format for use in daily practice, this evidence-based resource delivers the most current, comprehensive clinical guidelines for key pharmaceutical and supportive interventions with patients suffering from cancer. The book is distinguished by its systems-based approach which addresses--from head-to-toe--the symptoms commonly experienced by cancer patients during and after treatment. Each section of the book offers a comprehensive examination of common cancer symptoms along with clinical guidance on the most effective means of management. Sections cover general symptoms (fatigue, pain, alopecia) as well as those experienced in specific areas including gastrointestinal, genitourinary, pulmonary, neurological, cutaneous, and psychosocial. Chapters within each section consistently address such salient issues as prevalence, contributing factors, assessment, and management, along with a supporting case study and review questions to reinforce information. Textboxes and callouts pinpoint critical information throughout. Additionally, the book is accompanied by PowerPoint slides. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Delivers evidence-based guidance for oncology specialists and for those who care for individuals with cancer in their general practice Provides the most up-to-date information on key pharmaceutical and supportive interventions Highlights critical information with textboxes and callouts Includes a case study and review questions in each chapter to reinforce content Presents information based on established and validated guidelines from NCCN, ONS, ASCO, NCI, and others Includes PowerPoint slides for use by staff educators
Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses, 3rd ed. by
Healthcare improvements have shifted cancer care from the inpatient to outpatient settings. This change in healthcare delivery presents new challenges for professional nurses familiar only with the traditional inpatient model. As health care trends away from the hospital, telephone triage has become an essential tool for indirect patient care. The third edition of Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses given an updated look at this process, including new insights into patient care needs that result from newer cancer treatments, such as targeted and immunotherapies, as well as how updated technologies, including smartphones, and internet communication platforms, have enhanced patient assessment. With new chapters on nursing management of oral therapies and updated protocols using the latest policies and evidence-based practice, nurses of all experience levels can use this book as an essential resource for learning the telenursing role. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2019-01-05
