Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care) then Cardiovascular Care
Interventional Cardiology also available
eBooks
Cardiac Nursing, 7th ed. by
The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing by Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing is a comprehensive reference that provides a foundation for all cardiac nurses. It is designed to prepare the nurse who is first learning to care for patients undergoing cardiac surgery. It addresses significant changes in cardiac surgery and the nursing responsibilities to meet the needs of these acutely ill patients. Second, the book provides advanced knowledge and a scientific basis for nurses who have mastered the essential knowledge and skills necessary to care for this patient population who now seek more in-depth knowledge base about advances in this dynamic field and strategies to optimize patient outcomes. The emphasis throughout the book is providing an evidence-based foundation for care of the patient during the vulnerable period immediately following cardiac surgery. It also serves as a study aid for those readers preparing for the AACN's Cardiac Surgery Certificaton. The book features critical thinking questions, multiple choice self assessment questions, web resources, clinical inquiry boxes, and case studies.
Cardiac Vascular Nurse Certification Review by
The definitive certification review for CVRN exam success!Mirroring the CVRN Certification exam blueprint in style and content, this is the most current and comprehensive review guide available. Written in a user-friendly style, this review provides a concise and focused survey of the most important aspects of cardiovascular care. Cardiac nursing experts deliver essential information in an easy-to-follow outline format that includes a glossary, bulleted key points, patient scenarios, clinical pearls, case studies, references, and practice Q&As in each chapter. Colorful charts and illustrations clarify complex information, and a complete practice exam at the end of the book provides a targeted assessment of test readiness. This review contains preparatory information about the CVRN certification exam, including eligibility criteria, how to apply, guidance on best study practices, and a test content outline. A complete practice exam with more than 350 exam-style questions with rationales enables readers to assess their strengths and weaknesses. This text also contains further resources and best references for more-in-depth learning. Key Features: Includes a glossary, bulleted key points, patient scenarios, clinical pearls, case studies, references, and practice Q&As in each chapter Over 350 exam-style questions with complete rationales Provides a complete practice exam to determine test readiness
ISBN: 9780826173232Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Cardiovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd ed by
The Cardiovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition is a comprehensive delineation of the competent level of practice and professional performance common to and expected from cardiovascular registered nurses in all practice levels and settings. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all cardiovascular nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. That detailed scope of practice discussion is gives the context—the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of cardiovascular nursing—needed to understand and use the standards.
The ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care, 3rd ed. by
The ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care is the official textbook of the Acute Cardiovascular Care Association (ACCA) of the ESC.Cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) are a major cause of premature death worldwide and a cause of loss of disability-adjusted life years. For most types of CVD early diagnosis and intervention are independent drivers of patient outcome. Clinicians must be properly trained and centres appropriatelyequipped in order to deal with these critically ill cardiac patients.This new updated edition of the textbook continues to comprehensively approach all the different issues relating to intensive and acute cardiovascular care and addresses all those involved in intensive and acute cardiac care, not only cardiologists but also critical care specialists, emergencyphysicians and healthcare professionals. The chapters cover the various acute cardiovascular diseases that need high quality intensive treatment as well as organisational issues, cooperation among professionals, and interaction with other specialities in medicine.SECTION 1 focusses on the definition, structure, organisation and function of ICCU's, ethical issues and quality of care. SECTION 2 addresses the pre-hospital and immediate in-hospital (ED) emergency cardiac care. SECTIONS 3-5 discuss patient monitoring, diagnosis and specific procedures. Acutecoronary syndromes (ACS), acute decompensated heart failure (ADHF), and serious arrhythmias form SECTIONS 6-8. The main other cardiovascular acute conditions are grouped in SECTION 9. Finally SECTION 10 is dedicated to the many concomitant acute non-cardiovascular conditions that contribute to thepatients' case mix in ICCU.This edition includes new chapters such as low cardiac output states and cardiogenic shock, and pacemaker and ICDs: troubleshooting and chapters have been extensively revised. Purchasers of the print edition will also receive an access code to access the online version of the textbook which includesadditional figures, tables, and videos to better to better illustrate diagnostic and therapeutic techniques and procedures in IACC.The third edition of the ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care will establish a common basis of knowledge and a uniform and improved quality of care across the field.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
eBooks
Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases, 6th ed by
Now in full color, Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases is a concise quick-reference guide to effectively diagnosing and treating patients with common arterial and venous vascular diseases. Chapter by chapter, content is presented in a convenient online format, and covers everything from the latest diagnostic methodologies to current catheter-based basics to post-op patient management. Diseases and conditions include diabetes mellitus, atherosclerosis, obesity, and more. Emphasizes patient management and care rather than the technicalities of surgical interventions. Thoroughly updated, incorporating recent advancements in endovascular technologies and procedures. Disease-specific chapters cover pathophysiology, pre-op management, diagnosis, examination, procedural planning, and follow-up. Practical, no-nonsense writing style designed for easy and quick absorption of material. Includes management checklists, referenced to current literature, that facilitate efficient care planning and activities. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Build a solid knowledge base in hemodynamic nursing skills, with the newly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual!®, 4th Edition. Full of colorful images that illustrate monitoring concepts and processes, this concise, enjoyable guide sorts through the complexities of hemodynamics and clarifies them in easy-to-follow ways. Grasp the structures and functions of pulmonary and cardiac systems and the vital skills of hemodynamics, with this vital reference--a must-have for all nursing students, new nurses, and nurses returning to critical care. Get clear, concise direction on the concepts, devices, and nursing skills used in hemodynamic monitoring: NEW and updated content, photos and graphics that ;demonstrate nursing skills and responsibilities Hundreds of colorful images that guide you through the ins and outs of hemodynamics detailed photos, diagrams, charts and other visual aids that clarify cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Illustrates vital practice issues, such as how to confirm the lungs are getting enough oxygen, and how well the heart is pumping explains and reinforces key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Explains the fundamentals and current best practices in hemodynamic monitoring in easy-to-retain terms Ideal for visual learners-images demonstrate step-by-step, expert guidance on monitoring skills, physiology and devices: Understanding cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Understanding a pressure monitoring system Vascular access Pressure monitoring - arterial, central venous, and pulmonary artery pressure monitoring Cardiac output monitoring Tissue oxygenation monitoring Minimally invasive hemodynamic monitoring Circulatory assist devices Step-by-step guidance on thermodilution methods, analyzing thermodilution curves, measuring cardiac function and output, maintaining artery catheters, and more Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students and new nurses -addresses the physiology behind each learning objective and provides vital nursing considerations Chapter features: On the level defines normal and abnormal pressure readings for different patient conditions Q&A illustrated riddles, diagrams, and questions and answers at the end of each chapter that help you fully integrate new knowledge Matchmaker matching terms and conditions to their correct definition Memory board learning aids and memory cues that help you retain important definitions and processes Ride the wave explains the actions of waveforms, including how to recognize abnormal waveforms "Nurse Joy and Jakes" expert insights and encouraging advice About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, and Associate Graduate Faculty and MSN Program Director/APN Program Coordinator at the Marjorie K. Unterberg School of Nursing and Health Studies at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery by
Now in its sixth edition, Robert M. Bojar's Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students. Extensively rewritten with updated references to incorporate the latest concepts, guidelines, protocols, and medications used in cardiac surgical practice, this classic text retains the pragmatic features that have made it the gold standard reference that clinicians have used worldwide for the past 30 years. Highlights include: Full coverage of cardiac surgical diseases, including pathophysiology, indications for surgery per guidelines, and figures of operative procedures and diagnostic techniques, with a panoply of examples Chronologic evaluation of patients from preoperative assessment to intraoperative considerations to postoperative care for each procedure Extensive chapters discussing organ system management in the ICU, followed by a discussion of later postoperative management and problems Incorporation of newer techniques (TAVR, Mitraclip, etc.) within the chronologic format Easy access to information using an outline format, markers on the free edges to identify chapters, synopsis pages at the beginning of each chapter, and a comprehensive index to provide easy referencing within the text Updated references throughout that are available from on-line resources 21 appendices summarizing order sheets, protocols, commonly used drug doses, body mass index, and other important information Praise for the fifth edition: "Surgeons are frequently asked to recommend a text that can be used to guide the care of their patients. This comprehensive text is the standard by which any other text should be judged." --Critical Care Medicine "It remains a classic and a must have for anyone involved in cardiac surgery." --Perfusion.com
Neurovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice by
The Neurovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice is an essential document for every Neurovascular nurse practicing in the United States. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of neurovascular nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered neurovascular nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. The product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides 18 national standards of practice and professional performance. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. This premier professional resource informs and guides Neurovascular nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. It is a must-have for every registered neurovascular nurse.
ISBN: 9781953985651Publication Date: 2023-02-19
