Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care, then Renal and Urologic Care
- Dialysis 2Click on Dialysis links
eBooks
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th ed. by
Edited and written by top experts and pioneers in dialysis, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th Edition, provides the entire dialysis team with a comprehensive overview of this growing field. It covers traditional and advanced procedures, what pitfalls to expect and how to overcome them, and how best to treat various patient populations-all with a practical approach that can be directly applied to patient care. This must-have resource has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients. Explains complex dialysis concepts through abundant diagrams, photos, line drawings, and tables, while its readable, hands-on approach allows for quick review of key information. Covers both adult and pediatric patients in detail, and offers guidance on special populations such as the geriatric patients and the chronically ill. Features increased content on home-based dialysis modalities, new alternatives for establishing vascular access for hemodialysis, new protocols for reducing the risk of infection and complications, and advancements in establishing and managing peritoneal dialysis. Includes extensive pediatric content such as prevention and treatment of bone disease, management of anemia, assessing quality of life in pediatric patients undergoing dialysis, and immunizations in children undergoing dialysis. Defines the quality imperatives, roles, and responsibilities of dialysis facility medical directors and attending nephrologists. Updates nephrologists on the latest alternative dialysis modalities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Review of Hemodialysis for Nurses and Dialysis Personnel by
Get complete dialysis coverage and an excellent review for the certification exam! Review of Hemodialysis for Nurses and Dialysis Personnel, 10th Edition uses a concise Q&A format to cover the principles, diseases, and problems of dialysis treatment for kidney failure. A new chapter on case management of the patient with chronic kidney disease keeps you current with the latest in dialysis treatment and equipment. Dialysis expert Judy Kallenbach provides clear, easy-to-read guidelines that will apply to every member of the dialysis team, from technicians and nurses to social workers and patients. Comprehensive coverage provides the knowledge needed to care for dialysis patients and to prepare for the certification exam, with topics including a review of body fluids and electrolytes, infection control, transplantation, and key psychosocial aspects of dialysis treatment. Question-and-answer format makes learning easier and makes the book suitable for independent study. Multidisciplinary approach includes a chapter on the different roles in the hemodialysis team, describing how dialysis care is coordinated and what patients go through during their treatment. Easy-to-understand style introduces new terms and concepts without assuming prior knowledge of dialysis. Home Dialysis Therapies chapter describes the use of home dialysis treatment as a possible cost-cutting measure. Useful appendixes offer a quick reference to the sodium and potassium content of various foods, nephrology organizations and resources, a list of dialysis lab tests, a glossary, and more. Coverage of the entire lifespan helps you care for patients of different ages, with separate chapters on pediatric dialysis and end-stage renal disease in the elderly. 70 illustrations depict all aspects of dialysis treatment and care. NEW Case Management of the Chronic Kidney Disease Patient chapter is added. EXPANDED Patient Education Guidelines chapter adds coverage of motivational interviewing. EXPANDED Psychosocial Aspects of Dialysis Therapy chapter adds information on patient care. UPDATED content includes new guidelines and information on medication.
